Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hilton Newcastle Gateshead This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bottle Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 2AR, United Kingdom

#25 of 76 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2797 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    5.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    What’s not to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location nr to Tyne Bridge. Easy walk onto quayside and Newcastle centre. Comfortable rooms , beds firm but still comfortable. Bathrooms clean with plenty of towels. Can honestly say one of the best breakfasts we’ve had. Plenty of choice for the health conscious and not so health conscious. Lovely staff pleasant and helpful. Can recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking in was difficulty. I had paid up front, but they had only received half the amount. Had to trust they had correct info and wasn't being charged again.

    Great location. Good views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Such a spectacular site and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of a descent choice of Gins! In a city like Newcastle with prize winning gins. Such a shame and bar staff were so helpful but lacked training to serve gins in an interesting way. Also note the extra charge for parking local car parks are cheaper and £12.99 for WiFi - really the Hilton group are just using this to make money - something that in any other country would be free.

    The staff were outstanding and so friendly. What a great position, the views from the restaurant/bar were so Newcastle. Brilliant at night. So easy to walk into town. Reception will advice on which bridge to use. Our room was spotless and Georgia was very helpful in checking our comfort.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved every minute a nice little childfree breakaway lived up to its expectations . hotel with excellent views from our room .

    We loved every minute a nice little childfree breakaway lived up to its expectations . hotel with excellent with stunning views from our room .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant par the following
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpets were dirty, old chewing gum etc. many items of furniture had cigarette burns on the fabric/wood. We complained about our initial room due to the above and due to there being pubic hair in the bed when we pulled back the sheets. We spoke to the duty manager who was extremely helpful, she moved us rooms, bought us extra water and offered us free drinks; which was lovely. The room we were moved into unfortunately had the same issues minus the hair. The new room had a smaller window then the original room which was highly disappointing as the original room had floor to ceiling/room width window which was fantastic. We paid £210 for 2 nights which I felt was a little bit steep for a room which seemed a little battered. Parking is also chargeable.

    The bed was really comfortable, the television was a great size. The location was perfect. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    4.2
    Not again, Bad standard for a international chain
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad service at the receiption, AC leaking, bathroom I found hair from previous guest, no free wifi available, bed. was Not comfotable, floor Not tidy

    Bad service at the receiption, AC leaking, bathroom I found hair from previous guest, braekfast ok but staff not friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.7
    Below Average experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room Plus with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got my car in morning & tried to get back to the property but had a nightmare as all the roads around the property were closed to traffic - nobody made me aware of this so wasn’t happy about that really really disappointing 👎

    It was pleasant till Sunday morning executive lounge was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks in the hotel a little expensive but that is to be expected

    Staff were lovely towards us. When arriving we noticed there was only one towel in the bathroom (2 of us) but Silviu the Hilton Concierge was very apologetic and organised for 2 fresh new towels to be sent straight up to our room. We found the hotel to be very quiet even though their was a function going on downstairs. It's in a very good location only a 5 min walk to the closest superstore. Would definitely stay again and would definitely recommend. We really enjoyed our stay thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    Location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Night staff have a bad attitude they don’t seem very happy if you order any food from the late room service menu. Don’t offer one if it’s a issue. Ham and mustard sandwich arrived caked with mustard I couldn’t eat it. Got the impression that was deliberate.

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    5.8
    Very very disappointing and £4.10 for a white coffee is taking the p--s
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room was smelly and the carpet stained and filthy. Had a family room and I was on the pull out sofa. Had to sleep on the floor as the sofa was terrible and probably broken and certainly not fit for sleeping on.

    Nothing much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    Overall, very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall, very comfortable. The only problem was that the chambermaid took away the hand towel, a bath towel, and bath mat, and didn't replace them, even though I had purposefully hung them back up, so they wouldn't be replaced. In addition, toilet paper and tissues were not topped up - I didn't run out, luckily, and managed with the one towel, but it would have been nice to have had these things in place. Otherwise, very friendly and helpful staff and a comfortable stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    Location and friendlyness of all the Staff from check in to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room view overlooking courtyard. Would have loved to have has at least one of the 2 rooms booked overlooking the city.

    Location and friendlyness of all the Staff from check in to check out. Also great that kids 10 and under eat free at dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.6
    I would stay again, as long as I got a Tyne view.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing as I stayed in deluxe room with view. Not sure how I’d feel if staying other side, as that is what made the room for me, plus comfy bed.

    Lovely comfy bed. Great leisure facilities and food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff and the room was clean. However, I have stayed in cheaper hotels which were just as nic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little dated / plain for the price. However, that's my only criticism

    Excellent location. We had a nice view from the room. In addition, the staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Consistently good hotel and brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with River View and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very difficult to fault it. If I had to nit-pick, then I'd rather they didn't use such strong air freshener in the public rooms. I find it a bit over-powering.

    Just about my favourite hotel these days. Consistently good at everything I want from a hotel. The brilliant view over the river makes it a delightful place to stay. Staff always most helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    5stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was amazing room service was lovely and we got a view of tyne bridge was good stayed here twice now and would happily stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great location in Newcastle, nice big windows in the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great to have a free pool, but it seemed quite tired and needed some tlc. Damp at base of shower curtain.

    Great location in Newcastle, nice big windows in the room, made it seem a nice big space. Great views at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    4.6
    We had builders in the room next door and when we asked to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had builders in the room next door and when we asked to move rooms we got told that they only 9 till 5 and cause a little disruption as possible and we could not move rooms. Not impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    4.6
    Very average - you can do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just think it is ridiculous to charge people at midday for an early check in. If the room is available, just let guests check in or ask to store their bags. I have never ever been asked at any hotel globally to pay extra. Either the room is free or it isn't. I travel almost weekly with work, and the attitude of the lady at the front desk was quite poor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.5
    An extremely enjoyable overnight stay in a first rate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking charge Access to hotel from car park Car park itself

    Comfortable bed. Excellent soundproofing Size of room All staff were helpful polite and genuine Restaurant Breakfast choice Accessibility to Sage and River Tyne General comfort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were lovely and the hotel was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony, River View and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom could have been cleaner. There was a hair in the bath and better furniture on the balcony

    The staff were lovely and the hotel was very nice. It was in a great location and overall a great stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with River View and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady on the front seat skinny blonde hair was very rude, the rooms were dirty and really not nice for an executive lounge king room the lounge you could never get a seat and everything was always empty and in the room there was one bath robe and one pair of slippers for 2 people the bed was hard not value for money at all

    The pool/ gym breakfast was brilliant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Fist class service all round
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good no problems with anything.

    I stay here regularly and always fist class service all round. Staff always kind and helpful. Great lively area outside the hotel for restaurants and entertainment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at the Hilton Gateshead was great, when we walked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River Tyne View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay at the Hilton Gateshead was great, when we walked into the room the view from the floor to ceiling window was amazing, the location couldn't be any better! All the staff were very friendly, breakfast was excellent x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the check in desk the woman was pretty abrupt and didn’t make us feel very welcome I’m military and just back from a 3 half month tour, and was taking my wife for a birthday weekend and a get away for us but didn’t feel very welcome

    The lady walking about outside the room was very polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    Great location - we were lucky to have rooms by the river view! awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sockets on the tables didnt work though I managed to find one near the wardrobe to charge my phone. The ac made a bit of banging noise but this later disappeared. All else was good and in line with Hilton standard.

    The general ambience of the entrance foyer together with the water fountain....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is great and staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom wasn’t very clean, cobwebs handing from the ceiling and dirty stains on the carpets.

    The location of the hotel is great and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Delightful stay in Gateshead
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking costs could add up if staying for more than one or two nights.

    Love this hotel. Perfect central location for exploring the city. Fabulous views of the bridge and castle. Good secure parking easily accessible from the hotel (though at an additional cost). Bar and breakfast areas are big and airy. Lovely food and great service in the restaurant. Spotless, spacious family room - perfect for travelling with a baby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was perfect for our short stay and close to all the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very hard.

    The hotel staff were very welcoming. The room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of variety. The hotel was within walking distance to all the shops & bars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    A lovely experience and Ideal for requirements of a conference
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Your bar closes too early. We were there to network and socialise, a much later bar would have been far more beneficial

    The facilities were lovely, very comfortable. I was given a river view room and it was spectacular. We used the conference facilities and the staff couldn't be more accommodating or helpful. The food was very good too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, staff and food. Poor quality bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River Tyne View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was awful, felt like it was 20 years old really springy and uncomfortable. The room overall was a bit sub par for a Hilton, not what i would really expect for the price.

    Staff are really nice, the restaurant is also really nice. If you get a premium room the view of the river is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.6
    we had a great stay, wouldn't expect anything less from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £179 for a one night stay and still had to pay £12 to park my car.... pretty dissapotined tbh

    we had a great stay, wouldn't expect anything less from a hilton. Great breakfast for £10 and the location is only a couple of minuites walk into newcatle centre or a taxi which cost approx £5. The room was clean tidy and bed was massive!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chose this hotel as it was 10 min walk away from Train Station and only 20-25 min walk from St James Park. Was a lovely hotel staff very friendly, our family room was a fab size great for two adults and two teenagers. Breakfast buffet was lovely lots to choose from. Had a very enjoyable stay. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely clean hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I would say, is that drinks at the bar are very expensive, but this is expected at hotels like this.

    The hotel was lovely and very clean. Staff couldn't do enough for you and were always happy to answer any questions and help you out if needed. Had a lovely view from hotel room and room itself was very clean and cosey. Would definetly stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Big room but only a small put up bed for 2 children. Not enough plugs only ones where hidden behind tv. No dressing table was taken up by tv. Not really set up for a family room.

    Great location, spotlessly clean, all staff friendly, rooms where quiet, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Location was excellent really was only 10 mon walk for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with River Tyne View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was excellent really was only 10 mon walk for centre and apl the bars. Staff to helpful and friendly. Amazing views over the city worth paying a little extra for the room . 441.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    River view room amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    £12 car parking. Pillows too soft. Need firm ones.

    River view room amazing. Probably the best thing about the stay. Breakfast was really lovely, great selection. Location fab. Staff very helpful. Cleanliness brill. Facilities good. Even got a text message asking how our stay was going and when I said i had asked for extra pillows and they hadn’t arrived, when I got back to room pillows were waiting for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Good stay here as usual!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Deposit per night held on card which must be a new procedure as stayed here lots of times before and never been done in the past.

    Comfy room. Room request was met. Good location and easy to get into the city centre. Plenty restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.9
    Pleased with facilities, would stay again if a price deal was offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River Tyne View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thought it was a bit expensive at £235 for one night, as I am attending an awards night next week for only £105 per night?, appreciate it's a group booking but thought it was a expensive but as it was Ed Sheeran weekend, this may be why

    Location, excellent for city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant staff, good location, but not sure if it's walkable at the end of a night out in Newcastle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price. I know people say you get what you pay for, but there was little in my room to distinguish it from a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn. There were amenities in the hotel which may be used to justify the price, but they didn't look that good when I had a peek. I was a bit concerned on the way to the hotel about its location, it didn't look as though walking back after an evening out would be very safe.

    It's a typical Hilton; clean, tidy, good location. The staff were really friendly and helpful, but all the Geordies we talked to were friendly, so I'd say this is more the city than the hotel's training. I'm still on the fence about the non-alcoholic spirits the barman was extolling, to me flavoured water with fruit and herbal extracts is either squash or tea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location with in a few minutes walk of Newcastle and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thermostat in the room restricted to a bottom temp of 19c which is too warm for me at night. Car parking was too expensive.

    Lovely location with in a few minutes walk of Newcastle and views of the river and the bridge. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel if a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price, there wasn’t anything extra to justify it in my opinion.

    Lovely reception area Staff were very friendly Room was bigger than expected and had lots of facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tired and in need of updating. Only 2 small pods of milk and only 3 decaf coffees, no regular coffee. The bathroom had seen better days, cracked tiles, loose tiles and cracked work top. Very disappointed

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Perfect location in Central Newcastle/Gateshead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault it. Well, there is the fog.....:-)

    This is a great hotel, overlooking the Tyne (and yes, it has been foggy every morning I've stayed here), so very handy for central Newcastle, and Gateshead (particularly Sage). Modern, with great facilities and restaurant. Can't fault it at all. I've stayed a couple of times now, and will do again. Plus, both times I've had rooms at great prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.3
    Up & Downs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony, River View and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn't very comfortable which kept us awake. Thought the breakfast was over priced for what it was. Balcony floor needs a good jet wash as very slippy from green algae.

    Good location and had great views from balcony. Staff were very friendly and the place was kept clean. If they change the mattresses/bed for something more comfortable, we would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Great Value! Great City!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was closed on early during weekends.... I wish it was open late like weekdays so we could enjoy it on a hungover day.

    The wonderful location of the hotel right next to the river, allows a great view to enjoy with drinks at the lobby. It is super easy to walk to the historic or party centers of the town with ease. (Never needing a cab after a night out). The staff was extremely helpful and super friendly. It does not have the "cold or formal" atmosphere of most Hiltons. This one definitely stands out as classy and fun!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.7
    Was fine for the night, but I would probably not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged £12 to park in the car park, also being charged to use the cash machine in the hotel. The price of the food is quite pricey.

    Excellent location and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.1
    A good, if expensive, base if you want to be really close to the Sage Gateshead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A truly awful chemical fragrance continuously pumped into the reception area. Much too strong. Makes you wonder what smell they are trying to cover! Disappointing that my Hilton membership was null and void so I couldn't use the wifi for free.

    The reception staff were very helpful in sorting out a complicated booking as I had multiple people staying, some changing mid stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and would return to Hilton if i stayed in the area again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con in our room 312 wouldn't cool down the room.

    The lounge and bar area are lovely, nice to have a balcony/outside space been a smoker i hate having to stand outside on the road. Very relaxing area and the bar staff where great very knowledgeable and helpful when we picked out cocktails. Excellent service and very friendly. The location of the Hotel is excellent and an easy walk over the bridge puts you in the heart of Newcastle with Bars and restaurants all within easy reach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.3
    Pretty average. Will not use this Hilton again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was not made up one night. On informing reception she said it was too late and could not do anything about it. That same night my key card did not work. I went back to reception and she rebooted it. Same problem. Went back again and I asked for 2 cards. Same result. Went back again! The response is she does not have a problem. I went to the concierge and asked him to accompany me to the room. He rebooted and it worked. My car park card did not a,low me to exit one night! Attended my event late. No apology, just tough.

    Fresh and clean. Great views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.8
    To be honest I get a better nights sleep at travelodge hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were really tired one of the nights but couldn’t sleep due to a function on in the hotel. It was so loud in our room. Pillows were very uncomfortable and smaller length than normal?

    Hotel lobby and entrance was beautiful and liked the fact that even after checkout you can use the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    The room was a fantastic size with two large comfy single...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a fantastic size with two large comfy single beds. Everything was clean and well laid out. Good sized bathroom too. The view from our room was pretty amazing too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpet had a lot of stains on it. Bed wasn’t comfortable for me. A few fixtures and fittings broken.

    Good location. Lobby was nice. Nice views from bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Tyneside is a great destination. Hotel great but felt we were let down on the room meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Suite with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had meals in our suite for 2 nights and they were in general very poor. Service was fine enough but my steak was underdone, my veg 1 point off raw (I am not talking Al dente either!!) and the vaunted crispy twice cooked chips were soggy and in the end inedible. My wife's burger was good that night, but on 2nd night we both tried them and they were dry, half discarded and again accompanying sides were effectively inedible. My guess is that we were victims of a very stretched hotel this holiday weekend. But for the best part of £80 with tray charges I don't think room meals should be any lower priority than restaurant meals.

    The suite, staff and general cleanliness were excellent, no exceptions. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    Nice Enough Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi wasn't free and we weren't advised that it wasn't free and were charged £12.99. Also thought breakfast was included as we had selected this option when booking the room but it wasn't and we paid £16.95 Food wasn't overly worth the price. We also didn't get to check in until 3 despite advising we were arriving between 1-2pm further to an email from the hotel asking when we were arriving.

    Rooms were nice and big, we were given an ice bucket which was handy as I had just bought ice for our drinks. Bathroom was big and clean, interior generally very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Room was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    walls dusty and I paid for parking over night and no one give me a card to get out so I was leaving a few times with in the day I ended up spending around 30 pound in parking

    Room was amazing Pillows amazing service was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    10
    Spectacular hotel, worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I was not happy with is the fact that they did not tell you before arriving that they would be taking a deposit of around £200 for your stay and would refund it back after you had left which in my opinion is a bit much.

    The rooms were absolutely brilliant, very clean and the view was great! The facilities were amazing and the staff were all very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.3
    Nice rooms and food but poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool area very dated and we came to use the spa after a stay and we're told that the spa has left us now! Then told the hot tub was out of order then a fire drill went off and were rushed outside! Staff didn't know what was happening. Then car park machine didn't work. Quite a stressy last day of our trip.

    Good food and nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.8
    Executive lounge, location and staff friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony, River View and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was expensive as there was an event on. For the standard rate it would have been good value but for the inflated price was a little dissapointed. More Premier Inn rooms than Hilton I would expect

    Executive lounge, location and staff friendliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    The hotel staff were probably the most helpful and friendly that we have ever come across in the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with River Tyne View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only complaint I have is that myself, my wife and 2 children all kept banging our legs on the corner of the bed when walking past (a bit of a strange occurrence!).

    The staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    3.8
    not impressed, i have stayed here before and it was better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was cold , wanted a pre payment for staying over x2 nights we had to cut our trip short due to not having funds as wasnt mentioned at the time of booking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with friendly staff in an amazing location.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    From start to finish the hotel reception staff were friendly, professional and went out of their way to make my dog Alfie and I feel very welcome. The room was excellent with amazing views. The food ordered via room service was delicious and very reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, Clean and well organised as you expect from a Hilton Hotel. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast Excellent and parking very convenient. Nothing negative to say - well done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    6.0
    Could have been much better.
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room's air-con was too noisy to have on all night so the room was stuffy. There was no opening window. We had a lovely view of the garage roof with the generator nearby, so it was noisy. The prices in the bar were far too expensive, £13.10 for a glass of wine and £1.50 for a packet of crisps. We only had 1 milk sachet the first morning, you'd get more in a cheaper hotel!! A disappointing stay in what I had hoped would have been a luxury break.

    The bed was okay, the pillows were not. The hotel was really close to where we needed to be, so that was the bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Stunning! Amazing. Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Your hotel is in a fantastic spot...the view from room 153 and 155 was perfect.everyone was friendly and kind.faultless.our first visit to Newcastle was amazing we will be returning again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    We would definately stay again if they sort out the matteress and the creaky bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on a plank of wood and creaked loudly! The same was in my son's room as we were going to swap! We requested extra pillows on two separate occasions but they did not arrive.

    The staff were excellent. The food was lovely with great choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    4.6
    Stunned with poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was poor communication skills on return to hotel got charged £50 fee because the person staying in room wasn’t on room which was all booked up buy one person so very expensive extra and when tried to explain was either pay£50 or not staying poor from Hilton ain’t what you expect really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but let down at this price range by a few shortcomings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony, River View and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in exec room with river view and balcony. Paying for wifi access is not on when rooms are in this price range, wifi should be free and easy to access. Bathroom poor for the quality of the rest of hotel, shower not powerful at all and bathroom genarally cramped.

    Easy check in out process

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.2
    Nice modern building with spacious rooms and very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long time to check in and I paid the £50 cash deposit for incidentals which I was told I would receive back upon checking out. When I did check out I received my cash deposit back and was told that the £50 that they'd also taken from my bank account would be returned in a few working days, I wasn't told that the hotel would be taking that from my account as well as the cash deposit.

    Nice modern building with spacious rooms and very helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and well worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel in a great city staffed by people that clearly enjoy their work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony, River View and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi arrangements. I know most of us have internet access on our phones and iPads but really Hilton on a room costing over £150 per night you wanted another £12 for wifi. Shame on you!

    Excellent breakfast menu. Friendly & attentive staff. Great range of TV channels. Restaurant has best view in the city. Executive lounge overlooked the Tyne and served good quality snacks. Executive room with balcony was perfect. Nice touch of choccies in our room on our anniversary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    6.3
    Good location and easy parking but avoid the disabled rooms (if you're not disabled).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated a disabled room which was a bit uncomfortable being fairly tall people. There was no bathtub, the shower was very weak, the sink was at knee height (not good for the back). Also the alarm for disabled went off intermittantly in the morning due to a technical fault. We were compensated with free breakfast (for the alarm) and parking (for the disabled room) but never the less this is not what one expects when staying at a Hilton.

    The breakfast choice was good and the breakfast staff were very friendly and proactive. The location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    5.8
    No better than travelodge. Take the offered don’t pay the premium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price discrepancy on arrival between Hilton and booking.com. My price challenge was greeted with apathy but was sorted for check out. Rooms nothing special. Cracked and loose tiles in the bathroom. Water saving shower poor. WiFi £12.99 per day unless you sign up to their rewards system.

    Location great. Sensible parking tarrif

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    5.0
    Noisy and disturbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy hotel with large groups of people staying for hen do and stag do. Broken toilet in our room and prank calls throughout the night. Very disturbed sleep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't reminded of Hilton Honors initially for free early check in so remember to ask for this

    Handy location. Breakfast offered far cheaper at check in in rather than pre-booking it. Rooms quiet despite all that was going on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Stayed here on the 4/5/18.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here on the 4/5/18. Lovely hotel in a great location, you can either walk into the centre of Newcastle or get the Metro wherever you like. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a wide variety of choice for breakfast, it was very nice and I really enjoyed making my own waffles! I found it appealing that the hotel has its own car park as it’s very convenient, however it’s a shame that you have to pay extra for it. I had a lovely stay here and the staff were very polite and helpful, I would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: