Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilden Lodge 4 stars

271 London Road, Cheltenham, GL52 6YG, United Kingdom

#4 of 24 hotels in Cheltenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning (Not really complaint that we happened to be there during rare but sunny and hot weather)

    Helpful welcoming staff; quaint authentic atmosphere; location. They were also one of few BNBs in the area that offered 2 beds (twin) in 1 room - ideal for 2 friends traveling together.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    We were well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was not really suitable for elderly people as the toilet and shower room was very compact and quite a deep step up to the shower , there was also a step into the room.

    Very convenient for Visiting Cotswolds, very helpful and friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, absolutely wonderful stay

    Everything, was made to feel so welcome, wonderful hosts, clean and comfortable rooms. Would recommend anyone to stay there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable 2 night stay in a good location to catch the bus into Cheltenham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received a very warm welcome from our hosts who were always ready with local information. The room was clean, tastefully and comfortably furnished. Breakfast menu offered a good selection, all freshly cooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location at reasonable price for our evening event at local golf club.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't turn the TV off mute. However, it didn't really matter.

    Friendly, accommodating, everything straight forward, no extra rules, no fuss. Comfortable breakfast room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Helpful cheerful hosts, excellent food and a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden Lodge can't be faulted, the only thing that could have improved our stay was better weather !

    Didn't have coffee, I am gluten free and there was a good selection of foods available to me. Food was very good quality and owners very helpful , one of the nicest b and b s we have used

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb hosts, comfortable room and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was superb. If I had been travelling with my husband and Baby i would recommend requesting a larger room on the ground floor. No lift, only stairs.

    The owners were really friendly and as I was staying alone I was really greatful they made me feel really welcome and safe in their b&b. The breakfast was 5 star. Well cooked, fresh and lots of choice. Nothing was too much effort . I would recommend as a comfortable , friendly place to stay and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    We would certainly come back and have already recommend Hilton Lodge as a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were flat and not much room in the en suite but it served our needs.

    Staff were friendly (but not intrusive) and helpful, offering suggestions for places to visit. Cooked breakfast freshly prepared and set us up for the day. The lodge was quiet and our room was spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    The room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, if you don't like a full English, and only like cereal didn't have a lot of choice.

    The room was lovely. The hosts were lovely people and gave us very good information on the local area, and how to get about if we didn't want to drive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the Hotel

    Really enjoyed our stay, we came for a day at the races, two night stay for four and can’t complain about anything at all. Aiden and Shelley are wonderful hosts and the full English Breakfast is to die for. Highly recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Im so glad I found this little gem of a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about Hilden Lodge was amazing. The hosts, room, food and location were fantastic! Definitely would book to stay here again when visiting Cheltenham.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The hosts went out of their way to provide a memorable stay-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was travelling by motorcycle and would have liked more secure parking on hard standing as opposed to gravel. If they made this improvement then my mark would be 100% instead of 99%

    The hosts went out of their way to provide a memorable stay- I challenge you to find fault.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Really enjoyed ourselves in a very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was well fitted but very small.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast, very clean. Plenty of parking. Nice area. Very comfortable bed & bedding. Room had everything you could possibly need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful cozy place! Much recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was too short as I have to leave really early the next day!

    The staff was really pleasant and friendly, even though I checked in really late at night after a long day of travel from work.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly and ideal for a weekend stay
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower facility was very small by brother could hardly fit in the cubicle and he is not particularly large.

    The breakfast was really good freshly made and cooked to order

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Woke up rested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Used this hotel many times. Always excellent. No evening meal but many local resteraunts. Excellent cooked breakfast, enough to sustain you for the whole day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room -the size of a postage stamp. Shower floor dangerously slippery. Could not sit on toilet properly - door in way. Sink was too low-thigh high. Rip-off prices for an average B and B. Tv did not work during fist night. Limited selection of programmes. No sports.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    The owners were friendly and very willing to oblige.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were friendly and very willing to oblige. The bed and breakfast facilities are homely and comfortable and a stay at the Hilden Lodge is highly recommended to anyone wishing to stay in the area. Thankyou for a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    3.8
    The initial impression wasn't great. The receptionist never smiled and not customer friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was confusion about the checkout time. It did not match the one advertised on booking.com. It caused a bit of an argument which wasn't warranted.

    Nothing specific. BF was good standard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    friendly welcome by the duty manager as my colleague and I...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking forward to a light supper after we arrived late, however the Lodge only caters for breakfast - having said that the duty manager kindly directed us to several alternatives, one of which [Merryfellows Pub] only 250 metres away so turned out to be a pleasant stroll, good food and a couple of beers - so no complaints - actually made a nice change from the normal Hotel experience

    friendly welcome by the duty manager as my colleague and I arrived late after a long day in London, very comfortable and peaceful - room was clean and tidy - breakfast superb and freshly cooked - definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Convenient location with excellent parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location with excellent parking. Comfortable and extremely well run upmarket B & B that offers great value for money. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    An awesome place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really....no frills but value for money and they do that extra bit to make u feel great

    Breakfast ...the guys prepared it early cause I had to leave ...quite accomodating ...great place and nice people

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Staff were very friendly and happy to accommodate any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff were very friendly and happy to accommodate any request asked. Breakfast was lovely, and the hotel was very clean. Set in a lovely quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    great location. staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room could have been bigger but was ok for our 2 night stay. bathroom very small but again ok for short stay.

    good breakfast easy to park friendly host pleasant stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a great place to explore the Cotswolds from. Parking available if you have a car but, if not (like me), an easy 30 min walk into town (£10 taxi), multiple pubs within a short walk and a bus which takes you into the heart of the Cotswolds. Lovely hosts, comfortable BnB.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect start to our UK holiday! Everything was to our liking and comfort. Very generous breakfast. Super helpful hosts. Thanks Shelley Aidan and Mathew.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Excellent. Would recommend and would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I could mention on this one.

    Well appointed, comfortable hotel. Spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and crisp linen. Single room a very good size and with en-suite shower. Very good choice for breakfast - fresh and beautifully cooked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Overall it was fine, we just would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small for the money we paid (£100 per night) and a couple of the towels were stained which wasn't nice. The bed wasn't very comfortable and both my partner and I had back ache each morning which we don't usually have.

    The hotel itself was lovely and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    I would happily stay here again if I'm in Cheltenham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing was we didn't find good public transport nearby.

    The staff were excellent - friendly without being in the way. Very comfortable room, and plenty of choice for breakfast. Pleasant little garden to sit in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.5
    Enjoyable place for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal at the neighborhood pub, suggested to us, was not satisfactory. This location is not convenient for those walking the Cotswold Way.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was sufficient and cooked to our wishes. We enjoyed the gin and tonics.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    Such a lovely welcome from Aidan and Shelley, nothing is too much trouble. Very comfortable room and super breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Exactly what I was looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Spotlessly clean. Bed large and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Cant fault the place. Lovely couple were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Will be back when next in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    The welcome was friendly and the breakfast was excellent,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side was the size of the shower room in a single room, being a six foot tall broad male I could not stand sideways in the room and needed to open the door to the bedroom to dry after a cramped shower.

    The welcome was friendly and the breakfast was excellent, the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from road in front bedroom

    Shelley and aidan were very friendly and welcoming. An excellent breakfast perfectly cooked. Extra special was Vegemite on toast -great for aussies. Good advice on local eateries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    The entire visit was excellent apart from the weather which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The entire visit was excellent apart from the weather which was a "bit damp". The lack of an evening meal facility could have been a disappointment, but the owners directed me to a nearby pub which provided excellent food and drink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and comfortable stop-over to break a journey up the M5/M6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor point: en-suite was a little cramped and a shelf would have been helpful.

    Comfortable bed. Well-appointed room. Excellent breakfast. Evening bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was made with a warm welcome by Aiden and Shelly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was made with a warm welcome by Aiden and Shelly, who gave us lots of choice of places to eat and see during the visit to the area. Breakfast was very nice and plenty of variety to offer including fresh fruit, cereals and a lovely cooked breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Cotswolds Way Walk welcome break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are completing Cotswolds way walk, the hotel is around 1 mile away from the path but worth the walk. It was clean , friendly staff, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room we had was a bit small and a bit 'sad' needed a little bit of TLC but for a single night was adequate.

    Nice friendly people. Cheltenham a nice town. Only stayed one night but enjoyed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A warm clean and friendly stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    The greeting was warm and friendly by Shelley and Aiden the B&B had a cosy and relaxed atmosphere. Easy walking to local eating establishments stayed only one night but would have liked a couple more . Breakfast lots of choice and very nice . If was passing that way again Hilden lodge would be our first choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    An excellent B and B hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    En suite bathroom was rather small and awkward but bearable for 2 nights.

    Excellent breakfasts, good range of options, and good coffee. Very pleasant breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast, very disappointing room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed in the room. I'd booked a surperior double but found it to be in the basement with a damp smell that was off putting. I opened the sliding door but couldn't keep it open at night because being in the basement anyone could walk off the street and straight into the room. The curtains seemed to have black mould on the back of them, the carpet felt damp under foot which was not pleasant...perhaps the cheap style of carpet though. The bed cover for the end of the bed had disgusting marks all over it. I folded it up and placed it on the wardrobe but it was replaced without being cleaned. I don't know why they thought that acceptable? And the bathroom was very disappointing..basically a cupboard size under the stairs. The bathroom fittings were shabby and overall it just can't be called a superior room or justify that price.

    The welcome is friendly and the breakfast very good. They were also extremely accommodating of my early start. The website said they'd provide a packed meal if breakfast was too late for early risers...they had no knowledge of this...but instead offered to cook some breakfast early which was really appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    A lovely enjoyable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The very easy going, nothing is to much trouble attentiveness of the management. It was like coming back to meet old friends. Very enjoyable stay. Will be returning soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Hilden Lodge is a hit!
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The patio area was a lovely touch, but the patio furniture was a little dirty, so I didn't want to sit out for long. The soap dispensers in the shower could do with replacing as they were quite rusty.

    Great location. Lovely owners. Delicious breakfast. Comfortable room with all the facilities needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    4 out of 5 ⭐️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have a problem that all B & Bs have and its the mattress proctor. I know it what is required. But it's very uncomfortable. Hot. Sweaty. Bloody awful. Please find something to rectify this. MickH 4

    Bedroom was ok The proprietors were excellent The breakfast was great. Good coffee. There location for our evening meal was great A bottle of water left for everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy sod in neighbouring room who slammed doors every time he went in or out

    Easy to find on A40- don't use sat-nav - prefer to look at maps before setting off from Lincolnshire picking up A40 at Oxford- straight to it without getting lost.. Excellent location with easy access to stunning Cotswold villages such as Winchcombe, Broadway, Stow, Bourton. Town centre a short drive away. Good selection of local guide books and brochures in reception Comfortable lower-ground room with outside seating area. Good Breakfast with extremely fast service - perhaps a bit too quick with hardly time to finish cereals before cooked plateful arrived! We would happily stay here again if we are in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Well appointed and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a top sheet under the duvet which was too warm.

    Loved having a room on the ground floor! Hosts friendly and helpful. Good breakfast and nicely appointed dining area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    An excellent base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only thought is that weekday breakfast time of 7.30 was a bit late if you are staying there for business purposes . However my husband was able to have a cooked breakfast promptly at that time . Thank you for that .

    The welcome from both Aidan and Shelley from the moment we arrived was excellent . The breakfasts too were very tasty with a good variety . It was a 10 minute walk to catch a bus but as the weather was good this was no problem . The parking is excellent which was a real bonus . Hilden Lodge was a very good find .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    An excellent stay and would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious, variety was excellent. The rooms were spotless, only problem was the weather was hot and it was hard to cool the room down. I know this wouldn't normally be a problem but 29o each day made it very warm. However, we didn't spend more than sleeping time in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, kind people, very caring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not quite as comfortable as we'd hoped, but otherwise the room was fine.

    Wonderful, kind people, very caring. The meals were very well prepared.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    Had expected higher standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is important in a B and B is a good shower and comfortable bed. This is what our room lacked. Feeble shower. Impossible to use bath as water cold before bath filled. My husband refused to shower with such pathetic water pressure! The extractor fan noise was overwhelming. Uncomfortable mattress, large springs could be felt through topping.

    Very Clean. Good breakfast. Parking. Friendly staff,helpful. Attractive garden, aesthetically pleasing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff breakfast was great in a nice chilled morning room, all round nice experience parking was available and if you needed anything just ask 10/10

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable and relaxing overnight break of journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My response to walking round the neighbourhood is simply because my visit coincided with torrential rain.

    Thoughtful personal attention from staff. Pleasing general ambience. Did not sample breakfast but it smelt delicious. Bedroom coffee OK. A second biscuit wouldn't have gone amiss.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good establishment and I'll return next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like much of the accommodation in Europe, the en-suite in the single room is a very tight (compounded by putting a shelf over the handbasin). Fortunately I'm not a particularly wide person.

    There is much to like - rooms are quiet despite the Lodge being on a main road, the hosts are pleasant and welcoming, the breakfasts excellent and the general decor pleasant. I would stay there again as it is nice and close to the Croquet Club.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect base for our trip to Sudeley Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Access to the property was good and signage made it easily recognisable. Friendly reception, help with luggage to room (downstairs) and good information given about facilities (breakfast, bar etc). We had booked Superior rooms and they were a good size. Bottles of water placed in the property were available for use. Although the property is set aside a quite busy road the traffic noise during the evening and overnight was not a problem. We used the property as our base to visit Broadway and Sudeley Castle and found it easy to navigate the routes along with a short journey to the M5. Good choice of breakfast which was of good quality and excellent service from our hosts. 10 minutes walk to various public houses for an evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous hosts, but traffic starts building up early
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (twin) was at the front of the house on the ground floor right next to the front door. The traffic started to build up about 6am on Saturday morning and I am a very light sleeper so didn't get much sleep after that. There was very little noise from within the Lodge however, people were very considerate and the breakfast area is far enough away that apart from the odd cheery 'good morning' I heard nothing. Would definitely return but ask for a room at the back.

    Auden and his wife were lovely (sorry her name escapes me at the moment). Lovely chat at breakfast, she really made everyone feel very welcome. The area felt very safe. I walked into town at about 9pm to meet my daughter after she finished work at Flynns in Montpellier. I felt completely safe even walking down the main road. We both walked back in the early hours and, again, felt completely safe. It only took about 40 minutes. Beds were lovely and comfortable and wifi and mobile phone reception worked perfectly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfy hotel outside centre of Cheltenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ensuite was rather tiny and room quite small with just enough room for luggage.

    Very friendly and welcoming from Sally and Dave.Excellent breakfast and adequate portion of bread served.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Hilden Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very welcoming staff, lovely spacious clean property, good supply of leaflets available with tourist info, quiet room, good double glazing, quiet and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Excellent bed and breakfast near the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Shelly and Aidan were the perfect hosts st this delightful bed and breakfast. Our toom was number eleven and it had enough room to be comfortable. Good off street parking and easy to find. The closest pub, the Merryfellow, is only a five minute walk. We found the food at the pub, of a good quality and resonably priced. A very pleasant stay for our three nights in the Cotswalds. I highly recommend the Hilden Lodge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay whether your wanting 1 night or 1 week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike. It was a warm, clean and friendly establishment which provided all the help and hospitality you could want.

    The welcome on arrival was very pleasant. We were shown the eating room and bar area and then taken to our accommodation. Our room, whilst being slightly on the small side, had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean and fresh. The en-suite, again a little on the small side, but very clean. There was sufficient soap and shampoo and the towels clean and soft. Breakfast the following morning was an absolute joy. Plenty of cereal choices, a lovely bowl of fresh fruit salad and yogurt . As much tea, coffee and toast you can eat and the best cooked breakfast I have had in a very long time. Highly recommended and would not hesitate to re-book next time we are in Cheltenham.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable with a good breakfast supported be engaged staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were attentive and ready to provide great local knowledge. The room was clean and comfortable which complemented a well prepared breakfast. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    The guest house was beautifully presented, clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The guest house was beautifully presented, clean and very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all my friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Hilden Lodge - Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Friendly and welcoming owners. Great breakfast. Just easy going and relaxed atmosphere with very comfy clean rooms. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent quiet accommodation with a great breakfast in the morning
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite wc/shower is very cramped.

    Very quiet, nicely furnished room. Very welcoming arrival and given good advice about somewhere to eat out in the evening. Slept very well. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    A welcoming place to stay just on the edge of Cheltenham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No bad points come to mind.

    Friendly owners and staff. Breakfast excellent. Room large enough with huge bed and plenty of storage. Good bathroom. Extremely clean and well maintained. Bar available in evening. Pleasant location within walking distance of buses, local shops, pubs with good food, post office. Excellent parking. Difficult to fault.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Beautifully clean and well maintained accommodation in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge was a bit too hot for comfort so I didn't sleep well, and the shower was disappointing.

    Really clean accommodation, helpful friendly hosts and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Great Hospitality and lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small but that's us nitpicking.

    The breakfast was lovely. The hospitality was top of the line. My wife and I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.1
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame there is no evening meal's offered in the restaurant.

    Full English Breakfast was just the ticket to start my working day, good nights sleep in the comfy bed, spotlessly clean. Bar a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was welcoming, friendly clean and warm. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and lots of choice, with vegetarian option. Every guest received personal attention from welcome to departure

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Friendly and comfortable base to enjoy east side of Cheltenham, at reasonable cost
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inevitably some road noise at night for rooms on the London Road side...but this was minor

    Pleasant staff Excellent breakfasts Clean comfortable rooms Horse racing themes to room names and decor Near where my relative lives

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and staff, will definately be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, great service. Our room was small, but as we booked last minute and got a good price, was not a problem. Hotel is located in excellent position, immaculately clean and up to date. Plenty of info on area in reception.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast, with plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny ensuite bathroom was a challenge. I would in future make sure I had a different room. My elderly mother struggled with the step, but I didn't specify her age when I booked, so this is partly my fault. Lesson learned..

    Lovely breakfast, with plenty of choice. Great hosts, we were made very welcome. I would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee wasn't great but that's not a reflection of the Lodge more individual preference

    Great breakfast and very welcoming staff. Also good selection of quality drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Outstanding customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome we received on arriving early was really thoughtful after a long drive , we were allowed to use the room to get ready for the race's even though it wasn't ready which made a big difference to our day , common sense acts of kindness. Booked for next year without a moment of consideration

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    Great stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a bit cheap feeling which was at odds with rest of facilities. Did sleep well though.

    Fabulous breakfast. Room was extremely clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: