Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hamilton Court Guest House

Hamilton St, Chester, CH2 3JG, United Kingdom

#33 of 36 B&Bs and Inns in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    Sited a 10 min walk from the town and was what it said on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit dated in the decoration, shower never work properly, when it got hot it just turned itself off, cobwebs in the ceiling corners above built in wardrobe. The breakfast was on the small size with one skinny sausage

    Sited a 10 min walk from the town and was what it said on the tin....Bed & Breakfast, no frills or upgrades. Price was okay (ish).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.3
    Comfy bed good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem no hot water for 2 days of our visit (but they did knock some money off for this.)

    Comfy bed. Lovely breakfast 10min walk into centre. Some great culture & loads of good real ale pubs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't take card when we got there, machine broken. No plug sockets near the bed. Small TV. Décor was a bit tired

    Great location. Spacious room. Free parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    The plants outside the property were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was generally unclean and tatty.Mould in grout in bathroom-needs a bleech spray on and flooring missing in places.Room was dusty, mirror chipped, carpet old.No cover on old divan bed base.Toilet seat coming off.Bed had no pillow protectors.

    The plants outside the property were beautiful.Good choice of clean towels, bed comfy and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    Reviews said the property was clean and the breakfast was good - unfortunately neither was true
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all of the pillows had pillow protectors - those that didn't were stained and those that did the protectors weren't clean. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and was full of dust and the string on the light pull was really dirty. As it was chilly in the mornings and evenings, we had to use an electric heater and this was also dirty and not very efficient.

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay to break a journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight complaint was the electric shower in the en-suite was not very good.

    WE only stayed one night on our way back from Ireland.The breakfast was excellent. The room was a good size and everything was clean and tidy. There was two flights of stairs to our room at the top of the house. Might be an issue for some. There are a number of good, busy restaurants within a short walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Okay for 2 days as a base to explore Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 2 was given to us instead of Room 5, the excuse made that Room 5 was not so big and at the top of the house looking towards the back. We had an opportunity to see Room 5 when it was left open and it was easily big enough and contained the facilities as listed on the booking confirmation - desk, clock, etc. - which Room 2 was missing. We had to ask for a clock and a hairdryer. On Day 1 of our stay the heating was left on and the room was too warm so we turned the thermostat down. On Day 2, in the evening, about 9pm, after returning to the house the room was cold but we were unable to get the heating (radiator) working. The room had only one opening window, centre bay panel, small at top so room fairly stuffy. The bathroom hot water took an age to finally run.

    Breakfast was good, staff had catered for our vegetarian request (veggie sausages bought in). Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    We had an excellent time and would def go back to Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit more cleaning needed round skirting boards an fan in bathroom was dusty

    The staff were lovely and friendly breakfast was excellent would stay again there are loads of places to eat within walking distant try the Faulkner but be sure to book 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    The owner was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wanted to make a cup of tea you have to move the kettle to find a plug which is onconvienant and badly laided out. The bathroom smelt damp. A little disorganised at breakfast time but was ok.

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice. The plates and cutlery were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean room,plenty of toiletries and generous breakfast, host...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired, shower a bit weak and window handle didn't work.

    Clean room,plenty of toiletries and generous breakfast, host friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    Room 1 had damp on the wall with a very large piece of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 had damp on the wall with a very large piece of wallpaper hanging off. the toilet seat was broken in half. The headboard of the bed wasn't even joined to the bed, very tatty decor place needs updating a lot. Asked to be moved the second room was little better bed was very uncomfortable with dirty linin on. Breakfast was good though. Wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend anyone staying there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Ideal for a night stop for onwards travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs decorating in some parts, WiFi did not work, no one was there to sort it out, it's not a deal breaker tho. Not sure about the 4 star rating either. Have stopped at 4 star places before so can compare with them, 3 star would be about right.

    Bed was comfy, breakfast was 2nd to none. Staff friendly, ideal for a stop over before onward travel. Mostly clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet seat was broken, but not a major issue.

    Can't complain about the price for a one night stay, nothing special but no major problems either. Value for money for sure, plus we never stayed for breakfast so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Beds were very comfortable, the host was so welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated it's in need of updating. The shower was terrible either scolding hot or too cold and constantly poor pressure no matter how you adjusted it. Dining room very dark and old fashioned. Wifi didn't reach our room upstairs it kept going off. Tv very poor quality picture. No biscuits with the tea tray ( I know it may seem very petty it's just the little things that make the stay more pleasurable)

    Beds were very comfortable, the host was so welcoming and friendly. The hotel was dog friendly, location was fantastic and nice breakfast. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Staff friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Room was clean, tidy, spacious. Good tea /coffee making things. Bathroom had plenty of fluffy towels and toiletries. Four poster bed was lovely, comfy and nice bedding, but didn't overwhelm the room. Lovely cooked breakfast (plenty of other breakfast options such as cereals, prunes, smoked salmon). Very happy with my choice of booking. Would definitely book again and recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Just not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers in the rooms were very hit & miss, even though they're electric, the shower head in the triple room was only shoulder height and the temp dial in the double room was broken. There was dust & cobwebs everywhere, the rooms, the breakfast room, the lounge. It was just a bit tatty. A lot of reviews really rated the breakfast, it was ok at best. Selection was fine, order came wrong on 2nd day, toast only toasted on one side? Wife requested beans with her breakfast which came no problem, but 1 poached egg was removed presumably as payment 🤔 The whole place just isn't good value for money

    The gent running the guest house was very pleasant and he chatted to our 4 year old which made his stay more fun.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.3
    Stay was what it was. Spent as little time in the room as possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was used to store owners stuff... boxed shower where on wardrobe and owner stuff was stored under stairs/ bathroom and shower was placed in the middle of the room... room was dated and dirty with damp and Mold in the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows most uncomfortable. Parking was limited. Needed renovations, very tired. Bit pricey for the room. Would not recommend.

    Location was 30minutes from town centre. Few restaurants close by.. like the hungry horse pub. Friendly staff. Great hot breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet seat was loose, shower head filthy couldn't have a shower. bed sheets stained. Desperately needing a huge makeover oh and to top it off a full English breakfast consisted of an egg which included a hair, one sausage a spoonful of beans and two slices of bacon. Will not stay again.

    location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper did not collect the used towels left in a heap on the bathroom floor and did not provide replacements. The caretaker / manager said their policy was not to give new towels each day. Given this, they should still have collected the discarded towels and bathmat. The bed was not properly made on the second day.

    The breakfast was fine. The towels were soft. The caretaker / manager was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Fair location wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drip noise outside our window and it wasn’t raining. TV very small. Rooms need renovation very tired looking. Bit pricey for the room I thought.

    Close to city centre 20minute walk straight in. Close to eating places Hungry Horse just a few minutes up the road. Breakfast was fabulous and hot. Bed was comfortable. Car parking at back of property or on street no problems.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Receptionist helped us up stairs to the top floor with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get a good sleep as room was very hot and we could feel the springs through the mattress in places. Many flights of steep, winding steps. Room felt dingy. Not good value for money compared to other recent accommodation. Definitely not same standard as other 4 star accommodation I’ve stayed in.

    Receptionist helped us up stairs to the top floor with a heavy bag. Breakfast was hot and tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient but not ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot. Noisy with windows open so little sleep. Very noisy outside in street for much of night. Fan like noise carrying into room possibly from another room. Steep stairs to carry luggage up to top floor. Door lock not secure. Shower temperature fluctuating. Toilet wobbled.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very accommodating to individual breakfast needs. Off road parking behind hotel. Location very convenient although too noisy at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    It was value for money
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The room was small and compact and the beds comfy but maybe could do with a little updating. The Manager was very friendly and interested in why we were there. The breakfast was hot and very tasty!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    The room was basic but very clean, tidy and lovely and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic but very clean, tidy and lovely and quiet. Breakfast was lovely and there was gluten free bread and sausages available(as I am gluten free) 😀

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    The room, bedding and towels were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could benefit from some re-decoration in some areas.

    The room, bedding and towels were very clean. The staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Miserable. We will be following this up with a strong communication. It was over priced over rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous state of the poky little bathroom, the mousetrap in the bedroom and the over all tiredness of the property. No way was this a four star rated b&b. No fire action plan, which we thought was mandatory. One coat hanger one glass when there are two people. Although we immediately complained on arrival the manager said he could not do anything as there were no other spare rooms. We were in room 9. We did attempt to go elsewhere but there was no availability in the area!! You might not be able to see the mound in the shower in the pictures but you can see the shower surround rotting away. The mousetrap was the last resort. We complained bitterly but we still had to pay the full amount!

    Only the location. The staff were pleasant enough and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Bedding was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bedroom, no bathmat and carpet smelt damp. Lots of dust and hairs in bathroom. Parking on busy road was difficult and had to park a long walk away.

    Bedding was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, host was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower either boiling hot or feeding cold.

    Comfy bed, loads of tea and coffee, excellent service at breakfast. Very welcoming to all 10 guests (on a stag do) and no attitude. We were treated with respect and we treated the place accordingly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location with eateries & bars near by, 10 min walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small in our room, ok for a small person like me but a larger person would struggle.

    Great location with eateries & bars near by, 10 min walk into town, lovely breakfast & good VFM.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice owner nice pleasant room good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine for me

    Room was really nice no worries about that and the guy/owner was really pleasant. You get your own key so can come in whenever. Really happy. Never made it up for breakfast though

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Good service and an excellent breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great and I cannot think of anything that I didn't like.

    Made to feel welcome and allowing pets was the original reason I went there. However, it meet all my expectations, the owner and staff were considerate and helpful and I would return on my next visit to Chester.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs too many. Not for my standard in terms of comfort and cleanliness. Carpet should be refurbished. Dust was everywhere.

    Close to the train station 10 minutes walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperature control was broken, the TV remote control wasn’t working. It wasn’t cheap and farther from the train station than I expected.

    It was fine, accessible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    I had no complaints as such because the food was good and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just felt that such a lovely building in a very convenient location could do with a major overhaul with regard to décor- it all seemed to be about 20 years out of date.

    I had no complaints as such because the food was good and the room clean and comfortable and as an overnight stay this place is ideal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    The proprietor was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found some of the facilities in the room which could have been a bit better. Room was not kept clean enough to our standards. Room needed a little decorating etc. We would rate this accomodation as a 2 1/2 star.

    The proprietor was friendly and helpful. The beakfast was good. Location into town centre was about 12 minute walk which was okay for us so did not have to take car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice guest house with good staff, ideal for Chester City and Chester Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't amazing but as expected for an electric shower, there isn't anything they can do about it, it was warm and wet so perfectly usable. The bed creaked a bit but bed was so comfy I didn't move much so wasn't a big problem, perhaps just needs screws tightening and will be fine. Could have had bigger cups in the room, a full sachet of coffee in a tea cup is very strong!

    The bed was very comfy. Good location. Staff were all really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down and in need of a major update!! Paint peeling off the walls and dirty, tiny bathroom. Got told breakfast was till 10am and then rude waitress told us we were wrong and wouldn’t serve us. The manager had given us the wrong times and then even still, all they offered us was left overs!!!! We eventually got given the menu choices and then an awful mushy smoked salmon and egg on a half toasted piece of white bread...I’m not fussy but even I couldn’t eat it. Cold coffee, cold everything. I would not recommend. £80 poorly spent!!

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Not a 4 star rating but was ok for a cheap overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very dated and could do with updating. Room was small and bathroom was of a poor standard. Couldn’t believe it was 4 star rated.

    Location was good as within walking distance to Chester and ok for a cheap overnight stay. Off road parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Would use again as it was value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the decor - could really do with an update in the bedroom and especially the bathroom.

    Decor could do with an update, especially in the bedroom. Breakfast was good. Got exactly what we paid for really. Room was clean and bed reasonably comfortable. Staff were helpful and there was free off-road parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the 1-hour breakfast slot

    I booked a single room for 1 night. The staff was very friendly and helpful, however I think they were totally over-booked (leaves to question why?) and I was moved into a Guest house next door (under completely different management!). Although the room was nice, bright, newly decorated, I would have expected the regular amenities - hair dryer, complementary soap, tea bags/coffee was missing. I had to go back to Hamilton Guest House to ask for those things. Also I had to go back to Hamilton Guest House in the morning for breakfast. Breakfast was very good by the way, however they had only a 1-hour slot for breakfast and struggled to cater for them (not enough tables/seats) - I had to wait for the "second shift" of guests. HOWEVER the staff was very apologetic and very friendly. I spoke to the manager and suggested to extend their breakfast time by at least 1/2 hour or even offer 2 different slots for guests to choose from when they check in. I still would stay there again because the staff is very nice and the guest house is very clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely comfy bed and good range of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a little modernising but price reflects this.

    Lovely comfy bed and good range of breakfast. Staff very friendly and a warm welcome. Was kept very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    The location was good, 15mins walking from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. The heating battery was heaping. There was a lot of dust everywhere.

    The location was good, 15mins walking from the city center. Overall not bad for the price. Good breakfast, which you are ordering on demand, so it is being prepared for you freshly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants, bigger bed, reception not open, and when we arrived we couldn’t get in and had to phone. The manager questioned our booking? When he arrived from down the road he said he had popped out for ice cream? He also said he had been trying to ring me....untrue. When we checked out we paid cash and ended up with almost a £1 in copper. At no point were we asked to sign in. In the event of a fire they wouldn’t know we were there. The same manager at breakfast asked if we were booked there for another night, he should have known that as the property was not busy. Breakfast was from 8-30 - 9-30 which was different from the times advertised.

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location, reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not great - difficult to work and the water pressure was low even though we were only on the first floor. We weren't able to turn off the heater in our room. The room was a bit shabby and old fashioned.

    Great location and great breakfast. The bed and pillows were comfortable and it was convenient to walk into the city, about 25 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    chester was nice but guest house not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i would rate this as a 2 star guest house.bed was worn out,room needs a lick of paint.shower had no control knob and mouldy sealant.breakfast very small and basic.would not stay here again.

    the staff were friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    I'd stay agin but not in room 1(very hard mattress!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for 2 nights but the first night was in a very uncomfortable bed and if we hadn't managed to change rooms we would have left, losing our money if necessary. Although the rooms were clean the decoration is very, very dated and needs updating throughout. The showers could have been better but were adequate.

    Helpful and friendly staff and clean bedding and towels and good choice of breakfast. Very good location with various bars and restaurants just round the corner within walking distance and approx 10mins from the zoo by car and less than that to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    I would rate at at about 85% for attention to detail in the bed room and bathroom.I would rate it 1
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both the hot and cold tap in the bathroom were rather loose and dripped quite a lot. The bed was not made on my second night. The bathroom door was rather stiff to open and close.

    The restaurant was very good and the service of good standard otherwise the guest house was very comfortable and in close walking distance of the railway station and town if required Thank the guest house for their overall service. I f I am in Chester again I may look them up again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed updating and the ensuite was very small and could of been cleaner, over all not worth the money we paid for a one night stay.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a little overhaul but still very clean and comftable

    Friendly host lovely freshly cooked breakfast. Walking distance to some really good restaurants and pubs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place for a short break in Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location - a ten minute walk into town but along the canal towpath which was lovely. A good selection of foods for breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic Place, Staff and Atmosphere. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The place was charming, the rooms were warm and comfortable, the landlord was friendly and went above and beyond including loaning us his own personal iron as my dress had become creased in transport. The small bar was priced reasonably and the breakfast was fantastic even especially getting vegetarian sausages for the non meat eater. The breakfast service was attentive, fast and friendly and it felt like nothing was too much trouble. I will be choosing to stay here next time I visit and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower only had two settings - scolding or cold, and very noisy after I'd gone to sleep at 11.30 'ish

    location is an easy walk to the station & town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking even though it states there is, staff are rude and the owner hasn’t got a clue what he is doing. Doesn’t keep track of bookings or requests.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Very attentive manager (I understand he's new - he'll do well if he works this hard).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy neighbours who came in late at night and make too much noise. This is not the fault of the management but it's honest feedback. Guest house is a bit dated but I understand there's a new management so maybe they'll update things. Good value though (cheaper than hotel chain equivalent with breakfast included)

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Really attentive. Good breakfast. Plenty and good choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    friendly service, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms were comfortable but dusty and not all light fittings worked so we had to take a bulb from one of the lamps to use the bathroom. The Manager did explain however that there has been some interest by an investor and therefore he is unsure what will happen with the property. It could be lovely with some TLC

    friendly service, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had confirmation of an extra bed in my double room however this was not available yet they still withdrew the extra £30 from my friends bank account without permission

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice weekend away with a short one mile walk into the Chester centre, with nice restaurants and pubs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms did not match the picture on the website paper peeling off the wall and really need of an update. Cleanliness was ok and facilities were ok but not as well as I would expect for the price.

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Accommodation suited our requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited a fair amount of time for someone to check us in... rang the bell twice Overall amenities looked dated The room would benefit from a larger tv given the distance from the bed

    Lovely clean fluffy towels Service with a smile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    It was difficult to unlock the door to our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to unlock the door to our room. It looked like it had been forced open before. The main light didn’t work and the shower control was broken so the shower was either scaldingly hot or freezing. The room wasn’t very sound proof and we could hear dripping water constantly from the floor above. Staff were pleasant but seemed unsurprised by the broken shower. No private parking although it was listed. Quite good location. Near Costa if you like that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Nothing too much trouble for the extremely helpful owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels ready for a refurb.

    Nothing too much trouble for the extremely helpful owner. Good location near to decent restaurants. Bed comfortable. Good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Simple and comfortable, very friendly on arrival and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service on Sunday morning finished quite early, although we were offered some continental options when we finally went downstairs.

    Simple and comfortable, very friendly on arrival and also very helpful afterwards as we had left a charger cable in the room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Decent B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite bathroom was a little tight for space. The hot water had run out when my husband tried to have a shower late at night.

    Very good location, within walking distance of central Chester. Quiet. Helpful staff. Good size room with high ceiling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Had a fab weekend in Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a fab weekend in Chester. Accommodation was nice however could do with an update especially in bedrooms and shower rooms. Breakfast was great, manager was really helpful . Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent host, great location,outstanding value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is full of character but would not suffer from a bit of updating in places.

    The room was lovely and warm.The staff were fabulous, so welcoming, friendly and helpful. There are great restaurants and pubs within walking distance and the town centre is also walking distance. they have spaces to park your car. The location is quiet so no disturbance due to sleep due to rowdy people leaving clubs/pubs. The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean. Very comfortable bed. Excellent service from the manager and all his staff. Thank you. Delicious breakfast. Great location . Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    The bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 10min walk to th city centre, it's a good 20mins. Very dated hotel. Toilet wouldn't flush first time. Had to pump it. Shower cubicle sliding screen could do with replacing. The room was ok but needs updating.

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Stay was spoilt by poor facilities and other guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold on first night as radiator didn't work. TV didn't work and we couldn't get anything more than tepid water out of the tap. 2nd night we were kept awake by rowdy crowd.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    It is great value for money but I wouldn't say it's a 4 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very historic building so sound isolation was not good. Can hear people talking, walking and water draining all night. It is a small business so concierge is not really manned 24/7 unless pre-arranged. The facilities are very limited within the hotel, and the rooms could do with some modernisation and updating.

    Good value for money. Very close to shops and eateries in Hoole and a short 15 mins walk to Chester train station. Staffs very accommodating and friendly. Building full of historic character in a beautiful yet traditional setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Short stay as it was just a stop-over , but comfortable and convenient. No problems at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 10 and found it to be a poor spot for the wi-fi connection.

    Easy parking, quick check-in, close to Centre and nice breakfast. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like I said, it could do with updating a little, but then that would undoubtedly make it dearer.

    I wasn't expecting much for the price, and it could do with updating, but the room was clean, the bed was comfy, the food was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.8
    Hamilton court guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean room and shower was not very good, water went nearly cold after a couple of minutes. Main radiator wasn't working even after informing owner.

    Spacious for a bnb and nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff about, not a lot of breakfast choice, run down building no parking China chipped cutlery on tables dirty, walls thin so heard other residents arguing and slamming doors

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Basic but clean. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait a couple of minutes to check in as despite ringing the bell, the guy took a little while to come out of the back, I got the impression that we were disturbing him. The toilet seat in the room was only connected by one hinge which wasn't ideal. The shower wasn't very powerful at all but we were only there for one night so we weren't too fussed. Unfortunately it's about a 25 minute brisk walk to the city centre although I appreciate the hotel can't do anything about it.

    The hotel was very clean, bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good, enough choice, very pleasant staff in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value accommodation near the railway station and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed and good breakfast served by a very friendly team of ladies. Limited parking at the rear of the property but plenty of free street parking outside the B&B. About 10 minutes walk from the railway station and a further 10 minutes into the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hamilton Court Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: