Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4 stars

Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh, EH12 5EF, United Kingdom

#120 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2291 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Adequate accommodation great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small!

    The location is very good right beside Haymarket tram stop. Lots of pubs and restaurants also near by. It was a quite hotel. Food served until 10:30 which was good if back late

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Near the trams, easy to find. Quite and safe place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were many shopping's receipts from the previous customer on the desk in the room. I was surprised. If I am correct, Hilton supposes to be ranked as 4 stars hotel but for me it's like 3 stars in Thailand only.

    It's not too far from the Haymarket station and the town. Easy to walk. Quite and safe place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Theatre break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, 2 minutes walk from Haymarket train station. 10 minutes walk from Princes street, public transport tram and bus nearby, breakfast was superb

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    hilton name but service not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom layout not good bed against the wall food prices to high no breakfast included in room price of £143 per night did not get into room until 1545pm breakfast not a lot of choices

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    The location is not far from the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities didn't meet my expectations The doors shivers when ever someone passes by or the opposite rooms open their doors

    The location is not far from the centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    The room was dated and looked absolutely nothing like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and looked absolutely nothing like the picture I based this on. I was shown a picture of what my room looked like before I made my decision and can certainly say that the image shown and what I walked into were complete night and day. Overall, let down.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant Hotel with a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoyed the Breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given Annex Room across the road. Was expecting to be staying in Main Hotel. Felt a little isolated being on my own, with a member of staff only being on reception desk in Annex between 10.00p.m. and 8.00a.m.

    Relaxed atmosphere in Main Hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Rooms were lovely and it was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room was unbelievable, staff tried to help by giving us another fan so can’t fault them. Air conditioning would be an investment.

    Rooms were lovely and it was quiet. Plenty of space. And being able to check in soon as we got there at 12pm rather than waiting until 3pm was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was slippery so there should be something to prevent you from falling. There seems to be something in-built in the bath but it's slippery anyway. We had to be extra-careful.

    Bus 100 from Edinburgh airport stopped just in front of the hotel. Spacious,clean and quiet room (160 -opposite the main building) with tea and coffee + water bottles every day + bathroom toiletries. 10-min-nice walk to beginning of Princes street. Good wi-fi service everywhere. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    I cried when I arrived and saw the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was shabby and felt dirty. Skirting boards missing, holes in walls, wallpaper hanging off, pest control boxes under beds and behind radiators on landings, I could go on!

    The staff were helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    good experience and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location is far from centre about 25 mins walk and no good grocery store nearby

    the room on first day was small in another building but on request they changed the room to main building with bigger room. Breakfast option were many

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfort and relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New staff in the restaurant meant they weren't very efficient but remained very helpful and pleasant.

    Everything else - it was a very comfortable and relaxing hotel to be in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Edinburgh great for a City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, allocation of room 121 which brought into question “is this a Hilton 4 star Hotel? “ I Think this Hilton is tired and in dire need of a makeover. The lobby looks ok but bedroom 121 is certainly an overcharge and unsatisfactory 4 star standard. Rooms need modernised. Carpet stains on bedroom flooring and lift out of order during stay and in my opinion needs repaired asap owing to Health and Safety.

    Hotels recognition of Guests disapproval of first room allocation and given “complementary upgrade” - Hotel excuse given to early arrival. Breakfast was good variety. Staff pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Edinburgh 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Very conveniently located from the Haymarket station. Housekeeping staff was good. So was the staff at the bar and restaurant. We had a great time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable but for a 4*, quite disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary WiFi Television dated with very poor picture Room rather dated including furniture and decor Took 10 minutes to find the bathroom light as not located in or near bathroom

    Room was clean and bed was comfortable Room service was good and served in good time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing. I had read the reviews before we booked however it was not a pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very very small. No fridge or mini bar. Noisy plumbing. Room seemed damp my clothes felt damp when we unpacked them. Hotel is in major need of renovations. Not a good look for the Hilton brand. Also not a cheap stay pricey for a very old hotel.

    i can honestly say nothing about this hotel impressed us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    A nice hotel with an excellent location. A nice stay but the room cleaning facilities let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the room was not great. I found several things on the floor when I 1st went in. A vest in the wardrobe from a previous guest & I had to leave a note to the cleaning staff asking for a glass from the bar to be taken away from the night before as the previous morning the glass was just left in the room.

    Fabulous location and easy walking of Prince's street in a very safe area. Wonderful base to explore Edinburgh from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Adequate and basically comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very noisy location, even though it was in a side street....bit confusing to find. It was exceptionally hot, and there was no air conditioning, the only “ cooling” was a window which opened just a little, and a fan. The staff varied in their understanding due to language ( except the cheerful Scottish staff gentleman member in the Bar area,and the chef at breakfast) and were polite but not really warm and friendly.

    The bathroom toiletries were Crabtree and Evelyn, very nice, and there were generous room tea tray provisions, such as complimentary shortbread biscuits and bottles of water. Breakfast was enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    2.5
    NOTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ALL OF IT Very surprised that Booking.com to offer this as one of its recommended hotels!!!!!!!?????? Staff were ignorant and rude and not very helpful The trips that were advertised were not run through the hotel and this was very confusing and in fact put a downer on the whole trip as we could not get to Loch Ness as we planned!!!! The worst was the parking - The information was completely wrong and we had to park over 15 minutes from the hotel and it was on the good grace of a traffic warden that we did manage to unload and get checked in and not have to carry our luggage all the way back to the hotel.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    The hotel rooms are in bad need of refurbishment - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms are in bad need of refurbishment - the furniture, fixtures & fittings were all very dated and worn. I paid a premium rate for the room and it was actually more expensive than the Prinicpal in George Street which is a far superior hotel. I have stayed in quite a number of other Hilton hotels and this is by far the worst I have stayed in and would definitely not stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    As a Hilton honors member I was very disappointed, this hotel wasn't to the normal standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is tired and in need of serious renovation. The rooms were very small, the bed uncomfortable and room stuffy. The windows wouldn't open and the room was far to warm. We had one set of towels for 2 of us and the corridors were full of room service trays and dirty towels.

    The location is excellent for the tram, railways and bus routes and an easy walk into the central area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny, only w double bed to accommodate 2 adults and a toddler. The room was dated, the carpets needed a clean and bathroom was very dated.

    The breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendly hotel, in a quiet area but very accessible to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit dated, and for the money paid, did not wow me. The towel heater was right next to the toilet and I burnt my arm everytime I sat on the toilet. There was no way I could find to turn it off either. The room could have been a bit cleaner : there were hairs in the bath, and found dust balls and a big dead spider under one of the curtains when closed it.

    We stayed in a junior suite as we were travelling with a 9 month old baby, so wanted some extra space to avoid waking each other up at night/room for the baby sitter to sit in the evening. The room was big and comfortable, with a separate sitting area, and comfy couch. Bed was also very comfortable. Staff in this hotel could not have been more helpful, from the housekeeping to the staff at breakfast. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating : thank you Location in my eyes was great. 10 min brisk walk to the castle and the royal Mile, but in a quieter/chilled area away from the madness of the Royal Mile and the throngs of tourists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant whilst ok was a bit stretched if a group came in £5 taxi ride to car park NCP which is £12.50 a night Rooms a bit dated

    The staff were very helpful Excellent Indian Punjab restaurant next door

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Adequate stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now the bad and the good... they could have rated higher but there were a number of issues during the stay.. they could have rated lower, but the way they tried to rectify those issues kept to their motto of fixing any problems... Day one, arrived and my partner was having a shower, when the shower began to overflow as it wasn’t draining, so had to stop the shower in order to let the water drain away, so not flooding the bathroom. Rang the duty manager who moved us to another, supposedly better room, however it was smaller the one we had, but we had a shower that drained, so all good... Day two, spent the day exploring, got back to the room and the room had not been made up, and this was at about 1630hrs. Again rang the duty manager, explained about the night before, and then today, and to their credit, we were moved to a much higher room, a suite, so all good. Day 3, got back again from exploring Edinburgh, and room again not made, this time it is too late for room service, as they have gone home...we got back the next day and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us... So while there were issues, the Hilton always tried to find solutions, so hence I would recommend them for a stay, but if you find something wrong, don’t be afraid to bring it to their attention, they will try and sort it out...

    The location was right next to Haymarket train station which made it an easy walk after arriving from London. Breakfast was good, and reasonable price Staff were friendly enough..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There is no air conditioning at the hotel, and no fridge in the room. 2. Window opens only 2 inches. 3. My smoothie and fruit spoilt overnight. 4. I was waking up sweating. 5. Health faucet next to the WC would be appreciated. 6. The floor lamp wasn’t working. 7. The cord of the tea kettle was so short I had to keep the kettle on the floor. Moreover, the base of the tea kettle was fixed to the tray, so it was extremely inconvenient. 8. The electric sockets on the desk in the room were faulty - they caused my phone and laptop chargers to Overheat. Other sockets in the room were fine.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    The location and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and the heating made the room comfortable but the room and bathroom needs a serious update. The flooring is uneven and the carpet old. The bathroom sink need to be replaced with a mixer. Very inconvenient!

    The location and the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, even though it had been advertised as having air con. Rooms are dated, grubby & quite small. Extremely over priced for what they have to offer!

    Location is good. Staff were great trying to help and rectify problems we had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very expensive for a compact room - bed was small and creaky and in a corner No air con in the room on two very hot nights £230/night was a rip off even though the Rolling Stones were in Edinburgh The same room for the night we left was £99 - and still too expensive

    Very friendly staff Very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Bit of a walk from City Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website said the hotel was 20 minutes from Waverly Bridge. That is true only if you walk very fast and don’t have to wait for lights. 30 minutes is more accurate.

    Rooms were nice. We were on street level with the sidewalk outside the window so we couldn’t open our curtains. Recommend asking for a higher floor if you want to open the curtains. Great architectural detailing in the building and room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    A comfortable stay with good facilities but drawback is that parking is not close by and costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very sparse in Edinburgh, hotel can only offer nearest NCP which is at Castle Terrace about 12-15 minutes away. Hotel can give you a discount on your parking ticket. We could only book a compact room for approximately £200 for 1 night's stay as it was the Bank Holiday weekend and most hotels proved to be very expensive in Edinburgh.

    Our room did us fine for the 1 night, comfortable with usual simple hotel décor. The hotel was attractive inside with a nice bar area and restaurant. We had dinner out to experience Edinburgh but also skipped the hotel breakfast as this was extra. There is a nice café just around the corner called Café Noir which did a lovely sourdough bacon butty!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Average place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for wifi unless you become a Hilton honours member. Also the power sockets are too far from the bed.

    Close to the tram line. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Definitely not value for money and would not recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too small, everytime I got out of bed I banged my leg off the radiator! There was no air con in the room, which on a very hot day.. meant the room was hot as the window could only open a couple of inches. The signal and WiFi in the room was poor as well as the TV because only about 2 channels worked! and staff did not explain anything to us. Definitely not value for money when you’re paying £240 for one night!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    nothing: 2 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room was nothing like the ones advertised on the booking.com The room hasn’t been touched probably from the 60ies, carpet was dirty and old, décor was old, the bathroom was so old they had 2 taps (one for the hot water one for the cold water, what a joke!), furniture was chipped, mattress had a hole in the middle and there was a lot of dust everywhere. very dark room, too. lights in bathroom were broken, they replaced them and left the old ones on the sink. Glasses with lipstick on (not mine) that weren’t replaced for 2 days. I honestly booked because I trusted the name Hilton and I checked the pictures on booking.com where the rooms seemed modern but that’s not a Hilton! its barely a 2 stars hotel. I booked the hotel as birthday gift and for a romantic weekend and I was really ashamed when I saw the room. Customer service was superb as the receptionist offered a 50% discount and she also tried to offer complimentary breakfast and a bottle of wine (which we didn’t accept). She couldn’t offer a better room as the hotel was fully booked. So I would say the customer service was excellent and in line with the Hilton but the room was definitely not. I understand that there is a part of the hotel that has been fully renovated. (Possibly the pictures on booking.com). But if you don’t get these rooms stay away from this hotel as the IBIS will be better. I wished I checked Tripadvisor but again I went for the name Hilton. however, booking.com should check the pictures before posting these on the website.

    nothing: 2 star hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Hilton Grosvenor
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn’t work. The room wasn’t cleaned properly on our second day - only one towel changed, bed wasn’t changed or made properly, a glass was left on the floor. Staff were rude when we brought this to their attention.

    Walking distance to city centre. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Will not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was awful! Cleanliness of the room was very poor, stains on the carpet and a lot of dust under the bed. Expected more from a 4* hotel!

    The hotel location was very good from the airport and to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    Really bad hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bedroom, double bed pushed against a wall 2 people could not stand side by side and turn around. Had yo climb over bed to get in.

    Breakfast was good as were the staff who were really friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything from the wide choice of breakfast to the cleanliness everywhere. The bar staff were always extremely polite and very informative on the choice of drinks. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Our experience with the restaurant was more than redeemed by the excellent bar staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that we were not able to access the restaurant on our first night . We also found the staff at breakfast time on the Saturday morning were very dower and not very welcoming, we had to ask for our tea three times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Room was very small.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Double Bed was up against one wall. Bed was very worn out, needed replacing. Could not switch off the bathroom light. Overlooked the roof of the kitchens. Overall, room was very poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good location waiting on staff helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt told about breakfast arrangements on arrival , floorboards we're very creaky heard next door getting up all night .

    Very good location waiting on staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Bathrooms a little dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms a little dated. Asked for a little surprise in the room for my wife's birthday and only got a pack of sweets. Have stayed elsewhere and got cake, chocolates or wine before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. Would return immediately.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing missing was a fridge, particularly as the temperatures were soaring during my stay.

    Excellent location directly next to Haymarket train station. Rooms were lovely and spacious with a lovelt townhouse vibe. Staff were always available but kept out of the way, and all the facilities required were present in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Very friendly and helpful stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful stuff.Hotel it was a BIG disappointment !!!Wallpaper peeling off the ceiling paint hanging above your head in the bathroom.Needs a complete refurb.Dirty carpets.Dreadful value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    Way too expensive and not a quality of Hilton at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start! As a Hilton, you expect basic things. This room didn’t have even basic bathroom supplies like shower gel, tooth brushes etc. nothing. It was boiling hot in the room. No cooling facilities The tv was such poor quality. When we complained they said unfortunately none of their tv sites had been upgraded in 10 years. Epic fail.

    We didn’t like anything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room, dirty open areas, for 2 days I did not get housekeeping and I had to request some help. When they "solved" it no real clean was done. Smelly carpets and very bad bed quality. I had a very early check out and I requested a breakfast but they did not provide any help. In other Hilton hotels I was provided breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location, room could do with a re-jig
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foot of bed was very close to wall so didn’t allow much room to get around. Imagine our room was very close to a cleaners store cupboard as we were woken up by them talking from about 6:30am

    Great location from Haymarket train station and all the main attractions in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was outstanding and took the time to orient you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of a walk from the Royal Mile.

    The staff was outstanding and took the time to orient you to Edinburgh. Also, they handled any issue on the spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing Hilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated the bed was a wooden rack with a mattress & the level of cleanliness was dreadful stains on the carpet dirty toilet & a dusty tea tray

    It's location and was within walking distance of the attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.4
    Made a complaint to the Hilton after being asked to rate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made a complaint to the Hilton after being asked to rate them and somebody replied saying sorry you didn’t enjoy. This is not good enough as I took my mum with us for a break who is almost 83 years old. They didn’t try to compensate us in any way so therefore will not ever use this hotel again anywhere!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The staff were so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing we really enjoyed our stay and would like to return.

    The staff were so friendly. The bedroom was lovely and cosy. The food at breakfast was excellent they even served haggis. The location was perfect only 10 mins walk from Princes street. All of the attractions were within walking distance. Bar was lovely and cosy loved my Bombay Sapphires at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    avoid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    incompetent migrant staff, who do not speak English, do not understand a simple request and always giving the same "I understand" answer, they work according to pre-described policies, no questions will be solved if you ask anything specifically, they repeat the same "according to our policy..." this is not what someone expects from a 4 star Hilton in Europe! this mentality is not even acceptable in Africa for 1/10th of the budget. no air condition in the room, the whole stay was avery big disappointment.

    I very much liked when I finally left the property so I could forget about them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Despite the slight unpleasantness re the bill for my breakfast, I enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite not pre-booking breakfast, I decided to have it anyway, which of course is an Additional cost. The waiter presented me with the bill for my breakfast and went to great lengths to explain that I would have to pay it separately and this was all before I had actually taken breakfast! It made me feel that he thought I was going to leave without paying my additional bill!

    Check-in, offered a glass of whisky and received a room upgrade. What’s not to like!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t stay Again. Spoiled a special birthday. Not recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated. Not very clean. Tv wouldn’t go on but was early so didn’t contact reception. Coffee granules on skirting board n carpet. Mattress protectors were very dirty, stained & had a lot of hairs on them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    There's nothing I could find fault with in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing I could find fault with in this hotel. Everything was spot on. The room was small, but I know that when I booked. It was perfect for o solo traveller for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Very nice size room and amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet didn’t flush very well , so being a new couple it made things awkward. The plug areas were odd When we first arrived I found a water bottle under the bed and it didn’t seem like they vacuumed .

    Very nice size room and amazing location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in pleasant surroundings - ideally located for railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I wasnt happy with was the £5.00 extra charge for room service - I have never been requested to pay this before and was a little shocked to be asked

    The receptionists were very helpful - loved my complimentary glass of whiskey - the welcome texts were a great idea as provided the opportunity for me to say how I wasnt happy with my room - this was immediately changed for a much nicer one - all the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Will come back again definately
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed needs serious attention as creaks badly and suspect new mattress needed. Hair from previous customer on floor in clump not good.

    Chef really chirpy, made my morning and then remembered me at lunch excellent! . Location excellent, lovely building and venue for workshop. Room excellent sockets and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    I was in the shower and stepted out of the bath and slipped .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a hand rail for coming out of the bath ...

    I was in the shower and stepted out of the bath and slipped ...bath was to high for me ..had a bad fall ..? Hurt my hip all black and blue very painful..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Luxurious relaxing break away. Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is fresh and tasty. Chefs eager to please. I asked for poached eggs which the chef was happy to do and were delicious. The room was spacious and very clean. Beds very comfortable. Had a great nights sleep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was great near the tram line and bus line and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small for the price, and it was located on the other side of the road from the main hotel.

    Location was great near the tram line and bus line and a short walk from the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, old-fashioned room. Just about ok. Not Hilton standard at all.

    Nothing. Especially the fact that I had to lug my case up and down flights of stairs. I have M.E. and found it a real struggle.The receptionist was the rudest person I have ever met (Samira?) To be fair, the reception desk was grossly understaffed, which is the fault of management, but she couldn't have been ruder.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel very friendly staff, short walk to centre. Hotel room really nice very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    I liked the building that the hotel was situated and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a foist smell when we entered and a previous customer had left their chocolate in the room which had not been removed. Room was basic for what we paid- I have stayed in the Hilton before in Newcastle and Manchester and their rooms were a lot more modern/plush in comparison.

    I liked the building that the hotel was situated and staff on Reception were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great stay , would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to stay in the other part of the hotel accros the street .

    The breakfast was fantastic , especially the fresh fried eggs from the chef 🍳 Great selection when you have a busy day ahead .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    It was very central for us and very easy to get tram from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that for the price (non refundable) we paid over 250 pounds for 2 nights, it was very poor, carpet was stained the decor dated, and no breakfast was included. Extremely overpriced for what we got.

    It was very central for us and very easy to get tram from airport to hotel, it was a 5 minute walk away!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    Go and stay at the Marriott
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff cannot speak English. The shower leaked the toilet would not flush properly. The room looked into a wall. The reception staff are a bismal.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed and felt we wasted our money. Sorry to write such a bad review but you have asked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took my mum of 82 years old with us, there was no proper hand rail for her to get up and down the steps, she tripped a couple of times and almost fell. She hurt herself on one of the occasions. I expected the hotel to be more modern and up to date. The bed was just ok and the bathroom had mould around the bath handle. Some of the towels were a grey colour and never smelt fresh, on one occasion We were left one bath and hand towel instead of two. the furniture was blistered with age. I have been to the Hilton in Belfast on several occasions and it was a much superior establishment than this. The breakfast was cold and tasteless and my mother had to ask for hot tea as it was cold. The sausages looked steamed instead of fried as they were all half cooked. On. The first night we thought we would eat at the hotel as we were quite tired but we had to go to an Indian restaurant on the corner as the menu we thought had a very poor selection. We did not enjoy our stay at the Hilton Grosvenor and definitely wouldn’t go back there.

    Staff in the restaurant was pleasant enough even though food was bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was nice and the rooms really spacious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is not in the city centre so you have to catch a bus every single time u want to leave it! But the bus stop is very close.

    The hotel was nice and the rooms really spacious! The staff were welcoming and friendly. They answered our every question and we had a lot!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Disgraceful double room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 nights & it cost nearly £300 .. Our double bed was located against a wall & it caused us loads of problems overnight being in our 50's .. Absolutely disgraceful!!

    Clean & tidy .. good location & the staff were very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is quite nice but too expensive for the quality of the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was really bad, I never eat eggs that was so tasteless. And for the price of the breakfast I found it really expensive. The furniture on the room was a bit degraded, the bathroom was quite in old style, with hot and cold water separated for the sink, the toilet seat not properly fix to the toilet. So it didn't reflect at all the modern pictures they put which are probably for the most expensive bedrooms but not for the normal/cheap ones.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable with great breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Compact Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the compact room if I had to say a negative it would be that the bathroom was cold

    Everything was fantastic, the breakfast was lovely and the chef out front was very helpful and friendly with all the guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable family stay at the Hilton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'double bed' in the double room was actually two singles put together so had a gap in the middle. This also meant the double duvet was too small for the bed.

    All the staff we spoke to were very polite and helpful, taking the time to answer any questions. We appreciated a lot being able to check into our rooms early on an extremely wet day.The twin room had two double beds and was a very good size. The breakfast was excellent and offered a good selection to choose from. Although the hotel is a little way out of city centre the regular public transport made it accessible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    A comfortable hotel with helpful staff and just a short walk from the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could occasionally hear other guests talking in the corridors/next door however we spent most of our time in the city so it was only a minor setback at night/morning. Not much choice on TV and WiFi in the room was an extra price, the food and drink menu was also too expensive.

    Spacious room and good bathroom facilities. Kettle, iron and ironing board came in handy. Well-sized wardrobe and a large bed. The staff were helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay highly recommended!!! Great location for city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly staff who couldn’t do enough for you. Excellent food and the rooms are lovely and big. They provided a complimentary bottle of wine and birthday card for my dad who turned 60 during their stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: