Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Cardiff 5 stars

Kingsway, Cardiff, CF10 3HH, United Kingdom

#10 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3114 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the leisure suite

    Very disapointed in the leisure suite. The whole area is old and run down with only 4 sunbeds with thin dirty matresses. No robes and one poor quality thin towel. No area to rest and read as with only 4 beds, there was no space. Jacuzzi and pool were acceptable but the changing rooms could also do with a total refurb. My friend and I chose this hotel specifically for the leisure suite to relax in after my hen day. Total disappointment and will not be visiting here again. To top it off, there was some extremely intimidating man in the Jacuzzi who was either mentally unwell or high on drugs. A horrible experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the Rolling Stones concert I paid way over the price you would normally pay.

    We stayed in the Hilton as we were seeing the Rolling Stones in concert.Perfect place to stay near all the shops and restaurants.I have stayed here before and the afternoon tea is great.The staff are all super friendly, the room was clean and comfy, breakfast had a great variety to choose from and you can order omelettes or Eggs Benedict as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant menu for the evening meal did not include enough salad and vegetable choices.

    The location of this hotel so close to everything makes it a fantastic choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift working during our stay and steam room out of order

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Twin beds are huge and cosy. Shower is lush. Pool and jacuzzi and sauna good. Didn’t use gym on this occasion but looked well equipped

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the above very

    We where given a standard room & had payed for a king size 🙁 room dark small tiny inner window no out look. No information in the room nothing promoting Cardiff. Ordered room service delivered wrong food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't something that I didn't like per say it's just...other 5 star hotels are a bit more...

    Liked the pool ,very comfortable bed ,exactly in the city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at breakfast are not well organised, they seem to be running around like headless chickens, if you order something you may have a long wait.

    Access to the hotel by car is very convenient and the City is only a few minutes walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room broken down as was one of the lifts. Health suite generally in need of renovation. Poor facilities in room, no dressing gown, slippers or bath. Poor lighting.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the lifts wasn't working so there was a bit of a queue at times.

    Suprisingly quiet! Despite being located near a main road and several bars, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility insider. The Door Staff late evening are polite and add a real sense of safety, privacy and security. Ideal location within walking distance of everything. Breakfast is efficient and very good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my room (217 king room) there was signs off wall paper coming unstuck and the double king bed was 2 single mattresses which made it very uncomfortable when trying to spread out and in the bathroom I went to wash my hands and found an empty soap box on the sink, I thought I would treat my self to a nice hotel so I could have a good night sleep of which I didn’t and because there was a stereophonics concert on every hotel had doubled their price just for that one night, my biggest memory from breakfast was hearing the chef swearing about his egg cooking not going well, all in all I was very disappointed and gutted about my first experience in a “nicer” hotel, on check out the staff didn’t ask how my night was and just seemed to rush the check out process, I was charged £179 + a £25 room deposit which of which I’ve not had back yet and will probably have to wait a few days for and my emailed receipt does not even mention said deposit, very very gutted 😢 not what I expect from a high end (expensive) hotel

    I liked the location, check in staff friendly and happy to take my money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I disagree with having to pay £25 for WiFi it should be included with the price. Price of parking was very expensive too.

    We enjoyed the whole stay, a lovely, comfy, clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival not the best situition with nowhere to park our car We received a parking fine recently as we had unknowingly parked in a bus lane while waiting for our car to be parked elsewhere (valet parking) Not a great situation and we would not use Hilton Cardiff again because of this On the day of arrival the parking/waiting spaces in front of the hotel were taken up by vehicles used by a team of gardeners who were busy in front of the Hilton and our only option was to park outside..hence the parking fine!

    Very clean room and very good view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff would not let us order food to the bar and we had to go to the room to order room service rather than allow us to order food and eat it in the bar which comes from the same attached kitchen...

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Executive Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked in advance but with a 3rd party, rate very expensive and hotel didn't reply to refund the difference, even when contacted hilton direct and they passed email on to hotel and as a gold hilton member, was dissapointed

    staff were wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for £25 a night was ridiculous especially considering how cheap the parking is around the area (it took as a while to figure out how the parking work but the app is the best way) ... felt like the room service options were slightly limited have seen more from lower quality hotels.

    The location was it’s best feature! So close to castles and malls it felt like the best place to be - it was a shame it was only for one night. Staff were nice enough felt very secure as only residence of the Hilton were allowed to enter the hotel after a particular time. Free swimming wish I had known earlier as I didn’t pack for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like leaving......wanted to stay longer! 🙁

    Fantastic location, right in the heart of Cardiff so everything in walking distance. Cleanliness is absolutely second to none. Staff were so helpful and friendly that it felt like we stay regular & that they new us (which we don’t & they didn’t). We are definitely going back ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving slightly early for 3pm book in; hoped to change in our room for a 3pm Concert but despite booking and paying weeks ahead; no room was available. Receptionist suggested we use Spa to change but not practical as wheelchair user. Without assistance of Concierge would have missed Concert, which was purpose of journey. Ahead of arrival requested x2 extra foam pillows but down pillows provided instead. Hospitality tray very basic.

    The Concierge, Mr Baptista, definitely made the whole difference to stay assisting, not only with parking but luggage in and out of room. He made us feel welcome; also giving directions for Cardiff Center on departure, couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa. Bit pokey and changing rooms dirty. Wouldve been nice to have robe and slippers in the room.

    Breakfast great. Bed comfy. Massage excellent. Staff brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    We were looked after from the moment we got outside in the car. Car parked for us, cases taken to the room, and easy check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the valet parking which was convenient but after leaving the hotel I noticed the front wheel on my bmw had been kerbed which I know wasn’t there when we arrived

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was average, our room was right outside the lift which was a little noisy. A mirror fell off the wall and smashed into the desk due to the wall sockets not being strong enough and the customer service was appalling. Felt I needed to be nice to them rather than the other way round. Room service after 10pm only offered cold sandwiches or a curry although the menu boasted an 'extensive menu'.

    Taking into consideration this is the 'Hilton', the customer service was poor and the room was average. The only different to that of Premier Inn is the pool and spa facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Family Deluxe Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More breakfast tea bags. 2 seemed a little mean.

    Good sized room with comfy bed. Asked for extra tea bags and milk, delivered to room in 5 mins. Ate at restaurant, great food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Executive Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was broke and it was not fixed. The executive rooms are in the 6th floor. So it was a problem. Also i would have liked more variety to the breakfast menu

    The location next to the castle and few mins to the centre. Very close to the university too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra £70 charged which was supposed to be if we had additional services? Being told to comeback as the executive lounge was crowded with a banquet goers invited in by executive room people. Pillowcase inside out and had a dirty mark on it TV picture and lack of channels. Being told by staff there was no replacement conditioner on her trolley but didnt return with any just left. No mushrooms served in restaurant for breakfast but if you had room service at additional cost mushrooms were an option. Cold scrambled egg om both mornings. Frayed cutout cord on gym running machine. Unmanned gym desk no staff to welcome. Executive lounge during the afternoon (cake and soft drink time) turns into a unsupervised creche. Very noisy and children on our visit allowed to stick their fingers in cakes without parent or hotel staff intervention.

    The location is very central and across from the castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Executive Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers were cold. When I mentioned this at check out I was just told "oh, the boiler went down, sorry about that"

    The gentleman who parked the car was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was springy and somewhat lumpy. Would have been nice to have seen a dedicated vegetarian hot breakfast section given that it was national vegetarian week. I’m surprised that free WiFi was not offered as even more budget style hotels provide this.

    Pancake maker was novel. Selection of breakfast food was good. Staff were friendly and pleasant in every section of the hotel. Good selection of food available from room service till 10pm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very drab...needs updating drastically. Booked an executive king room but it felt no different to a very standard hot room. Not the experience I was expecting. Only 1 bathrobe provided, phone didn't work in the room but the one on the wall next to the toilet did.....?!? Breakfast choice in executive lounge was minimal and not much choice...didn't have an executive feel at all. Spa facilities need updating...I didn't feel like I was in a top rated hotel when I was using these facilities!

    The reception and bar area was clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard so didn’t have a good nights sleep & also we could hear people arguing outside the hotel for around an hour which was horrible.

    The breakfast and food was amazing! Staff are so polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac in room not working . No attempt to fix , had to ask for a fan which was blowing round hot air We always stay in the Hilton Cardiff on this occasion didn’t meet to normal standards and this was our first time away after having our baby

    Breakfast is always amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fine fault!

    The location is unbeatable Never disappointed when choosing Hilton The staff go out of the way to be helpful The breakfast is fantastic too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed we had was not very comfortable, having stayed at the Hilton many times before I was surprised at how uncomfortable the mattress was on this occasion, all other stays have been fantastic so don’t want to put anyone off but if you get room 420 check the mattress suites your needs as I found it very hard and uncomfortable.

    Location is excellent and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faculties lacking slightly for price e.g no bath mat. Executive lounge very small- can't understand why larger conference rooms not used whe available.

    Staff were amazing! Location and breakfast all good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffe table in room was little dusty. Need a place to hang towel on outside of shower door. when using the shower towel was either on floor or over top of door. Back of tv remote missing.

    Comfy bed. Black out blinds were amazing. Windows were excellent no external sound at all. The breakfast was excellent so much choice and both continental and hot ( freshly made hot ). 100/10 for the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was having problems, reaI think that was a one off! But the staff where really apologetic

    Staff brilliant, location excellent, easy to find nothing to complain about

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try to avoid rooms at the back of the hotel - they overlook the service yard which means we were woken at around 5am by a banging noise. Only lasted a few minutes as something obviously heavy was moved.

    This is a very good hotel, great rooms, great breakfast (didn’t have dinner), nice pool for a dip, really central location, less than £10 taxi ride to Cardiff Bay (5-10 min) or £4 each on the boat down the river from just the other side of the Castle (20 min, leaves every half hour).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm night unable to open windows air con wasn’t great

    Cakes left in room for partners birthday celebrations ( nice touch) breakfast was also really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy, could hear next door talking from 5am on a sunday morning

    We didn't have breakfast included and not a good selection of coffee in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little confused about breakfast payment- paid in advance though it wasn’t clear this wouldn’t enable breakfast in room without paying for breakfast again :(

    Large bed, the lovely view, beautiful bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to leave :)

    amazing staff very helpful, amazing hotel with some stunning views. Executive lounge was perfect - the French chap who served us (sorry forgot your name) was 10/10. All in all our best stay in a hotel for quite some time. Will 100% come back again without fail .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional chairs in the rooms are very hard.

    As a diamond member with Hiltonni use the hotels a lot. The Cardiff one is up there with the very best. I think it’s location is terrific

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water bottle in room complimentary or otherwise! Had to drink from bathroom tap! Room was dark and dingy Rooms were dated and characterless Bed a bit too firm They took £25 deposit on check in , in case I used it! I've never had that before in a decent hotel They kept walking into my room thinking it was empty. Once by a manager and another time at 7am by a cleaner! I complained and was told they often make mistakes and to put a do not disturb notice on door! Plug sockets in room all inconveniently located ( just above the floor)

    Food was good at all times. Really good. I left my toothpaste at home and they kindly brought a complimentary one up

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Deluxe Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ALL WENT WELL UNTIL MY BANK PHONED ON MONDAY MORNING TO TELL ME ALL MY D.DEBITS HAD BEEN STOPPED INCLUDING MY MORTGAGE BECAUSE FOR SOME REASON YOU TOOK £3313.60 OUT OF MY BANK INSTEAD OF £937.00 IN FIVE DIFFERENT TRANSACTIONS WHICH IS NOW BEING LOOKED INTO

    BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD MY GRAND DAUGHTER LOVED MAKING HER OWN PANCAKES

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    We booked for breakfast and the place was so dirty. We got the bacon had to wait quiet some time for everything else so the breakfast ended up cold they forgot our tea and coffee. The staff looked very stressed and unhaopy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are doubles as advertised, only one pillow each tho , so requested another 3, delivered in 10 mins which is very good.

    Staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming to us. Room very clean with everything we needed. Pool and spa lovely, fresh towels etc Valet parking excellent...totally recommend, arrived 10.50 am and all sorted for us by staff. Perfect location...castle opposite, Principality stadium 5-10 min walk, shops 2 mins, nightlife 2 mins, which we unaware of, as with our family ...heard no noise at all in hotel, unyet very nearby! Caught the Aquabus from the park opposite down to Cardiff Bay, £10 for family ticket one way...walked bk. this was recommended by a lovely lady on reception at Hilton.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had booked the room for £297, when I booked in they then made it up to £370 with the promise of refunding the extra on leaving, I have not received this back as yet. Beware of hidden costs when staying at the Hilton.

    The convenience of how close it us to the city centre and all of the shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room serviced and it litteraly got thrown at me when I opened the door, I think he had something better to do and as for checking out.... the staff were on the phone the whole time whilst checking us out, not even a "how was your stay"?

    Room was very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Deluxe Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great location opposite of the Castle. Breakfast was an extensive buffet. Personnel was very friendly and parking with a valet service is very pleasant. Drinks are pricy but then again that is in the whole of U.K.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didt work out well when tried to watch. The electric sockets were not compatible with UK chargers. It look like the hotel is best western or holiday inn express. My advise will be go and stay at glasgow Hilton or Hilton garden inn. Hilton saudia and learn what Hilton brand stands for . Will not stay again at Cardiff Hilton .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really anything I didn't like to be honest. I had a no stress stay.

    The staff were lovely, really friendly and welcoming. Our room was great, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, shower cubicle was a great size (not tiny like in so many hotels). Toiletries were nice, good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really impressed with the quality of this hotel! The staff were great and so helpful. Check-in was super fast and I was offered a free upgrade! Breakfast was delicious and had everything you would want! Gym, spa, pool and sauna are all free and available to use! Security on at nighttime from 11pm - made me feel so safe travelling alone! Beautiful views of Cardiff centre from the hotel room window! Highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Executive Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supposed to have access to the executive lounge but on both occasions we tried our keys wouldn’t allow access (despite checking at reception and supposedly being reactivated). We also used the ‘valet parking’ which on the first night was fine, on the second no-one parked our car, weren’t sure where the keys were in the morning and had left a note on the car thinking it had been abandoned- we were also still billed for the valet service!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was broken and we had no sleep hardly as it was very noisy outside . We still heard every thing and we were on the 7th floor

    The bedroom was nice and big

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table service in the bar after 10pm which I find incredibly poor for a 4 star hotel. Attitude of the duty manager was incredibly poor also.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor welcome, with no one offering us help or advising us where to check in. No greeting. Once we’d check in the porter insisted on taking our wheeled case even though we said no. He took us up in the adjacent lift, didn’t show us anything in the room or get out the case stand out or lift the bag onto the bed etc. But he then hesitated long enough that we felt obliged to give a tip which really annoyed us. When we arrived we walked past the restaurant side entrance where there were a large hen style group of young women, drinking and smoking blocking the pavement, making access difficult which spoilt our first impression on arrival. The room smelt musty when we walked in.

    Location and view excellent. Cleanliness very good, large room and generous bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hilton was unable to process my card for advanced payment (definitely funds available) several emails to say that they were unable to process payment, after repeat tried. I tried to contact the Hilton direct, told telephone number no longer in existence!!! I then contacted booking.com direct through their help land line. Very helpful, eventually put through to the assistant manager at the Hilton who took my payment. Found it stressful in a busy week - wondering if I was still able to secure the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home could of stayed a few more nights.

    The efficient check in and the comfort of the room ,bedding fresh and beds so comfortable didn't want to get up in the morning The room smelt so lovely and fresh when you walked in to it.Didn't make use of the facilities but will definitely be better prepared next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was extremely comfortable and the spa facilities were fantastic. The staff were very attentive and made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was phenomenal with so much to choose from. We were over the moon with the whole experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs 2 comfy chairs to watch the tv. Corridors dark decor

    Bed comfy and pillows great but very very soft. Breakfast average same as most hotels Loved the walk in shower. Bathroom great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another comfy chair in the room to allow 2 persons to watch the tv comfy.

    Location staff were brilliant. Pool small but ok. Steam and sauna very good Gym basic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa wasn't as nice as expected. Not big enough and not enough room to sit & breakfast was too expensive per person after paying over £100 a night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows. Not very comfortable. I would have preferred to shower in my room after swimming but no robes or slippers provided in our room. Would have preferred a room with a window on the outside ( not the internal window)- were not advised of this.

    The swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff are fantastic as were the bar and serving staff, however the night Manager “Tom” ( is what he gave us as his name- he refused to give surname) clearly had a power trip as soon as he came on duty.... very rude and unpleasant man who was very rude to my husband and some of my friends we would not stay again.

    Fantastic breakfast great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and cold breakfast.

    Room was nice but paint was chipped and towels were very rough , they need refreshing Breakfast looked nice but was cold. Booked as I thought there was 24hr room service but the menu was very limited I’ve been staying here since it first opened and sadly standards have dropped. Overall it was a pleasent stay rooms do need some attn and replace the towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive but there we go View wasn’t the best but not all rooms can have wonderful views 😊

    Mark at the Concierge Desk was absolutely lovely. The pillows were snug Value for money was brilliant especially when the price went up by £90 a few days before

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure staff grumpy lot! Seemed to favour members over hotel guests. Not welcoming. Double beds too small

    All hotel staff location breakfast atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great and parking expensive

    Great location for what we needed and we got a good price. I wouldn't want to pay full price as it's pretty basic compared to others I've stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No flannels. Only one small bath/shower-gel between two. No magnifying mirror to put makeup on.

    . Clean. Hot water. Lots of towels. Plenty of loo paper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not as fancy as i have imagined, but everything was clean and comfy!

    The central location of the hotel was really amazing! Situated directly next to the Cardiff castle! The street brlow buzz with people and pubs! I was positively surprised to see how alive Cardiff is! I thought it was like the other Uk cities where they sleep at 10:00 pm!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like paying £25 for parking overnight. I missed this in the smaller print. However, as there was no pressure to move the car when we left for a few hours shopping, we accepted that this was probably the norm for parking central to the city. City people may find this the norm but country bumpkins like myself found it rather expensive.

    The professional friendly service and the quality presented. The location is superb, within a short walking distance to all main venues, eateries and shops. The breakfast had variety and the service was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I travelled to Cardiff Hilton on my motorcycle, which isn't actually very large. Your hotel charge £25 per night for parking a motorcycle. £25 per night!! Ridiculous. I've travelled all around Europe, and never paid to park my motorcycle anywhere, (I didn't take you up on your £25 per night offer, by the way).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, everything we needed was around a 5/10 minute walk. The lady who checked us in at reception was really lovely. Also was very nice of the staff to leave happy birthday cupcakes and a card in the room as it was my boyfriends birthday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud thumping noise woke us up from 0600-0700 hrs. Spoke to reception who suspected it was probably noise from the gym weights on second floor !!!! Not good as we were there for a relaxing break.

    Food and location good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed had to pay extra for parking and they had road works outside the car park so had no choice but to get the car out in the morning.. the room was basic for such a expense, Very poor quality and tv channels were 1 - 6 itv 2 being the 6th and top that off the tv made a continuous buzzing noise through the night, informed the staff and they offered us a free drink to compensate for a very poor nights sleep. Cheers Hilton 👎🏻 won’t be coming again

    Bathroom was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being very picky. Breakfast room had very little atmosphere, very drab. Well it was called Grey.

    Loved the black out curtains. Bed sooo big and comfy. Bathroom had a bath and a shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did find the indoor pool area quite small, but that might be because we’re used to larger ones in Malta. The receptionist at the spa area wasn’t very friendly. She did give you what you asked for in the sense but didn’t smile much and told us off when we got lost and by mistake entered the massage room (i think it was).

    The breakfast was definetely worth it, clean and had friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Cardiff traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: