Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Lancashire hotel reviews
  4. Blackburn hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hill View Hotel

Reviews of Hill View Hotel

Preston New Road, Blackburn, BB2 6BH, United Kingdom

#11 of 13 hotels in Blackburn

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 335 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    6.3
    The hotel made an effort to open a breakfast room at 7:00...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival at 23:30 we were told that hotel is closed and we will not be allowed in. We were travelling for 5.5 hours due to M6 motorway closure and delay was not our fault. Eventually, after 45 minutes of discussions over the phone, we were allowed in. This was an experience I would rather never repeat.

    The hotel made an effort to open a breakfast room at 7:00 for us with sandwiches and cornflakes. otherwise breakfasts starts much later, at 7:45

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    2.5
    Disgusting hotel really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disgusting hotel really. Needs some revamping if I’m being honest. Wouldn’t ever stay there again or consider it an option unless it had some work done. Would suggest they lower their price to £20 a night cause I’ve paid £50 for way better.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    3.8
    Standard single room (without en suite), was £30 per night: you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared bathroom had loose bolt and socket on door. No basin plug. No shaver point. Poor breakfast, not available after 8.15 am on Bank Holiday Monday - too early cut-off

    Bad comfortable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    6.3
    It seemed that the B & B was being running almost "on the side " - and whoever was running it was pr
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The showerroom was absolutely minute. I could hardly turn around in it. There was a shelf above the basin place so low that it was possible to access the taps easily. Breakfast was only available until 8 15 a.m. on weekdays and 9 15 at the weekend. I found this pretty unreasonable. There was no-one "on duty" when I came down for breakfast and no evidence of what was available as a cooked breakfast. The TV was on (loudly) in the breakfast room. The choice of cereals was minimal i.e. Corn Flakes and one other variety. The other variety was unbelievably sugary. The coffee did not taste as though it was proper This was my experience on day ! and as a result I did not try and rest of the breakfast on any of the other days.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    9.2
    At this price, great. Close to the town centre for food and drink. Would recommend to colleagues.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in the room I was in would benefit from a proper enclosure rather than just a curtain.

    At the price being charged it's a pretty good B&B. Fairly easy to find. Not a bad breakfast with good quality food and great coffee.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    5.4
    The hotel was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was like sleeping on concrete. Breakfast was packed early. Then my husband asked for no egg or tomato and only got eggs and tomato. Had to pay extra to have a shower

    The hotel was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    4.6
    The man at the reception desk was nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little dusty and it triggered my partners Allergies, so we had to leave. It’s a shame. There was no toilet in the room it was in the hallway

    The man at the reception desk was nice

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    8.3
    When I booked, breakfast was included.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I booked, breakfast was included. Brealfast was included and was served, but they do not have BACON in the menu. I was hoping for a full English Breakfast...

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    7.5
    Simple comfort for small price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -As the shower is small, a shower curtain is not good, sticks on the body. Rigid walls would be better. -The car park is hard to find when arriving in the hotel (I came in the dead-end with a trailer for nothing, then the guy told me that the park entrance was in another street in the back of the hotel)

    Really not as bad I thought when reading the comments. Yes it's an old house, a bit used, some damages in the paint of the walls, but who cares ? The room was clean, comfortable mattress, pillows smelled good. Very small bathroom but everything worked. It was just like spending a night in a student's room, small but everything needed is there. Sleeping well and taking a hot shower : all that I did expect ! The TV was OK (to the person who say it cannot be set off : open your eyes, there is a switch on the socket) The guy at the desk was nice while I arrived much after the time I said Breakfast simple, cereals, milk, coffee, biscuits... Basic and cannot go wrong I was a bit afraid after reading the comments about this hotel, so it was really a good surprise. I don't know much about English hotels, but for the same price in France we can find much more horrible dumps

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    10
    Really impressed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn’t get out of the car park as someone had parked behind me. So I had to find the owner of the car to move it.

    Very quiet, clean and comfortable! Great value for money too.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    6.7
    Group of friends out for weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom / toilet need redecoration. The reception need redecoration. . No have lounge and TV where people can relax in a room together so had to invite people in bed room to relax with tea

    The breakfast is good because they do halal but need more variety. I like the location because its short walk to town, short walk to bus stop (X59) and short drive from hotel to different places. The bed is good to sleep with.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    8.3
    Would stay there again if we were in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit small, but served its purpose and for the extra £5 we paid it was worth it.

    Very clean, nice friendly staff, breakfast was good start to the day, lady who served us was friendly, For the price we paid we have no issues, 10 minute walk into Blackburn, would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    6.7
    The room looked neat and tidy but the window frames were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room looked neat and tidy but the window frames were dirty and the furniture dated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would have prefered a sink to be in the room.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    5.8
    Not enjoyed the stay. Rather noise from the stairs. Bed comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One towel is provided for the rest of the stay. I asked for another one and was told towels are in the drier once finished will be brought to me. Extra towel never came until I checked out. Nothing is explained at check in. Not polite staff. Reception is always empty and with no staff.

    Breakfast was not saved to me as I was leaving for business early before breakfast time. I was leaving for work at 7:15. Surely I could have something. So I cannot comment on breakfast. What I can suggest is to provide breakfast on weekends same times as weekdays. Or to provide cereals early mornings over the weekend than nothing at all.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    7.1
    Good enough for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny, the bathroom was freezing (no heating and single glazed windows), the bed was uncomfortable, there was no where to hang your wet coat or to hang your towels, and the breakfast finished at 8.15am which we felt was a bit early. I couldn’t get the WiFi to work either.

    It was the cheapest place to stay and there was free parking and breakfast included, so overall it was worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    6.7
    Double poor value for money. Purpose built hotels in town offer similar rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wardrobe in single room. Rooms cramped and not at all spacious. A large house that has been converted to hotel use and as many rooms as possible crammed in.

    Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    3.8
    BEWARE
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No one was there to give you breakfast during breakfast allocated time. False advertising and rooms are not as described or shown in the picture. Kept banging my head on the ceiling and I'm not even tall.

    The guy at the front desk.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    7.1
    Again, you get what you pay for.do not expect a 5 star hotel.Value for money but not very hygenic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wifi is terrible at some points and I got disconnected so many times. The towel was not changed everyday and they dried it on the radiator, the soap used by previous guests was still there. But generally the cheapest in Blackburn and its not a bad idea if you wanna save money.

    You get what you pay for. The overall experience was alright. Walls were very thin and you could hear next door coughing.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shared bathroom Having to ask for correct amount of cups Needing to ask straight away for toilet roll for the bathroom One small hand sized towel provided only Sink in room was loose Only one available plug in room situated under sink Wardrobe was broken/door missing Curtain inadequate size for window Heating issues

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi unfortunately wouldn’t work :-(

    Breakfast included in price. Rooms clean enough for the price, quiet and staff were really friendly - we stayed there as we was going to a wedding up the road.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    3.3
    Nothing really if i had the chance of taking a picture of...
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The picture on the booking.com website is nothing like the actual building it was a run down possible Victorian building not a converted chapel/church and the room was in need of decoration

    Nothing really if i had the chance of taking a picture of the Breakfast all i can say it was edable, Didn't know at the time but due to the religion of the owners that might of been the reason there wasn't bacon on a full English breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    7.9
    Great stay was needed for a night's accommodation to see a gig at St George's Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold room and cold water on arrival ( in a very cold day). Quickly rectified once reported, problem with boiler.

    Lovely breakfast, cooked to order. Bed clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    4.2
    The staff were very polite, probably the only good thing...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately you get what you pay for, it’s cheap for a reason, this is more like a half way house or hostel than a hotel, one guest had the police there after a domestic with her partner. The rooms are tiny and the walls are paper thin, quality isn’t what you get. The outside is dirty and uninviting.

    The staff were very polite, probably the only good thing about this place

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    10
    Absolutely excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything & got up graded from a single room 2 a double room at no extra cost. This was my second stay here & will always use this hotel wen in lancs working..excellent excellence. 👍👍🤗

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Great stay. Lovely staff. Fantastic price. We will return as there was nothing to complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside of the building doesn't do justice to the interior.

    Lovely clean and warm room. The dining area and stairway/landing were all nicely furnished and well lit. The young man on Reception (Adam) was very pleasant and quick to solve any problem. The breakfast was delicious and varied and the chef/waitress/housekeeper was lovely and came to chat with us at breakfast. Apologies for not asking her name! The price of the stay was value for money. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    5.4
    I came to attend my nephews funeral and it was adequate for what I needed just.
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to find car park, 3 streets away, car park very small and hard to park in, lots and lots of steps inside and outside of the building. Other residents seemed to be people put in there due to homelessness. Very confused man with dementia constantly asking for help during breakfast. Advertised as 24hr reception but no-one there most of the time, only accessed via a telephone on the reception desk and didn’t come when I asked due to the confused man.

    The room was clean, beds clean and comfortable, breakfast was average but what there was was good, the staff when seen were nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.6
    For the price it does meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately I was in an attic room meaning I spent most of my time hunched over. This coupled with a very hard bed in a very warm room did give the best experience. Also at some during the evening there was an argument on the landing which restricted what little sleep I did manage to get

    For the price it does meet expectations

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    6.7
    This is a big house converted to rooms with a toilet/shower/handbasin walled off in a corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a car stolen and it was crashed into a taxi. The shower was so small the shower curtain kept wrapping itself around me.

    Friendly staff. Good heating and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    Staff recommended excellent restaurant and were very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hairdryer in room but one was provided at reception.

    Staff recommended excellent restaurant and were very friendly. Loved the Asian omelette option.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything I will never stay there again or book through you 2 hotels I have stayed in now with you and they have been the pitts I will go to a premier inn

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Overall you get what you pay for and for £35 for the night it was ok but I would never return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were paper thin and the bathroom was appalling. Breakfast was also basic with no bacon on the menu.

    The bedding was clean and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    4.6
    Never again..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell, cleanliness, down at heel buliding, room etc

    Bed was comfy, sheets were clean nad that was about it. The hotel is in total disrepair. What did I expect for £30...stupid me !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    4.6
    Shocking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a mouse that ran in the bedroom in room 12 and disappeared down the hole where the radiator pipe went through the floor. It was lucky that was before I was checking out as it completely shocked me. I considered notifying someone but wouldn’t know where to start. You get what you pay for!

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    3.3
    nothing
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was smelling of damp not what I paid for, the wardrobe door was broken,? The door handle was broken, outskirting was full of dust ,?there were hooks missing on the curtain. Very very poor

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    4.6
    Reasonable price, ok breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only hot water in the shower, only 1 towel and bed sheet for 2 persons, really small bed and small room

    Reasonable price, ok breakfast. 15 min walk from town centre

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    2.9
    Nothing positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole place needs modernisation.The bathroom is disgusting.some of the rooms didn’t include en-suite and you had to share communal bathroom. You had to pay extra for en-suite.which not declared,when booking the room.i wouldn’t recommend this place for anyone .

    Nothing positive

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    5.0
    Down Hill Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No soap and towels in the room. All 3 beds had hairs on them. Few days later after staying at the hotel we got accused of taking the towels home even though there weren't any.

    The spacious room and location for town centre/night out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    Extremely good value and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would appreciated a room on the ground floor as I suffer from mobility problems. However, the room I was supplied on the first floor was extremely spacious and comfortable.

    Although I missed breakfast, due to not being able to contact my disabled wife who had remained at home. A member of the cleaning staff realised this and made me a coffee before I left the premises.This was appreciated by myself as I was facing a 300 mile journey home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    6.3
    A small apartment house made into rooms, very basic. Parkcar is free, limited spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was noisy with other people in the building, I could smell cigarette smoke. It’s supposed to me a non smoking building

    The guy at desk was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    4.2
    Grim. Truly grim.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival (about 3.15pm) there was a strong - and unpleasantly sickly - smell of cooking meat, possibly sausages. It was so strong, I asked if there was a meat processing plant in the vicinity. Apparently not. This faded into the evening, but I was woken by the same smell the in my room he following morning. I couldn’t get out of the place fast enough. I certainly didn’t stop for breakfast. The area itself was grim. I asked the receptionist where I could get an evening meal, and he directed me down the road, where there were “loads of places.” On venturing out, it was like a ghost town, with everywhere closed. I asked a few people, and they all said the same thing “No, everywhere is closed at this time of night - even McDonalds.” One guy directed me to the only sign of life, a Wetherspoons where, than goodness, I got a pint and a meal. Then it was back to Hell View Hotel. For about half an hour I was subjected to a woman in the next room screaming it the window at someone.

    Not a lot. In fact, less than that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    3.8
    NOT GOOD!
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were not comfy, the hotel outiside was really dirty. Inside was slightly cleaner, but in some areas there weee dirt and mold. Wouldn’t stay here again unfortunately.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking on arrival wasn’t clear. We paid £5 extra for ensuite, not clear at booking this wasn’t included. £55 for the room which was very small, ensuite was very small and could smell cigarette smoke through the vents. Clean but overpriced in my opinion, couldn’t wait to leave the next morning, didn’t stay for breakfast which was included in the price, would not recommend. Sorry you need to up your game !!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful and friendly and happy to sort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As I have a softer bed at home I found bed abit hard but everything else in room was perfect for what I needed.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly and happy to sort out problems.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    3.8
    NOT GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SEE ABOVE

    NOT GOOD. Did not get what we booker eg. twin bed booked, double bed given, when asked no alternative give booked a parking space but had to park on the road. no bath towels provided. breakfast ok the lady serving was very pleasant her service was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    4.6
    Never again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They bath room was tiny ... shower was terribly... was leaking water all over the floor ... and who puts hand towels in room to use to have a shower with ... Bottles of water in the room is needed ...

    The bed was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    5.8
    Good for short stay
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was very hidden and hard to spot whilst driving to it. We were lucky to be offered an ensuite room as we weren’t aware there was a chance of sharing a bathroom. The room was quite small but we were only there for a night.

    Good for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    4.2
    Not recommended
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tiny, bathroom smallest ive ever come across. Wasn't very clean. Curtains didnt fit and a light outside window flashing constantly. Breakfast 6.45 -7.45am far too early. Mirror in bathroom not on wall propped on sink. Said wifi but no code given. Didn't mention how difficult it would be re hill and stairs as i am disabled. Only 1 cup for tea when 2 of us.

    Nothing to be honest but it was somewhere to stay while we visited family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Nice enough place but let down by things mentioned above
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bacon at breakfast as Muslim owned and hardly spoke english,miserable sharp women serving breakfast, didn't bother some mornings as wasn't worth the hassle ,didn't once clean room and didn't change the towles,

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.1
    I travelled alone so had a single room. It was OK as I didn't have much luggage. But you could never
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No brown bread at all. Stayed in room 7; there was a little smell in the bathroom..constantly. Maybe they can sort that out? But I didn't sleep in the toilet lol ..so that was ok !

    Warm milk for my cereal and coffee. Hosts were really helpful with giving directions and sorting out taxis.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    3.3
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived the gentleman at the front desk advised we had booked a room with a shared bathroom (didn’t mention this on the booking) he said we could upgrade to an ensuite for an extra £5.00 per night so we did. Wasn’t overly impressed by this. The rooms with ensuites are on the top floor in the attic so with the hot weather we’re exceptionally warm, the small window we had was open constantly however every time we walked in the room there was a strong strong smell of sewerage. We had a small double bed which was just a base with no headboard, it really needed a headboard as there is a small cupboard with casing built into the wall right behind your head as only three pillows were supplied between two of you you could feel the casing all night long. The floorboards all constantly creaked so you darent move around in case you woke other guests up. They also really need to upgrade there toilet roll as it was really cheap stuff (McDonald’s toilets provide better) and we only had a quarter of a roll in our room so was having to fetch it from elsewhere. Breakfast is on from 6:45-07:45 so we didn’t bother with this. Not just because of time but we were genuinely put off by the hotel. We won’t be staying here again.

    It was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    A weekend Stay at Hill View
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think a bed side table and chair would have been good to have.

    The welcome and ease of signing in and helpfulness on room location. The hotel is in a quiet part of town. It is on a bus route. It is near a public park. The center of town is easy to get to. The breakfast is excellent. There was enough to eat. The room was basic but very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    4.2
    Night Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small double room. Window wouldn't shut too small for two adults. Shower was really small and flooded the bathroom.

    Nice and quiet but we were at a wedding in the Stanley House so thus was really far when the distance didn't state this on the website.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    5.0
    The owners took a £40 deposit off me for the room keys...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners took a £40 deposit off me for the room keys incase if loss. There cleaners had spare keys so they could easily have had one cut for £5. Upon leaving in the morning I asked for my deposit back and gave them the keys. No sign of the man who took my money and the woman at reception couldn’t speak English so she passed me onto someone on the phone who told me they would refund the money into my bank and they still haven’t 2 weeks later

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love this hotel, I've travelling and staying UK hotels for over nine years and the Hill View Hotel is certainly one of the best I've stayed in. Lovely and clean with very helpful staff. Thanks guys.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Hill View - a great little hotel in Blackburn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think having someone on the desk early in the morning to welcome you to breakfast. However the chief soon made herself known.

    It is a friendly hotel. The owners are in the back ground so do not monopolize the hotel. The house rules are practical. The room key is a real one not a plastic card that does not always work. There is a bus stop near the hotel but it only a short walk into the town center. The breakfast was delicious and substantial. A lot of features would have cost much more in big name hotels. There was tea making equipment in the room. This was great value. The staff were very knowledgeable of buses and the towns important features.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    5.0
    Adequate for an overnight stay but if we were staying longer we would have walked out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet seat hanging off. No wardrobe. Bathroom very small. No bacon or pork sausage for breakfast. (I understand the owners are Muslims, but the guests staying were not.) It's more a place for contractors, not holidaymakers.

    Bed comfy and clean. Car park behind hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money, I was happy with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is only from 8 a.m. on weekends so I had to go without it, I asked for a partial refund but no success.

    Good value for money, I was happy with the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    2.9
    Nothing to like room to small dining room to small not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outside of property did not look good ,when walking from car park to hotel rear of property looked dirty curtains in windows ripped and dirty

    Nothing to like room to small dining room to small not enough tables for visitors to have breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.3
    Perfectly acceptable simple hotel in a central location (10 mins walk to St George's Hall)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room was TINY and although clean it stank of sweaty feet - probably due to water leaking under the floor as it was impossible to wash without getting water everywhere. There was no mirror in the bedroom so I had to dry my hair without one. And the (single) room was VERY small. I think it was expensive for what it was, but it did the job.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great. Comfy bed too. The street behind was perfect for quiet and easy parking, the car park of the hotel itself was very tight and it would be easy to either get blocked in or knocked by a car trying to manoeuvre. Good free wifi is always appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff knocked on the door a couple of times in the morning asking when we were leaving, despite it being up to an hour before check out. Car park isn't easy to find, as it is not connected to the hotel by road directly, but is instead accessed via a rear entrance and connected by a footpath.

    Hill View is an old, but renovated house. Facilities were great, room was good but a bit tired looking. Everything seemed clean, apart from some minor marks on sheets. Range of coffee and tea available, and TV in good condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Rude staff on arrival We wasn’t told about the £50 deposit before arrival Breakfast finishing at 7.45 when I called them at 7.50? How convienient No one at the desk ok checkout Unwelcoming Wouldn’t return Plus sockets not working No bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.1
    Nice place for a one night stay and to get a good night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all bedroom lights worked. Could have done with a small table and chairs in the room. We had requested a vegan breakfast but there was no evidence of soya milk for the cereal and for cooked we just had beans with toast.

    Comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff polite, and gave us an en suite though we hadn't booked one. Parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    4.6
    Rubbish
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything it was very poor and basic didn’t eveb stay for breakfast it’s more like a hostel than a hotel no en suit was a shared bathroom it was terrible never stay again

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Up the football leage we go
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small and grubby bathroom

    If you guys want a cheap clean fuss free room for the football, it ticks all the boxes. I would definitely stay again Just dont expect the ritz

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.0
    not great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room comfortable enough. Staff very unwelcoming and not very helpful. When checking out the woman was on her phone and just held her hand out for the key. Didn't even ask if I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and good for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom floor got wet very quickly so it was a little slippy and the breakfast was very early.

    The room was clean and good for the money spent. Very basic but what do you expect for that price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable rates and clean.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    En suite not done to high standard looked like rushed job. No chair just beds to sit on my 90 year old mother had to sit on the bed. Could have done with a mirror near a plug. A bedside table would be good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.0
    It is an old property and the owners have done well to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Larger room, had to walk sideways round bottom of the bed!

    It is an old property and the owners have done well to decorate and present in reasonable order. Bed and pillows were comfortable. The room was TINY!! I would say that the accommodation is geared towards workmen rather than travellers. However, it was value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.8
    Odd
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was last k8ng investment everything was not quite as good as I would have expected £50 was too dear £25 would have been fairer. I will just use Premier Inns be a use of consistency of facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    4.6
    Piss poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first overnight room had no chair or hooks/hangers to hang my clothes. The radiator was turned off. They gave me a better room with hooks and hangers on one wall for overnight 2. The door handles (2) on the shower room were loosely fitted with inappropriate screws loosely attached.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    4.6
    Dog-hole of a place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unsleepable bed (concrete matress). Not en suite. Tiny, cramped room with nothing in it. Single glazed. Noisy. No bacon (unbelievable!). Like going back to 1950 but without the style

    Really there wasn't much to redeem it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay. Only thing was breakfast, the lady could have been friendlier!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was 6:45-7:45 and when I came down at 7:30 the lady told me that I was late and was quite rude about it. I didn’t order any breakfast as she made it clear she was not happy!

    The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    5.0
    Thankfully only stayed 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms not big enough. Just 5 inch clearance around bed. Bruises everywhere. Freezing cold bathroom with a mirror just free standing on basin, not high enough to look in. Curtains not big enough to keep light out. Snowed heavily in the night and nothing was cleared from very steep slopes and steps outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money and friendly guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reading the reviews beforehand and being concerned that it was going to be poor, they were wrong.

    Great little guesthouse, friendly staff and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    3.8
    Unsurprising considering it was such a low cost.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was dreadful and the staff there clearly gave very little consideration into the business, the room was cold and the TV didn’t work. The towels had holes in them and the toilet seat didn’t stay up, everything was tacky and essentially you paid for what you got.

    The fact it was cheap.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: