Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Newbury North 4 stars

M4 Junction 13, Oxford Road, Newbury, RG20 8XY, United Kingdom

#11 of 12 hotels in Newbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 656 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    The location perfect for an overnight stay after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific to complain about. It is a convenient stop over place but would not necessarily choose it for any other reason

    The location perfect for an overnight stay after disembarking from ferry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Very nice rooms, all the facilities you need for a pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in the room was horrendous, not in terms of uncomfortable but it was so creaky we did not sleep well (246). I think it's cheeky that they charge £10pp for pre-booked breakfast but then when we decided the next day we wanted it again it was £12!? You have to pay for parking too. The breakfast was extremely good but the breakfast area was really messy and tables were left and not cleaned for an hour.

    Very nice rooms, all the facilities you need for a pleasant stay. Very good buffet breakfast available, cleanliness level good. A good location for us for a local wedding. Good in room facilities, TV, bathroom toiletries, iron/board and hair dryer for example. Noise factor was good, didn't really hear much noise from corridors or surrounding rooms. Maid service very good in rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    stay was good apart from dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    whilst eating dinner other diners thought it was acceptable to come and sit on our dinner table whilst we were still eating as the restaurant was full. i thought this was a disgrace. i could have caused a big scene in the hotel but arose anove thd situation n finesed my dinere without rushing and walked away

    staff were very friendly and made us feel like home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Great service at front desk leonora and breakfast and of...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't available for 2 nights and needed a charger head which hotels should all keep in case guys like me lose their charger.

    Great service at front desk leonora and breakfast and of course thee best doubletree warm cookies

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff were wonderful, breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very hard and air conditioning did not work well at night. No lift available and you had to pay for parking.

    Staff were wonderful, breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    More like a travelodge - decor tired - bed poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool not open on Sunday when we arrived or at all that day - poor service at breakfast - hot food ran out for 20 mins - I don't like paying for parking when I stay overnight in a hotel in the middle of nowhere. Price of drinks and food are very high. Hotel needs makeover - broken floor tiles in reception is this Hilton?

    Nothing much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel, very clean. Helpful staff. Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very annoying to have to pay £5 for parking. This is a hotel at a motorway services in the middle of nowhere. People are only here if they’re using the hotel. To be honest, if you need the extra £5 that much I’d rather it was just added to the price of the room.

    The breakfast was great, loved the potato scones and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    The room didn't feel warm and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't feel warm and welcoming! Upon checking out the menu found prices a little on the high side £15.00 for fish and chips and room service cost's, having stayed at other hotel's in the group had hoped for better

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Uncomfortable nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, bathroom fan ran all night long even with out light on, breakfast at £10 per head was not with the money plus a £5 parking charge 😟

    Close to my reason for visiting area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Tv with subtitles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant Tv Things weren't been clear all afternoon in the garden on the table Swimming were closed due to maintenance and my girls were sad

    Sausage and family room with two room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.5
    Good hotel with spa conveniently close to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in procedures were a little long winded and confusing. Parking fee was unexpected.

    Lovely big room, great breakfast, lovely friendly staff. Great spa. Convenient for motorway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable but expensive for one person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The additional £5 to park on-site was not good. Little alternative for those of us travelling through.

    Room was well prepared and suitable. After a cold wet day room was welcoming. Staff waived the parking charge - thank you! Food in restaurant was good quality and well presented albeit a little pricey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable but short of the standard expected of Hilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired (Ripped wallpaper, mould on bathroom ceiling). Extra charges for parking. No biscuit with tea making facility. Not my impression of the good name that Hilton is synonymous with.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Could have been a bit better but met our needs for a wkend away for friends wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service was very iffy throughout the stay. One example - it took 45mins for cocktails and basic bar snacks (there was maximum 8 people in the bar area at the time) I think there was a staff shortage so it was very limited as to when we could use the pool / gym facilities.

    Clean, tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    An ok stay. - with hindsight would choose another hotel in newbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really annoyed that had to pay car park charge of £5.00 per day. Didn’t like warm cookie given on arrival - much rather have free car parking!!! Also no bottled water in room - evidently it’s only given in deluxe room. Also Little noisy from motorway traffic. Didn’t think food in restaurant at night was very good - I had chicken Caesar salad - outside lettuce served with brown edges plus over cooked dried piece of chicken. My mums tenderloin of pork also very tough. Would not recommend.

    breakfast choice was very good Beds very comfy Staff in restaurant very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    It was a treat ,very comfortable, shame about the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bath too small and took ages to fill ,only one shampoo, bubble bath ,two conditioners? good job we bought our own.

    Breakfast was very satisfying, treats in room ,bonus ☺

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Staff were great, especially the young lady on Reception did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking !

    Staff were great, especially the young lady on Reception did not get her name, but Hotel is in a good location to the M4, it’s clean, tidy and comfortable and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Really comfortable and relaxing hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacked a lift. Had I been staying longer with a bigger suitcase this would have been an issue.

    Really lovely swimming pool and facilities. The bar area was really well decorated and comfortable. Staff were very polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Both receptionists on checking in and out were lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the bar/restaurant area were terrible. We arrived on the Friday and decided to have a drink and a bite to eat in the bar area I ordered a drink that took 20mins to arrive, the breakfast on the both mornings we stayed were not nice at all, the table weren’t set the staff working in the breakfast area were rude and less than helpful when we asked for cutlery!

    Both receptionists on checking in and out were lovely and extremely helpful. The leisure club facilities were very nice as well. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Would have been a great place if the hot water was working...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in my room (room 123). I didn't discover this until I went for a shower in the morning and nothing came out... It was too late for anyone to fix it as I was checking out. I reported it to reception but all they could do was refund my parking (£5.00) which was disappointing. Plus the beer was flat.

    The breakfast was very good and the bar prices were ok - although a little higher than I'm used to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    A quality hotel with excellent facilities and amazing staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are the stars of this hotel. Excellent facilities and comfortable room but friendly, helpful staff on reception and in the restaurant and fitness centre give it a real edge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Exactly what we needed - convenient, comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow service in the restaurant and had to wait a long time to get a table.

    Loved the reception / lounge / bar area - central fire, courtyard garden. Swimming pool was super - really welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Friendly,helpfully staff , very clean, great pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    guest staying over night at the hotel should not be charged for parking. Free wifi and parking are standard expectations.

    The restaurant had a good choice on the menu, however not enough fish dishes to choose from

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Been before and will go again. Friendly and helpful staff, room recently refurbished. Plenty of parking for a fee of £5 a night. Easy check in. restaurant available if wanted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    PARKING EXTRA!!!!!!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always annoys me when you are charged extra for parking. It should be part of rate for guests. Just exploitation basically. Sadly this hotel has now implemented this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Disappointed with the service as I know the service is normally excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my sixth time stopping at this hotel I was disappointed with the standard of service of some of the staff who clearly were either an untrained or not 100% sure of their duties and responsibilities. As the treat I ordered breakfast in bed which arrived cold and expensive

    A friendly atmosphere in the bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Thank staff for making stay comfortable. Andrada commended for competence, skills n professionalism
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was extra firm, my wife has a bad back and slept on the sofa, however, I found no problems with the bed. The food was very good and a convenience. We would like to thank all the staff for their caring and professionalism. Especially noteworthy, and a person to be commended, Ms. Andrada for helping with our stay. Her compassion with dealing with me was very much appreciative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Will return again and again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When sitting in the lounge/bar area of an evening there was a very cold draught when new clients and health suite members came in through the double entry doors Some screening in front of these in the hotel would make it much more comfortable.

    Excellent service from staff at reception and all other staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt damp & musty The car park fee of £5 hotel is not locatief in a town or city so why the charge for paying guests The oool was extremely cold also location of the pool is not ideal I would have loved to enjoy my drink in the bar but some of the guests were had a good few drinks and were loud as there is no music to drown their conversation it was impossible to sit relax and chat . I did see others guests approach staff and nothing was done so they also left the bar .

    The bed was comfortable the only postitive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Ok for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in need of upgrading, same furniture in lounge area as on previous visits now showing signs of ware. Breakfast nowhere near as good as previous stays. Charge for car parking still in place should be added to room rate.

    Nice big room with settee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    The friendleness of the staff make it an easy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas rather tired. Loose tap and toilet seat in one room and both rooms had cracked wash hand basins. These were reported on check-out

    Staff are tremendous. Polite and extremely helpful. Extensive Buffet breakfast choice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.0
    A big let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly everything

    For a Hilton Group Hotel this was poor. It needs refurbishment especially in the room which was cramped with little room to move when the bed settee was used. The beds were very poor. The main bed mattress was like lying on a piece of wood and the bed settee mattress was a mixture of wood and metal. We had to get a spare duvet to lay on top to give our son some comfort. The staff were fine, breakfast was ok. No Orange juice, scrambled egg was a runny mush and eggs to order took nearly 10 minutes after the self serve food was obtained. £2 for a mixer OJ from the bar and £6 for soup on room service, shocking for sub standard accommodation inferior to Premier Inn and TravelLodge by a distance. Having a health centre and pool did not really make up for anything !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing, not Hilton / DoubleTree standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat was broken, no loo roll, room very old and need of a referb, lamp was broken and when I got it to work it buzzed loudly, walls could well have been made out of paper

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed nothing like the hilton we have stayed in many times before
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of the evening receptionist very rude!!! Cleanliness on arrival (had to get house keeping to clean toilet ) Bed for 3rd party not made up on arrival Towels for only 2 people when there was 3 of us Had to ask reception twice for a towel Pool changing rooms disgustingly dirty

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    OK for a budget hotel. Just because it says Doubletree by Hilton, don"t expect Hilton quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drink and food prices

    This hotel used to be a Hilton Hotel proper. It has now been downgraded to Hilton budget range, and it shows. Staff good but very few of them. Had to keep swatting flies that surrounded our table. Not as good as a Premier Inn now, although room prices reflect this. Drinks prices though were 5 star hotel, not the possibly 3 star of this one.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably cold and the thermostat did not work. There was only two towels despite it being a family room of four of us. The bar area was dirty with lots of empty glasses, dirty tables and as a result annoying fruit flies. The door between the corridor and the bar was filthy. Overall, poor attention to detail. On a positive, breakfast was excellent and staff were friendly.

    Location and breakfast. Easy access to the M4 and Heathrow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    2.9
    No idea as I didn't get an opportunity to try them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I traveled to this hotel direct from LHR and a long haul flight only to find my room was unavailable due to a "plumbing problem". Arrangement had been made for me to stay at an alternate (and satisfactory) hotel however - driving in the dark on a rainy night in unfamiliar territory while tired and jet lagged - didn't improve my mood. It took me an hour to find the alternative hotel.

    No idea as I didn't get an opportunity to try them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff were unhelpful and did not recognise an upgrade and extra benefits offered as a wedding anniversary. Room was cold and no heating or solution offered,.

    We liked the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Good but no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a terrible nights sleep the mattress was so lumpy and made a loud noise every time you turned over. I would suggest getting new ones.

    Staff and cleanliness and location to an event we were attending.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing - shame we booked 2 nights, not just 1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not very clean - rubbish from previous guest left in room, desk had not been cleaned, carpet not vacuumed. The carpet along the passageways was not vacuumed during the 2 days were stayed there. I witnessed cleaning staff dry inside of glasses and coffee cups with dirty bath towels which had been left on the floor. There was a wedding reception one night and staff were unable to cope - bar and tables where non wedding guests had to use were not clean and lots of slop from spilt drinks everywhere. Wedding guests were loud and did not respect other guests. For a Hilton property, the standard was low and repairs and renovations were needed.

    The bar food was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    2.5
    Had booked 2 rooms through booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had booked 2 rooms through booking.com had cancelled one room and still had one room booked. Arrived at the hotel only to be told my booking had been cancelled and no rooms available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym needs updating, I was disappointed that the hotel didn't provide free parking.

    Spacious clean room, nice breakfast and liked the pool area with sauna ect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No battery or mains adapter for the bedroom clock and the pillows were too soft.

    The meal in the restaurant was exceptional and reasonably priced. However, the wine prices were prohibitive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    It was very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They knew about this because they are changing the beds

    Bed was very uncomfortable had no sleep complained was given a duvet to lie on ...,!,,Ihad no feed back from my complaint

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    We only stayed one night so I would say it was ok would I stay again no !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable and very hard pillowcases where dirty but they did change them after I phoned to complain

    Breakfast was excellent room was large and on ground floor staff where very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unbelievable prices. A soup and a cheese sandwich was nearly 10 pounds and the bowl of soup was tiny. The conference room was set up so the speaker stood in front of windows. We had to close the curtains meaning that we spent the day without natural light. It should have been set up the other way round. The conference tea and coffee was not refreshed on time. I did not appreciate being marketed to by the venue by email before I had even gotten home.

    It was incredibly expensive and I found the menu very limited.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Ideally located, friendly staff, lovely hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I own a Contract Cleaning business and I am therefore, very particular regarding cleanliness. Whilst overall the room was clean there were areas that needed attending to ie. dusty skirting boards and dusty lamp. However, overall the room was clean, just more attention to detail needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    Friendly but unclean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness and slow service at dinner. Empty bottles and rubbish outside rooms including mine. Bathroom had hairs in it. Not nice

    Easy access and pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Smart, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the bar in the afternoon was a bit poor - friendly but appeared a bit inexperienced.

    Very elegantly decorated and clean and comfortable with a nice little pool and hot tub. Essentially a business hotel at a motorway junction but it's tucked away and felt like a treat. We were there to attend wedding nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Double Tree not Hilton standards or those of similar reputable standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff to serve customers. Continuous queue at bar for both drinks and food ordering for the 1 person serving on a Saturday night. No table service unless main restaraunt that was full !!

    Average price, facilities good and food of good quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good and evening meal very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a wait to be offered a table but that was due to staff shortages.

    Parking was easy. Although near dual carriageway noise was kept at a minimum. Waiting staff were friendly but not obtrusive. Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Room good, breakfast disappointing....
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was adequate but not great. Breakfast on Sunday (around 8:30am) was disappointing - plates for hot food were stone cold, most of the "hot" breakfast items were tepid even before being put onto a cold plate, and the milk provided for cereals was warm!

    Room comfortable and clean, beds excellent. despite having a ground floor room (and the hotel being fully booked) there was little or no noise from adjoining rooms. Staff very pleasant and helpful, no problem with a couple of special requests, and a bar meal on Saturday evening was good if just a little expensive. Ideally located and easy to get to, have used this hotel several years now when attending work events at Newbury Racecourse.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.0
    Friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful bed. So noisey and uncomfortable. Had to move room three time. Asked for non feather pillows as I have an allergic. The staff didn't understand or help. Had an uncomfortable night!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Two particulary good staff, a waitress/barmaid ( glasses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bar ran our of ice Rooms not to the standard I would have excpected

    Two particulary good staff, a waitress/barmaid ( glasses, dark long hair) and the reception man - ( mousy hair, quite young, possibly head receptionist) very friendly and professional, Hilton should be proud of them

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel & room with comfy bed. Great restaurant & food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Lovely hotel. Large comfortable room with comfy bed . Provided coffee facilities in room which is great. Lovely friendly staff. Very nice restaurant & beautifully presented & delicious food, complements to the chef.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite difficult as a disabled guest to get into bath as it was so high. Breakfast items seem disjointed. i.e butter not near toast, no glasses near juice.

    Bedroom was spacious Cooked breakfast lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but food and staff let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at the hotel we had to pay for parking which we didn't expect. The woman on reception wasn't all that helpful towards us compared to the guests before us, maybe this was because we're a young couple. The first night there were no staff at the bar and we had to wait for someone to turn up. We ordered drinks and food and were told drinks would be brought to our table which never happened so on receiving our food which wasn't the quality i would've expected from a Hilton hotel we then had to go back to the bar to ask for them. It seemed like the staff were more interested in standing in the room behind the bar than serving guests.

    The hotel was great, the entrance lounge was huge and made the perfect area to chill in the evenings. The room was great comfy beds and a decent sized bathroom. The room service was great and we would recommend the pizza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    V. Good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners knocking on door when they hadn't checked whether or not I had checked out ....it was a Saturday am and I shouldn't have been awoken by them....this is really bad,when check out not until 12...

    Easy to find..helpful reception..room exactly as described..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast was excellent - good choice of Continental and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first night the bed in my room was very old and uncomfortable, with only a thin sheet covering the mattress as they seem to have forgotten to put on a mattress cover. After complaining to reception the next morning, the Housekeeping Manager was very efficient and moved me to a room with new twin beds. Apparently they haven't upgraded the double beds just the twin beds.

    Breakfast was excellent - good choice of Continental and full English

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.8
    Overall unimpressed at this "Hilton". However the check in clerc was nice and attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful wifi, so slow not even the login page could load. No option for a paid faster wifi. Had a Skype Buisiness call that I had to take in the services on their WiFi. Dirty room. Pubic hairs on the vanity unit and around the toilet. Marks and stains on walls, clearly not cleaned often or thorough enough.

    The room was a decent size. Reasonably comfortable bed. Good shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    V pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con control didn't make the rm cold enough . I like a cold rm and it's controlled at the desk doesn't get colder than 17

    Staff helpful over breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Great comfortable rooms and good facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was okay, breakfast buffets are always a bit hit or miss.

    Helpful staff, used gym in the morningwhichm was small but a good addition with the pool, sauna and steam room. Felt the room was excellent and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Overall as a group had a great time. But today I will not be using booking.com or Hilton .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room facilities were not as described, did not get what I paid for. Apart from some water and sweets there was no difference between the guest room and the DELUX room, very disappointed. Booking.coms description is not what Hilton now offer, and there description is also not what you get.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location near to Retro Festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hilton Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paying for parking

    Great location near to Retro Festival. Clean, quiet and good value. Lovely fresh breakfast too. Nice touch the warm cookies on arrival

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    Cost of stay doubled simply to park overnight, take breakfast and buy a small round of drinks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hilton Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was offended to be asked to pay to park to use the hotel. I have travelled widely over many years and never come across such a policy before, it is wrong. Breakfast was poor in terms of delivery. The food was fine, good even, but though the dining room was not busy there were long waits for eggs, baked beans etc. also the organisation was frustrating due to different items being located in far flung corners of the room (toast remote from eggs etc. and butter remote from toast. Drinks at the bar are ridiculously expensive. Minor irritation - the room direction signs did not include my room number (131) causing confusion, apparently an error that is yet to be corrected?

    The room was very nice and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent provision apart from the dirty underwear in the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room. When we arrived the sofa bed hadn't been made up and their was no quilt or pillows. When we opened up the bed, we found a pair of adult's dirty knickers.

    Pleasant staff, spacious accommodation. Very apologetic about the dirty underwear and discounted 2 extra breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable bed, ideal spot for an overnight stay on a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room was not great.

    Location was good, close to the motorway and A34. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The food in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Good quality, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should include parking in the room rate as it is virtually impossible to get to their site without a car. When sorting search results by lowest price on Booking.com not including extra charges is very misleading.

    Good quality, comfortable hotel. Foyer and dining area very pleasant, flooded with daylight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Would go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great room service and food. comfy beds, nice and dark room at night and good sound proofing. Lovely lounge area. Nice to have a pool but didnt have time to use.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Under the beds were not very clean and the family rooms were missing the bedding for the bed-settee.

    Staff very helpful and friendly and a 12 o'clock check out is a bonus when children have to be got ready

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Male on reception very good and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lay out very poor, don't like have to use machine for tea and coffee , should bet served at the table, Rooms good size , very poor lighting and not that clean

    Male on reception very good and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    The cookie on arrival was a welcome touch, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the shower was too hot and I could not turn it down as the control was broken.

    The cookie on arrival was a welcome touch, the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Great to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very inconvenient location if one does not drive. The pool was a bit disappointing.

    Nice room, comfortable bed, good and reasonable food and drink at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Liked pool/spa area and reception/bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are very hard. There were not enough staff on breakfast service on both mornings of our stay. It seemed very disorganised, no one monitoring the hot food area. Had to ask for plates/cutlery/tea bags. Were kept waiting on both days for hot food to be replaced. The staff that were on duty appeared to be very stressed trying to do their best. Stayed in a ground floor disabled room with an elderly relative, the handrail on the bath was coming off the wall. This was reported to reception on the day of arrival and we were told that it would be repaired on the Saturday but unfortunately it was still in the same condition on the Sunday when we left. Shame you have to pay for parking!

    Liked pool/spa area and reception/bar area. Fair value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Avoid unless you can do no other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very disappointing! - there was a buffet layout, but not all in the same part of the dining room, so one kept discovering you could have had something different, but only discovered that later - no one pointed out the diverse layout options. - there was little desire to quickly replenish empty food containers on the buffet - I went without eggs, beans, and toast, because no one quickly came along and replenished them when empty. - the hot food buffet did not have the capability to keep the food hot - at best it was somewhere between warm and nicely warm. A hot breakfast should be hot! My wife and I have stayed in quite a number of guest houses over the summer period - the food standards there are much superior! - one of you had to stay at the table, if the other wanted another drink, or something extra - else when you both returned after 1 minute to secure hot drinks, your table had been completely cleared away! And at the end of the day, this was Hilton hotel, not a supposed cheapy.

    The location was excellent, so easy to find close to motorway interchange, you very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: