Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dunkeld House Hotel 4 stars

Dunkeld House Hotel, Dunkeld, PH8 0HX, United Kingdom

#5 of 7 hotels in Dunkeld

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1220 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • General Wade Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures they have supplied you to depict the General Wade room is actually a montage of several different rooms so when we booked what we thought was a beautiful suite we were actually given a room. Smaller than most travel inn rooms. It was ground level and there was a lovely vespa parked outside the only window in the room which blocked the what was left of the terrible view. After complaining and seeing another room and a waste of an hour we were finally "upgraded" to the room we had booked on the website the suite. No apology was given. I have written a more detailed email to the Dunkeld and await response. Please replace the pictures on your website as it is very misleading to say the least. £453 for 2 nights in a substandard room wasn't going to spoil my wife's 40th birthday weekend and if we didnt get the room we expected we would of gone to a travel Inn for a better and cheaper experience. The food isn't up to scratch especially the steaks and scrambled eggs.

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was a lovely hotel only wish we could have stayed longepeaceful spot riggt on tge river private and lovely var and testeraunt .. cant go past this Grand hotel ...newly refurbished very comfoetable !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impression was waiting for our room to be ready (e.g. 1730 hours) A long wait to get into a room and we noticed all the cases surrounding the reception area of other clients, so we were not alone. As the Hotel was fairly empty (Sunday) we did not understand this at all? Bar staff (one chap), as no one else was allowed to serve in the bar, was rude and arrogant and also frustrated as there were maybe three people waiting to be served standing at the bar as he huffed and puffed while around 6 staff who could not serve at the bar watched on! The majority of the staff that we encountered were fairly inexperienced, however both the waitress and receptionist were polite and kind. We were told we could not eat in the patio restaurant as it was full however when we got there it was apparent that there were several empty tables ( all evening ), and it this left us thinking that no one could be bothered to dress the table for dinner. We were also informed by reception when we checked in that the restaurant was full so opted to eat earlier than we would have liked to find the restaurant practically empty... throughout our meal e.g for most of the evening?. The dinner menu was fairly basic and if you did not like Duck then it was a chicken dish or a supplemented steak. I opted for the sirloin steak for dinner and sent it back twice as it was tough both times. We did speak to the Restaurant Manager and he deducted my steak saying it must have been taken from the 'same cut of meat'? As it was my partner's birthday, he ended up eating on his own! The hotel has been refurbished and the bedroom was well decorated and the bed comfortable, however there was no mirror in the bathroom that you could see into unless you were over 6ft 6 inches! As an aside, there were no ashtrays ink the Hotel or outside the Hotel if you wanted to smoke a cigar on the external patio.

    Location, Gardens, River Walk, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we visited last year the cranachan was served in a large goblet and was stunning this time it had changed and was done in a chocolate cup a bit disappointing

    Food was lovely room beautiful all good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black decoration and bar food was rather expensive for what was served.

    Very comfy all over but found room I Was in too dark as didn't get any sun and walls were very dark grey or black. Same in dining room. Grounds and gardens magnificent and well kept. Views terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is an ideal place to relax and unwind, the gardens and view of the river are spectacular. The hotel is located in perfect setting. The staff are professional and friendly and look after your every need both on arrival and whilst dining. The food in the restaurant was of a high standard and we could not fault it. We really enjoyed the experience and will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please deliver food orders as advertised on menu - ordered a club sandwich with veg crisps and side salad and it came with chips! Ask if customers like blue cheese when they order a cheese board! This was sent back and returned with different cheese. If it is cauliflower soup with blue cheese - please state that, not just cauliflower soup. Also, in hot weather especially, bottles of water should be chilled or served with ice in glasses. Luke warm water was not appreciated.

    Balcony in room was deluxe double room was great in hot weather. Spa and front of house staff were all extremely helpful and great service. Pool had a relaxed atmosphere - never very busy. Grounds and surroundings were lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception staff were rude and short tempered. asked for fan as was very hot in room and was told someone would bring one and I'm still waiting....

    location. food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were mixed. Starters and sweets tended to be very nice. The saddle of lamb on Sunday night was not up to standard as it was rather tough and fatty.

    The setting of this property is spectacular. The room was comfortable and other facilities of a very good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all so uninterested, there was no friendliness from anyone (apart from one dark, slightly long haired gentleman at the bar) and any question you asked was met with the feeling you were causing great inconvenience to them. There seemed to be a lot of them but little management at all, and that is a great let down! This hotel could be really great but there is no way I’d book in again in its current situation. The food was too blah to even talk about......such a pity!!! A new management with great people/staff skills and attention to food - doesn’t have to be fancy, just tasty - would make this a very different hotel! We’d had a bereavement and just booked a quick getaway for a couple of nights away from our house, last minute. We had thought about upgrading to a better room and really making a weekend of it....I’m so glad we didn’t waste more money!

    The location is stunning!!! The hotel is set on the grounds of an old Country House on the River Tay. The grounds are beautiful and the surroundings incredible, lovely walks if you choose to bring a dog with you...or even not! The hotel itself is lovely, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • General Wade Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has pretensions of being a luxury country house but in reality is way overpriced with unhelpful staff. A coach group dominated the restaurant which served disgraceful food. 'Spicy' soup came unseasoned. The duck was served on a searingly hot plate with wilted veg and soggy skin. My bedroom in an annexe was nice but too hot to sleep, an unusual problem in Scotland! No air con and security windows that only allowed a tiny opening. But it's too far to walk into town so you're trapped!

    The riverside location was beautiful...when you get there along a mile of awkward, mainly single track road. The spa pool was generously sized and the grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seems to have been 3 family rooms booked when only one was required for my daughter, husband and 2 young children. However it wasn't a big issue

    Hotel is in a stunning setting and the weather was perfect. Food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. My elderly mother was given a room on the ground floor on request which was great as her mobility is not ideal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in the room, also no fridge. For over £300 for two nights I would expect a fridge in the room, especially since it was boiling hot in the hotel and we were provided with only a small bottle of Highland spring still and sparkling waters which were not pleasant to drink warm. Also, my partner forgot his toothbrush and the receptionist staff informed us that they did not have any they could provide, even for a fee. Same with shoe polish. For a hotel quite far away from town and so distinguished I would expect them to have at least a few extras for customers (paid or unpaid) to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I recently stayed at a holiday Inn that provided toothbrushes in each of their rooms and would expect more from a luxury hotel. Finally, no irons in the rooms. The bride and groom for the wedding we attended had to ask for an iron.

    Dining staff were very attentive and welcoming. Tom in particular greeted us with a wonderful gusto and seemed genuinely interested in how we were doing during our stay. The location is beautiful and we very much enjoyed seeing our friends get married on the grounds. The breakfast buffet was also excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was very good.

    This hotel enjoys a wonderful setting with mature trees all around and extensive landscaped approaches and with the River Tay adjacent. Our stay was extremely pleasant with helpful staff and a good size room with the usual facilities. A nice comfortable bed ensured a good night's sleep whilst the breakfast was also enjoyable with plentiful choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    None

    The setting was exceptional. The drive is 1 mile long from the main road, the river runs through the grounds total tranquillity. We saw a dear herd grazing around the lodges. The choice and quality of the food for both breakfast and evening meals were of the highest quality. The staff looked very professional wearing the corporate waste coats, they were also very polite. We upgraded to a deluxe double room, which was very spacious. Overall a very enjoyable week, even the weather was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double plus room still felt quite small and dark. Advise Upgrade to deluxe if possible. Very few gluten free options. Some really great staff but also a couple who were not very interested when you said good not great. My companion had a pretty bad super food salad- expensive but very little variety in it and quinoa not really cooked.. No dressing either until we asked. When she complained waiter basically said sorry ish I think then asked how my soup was - fine, I told him. "Great glad to hear it" and walked off. Should have dealt more with companions complaint. Think this maybe a tactic taught by Hilton customer service training- brush over the negative and try to focus on positive. Doesn't really work- makes you feel not listened to. Happened in spa and leisure centre too. Interesting. Food about 6/10 I'd say- quite an expensive venue and wouldn't take much to improve it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting staff very slow, this is not a knew problem. Lost our check for main course on Friday night, but our wine was given as complimentary.

    Always like Dunkeld House and walks along the Tay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Transfer services: taxis options available around (without earlier booking) too few. With no rent car, it is a bit difficult to move around..

    The location is fantastic, "fairy", romantic .. Food was excellent, as well as staff very friendly and very professional. All great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked dinner b@b and, come the time to order, we felt that we would prefer to have a bar meal. The answer was no. So, we had a 3 course supper and the starters were fine (soup for one and pigeon breast) the vegetarian main course was tasteless in the extreme, and what was called a summer pudding was a disgrace. We did wonder if any of the food had been prepared and cooked by a chef or was from a general supplier and heated in a microwave. If we were to return, it would be for B&B only - depending on the price.

    Excellent staff, beautiful surroundings, comfortable room and a very good breakfast - maybe because we got in before the masses!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t made clear that dogs weren’t allowed in main hotel. We asked for rooms together as travelling with children and we were in different buildings!

    Location is perfect, sitting with a G&T on lawn by river in evening sunshine -truly idyllic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit pokey and stuffy - heavy curtains blocked fresh air coming in (opening curtains was too public). Unfortunately the evening food disappointed on both nights - the fish and stakes were very dry and over-cooked.

    Lovely walks; great wine; very nicely decorated; great breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    service in bar & restaurant just OK dinner just fair breakfast buffet excellent but options from kitchen as per the menu not offered

    good value for the “deal” we were on

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm in the night and even with heater at lowest setting heat still came through. Possibly centrally controlled. Glass of wine expensive although in line with similar establishments

    Excellent location and beautiful well maintained gardens. Friendly staff. High standard of clenliness throughout

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst attitude and customer service i have ever experienced. From check in to bar staff (tyler in particular looked like shed rather be anywhere else and had a very bad attitude, huffing and puffing when you order drinks) restaurant staff were mostly friendly but service is slow. Checking out there were various charges on our room that we had either already paid or did not belong to us. (Woman checking out at same time had the same issue so i assume its not a one off)

    The location was beautiful and the included meals were lovely (portions on small side)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jacuzzi rather too hot! (minor).Booked dinner and want to have a pre-dinner drink in the bar by the restaurant, ordering a bottle of wine to share and have pre dinner and with dinner; was somewhat surprised to see a queue forming by the entrance to the restaurant and as we had booked and were looking at the menu's expected to be asked to our table. Sadly that did not seem to be the practice there, so stood in line (with bottle of wine in a cooler in my hand) and was taken to our table . . . eventually. The staff did not offer to take our drinks for us, or the wine cooler with bottle which was slightly disappointing for the level of hotel it was, just took the edge off our experience. Food was very good and menu choice, just a little let down by the service as they appeared to be trying to be "that" kind of place. Rooms comfortable and has all we would expect, décor somewhat random, but that's a matter of taste, though some of the furnishings looked like they could have been bought at a cut price retailer . . . again purely our opinion. just little bits of attention to detail could have been slightly better.

    Breakfast was one of the very best we have ever had in a hotel. Dinner too was very good. And location, grounds and pool area were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh coffee woukd have made such a difference. A little more info when going in for breakfast would have been helpful (ie you can order an omelette fresh)

    Lovely restaurant and an added bonus to have a pianist on one of the nights

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit grotty/tired & the room was quite small for the £ paid....also requested a first floor room was I was a female travelling solo & got a ground floor room....

    Location was amazing.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    I literally had to wait until 3pm exactly to check in (arrived at reception 7 minutes to 3pm). For almost 200 pounds room for one night I would have expected a better service. During my interactions with hotel staff at breakfast some of them were not exactly helpful, but I did eventually found the cutlery myself. Room was basic and bathroom dated. The locations is spectacular though, but value for money just wasn't there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault the hotel

    It was a pleasant surprise to have the lift working. The bedroom was extremely confortable and the staff were all very attentive. The location is absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of steak. Only 5 choices on menu for main course so meant we had 4 options for dinner. If you are going to have a small menu. You cannot run out of ingredients.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was really disappointing, over priced and really not up to standard. We sent back one dessert as it was inedible. Staff didn’t seem informed about the dishes or drinks.

    The room was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has undergone some recent refurbishment, however more needs to be done to get it to the level the building and location deserves. Should add pillow menu to the rooms.

    Fantastic location and scenery! The evening meal was good but the delivery seemed rushed and took away from the experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has recently been refurbished and looks much better. Nice cocktail bar and lovely conservatory extension to dining room with views to the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is impeccably designed with a Scottish theme of muted grey tartan, tweed and stags. It works well for the setting by the Tay and the historic village of Dunkeld. Everything is clean and felt new. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, and we had a delicious three-course meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was good and being able to use the leisure facilities was a bonus. I even had a fantastic facial.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A larger reception area. Having room for only two staff at the prime checkout time on a Sunday led to unnecessary queues.

    The beautiful walks and the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and quality of meal on our first night was disappointing. The service in the bar is disappointing - there is no table service, and both nights we stayed ther was only one bar person leading to long waits to be served. The bar service isn’t what I’d expect in a hotel of this standard.

    Our first stay since the recent change of ownership and refurbishment. The public areas of the hotel and our room were well furnished and very comfortable. The service and quality of the meal on our 2nd night was excellent. Reception staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very understaffed! Especially in the restaurant. Took ages for food & drinks to arrive. Had to ask for a pot of tea 4 times before it finally arrived about 40min later! Lunch menu is very basic pub grub & hardly any selection, not what you’d expect in a hotel of this standard!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside for me was that there were only 4 lounger beds by the pool. It’s not a huge thing but I was really looking forward to a relaxing snooze/relax with my book by the pool but this wasn’t to be. I had hoped to book a spa treatment but they were fully booked, I blame myself for not booking an appointment in advance. The pool is a little chilly but not too bad once you acclimatise. Our visit fell during the Easter holidays, so there were quite a few children in the pool. I would love to visit again during term time.

    The hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic location; the food was good and the staff are very friendly. The hotel decor is a perfect balance of country manor estate and Scottish heritage with a modern twist. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The location is beautiful and tranquil, perfect for a relaxing break. Dunkeld village is small but well equipped, it is lovely to sit by the river and watch the world go by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the food and the drinks.

    The setting of the hotel. The friendliness of all the staff. The cleanliness and comfort of the room. The decor and cleanliness of the public areas. How quiet the room was at night, despite the hotel being almost fully occupied. The comfort and heating in the room. The ease of acces to the hotel wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning shower was very cold, which was a bit inconvenient.

    It was our first time staying at this hotel and it was a special occasion- my husband's 30th birthday. The hotel has left a platter of sweets and chocolate strawberries in the room on our arrival, which has made us feel special. The surroundings are stunning and we didn't manage to walk around them all. The dinner was perfect, with live piano music and beautiful atmosphere. Service very quick and food delicious (I especially liked fishcake for starters). Overall a memorable first stay and we are already planning our return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping left a lot to be desired. Our room wasn’t made up until well after 3pm and the carpets hadn’t been hoovered or towels changed even though we specifically left them in the required manner to be changed. We couldn’t book at table at the time we wanted so had to eat much later. Pool was closed.

    Location is superb - difficult to find a more picturesque hotel. Check in was quick and smooth. We had a room at the back in the 1st floor which was fine and overlooked a small wooded area where we saw deers late afternoon. Heating worked a treat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got the suite but few added extras, tiny shampoo/conditioner no toothpaste or toiletries. Nothing major just not what I would expect when upgrading to something a bit nicer. Also had to wait a long time to check in even though we got there at 1:30pm

    Great bed and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhelpful restaurant staff with no urgency; mainly seemed very young with no experience of waiting - expected much much more for my money.

    Bedroom/bathroom clean and comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was out of commission for the two days that we stayed.

    The hotel is in a very beautiful location on the banks of the river Tay. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very informative, staff at reception too busy talking to one another than dealing with guests. Pool was closed for two days with no information as to why! Breakfast although plenty to choose from food was cold.

    Room clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out of order, however that was likely down to circumstances.

    Excellent accommodation and location, probably one of the best short breaks we've had

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one bar staff at 5.30 pm in main bar . . . very slow service and we gave up waiting for two G&Ts after over 15 mins and walked out . Not good enough for a hotel of this standard. While very good food, Dinner menu was limited choice and disappointed there was no A La Carte menu to offer a wider choice.

    Beautiful location, room fantastic Food excellent although limited Menu choice. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for breakfast as was very busy - the restaurant was also busy for our evening meal so we decided to opt for room service. However all food was top quality!

    Lovely room, great deal on dinner bed and breakfast! All were lovely! Location is beautiful! Spa and treatments were great too - also got a good deal on their skin products!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service was shambolic. Ordered on all 3 nights and it was only problem free on one of those. Hotels really need to sort their bathroom lighting and the Dunkeld was no different. Please can there be bright lights in the bathroom for those of us who like to apply make up in a good light, the dull lighting may make me look better, but really isn't good enough for getting ready!

    Room was comfortable and gets bonus points for having a socket by the bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disappointing thing was that the pool was not opened..... we were still able to use the jacuzzi and steam room, but would have preferred to have access to the pool aswell!

    Perfect stay! Building and rooms were really nice. Staff were very friendly, meal and breakfast was very tasty, could not fault our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The slight problem as that we were both tall people and the bed was a normal double and a bit creaky. We should have asked for a king sized bed.

    Beautiful location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps use the same pillows in the rooms as in the suites. I tried both (rm 410 then rm 215).

    Stunning location and so relaxing. The restaurant dinner menu was great and especially lovely to have a top quality imaginative vegetarian option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening dinners were disappointing. We had organised to meet 2 other couples for the weekend and the food was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. I had recommended staying at Dunkeld House Hotel and felt the disappointment personally.

    Everything apart from the evening dinners.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drinks in the bar are expensive and I am unimpressed by the way the bill does not specify what drinks the prices relate to, which makes it impossible to check the bill. I could make absolutely no sense of my bill but did not want to complain as I had obviously signed for my bar orders. I think this is something the hotel needs to adopt.

    Beautiful grounds, comfy room (we received a complimentary upgrade to the bothy suite), cozy lounge, excellent gym, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals at dinner were the same each evening and poor quality.

    The surroundings and location were excellent and much better than our last stay. We will be back in June for an off road Land Rover experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed slightly harassed and bar staff unsure of making martini cocktail so we had to change our drink. Not a big issue

    The setting was stunning and walking along the river especially in the sunshine was magical. The hotel was warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room floor needed vacuuming. Tea/coffee tray was tired and lacking variety of choice. Dinning room was very dull.

    Location and style of the hotel is very nice. Open fires were a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor between the reception and the bedroom was tired and in need of upgrade. The lift was poor with the overhead light indicating floors not working. The check in was poor with no explanation of facilities available to us and we seemed to be overlooked for a complimentary welcome drink - which others around us were offered. When we returned to reception to seek out advice; a different receptionist was really helpful. The lighting in the bedroom was relaxing but not strong enough to read with. I did enjoy the breakfast however on the Sunday a lot of the hot buffet ran out and when you're a vegetarian and there is no hash browns and a queue for eggs it takes the pleasure away!

    The room was comfortable and had everything you would need. The grounds and the river walk to Dunkeld village were a highlight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool was a bit cold

    the staff, the food. it is a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. I didn't feel that my boisterous 2 year old was a problem, the opposite the staff were lovely as were the other guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is 100% let down by the standard and the astonishingly limited options of food. The hotel is well separated from the village so has a nearly captive audience re food, but instead of making the food accordingly special the decision has clearly been made by management to not bother at all. There was a very drab fixed course menu which is obviously prepared bulk and prob off premises , for it smells and tastes like school dinners. There is zero for kids other than a lazy bento box affair. There is amazingly no bar food. What an amazing location - what amazing produce on the doorstep - what the hell are they playing at with the food. I 100% guarantee there is no chef on the premises.

    The location and grounds are undeniably awesome. Staff nice, pool and leisure part is great .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real snag - we could not find the hotel. The lettering of "House Hotel was so small that in the fading light we missed it - so did our friends so we had less time to enjoy our meal than we would have liked. Bigger letters and lighting the sign would solve the problem

    Excellent Breakfast & evening meal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Have been coming for a number of years, love the location, good walks, very relaxing atmosphere, upgrades to rooms have been improving it year after year.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was too large for us we prefer something smaller. I didn't like the long dimly lit corridors to the bedrooms. I also didn't like that I was charged £1 on my bill for a Tree Society, I think you should ask people before adding it to their bill. We still enjoyed our stay, thank you

    The walks outside the Hotel along the River Tay were wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave !!!

    The hotel is lovely. The food was delicious. The location is priceless. HOWEVER, what really makes the hotel, is the staff. They are just , the business.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, nice welcome . good pool and spa facilities. Situated in beautiful grounds, lovely start for nice walk along the river or in the forest. bars, restaurants. Very nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room’s view was on the back parking lot. In general we were expecting the look of the hotel to be a bit more polished. It looked a bit old in some bits. Also very disappointed on the afternoon tea, only liked the scones.

    Liked the location, by the river and the forest, so beautiful. Saw little deers on the hotel grounds on our first day. Breakfast was satisfying. Hotel staff friendly. Lovely fireplace whith sofas to enjoy drinks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was a little bit limited in the evening.

    We have been to this hotel many times, but this was our first visit since it changed owners. There were some cosmetic changes to the property, but I’m pleased to say it was a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A walk to village, ok in nice weather however in winter you need the car room well decorated however very dark.

    Old world charm location right on the river Tay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DELUX ROOM WITH STAINS ON THE CARPET IS A NO NO. ROOM COULD DO WITH A SMALL FRIDGE TO KEEP WATER AND MILK COLD IN. NOT EVERYONE LIKES THE LITTLE MILKS THAT COME ON THE HOSPITALITY TRAY.

    ROOM REALLY COMFY NICE AND BRIGHT WITH GREAT RIVER VIEW. VERY QUIET. EXCELLENT PEACEFUL LOCATION. GREAT FOOD AND WARM WELCOME. WELL DONE!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good facilities. Hotel has had a recent refurbishment that has been vertical tastefully done adding to the ombiance of the property.

    Lovely venue in a lovely part of the world

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need a Brown Tourist sign on the main road, can be difficult to find, SatNav told us we were to turn right into a field off the main road. Follow sign into Dunkeld. still need signs for hotel

    staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A special family occasion. The hotel was lovely, spectacular setting. Staff were all polite, helpful, made us welcome. Food good. Lovely pool. We'll be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the room/bathroom was on the small size and missing little extras like a fridge that a room of this price would usually have. There is a spa on site, but there was no information in the room letting you know what services are on offer in the spa.

    Lovely building in a stunning location. Friendly accommodating staff. Delicious evening meal during our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints about anything.

    Great atmosphere, busy but not to the extent that service was impacted at all. Friendly staff and a comfortable room that appears to have been recently refurbished. Our new favourite Scottish hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not dog friendly. The room allocated to us and our two small dogs had insufficient floor space for dog beds let alone feeding bowls. Dogs are not permitted in any part of the main hotel. We felt like second class patrons.

    Beautiful location. Lovely grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dunkeld House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: