Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Highwayman's Self Catering Guest House

Risby, Bury Saint Edmunds, IP28 6QP, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 B&Bs and inns in Bury Saint Edmunds

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 206 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, but the rest falls short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities information for the room on Booking.com is incorrect and indicates that this hotel / room has air conditioning. This is the #1 reason I chose this hotel over others ... very disappointing. They did have a fan in the room ... but I am not sure it would even count as a "desk sized" fan as it was about 6 inches in diameter. This isn't an issue most any other time in the UK, but when it is in the low 30's it becomes more important. For a "bed and breakfast," the breakfast is underwhelming. It is a self-service cereal station with croissants in packages ... I chose to eat a meal at a petrol station instead ... yes this was an improvement over what was offered at the hotel.

    The grounds are lovely and it is in a secluded location so very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.3
    Room was clean abd comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not see or meet a single member of staff during our two night stay. The breakfast facility was help yourself to cereal - a bit like camping do we gave it a miss. On a previous visit we were given a cooked breakfast. There was no one to ask. Found out rooom and key via a note and left the key in the door when we left. Pretty impersonal!

    Room was clean abd comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely setting but wish we’d never stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No prior notification that there would be a shoot outside at 9:00am on Sunday morning, yet the property claims to be dog friendly. Just as well we didn’t have our dog with us. No staff, completely DIY - full list of names and room numbers on display at reception for those checking in that day - pick up key left in bedroom door. Surely a breach of the GDPR brought into force on 25th May 2018. Property is described as non-smoking but a notice says they welcome smokers but asks them to smoke outside - so permanent smell of cigarette smoke and cigarette stubs in the container outside the entrance door - disgusting. Also felt couldn’t leave bedroom windows open because of smoke getting into our room, so uncomfortable in sweltering temperatures. Although there are instructions that milk and cereal are provided downstairs, it is impossible to know which is the free milk provided by the proprietor because the fridge is for communal use. Labelling required. Noise at night - sounds of something noisy switching on and off all night so couldn’t sleep. Rang the bell at reception on departure but no response after waiting several minutes.

    Lovely rural location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are gaps at the sides of the curtains, so sometimes getting dressed was a bit awkward.

    The location is so beautiful, the room is airy, bright and clean and the kitchen well stocked. Having stayed downstairs at the front of the property, I had my own seating area on the patio which was perfect for enjoying the evening sunshine. The dogs were so friendly and we played and had cuddles and seeing all the rabbits and pheasants freely roaming the property was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.8
    Wish I had discovered this place earlier!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Quiet and peaceful location in the countryside and a mile from the nearest road which suited me perfectly. Complimentary cereal and milk in the mornings. I did not see the owners but they were there to help if needed. I was on a business trip this time but would like to return for a weekend break next time...if you like wildlife, commanding views of the countryside, peace and quiet then this is the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous accommodation, especially if you like a bit of solitude, bed ever so comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complimentary Tea and Coffee was a little stale, perhaps the individual single packets would keep better, stupidly I obly brought two sachets of individual coffee. A few more 3 pin sockets closer to the bed would have been useful, I usually bring a four soocket extension gang but forgot.

    Lovely accommodation, self catering, huge self catering apartment, with everything you could need (should have purchased a few more supplied for my one night and breakfast). WiFi excellent and linked in without a hitch. Beautifully quiet allowing me to study well ready for the next day. i will not hesitate to use this accommoidation again and hopefully with the family next time. My grand-daughter would love the swimming pool which was adjacent to my accommodation (The Pool Room) and as I am an RLSS UK Trainer Assessor, I am sure Hotel / Membership exclusions would apply and as such I have no doubt she would be quite reluctant to get out given to opportunity. Looking forward to next time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    4.6
    Place has potential for nice weekend away. Hopefully others get better stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think we got there on a bad day because this will be a long list. I suggest to possible visitors to read other reviews to see if this was one off or regular. When we got there, the place was freezing. Well, not quite, but 11 deg C. We had to put all heaters on then leave for 2 hours before it could warm. Not good when arriving as family with young children. Our two boys went out to kick their football around (as they do). The "puppy" (not small, prob 1 year) was unable to be controlled so jumped up on our 13 year old who was scratched and bruised (we took photos). Son of the owner was clearly upset, but nothing like our son. Flat was not clean in a number of ways my wife (particularly) found unpalatable.

    Convenient flat for family of five. Owner made an effort to resolve our issues (see below) and gave us some chocolates and a bottle of wine as a sorry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful a pity about the deep, cold mist!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little tricky to find initially. No wifi in the coach house - a bit of a pain as we were on a trip researching for our next youth theatre production - about George Crabbe and The Borough. The blurb had definitely said wifi everywhere! But owner(?) did try to solve this and said we could use the wifi in the main building.

    The coach house building was interesting and the veranda very pleasant. The accommodation was very comfortable and just right for us - warm and spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    It was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish we got there earlier so we could see the gardens and scenery in the day time

    It was beautiful! The accommodations were very comfortable. Would definitely stay again for longer than one night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.8
    On business in Bury St Edmunds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a short drive from Bury St Edmunds,It is out of the way but that adds to the charm and it is quiet, did not use the facilities on offer but they are there. Ideal for those who do not want all the hustle and bustle, take your own food and a communal kitchen is available . The drive through the farm and the grounds was a joy first thing in the morning on leaving. Enjoyed the stay, did not see any staff but the place was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    5.0
    If u have pets definitely go. Take ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels provided were dirty. Although pet friendly and we did meet some lovely animals overall cleanliness could of been better.we were underneath a male couple that decided to argue the night away. Which is being polite. Lots of noise and swearing and considering I had my six year old with us was not ideal. Very poor sleep as we were woken up and never got back to sleep as arguing went on until early hours.

    Beds very comfy veiws great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    8.5
    Perfect for business trips when you don't want to be held to any particular time to eat etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit temperamental and difficult to get to the right speed and temperature, but adequate.

    The rooms are spacious and comfortable and it is a relaxed atmosphere. I like the self catering aspect also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    9.6
    I had a really comfortable stay . And communication was good . I would stay here again .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Might be a good idea to have the lights on pir sensors as you walk through. It was a little dark unroll I found the switch.

    Just a really nice place , everything provided. Would of loved to of spent more time there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    Warm, clean & comfortable, lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The room was very comfortable & warm with a nice big bed, the bathroom was immaculately clean. The grounds of the house are lovely for a walk, & I found it relaxing making our own breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.2
    Even better only if I had brought my family.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was plenty of hot water but I could only get the shower on the bath to burn me or freeze me. Ended up taking baths - which due to the excellent water pressure took no time to fill.

    The property setting is beautiful. Very peaceful and the best of British countryside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    3.8
    The local countryside was peaceful.
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen was ill equipped. The toilet was blocked. There was no drying cloth in the kitchen. The kitchen bin had a broken lid. The central heating didn't work. The bed was lumpy and soft and the springs could be felt through the mattress. The bed head was covered in a layer of dust.

    The local countryside was peaceful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.8
    We needed a place to stay overnight when we visited the Christmas market and this was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More could have been left for breakfast. There were just cereals and full fat milk. Semi skimmed milk and some bread and butter for toast would have been welcomed.

    Location was good and the beds in the room enormous

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    4.6
    not value for money, would not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor outside lighting. Once inside Fridge door fell off when opened, no complimentary tea or coffee. Dead fly in cobweb in lounge, bulbs in wall lights all different no shades on wall lights and 1 bulb missing. Bedrooms so hot could not sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    7.0
    Room was spacious and clean and kitchen was well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no staff around to ask any question if needed. There was a note with instructions. No shops around unless you drive. Some issues with flies and dogs poo outside.

    Room was spacious and clean and kitchen was well equipped. Nice walk in the farm. Dogs were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.5
    Nice countryside setting, large rooms, a bit dated comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the room could have been better. We asked for early check-in, so that could have been the reason for a less accurate cleaning. The accomodation is also a bit dated.

    Easy to access and very spacious: massive room, and nice to have the kitchen if you're in the Studio.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    5.0
    Noisy kids.holiday park vibe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy kids running around in the rooms above. Kept being told how many minutes until bedtime. If you're here with family and young kids, it's ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful and friendly - home from home.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have had more variety for breakfast (I don't eat cereal), just a reflection.

    Owner and staff were very friendly and couldn't help us enough, fabulous stay wished we could have stayed longer!, thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a fly problem in the room and in the shared kitchen area, perhaps the chickens could be moved somewhere else as they might be attracting the flies.

    Big room, very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    5.4
    The shower was rubbish, could do with a new one, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was horrendous

    The shower was rubbish, could do with a new one, the cleanliness was poor the bathroom was full of dust as were the doors. Location was fab and relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful hideaway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Marvelous location, tucked away in the country but only 3 miles from Bury St Edmunds which has plenty of restaurants etc. Large rooms, really well furnished, breakfast largely down to you but facilities fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    3.0
    depressing . my partner took pics he will forward on to you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Damp on kitchen wall and ceiling. wall paper hanging off the wall in the living room.Property is not fit to be rented out to paying customers.There were hairs in the bath so we didnt dare shower. Quick wash and go.

    size accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    Peacefull, quiet, big beds and good for a run too
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great location. Its like your own house when you stay here. We had a ground floor room with a garden veiw with a patio outside which was lovely on a nught with a few beers and a cheeky spliff. Made freinds with the two golden retrievers as well. Will deffo stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    5.8
    Lovely grounds, rooms were good, too many flies in kitchen area and bedrooms, shower needed fixing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath looked unclean, the shower bracket was broken had to tape the shower head to the bracket, should have been informed before we arrived, number of flies in the kitchen area no screens over the room windows to stop the flies getting in so kept awake at night, no mini fridge in the room.

    The location was nice and peaceful, not hassled by staff,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful location well situated for A14/Bury St Edmunds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dog poo on playing area!

    The tranquil location with good space for the children to play and enjoy. The Coach House was particularly suitable for our family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    5.0
    Needs updating
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was filthy, the room & communal areas were unclean & very tired looking. This place needs a lot more love than it's currently being given.

    The views and location were stunning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a dog loving introvert who loves the countryside
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think this is run by a family but there is was no sense of welcome. We had one conversation which was "Oh you are here - yes you are room 5 and the key is in the door".......zero points for hospitality but the room, the peace and the views means we will go back. We love dogs but if you are not a dog fan then probably not best to come here as there are 3 very vibrant but gorgeous labs bouncing around the place and wanting to eat your breakfast!

    The views across the countryside were stunning. The room was lovely and big and bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    3.3
    do not stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    basically the whole stay. Dirty, shoddy,infestation in bathroom of silverfish, curtains not fixed to the rail and in need of washing. Pillows very old and worn etc etc. Furniture very old and not in a good condition, seen better in second hand shops. I expected something a lot better.

    the countryside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    8.3
    This was a very peaceful location to just get away from the hustle and bustle of City life and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coach house felt a little tired and unloved and would benefit from a redecoration and upgrade however this did not detract from the very relaxing stay and we were not short of anything you would expect from self catering accommodation.

    We stayed in the coach house which had two bedrooms, lounge, bathroom and kitchen with everything you could possibly need from a self catering apartment. Whilst the location could be considered a little remote from nearby towns and facilities it was in a perfect location for us and was quiet and peaceful. We could sit in our ample sized accommodation or out on the sun balcony overlooking the beautiful scenery and well maintained gardens and totally chill out and relax undisturbed by anyone or anything. You could walk around the estate freely and basically do as you would do at home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dirty; our feet were filthy from walking on carpet, rubbish left from previous accoupant, dirty stains on carpet, shower was cello taped to holder, shower head didn't work 100% as the holes were blocked, no water pressure, soap dispenser didn't work and curtains were stained, ripped & filthy.

    The grounds were appropriate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    5.8
    Lovely rural location and comfortable but a little 'tired'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was located in a very rural setting making it a little difficult to find initially. Although the accommodation was comfortable, I think it fair to say that it was somewhat 'tired' in some respects and in need of some updating. Shower fitment was broken and was held held in place with sellotape for instance. Also it was advertised that soaps and shampoos were provided. This was the case but the small tube of shampoo was half used and the soap dispenser by the hand basin did not work!

    The accommodation was located in a peaceful and tranquil area and the bed was very comfortable enabling a good nights sleep. Parking was plentiful. There was no one to greet us on our arrival with a written instruction in the reception area informing of our room number. We did not mind this and were left to our own devices as to when we returned after being out for the day. Indeed we did not meet the proprietor until the day of our departure as we left. Although this accommodation is advertised as accommodation only with no breakfast provided, there is cereal and milk available to guests in the dining room although we did not take advantage of this.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    9.5
    Perfect for a quiet group getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A second sofa and a DVD player would have made it perfect. When I stay next time, I will bring a DVD player with me but more comfy seating for our group of 5 adults would be great.

    The beautiful surroundings. The peace and quiet. The lovely, spacious apartment. Being totally left alone. The friendly farm dogs that followed us on our walk of the beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    4.2
    Apart enemy as expected good location for our trip great views completely spoiled by the cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness was very poor especially the bathroom looking at the gunge under the taps is not for the faint hearted

    Apartment was well equipped old furniture but that was expected from the pictures

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    10
    Great family accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The setting is perfect, loads of space for kids to run around and go for a walk. Great service and wasn't expecting the complimentary cereal and milk. Great for parking. And would be great for a large family gathering. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    9.6
    A very isolated location in the middle of wonderful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is part of an activity centre so can be disturbed if sleeping in with quad bikes and clay pigeon shooting parties. Also great view was full of cars the next day. Did not meet anyone while there, even the owners. Could also provide more local info like restaurants. TV was smaller than a monitor also.

    Very peaceful surroundings and great view from the coach house balcony. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    9.6
    All the comfort and good value of a room in a bland chain ... but with so much more character!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only reason I haven't given the full top score for everything is that I didn't use the free WIFI so cannot comment ... but a password was given, so I'm sure it would have been fine. Also, I cannot give the staff the full rating because I didn't meet anyone. This, however, was because of the timings of my stay and did not detract in any way. There was plenty of evidence that the staff is excellent.

    The bed was really comfortable; the room clean and spacious and I particularly enjoyed my bath! I also really loved the decor, both in my room and the entrance hall. This guesthouse is highly recommended to anyone visiting the Bury St Edmunds area for a few days ... it seems like there would also be the facilities for a much longer stay. If arriving after dark, don't be put off by the unlit drive into the middle of nowhere ... have faith: you will soon be greeted by welcoming fairy lights and the drive (roughly a mile) is definitely worth it! No breakfast as such is provided ... but there is a generous gesture of complementary cereal, with milk provided in the fridge. I didn't try this out, but the range of cereal looked impressive. Anyway, the absence of a full breakfast is well advertised on the website.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    10
    2 night stay 😊
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike.

    Superb,as always,took my wife and baby boy for one night and stayed a further night on my own.Fantastic place and the owner Juliet was helpful and lovely as always.Cant recommend this place highly enough.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely quest house in a lovely location,although the owner was away they where only to happy to help via the telephone and answered promptly to my question. Left instructions to get to our self catering apartment at reception. Which was the pool room a lovely apartment it was quiet and well maintained. We really enjoyed are stay and would recommend and stay again. We even had a little black cat who came to visit 😊 The children loved seeing the pigs and the many pheasants. Thank you for a lovely stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    9.2
    Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It felt a little weird not meeting the hosts the whole time we were there, but it was not a bad thing.

    The location was very quiet but you would need a car to get there. The bed was very comfortable. There was a communial kitchen where you could make meals. Cereal and milk was provided for breakfast, with tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    10
    3 night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike,apart from leaving!

    Stayed a few times now,can't recommend it highly enough.Special mention for Juliet and Kerry,so helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay, comfortable accommodation and beautiful walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only T.V. was the size of a laptop monitor. It wasn't finished to the standard I was expecting given the property. Cleaning was careless.

    Beautiful gardens to walk around.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and characterful rooms in rural Suffolk with a communal kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small thing - only that guests staying upstairs could be heard very well.

    This is a charming place to stay, very comfortable and welcoming. We loved the views, the quiet and wildlife of this family home. The well equipped and very clean communal kitchen is very handy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    9.6
    Super dog friendly
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being above the dinning area was a little noisy at times.

    Great homely atmosphere, Juliet was very accommodating and we will certainly reccomend it to others with dogs to try it out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2016

    4.4
    The loacationn was good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shouting, squabbling and temper tantrums of kids running amock most mornings starting around 7am including Sat and Sun , yes it states family home but guest consideration is zero . Very quick to be informed with notices all over about "due to tragic events am mother of five"---- does that give the right to run an establishment which should be guest focussed with no consideration to paying guests- would seem so. Rooms could also have done with a proper cleaning -the skirting board near the entrance from bedroom into bathroom was covered in dust and dog hair on arrival and stayed that way also a line of dead insects under and behind the curtains along the wall

    The loacationn was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful place for a social break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not really clear on the website that you have to share a kitchen or if you have your own which is not an issue for some which I understand but for me it is. My room was quite noisy up to about 8pm and also early in the morning but I doubt all the rooms are like that to be fair.

    The beauty. The fact that I was left alone to come and go Hot running water at all times

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    6.7
    Charity Meeting in Bury St. Edmunds
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prep. for incoming guests was poor. The tables and furniture were sticky. The ceramic hob took an age to heat up. There is no alternative to self catering so is essential that equip. is working to acceptable standard. Bath/shower needs attn.

    Lovely location, but take plenty of food and drink - four miles to nearest shops. The Coach House is spacious but unsuitable for disabled people. First floor can only be accessed from fire escape metal stairway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    9.6
    Great place with all the comforts of home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better outdoor lighting round to the pool room. But I'm really being picky now.

    Perfect location for me as I was taking part in a competition the following day at the ground. Checking in was no hassle even though I arrived a little later than expected.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    4.6
    Value for the area, but a bit rough around the edges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family were noisy and all up from about 6am, snoring somebody next door kept us awake both nights, think this was just our room as we were nearer the family. Bathroom not that clean, tap fell off and shower wouldn't work, but my friends' were pleased with their rooms and sleep.

    It's nice to go somewhere where you can come and go so easily, help yourself and not have to rely on the host being around. also not easy to find nice acommodation that suits a group of friends. Kitchen suited us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    10
    Brilliant and Peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room description slightly misleading. When you click on room with 2 king size beds I had the impression that microwave, fridge etc were in the room instead of a shared central area. There was no bathrobe either and shower area very small. These were minor details and I shall definitely stay again !

    The location is fantastic if you want peace and quiet and to come and go as you please. I liked being able to have a cereal breakfast at any time in the morning without having to wait until breakfast was served. I was working so this was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    4.2
    Youth hostel at hotel prices.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stayed 4 nights did not see 1 member of staff. Did not see the owner, but her children woke us up every morning screaming and arguing. Only 1 small fridge and microwave between all the guests, there was only a limited amount of cutlery between all the guests and some of the crockery was chipped. We had to buy our own toilet paper. The bedroom smelt musty/damp and so we had to have the windows opened at all times. The bath had lost its surface and so it looked dirty and was like sitting on sandpaper, the tap handle fell off every time you used it, and the shower was like a dripping tap. The garden was full of dog faeces. I did take my dog, but I cleared up after her. The owners dog was left outside most of the time and so charged towards you barking every time you left the building (thankfully I am not scared of dogs). Every piece of garden furniture was broken. Basically the place was rather run down.

    The grounds were large and so it was easy to take my dog for a walk. Dogs stayed for free. Plenty of room to park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.5
    Fabulous accomodation, beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities and accommodation excellent for a family with young children. So impressed. Accomodation very clean, surroundings beautiful! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    9.6
    Highwaymans Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a close family group of twelve, two sets of parents with two children under five each and two Grandmas treating them so we could all meet up and be together. The Highwaymans suited all of us, particularly it's lovely, remote and child-friendly setting. It was a perfect self-catering place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    9.2
    A little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with a grill pan and baking sheets in the kitchen but apart from that, it was perfect!

    We stayed in the private pool room which was bright and comfortable and is set in a beautiful countryside location. The hosts were lovely and our son loved roaming around with the resident's children and dogs!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    5.8
    Lovely old building set in super Suffolk countryside
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly the bathrooms are in need of updating and modernization and looking very outdated. My eldest sons rooms shower didn't work well but he was able to bath. Also his room connected to the residence part of the home and the children were very noisy from early morning although I only heard them from my room on one accasion early morning. My son did find this irritating as obviously he was unable to sleep from 7 am.

    I have stayed at highwaymans because it is close to my family whom I visit from abroad so location is good for me. It is set in parkland so away from road and city noise. I understand due to family circumstances it is no longer a B and B and I can fully understand why this has changed. Juliet does offer complementary breakfast and there are microwave ovens available to use.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.2
    Excellent, the photos don't do it justice!!😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was beautiful. The staff were lovely. The accomodation was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Lovely views and a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    9.0
    I enjoyed my stay, but the accommodation was isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no loo roll holder in the bathroom, and it was difficult to get in the bath, as it was not possible to move the screen. Also, a grab rail would be a good idea, on the wall opposite the screen.

    The bed was very comfortable. Also, the view from my bedroom was lovely, with the rows of pink roses and the planted area beyond.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic - thoroughly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic - thoroughly recommended. We stayed the in coach house - spotlessly clean, spacious, huge balcony overlooking the countryside, well worth the price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.5
    Property was lovely could of done with a gd clean bathroom...
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property was lovely could of done with a gd clean bathroom wasent as clean as could of been

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.5
    It was very quiet and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very quiet and peaceful. The garden patio room was large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Cool rural self catering alternative to B&B or an Urban hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV reception and internet seemed a bit hit and miss, but atmospherics may have played a part in that.

    No fuss, and freedom from breakfast time limits

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Easy going place to stay. Great kitchen facilities. Great grounds. A happy place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Perfection
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little quibble is I could hear talking and noise early in the morning from the family there but that aside I so loved Highwayman’s ❣️👏🤗

    All of it. 🤗

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    3.8
    ddnt like at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet flush buton is not working

    big room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic place to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing except lighting in bathroom.. a little dark

    Great place to relax - nobody bothers you. The family pets are good fun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shooting party in the morning!!!!!

    Great really good little flat and very easy .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Was happy with price and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful views from my room comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Perfect for a short stay with a family in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need extra fans.

    Countryside view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Lovely location, just what I needed highly recommended
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed very comfy Quiet location, Owner Juliet was very welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.6
    Everything about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.6
    The families children where shouting ect no consideration...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The families children where shouting ect no consideration for guests

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: