Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4 stars

Aviemore, Aviemore, PH22 1QN, United Kingdom

#9 of 11 hotels in Aviemore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1589 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

  • Paid WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first dinner experience .We were served our first course at 6.20 pm and we did not get our main course till 7.20 pm no explanation given and the next course we had a long wait. We were very disappointed . Not what we expect from a Hilton Hotel

    the bed was very comfortable no complaints regarding comfort nice room but a bit dull not a lot of light coming in due to situation of room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was disappointing as the menu was the same each night and I was told it was only changed at 3month intervals!. The room we were allocated was quite small especially as we had the dog with us. Hotel advertised as pet friendly but it isn’t as the only place we could have her was in the room. The situation of our room was on the 2nd floor which for a couple of 70yr olds was not ideal since there is no lift. The room was accessed by stairs the second flight of which were very narrow, poorly decorated and felt like we were in the servants quarters . Expected so much more from a Hilton.

    The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was exceptionally tired and dreary. Had not been up- dated for as a guess circa. 30 years. One bedroom suite and very depressing. Water pressure in shower terrible. Wine very over priced.

    The location was fabulous. Food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a terrible stay. The hotel was classed as pet friendly, but I disagree that it was. As I was checking in my partner and our dog were asked not to sit in the waiting area, they had to go and stand by the door. Then I found out that none of the restaurants or bars allowed dogs to come in. So our doodle could walk into the hotel and then straight up to the bedroom, but that was it. The bedroom was unbearably hot though, we had to ask for the safety latch to be unlocked to try and get some air into the room, but even then with the window wide open all night the heat was very uncomfortable. Again, for a dog friendly room, not exactly well thought out by the hotel.

    There buffet selection was very nice, with a good variation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel feels very old and not kept up nicely. Stayed for one night only in room 22 on the ground floor. The wooden window frame was warped, cracked and had discoloration due to the sun and perhaps water leaking. This is just one example of poor maintenance. The window handle is basically semi usable since it is ready to break off. The hotel is not a 4 star Hilton as advertised. In reality it might have been a 4 star hotel in the 70’s. However, without an elevator for the handicapped in a 3-storey building, with separate faucets for hot and cold water in the bathroom, low ceilings, outdated furniture, outdated bathroom tiles , outdated lobby, sitting rooms, bar area and bistro area it is a shame it is marketed as a 4-star Hilton hotel. I have visited Scotland more than 10 times and stayed in more than 20 different hotels and B&b’s. This is the first time that the star rating was so off. Shame on the Scottish tourist inspecting authorities. Apart of course to the Hilton management taking advantage of trusting travelers. Lastly the staff, although efficient in the reception whereas they changed our room from the top floor to the ground floor due to a handicap, in the bistro restaurant, they were very late in picking up the bill. We had to wait for over 10 minutes. This is very bad , especially since there were plenty of waiters not paying attention to customers. The dessert of the day on Friday night was really bad. And I consider myself quite tolerant on food.

    The dining room for breakfast was renovated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to be honest. Bathroom smelt a little damp and a faint smell of pee.

    Everything, great location, great facilities, amazing comfy beds in our family and friendly professional staff. The dinner included was lovely and of an outstanding quality, especially considering it was included in the room rate deal we booked

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was about 6 bus tours staying that night it could have been awkward if wanting to eat etc if clashing with the rush for them.

    There are plenty different things to do if you wanted on site

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly. Especially Brian in the Bistro! There was so much to do! We loved our meal and the singer in the lounge was super! We had a lovely night! Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not in Aviemore, not a long walk but would be challenging for those with disabilities, and still a good few miles from the real walking country of the Cairngorms. The included 3 course dinner in the main restaurant wasn't the best, although the option to take credit and use it in the Bistro (a second, smaller restaurant) instead of the main restaurant gives flexibility, should the included 3 courses not be to your liking.

    Lovely staff, just off the A9, brilliant breakfast with record breaking amounts of coffee in the personal jug they provide! Good dinner too, although we'd recommend going to eat in the Bistro as opposed to the main Inverdruie restaurant - it's slightly more expensive but food and staff are so much better!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit dated which is OK but they were very noisey, zero sound proofing, so take ear plugs. If you don't like kids, don't go there. This is definetly a family orientated hotel.

    Facilities for families are brilliant, food was very good for such a big hotel. Amazing location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of the reception staff a bit rude. The closure of the bistro, nobody told us we could eat in the foyer.

    Happy with the hotel and accommodation, menu in both restaurants need to be reviewed, been the same for the past three years. The bistro suited us best, turned up for a meal Monday evening, only to be told it was closed! Thankfully we learned the bar has a menu and we could eat in the foyer, didn’ t know this, however found the menu to be very good a nice varied selection. Anytime we have visited both restaurants were very quite and the foyer busy, probably says it all about the menu choices!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors and way to rooms needs updating . Very damp and dirty looking . Needs new carpets and painted to freshen up and be how a Hilton hotel should be .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing of rooms not great possibly due to age of building. We had someone with a noisy tv next door which stopped my daughter getting to sleep until late. Reception did say to occupant but didn’t make much difference. Family dinner at weekends very noisy and buffet choice could have been a bit more exciting, glad we only had to eat it one night.

    Staff helpful, fab breakfast, nice pool and clean, great location. Slush puppies and popcorn were a hit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room and windows couldn’t open.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Even in the 3-course restaurant with menu, you still had plenty of choice. Breakfast ok, and hotel offers good alternatives for allergies. Rooms are a little outdated, but they are large and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom needed a bit of TLC, shower curtain rail hanging on with one screw, low water pressure , sink badly marked.and floor tiles sunk in places. Not as expected from a Hilton, more Travelodge (volume place)

    Great staff, very child friendly - its ideal for families.. with loads going on , food was very good. Great location to explore surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was terrible. Restaurant staff could have been much better. Bar staff poor also. We were charged corkage but then they didn’t know how to process the payment and had to find another staff member to fix

    Reception staff good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chose this hotel as an overnight stop en-route to John O Groats. It was an extremely hot day and after being in the car for 7 hours both my children were looking forward to letting off steam in the pool. However, after only 20mins they had to get out as the hotel policy states that the pool area is for adults only every day from 5.00 - 6.30pm. Bearing in mind there is a main pool and a separate pool for children (with a slide that only runs on the hour for 20 mins so they missed this too) its seems a bit ridiculous that we had to vacate the whole pool area to accommodate adults that only use the main pool. It was suggested that we return after eating, as the staff clearly assumed that we would want to dine during their allocated family dining time (5.00-6.30pm). I have 2 teenagers (one with ADHD) and this was just not an option after such a long journey. We were then told they could only fit us in the dining room at either 5.45 or 8.45, so we took the earlier option as the pool was no longer available. More disappointment was to follow when making our menu choices - 3 mains and 1 dessert not available! Food quality was excellent though.

    The location was good and customer service from staff excellent. Breakfast choice amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was included in the price. The food was very bland and of poor quality. The mattress on our bed was soft and lumpy a I felt the springs. Not a good night's sleep. Asked second day for a replacement mattress or change of room. The mattress was replaced and second night was fine.

    Breakfasts Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a little upgrading , to hot no air conditioning but overall had a lovely stay

    Room was spotless , had to get a fan from reception , it was so hot , staff are very friendly , restaurant was lovely , but we hadn t booked b 4 we came , so couldn’t t eat until 8 45 , which was a bit later for our disabled daughter , so won t make that mistake again , food was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself has great potential but is dated and needs a massive refresher/makeover. The wellness (pool and sauna) area was functional but felt more like a public swimming hall than a hotel getaway spa - probably great for kids to splash around though. The Woodland bar is lovely but overlooks a children's adventure play area which was sad given the surrounding nature.

    The hotel's setting is just amazing in the middle of mountains and woodlands. Great nature walks, hikes and outdoor sports are all possible nearby including Lake Morlich for swimming. Staff were friendly but often appeared overworked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the rooms we stayed at the start of June for one night. We were on the second floor but there wasn't any air con and was so hot

    Location is great and everything was really clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didn't like about the Hilton

    I found the Hilton to be a very staff friendly place it was refreshing to see that nothing was a problem. The room was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant was spotless, staff very attentive and food was very much above average. ( breakfast was amazing). Can i also add that the reception staff were very efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner on the first night was not so good with 2 of the mains served not as described on the menu.

    The breakfast was very good and excellent value. The staff were friendly and helpful and the gym and pool were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Families not really catered for when a black tie drinks reception is going on at the same time in the hotel lobby, felt like we had to leave and go up to our room straight after dinner - only to find that family rooms are on top of the pet friendly corridor. Dogs barked continually for hours whilst owners obviously were at the event...we did complain and staff said they would try and find the owners but not great or peaceful - paid £299 for 1 night - not good value at all in my opinion.

    The location and scenery is fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a dog with us but he was not allowed in the bar. Only allowed in the room. Quite expensive at £25 for the dog for 1 night.

    Excellent breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower poor. Silly price for water left in room £3.75 a bottle. Really ?

    Two double beds which were comfortable. Good tasty food. Lovely selection for breakfast hot and cold buffet. Alcohol was reasonable price considering the hotels remote location from town. Although I did not have children with me there seemed lots going on to entertain them and the hotel has a club for them in the evenings which means the wood shed pub is mostly kid free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check-in and not told anything about hotel facilities, not told where restaurants were their opening times bookings etc. Emailed spa before arrival and still no response.

    Lovely setting & peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds in the room was very uncomfortable thin mattress and worn out springs. £25 charge for one night for a single dog was too steep especially as this was the same for a week!

    The setting is incredible and really handy for walking in any direction

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Child friendly and entertainment on every night throughout our stay. It was nice having the option of where to eat each night in the different restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was all surcharge for meal had 2 steaks for dinner. Had to send them back because they weren’t cooked properly blood all over plate and soaked chips in blood. Once they said they would replace them same ones came out again on that had being reheated and drained. Very poor for my Girlfriends birthday dinner

    Good facilities friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a well-done sirloin steak and was very disappointed and wished I had returned it. It was almost burned to a frazzle.

    Gluten free options and special breakfast. Food was excellently presented apart from 1 thing below. Definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel as it's advertised as dog friendly. Other than allowing you to bring your dog to stay in the bedroom there is nothing else dog friendly about it. You are allowed to walk dog through reception to your room and there they must stay. I completely understand dogs not being allowed in dinning area or carpeted area but having them confined to the room is ridiculous. You are only allowed to leave them while you eat which means you can't use any of the facilities and in the evening you are unable to have a drink in any off the social areas. If I had known this before booking I would definitely not have stayed at this hotel.

    The staff throughout the hotel were amazingly helpful and very friendly. They exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    on arrival my room was very poor for £151 a night, springs hanging out of a dirty old mattress, upholstered chair torn, lamp shade dirty and stained, no working bathroom light. I complained and was immediately moved to a cleaner better room with newer beds. Although I was unable to use room radiator so they sent porter up with small portable heater, not ideal. Fire alarm at breakfast lasted over half an hour, on re entering the dining room the food that was under the heat lamps over half an hour ago was still being served, it was only warm and dried up so breakfasts as not enjoyable. Hotel had allowed wedding guests to all park in the blue badge disabled parking spaces and NONE displayed blue badges, I was therefore forced to park quite far away from main entrance of hotel and walk further than I had to even although I do have a blue badge and limited mobility. Hotel should police use of disabled bays correctly.

    Lovely Forrest area away from actual town. Dinner very good. It has a pool and spa available too. Room comfortable after being upgraded.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired looking and could do with a freshen up.

    Sophie checked us in and was very helpful. Thank you. Roseanne emailed me and changed our room to a ground floor room. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated hotel in need of some major upgrades, looking pretty tired. Bedrooms sub-standard for price. Bathroom hadn’t been cleaned properly from the last person (hairs in the bath) Wouldn’t recommend to couples. Full of children.

    Great Location, Loch Morlich is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No adverse comment

    It appears to me that the venue has up it game. Staff switched on and interested. Room very good and the complete no smoking rule is marvellous. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really needing a refurb but,still comfortable

    Location,meals excellent,and for me,a chill out ambiance was exactly what I was looking for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was half board but had a limit of 16 pound in the bistro if you had a starter you were over the limit. But if you ate in the a la carte restuarant you could have 3 courses. The food in the alacarte was excellent.I think it should be stated somewhere that your allowance is £16.00.

    Everything except the £16.00 allowance in the Bistro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very disappointed that we were unable to book into restaurant at a time that suited, we were offered very early evening or after 9pm and with two young kids this wasn't ideal, we paid for dinner for 4 at adult price and ended up eating in the woodshed and foregoing our dinner in hotel as it wasn't practical for our needs. it ended up costing more than we had intended to spend, the bar prices are ridiculously expensive in the hotel (nearly £14 for a glass of house white)

    We love the facilities here and the location is very special, the kids had a fantastic time, either in the play areas or just generally the outdoor space, the woodshed is our go to place as it was fantastic weather to sit outside and enjoy the surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit dated (90's?) & Bathroom very 80's and small Rest of the hotel is fine but rooms could do with refurbishment Pool area looking a bit tired in places (rust showing through parts of the roof and columns) & tiled areas a bit grubby in places.

    Location, Staff, Breakfast (really good and a massive selection!) food at the Bistro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished the evening entertainment started earlier so the children could enjoy. Girl at front desk was new and didn’t give us any information. Room was very dated and tired and we felt it was quite overpriced.

    Very lovely staff in the restaurant. We loved the evening entertainment. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet items could have been hotter Still nice but maybe left out too long. Considering there is a massive family area where you can take your drinks, it was disappointing to be faced with people letting their kids run riot in the bar area.

    Room was great and very quiet. Decent shower too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always thought that dogs were only allowed in certain rooms on the ground floor but during my stay I saw two dogs going in to rooms on the first floor ?? As a person that is allergic to dogs I was disappointed to see this. And I prefer the Italian buffet at night as it’s more relaxed, so was a bit disappointed with table service and set menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in the corridors needs an upgrade.

    The location was great. Hotel rooms and corridors leading to them need updating. The food was good but if you are a couple there during a busy family time, do make sure you ask to be seated in the quieter area for meals. Lovely to see kids having a ball, but if you want a bit of peace it is possible to get that, but we weren't told about that for our first meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight holiday camp feel, with so many families and activities and bit of a fight for dinner slots - but it is a family resort and it was a bank holiday weekend! Our bathroom was showing it’s age a bit but still adequate

    Breakfast was really good with a great choice and the evening meal was, on the whole, better than we expected. Not the sort of meal for a special celebration but pretty good for an evening in the Cairngorms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel was boiling hot. I've stayed in stupidly hot hotel rooms before but this was right up there with the hottest I've ever stayed in. Even after turning the heating off and opening the window as much as possible and sleeping on top of the sheets I still got little sleep the first night. This hotel is very family oriented and as such there are lots of children running around. I wasn't expecting that. If I'd known I would have booked one of the numerous other hotels in Aviemore which are quieter and cheaper, oh and cooler :)

    The staff were very friendly and professional although our evening meal was messed up on the first night when they missed our starter off the meal order. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable but manager kindly moved us rooms which was great. Expect comfy bed from outset at 4* hotel. Menu in main restaurant didn't change, glad bistro was open on our last night. That was by far the best meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    A Hugh well done to the lady with the smoothies at breakfast see was very pleasant with here conversation was just enough for that time in the morning, well done, have not had that in any other hotel we have stayed in well done her , and well done Hilton keep it up👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas of the hotel are well kept ... but the room i was in & particularly the corridors & stairs were very tired. No lift ... schlepping bags up & down narrow stairways isn’t much fun when tired Some of the Hilton staff i encountered should go learn from Radisson what customer service at this price point should look like

    Good restaurant & breakfast food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is great & the Wood shed bar a great place to relax in the evening

    Having stayed at the Hilton Coylumbridge before we knew it would live up to our expectations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the restaurant not much choice for our famil has we are not adventurous

    The breakfast is really good the best from any other hotel companies

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was fast and very efficient. Went up to the mountain train in the Cairngorms were we went for a hike and were very fortunate to see a herd of reindeer being brought in. Saw a red squirrel on another walk....just love the wild life in Scotland. Good location for us as we took our dog and the walk, just over the road was fantastic. Both breakfast and evening meal were very good. Yes there are supplements for certain dishes, which we were happy to pay, but the menus good without the need for the supplement dishes if you didn’t want to pay the extra. The way we looked at it was that the cost of the hotel including half board was equivalent to just staying or b& b at other hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Menu was not very varied. We were booked in for 3 nights so a bit monotonous. Conditioner in bathroom had clearly been used by previous guest :( Beds very uncomfortable!

    Lovely dinner included. Great open space in foyer. Parking. Lovely pool and gym facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was far to hot with only a little fan to cool you down but didn’t do a very good job. The beds was creaky and very uncomfortable. The food was average and drinks was really over priced. For being a Hilton 4 star I thought it would be better. Facility’s was good. Entertainment was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the heat in the hotel is unbearable. The main purpose of a hotel is to provide a place to sleep and yet sleeping at this hotel was a very difficult challenge. We had both windows fully open, two fans on full, and I still needed to wear a soaking top in bed in order to stay cool enough to sleep. I see this has appeared in the hotel's reviews for a while so I'm dissapointed to see it hasn't been rectified. It was cold enough outside to warrant a jacket at midday so the heat was all coming from inside. It was our honeymoon and once the heat hits you when you walk into your room it's an instant mood kill. The Inverdruie restaurant was extremely hot, which made breakfast and dinner there uncomfortable. The staff in the Inverdruie were also much blunter than the rest of the staff and any politeness came across forced. Perhaps it's the heat. We found the vegetarian options in the Inverdruie a bit limited - especially for my wife who doesn't like goat's cheese - and a bit pretentious. The Bistro proved much more suited to our tastes, however, it was closed for half of our stay for some reason. The bed could also do with being a bit more comfortable. The springs were quite prominent.

    The reception, Bistro and bar staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Especially the mancunian lady. She was so genuine and the best example of great customer service. The room was cleaned to a high standard daily. The housekeeping staff were also very polite. The breakfast was very good. Lots of choice. The location of Aviemore is just an amazing place. Lots to do nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we went during the week it was very busy, especially with children. Even the pool for those who can swim, jacuzzi and sauna had young children there as they didn’t seem to enforce the no children areas. In hindsight I’d recommend the lodges to couples as there isn’t any privacy. The restaurant food was pretty poor ( the staff were lovely though ) The tv and WiFi didn’t really work in our room as well, so all in all, the actual hotel wasn’t great, but Aviemore is lovely.

    Spa was really lovely and the staff were very great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our room was extremely uncomfortable, it was also very hot during the night due to us being placed above the main restaurant area

    Excellent location , nice and peaceful, excellent staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alcohol cost was extortionate!!! But staff did tell you the price before you ordered which helped. £10 for a glass of wine in the restaurant. I had soda.......

    A beautiful setting amongst the pine trees. Very tranquil and relaxing with glorious sunshine flooding the front so you could sit out. Perfect destination for a solo traveller. Food was fabulous. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely spa at the back in one of the lodges.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as “pet friendly”, pet tolerant would be a better description. Presented with a pack on arrival with some good info and some not, then bombarded with a list of terms and conditions and rules to adhere to and expected to sign on the spot. One of the conditions being we were not to leave the dogs in the room unattended unless going for breakfast or dinner. Basically we were unable to sample the facilities the hotel had to offer. Didn’t feel it was much of a break for us or the dogs. Thankfully the weather was good otherwise we’d have been prisoners in our room. We booked a dinner bed and breakfast “package” but found it difficult to book a table in the restaurant(s) even well in advance. Also when booking the bistro be aware you only get an entitlement of a paltry £16 so best of luck ordering a meal, a steak on its own for example was around £22... Our room was one of the “pet owners” rooms. Our room other than the size of it was poor, dated & noisy. I would expect better from a hotel carrying the Hilton brand and whether this was because we chose to travel with our pets I’m not sure? They also charged an additional £25 for our stay for the pets.

    Breakfast lovely, lots of choice and the quality was good overall. Staff we encountered were friendly and eager to assist where required.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a bit better cleaned, some cola stains had been missed but our room was in no way dirty.

    In our family of 4 we have 2 with Coeliac disease one of whom is also vegetarian, the staff were so helpful in catering for our needs. I can’t rate the buffet chefs highly enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of hotel look dated and could do with being refreshed - pool area, hall and stairs.

    Staff were excellent. Dining room very nice and modern. Lounge/bar area very cosy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids are only allowed into the pool at certain times and even though our kids are expert swimmers they had to be accompanied by an adult in the pool. We checked in at 1.30pm on the day of our arrival and could only get a time for dinner after 8pm for both nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filthy, the family suite was were furniture went to die, stained with coffee rings all over it, very chipped, sticky, dirty, cracked bathroom basin, Broken plug, hairdryer didn't work. My heart sank when I walked in. The temperature regulator was completely missing so the water went over 50 degrees. The food is terrible, not four star at all, barely passes as hospital food. We arrived late afternoon, just had time for a quick swim as the pool becomes adults only at 5pm for an hour, we whizzed off for dinner and went out very early the next day. I reported my findings the next day when we got back, we were checking out after that and a very abrupt manager who has few people skills told me we should have told her earlier! I replied, we're only here 2 nights and it shouldn't be in this state anyway! She was rude and unhelpful, so I went over her head and did get treated professionally by the general managers PA. He returns next Tuesday so will see what he has to add......

    The guy from transylvania makes great coffee. The restaurant staff try hard but the food is just so bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dark & dingy, the bed was one of the most uncomfortable we’ve slept in, it was lower down at the head board & higher at the feet end, the mattress was extremely uncomfortable.. The bedding was of poor quality.. we've had better on DFDS ferry crossings.. The bed frame also looked like a DIY job & was very creaky as well! The food was ok but had to pay supplements on many items, portions very stingy.. Free wifi not fit for purpose,£14.99 a night to upgrade.. crazy in this day & age..

    On a brighter note we found the staff were helpful & friendly.. The Hotel is in a good location for walking into the town..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lifts, Not disable friendly . had to move from 2nd floor to ground floor, stairs to steep health and safety issue when carrying cases, dated room bed very un-comfy like a hammock creaked loudly every time you turned over awaking your partner. again REFURB

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Final evening dinner in the Bistro chef served my two 3 year old grandchildren raw chicken skewers but was quickly replaced with another choice by staff restaurant staff who were excellent after I raised this issue.

    Great breakfast other meals not so good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all of the hotel restaurants were fully booked before midday- we were unable to use our DBB deal despite the premium paid. Would not have travelled if known this. Had to push hard for some rebate. Very unimpressed by link between booking.com and hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in to be given a disabled room not impressed as we are not disabled very small in need of modernisation, we asked why we were put in it and told it was the only room left as fully booked. I said this was not satisfactory and then we were given a family room which was good, this obviously meant there was spare rooms. Booked into evening dining first night at 8:30 pm - waited 40 mins for starter ,9:40 pm got main course Second night - no complaints Third night - so bad management gave us free drinks say no more ☹️ Not enough parking went round in circles

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities. Most were either closed or in desperate need of repair. The activities advertised bare no resemblance of what is actually available. The swimming pool area and changing rooms are a disgrace, filthy throughout and again in desperate need of repair/updating.

    Staff were very friendly. Breakfast and evening meal were decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms and corridors did seem a little dated and the bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked it to be. Also the pool area seemed a little grubby. These areas could do with a little sprucing up, as there wasn't a direct staircase to our floor and the corridor areas and rooms did seem dated.

    I found this hotel very good value for money as our stay included both our evening meal, which was 3 courses and breakfast the following morning which was also very good. The staff were also very friendly and the location was great for what we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room was bit hot and dehydrating Sauna not working thought had steam room but didn't

    Cosy and gorgeous location Handy for all amenities and lots to do outside Restaurants great good value for money on half board

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leisure facilities were outdated with a cold hydro pool rather than jacuzzi and sauna was mildly warm. Food could also have been better including service however for half board it is a reasonable price so you get what you pay for. It seems the place is targeted for a cheaper alternative for families rather than a luxury Hilton

    Location to skiing is great and the value for money was good for half board

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was unclean and dated

    Loved hotel facilities although our room was not the cleanest. But after complaining we recieved a free round of teas and coffees so great service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older part of hotel really needs done up. Beds are the worst I've ever slept in and I didn't understand why a couple on their own would be put beside a wedding party ??

    Plenty to do on site i.e.swimming, walking and lots of leisure activities for the kids. Attentive staff who are willing to make your stay good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Bunk Bed Kids Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lukewarm food very little choice for children and unknown to me children over 5 had to pay over and above the expensive room rate waited too long to get food

    It was in a good place to go to activities

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: