Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hitchin Priory

Tilehouse Street, Hitchin, SG5 2DL, United Kingdom

#9 of 9 hotels in Hitchin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1224 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had been newly painted, so still a strong smell of paint...it wasn’t until morning that I figured out how to open the window!

    Fabulous location, staff and the setting was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is about 150 meters away from the hotel. At night it's very badly lit so I would suggest any single females males take care on your way to the hotel it's a bit secluded. Reception area is very dated. Had to walk about 200 meters to our room . Once in the room it was also a bit dated and we could not open the window due to the wildlife outside. Dirty looking chair in the room also. Old school hotel.

    We liked the fact it's not to far from hitchin town square which has a variety of restaurants to choose from. Also if when in the room your looking for peace and quiet well we certainly got that. No noise in fact we didn't see any other guests so maybe we were the only ones there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are horrible, mattresses worse than mine at uni halls, ceiling tiles stained and grotty, carpet threadbare and dirty, TV so old and tiny I gave up trying to use it because it was so slow to react to the buttons, bathroom from the 80s

    Ideal for grabbing dinner at one of the restaurants in town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its hard to be cruel but we both found the pillows a bit bulky and hard.

    We liked the out building we were in as they are bigger rooms then the main building. Also the grounds are a bit easier to access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room looked very tiered, carpet was thread bare and a miss mash of furniture, and the "wardrobe" was a botched up cubby hole!!!!

    Location to town center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavily dusty white fan, skirting boards needed serious attention, bath filled up with water on showering and didn’t empty. Walking from the car park down dark road to get to hotel as it was poorly lit so felt vulnerable being on my own. When exiting the room in the morning I found didn’t ring signage to reception very well.

    Liked that it was central to town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, the whole experience of our stay was disappointing. The building where our room was situated, was in a poor state. The stair carpets were stained and the walls needed a repaint. I could tell as we went through the corridor that it was unlikely to be any better than an old travelodge... Our room was shabby - marks on the walls where pictures once hung, a tiny double bed that was very uncomfortable, only one bedside table, and a bathroom that had seen better days. There was also no drinking water on offer in what was a very warm room (ended up buying some from the bar.) In the morning, no one asked us how our stay was - probably wise! For the money (£95) we came away feeling really peeved. We had a lovely time at the wedding (and a big thanks to the wonderful bar staff Cora and Nicolas) but it was a shame to come back to the room afterwards.

    The setting is lovely and it was convenient for the wedding reception we attended, but there is little else to shout about here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a fancy hotel but it’s a fantastic location and, for anyone who is interested in history it’s incredible. Great value for money in a nice town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lifts. My wife has walking difficulties and the stairs were a major problem. The car park is some way from the entrance to the hotel. As a near octogenarian I struggled with two cases inside and outside the hotel.

    Nothing in particular other than the grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable & the room needed a paint & tiles regrouted!

    The Priory was set in amazing grounds. Our bed was extremely uncomfortable and the rooms could do with a paint but room size was fine & water pressure very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room could have been more powerful.

    The hotel was situated in the heart of hitchin and in beautiful grounds. The staff were all very helpful, couldn’t do enough and they loved to fuss my two dogs. Breakfast was lovely, efficient staff, attentive, quick service and excellent food quality. Rooms were spacious and clean. Overall our stay was most enjoyable. Would certainly book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself was fine although the bed was very hard and springy. We checked in earlier in the day but were unable to get into the room, which was fine. We were charged twice as they didn't have any record of us paying earlier so we had to ask for a refund in the morning. The shower didn't work and no-one answered our calls to Reception so we had to leave unwashed. I expressed this to the receptionist and was given a part refund for the room.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appearance of the bar was dull and lacked comfort. I wonder if it is necessary to have TV on all the time. The outdoor bar seating was dirty, and deeply unattractive. The Christmas lights on the atrium were inappropriate as not in keeping with the history

    The bedroom was in very poor condition with poor quality furniture and furnishings with damage to table surface. Bathroom had low pressure shower and loo handle loose. The mattress was however comfortable The room was cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Had long to wait for hot food to come. Received oily scrambled eggs and forgot to bring toasts. By the time they brought, were not needed.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very very tired. I was so disappointed, I didn't mind staying in the new block, but it is little short of a University halls of residence after the students have left. The room was so tired, it is such a shame to see such a fantastic place, with it's history, the building, the location...so badly cared for. No criticism of the caretakers, it was clean and everything worked, but whoever owns this place needs to update it and honour the history of the building.

    The staff are just lovely and a credit to the Priory. The reception staff were particularly accommodating and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drop off before parking, signs everywhere at entrance forbidding parking long walk with luggage resulted Building where room was needed urgent internal refurbishment bedroom likewise Bed very uncomfortable

    Grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated. Needs a refurb. Small room & noisy motor/industrial fan outside. Decor in room does not go with how lovely rest of hotel is - shame really. Expensive in compared to others we have stayed in for what you get. Maybe because it was last minute booking??

    Location is superb & staff were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole of the property sadly needs a facelift both in and out. Older worldy is good but NOT when not clean. Give someone a brush and a cloth and another a paintbrush and would come on leaps and bounds !!! Assigned to Room 1 a bit dirty, bed awful hard but maybe good if you have a bad back. I was certainly not advised about the incessant noise from a boiler that could be heard all night. Very little sleep as a result. I did mention on departure, but sadly no compensation offered. Attached few photos of room. Bar bit pricey and NO atmosphere at all. Breakfast - ah well even though I believe this should be included in room price it wasn't. I paid an extra £9.50 cutlery very grubby and finger marked ... yuk. Food itself was ok but know now I should have gone to Wetherspoons for same meal at £4+ Oh well you learn by the mistakes. Would love to see improvements here as has so much potential. Oh yes Wifi wasn't great ... sorry If I get discount may visit when clean.

    Good location Real Baked Beans at breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired rooms but I understand that they are trying to bring these up to date as funds permit.

    Great location - had previously checked the reviews which were a bit unsettling initially but because of this we knew what to expect. Therefore it was most enjoyable. Girl on reception was very helpful too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a large wedding party booked into the hotel the same night. That was fine, (apart fro the smokers drinking outdsdie the main entrance as we arrived,- but not a big deal). But at breakfast there was very little room in the restaurant for us, and lots of noise. It wasn't until we were halfway through our breakfast that we became aware that some people had been given the chance to breakfast in the main dining room away from the noise. We weren't given that choice but would have gladly taken it if offered.

    Room fine and comfy. Nice gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building was beautiful, lots of character. Room refurbished recently, with a very comfortable bed, in a quiet room. Town itself is lovely and loads of choice for dining out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 3 and we felt it was a little tired.

    Lovely views, beautiful building, comfortable room, excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. Great location close to London Luton airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The appartments are sepparated from the hotel. That part is quite old and not so good remained. For example the gym and sauna were out of order.

    The hotel is situated beatiful, with a giant garden. And nice ghost-stories....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning of our stay we were phoned by the hotel to tell us our small dog would be charged at £30!! It was too late to cancel. The first room we were offered had a toilet that continuously flushed so on returning to the reception we were given an alternative. This second room was a long way away from the main reception for queries and breakfast, etc, and I am disabled and found it difficult to walk to - no alternative was offered, so I stayed in the room and could not go out. It was described as an upgrade, but despite being a little larger, we found it in a very shabby state. The furniture was threadbare in places, the handle on the door was falling off and the lock was drilled badly. The wood had ring stains all over from tea/coffee cups. The bath panel was broken and the plug on the sink was rusty.

    the staff were lovely - very helpful and polite. The breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked, and, once again, was served by very polite staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather cold. I am used to poly cotton sheets and found cotton sheets cold. I would return as it is in a good position and lovely grounds. My son gave me a lift to the door while i got the room key and i was asked to go out and get his registration number at once which was a bit much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant stay, the only thing i would suggest which isn't that big of an issue was our pillows were a bit hard. Apart from that, room was lovely in a great location and staff were helpful! have stayed before a few times and i will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are areas of the hotel that are in desperate need of some TLC!! We stayed in Priory court which is an annexe block behind the main hotel. After hiking from the car park to reception, we were then sent on another hike to priory court. It is what it is, but the sight that met us when we opened the front door and entered Priory Court was less than enticing. The place had a 'ramshackle' feel ........the carpet leading up the stairway was stained, grubby and the paintwork was scuffed. After negotiating the maze of corridors (which need are crying out for a lick of paint and maybe some pictures) to get to our room we were reasonably pleased with what we saw. However, the bed is a small double & looked 'lost' in the large room, the mattress was hard with no spring to it - like sleeping on a board. The bathroom was tired but clean, the shower had a mind of it's own, difficult to control both heat and water pressure, it also kept moving around in it's fixing and flooding the bathroom - I think the shower head was the wrong one for the wall fixing unit. The furniture in the room was adequate but in need of updating, there were several scratches and scuffs on the white paintwork - not a great look and so easy to fix !!

    The location is perfect - easy strolling distance from the town centre. Free parking, as long as you remember to put your registration number into the machine at reception. The room was large, plenty of drawer space, tea and coffee making facilities in the room also an iron, & hairdryer. The bedding was very clean and plenty of good quality, clean towels provided for our one night stay. The price is very reasonable and competitive and overall we got what we paid for. The first impressions are very good, reception staff helpful and friendly & the setting is stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and the rooms are in need of a good overhaul. The bathroom was ugly and the deco in general needs a lift.

    The main building has a fantastic view of the park, with the sun out it was great to sit and have a drink. Dave the night porter will entertain you with conversation and his robotic performance!🤖

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was rather small and the bed seemed smaller than usual. There was no heating and we were very cold.. Windows were very draughty and during the night rattled in the wind. The dining room also was cold and most people seemed to be wearing coats.

    The breakfast was excellent - a wide choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially booked into a room that was being redecorated which was easily corrected at reception. Was then upgraded to a standard double in the main building.

    Location was great. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was tasty with a good selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room didn't have Wi-Fi and i was gpimg to work that night,second (as I have been moved)had a big puddle of water in the bathroom and water was dripping from upstairs and no working light in both bathroom and bedroom.Finally in the 3rd one (as was moved again)the toilet didn't flush properly. Got a full refund but overall the worst stay ever ...shame as I love Hitchin

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The book in wasnt great and the advice and instructions were confusing car park was far out our building wasnt numbered on outside, it was dark in the grounds needed a torch and being in town centre and our building was further from main building on the outside it felt vunerable .Traffic was hell

    t

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Woken up at 6.30 by heating/water noises that didn't stop. Then at 7.45 there was a delivery lorry outside my window, so no chance of a lie in. Advised staff who said they would stop putting guests in the room from now on, until resolved. No help to me and no refund or token gesture. VERY POOR RESPONSE to a complaint. No lighting in car park and not clear which was guest parking area. Breakfast had been stood for a while and was all dried up. Room not clean and in poor condition.

    Building looks great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night, having booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Unfortunately, our room only fitted 3. We were offered an additional 2-beds room, but on a different floor, so not an option for our young kids. The management claimed the problem originated from Booking.com and offered free breakfast in compensation, but this did not change the fact that we did not have a very pleasant sleep that night.

    The old building and park is a great location, although the whole place seems to be considerably marketed downwards. New buildings are nice from the outside, but inside they look like an hospital. Rooms are quite un-impressive with cheap furniture, cheap bathrooms, etc. Overall, a place that could be 5-stars, turned into a sort of Holiday-Inn without the standard features of a Holiday Inn which make them look and feel comfortable, nice and tidy...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds really need replacing. Pillows are disgusting & there was a cushion on the bed with a cover that was absolutely filthy. The toilet took ages to refill but with old buildings plumbing is not always great.

    Quaint historic building. Location for Hitchin brilliant. Staff very welcoming & friendly. Parking facilities brilliant. The Priory is just beautiful steeped in history.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    distance from carpark to priory court. I found it very difficult to carry my heavy bags that far

    Breakfast was superb, staff attentive and friendly. Lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast cooked to requirements and plenty of choice. Bar meal was good too. Friendly staff and helpful. Room was comfortable bathroom a little dated but all very functional for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window sill had dead flies on it and the exterior surfaces of the windows along the corridor were extremely dirty. The bed and pillows were a little lumpy. Our room was a long walk from the car park - not really a problem for us (except that it was raining when we arrived) but less mobile people might struggle. The room was good for the price but we were slightly disappointed that our room was completely modern with no sense of the history of the Priory evident.

    The location was brilliant!The room was spacious and quiet. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was efficient and easy to operate. The cooked breakfast was excellent - hot and fresh. All the staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very uncomfortable. if we had been staying more than one night I would have asked for something to be done about it. I was considering sleeping on the floor. The shower was also very awkward due to the way its been installed.

    The building and location are amazing, really beautiful and worth exploring. the size of the room was nice, and having your own access was a nice feature.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a building, architecturaly excellent! The room was very very special too! Location excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and beautifully cooked couldn’t fault it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information folder in room, best rooms are located in the main house as opposed to Priory Court.

    Excellent location, easy free parking ( remember to register). Nice size room with ensuite, free wifi, tv and tea coffee making facilities. Recently redecorated. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired rooms. Needs updating. Looks more like communist 1970s hotel room. Also there are no USB plug ports. Needs money spent on rooms.

    Very tired rooms. Needs updating. Looks more like communist 1970s hotel room. Also there are no USB plug ports. Needs money spent on rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food. Poor internet, was there on business so not ideal.

    The location was perfect, the bed was really comfy, the internet did not work very well at all. We were all upset that no food was being served on the Friday night, as we were not informed of this and it does not mention it in the pack too, so when we went down to eat it was a bit annoying as we then had to go out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was wonderful, there was a huge choice, the portions were generous and the quality high. This was an outstanding stay for the price. Really handy for the centre of Hitchin and with good parking. It is also a fascinating old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think it had an cistern flushing or could of been an extractor fan grumbling all night Smell of paint was strong and bathroom door was still tacky. But understand these things happen.

    Very nice beds smelled fresh and comfortable Young lady on the desk was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    3 meals were served up cold. 2 were returned as inedible and replaced.

    Location was very good, property, considering it was 800 years old was interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I stayed and we thought the location was amazing. Right outside ample of shops and bars and everything you could ever need. It's located in such a beautiful town. The bedrooms were quirky and we had a lovely romantic stay :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put into a newly painted room which had an over powering smell of fumes asked to be moved and was moved to an outside room which was clean and comfy. Went to the bar, no staff and it was very small and dated! No one was even in there drinking. Location was great as it was across the road from plenty of bars and restaurants. This place could be something special....

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the Priory a few times now. The staff remembered me and that felt welcoming. The location is perfect for the town and always feels like a home from home. The breakfasts are always brilliant and worth getting up for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No USB charger for phone unfortunately, i'd have to bring laptop to use to charge i think.

    Was pleased with cleanliness of room, hoping a bath again this time, but need to read details online, but the shower worked fine. Very comfortable and lovely staff there too, recommend staying there for others I know, great location as nearby town centre and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirt and mould. No bedside nightlamps.

    Rooms were way below standard of a chartridge venue. Rooms were dusty and dirty, mould around the bathtub. No nightlamps, one must walk over a grubby carpet to turn off the light. We took pics as proof of the above statements and feel compensation is justified. No chartridge standards at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid for the booking online, before arrival. Was then asked when we arrived to pay again, as the payment was not showing on The Priory system. It took 11 days for the payment to be returned and communication between us and the hotel was very poor. It would have been very easy for The Priory to have resolved this matter quickly, but this did not happen. Very disappointed as this spoiled what could have been a very nice stay, at a nice hotel.

    Lovely location, and facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bes was lumpy and uncomfortable, Wifi didnt work too weak. Bathroom had black mould in corners and ceiling , no information about hotel in room at all.

    Good location for where I needed to be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insufficient lighting in the bedroom (no bedside lamp, just one on the ceiling). No conveniently placed sockets for drying hair etc (there was an extension cable, but very short and not very elegant). No shelf in the bathroom to put your stuff - had to put it on the floor. Nowhere to hang wet towels to dry. No hook for your coat. Only 4 hangers in the wardrobe for 2 people.

    Nice staff. Great location for Hitchin town centre. Bed comfortable. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your greeting on arrival is someone just pointing at the machine and saying enter your registration there. We were staying in an annex which is better described as a 1970's council block. I have stayed in more attractive Travellodges Breakfast is very poor. Asked for gluten free toast that never turned up. Had to go through about 5 cups before I found one that was somewhere neat clean. Scrambled eggs are just weird.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was old and lumpy. It definitely needs replacing.

    Very central and near a lot of good restaurants. The hotel has lots of character.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated. The staff were very limited & not very efficient.

    Whilst the grounds & building are very impressive, I most very disappointed with the upkeep & decor of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not professional- when we checked in, the receptionist checked in someone who pushed infront of me first without noticing that I was there first . When I complained they both apologied profusely but a bad first impression was made . On checking out, a different receptionist just took my key and didn’t ask a basic question of how my stay was. A bad final impression !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great central location in a pretty town. Liked the historic feel, the staff were very polite, and altogether it was excellent value for money. Would stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was supposed to have been refurbished! Smoke alarm was taped up! Radiators not working, carpet threadbare, old non matching furniture which was dirty & very dusty, no pictures on walls no usable mirror only one on back of door, toilet set did not fit properly, shower sprayed out in all directions. All in all not a very pleasant room.

    The location was perfect for what we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else. The hotel is in desperate need of an update - the staff could also be better trained, it would have been nice to even get a 'hello' from the receptionist when I arrived! Instead she simply carried on with what she was doing at her PC. I wasn't told what time breakfast might be (if I chose to take it), what time check out was, in fact other than being told where my room was, the receptionist said nothing else. The room was dusty and musty, it felt as if it needed a thorough clean. The glass in the single glazed window was broken, the radiator in the bathroom did not work and the shower can only be described as a dribble. We asked the bathroom radiator to be fixed, it was not. We asked for a second room key and were told that we needed to pay a£10 deposit for it! There was a large gap under the door and you could hear other guests walking around and talking and shouting outside.

    Location of hotel to centre of Hitchin

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed - could feel mattress springs. Bathroom radiator did not work. Could not get a drink in hotel bar - one night because of private function & one night because despite ringing bell for attendance 3 times & waiting 10 minutes no staff came to serve us. No plug socket near mirror in room so could not see to dry hair. Also no plug near kettle so had to put it on floor to boil it.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had no heating and was very cold. Toilet was difficult to flush. The bed was extremely small for two people.

    Facilities were clean and location excellent. Staff were 5 star, friendly, helpful and provided excellent customer service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public rooms fine but my room was a little 'tired' and it had the smallest shower! Very hot and couldn't turn down the radiator but fortunately was able to open the window. Very few staff around and I didn't see any other guests so it felt a bit 'empty' and lacking atmosphere.

    The location, historic building. Comfortable single room. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving late the bar is already closed (at least you could offer a room service sandwich! There was literally no way to get any food after 11pm) and in the morning our request for late checkout was denied (would a half hour really make a difference to you? Ridiculously poor customer service!)

    The building is beautiful, location is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drunk woman at the bar, and wasn't told to leave, so we left the small bar in the end.

    Would have been great if had a USB cable connection plug, to charge phone. No other problems though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unruly, loud, obnoxious, swearing guests in the bar area. With the staff not doing anything about it until my intervention! Furious.!! and no apology from manager. Almost non existent WiFi, and television reception just cutting in and out when it liked with non synchronised sound and vision. Yes

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior was very dated. When I booked a room i thought it was going to be inside the hotel, but I was signposted to a building beside hotel. It was like a fold or sheltered accomodation rather than an extension of a hotel.

    Excellent location and beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hugely outdated and need a coat of paint. Paint peeling off the walls and generally felt very tired. Room 59 would not recommend staying here, which is a real shame.

    Location is fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked and asked for the cost to take my dog in the room using Booking.com at time of booking I received no reply when I checked in I was told there were only 3 dog rooms and they were in use. My dog had to be left in the car on a very cold night. The room was basic and had stains on the carpet, damaged paint and dirty bath a few dogs hairs would have improved the room.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold room and lack of heating and power shower.

    the bed was very comfortable ..yes. Unfortunately the heating wasn't working in the room and it was extreamly cold throughout the night. The bathroom/shower was quite outdated via taps though usable..there was an electric fan heater to use which was appreciated. Excellent reception help/assistance and breakfast and room change :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the windows needed replacing in my room - 47 - luckily the heavy curtains stopped any cold getting in. It's obvious there has been some investment but there needs to be more. I also stopped at the bar to get a drink to take to the room and there was nobody there. I rang the bell but gave up waiting after 5 minutes. Could be an excellent hotel if little things like this are taken care of.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold and uncomfortable.. Heating did not appear to be working, radiators barely warm. Icy cold draught from window, any heat, if any, was trapped between window and curtains. Wardrobe door handle missing, had to prise open with fingers. Very, very noisy almost as if other guests in my room, continued into early hours.

    Staff were lovely, especially Jess. Beautiful historic building in a nice setting close to town centre and local amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very basic and not too comfortable Light outside window on all night Room basically clean but very tatty

    Burger and chips............excellent Room service ..................prompt

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room amazing... so old .. classic!! Was a tad cold though as central heaters didn't work in bedroom... Electric heater was there but took all night to warm room up. but under duvet/doona warm enough . Also I can see that having central heating to all rooms the price would have to be double or triple. So good value for money.

    Wifi slow in private bedroom but that was explained in the booking as the walls so thick. Excellent Wifi reception in public arae. Bar was lovely and relaxing to do my work in the evening. Dinner and breakfast great value and good classic english meals. V Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: