Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Avisford Park 5 stars

Yapton Lane, Arundel, BN18 0LS, United Kingdom

#12 of 13 hotels in Arundel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1236 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location easy to find attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice of food on the menu in / bar pizza burgers fish and chips for a 4 Starr hotel !!!!! Noisy when we stayed had function till 12 midnight didn’t get to sleep till 2am

    Great location easy to find attentive staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay & would return. Thank you to the amazing team of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault was with the decor in certain areas, it really needs freshening up, a coat of paint. We had a lovely room with an armchair & sofa “red” but curtains on three windows were “ blue” just didn’t sit well in my opinion. Cream carpet!!! Lovely idea but needs replacing as marked. The above would not stop me returning but I feel it’s important to add any negatives. A few weeks & updates the room would be 5*

    The staff were lovely, all areas were spotlessly clean, The Breakfast was amazing. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Underwhelmed really. Definately an experience we will not be repeating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool dirty and rules meant that me and my husband were unable to enter the pool area to be with our daughter and grandchildren when they were using the pool as we were not swimming ourselves. Not a good pool for use by families with grandparents or adults unwilling or able to swim themselves. Although the hotel had trained lifeguards none were in attendance at the outdoor pool. Not because they were busy elsewhere as they were all chatting amongst themselves at the reception in the hotel indoor pool. No one was using this pool at the time! Hotel very dated and shabby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    The room was fine, could do with a bit of paint on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheese on toast, £10.50.was not fully cooked. Drinks very expensive. Room OK.

    The room was fine, could do with a bit of paint on the windows. Toilet was noisy and the flush jammed open, reported to reception. Bar food was not fully cooked, barely edible. Breakfast was good. All too expensive for what you get, not as good as the cheap hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.5
    My Mum was cold in her room but there was no heating -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Mum was cold in her room but there was no heating - reason given was that heating is only turned on in October. We would expect better - heating is a basic requirement

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall an enjoyable 3 night stay in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought that the restaurant menu was somewhat limited and over priced for what we had, hence only ate in on the first night. Would have thought that the restaurant menu would have been more extensive than the bar menu, but were both the same. Very noisy first night with doors continually banging.

    The breakfast was as you would expect, extensive range and well prepared. All of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The grounds and gardens make a lovely setting and we enjoyed our time in the outside pool. A pity neither of us play golf, as the hotel is set in the centre of the course.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Staff are its best asset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated . Carpets grubby . Food and drinks were on pricey side. No lifts. Very busy and noisy at breakfast. Long queue for hot food . Overall impression was needed a lot of investment.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Quiet location despite 2 weddings and a large party . Good breakfast selection. Pool was warm but small.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was not as expected in Arundel but on the outskirts a taxi ride away, the rooms inside did not match the promising grandeur of the outside appearance of the building, the room was very basic

    outside appearance good, staff extremely helpfull

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A comfortable and pleasant nights stay on our way back home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Net curtain on the window, couldn’t appreciate the view without having to hook it up out of the way, a blind or opening nets would be better.

    Staff friendly and helpful, happy to help with gluten free options and reception to loan a phone charger.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable, ideal for our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little tired in places and would benefit from some maintenance and redecorating

    The staff at the hotel be that on reception, the bar or restaurant are excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.2
    This hotel was one of the most overpriced and underwhelming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was one of the most overpriced and underwhelming properties I have ever stayed at. The decor and standard of the rooms where totally outdated and inappropriate for a Hilton. The carpet and room stank but luckily the window could be opened! It was the Goodwood Revival weekend so international guests were staying and I met quite a few that were horrified at the dated tired appearance. Staff did their best however. Can’t believe this property is a Hilton property!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Edible but slightly lacklustre evening meal and a wait between courses. We were seated at breakfast at a table where we could see the back of the staff service point the shelves in the unit were thick with dust.

    Good breakfast Friendly staff especially on the front desk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. Our room was about 5 mins walk from the reception, when we arrived there our cards didn't work so we had to walk the entire way twice. Card stopped working three times that weekend. Restaurant staff was very slow, food is overpriced. The location is pretty terrible if you don't come by car, taxis are rare and pricey. Overall, way overpriced for what and where it is.

    The building itself is gorgeous and it is a beautiful area around it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful grounds, good facilities, nice staff, but food ! OMG!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is so poor, I paid £8.50 for a piece of old bread smeared with bland tasting avocado, terrible! I would have preferred a served breakfast in the restaurant rather than a free style buffet - the breakfast was okay but rather old school - given the hotel's distance from Arundel guests are dependent rather much on the catering at the hotel, staff great, food quality - awful awful - please get a decent chef

    Really comfy and nice hotel with superb grounds and friendly staff. Loved the facilities, and the location is okay, if a bit far from Arundel (15 mins by car) hellishly difficult to access the Hotel's entrance road (we drove from London) there is a sudden turning off a very fast dual carriageway - we had to drive to the roundabout for three miles and turn around to access the road safely - a warning about this would have been good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.3
    Won't go bavk. Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poky room. One lamp and bedside table instead of 2 in double room. Grubby. Vegetarian option most expensivd on menu. Wine exhorbitant. Casual attitude of staff at reception.

    Not much apart from location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a large stately style hotel that has seen better days it is very tired and needs large injection of money to bring it up to the modern levels expected . There is damp in the corridors and the room was tired bath room had rust around the grab handles

    The dinning staff were very helpful and the reception did their best but they were short staffed and but one person

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Lovely stay, would go back if on a deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and very dated. Didn't feel worth the money. Changing rooms small and needed a little bit of a clean. If the hotel was modernised a little it would be a really lovely stay.

    Breakfast was spot on. The gardens around the hotel were lovely. Staff are helpful and happy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Hotel dated. Rooms a little small but comfortable. Restaurant disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the evening was very poor. Definitely not the menu that should accompany a 4star hotel. A lot of fried food which was over cooked!

    Rooms clean and well appointed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing country house hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym, pool area and changing rooms were small and looking very tired.

    The room was very comfortable and the beds gave us a good night's sleep. The location was perfect for out weekend and the view from the room was delightful. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive and although smoked salmon wasn't available the waitress went out of her way to get us some.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Very average overall. Fits the bill if want to be in that location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather run down decoration. High prices at the bar.

    Good parking and facilities. Easy to find and get to Arundel (if expensive by taxi). Good quality and selection of breakfast. Quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with some drinking water in the rooms. Top up of toiletries and tea/coffee provisions could have been better. Instructions on how to turn on towel rail.

    Excellent friendly service, made us feel very welcome. Restaurant served a wide range of very good food. Great breakfast. Lots of leisure facilities and things to do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    The facilities were nice and the bar staff of the evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the reception staff were quite rude on arriving. We put our door sign on and got woken up in the morning for housing keeping. we had an interlocking room and could here the people in the bedroom snoring throughout the evening.

    The facilities were nice and the bar staff of the evening were nice and allowed us to be able to purchase drinks from the bar and food if we required it. The room was nice other than the quote above about the interlocking room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything i didnt like.only that we had to leave !!!!

    Every thing about the place had a good feel about it.surrounding beauitful .staff friendly.lots to do and would love to come back and stay longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Awful. Bugs in my bed, dead wasps on the window sills . Dirty toilet. Let down the Hilton name
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was dirty Dead wasps and spiders on all window sills Live flying beetle in my bed on the evening which woke me up Bin men collecting bins at 5:50am!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leisure facilities were a bit lacking, no jacuzzi and not many seats or loungers to relax on within the indoor pool area. I also didn't appreciate having to 'pay' to use tennis equipment, I was expecting to hire and leave a deposit.

    Friendly staff and breakfast was amazing. The location was lovely, set in beautiful countryside yet close to Arundel and seaside towns. .. one staff member surprised my partner with a birthday cake and song at breakfast, a lovely thought.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice Hotel shame about bar prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the drinks was extremely high. Cheapest bottle of wine £29.50 for a Chilean Sauvignon. If prices were more reasonable we would have stayed there for evening drinks .instead we went to a local pub where a better bottle of wine new Zealand sauvignon was £17.50 and far nicer.

    Nice outside area to sit for evening drinks had they not been so expensive. Plenty of room to walk about.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Anniversary weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expecting more from lunch! Had a cheese sandwich and the bread and cheese couldn't of been cheaper was disappointed due to the £7.00 charge was expecting nice bread and cheese that actually tasted of cheese.

    The staff were amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Not happy at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful

    Always stay at this hotel, however Friday night has put us right off, we were given the worst room possible. U Gould barely move in the room it was so tiny and it was meant to be a double not happy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.8
    Hilton Arundel not value for money 🙁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Deluxe room at the hotel they gave us room 104 the whole room was shabby and in need of a referb there was chips out of the bathroom floor, furniture was tatty, carpet stained, radiator rusted, scuffling on walls and wardrobe, stains on ceiling, TV remote held together with sticky brown tape stains in toilet, hair clogged in bath plug hole and had to kill 5 mosquitoes, not bad for a deluxe room And the final straw there was blood on one of the pillow cases, at this point we complained to reception, as it was late we decided not to change rooms that night and did it next morning. They gave us room 206 which was a bit better but still not up to Hilton standards. On the first night we used the indoor swimming pool, the changing rooms were soaking wet with towels all over the ladies changing room floor, in the pool area there were two loungers with badly stained cushions, no steam in steam room, walking through the hotel we noticed cobwebs on all floors and stairwells, as we stayed 3 nights I would have expected housekeeping to have cleaned away the webs Even on checkout I noticed spider webs across reception desk. The property has a green tinge on the outside not a good sign when checking in we noticed paint missing from most window frames we took a look at the outdoor pool which had a bad smell to it on this trip we went out a lot the local beaches were great.

    The bar was good breakfast was not as exceptional but ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting and grounds liked horses/sheep in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud door shutting shame not got door closure fittings to rooms Probably in need of some updating in corridors creeky floors and coffee facilitys made bit easier/accssablelack of room on pull out system

    Beautiful setting and grounds liked horses/sheep in field for outlook view at rear/side

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired , could really do with a revamp , corridors need painting , & brightening up no lifts all stairs , could do with more of s contemporary feel mixed with old ,

    Breakfast was good, bar staff were excellent, very friendly bar & restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    The twin deluxe room was situated at the end of the corridor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin deluxe room was situated at the end of the corridor situated next to the rubbish collection area and bottle bank Lovely situation The hotel is getting a bit tatty now

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    lovely grounds no air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no airconditioning window in bedroom broken so we could not open it on a hot weekend very noisey fan so we could not sleep with it on wedding going on so they were making alot of noise until 2 in the morning in the garden area not a great food menu

    lovely outdoor pool and grounds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Poor room at overpriced rate...........
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom was particularly small and poorly furnished for a Hilton Hotel. To access our room in the evenings we were told by staff go 'gate crash' two separate parties to get to the room corridor, which was completely unacceptable. Eventually we were lead to the next floor, across the top of the hotel and down a far staircase to get to our room! The room was extremely over priced at £318 for two nights - we were told that this is because Goodwood Races were taking place and the hotel took the opportunity of charging premium rates for the rooms at this time. However after complaining, we were offered one free breakfast and a £40 discount on the room.

    the location was convenient for our needs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was so filthy. Pillow case was dirty. Cobwebs and bugs on the ceiling. Carpet for the room was too small and when I booked it said “room with a view” but my view was a wooden fence.

    I liked the staff, they were very pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Our evening away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the garden rooms section very far from the amenities. Due to the window safety catch we were unable to open window more than a few inches subsequently room was like a sauna all day and night. The fan provided was extremely noisy and fan are only useful below 30c after that they just circulate the hot air. The logistics of the outside pool was poor. In order to use you had to sign in main building then be accompanied by staff to end of garden to access which was a fair distance. No one seemed to be on hand around the pool.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and bed comfortable. The breakfast was well cooked and very well organised with wide range of choices. Bar and patio area was comfortable and plenty of room. Dinner was enjoyable and tasty. The grounds were well kept and spacious. Really enjoyed spending the evening outside on the patio area. Prices reasonable for food and drink with a varied choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location for Goodwood Racecourse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordered glass of prosecco in bar but was served only half filled flute glass. Was informed that this was the measure.....

    Buffet breakfast was good & served fresh cooked fried eggs. Also fresh baked waffles served at table. Large fan supplied in room. Good location for Goodwood racecourse

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely dinner in restaurant - complimentary drink too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed - heat - was hot night very heavy black out curtains made air circulation scarce there was a fan tho

    Lovely dinner in restaurant - complimentary drink too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.8
    OK for 1 night - for more than 1 night I would not have appreciated.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself and the rooms were extremely old. Hated the carpets on the floors and don't understand how dogs can be allowed in rooms with carpets. Should be wooden floors only due to people with allergy. Hotel needs a refurbishment. On the upside: The breakfast was excellent and very nice! Also enjoyed the golf estate around the hotel - good for dog walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    Overall, disappointing experience, not up to usual Hilton standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor room overlooking service area and kitchen. Room very hot due to exceptionally hot weather. No air con in room, only noisy desk fan. Excessive noise all night from kitchen extractor system/air conditioning. Disturbed at 0600 by bin lorry and thereafter deliveries to kitchen. Bar food poor quality and incorrectly served.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff. Discount given off room rate when we pointed out what we felt were shortfalls in room position and quality of food. Bath and shower in bathroom. Extensive well tended grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, no lift , decor needed up dating

    Facilities second to none good location for Arundel Chichester and Bognor Quiet area very comfortable stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.5
    Price too high for what is offered. Staff very good without exception.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot and windows didn't stay open, but was fixed immediately, which we were grateful for. Furniture outdated, wifi at extra cost. Food in restaurant was good, but maybe a bit pricey.

    Staff always ready to help, very friendly, especially in the restaurant. Staff were good with special wishes.Good breakfast buffett.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    There is a lot of activities to do and nice location but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was pokey and carpet dirty. My dinner was pretty tasteless

    There is a lot of activities to do and nice location but the bedrooms need a facelift

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Good but not five star as claimed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not the cleanest. Rooms need a refurbish. No air con which on the first night made room very uncomfortable. Restaurant food a bit basic and lacks any style.

    Great location for touring around. Lovely grounds to the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Outdoor pool - just what was needed in this heatwave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The said pool area was greatly in need of TLC - weeds growing everywhere and full litter bin. The water was a little on the murky side too. However it served its purpose - to cool off from the heat!

    Outdoor pool - just what was needed in this heatwave!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.3
    Food incredibly expensive and not terribly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the entire reason the weekend was booked was for the children - some young employee told my 11 year old to get out of the pool and that he couldnt swim without us (he swims competitively and was in the pool with his 13 & 18 year old sisters!)

    Not a lot really - incredibly dated and facilities look nothing like the photos. Could be amazing or once was.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    We ate in the restaurant on both nights that we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are dreadfully hard and our room was quite small.

    We ate in the restaurant on both nights that we were there. The staff were very friendly and the food was good, although a little expensive. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Hotel facilities were excellent, although we did not use the gym or swimming pool. We wish that we had taken our golf clubs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable but lack of air con unit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and under the slope of the roof. We knew their was no air conditioning as have stayed a few times before. Do to the excessive heat (out of anyone’s control) fans were provided but just circulated warm air; also one on the windows was screwed closed (health and safety springs to mind); what would be better are the small fan air con units which blow out cold air. Just £30 in b&q. For the price of the room this would of been much better.

    Excellent breakfast. Facilities. Location. Staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Shabby but not chic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks very tired with flaking paint work inside and out. Room window would not stay open, had to wedge it with a bin!! Not really what you would expect from a hotel of this pedigree.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Cannot fault the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel hard working staff terrific location the only downer was breakfast was not included in our price and I was sure it said breakfast included but that’s what you get when booking through Booking. Com so beware

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Great for families or a romantic break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt a little tired, like it needed updating

    The staff we genuinely friendly ( not fake). The room was very clean and comfortable. Only a few minutes drive to the centre of Arundel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Lots of great facilities at a good price for the night we booked. Place in need of a renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silly toilet position in room bathroom. Our ground floor room was a bit dark. Continental breakfast a bit disappointing (but cooked food was good)

    Facilities, including outdoor pool, sauna, table tennis and nice grounds. Food quality was good. Not cheap but lived up to price. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner ,old windows we couldn’t close them,very hot shits,bed was moving horrible noise from outside (ventilation or something)we didn’t sleep whole night.

    Location very polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet made a clunking noise at end of flushing. Sink taps were really stiff to turn on.

    Fantastic location very peaceful. The outdoor pool was really terrific as weather so hot! Dinner in main restaurant good value and good food. Same comment for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Grounds are fabulous & outside terrace lovely for a fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Roooms in garden lodge outdated & one very dark. First morning no hot water only icy cold water. Second morning No water! Fire alarm went off during the night. No staff available to direct guests to assembly location & night manager very dismissive of us, kept us waiting at front desk whilst we were in our night attire.

    Grounds are fabulous & outside terrace lovely for a fine weekend Reception staff during day very welcoming, apologetic & friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    lovely stay in really nice quiet and calm enviroment plenty of things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    The staff were very helpful the room was clean and the bed comfortable only downside was the fire alarm going off in the early hours the manager did send a letter of apology.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff and amenities are first class, I would suggest the property requires investment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife was quite concerned when she tried to drain the wash hand basin to find the plug hole filled with hair from previous occupants, definitely a health risk. Throughout our stay the shower did not work.

    We were looked after well by friendly professional staff, the food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. We had a superior room over looking the golf course.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable visit, we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of a little TLC as it is a bit tired in places.

    Outdoor leisure facilities and seating. Staff helpful and professional, particularly during two fire alarm evacutions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    What a waste of great grounds and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired property everywhere .. rooms very old small and not well insulated walls like paper food very average bar area tacky drink selection poor staff not interested

    Grounds and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff here are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for the price felt a bit of a let down. Limited choice for vegetarians. My partner nearly choked on a vein of fat in her steak.

    Staff here are amazing. Always happy to help

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    Dated, tired and in need of major TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a really tired, dated hotel, in need of a big refurbishment. Is very expensive for what it is. Have had much better experiences in budget hotels

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel set in lovely grounds with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed on a hot sunny bank holiday at the end of May and were disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open.

    Room was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. The Grounds were really nice and there was a good outside area for relaxation. The staff were friendly and professional and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.2
    It served a purpose. Hilton, get your act together!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is far too big, it is very tired and the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Door handles horribly sticky, there was a blood stain on my pillow so I had to ask for a new one. Surely the chambermaid should have spotted that and got rid of it rather than putting a pillow case on it. Carpets stained and worn and that is throughout the hotel. Smelt very institutional and the decor is very dated. Scones at tea were stale, dinner was expensive. Our 'deluxe' room had smaller beds than ordinary double. We had water, that was what made it deluxe!

    The staff on the whole were very friendly and helpful. The chap who served tea was abrupt and disinterested and the barman in the evening was lacking in charisma and training. The setting was ok and if you are into golf then great and if you need to be near Chichester then it is ideal. We were attending a wedding near by the next day so the location met our needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    It was in a great setting, the grounds were a pleasure to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and builders were tromping on the roof at 8.15 in the morning, albeit they were apparently told not to start before 9.00am

    It was in a great setting, the grounds were a pleasure to walk around and the building comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    I have known and stayed at this hotel long before Hilton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tlc to tired areas

    I have known and stayed at this hotel long before Hilton took it over. The change to corporate catering is obviously very good for business but does make the hotel which was a quiet gentle haven into a very noisy place. Obviously a bank holiday weekend with many weddings taking place is not the best time to go

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    With a full refurb the hotel would be out of this world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel desperately in need of renovation - rotting window sills in corridors damp patch on ceiling in communal area!

    Excellent helpful staff - nice spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were stains on the carpet in the bedroom. There was limited toiletries, especially when you are sharing a twin and only one soap. Could have done with a toilet brush in the bathroom. The hotel looked very tired and could do with a lick of paint.

    The bed as comfy and location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Too hot and in need of a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning so very very hot and uncomfortable. Very run down shabby bedrooms. Not particularly clean. Shower that kept losing power. All in all a very disappointing hotel and certainly not up to the star rating!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Room was clean and did what we wanted it to do on a 1 night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast tables were cleaned with a chemical spray whilst the jugs of milk were still on them together with other food items like butter packs.

    Room was clean and did what we wanted it to do on a 1 night stopover. Grounds were really nice and there was a good outside area for relaxation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast, putting, dining room, terrace, grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No newspapers to order. Blocked sink. No net curtains so had to draw curtains for privacy. Variable temperature in shower.

    Breakfast, putting, dining room, terrace, grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Fair but room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other food a little dull. Convoluted parking road access to Garden Lodge and broken drain cover which could cause wheel damage. Showers really should be thermostatic mixers in 2018 ! A lot of maintainence overdue.

    Breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall stay ok but review health club use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame outdoor pool not open yet. Use of indoor pool restricted due to Aqua classes and lessons. 4 of us used indoor pool at 8.30pm as quieter and there were lessons on earlier. Unfortunately changing room not welcoming as already cleaned for night so floor soaking wet, benches upturned exposing cobwebs on underneath and blocking lower lockers, and curtains folded over. NB last entrance is 9pm and you need to be out of health club by 9.30pm but the steam room and sauna is turned off at 8.45 pm to cool down so felt rushed and hurried by staff.

    Lovely location. Nice facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    very nice and cant wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suite level room for 4 adults needs more than one bathroom.

    The room was very spacious, and the facilities (swimming pool, grounds and gym) were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.5
    Over priced Hilton Avisford
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, needs major renovation, wooden window frames broken if they work at all. Have to ask for water,robes and slippers which should be in the rooms as standard like other hotels.

    Big rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful location with excellent facilties
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was little slow and when the fire alarm went off there were no chairs to sit down outside the hotel.

    The swimming pool is wonderful. The food is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: