Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Suites 4 stars

Braemar Road, Ballater, AB35 5XA, United Kingdom

#6 of 10 hotels in Ballater

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 60 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For £275 per night we expected more for our money. Breakfast wasn’t included and when we returned late in the evening from a function outwith the hotel there was no option for a drink at the bar or even hot chocolate/ cup of tea. On arrival You can’t get in to your room till 4pm and have to leave by 10:00. All in all it was a poor show so we won’t be back.

    Lovely setting and room very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Rooms Great, Staff Great, Pool a bit noisy and not as relaxing as I was looking for on Saturday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did go there for relaxation so I found the steam room very busy and got a lot of noise from the kids playing in the pool just outside on Saturday afternoon........ It's probably the time I went in, it's probably quieter in the week. Also there were crying kids in the changing rooms so it felt a bit like the public pool in Elgin so I just got out of there ASAP. I would have used this facility more if it was quieter as it was basically the reason I chose this hotel. Plus the Jacuzzi was not working so I would have defiantly used this if it was available.

    The rooms where great very big and had a handy wee kitchen. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was super clean. One of the nicest places I've ever spent the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    The suites and club house are looking very good now they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know it is off peak but was quite surprised there was no food in the club house between 2pm and 5pm, we know there was a hen party of 14 booked in who like our selfs tried to get food around this time. Would have thought we could have got toasties, sandwiches chips etc at this time while the rugby was on and the bar was busy but were told just crisps or a cake!

    The suites and club house are looking very good now they have been done up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rule that my 14 and 12 year old and 7 year old could not swim with their dad ( the 2children to 1 adult ratio) 👍14 and 12 year olds are almost always competent swimmers .

    The suites were lovely despite no oven to cook our pizzas !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Lovely setting. Friendly staff. Apart from pool, nothing else on option for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from pool, no other activities available for children. Sofa beds in suits are hazardous for children with the type of metal frame exposed.

    The size of the pool. Food was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice place to stay and visit but felt very disappointed with the water situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very hot water coming out of the cold water taps , this happened on two occasions and we couldn’t use the showers in the room, we had to go and use the showers at the pool. This got fixed twice but there should not be any hot water coming out of a cold tap full stop! The cold supply should be mains fed as it can be contaminated if connected to a tank or any hot water source full stop. We have asked for a room rate reduction on check out, we advised the manger would contact us but hasn’t done. The pool was very cold on our first night and the hot tub wasn’t working properly, on the second night the hot tub was very very hot the pool was a better temperature but there wasn’t any shampoos in the shower areas , annoying as we couldn’t use our room showers.

    Nice area , hotel in general is nice. Bar and food staff nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Room was immaculate and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in time is ridiculous 4pm...and breakfast was terrible £25 for family breakfast and it was only continental!!

    Room was immaculate and lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    A lovely hotel, but works going on tainted our stay slightly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We weren't informed that there would be works going on. This meant there were workmen outside the pool area, which was a bit uncomfortable. They were also walking around outside our room, so we kept the curtains closed. When we complained to reception, and said we wouldn't have booked the hotel had we known the work was going on we were offered a different room, but this would have actually been more disruptive to us. The fix would have been to say when we booked that there would be work. Their response was that they didn't think it was required as no facilities were affected. There was no full breakfast available, only a very over-priced continental. A hotel of this standard should have cooked breakfast options.

    Pool area and hot tub were great. Rooms were recently renovated and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    We can't wait to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was too hot, and there was no 'cold' water in the room. Luckily there was an ice-machine in the hallway

    The room was spotless. We were afforded an early check in as we'd requested on booking, and were presented with a plate of cakes as it was our anniversary. There was fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee! The staff couldn't have been friendlier and we were very sad we had to leave after just the one night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    4.5
    expected a lot better at the price - £250 all in for a overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    4pm checkin doesnt afford much time to use the facilities finding someone's knickers at the end of the bed disgusting pokey little bathroom - thankfully we didnt have a cat being charged extra for a travelodge breakfast

    the spa and pool were good. Our dinner was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hot and cold water tap was not great. was hot water a bit to hot and when run a bath only hot water was coming out even through the cold tap. We had to stop every thing and just run the cold on his own which came cold after awhile. But this disagreement was not very important. Such a pretty hotel. Will definitely come again and will recommend it to all my friend with no hesitation.

    the suite room was so big and wonderful with the electrical fire. very nice bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor to bathroom had tiles that were higher than the bedroom carpet and hit my heel as I went into the bathroom. Still hurting 2 days later!

    Lovely setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two large swimming pools were no longer assigned to children (1m deep) or adults (much deeper). Therfore, adults could no longer swim in the deep pool due to babies, toddlers & non-swimming children playing in it. Often the children were poorly supervised & it is a tragedy waiting to happen, as half of that pool is deep. I am surprised the Hilton allows something so obviously DANGEROUS! I saw several young children spluttering out of their depth during our stay. This could easily be made safe by returning to indicating that the shallower pool is recommended for children & those who cannot swim, as obviously the parents have no common sense & can’t work it out for themselves.

    Lovely appartment, complimentary mulled wine & mince pies in reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, cosy and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    One tiny quibble - the pillows and duvet were all down, and there were no alternatives. I'm sure that's great for most people, but some someone like me with *all* the allergies and sinus issues.... well, I did spend a lot of time coughing and sneezing. Only realised halfway through the night what the problem was, but there was no alternative bedding in the room. I'd suggest that some provision be made for hypoallergenic bedding.

    The hotel is in a lovely location, is comfortable, warm and spacious. Staff are exception - very friendly and attentive, without being intrusive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.8
    Great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    1."we don't serve a hot breakfast" That's appalling. 2. And the cost of the primitive breakfast was extra ! It should be part of the price. 3. Room needed fresh air

    Great pool Great big room - number 30 Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Nothing no to like about this property, it has to be one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent!

    Nothing no to like about this property, it has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in, our room was amazing, stayed for 3 nights, did not want to check out!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    It was so good we are looking for dates for next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    We liked everything. The suite facilities were stunning. The staff were so friendly and professional. Food is of the highest quality and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Give yourself a treat and book a Craigendarroch Junior Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    My wife and I have been members of the heath club at Craigendarroch for the past four years and this year we thought we would like to spend three nights at the premises over Christmas and have our Xmas dinner there so we booked a Junior Suite. We were very impressed with the layout of the suite and the facilities provided within the suite. Xmas dinner was excellent and all members of staff were pleasant, helpful and obviously happy at their work just like the staff at the health club. Congratulations, and thank's for a very enjoyable, restful break.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    understaf - less staf for room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room service - too late bad preparing

    sourandings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Delighted am planning a return for longer than 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were exceptional. In the KEILLIER LOUNGE N RESTAURANT. THE GENTLEMAN ESPECIALLY ATTENTiVE WHen dining .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom

    Lovely suite and pool was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Two-Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was more pub food than restaurant level

    The suite was much more spacious than expected

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was beautiful the location was beautiful and the staff were fantastic especially Theo

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Fab hotel, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two members of staff at the spa reception were not helpful at all.

    Comfortable room, beautiful location and hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Two-Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything especially the staff

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Best short stay I've ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite was amazing..and the food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Temperature of the room and confort of the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Temperature of the room and confort of the bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous food and great leisure facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in staff could have been more helpful

    Fabulous food and great leisure facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nothing to write home about

    Lovely clean nice hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closes at 11pm. No residents lounge

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    Looking for snow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No snow

    Great location to explore from

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel for a special weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room and loved using the lovely facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful and in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power cut and getting dressed in the dark. No refund or recognition of inconvenience

    Well appointed room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More seats in the pool area.

    The fridge and facilities in the room and the very competitive pricing for the food in bar and restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    Thought the Staff were great the food was value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the Staff were great the food was value for money think that the room which was nice was a bit expensive lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: