Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton York 4 stars

City Centre, 1 Tower Street, York, YO1 9WD, United Kingdom

#39 of 46 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3560 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Location e
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in needed to be totally refurbished. The beds were clean and comfortable but there was no air con, the furniture and wallpaper were old and both the bedroom and bathroom were tiny. Not good enough for a Hilton

    Location and staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Good clean and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for room upgrade as we wanted a view and a large double bed....also we found £13.00 each for breakfast a bit much after spending over £160 for a room for a night.

    Great location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Always happy to stay at this Hilton Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Tower View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed in a De Lux King Room before and have always received a very good " welcome " pack that included wine and fruit, but on this occasion this welcome pack was restricted to crisps, nuts and water.

    We stayed in room 311 and although it was smaller than when we stayed previously it was more than adequate. The Hilton is only a very short walk from the centre of York and is very close to a very nice restaurant " Rustique ". The staff were all very good, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very over priced for what you actually get. Paid a lot extra for view of castle only to be able to see a tree and absolutely no view of the castele whatsoever

    Clean and modern

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast buffet was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too expensive, room was not immaculately clean and the bathroom needed updating and grout work. There is no AC and rooms were small.

    Breakfast buffet was very nice. It was not included in our room rate but was affordable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Really great place to stay a quiet part of the city with a quick walk to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did complain that the air conditioning wasn't working over the two days and unfortunately no one came to look at it. However we were provided with a fan

    Location was excellent and the staff had great customer service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Filthy
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was filthy. I only have the option to upload 4 pics but I have 20. Please note, these are room only. After complaining we were moved to another room that was equally as bad. £220 per night without breakfast and this is what you get for your money. We were given a 50% discount on checkout and offered breakfast. However if this is the cleanliness of the rooms would you want to eat there? I would very much like to make a formal complaint. ( I do have pictures of the second room that we were moved to that I can assure you was equally as bad.) Picture 1 is dust from the headboard Picture 2 is filthy bathroom Picture 3 is what appears to be vomit dried in the headboard Picture 4 is dust from the desk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    All in all great specially if you venture out and find a nice place to have dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant! the menu was totally uninspiring - we did have dinner there on the first night - the meal was very forgettable I am sorry to say. The wine prices were sky high the cheapest was around £25!!

    All in all it was really good, we did ask to be moved as there was scaffolding going up right outside our window from 7 a.m. on. and staff were happy to move us. Its a nice hotel and so central that its all within walking distance of what we went there to see. We used the parking at the hotel but did not need to take the car out once

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location and easy access to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite small and the facilities are a little old, though they are properly managed. The room is overpriced for what you get.

    Good location and easy access to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    good location, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy - possibly some kind of air conditioning unit nearby but there was a machine rumbling 24 hours.

    The staff were very helpful at all times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location and a good view of the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Tower View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a deluxe room with tower view, the view was great but the room was small and the bathroom was really small. Minimal storage in the room and no mini bar or fridge

    Great location and a good view of the castle

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    enjoyable, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room could have been a little biger, as when the sofa bed was made up you could hardly move

    the staff were very friendly and helpful, comfy bed but a little small for a family room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, not enough spaces and the council carpark over the road is a fortune. Basic room, nothing special and put prices up for the races and

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Noisy staff, not restful, shower dire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumber in neighbouring room all morning banging at pipes and radiators which came through to our pipes and rads, very noisy and should be done between checkout time of 12 and check in times of 4. Plus housekeeping keep knocking on door and trying to get in from 10am, we were checking out at noon, just wait!!!!! Not exactly restful or customer friendly. Have to run around to get wet in the shower, you pay through the nose to stay somewhere and can’t provide a decent shower.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Overall location, service and accommodation was JUST what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall location, service and accommodation was JUST what we were looking for. Highly recommend the valet parking at the hotel--gets very busy in York and parking is very limited and extremely costly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly, polite & efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were little white flies in the bathroom. Bed quite uncomfortable. Bought a room with a view, but huge tree blocking the view. (Understanding not hotel fault).

    Staff very friendly, polite & efficient. Very helpful in letting us know what was in york and guided us where to go thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, great Food and fitness room, lovely view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were not changed on bedding, clean towels left on bed, room not cleaned daily

    Excellent location, great Food and fitness room, lovely view from room, competitive price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and dark. Shower terrible - no water pressure and very small over a bath. Beds hard. Hotel in shabby condition. Parking very expensive.

    Location good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    A great location for easy access to all that York has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and in particular, bathroom were quite small

    All the staff were excellent in their attitude and service, breakfast was perfect for a day of sightseeing, both ladies on the egg station were awesome. Location could not have been better

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Above average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet paper was cheap and nasty, not what you expect when paying £265 per room per night. Only facilities for 2 people to have a hot drink even though we were staying in the double double room for 4 adults.

    Excellent location. Lovely comfy beds. We were able to check in early which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff, comfortable room good breakfast,but not outstanding, and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Tower View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a “deluxe king room” the room was really nothing out of the ordinary. It was really standard. And we had a Fawlty Towers moment looking out of the window for the ‘tower view’ . Car park view more like. Drinks seemed rather expensive. And they must have had a vat of orange juice near its sell by date as you were ushered to your breakfast table, and given orange juice. Even though there was a wide choice of juices available in the breakfast room.

    Breakfast was nice, and of good quality and range. Beds were comfortable. The hotel was quiet overnight. Staff were very friendly. Nice extras in room like wine, nuts, toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff but room a bit dated and dusty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt dated and a bit shabby. Main surfaces were clean but things like the bedside lights, lamp bases, metal tray that held the shampoos etc were very dusty. Staff were quick to attend to the issue when I reported it, but it put me off the hotel to be honest.

    Communal areas and bar area nice, staff welcoming, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower pressure was poor and the hotel generally is at the stage where it feels a little tired with no particular wow factor. That said nothing really bad (apart from the shower!).

    Location was good being a few minutes walk to the centre shops and shambles. I was texted to see if everything was alright once I had checked in. Everything reasonable and as expected for Hilton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    The property was located very close to the city centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups in the room was dirty. All the plug sockets located on one side of the room. Couldn’t use the ‘free’ WiFi unless you joined Hilton honours. The room it’s self was simple and all you would need but not worth the price. We thought with it being the Hilton we would be getting 5 star room but really it was more like 3 star.

    The property was located very close to the city centre and on a tour bus route. The bar was fantastic very well set out and what you would expect being the Hilton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff where very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little cleaner. The cleaners had left a really dirty cloth on our bedside table- wouldn't mind but it was filthy.

    The staff where very nice and helpful. The breakfast choice was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and not worthy of being associated with the name Hilton. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room quality, breakfast selection and quality. Facilities and general experience was significantly below the standards we have come to expect from a Hilton and the stay did not warrant the price. Rooms could have been cleaned better and the toilets in one one the rooms wasn't clean when we arrived. Rooms lacked basic amenities - for examlle, there was no proper cupboard for clothes and the room looked more like a college dorm room than a hotel one.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location, poor management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had been smoked in, smell was disgusting. Relocated to new room which was ok. Power went off on the whole floor next morning and we had to wait an hour before it came back and we could get ready to leave.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Exhausting as very little sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot and far too noisy. All night there was clanging and bubbling and humming as if i was situated below a giant boiler room. Also, could have done with a harder pillow.

    Free biscuits in the room! Shower cap! Excellent restaurant and breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and hot weather, they did supply a fan. No hot chocolate sachets in room.

    Great location, friendly staff. Tidy and clean. Valet parking only - I was nervous but valet seemed very professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.5
    Excellent short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable and the range of food at the breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel's location is perfect as almost all of York's sights are within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view at all. The water pressure wasn't the best, but it worked. The extractor doesn't work well and the bathroom gets very humid after a shower

    Breakfast buffet and location. Staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was terrific,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poorest shower with hardly any power

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was terrific, location perfect for a very short walk into the city centre, and had a splendid view of the castle,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was just standard, was not cleaned properly..I expected more from the Hilton brand especially having seen the suites at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff and a delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the rooms were very dated. With the name of the Hilton I was expecting something a little more elegant

    Excellent staff and a delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Our deluxe room was very clean and situated in an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Tower View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wouldn't cool.

    Our deluxe room was very clean and situated in an excellent walking position to food, shops etc. staff were excellent and Breakfast was good too.. overall a comfy stay..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    A Wonderful Experience! York is Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What Could Be Better - Toilet roll, Bigger Bath, More plug sockets near bed, Free Parking!

    Good Points - Good Food (Breakfast & Dinner!) Comfortable Bed, Decent size room, Nice clean room, GREAT Location to get into town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall our stay was a very pleasant one, much enjoyed by the both of us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows,supplied were the most uncomfortable,thay were too soft and thin.There should be a choice between soft and firm THERE WAS A LOT OF NOISE DURING THE NIGHT, DOORS BANGING AND OTHER

    The hotel was excellent close to City Centre and river.Many quality restaurants with in easy walking DISTANCE.The breakfasts and meals were fabulous,the staff were excellent and friendly. Would certainly stay at this Hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    definetly would stay again at the hilton,tower bridge again,between it and the park inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sausages and blackpudding a bit disapointing at breakfast (radiison park inn has the best breakfast sausages, or try introducing bowland sausages ).best blackpudding you can get is from lukes the butcher,belfied,kilmarnock,ayrshire,being scottish i know. One of the tumbler glasses in our room was badly stained,had to soak it to get it clean Down stairs toilet doors are badly needing a lick of paint as they are looking dirty found the hot water pressure in shower very low then suddenly increases, obviously when other guest are using the shower or hot water.

    muffins at breakfast,comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay at the Hilton staff are very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay at the Hilton staff are very friendly and accommodating stayed for our anniversary and we was up graded and received a card and chocolates great gesture and very pleased will definitely return as we visit York frequently.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.3
    Will never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor service. the rooms were not what we expected. I specifically booked large rooms as three people were staying in one room and a couple in the other. The room size were poor and when we got to the rooms there was only a double bed. We then had to call reception to make up a bed which turned out to be a sofa bed. The mattress was poor quality and my sister who was staying in the bed kept hitting her legs off the iron bars/ metal bars at the side of the bed as the mattress was insufficient size and depth. A floor lamp fell on my mother's head. It had to be removed from the room as it wouldn't stand up and kept falling over on to the small sofa bed which then meant the room was too dark. The rooms were small and dated with the curtains hanging from the rail. The staff on the desk when we complained were rude and obstructive. They kept blaming Booking.com and told us to refer to you rather than take it up with them. It ruined what was supposed to be a very special weekend

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    It was alright but not worth the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and there was no usual Hilton dressing gown and slippers. The breakfast wasnt very nice and there wasn't much choice.

    There was a bath in the room. Could leave the car on the carpark for as long as wanted after checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable stay, location great for Castle Museum, Jorvik, Shambles and shopping. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room did not have good view, next time we will book room facing tower.

    Location excellent, comfortable room, friendly helpful staff. Great breakfasts and good selection on menu for dinner,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    A disappointing experience. Hoped for more from the Hilton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very disappointing - small (8ft x 16ft) and a tiny "bath" room you could barely turn round in between the loo and sink. The decor and carpet was all beige and looked tired. The lighting connections on the bed-head were an act of comedy genius: two switches either side but the bedside lights both worked off one switch on the LH side, the main light worked off a switch on the RH side and neither of the other two switches did anything. There were two sockets on the desk but only one was usable, the other seeming to have been internally blocked. The tray for the complementary tea/coffee was on a nice little pullout under the TV, except the lead for the kettle wasn't long enough to reach the nearest socket so we had to move it to the desk. Which meant we couldn't have the reading light plugged in if we wanted to use the kettle. Overnight there was a persistent loud, low hum from what sounded like a refrigeration unit or some sort of pump. We were at the back of the hotel so I assume this was some sort of necessary infrastructure but it was still disturbing to sleep with. All in all the whole experience was very far from the little bit of luxury we were hoping for when we booked a room at a Hilton hotel. I've paid considerably less for considerably better accommodation in a similar location.

    It's right at the heart of old York and within an easy walk of the main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    The room was reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service was extremely poor and I was served my main course a good hour after my colleague. The water pressure was also extremely low and the shower was not refreshing because of this.

    The room was reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was good near the centre of york the let down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the location the rest is let down😕

    The location was good near the centre of york the let down was the room small and we can hear people talking from the hall way and banging doors we didn't have a good night sleep.breakfast look's like a recycle from yesterday the only fresh was fried egg but it was too much oil.my partner didn't have a breakfast the nxt day🤮

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basement car park was convenient yet expensive at £20 per night.

    We were upgraded to a first floor room with a balcony and superb view of Clifford Tower. The whole hotel was very well decorated and fitted out, we felt very comfortable in our room and the bar/restaurant. Breakfast was varied and high quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely in a beautiful City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. Room on the small side for up to 4 adults sharing. Price a little too high for me, but as it was mine and my daughter's birthday, ok as a treat.

    The location of the hotel. Valet parking. The staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Expensive !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony with Tower View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendlier staff who care !

    Expensive to say the least for £260 for a Saturday night and no breakfast included . That's another £25 on top . The staff were rude and not at all friendly . Definitely wouldn't stay here again !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    York has a lot to offer hotel in great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for room on lower floor as mother not good on her feet put on 2nd floor ok yes there are lifts but mobility scooter only just fit

    Staff very helpful parking on site though a bit expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Quiet, clean, comfortable and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Very comfortable and quiet room. Staff very friendly and helpful Car parking was great and excellent value at £20 a night. Would definitely recommend, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic night’s break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Tower View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were heavenly and room excellent. Thus was mine and my husbands first night away together in 7 years. Difficult to get away as our daughter is profoundly autistic. Enjoyed our stay in York and will be back when we can.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable

    Breakfast was a treat - lots of choice and fresh coffee eggs and juice Valet parking was a bonus because it wasn't that much more expensive than the public car park. Room was ok but clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    great location, room and late night reception staff could of been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't ready at the time of check in so was provided a another room which was an accessibility room, which of course was not a problem. Checked the room out and everything was fine, upon coming back to the room around 22:30 the same evening a noise could be heard as if it was a tumble dryer/ washing machine, after around an hour i went down to reception to complain and was advised there was nothing the woman could do because he shift ended in "2 minutes" and that she would pass over the issue to see if the machines/ noise could be turned off, this never happened and continued through the night and the following day. For a room that cost Nearly £200 for one night with no breakfast included, i do not think this is one, why have a room surrounded by Private rooms that clearly have machinery in them.

    initial reception staff was great, and they allowed me to park my car in their car park for a couple of hours after check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony with Tower View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was late as room wasn’t ready but this was compensated by helpful staff and free drink to apologise

    Breakfast was great and staff are friendly and helpful. Easy parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    Love York, will visit again but book a travel lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, the WiFi was poor, no breakfast for such a hefty price. Bed was uncomfortable

    Promised a partial city view (your words not mine) we got a view or a room light and a brick wall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean, convenient served the purpose for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room/bathroom as a double double for 4 people could have been bigger, there wasn’t a lot of space for moving around when getting ready

    The convenience of being able to leave luggage and the message once the room was ready so we had the option of returning to check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Location was great , close to everything we wanted to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what we got , for the price it should of included breakfast really , no breakfast and tiny bathroom 180+ for one night and WiFi was extra , plus car park opposite cost us 35 for parking ,we have stayed in various Hilton’s all over the country but just seemed a little steep for what we got , expected a little more

    Location was great , close to everything we wanted to see

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bedroom doors, even if you quietly tried to close the door it was still noisy! The very small bathroom

    The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    I booked three rooms on my card on arrival at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked three rooms on my card on arrival at the hotel. When we arrive we checked in and all gave our own card numbers. On check out we all gave different card numbers. On returning home I had been charged on my card for all three rooms again. When checking with the hotel they could not find transactions numbers etc. and when I said that I thought this was very inefficient I was threatened by the person I spoke to with the Police !!! I have never been spoken to like this in all the times I have stayed in hotels rooms which is many as I travel all over the world.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    Bed was comfortable, room ok, a cup of tea at breakfast cost me £12.50
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, service was poor as booked double and they said as it was bookings.com it was a single bed, 45 mins for them to sort issue

    WiFi none and didn’t work, bathroom appalling, poorest shower I’ve ever experienced, water don’t flow out, sink just the same.Dreadful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Almost perfect for our short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little overpriced for what there was but the staff were attentive and friendly

    The bed,room aspect(overlooking Clifford's Tower)and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    Basic stay for an up market price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold during the night and I only had a very thin duvet with no extra blankets available. The wifi was not free in the room; only in the restaurant and lobby. I expect free wifi as standard now when I travel for work.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. You are right in the centre of York. The restaurant is very stylish and comfortable and service at breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I bought a room with a view of the mound - got given a view of the car park and a tree blocking the mound.... when i told the staff they just said sorry for the inconvenience..... no discount then as this is not what i paid over £200 for!

    How close it was to town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    It's ok for 1 night wouldn't book this Hilton again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated and poor quality furniture. Expensive for what it is and stayed in much nicer Hilton's for less.

    The travel lodge is much nicer and better value for money. Paid £200 for double room that smelt of smoke and all rooms are very dated. I'd expect this to be a 2 star yet the location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a birthday hamper of wine and nibbles for my mums 60th birthday which was really appreciated. Really comfortable bed and clean room. Excellent location and bonus of use of the gym.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location for seeing the city - main sites in walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be useful to have a fridge in the room to keep water cool, and please move the service charge from serving drinks at the bar AND then producing a bill that invites a tip!

    Good location for seeing the city - main sites in walking distance, good cooked breakfast, and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything - staff excellent breakfast outstanding & location amazing for walking into town centre a matter of minutes - room very comfortable & good size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the shower was not very powerful.

    The location was excellent close to all shops, restaurants, attractions. Staff were excellent, asked the housekeeper for more coffee and milk (we drink a lot) and she took care of us the rest of the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location but not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected more in the room from Hilton hotel. Didnt feel like a deluxe room. The pillows were very uncomfortable and Wi-Fi didnt work. Also the bathroom was very small.

    The food was good and staff was polite and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    we will come back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in was 4pm and I had asked for a 1pm check in where they had to give me another room. I had asked the night before we travel to York NO Mushrooms for breakfast???

    desk staff were really lovely and friendly- room area was nice and quiet with view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    York in May
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room shower over bath rather than separate shower. Staff could not get app on phone to open door to room.

    Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Location perfect. Underground car park with valet service seems expensive at first but was competitively priced for York. It gave us both convenience and flexibility. We never had to wait for our car and it was secure. Since there is so much to see and do in York, all within walking distance, the car remained in the car park for most of our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant & relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small matter if we-if not being free in room, but it wasn’t that important nor did it mar the stay.

    Cleanliness was second to none & staff were friendly & very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent am already planning to visit again , later in year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather , but there is nothing you can do about that.

    Excellent location for site seeing around York, although a tourist map (single sheet) would havebeen really helpful instead of the general booklet!, especially as the tourist info place is the other end .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely atmosphere with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little on the small side as we booked the double double and there were 4 adults

    Lovely atmosphere with friendly staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed except the above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying £5.70 for a bottle of koppenberg ( or similar product ) £18 for a double gin and tonic , I find these prices very expensive when a pint of Stella Artois was £4 and this is a premium larger !!! #disgusting

    Lovely big bed , obviously something had to be sacrificed ie the bathroom !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton York traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: