Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hillcarter Hotel 3 stars

Church Street, Hartlepool, TS247DH, United Kingdom

#10 of 14 hotels in Hartlepool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was supposed to be included but the roof top restaurant was shut so went to Wetherspoons which luckily was nearby No one on reception except when we checked in by cash only

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous Should be taken off booking. Com Bar closed yet was advertised No breakfast but was advertised Room disgusting Windows could not see out of through the dirt No visa / card machine ... cash only .... no receipt Apparently being taken over 2 days after our stay .... so no one to complain too Reception young boy rough in attitude and appearance Certainly not a 3.3 that has come up automatically More like minus 100

    Absolutely nothing was a disgrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I tried to phone the hotel on the morning of my stay to try and check in a little earlier, but no reply. I arrived at 16.15 with other guests, but couldn't gain access and the phone wasn't answered. I got in just after 5. The receptionist said the card machine wasn't working and requested cash. The room was clean, but the windows were so dirty you could hardly see through them. Just after 7 in the morning a note was put under the door saying that due to unforeseen circumstances there would be no breakfasts. I checked out and had something at the station - no sign of any staff. Really dingy area. Would NOT recommend.

    The hotel was warm and dry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the Above not being advised prior to traveling

    No bar open due to raid works not advised prior to traveling no chef so no food again not advised no card machine for payment had to go to bank for cash

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    \no one in reception one used towel in bathroom very little loo paper light bulb missing dusty room got up early go to door for breakfast towels on floor outside with a note £5 attached refund because NO BREAKFAST! Once again no one in reception. Awful place, never experienced anything like this before.

    Absolutely nothing it was good to get out of the place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no visible staff. You have to phone a mobile number to contact staff. The rooms are above a nightclub. Even with the TV on volume 30, we could only hear the club music.The noise made everything in the room shake. The room was very warm. The floorboards creaked with every step. The windows were very dirty and we could not see out on the one side. The other side of the room was opposite a pizza parlour, taxi rank and train station. There were teenagers running around the corridors all night. When we checked in, the receptionist told us their card machine was out of order so we had to leave our luggage and go to find a cash machine. He also told us that the chef had phoned in ill so they couldn't provide us with breakfast the next morning. There were road works outside which added to the noise. All in all it was not an enjoyable experience.

    The bed was comfortable and there was a bath as well as a shower in the bathroom. They provided a fridge, a fan, an ironing board and iron.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception staff to let you in if you don’t have a mobile your stuck as every time you needed to contact staff you had to call them even to get into the hotel. The room is very old and dated with badly stained furniture, there was only one towel for 2 people the tea and coffee facilities was extremely poor and even though breakfast was included in the price there was no breakfast on both mornings not even the offer of reducing the price or an alternative. The floor boards were very creaky and the room looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for dsys

    The shower was ok and the WiFi also the size of the room was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said I hadn’t paid and I had to pay again.... there were no staff , no breakfast I have tried to contact them but they haven’t called back. It is closing down this week... I am not surprised

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay cash as card machine not working No ink for their printer so no receipt On arrival it took staff 10min to let us in the hotel to check in. Very tired room Windows were that dirty couldn’t see out of them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to make a phone call and wait for someone to attend to gain access to reception, we were then told that the card machine was down and we had to pay cash. This had apparently been going on for several days at least, I know from experience you can get a new machine within 24 hours? Was allocated Room 5, first impression on opening the door was that it had the dirtiest windows I've ever come across, I doubt the glass has ever met a window cleaner. Next, as I walked in I discovered there was not one single area of floor in either the main room or bathroom that didn't creak when walked on (my apologies to anyone underneath). Turned on the TV to find it had no signal and therefore didn't work, it was at this point that I rang and requested another room. The chap said he would check if one was available and get back to me, after an hour I had to go and find him to be told no rooms were available. Went to take a shower, the curtain goes less than half way along the bath, the taps for the mixer shower are so old that they seem to be either on or off meaning the water is hot or cold with no in between. When I picked up the shower head there was a crack in the pipe which fired a jet of water across the entire bathroom (remember the curtain) filling my toiletries bag in the process! We went for breakfast next morning to find all the tables laid with white clothes, full cutlery, condiments and sauces, this showed some promise. A young lady asked of I was waiting for a cooked breakfast, I replied 'Yes please', she then said they don't do a cooked breakfast would I like white or brown toast and also offered four stale croissants. If there's nothing but toast and croissants why the hell are you providing me with a knife and fork, salt and pepper, ketchup and brown sauce? After one nights stay, we decided it wasn't worth staying the second night we had already paid for so checked out.

    Nothing positive stands out as worth a mention

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I secured my booking with PayPal,however when I arrived the girl on reception told me it was a cash only booking,and directed me to a nearby cash point to withdraw the money,I have received a statement today,and I had paid by card,so the woman on reception has probably committed fraud,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast again that's the 3rd time always some excuse but that will be the last time and never no compensation we then have to go and look for some where to to eat all at extra cost cheers keith

    Good size room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was never anyone on reception, just a number to call. Would be nice to be alerted that they only accept cash prior to arrival. Parking is awkward as you have to get up early to put money on in the car park machine (not hotels fault). Vender machine would be handy for early am drink, milks supplies were lumpy.

    Happy with the room itself as it was spacious and supplied tv and iron. Breakfast was nice and in a lovely roof top room with a great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park at the hotel, had to park on the main road and walk over, to wake up at 6am to pay for parking. I tried to ring the hotel several times before arriving and there was no answer. The shower wasn’t working properly, freezing cold one minute and boiling hot the next, no in between. Creaky floors which was quite annoying for myself but also for the people staying below me. Pretty out dated and Victorian vibe. The hot water tap in the sink was working.

    The breakfast at the rooftop. Having a iron and board. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is pain that no one is on reception, so you have to ring to get some attention It would be nice to have been told or to be able to see a sign, where the breakfast is served

    The room is good The price is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on the bed was very uncomfortable and so very low down. Could feel the springs coming through the mattress. Had to put another blanket ontop of the mattress to be able to get some sleep. The mattress was disgusting when putting the blanket on. Very disgusting and and run down tattered. The room/hotel is so run down and in need of updating Executive room 25.

    The chef was very helpful and friendly. Due to the weather conditions as staff not able to get in, he was doing it all at breakfast. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door didn’t close properly and the bathroom was a little grubby. One of the twin beds was a bit rickety.

    Excellent breakfast choices, reasonable drinks prices, nice bar and lounge area and lovely rooftop restaurant for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault it !

    The beds were so comfortable I decided to stay another night, and the staff were all lovely couldn't do enough for us. The food was unreal, we will definitely be back would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Hartlepool you will not find a better hotel. Tracey xxx

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold on arrival room 12a tv way to small. Could hear the nightclub underneath. Shower in room 22 was dangerous as it was either boiling or freezing. Couldn’t get in for breakfast at 8am as no staff and we had to eat something before our long travel home. I had to go in to the kitchen to ask if we we’re in the right place. No one in reception on arrival or departure.

    The food in the lobby lounge and breakfast was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in room 22 was either boiling or freezing and could not get it right so could not shower. Friends stayed in 12a no heating on when checked in so took a while for room to warm up and tv was very small compared to room 22’s you could hear a slight booming noise of the nightclub underneath. We went at 8am for breakfast and it wasn’t open as said. Phone reception no answer I had to literally go in to the kitchen to ask if we were in the right place. Finally got let in at 8.10am and was greeted with a very flushed chef that was upset to be in his own as no other staff had arrived. But he was polite and offered full fry up of which he delivered with in minutes. Even tho we had to wait for the kettle to boil for a hot drink. Roof top restaurant was dark as no lights were put on it smelt musty but the view was lovely. I couldn’t voice my opinion in person as in check out there was no one to greet us.

    The young gentleman that signed us in and later served us in the lobby lounge was a very polite and lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room smelt strongly of cigarettes which was very unpleasant. Suprisingly Check-in is not 24hrs so when I arrived I had to wait outside for half an hour and was checked in by a very inhospitable man.

    Location was okay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at reception to check us in or out, had to do it with a waitress at the bar, 2 tables for breakfast that arrived after us got orders took and served before we even had our order taken, all staff seemed like they didn’t know where they where or what they were doing themselves. By far the noisiest hotel Iv ever stayed in and will not be staying here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note

    Lovely clean and well maintained hotel in a prime central location with very helpful and amiable staff. The rooftop restaurant was amazing !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the darkness of the corridors, no information folder in the bedroom, and most of the items on the breakfast menu were not available. We were told they were expecting a delivery that day but not much help for us. I also didn't like the smell of the air freshener in the room. Also booking.com hadn't forwarded our reservation so we had to wait quite a while for it to be sorted out. We ended up with a family room instead of the double we had booked.

    I liked the view from the breakfast room and the size of the bathroom .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took my two young boys with me. I wasn't aware that it was part of a pun and night club. Although I didn't hear any music at all the noise from the other patrons was ridiculous until about 4 am. The boys didn't notice but I didn't sleep a wink.

    Beautiful building with really lovely staff. Food was brilliant. Location was spot on. Fabulous place if you're partying. Really reasonably priced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bed sheets. Plug un the sink stopped workung and was not fixed even when i checked out days later. The TV remore looked like it had not been wiped clean in years. If there is another hotel with rooms un the area stay at one of those.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The special dietary requirements were ignored Email was ignored The parking was misleading The bed was terrible The night manger was a disgrace Initial staff could not help

    The 2 ladies who helped get me a refund were great Odd job man was amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was very good. Pricing at the public carpark next to the hotel was very reasonable. Would use again and definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was kept awake alk night being at the front of the building all i could here was drunks from the pubs in the street all night

    The friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage to guide through the hotel was not very good. This makes getting to reception a little bit of a challenge.

    A fresh, clean hotel at a good price. The staff are polite and helpful. It is much better than the basics and is a good alternative to the Premier Inn

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to check in at the bar as no one at Reception. Beds not very comfortable. (For my liking)

    Hotel was conveniently located. Breakfast was good. Friendly staff. Great view of Hartlepool from the rooftop restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly stained mattress!!!! Breakfast was poor bacon was very dry appeared to have been left under heat for several hours Had poached eggs for final two breakfasts freshly cooked good No toiletries left in room second and third days no supplies in reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast and the noise, although the staff said a bit of noise it was disgraceful they did say they had a function on, on the Saturday night but they function room party were really noisy and disrespectful (noisewise) with other guests

    The hotel was ok, breakfast wasn't great especially the cooked breakfast as it was cold when we complained to the waitress she had a right attitude and wasn't friendly, That I only had a yoghurt and toast the following day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired old fashioned rooms with the most uncomfortable bed. Got used to it after night 4! Bonus was the shower was good. The entire hotel has squeaky floorboard's bizarre really.

    Good location easy to fund. Staff helpful even thought they charged me for an extra night by mistake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dated and a bit grim. The main issue was the noise, however. After confirming the booking, a little sentence appeared stating that there would be some noise at the property due to its location. Biggest understatement ever. Raves downstairs and across the street. The hotel itself has a nightclub in the basement. Drunken shouting until 2/3 am. Pubs, clubs, chip shops in the immediate vacinity and terrible windows. Don't go here if you want any sleep. Breakfast was also terrible. One poor lady rushing around doing everything herself. Poor quality food, badly cooked.

    The staff were very friendly. There was ample parking behind the building (paid). Room was average, but freezing cold when we first went in. Easy to find via sat nav.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had known there were two functions on until midnight we would not have stayed as my partner was doing the triathlon early the next day. It was disappointing as he had rang to ask about noise prior to booking and from what the staff member said there wouldn't be a problem but we could actually make out which songs were being played!

    It worked in our favour that there was a problem making a hot breakfast until 10am and the staff were very accommodating providing the breakfast after the triathalon otherwise we would have missed it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After being told there was to be no cooked breakfast which we paid for, we were then told after 3/4 of an hour it was available so we ordered 4 full English breakfasts. The bacon was nearly raw, everything on the plate was cold except the beans. We all left the breakfasts as we didn't want to be ill, very disappointed, the lady who served us and brought us the toast and told us there was to be no breakfast in the initial instance then said " I can only offer toast I'm afraid" then laughed! Nobody on our table of 4 found it remotely funny.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather basic & maybe a little dated - although clean & reflected value for the price paid.

    Staff were great - from initially phoning to make a query, greeting, serving breakfast & check out - friendly & cheerful. Location is straight outside of train station & central for all needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. We didn't know what to expect as we'd tried to book the travel lodge because we've stayed there before. We're so glad they were fully booked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very disappointing. No bacon, eggs or beans, and I was ready before the time cut-off. I wasn't late.

    Clean and comfortable room. I couldn't ask for anything more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking had to pay on public carpark. Bed was uncomfortable and squeaked noisily. Only one bed side table so one had to put stuff on floor. Had no hot water from sink taps so had to wash with cold water. The bath mat was ripped and stained. Sofa was worn out and uncomfortable. I booked executive room expected king size bed only had double which wasn't long enough for my husband. The swipe card to get through doors did not work very well . Breakfast was not great it was cooked ok but not much of it. Lastly at no point did anyone ask us if our stay was ok even when we left

    Liked having separate lounge area shame the sofa was worn and uncomfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated but with a very modern bar downstairs. The room was too hot but would have been too noisy to open windows at night. Hardly any choice for breakfast....no pastries and little fruit.

    Very nice bar downstairs and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a shower but bath was adequate. Breakfast was fried and swimming in cooking oil, couldn't eat it.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, large room and bathroom, comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They forgot to clean the bath before we got there. We only realised this when we got up in the morning and it didn't have a proper shower. It did have a shower hose though and this worked just fine. So no real problems

    The staff were really helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. It was exactly where we needed to be, surrounded by excellent facilities. Train station is just across the road. No noise to disturb us. Pricing is the best I've ever experienced for two people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi in the room and it was quite noisy late in the evening, despite my room being on the 3rd floor.

    Very clean & comfortable and the staff are friendly and accommodating. There are plenty of places to eat & drink close to the hotel and car parking was very easy for a Saturday evening. I didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    council pay and display parking, not secure.. no wi-fi the day I stayed mattress had seen better days. hot water took about 5 mins to get warm

    Great breakfast and if travelling by train it's opposite the station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell in the bathroom like sewers when we walked in and there was no breakfast left despite us been there at 9.

    The room waa a good size and so was the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very difficult and not explained clearly.

    The room was large and comfortable (some room reorganisation would be better). The staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to see a clean bathroom ☺

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management clearly trying to make a decent hotel. Clean and comfortable and right next to train station. Close to marina bars and restaurants. Staff were helpful and friendly Great cocktail bar downstairs. Reports of noise on Saturdays weren't an issue

    Clean good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little noisy on a night as our room was overlooking the zebra crossing

    excellent central location,friendly staff,we had to leave early due to an emergency so missed our breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise as stated above. Parking was not owned by the hotel and was pay and display - this was not clear in advance

    Breakfast was OK, location good for a town visit, however VERY noisy people outside until gone 4 in the morning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no permit parking! So that meant I had to get my 5 and 3 year old up and ready before 8 to make sure I put a car park ticket on my car!! When I complained to the receptionist she didn't care less, just shrugged it of and said they have just changed hands and haven't got permits through yet!! The Hotel is very old fashioned! Bathroom definitely needs updating! Cracked tiles, crack in sink! Horrible shower curtain instead of glass door and manky looking shower!😳 No hair dryer! Doors slamed all the time and hall way floor outside my room creaked terribly 🙁 Would not stay again!!

    The bed was comfy! They had a fan, iron and ironing board in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. Parking was easy and staff very helpful.

    Clean and friendly. The panoramic breakfast view was great as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children aged 5 and 2 but there was only a double bed and 1 single bed so the children had to share a bed

    Lovely Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was great!

    Great hotel, great location, everything amazing. Executive double, lovely spacious room and bathroom. Lovely breakfast, staff couldn't be more helpful, definitely be back to this hotel and Hartlepool is a lovely place to visit. Paid parking behind the hotel was £2.50 for the Saturday all day, didn't need to pay friday night or Sunday - very cheap!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key cards Ground coffee would have been nice for breakfast

    The staff were lovely and very good facilities They were left a few teething problems from last owners but getting through them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom in the corner room was amazing absolutely loved the bath!! the bed was really comfy, the fan in the room was great when it started to get warm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was the last one available to book & was facing the sun. As a consequence the room was extremely warm & I had to keep the window open to get some cooler air in it. This however made the room very noisy because of the seagulls :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older property that is a little tired. Parking is public paid for at the back of the hotel.........there are theft warning signs in the car park. would be noisey/busy at the weekend with night club downstairs and the main public area is the bar.

    location in town centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone system was chaotic .. you can not phone room to room and reception can not phone to rooms, but they did say they had a new phone system that was still being sorted. There are sections of rooms that your room key will not access, so my friend in room 19 could not reach room 20, and I in room 20 could not get to room 19 .. a bit of a problem. Breakfast was small . 1 thin sausage, 1 thin rasher of bacon, a small egg, 4 halves of button mushroom and a few baked beans .. made up for it with cornflakes, toast and yoghurt to keep going till lunch.

    Room was clean and tidy. View from breakfast room is excellent I was only staying for 1 night, didn't go into the bar and had evening meal at the quayside which is only about 600 yards away

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very noisy as catering staff started early in the morning and my room was below the dining are. The night porter is also the chef. the room service dumb waiter lift was also right outside my room There were no emergency evacuation notice in the room. the toilets at the dining area were dirty I have photos to prove The free wi fi didn't work in the rooms you had to go to the dining area on the top floor to use this is not suitable when there is a private function being held. I had to get my room key re programmed 3 times

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping was disappointing my rooms were dirty and not attentive no room audits . Think.of B n B style rather then.hotel , no Gym or children's play area everything was focused around drinking

    Lovely new Lobby Bar , Nice food , handy location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall decor and layout of rooms wasn't great, rooms weren't spacious at all, very basic but good for the price

    The room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets were dirty and stained. The telephone didn't work. The bedside lamp didn't work. Had to go and ask for the wifi password. Not written in the room. Nightclub below it which closes at 4am Friday and Saturday. Heard every single noise possible. The shower head wouldn't stay up to have a shower. And the parking is not free you have to get up befor 8am to pay for parking.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked into room 8 at first but had to change rooms as room 8 was icy cold with no sorce of heating and the room we moved to, room 15 was much smaller than room 8. Also there was no smoking area so had to stand out the front of reception (does not look good for potential customers) Also in room 8 the shower was what I can only class as faulty as it would either be boiling hot or freezing cold.. this is after spending half an hour with 2 people trying to figure it out. One more thing, the phones in both rooms did not work when trying to call reception.

    Staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful, Breakfast arrived right on time as requested and the bed in room 15 was exquisite for our Sexual activities... much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I can say was a small problem was we were unable to turn the heating off. Other than that, it was perfect.

    Staff were very polite and helpful. Room was spotless and comfortable. Good Breakfast and great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi fi toilet didn't flush properly and the lift felt like an accident waiting to happen only used it once as scared to go back in it

    Large bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in bad part of town Having said that still got a great night's sleep

    Breakfast was excellent Two bedrooms was a bonus Staff was extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a pile of rotting garbage in bin bags beneath my window. Rubbish was blocking the hotel's fire escape stairs and was attracting rodents and birds.

    Close to the railway station. New rooms are good. Expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Emergency exit near to room used by smokers was noisy in the night as it banged closed. Staff stated they would replace the door stay to reduce the sound. Otherwise faultless stay.

    Excellent room, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaner turned radiators fully off, so room was very cold coming back in from work Food overall very good but chips were very greasy - change the cooking oil

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having hot water would have been ideal whilst in the shower, also a tidy room would have been nice

    The location is not far at all from local club life. and ease of access to the rooms. also staff seem very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we were v satisfied.

    The 3 nights we stayed were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were spotless and situation was perfect. Well done to you all. You are a credit to Hartlepool .price was 150 for our stay inc breakfast. This was v affordable and free WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt very at home in the hotel. I arrived early but my room was ready so I was allowed into my room. I had everything I needed and the staff were friendly and welcoming. I will always stay here when I am in heartlepool. The hotel being across the road from the station was also a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived @ 3pm . Tried to order food room service BUT no one was available to make food until 5pm.. I ordered Pizza Hut delivery instead. £30 the hotel "could & should" of had !!

    Breakfast was devine ALL of it 😀

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: