Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4 stars

1-9 Grosvenor Terrace, Great Western Road, North West, Glasgow, G12 0TA, United Kingdom

#42 of 76 hotels in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1127 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. No free upgrade of room even though it was availabe yet we recently stayed i hilton london victoria & were given free upgrade. Breakfast choices poor- no muesli.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food offered during the event we attended (a graduation ball) was rather unimpressive. The chicken was a little dry and the pudding was burnt. We never tried the proper a la carte, though. Finally, a lamp in the room sizzled in a troublesome way, but that could have been bad luck.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Good location. Clean room. The ball room used for the event we attended was spacious enough and with easy access to a bar area. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you use the parking, you have to walk down a ramp, go down a floor in an elevator, then cross a small side street - so if you have a lot of luggage I would suggest dropping off your luggage first, then parking the car so that you don't have to carry it all too far.

    Perfect location if you want to visit the West End, walking distance to the restaurants and pubs of Ashton Lane and many other attractions. The breakfast was good with many choices, but best to get there early to make sure you don't miss out (they had run out of mushrooms when we got there at 10am). Very comfy pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although discounts are sometimes available, this is an expensive hotel.

    Comfortable, clean and a wide choice for breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty cup with used disposable coasters, not good! Bathroom extractor fan not working, very stuffy but good if you like a steam!

    Comfy bed with excellent pillows, well presented rooms with everything needed. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    whole corridor was being painted so room was full of paint fumes, which did not disappear my whole 3 day stay. No aircon was disappointing, yes I was given an extra plug in fan but with the window only opening 5cm's there was no airflow so unbelievably stuffy in the room...along with the paint fumes made for a very uncomfortable stay. Was really disappointed with the amount paid overall.

    location was good, staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Bovine restaurant did not have sirloin steaks. Should be standard for a steak restaurant. Having said that the default choice was good as was the rest of the dinner. 2) room was not cleaned & we were out from 10 am to 2:30 pm. Room serve did knock at 4 pm but that was not convenient to me.

    Location was hood

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attention to detail/room preparation. Disappointingly, there were some broken fixtures in the bathroom on arrival - unacceptable given the price of staying here.

    Excellent location, helpful & friendly staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty sock left in room from previous guest. Cleanliness ok, but superficial in bedroom

    Very comfortable, good quality beds. Friendly staff, Great location. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked in for two night and received breakfast each morning, whilst the first breakfast we didn't have any complaints about, the second morning, both myself and another guest politely asked for more scrambled eggs and mushrooms, we were met with a very rude answer from the gentleman serving the food, it was apparent he was on his own and trying his utmost to get the food out, but his manners were dreadful, and when I eventually sat down, he then came down to hand a bowl of porridge to another diner and practically threw the bowl down and sternly said "porridge", this did not go unnoticed by other diners who all agreed this was not the behaviour you would expect from staff working in this environment. I did complaint to the reception who handled it very well and took off the cost of our second breakfast from our bill. As much as this is a negative response to our stay the overall stay was good.

    comfortable bed, clean room, centrally located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like breakfast at all (not a 4 star breakfast, juice not fresh, old fruits & fatty foods), the view from our room was terrible (all ventilators on a roof in front of our face), the furniture was very old-fashioned, our shower was broken and not clean (a really old and disgusting bath mat) and after somebody came to fix our shower, our bath room was even more dirty (all gravel in our bath tub, which nobody removed). The next day somebody had been in our room, without our permission, to change our safe-number (which we have never requested, our safe worked perfectly fine). Nothing was gone, but that's when we officially complained: we didn't feel comfortable and safe in this hotel because of this.

    Beautiful architecture of the building, great location (West End, the best), the bed was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very attentive or interested. Bathrooms let the rooms down. Iron in room not working properly. Arrived to find all drawers in room lying open and contents messed up. Requests for robes in room not done....when they arrived there was no ties on robes.(missing) Beds not comfy at all. Everything seemed like a half hearted effort by staff.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small so we had to move to a family room which is much bigger but double the cost!

    The location is great, just across the road from the Botanical garden, on Byers road the hub of the West End of Glasgow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean, dirt in corners, glasses had toothpaste on them. Room was like a corridor and small window didn’t let much air in and no air con. No fridge. We expected much more for the price paid. Comparable London hotels are far better.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in need of an update. A bar fridge would have been handy too.

    The location was excellent; very close to some great restaurants, tourist attractions and the subway. The staff at this hotel were exceptional and made us feel very welcome. A special shout out to Robert (a reception staff member) who was outstanding in every respect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe space cramped as an additional heater and fan along with iron and ironing board was stored there. Extractor fan in bathroom was not very effective - bathroom mirror took ages for the steam to clear. Some breakfast options not available.

    Location fantastic for our visit and friendliness and helpfulness of staff was second to none. Bed really comfy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed to attend wedding held Oran Mor and being 50m away the hotel was perfect. We could not fault the accommodation or the service. Service desk were very helpful and our short stay added to a wonderful occasion. Room was clean, bed comfortable and noise levels acceptable for it being city centre location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little ! A fine hotel in the city we had no problems although we were out all day and it was just a base for us

    Hotel very pleasant. Entrance is st the back of the hotel and as a result some visitors may never see the beautiful hotel they are staying in from the front! Room was fine. Bathroom very small but adequate . Breakfast was also very good although the dining room is dark with a lack of snu fresh air going thru it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a paid £169 for one night in a deluxe double. If that was deluxe I wouldn't like to imagine the standard double as there was nothing deluxe about the room. The cleanliness was also remarkably poor when we checked in at 4pm the glasses were filthy the tea tray and spoon had not been cleaned certainly tried to reuse the spoon. There was spillage down the wall/ skirting boards. A pubic hair on the basin and dirty windowsills. The door where a fridge used to be was hanging off. To highlight that point there are no fridges in the room

    The Gin bar in the hotel was great, great atmosphere great drinks. The staff were nice and I like the text communication that are used to liaise with staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we would get a text when the room was ready and we didn't.

    We have stayed here a few times and always enjoy all aspects of the hotel. Personal taste....I would like a firmer pillow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed - very hard mattress. My room overlooked the Botanical gardens, which is a lovely sight but the road in front is quite noisy. Doesn't bother me, but might annoy some. I'm sure you could ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if required.

    Good sized room in a great location. The building itself is stunning, it is situated at the top of Byres Road, with great cafes, restaurants, pubs and shops nearby. There is a subway station about 300m away, which on the outer ring gets you into the city centre in minutes. I would recommend staying in the west end over the centre. Its more friendly with more to do in the evening. The Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Loved my short stay in Glasgow, will be returning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little over priced for what you get. At almost £200 for an overnight stay I’d expect complimentary water in the room, not having to pay £4 per bottle.

    Great location in the west end. Close to a number of different eateries and pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes at all

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good location in a vibrant area. Car parking at a very reasonable price for 24 hours. Also close to Subway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the room there was no mini fridge and the quality of the hairdryer was poor

    The bed was comfy and the rooms were extremely clean and staff were extra helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very disappointing. Fruit select was very poor, bread was cheap and nasty, and very few healthy options on offer. I ordered the porridge, which was meant to be made to order, but came straight from a pan and resembled something you'd get at school dinners - inedible. If I were to stay again and do so on room only basis.

    Nice room, clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like.

    The hotel is in a great location at one end of Byres Rd. The hotel staff were all very friendly and the room was very spacious and comfortable-absolutely no complaints. The breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice to suit all tastes. Hotel parking is limited but we had no problem getting a space at the top of the Waitrose car park (explained on the hotel website). Others might struggle during peak seasons but for us in mid-April, it was fine. The subway/underground is only a couple of minutes away and you have the lovely bars and restaurants of Byres Rd on your doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Overall there was nothing to dislike EXCEPT we had cocktails in the bar which did not meet our expectations,the were what one would expect going to a “local pub” not to a prestigious hotel like the Hilton

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed on the first floor facing the botanic garden/ main road. Noise from traffic and occasional sirens from emergency services could be heard. I found it acceptable. Anyway, could not expect complete quietness in a city like Glasgow.

    Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Guest Room - Disability Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good but we didn’t stay the night

    We couldn’t stay the night because of an emergency at home. But we where looking forward to the stay 🙂

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and decor comfortable but getting tired and worn. Bathroom not what I would have expected from Hilton. Bottom of bathroom door chipped and delaminating. Floor behind door not properly cleaned. Would have expected more Toileteries to be left/available.

    Reasonable location in West End adjacent to Botanic Gardens and walking distance into City. Front Desk service friendly and efficient. Particularly in booking Taxi’s very prompt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast rotten. All staff polite enough but not pro active with information despite prompts re parking requirements and breakfast set up

    Room lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View Room window overlooking car park & Waitrose loading bay & refuse bins.Woken several time by noise from these areas during the early hours of the morning. When checking out there was no inquiry from reception as to how our stay was.

    Room clean,nice breakfast,friendly restraunt staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very comfortable, but suffered noise from the road junction just outside of my window...

    Fantastic bar (Oran Mor) just across the road from the hotel !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mentioned in one of the texts that my room was beside a service elevator which was noisy. I didn’t get a reply.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. They even sent me texts to enquire if everything was ok with my visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had been put in probably the noisiest room in the hotel overlooking the crossroads of Byres Road and the Great Western Road with an night club venue that went on to 2.30 am. On speaking to staff in the morning there was littler or no concern that I had not been able to get to sleep until 3. Am. Will have to re-think about future bookings and advising others if there is little or no concern about customers treatment.

    I was upgraded to a deluxe room as guest of the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhelpful and rude receptionist on check out who dismissed all of my complaints rather than try to help me. Bed was also very uncomfortable and there was a lot of noise/maintenance going on that we weren’t informed about. Quite disappointed overall.

    Location of the hotel is fabulous and decor around reception is excellent as well. The room was also quite nice as far as decor and space go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was very unpleasant on arrival. We had arranged previously that were large group with late arrival however we were told with very abrupt manner that everything was shut and no services available on arrival. Finally rectified we were told had been short staff and they didn’t know it was agreed- not really not good service at all. Following this allowed to use lounge area however the experience of arrival had put a dampener on everyone hanging about with nowhere to go. In addition to this a huge dog in room next door barking at periods through the night- I am allergic and my daughter has visual impairment and is petrified and this became an uncomfortable experience for us all. I was hugely disappointed in the hotel and it was certainly not good value for money and succeeds purely due to its location, even though from a room overlooking the car park you wouldn’t know it and outside our room door was messy storage/ staff base with door lying open whole time with service trolley etc. I won’t be opting to stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for the hotel in full more than two months in advance then they took the payment again from my card durin* my stay so I then had to wait for them to refund it back into my bank account . This should not be allowed to happen. I was very unhappy as it was a lot of money. They said they had a system outage !!!!!!!

    Close to amenities. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "beGIN" bar was horrible. Bad service, snooty bar staff. Subpar food that was barely warm and not edible. I ended up just eating my fries. The hotel room has these great traditional floor to ceiling windows but they are not insulated or double pane so all day and night long we had to listen to the traffic on the busy road about 100 feet from the windows. Countless sirens throughout the night. Also the room doors close automatically with a slam so as folks were coming and going from their rooms, there was a frequent barrage of slamming doors.

    Nice included breakfast. Staff was wonderful and attentive. Great lobby for sitting and relaxing outside of room. Beautiful rooms, well maintained. Modern decor with a nod to tradition. Great location with easy access to grocery, shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very noisy with traffic and vacuming and moving furniture above the room before 8am both mornings we stayed. Maid also entered the room while we were still trying to sleep on the morning of our departure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £3.95 for water in room. Could make this complimentary or use smaller, lower cost bottles.

    Text message asking if the room was satisfactory from hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was cold with the only radiator being covered by a long curtain. No extra pillows, duvet provided in the wardrobes. The shower room did not appear to be heated at all. Pipes ran under the bed and were noisy at times.

    The staff were superb, especially Robert - friendly, informative and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One half of the double bed had a very worn mattress and flattened almost entirely when I lay on it. Other side was ok.

    Great breakfast choice. Fresh and hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality bathroom, shower, towels and toiletries. Warned about street noise which wasn't too bad but all internal doors slammed and my husband could not sleep. Worst Hilton I've stayed in.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Charges. No mention on parking charges on web page If known this I would have stayed in city centre hotel where not as expensive. And ardvertise NO parking and links to NCP car parks. Cost £21 for parking Radidin blu cost for night £109

    Position of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As an international business traveler there was nothing in the hotel I liked - Excellence in customer efficiency can be replaced with quaint, homely and friendly but this was none and didn't try to be.

    Over priced - slightly above B&B standards - The building and furnishings are old and tired. unbelievably there was no safe in the room. Twice now the reservation staff could not identify my booking through Booking.com and twice had to get both to talk to each other --- I am looking for a new location in Glasgow after this last visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wasn't anywhere near the quality expected from a hotel of this standard. A lot of the water which was supposed to go to the shower head leaked from the tap. The breakfast was very nice but the buffet was not kept stocked no haggis, no scrambled eggs and only a couple of sausages despite the restaurant being relatively busy.

    The room (Double King) was excellent and the beds were very comfortable. Hotel was immaculate and the bar beGIN was brilliant. The staff in the bar were also very nice and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room faces onto Great Western road which is busy. Could with double/triple glazing for the traffic noise. Would ask for a quieter room next time Breakfast was OK

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £10 per day for parking which we were unaware of, although I did ask when booking.

    Comfy bed & good amenities. Quite hot in the room but probably for the best as weather was freezing in Glasgow. Staff helpful & cheerful. Breakfast varied & tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking terrible! No where near enough parking spaces to serve the hotel. The lack of car parking spaces Provided by the hotel and also the availability of spaces within the surrounding area should be clearly highlighted! Drove around for half an hour and ended up parking my car on a street well away from the hotel. Service at breakfast very poor, staff running around like headless chickens. Breakfast limited.

    Coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting a bit dim. Not warned to validate car park ticket prior to leaving. Needed sewing kit and a bit slow bringing it up to room. No muesli at breakfast just granola.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BeGIN bar (attached to hotel) was very poor and not value for money. Had no mint or basil and so half the cocktails were off the menu. Ordered a prosecco and gin cocktail which took an age to prepare and when it arrived it just tasted like prosecco. 2/5

    Comfortable room with lots of space. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered breakfast to the room twice, first they got the order wrong and sent 2x one breakfast order (rather than the second different order we requested) second time they didn't colllect the orders so we got nothing.

    Lovely building in great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer experience/journey is an area of opportunity. One feels that they are there for a night or two and then leaving. A bit of small customer touches will make a big difference.

    Excellent location. On Byres street and close to ashton street. Good and safe area. Great hotel team. Makes u feel home. Simple and straight to the point and helpful. Rooms are great and clean. Good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit past its sell-by date, the brown colour of the rooms could be updated and the atmosphere made more attractive this way. The air in the room was very hot and stuffy which made me feel bunged up and quite ill.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with tourist information. The breakfast time was a real pleasure with attentive and welcoming staff and good food. The hotel was very well situated for exploring the city and near public transport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar or fridge in room. First time we've come across this in a Hilton Hotel. The bathroom definitely needed refurbished.

    The buffet breakfast overall was good, but if you chose to eat later in serving then food was not particularly warm and breakfast disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was comfortable enough but pillows were far too soft and you could not supply firmer ones also as the room was on the 1st floor it was ok for 3 nights but on last night very loud music kept us awake most of the night and we were not warned that it was happening.When we complained the manager supplied us with ear plugs and did comment that we should never have been put in that room in the first place.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bathroom hopeless for applying makeup - one of those neat makeup mirrors would have been fab.

    Very comfortable bed and the breakfast was excellent - especially the chefs granola. The chef cooked my poached eggs perfectly and served them to me at my table - really I loved it all !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed too firm but better after requested extra duvet on top of mattress.

    Good breakfast. Excellent location. Car Parking above Waitrose pedestrian access via lift in shop entrance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom doors on the first floor going into the rooms were chipped and scratched it let the hotel down and made me wonder what the room was like behind the door.But when i opened the door the room was great and it had the most amazing big comfy bed.

    Staff were excellent loved getting a text at night from the staff great bars and food at restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncleared snow at main entrance:room was cool on arrival:over-bath shower is just so last year: lobby was chilly

    Location was good:breakfast was good: room was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive. Small double bed only but it was comfortable. The heater sits under the curtain in an alcove, and as such, it does not heat the room. We were freezing all night and when asked I was told that there was a spare heater in the wardrobe. We wanted ice and had to queue at the bar for 20 minutes to get ice.

    Well appointed room, modern and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We left our luggage with the concierge just for a couple of hours.When we got back ,my sons expensive new phone( Samsung 8) which was inside his laptop case was broken( screen was smashed) .The manager noted down our complaints,took pictures ,but its been a month now and we dont have a reply or update on the compensation.We are very dissapointed .

    Staff very friendly and cooperative

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely and the chef friendly and accommodating, however, my daughter and I were sat at a table in front of a curtain in what was a very dark area when there were clearly other, brighter tables available.

    Very comfy! Enjoyed the view! Excellent location. Good pubs with good food on the doorstep; Oran Mor and Curlers Rest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They really messed up charging us, they charged us (automatically, not to our knowledge) when we arrived and then again when we checked out, lucky we noticed really. Also, it's one of the most expensive hotels in Glasgow and yet when you get in your room, there's a bottle of water on the table I would expect to be complimentary and it was £4! on top of that, there were bits falling off of the wall in what I would expect to be a pretty good standard of room for the price. However, staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful, couldn't fault them at all. Location is pretty amazing as well. Just not worth the money for me, loads of Air BnB's in that area for a lot less money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Danish pastries hard. Cooked breakfast look warm. Room cold had to use smallheater. Shower temp not consistent. Reception area freezing.

    Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I use this hotel because they allow pets. However, I do think that £35 extra is quite expensive and some of this should be refunded if the room is inspected and found to be free from any damages.

    The location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness - dirty glasses & cups. Foreign staff were lovely but badly needed guidance/training. Noise from a wedding on Sat pm was off - putting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable , situated in the heart of the West End with a wide choice of eating and drinking venues close by. Multi-story car park next door at £10:00 / 24 hrs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with additional coffee, milk and biscuits. Height of television could have been adjustable. Would have liked a pillow menu.

    bed really comfy and room at rear of property very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous staff both in the main reception of the hotel and also the beGIN bar. Special mention to Isabel (Front Desk) who took care of all our requirements without a hitch. Highly recommend this place for location in the West End and for the great hospitality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting for girls doing make up is a bit difficult sometimes. Reception was cold.

    The beds were really comfortable and the robes in the room were a lovely touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been warmer.

    Very comfortable room. Good choice for breakfast although food not very hot at 9am. All staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small for price & the ‘view’ over the Botanical Gardens was very limited.

    Very close to the Oran Mor for our concerts & also the delightful Ashton Lane with The Unbiqutous (?) Chip & Beer Kitchen (outstanding food & beer). Would definitely recommend these places but the hotel was nice enough with no wow factor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms lacked any character for such an old hotel and building, felt like a standard business hotel. Rooms /bathrooms were tired and could do with a refresh. Strange noise, like a water pump, could be heard in the room intermittently. Tea/Coffee hidden in a bedside drawer...only found it by accident when we were leaving! No control over heat or cooling in the room (no AC), so was very warm.

    Location is perfect right on Byres Road for shops, bars, restaurants and transport and directly opposite the Botanic Gardens. Rooms were quite spacious. BeGin bar was nice, were given complimentary drinks vouchers at check-in. Staff had helpfully put luggage in our room for when we arrived back as it was not available at check-in.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: