Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hillthwaite 5 stars

Thornbarrow Road, Windermere, LA23 2DF, United Kingdom

#7 of 15 hotels in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay but for the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Partner had to send the breakfast back three times, due to cold beans each time then cold poached eggs

    My partner that stayed and on the whole everything was excellent except breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay! Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant stay and rooms were very comfortable. Enjoyed sunset drinks on the terrace looking at a beautiful view of the area. Enjoyed a wonderful meal and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Totally enjoyed the short time we were here but would certainly like to return again some day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    To sum up our stay, excellent hotel. A must visit which will not disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was not very big. The deep end was not very deep and when swimming to the shallow end the pool became shallow half way across. This meant me and my partner hit our knees on the bottom of the pool while swimming a length. So the pool in my opinion could be improved on greatly.

    The view was outstanding. We upgraded to an occasion room and was not disappointed. It had complimentary bottles of wine and water in the room also a TV in the bathroom which had a free standing bath. Food was a high standard and very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    The location was very scenic and the decor of the lounge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid a large sum of money for a room which I thought was a big size. We turned up and it was a box room with people constantly walking past and the kitchen close by. The receptionist wasn't very welcoming when we arrived and stayed that way throughout our visit. The restaurant staff were nice and efficient.

    The location was very scenic and the decor of the lounge, dining area and outside was up to date and fashionable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Nothing was too much trouble and staff efficient and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As lone traveller usually seated in corners would have liked window view as no one to talk to so view would have helped, full length mirror needed in room

    Decor superb, service in restaurant exceptional, quiet relaxing atmosphere, food presentation wonderful and croissants at breakfast fresh and delicious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location if you want to be close the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was quite small and the sauna was not really warming up when we used it. The souvenir bear could’ve been included in the room rate.

    Good location if you want to be close the centre. It’s a few minutes drive to the lake but the views from the hotel are amazing. The staff were very lovely and helpful. I requested a bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival and a room that has a view of the lake. We were very happy of the set up. Our room included breakfast and the food was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend people stay at the Hillthwaite and would happily stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was too small and lacked wardrobe space to hang clothing. Limited choice of breakfast fruits such as grapefruit segments. For the price I would have expected a bigger full English breakfast as similar priced hotels allow residents to get their own bacon rashers, mushrooms, sausages, eggs etc. The Hillthwaite offering only one mushroom, tomato, egg & black pudding etc is not really acceptable given the prices being charged.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom was very clean. Views from windows very good. Dining room layout was also very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely setting and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small (and we did not book the cheaper cosy double option so wouldn’t like to think how small they were!) Room was unbearably hot (although due to the weather) and had no view. No bath unfortunately and the shower was very poor, had no power and required re grouting. One of the bathroom mirror lights was hanging from the socket so overall disappointed with the room

    Breakfast was lovely The setting is beautiful Staff were very pleasant and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful beautiful place simply idyllic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just wished it was for longer ......

    Really quick check in and room 16 was just divine with breathtaking views best in the hotel. Panaromic views of the lakes and mountains absolutely stunning. Wished I had booked dinner at the hotel as we had a complete disaster at the house of Siam. The location is perfect only short walk and even quicker taxi ha ha. Will definitely return to this beautiful place and will be highly recommending this place to everyone. Thank you and hope to return soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely getaway destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there during a very hot period and the rooms and communal areas were not well ventilated - some fans would assist in hot weather.

    Breakfast was delicious, room was beautifully fit out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing, not value for money. Should have stayed elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is tiny, pictures are deceiving. Room was boiling hot despite opening windows, tried to call staff twice at reception, no answer. When asked for in person, they promptly brought up a tiny fan, didnt do much to alleviate the stuffiness. Bathroom is modern (small) but rest of the room does not live up to international 4/5 star standards (eg. no usb chargers, no facial tissues in room). No teaspoon for coffee or fridge. London prices are less with more amenities for the price. Main restaurant has 2 options for veg main courses but very little for starters/nibbles. Room service, even ice and glasses for drinks is additional 5 points (we werent planning on ordering but it just added to experience). Not at all worth the price.

    Staff were friendly. Lake Windermere is nearby. Bed is comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Luxurious, comfortable with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We only stayed four nights - it was not long enough !

    Friendly staff, wonderful room, luxury bathroom and relaxing pool. Location within short walk of Bownes and the Lake and Windermere and the train station and bus network. Terrace offers beautiful views in all weather conditions !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    First-class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Occasion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in central Bo'ness but a car journey to the waterfront and steep hill on return Excellent hotel, first-class rooms, meals and facilities. Superb staff service. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    I wouldn't go back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the fact that the room was tiny and also VERY dusty! I'm allergic to dust so didn't have such a pleasant experience. There was no shampoo, hand wash or anything like that in the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was not fresh and it was cold.

    I loved the location of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place for vocation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, so very hot in summer time

    The hotel is beautiful, good decoration, the garden is lovely. The restaurant is great, the food is very good for both dinner and breakfast. My family are very happy and very impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The hillthwaite is a lovely hotel, cosy and friendly (not sterile like some).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on last day was a mess. Asked for sourdough, got random bread. Scrambled egg on TOP of smoked salmon. Grrr

    Small, cosy, friendly staff. Jozef & Zhuzana were very professional and helpful. Pool and sauna, great after a long walk. Generally good standard of dining, though, last day chef had a wobble...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the drinks was far too expensive which is a shame.

    The staff,the surroundings,and everything about the place was fantastic. Love the new upgrade they have done. Breakfast is amazing also

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable clean hotel with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a little problem with wifi but didnt report it as it may have been my fault

    The room had all facilities and bed very comfy. I felt very comfortable as a solo traveller

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    lovely views, staff nice, evening food nice, overpriced & others got cheaper ££ at reception!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no cheese selection as stated on the menu, the cooked breakfast was ok didn't really like the sausages, Didn't find it over clean in our bathroom we had been in the bath one night but when cleaned room looked grubby. The decor downstairs but landings very 70's and scuffed walls. The swimming pool was very disappointing could only swim part of the way as it then raises up a level and only sauna no steam room - but to far far better don't both go for a spa day I would have been disappointed if gone on that basis. Rooms not as good as on their website ours was nice but smaller than pics!

    croissants were fresh however the evening meals were good we enjoyed those and special effort was made for hubby's birthday but no sparkler on his dessert. The view from this hotel fantastic best bit a Plenty of car park space and nice setting, but wouldn't stay again, the terrace is lovely for an evening drink but have to walk past reception entrance etc to get to it. The lady waitress on an evening was lovely though special thanks to her.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.0
    Fantastic overnight stay for our Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal, service very slow had to wait 45mins from starter to main meal

    The Views amazing, beautiful landscape in ideal location, room was lovely and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay, short walk to the local town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated on top of a hill, it's a steep walk up which may not be suitable for all. It would've been nice if the room had a fridge or mini-bar.

    Room was comfortable and clean. Staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful when I asked for dairy-free products. The hotel is about 10-15 mins walk to Bowness and about 20-25 minutes (uphill) to Windermere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location for Windermere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being taken to our table before ordering our food. Crumbs on seat and some chairs fraying considerably on the arms.

    Location and decorations were lovely. Good food, staff attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a wonderful region of the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The comfort of the lounge areas and the wonderful view of the lake and the mountains, not to forget the staff who looked after us so well. Not a grumpy one among them !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic short break. We highly recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Excellent location up on the hill overlooking the lake and surrounding areas. Furnished to a high standard. Lovely lounge areas with stunning views. Well stocked bar and beautiful outdoor terraced area to enjoy the sun and the view from. Lovely rooms. Great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    An enjoyable stay in comfortable surroundings with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were some odd menu combinations like chicken wings with crab (dinner starter) and mushrooms with cold poached egg and a tomato relish which completely overpowered the mushroom flavour (breakfast).

    A comfortable room with King sized bed, comfortable lounge and bar seating, and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Restorative!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is sort of in the middle between Bowness and Windermere. But also, it's location and views are fantastic

    It's strange to know you are in the worst room in a hotel (as a single traveler for work this can often be the case) and for it to be so lovely. Everything you could want in the room. And a fabulous breakfast and great service. Excellent place to stay. Very keenly priced as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Great place and nothing was a issue staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, hotel and grounds were great. Nothing was a issue from checking in and get a choice of room which I thought was very good customer service. 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel and location and breakfast was great. Only spoiled by an noisy event, otherwise a superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wedding was on in the hotel and kids were running ariund and very noisy in the corridors. So a bit too noisy for this kind of hotel

    Room was spotless and of a high standard. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice property, excellent decor, good food, good service, will definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service time at the restaurant - could also be due to us visiting them over the busy bank holiday weekend.

    The hotel is very nicely done up. Excellent common areas for relaxing, nice decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sausages at breakfast solid. But everything else lovely!

    Best single room I've ever stayed in - usually they're sub-standard but this was really lovely. Reception very helpful with local info. Got a really great last minute deal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    fantastic location, phenomenal breakfast, great powerful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our cosy room (no.20) was incredibly noisy, from 6am it sounded as if we were sleeping in the middle of a factory. Mainly a whistling noise and what sounded like a generator right behind the headboard. On top of those noises but we were also situated right next to the staff and housekeeping areas. Double glazing in this room could help generator noise. Disappointing and for those reasons we wouldn’t revisit.

    fantastic location, phenomenal breakfast, great powerful shower and really soft comfy bedding. Some great perks to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a small double, would have preferred a king size

    Wonderful hotel in a great location. Restaurant us fantastic for breakfast and also dinner. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Very peaceful and relaxing, with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't really happy when member of waiting staff told me "ladies first" after I'd already given my order. My partner also felt this was rude. However, general experience of the waiting staff was very good.

    Really comfy and cosy room. Gorgeous views of the surrounding area, and a very tasty menu for breakfast and dinner (didn't have lunch)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay and the food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was very uncomfortable and was far too small I acknowledge that we booked a cosy rooom but would expect the double bed to be long enough. So would recommend upgrading.

    food was excellent, very good location, swimming pool and sauna was an added bonus. The staff were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    absolutely fabulous! can't Waite to stay again, the bed was so comfy and the pillows too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ENJOYED EVERY MINUET and that's saying something from us

    What a fantastic hotel !!! the best we have stayed in for a long time. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff, everything you can possibly want from a hotel Home from Home Thank you all for a great stay. WE WILL BE BACK XX

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    The bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room, the restaurant experience food was nice but waiting for an hour for starters to arrive with a screaming baby then every course after took forever to arrive I even had to keep asking where it was so we could escape . Ordered drinks which never arrived and staff seem to only understand basic English.

    The bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    It was clean and nice but restaurant staff were quite rude to us personally
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service within the restaurant and bar was poor minus one young lady with blonde curly hair was helpful. The coffee has the granules in my partners drink and some of the food during breakfast was slightly over cooked. The meals at dinner time was nice but small portions. The drinks were very expensive in our eyes.

    We enjoyed the spacious room and the sauna and swimming pool the WiFi was also a bonus. It was also a very lovely hotel it was clean and had amazing views and was close to Windermere itself which was handy. It was also very easy to walk in and out and get on with whatever you wanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    What a shame (sleepless night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At midnight the fire alarm was blaring ,that scared me and made me jump off the bed , also in the morning rang twice again. Everything was fantastic in this hotel ( rooms, restaurant, stunning views) .However, i didnt sleep very well so i think i will never come back!

    fantastic decoration, nice and clean bathroom and very comfortable bed .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool facilities and sauna was closed for renervation but that couldn’t be helped and were very apologetic about that

    Staff was so friendly they were happy to help with whatever you wanted

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing and nice place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t get what I was promised like the swimming pool and the bathroom wasn’t very clean as it should to be

    I liked the room and the furnitures!I also liked the living room and the decoration!very cosy hotel and nice view!very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    The rooms were just ok for the price evening meal not living up to its expectations for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in the restaurant and lounge The wood ran out for the fire and the radiators were not working The evening meal was average with little choice probably due it closing down for renovations There are much better hotels in the area

    The location the views the breakfast and staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Average place closing down for a major renovation it will probably be very nice when completed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was winter the fire in the lounge had no wood and the radiators in the restaurant didn't work So it was not as warm as it could be. The evening meal at 32 pound was poor not what I expected

    The location and the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    The bedding was of a very high quality as was the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 rooms were booked, 1 occasion and 2 deluxe and a request was made for all three to have role top baths. Email confirmation was received. It was a pity that we got 1 occasion room, 1 deluxe room both with the role tops but the third room, although fabulous bed and bedding was very tired and nowhere near the other two’s standard, yet the room charge was the same. Given it was a group booking made some time ago and as guests we would obviously all view the three rooms this seemed a very strange thing to do. It left us very disappointed. The service could also be improved, we were initially brought into an already occupied room when we were checking in, brought back to reception whilst the confusion was sorted at which point the receptionist then turned her attention to other customers. She had to be reminded that our issue had still to be resolved. The bar area was left unattended most of the time which made getting bar service a little frustrating.

    The bedding was of a very high quality as was the bed. Great nights sleep. Also all the food served to us was fabulous, we enjoyed the prosecco afternoon tea very much and later the three course dinner. It could not be faulted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Easy free parking, clean room, hot shower, comfortable bed,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant had a nice atmosphere and the meal was nice but a bit pricy

    Easy free parking, clean room, hot shower, comfortable bed, nice evening meal and good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    The service was excellent, staff were very helpful and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was teeny, I wish I had known this beforehand. Also I was asked if I would like a morning paper, and was then charged for it. It would have been nice to have been told before ordering it that it needed to be paid for.

    The service was excellent, staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening dinner was spectacular - I would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location, friendly clean property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very clean, pool nice to have after long days walking. Very friendly establishment.

    Good location in between Bowness and Windemere centres, both easy walk. Easy access to fells area for great walking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant hotel with lovely views outside the hubub of the town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was through a labyrinth of corridors, fire doors and staircases. Fine for us but a bit of a hassle with luggage and not suitable for older people or maybe those with small children. We could hear the people in the next room urinate as well as the the running water whenever they turned the tap on. Otherwise it was quiet. The mains at dinner were poor on the first night. It was nice to have a pool but it was so shallow we were in danger of banging our kneed if we tried to swim.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good quality and nicely served. The chef clearly tried to vary the dinner menu so that guests staying several nights were not bored; this had the knock- on effect of something to which one was looking forward being unavailable! There were some good wines on the wine-list.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for us as it was a birthday treat and my partner couldn’t have chosen better.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally it could do with a lift as the upper rooms have fantastic views but access is via 2 flights of stairs.

    Staff,location,food,service,spa,view from the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Could've been better
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 'pet friendly' hotel which I payed a daily extra charge I was not allowed into dining room or many other facilities. The conservatory was a cold and lonely place to eat my meals. It isn't pet friendly.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Lovely place to go, but could use a few improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very very hot constantly and could not be sorted by opening the one window and turning on the small fan, so was not happy about that. We were not happy about the cleanliness of the rooms after housekeeping had cleaned the rooms, the sheets were not changed or the bedding or the towels, so how do we know they ever change them.

    The staff were friendly, especially the bartender called chris, they were also very helpful in helping us find something to do. The food was nice and I enjoyed the breakfast very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    The view from the lounge and outside seating area is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal cost

    The view from the lounge and outside seating area is beautiful. We stayed in a cosy room and it was just that, so comfy. Staff were lovely and location was perfect. Hope it won't be too long until we come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definately recommend it but ask for a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the Garden room which was lovely, however being on a level where there was a walkway from the carpark there was no privacy and the blind was down a lot, which was a shame.

    The hotel was beautiful, very traditional. It is postioned high up so the views were spectacular. The staff were wonderful especially the restaurant staff and the food was exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely lovely hotel, very friendly staff, delicious food, lovely pool. Definitely recommend and would stay there again. You can even see a little bit of the lake from the terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small classic room was very stuffy and warm but was a nice room and large bathroom

    The hotel had a good location, very clean and fantastic views. The food was amazing and service in the restaurant was excellent!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    A perfect stay in the Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I would recommend to the hotel is to add pancakes to the breakfast menu. Drinks in the hotel are quite expensive too.

    The hotel was beautiful, room was very nice and staff were friendly. It's in a great location as it's between Widemere and Bowness. The toiletries in the bathroom were great, smell amazing and really good quality, there was a huge closet for hanging clothes and we were lucky enough to have a lake view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall a lovely place to enjoy a special family birthday.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the party found the beds a little TOO cosy !

    Restaurant staff were very good as was the food. Members of our party particularly enjoyed the fillet steak ! Lovely views from the restaurant/terrace area. It was also nice to receive a doggy welcome pack.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    The staff were attentive and recommended lovely drinks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were attentive and recommended lovely drinks (cocktails and gin). They were also very accomodating with gluten free and the breakfast was delicious (you ordered your breakfast from a meanie and there was also a buffet of yoghurt, fruit, croissants, cereal, meat and cheese etc).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Occasion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two bulbs were not working in bathroom and bedroom. Tv in bathroom not working

    Beautiful view from room window overlooking Windermere lake. , lovely decor helpful staff . Room service excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible view,asked to swap.was no other rooms,no privacy,as guests walking past window.cold pool,sauna wasn't on nor was the steam room.

    Breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great weekend at a lovely hotel in a marvellous part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated on a steep incline if you intended to go for a stroll into Bowness. This was no trouble for us but would prove difficult for those with walking difficulties.

    The breakfasts were excellent and so too the evening meals. We particularly liked the roast brisket. The staff were friendly. As we were celebrating our ruby wedding anniversary we did appreciate the flower arrangement and petal decorations waiting for us in our room. The dining staff also decorated our dessert plates with anniversary decorations. This was appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    The room was supposed to be a classic but I would say it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was supposed to be a classic but I would say it was more cozy room and I paid £225 and there were no hair washing products so it's a good job a took my own the room was very small and had no view not what I expected for the money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Recommend this lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning would have been nice but I don't suppose it is often needed!

    Very attentive staff. Great food and cocktails. Room was adequate, not large and was rather warm. The fan helped a bit. Great location and outstanding views. Nice décor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    A great stay, good food and drink, and a view you would never get tired of!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our lovely bathroom, whilst very spacious and modern, had a completely clear big window at eye level with the path! It had a thick roman blind, which had to stay down all the time as someone walking down might have got a nasty shock. It would be very simple to frost the glass or at least replace fabric blind with a smart venetian blind. Also, we were not provided with handsoap, so we just used the small bottle of shower gel.

    we were upgraded to an occasion room, always a lovely surprise. It had fantastic views, lots of space and the bed was incredibly comfortable. This was especially welcome after a 'hard" day walking the fells. The bar had a great choice of gin and tonics, which we felt was our duty to try as many as possible! The bar and waiting staff were all great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Views from the hotel were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Occasion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were very rude, no enthusiasm whatsoever! Dinner service was also very slow.

    Views from the hotel were lovely. Good choice of food for breakfast. Meals were scrumptious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel shame about the room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and very hot- the part of the hotel that we stayed in was substandard compared to rest I wouldn't say in room 32 again - for 195.00 a night it was over priced .

    We loved the staff and in general the hotel was lovely great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    EXCELLENT LOCATION AND FACILITIES.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cosy room was a little too small and very warm (staff did add a fan). The bed was too small (queen size) and very uncomfortable (too soft)- rectified for 2nd. night. Gas heaters on patios would be good as in the hotel's elevated position the breeze can be cool in the evening.

    Staff were excellent, friendly and easy to communicate with. Food was excellent with reasonable selection of wines. Hotel is quiet and in a superb location. The pool, sauna and steam room are a good addition to hotel's facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely rooms and view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was mediocre. The choices of hot food were not extensive, and not consistently cooked well--the whites of my poached egg were liquid, the orange juice was poor quality. Also, I resented having to pay 3 quid for a medium sized cappuccino that was not terrific. If you charge extra for all espresso drinks, at least serve a large, tasty drink.

    The comfort plus room was lovely, a decent amount of space. The en suite had a separate large Jacuzzi tub that was fantastic. The location was nice if you have a car, and the views to the lake were amazing. The reception desk provided a pamphlet with local walks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Good but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You would need a car to get to this place as it is uphill. The toilet was damanged wasnt changed on that day and room was really warm. I was facing the laundry room i believe. Would suggest to have a fan available for customers for these hot weathers.

    The fish and chips is amazing. The food is really good. There is a steam room, sauna and pool which is good. Staffs are friendly and cleans everyday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Great for a little get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con which meant the rooms were really hot and not ideal to leave the windows open as we were on the ground floor

    Bartender makes the best cocktails

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, relaxing tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel it's self is really beautiful, is he bedrooms were really clean and modern. The swimming pool is simply fantastic as you have it to yourself for the best part of your swim!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    We had a really nice stay at Hillthwaite house Hotel, I regret not booking for a longer break and would recommend it to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was top notch ~ the food was excellent and so was the room .It was unreal watching the F.A cup final whilst in the bath when it was raining hard outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Truly amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps add a few more modern power sockets for guests who want to e.g. charge a phone or laptop in public areas

    What's not to like? The place exceeds all expectations. An amazing experience overall. The most remarkable parts of my stay: the room itself, the amazing view, the public areas - most inviting place to relax and enjoy the view - and the food ! A gem of a hotel truly. Thank to all staff , well done !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very warm and the "view" was of the external wall.

    Fantastic location, both Windermere and Bowness were only a steady 15 minute walk away. Room was very clean and well presented. We'd booked a Cosy Double soexpected it to be small, but did not feel cramped. Staff were very friendly, particularly the gentleman who seemed to run the bar area who was extremely accommodating and friendly. Pool is small but very pleasant and the steam room and sauna both very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent all round. Attended a wedding and the reception was first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit hilly to get to the Hotel but well worth the climb

    The welcome was excellent and we were made to feel at home straight away. Staff were very polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and well presented

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Go spoil yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed seemed really small and was not very comfortable as it dipped into the middle.

    It was like stepping back in time to a more leisurely era but with all the modern services. The views from the public areas were stunning. The pool, spa and sauna area was a bonus. The service from staff in the bar and dinning room was excellent. I loved the large shower area without having to step in over a bath. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Good parking

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: