Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hill Lodge

8 Newton Road Sudbury Suffolk, Sudbury, CO10 2RL, United Kingdom

#5 of 8 hotels in Sudbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Not as expected and would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room would not work. Check in took an age due to staff not knowing how to input code on door. Being constantly told not to forget our code to get back in at night.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, comfortable and clean with friendly owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually we’ll appointed but this time there were no toiletries in the bathroom and no spare loo roll. An oversight this time I’m sure. I’ll definately stay again!

    I’ve stayed at Hill Lodge over the last three years and each time further refurbishment and improvements have been made to enhance facility. Really nice room, quiet aspect and good size bed for a tall person like me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy checking me in didn't have a clue what he was doing, he was on his phone on a video call to someone throughout checking me in which actually took around half hour! After coming back from a night out I had misplaced the door code I was given to enter the building after hours, I rang the number displayed on the reception door but after ringing it 8 times I gave up and started knocking on the door and window persistently to attract the night porters attention with no luck! Regrettably I continued to knock loudly until eventually a guest ended up letting me into the building!! I then had to sleep in the reception area until the morning receptionist arrived and woke me up and then gave me my room key code. All credit to receptionist she was extremely apologetic and told me that she would get the manager to see me. Within five minutes he knocked on my door saying he didn't know how he didn't hear me knocking as he was in the room next door and basically called me a liar!! I asked for a refund which was £70 but he only offered me £30!! I managed to get £40 in the end but I Left extremely unhappy. I've stayed there a few times before under the previous owners and I never had one single complaint at all!! To put it bluntly, the level of customer service is quite frankly non existent.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in bathroom didn't work blind in kitchen area broken.No tea bags in room and nothing replenished next day.room had been decorated but nothing superior about it at all.lot of work still to do in hotel if they want to stick to this terrific!will leave it a few months before we use it again.it is the location that is perfect for us, as my family live close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Stay there before out of necessity did not like the hotel , still do not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV did not work properply, because the receiver was not getting a signal. No cooked breakfast on a sunday, unless pre ordered. Part of the reason for none cooked breakfast , not enough customers to get staff in on a sunday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Very much suited my needs, I could walk to the places I needed to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear other guests voices quite late into the night

    Good car parking and excellent location for the centre of Sudbury, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra for breakfast. Room was marked up as £75.00 superior room. It was ok but more of a £60.00 room. Bathroom could do with updating.

    The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.9
    Not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was cold. The bed wasn’t very comfortable and the pillows were lumpy. I was woken up both mornings at 7.45am with music blaring from the breakfast room below. The cooked full English breakfast was terrible. Sausages were disgusting, completely inedible and everything else was over cooked. Service was awful too.

    My room was a decent size but that’s about the only positive thing I can say sorry. I was in the deluxe double.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful but wouldn't choose to go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite non smoking signs, rooms smelled of stale smoke and there was a cigarette butt floating in the toilet. Staff friendly but the suggestion of a kebab house as a place to eat in Sudbury was underwhelming, particularly as I'd said I was a vegetarian. When I reminded her, she suggested I could eat chips! It was funny but on a serious note, I'd expect staff to be able to advise a stranger to the area on where they might be able to get a proper meal out. A kebab house or Dominos might be a suggestion that works for a teenager, but I'm an adult. The shower was awful, not sure if the shower head was blocked but it hardly had much spray and the adjustment went from too cold to too hot, which was not comfortable. Given that the ensuite facilities were about the size of my understairs toilet, there was no option of having a bath instead. Kettle lead too short to be safe and kettle thus perched precariously on the edge of the shelf; indeed the base fell off as soon as I picked the kettle up, easily sorted with an extension lead.

    It was convenient to where I was training, parking was ample and wifi worked without problems. Room was warm and clean. I booked last minute and it was one of the cheapest rooms available in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Great for a comfortable overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small, but I didn't need to use the shower as it was a one-night stay.

    The bed was very comfy, the location was great and the staff were very friendly upon check-in. And just down the road is the local station, the high street with loads of lovely shops and pubs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    very enjoyable will return
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was lovely n friendly the receptionist seem to b jack of all trades as the next morning she was serving us in breakfast room and also cooking it because they were short staffed - did wait awhile for breakfast tho.Room lovely few little things need to be changed - light over mirror for hair and make up Flannel n tissues in bathroom The bar wasn't open and would have made our stay even better - altho was told the new owners haven't got a bar licence yet - so hopefully when we return to Hill Lodge it will be open

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had not taken into account disability and booked into upstairs. However, the young lady at reception sorted things out to our satisfaction.

    Convenient. Helpful reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Pretty good value for money. One of the cheapest in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was terrible. The booking said that we had a bath but we did not and the shower took about 20 mins to warm up from ice cold water. The bathroom door did not close and the shower is literally over the toilet with no enclosure

    The bed was very comfortable and they were very relaxed about check out times

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was asked for ID to be copied, when asked why the girl said people had left without paying but I'd already paid so I said I'd rather not! Reception girl was coughing & blowing her dripping nose while showing us our room, Room small but adequate, Not keen on security coded rooms-prefer keys!!!

    Comfy bed, clean room Inc bathroom, close to town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Could be a really good with a little work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would appear that the property has recently changed hands and the owner wasn't well. The standard room was OK for an overnight visit but the on suite was strange in that it was a mini wet room so that when you had a shower the loo got a shower as well.There was also no heating in the wet room so that it took forever to dry. The breakfast was average and the bread for the toast was awful. The new owner had at the time of writing not got a licence for the bar so that was closed also the lounge furniture was rather tired and tatty and was locked on our first night so we couldn't use it. The staff were friendly and helpful but I felt that they were struggling. We possibly should have chosen a better room where would possibly have been a lot more comfortable. We were offered a different room but it was only one day short of us leaving and we decided it wasn't worth the hassle of moving.

    The property was located within easy walk of the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.3
    Dire . Glad to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness (toe nail on carpet) dirty panels . shower no hot water door to bathroom wouldn't close handle on shower door inside plastic bottle top . Breakfast very poor one member of staff trying to do everything couldn't have toast machine burning it setting of fire alarm asked for butter didn't appear

    Nothing glad it was one night only

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Convenient and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Burnt myself on the kettle steam due to positioning of kettle and type of kettle. Mentioned to Reception who were very apologetic and I was advised the hotel will be undergoing a refurb soon and kettles will be updated.

    Great location, welcoming friendly staff. Whilst everything was a bit tired, the beds were comfortable, small room, good shower. All in all a good stay and we will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.8
    In easy walking distance to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. No place to store suitcases. Could feel mattress springs when lying on the bed. No room to move around bed. Staff were friendly but unprofessional and difficult to find. Continental breakfast limited. No other meals offered. No bar available.

    In easy walking distance to town centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    good enough for one night and prize
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lack of staff there was the next morning only a young boy who started 2 days ago and completely left on his own

    the location and the parking was great. clean and everything there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.6
    not great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were facing very busy rd and was very noisey we paid extra for better room was no better at all smelt of damp only one cup for coffee the other was paper tv made the most terrible noise when on curtain was hanging off luckily we were only in it to sleep as at family wedding hopefully will improve as got new owners now .

    The fact you could walk out .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.3
    Hill lodge is one to dodge -disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness - room smelt horrible, toe nail clippings on the floor, sweets beside/under bed, toilet Wasn't flushed from previous user, cups dirty no tea spoon. Electrical equipment PAT test failed. Ensuite dirty and smelly. Breakfast was very poor. Majorly understaffed. Very disappointed especially for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    The place was dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was dirty. There was rubbish left behind from the previous occupant, but worse than that, the bathroom was really grimey. The doors did not shut properly, walls paper thin. Over priced for the quality of the stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Okay for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being told that their was no licence for them to be able to open the bar. Cleanliness of bedding could have been better.

    Very accommodating in letting us bring our own alcohol into the bar area. Fantastic location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very basic. I was told at the hotel I would be charged £55 but in fact was charged £75. We did not have breakfast or anything extra.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    The location was good, the staff was friendly easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very flat, the bathroom was a wetroom but too small. It was quite difficult not to splash water on the clothing and slippers.

    The location was good, the staff was friendly easy parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Short stay at friendly hotel in Sudbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful owner. Lovely breakfast. Easy walk into town. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful. We were in a small double so we had a wet room which is small but it worked so no complaints.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    One of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As per a previous comment you do need a grab rail by the shower as it would be difficult for the elderly or disabled to climb out of the bath after having a shower.

    The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The landlady was very friendly and it was like home from home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    2.9
    Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was musty and dirty. The bathroom had mould all round the ceiling edge. Poorly fitted out. The beds were little more than camp beds and the linen was dingy. Tea making facilities were limited and the cups and glasses were dusty and stained. We booked breakfast but changed our minds when we saw the dining room and the resident dog. Not good value at £70!!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    Convenient stop-over for visiting family and friends in the Sudbury area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, really, though it's a fairly basic place to stay and could probably do with an upgrade.

    Short-staffed when I stayed this time, so no hot breakfast available, but a reasonable cold breakfast, with toast, was offered free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Family visit in Sudbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, though a great size, looked out onto stone stairway and wall which made the room dull with little natural sunlight

    Full cooked breakfast made fresh every morning

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    5.8
    Would stay here again in larger room at the back, but not in a small front room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited 15 mins to check in - no staff to be found. First room was small double (cheaper) very small and noisy. Luckily were able to move due to cancellation. Reception not very inviting and corridors rather stale smelling. Bathroom window and sills were dirty, otherwise clean and bright room.

    Moved to a room at the back which was large, light and bright with a bath. Well worth the higher cost. Breakfast was good. Pleasant dining room. Mainly saw one staff who was extremely nice, but seemed a bit overstretched.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room décor was a bit tired, and was in need to decorating, and the shower/toilet unit was a bit grubby and old.

    I stayed in room 2, the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing on cleanliness front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness - a previous review said clean so I was really disappointed when I went into my room as the bathroom was not clean at all - hairs in basin and on glass shelf, no toilet cleaner in toilet. It just hadn't been cleaned. You know when somewhere is clean - it smells clean and this certainly did not. I was staying - unfortunately - two nights, but on second morning someone must have come in and at least wiped over bathroom, removing hairs and putting down cleaner in loo. Very disappointing as cleanliness is crucial.

    convenient location, 5 minute walk to Sudbury centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all was good, parking area was busy but we were still able to park

    Very close to Sudbury town centre. Staff friendly and helpful at all times. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.0
    Use if you have low standards or are stuckbut very nice owner, shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Begging dog from the hotel in the dining room, burnt toast, incomplete breakfast charged at full price, two different cookings of mushrooms - 1/4 overdone 3/4 virtually raw.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.3
    Comfy beds, quality linen and spacious rooms, plenty of...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking of 2 twin rooms, each was of a different standard so I think prices should vary because of this

    Comfy beds, quality linen and spacious rooms, plenty of storage for long stay, lovely view from window, slept very well

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.1
    Nice stay at Hill Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little dated and our room (no.6) could do with a new carpet but it's good value for money and a good place to crash for one night, which is what we did.

    The bed was comfortable and we were kindly given a free breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    The staff were great
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Bathroom,kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old sofa

    Bathroom,kitchen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    it suited our purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    strong smell of paint in room just decorated

    nice new room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Towels were very poor, looked dingy and had holes in them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were very poor, looked dingy and had holes in them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Arrived and greeted by a member of staff and was really pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn’t like

    Everyone was really lovely nothing was a problem and sorted very quickly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby decor. Couldn’t close bathroom door as no door knob. Bed very uncomfortable could feel the springs.

    Close to town centre. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Strange shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable room,helpful people,value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room,helpful people,value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    room was huge and the bed was comfy. that's all we needed for our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    3.3
    It needs a good clean!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dirty! Needs a deep clean. Stains on the bathroom walls & ceilings. Needs more secure doors.

    Clean bedding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Basic hotel. Clean but dated. Staff friendly but not hotel trained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bread selection and no fruit or muesli

    Very basic selection. Found orange juice and yoghurt afterwards. No one gave instructions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.0
    family bbq weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    housekeeping [lack of], replenishment of facilities

    ease of check in/out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    cheerful,comfy and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cannot think of anything

    the staff were very cheery and helpful breakfast varied and delicious room airy and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Happy with my choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV reception not reliable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Escape From The Village Of The Damned, Again......
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not a big fan of Summer.

    Solitude, as long as you respect in kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    FAB The Sequel
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great, if you're running away from something.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    FAB!
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just the toilet, but everything else was fab!

    It's a family run pad, for "outlaws" looking for refuge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    FAB!
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't drink coffee, something "stronger".

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    For 1 or 2 nights a good value B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for the town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Bed was comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not now the code for the door to get back late at night

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Name badges for team members...major credit for team

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Two nights of peace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    I just enjoyed being there.It was very good value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Excellent value and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value and very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Visit Sudbury quant market town stay at warm friendly Hill Lofge
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think

    Warm friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was perfect. Room was spotless with everything we needed. Owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    cooked vegetarian breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfy

    cooked vegetarian breakfasts. Also short walk to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.3
    Good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being close to town, It was rather more noisy than I would have Liked.

    Very friendly land lady, and her assistant, Poppy!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have done with a bit of a dusting.

    The breakfast was superb for the money, served very promptly in a friendly manner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    REasonably good and reasonably priced hotel victim of traffic situation Sudbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic situation in the arena

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice short stay at hill lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very close to toilet but it wasn't a major problem.

    Staff were very friendly and flexible to our needs

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.5
    family history
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking a little tight and tricky

    location and staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like bath and over head shower didn't work properly

    Easy access to sudbury with in walking distance

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.9
    owner could not have been more helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    owner could not have been more helpfull

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.8
    Cosy and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. Very friendly and chatty. Everything was very clean and tidy and well kept with a homemade breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: