Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Bristol Filton 4 stars

Filton Road, Bristol, BS16 1QX, United Kingdom

#29 of 48 hotels in Bristol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1401 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of remodeling, decor and furniture a bit tired.

    Simple room but clean and functional. Pal and Ben at reception were very nice and made everything easy for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    The beds were very comfortable and the swimming pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer provided wasn’t very good at drying my hair took a while.

    The beds were very comfortable and the swimming pool was very nice. Lovely looking hotel just a shame about it not being closer to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked twin room and, although stated may not be possible at the time, I was disappointed when I was given a double, as my heavily pregnant daughter was joining me for one of the three nights. When I expressed this, the staff were exceptional and moved me to a family room so that she could still sleep comfortably. The kitchen provided soya milk, gluten free bread (and breakfast menu) and vegetarian sausages.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great staff and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first time in Bristol and I didn't realise how far from the city the hotel was. Was no problem I just booked a £10 uber which was easy enough and only took 15 minutes.

    Pool and gym facilities were great. All the staff were friendly and helpful and nice to leave the car and not worry about it for the weekend. The hotel was clean and our room overlooked a quiet garden with a waterfall. Our room was large and had everything we needed for our stay. Overall a good experience for our first time in Bristol.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    loved the location surrounded by mature trees, good facilities. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread for toasting/ sandwiches was bland & not wholesome. The portion side of the fish ratatouille for evening meal was a bit on the small size for £14. Staff in the evening were struggling to cope with the demand for evening meals. This was at @7.30. We didn’t get our food until around 820-8.30. The breakfast, although good, could have been hotter. I had to sleep with the window partly open due to the need for fresh air. Unfortunately my husband was woken by loud repetitive banging noises from outside at 4 am and could not get back to sleep. This might have been beyond your control.

    Spacious, clean, good standard of amenities, in lovely setting with mature trees. Loved the pool which was an added bonus. Also got a packed breakfast due to an early departure. Enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Enjoyed having the free i paper. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Last minute stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, but it was a little tired and a little cramped, not much room around the furniture. the bed moved alot, so if my husband moved in bed whilst asleep I had no choice to.

    The staff were very friendly. We got a warm welcome when we arrived and at breakfast the staff were so friendly and attentive. Chris was especially polite and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Quality Great.... Location Poor
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the TAXI company is NOT OWNED by IHG to whom the Hotel prioritises with a direct telephone link on reception. It is connected. On booking it indicates that the hotel is only a few miles from Bristol so I estimated cost of a taxi at around £15 each way... I use London Black Cabs!!!! However charged both ways £25 in all it cost 5 of us £75 just to pop into Bristol....! There is nothing anywhere near the Holiday Inn great if I was with my children BUT work colleagues just TOO expensive!!

    Having experienced many IHG hotels you get a consistent standard a good standard of service..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    We had a thoroughly enjoyable short stay, and certainly will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The Hotel provided excellent facilities. The room (we requested a quiet one) was perfect. The food was excellent, and breakfast was outstanding. The large car park with free parking for Hotel Guests was an added bonus. The Staff went beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Value for money, great location for visiting Bristol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Room was great with air con in this heatwave, also the mini fridge! sofa bed wasn’t made up but a quick call & was sorted straightaway. Location great for Bristol. Pool was nice to have & clean & towels provided. Breakfast was plenty & lots of choice. Will definitely be staying again!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Dr
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one way in from motor way .if you went out of the hotel and come back in the main entrance you simply had to drive back to the motor way round about to back back to get the entrance from the left .you can not turn right because of deul carriageway stopping turning into the entrance of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Good felt negatives noted by v good staff & being acted on by Operations manager Ben
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled bathroom huge, newly done but poor spoke to v helpful deputy manager Ben about individual points. V poor lighting in bedroom. Huge room but NO suitcase space to put on & unpack vital if more disabled than me.

    Staff professional, helpful & friendly. Food good except for "forest fruits" at breakfast were in thick sugary base, yuk!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Beds were comfy and staff were very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle took forever to boil, I had to let the water heat up over night to have my tea the next morning. But overall it was a nice stay :)

    Beds were comfy and staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Both of us enjoyed our stay at the "Inn" and would pay a return visit.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only com p paint was the fact that I had to walk a bit further to our room than was comfortable f or me that weekend.

    Facilities were as good as we expected as was the lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    perfect for what we needed
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    long walk to the room with just a ' its down there' as a form of guidance ...sadly we arrived at 9.20 and restaurant closed at 9.30

    convenient location, friendly staff , good room service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Am enjoyable experience. I recommend this hotel.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes.

    The hotel room had lots of space, complimentary bottled water in fridge and a lovely view. Bar food was good. All in all a lovely place to stay,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Decent hotel, botched booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I booked multiple double/twin rooms on booking.com, I rang up the hotel directly months in advance to specify that we would need twin rooms, which they said was fine and that they would change the booking to be specifically twin rooms rather than the flexible ones. I also rang up a week beforehand to check that we had five twin rooms booked, which they confirmed, however we turned up on the day to find that they had switched these to doubles so that they could squeeze in some last minute tour bookings. After a lot of arguing we managed to agree one extra room so that we could at least not have complete strangers sharing a bed, and the hotel gave us a bottle of wine in each room as an apology (although the wine may have gone better on chips with some salt). However it was not a great start to the weekend, and it was a shame that months of organisation for an event was undone by the hotel trying to squeeze in a couple of extra bookings. I've worked in hotels and I don't like complaining for the sake of it, but it really felt like they were seeing what they could get away with rather than admitting they'd made a mistake.

    The lake and fountain at the back of the hotel are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't quite as nice as other Holiday Inn's that I've stayed at in the same area. I was upgraded to an executive room but this still wasn't as high a standard as some basic rooms at other hotels. It didn't have a hairdryer and the room wasn't bright!

    The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, and the bar was nice. The room I had was quiet and had a nice enough view. Breakfast was nice, and again staff friendly and helpful. Facilities were good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    I had a lovely home thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing to say.

    It was just what we need after going in to the city center in the day but being away from at night. We had the windows open and we could not hear the M4

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable ,but I would hire out a car next time cause I spent a good few pounds on taxi fares .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably a wee games room for the kids...

    The view of some nice country side,and I must say the staff were extremely helpful they couldn't do enough for us,I would like to say a big thank you to them all..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and comfortable, good location, very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the sauna, I found very awkward that there’s no mixed sauna.

    Very clean and comfortable, good location, very helpful and friendly staff, and very good breakfast..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, nice rooms, very pleasant helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast - £16.95 each. As it is not close to anywhere else they think you will pay that amount - which we didn't!

    Very clean, nice rooms, very pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    Terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was nothing like as explained so I wondered round. The address was wrong. The staff were so unfriendly and unaccommodating. the facilities were unsafe and run down with wires everywhere. The value for money is not worth it. would not recommend.

    Very disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again as both problems promptly resolved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to ask for toilet to be cleaned on arrival, room was cold as we arrived during a cold spell; heater brought to room on request!!

    Nice room, overlooking the lake and fountain!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Rooms were comfortable, check in/out quick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn't the best. Breakfast scrambled eggs had no seasoning so we're bland. Sausages tasted pasty as though they had a lot of bread crumb in them. Rest of breakfast 👍. Evening meal was nice but sparce especially when you've had a busy day and not much to eat. We had the 2 meals to 39.99 with wine, but got charged for the wine and a service charge, which I don't agree with as I prefer to give the staff a cash too (which I did). Tips and service charges should be discretionary.

    Rooms were comfortable, check in/out quick. Staff polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service, from reception, front of house staff, housekeeping staff and chefs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor sitting area was a bit bare and uninviting

    I was so impressed with all staff at the hotel very professional, friendly, and knowledgeable about any questions I asked especially given how busy the hotel was on our first evening well done to everyone

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival (midnight), two dinner trays were in hallway. When we return next day at 6pm trays were still there. Smelt the entire hallway.

    Bed was comfy. Second night in restaurant better service than first night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink in bathroom cracked (room344) Ladies w.c.s on the bar not clean One completely blocked and overflowing.I did report it to Also it took ages to convert our room from double to twin although I’d booked twin.

    Good choice in breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location & comfortable - be careful of the Hotel's added illicit billing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Business practice: poor dinner - unacceptable nowadays Invoices: they got our restaurant bill wrong and included a service charge on both bar and restaurant bill which we got corrected quickly. We reward staff direct - this practice of adding service to a bill is totally unacceptable as it goes to the Company(Hotel) not directly to those staff who provided the service on behalf of the Hotel!!! Room: Toilet had a v poor flush; bathroom sink did not hold water in the basin. TV remote worked but didn't connect to the TV i.e couldn't change channels remotely! It's all about the detail and these things should have been correct before trying to extract, illicitly, more money from unsuspecting guests ! Summary: Could try harder before charging more!

    Room was large and airy - pool was warm and a decent size to enjoy it. Reception welcoming and efficient. Most of the few staff about were good and friendly. Powerful shower. Welcome addition of tea and coffee facilites plus small items in the fridge. Air con worked well and was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great stay very clean and very comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like I would stay here again if I was in Bristol

    The hotel was great the staff were very friendly and helpful the room was spotless and nice an cozy the bed was comfy and the facilities were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my stay, I would love to come again,if it was a little cheaper.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rather short for my partner, and my friend, who were both hanging out the end of them. The breakfast had an excellent variety, although, what I had for breakfast made me very ill and in a lot of pain. Think it was the eggs, as that was the only thing I ate that my partner did not, and he was fine. It was a little expensive for one night.

    Loved the bed and choice of pillows. And the thick dark curtains. Shower was nice and warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Was a lovely hote, exterior little dated but interior better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    standard rooms a little dated and limited selection of spirits in bar

    was upgraded to executive room and was very comfy, staff at bar and restaurant very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Just the one woodlouse?!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sister-in- law and myself live in the countryside in Cornwall. I booked online and then rang to specifically request a quiet room. On arrival our room was adjacent to the car park and in one the closest rooms to the dual carriage way! We were staying 4 nights and, although we had unpacked and it was late and we were tired, we asked to be moved. Our new room was opposite the function room but quiet enough. The rooms were dated and the hotel is definitely in need of refurbishment. We were welcomed to our room by a woodlouse crawling across the carpet. The receptionist asked if it was just the one! There was plenty of hot water but the shower head was in a bad state of disrepair. One bedside light was not working and after reporting this it was fixed the next day. Our mugs, glasses and teaspoons were just rinsed out I think, not hygienically cleaned. We would have preferred clean replacements each day. We thought the room was expensive at just under £80 per night with no breakfast but we booked late and the location suited us.

    Beds were comfortable. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Worked well for me while working nearby. Comfortable and functional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unsmiling reception staff throughout my stay. They didn't take my card details when I arrived so there was a problem when I came to sign for my dinner - bar staff very apologetic, but reception staff weren't and left me feeling like it was my fault.

    Comfortable bed. Could open the window in the bedroom. Quiet. Had a bath not just a shower. Public space where I could sit and work while eating and feel comfortable as a woman on her own. Bar staff very helpful and friendly. There is some nice outdoor space - but you could complete your stay with no idea it was there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable but could be more fair on in hotel prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is incredibly overpriced as is the bar. If you pay £90 a night for a room you should be expected to pay £17.99 per person for standard breakfast and the bar prices are ghastly.

    Rooms were nice and clean and great access to main routes including m32, m5 and m4.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Communication wasnt great on before arriving, however, when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duty manager failing to email the spa details prior to the visit.

    Communication wasnt great on before arriving, however, when staying there, the staff were excellent, everything we asked for, arrived within 10minutes. We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.5
    Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel facilities and servcie received.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior needs some work and tlc and the parking signs are abrasive and not particularly well explained until you get into the hotel and I hadn't picked up on the nuances when booking. Changing them to free parking for guests and visitors would be more appropriate I feel.

    I was pleasantly surprised as I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn for a long time. I had misgivings driving into the car park as it looked run down, the parking signs were very off putting and the front façade of the entrance area was faded and flaking. However, once I entered the facilities inside were to a high quality and the staff were extremely helpful and informative. My room was extremely clean and well presented and I really appreciated the extra touches - wine glasses, offer of forgotten toiletries if needed and easy to use entertainment equipment. I had room service in the evening and the quality of the food was excellent as was breakfast which was plentiful and good. Thank you very much and I'll be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    All staff were very kind and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We decided to pay a little more than other hotels to stay in the holiday in for the gym facilities. However, the gym was being refurbished. A 'temporary' gym had been provided in a conference room, however, there were limited facilities, it was very hot and water was not provided. If your gym is being refurbished, I feel that the price should reflect this or provide a discount of some sort. We had to buy a bottle of water from the machine. The rooms were outdated. The toilet in room 137 did not flush properly, the handle was hanging off slightly. Breakfast was okay, but quite overpriced for what it was. Also, on the second day, the toaster was not working so there was no toast available.

    All staff were very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    OK stay in convenient location, but hotel in need of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite cramped for two people plus luggage. Decor looking dated. Musty smell on entering the room. Breakfast quite good range but fruit didn't look fresh.

    Convenient location, quiet and reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no complementary water in room. The bedding were torn and the shower Curtain was torn and scruffy did not meet with the 4 star rating the staff was friendly

    Bed were comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    The warm receptive staff make this place memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faulty sofa bed, replacement room was a good option however the refrigerator was missing in the new room. The air con was not responsive and the rooms need tarting up. Ie painting. Although it was great having the potential to watch films the choice for family entertainment consisted of five films recent ones but just five. I may appear spoilt but we as a family would have happily given up a new film for sometime tried and tested say The Goonies etc.

    Great staff. Courteous and polite. The building was warm and having a swimming pool and gym was a boon. I personally found the bed very comfortable. Having a computer to use was much appreciated by my son who wanted to know if any new YouTube downloads has occurred. Any thanks and keep up the good work. 🙂

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location but reception staff needs improvement a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was hurrying every thing during check in as if they donot want to listen me. fire alarm went on 3 times at around 3.30 am. When called to check reason some one just picked up phone and said ‘ignore the alarm’ and hang up phone. However in morning they sent a written note for inconvinience and mentioning safety is prior concern. But both phone response and morning note seems contradincting each other. Rooms were cold and not heating up. Had to talk to concerned person to set them up though happened late. Again some contradicting information from reception and manager.

    Hotel was clean and right next to Motorway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    The Scottish guy on reception was exceptionally helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Scottish guy on reception was exceptionally helpful. I was stranded in 'snowmaggeddon' and he went to extraordinary lengths to help me get home. Really appreciated, stand out service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a very handy location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug socket by the bed. Needed to charge my phone overnight and had to do it across the room rather than have it at the bedside. As I might have received an emergency call in the night this was not ideal.

    Helpful staff, great room with lots of useful features.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Very highly recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. However, I would recommend reception keep an up to date timetable of buses going into, and returning from the city. eg. UWE Express.

    Quiet, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not 950 metres from Bristol Parkway station ,£9.00 in a cab to Fulton parkway which I thought was excessive Rooms average, look like they are having a refurb breakfast had a good choice but certainly could have been hotter.

    It was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was meant to be a luxury pick nothing luxury about the room in fact we had faeces on the shower curtain which we reported.

    breakfast was ok but had to pay extra for this

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Well run comfortable hotel with great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe slightly more dinner menu choices.

    Hotel staff were really helpful. Great car parking, reasonably quiet considering the busy roads. Free wifi. Breakfast very good, dinner ok but maybe could have a wider choice. Room clean and comfortable. No complaints at all. I will be back!.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    Hot uncomfortable rooms and bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable the rooms were too hot and for the money the rooms need upgrading Call us for a refit as this is what we do KAD Retail

    The food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    They asked if I wanted to pay a deposit to start a tab.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They asked if I wanted to pay a deposit to start a tab. I declined but they took the deposit anyway. Very disappointed by this. 5-7 working days for the money to appear back in my account.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our standard room wasn’t spacious but had all we needed for a one night stay

    The staff were friendly the hotel clean and tidy food was lovely we had an evening g meal and a fabulous breakfast the pouched eggs being cooked to perfection . The pool wasn’t hig but lovely and warm and the changing room basic but adequate for what you needed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Great but overpriced. Watch out for 10% service charges being added to food and drinks bills.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food prices were a little high, and the company clearly has a policy of automatically adding a 10% service charge to the bill. THIS IS NOT AMERICA! Were it not for the location and access to the meeting the next day, I would not have stayed here as the prices were far too high - £169 for a Wednesday night....

    Good car park, excellent lounge bar where I could work in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.0
    Dont! Dirty rooms and poorly maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    * rice under TV unit * kids sweets stuck to carpet *dust throughout *saunas in changing room so you cant go in with couples * ripped curtains * complained and took ages to recieve even a reply * told lake side view to which it was a pond! * dry urine left on toilet seat * makeup on mirrors and splashes from toothpaste Thats just some of the bits i remember off the top of my head

    Nothing. There isnt one thing that i can honestly write to fill this box. Nothing at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was quite uncomfortable and the room very hot. Although I turned the air conditioning on it did not make much difference. In the end I was able to open a window to get some air into the room.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. It appeared that the room I had been given originally was already occupied but the reception staff transferred me to another room immediately. The bar staff and breakfast staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Underwhelming and tired
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run down, worn and chipped furniture, bed not very comfy. No toiletries provided beyond a tiny bar of soap. Arrived late and thought I would have a hot chocolate in the room and get to bed. No hot chocolate, no biscuits, no frills. Small things but collectively it was pretty poor for the price. Holiday Inn Bristol Centre is way better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Nothing special an average hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The speed of the free Wi-Fi was extremely slow. To use the Internet normally you have to purchase the "Premium" Wi-Fi. Free Wi-Fi should mean exactly that... FREE Wi-Fi. The changing area for the pool is very small and could-be a little cleaner.

    Very spacious public areas. Extremely quiet so we had a very peaceful nights sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    very comfortable and great location for our visit; loved the free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too cold on first night and heating doesn't work until you set itto 28 deg or higher which isn't what you would normally do. I set it to 20 and then 22 but nothing happened. Eventually I figured it out- leave a note in the room to say it works from 28 degree setting so guests can sort it out and not ring reception and have to wait in a cold room for ages. Someone came to help but he didn't know what was wrong and gave us a heater which we didn't use. There was a terrible draught from the window in our room so the heating was very much needed and it was fine after I understood the setting issue. Fix the draught!! On second day there was no milk and I had to call reception twice to send some down as I had already changed into my pyjamas- that took 20 minutes. The maid could have left some milk if she had done her job properly. I struggled to park on Monday night as the car park was over full- annoyingly one person had parked badly using part of a second bay and I didn't want to risk parking there- not sure if you have someone patrolling the car park but guests should be asked to park properly and not inconvenience others. I was taken aback with your cofee /hot chocolate prices - even more pricy than Costa; why?? More people would probably buy more drinks if the prices weren't so silly.

    Easy check in; helpful receptionist at check in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Disappointingly basic for a price I wouldn't consider to be budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities in room normally considered standard. No water,only basic tea and coffee and very few toiletries. Expected better from £ 100 room at Holiday Inn.

    Location. Easy access from M5 via M32 yet surprisingly quiet. Nice views of grounds from window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    A very average hotel, which just about served our purpose for a brief one night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed seemed quite small, request for extra pillows, took over half an hour to arrive. Towels very thin and hard, no need for exfoliant! Continental breakfast buffet was poor, tinned or stewed fruit in the main.

    Staff very helpful and courteous. Room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head didn’t work in my room.

    I like that I wasn’t held up at the desk and I could go into my room quickly. The staff were fantastic with their service even printed off some documents for me before my arrival. Also, there was enough towels in my room... fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.0
    Uninspiring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average. Rooms too warm and quite small. Was difficult to keep the water from the shower contained in the bath due to the shower curtain. The receptionist greeting us only made eye contact with and spoke to my husband as though I wasn't there.

    In nice grounds for the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.8
    Only adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No quiet place to sit eg. lounge, Only the noisy coffee shop area Confusion over payment. Not sure it has been sorted yet.

    Modern and apart from the room spacious. Free easy parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Fine. Really good location for visiting UWE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet is not secure and google devices refuse to connect, so really hampered by work. Time for this hotel chain to put in sensible, secure internet connection.

    Room fine. Staff really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and comfortable with surprisningly good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not in the best location. You can’t see the hotel sign from the road and our sat nav missed it and it took us another half an hour to get back again! A taxi driver told us that all sat navs miss the turning. Bit disappointed with the superfood salad. I expected the dish to be packed full of good things but it was just a lettice salad, really. It needs bulking out with avacado, endamame beans, baby spinach and such like. The rest of the food we had was excellent.

    The staff were lovely - friendly and helpful. The food was surprisingly good and tasted home made - the soup and pate particularly so. Drinks and food were not overpriced. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Weekend Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was lovely to have a pool on site it was in serious need of renovation and definitely not 4 star.

    I liked the room which was a good size and clean and the free extras were lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful....cold and tasteless and self service...for 16.95 I would expect a lot more, a McDonald's breakfast as of far superior quality. It's Absolute rip off and would never go again

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Fun and enjoyable. We would stay again if we visit Bristol
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good food and service downstairs Sweet little Christmas stocking made us feel part of the festive season. Enjoyed the garden view from the window. Good gym and pool. Most respectful and polite barman we have ever met.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Convenient comfort - I'd stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room did get a bit too hot even after trying to turn down the heating but room service was very efficient

    Lovely pool. Lots of parking. Not too far from town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location, use of gym and pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was not clean, there was shaven hair all in it which was obvious to me even without my glasses on! The spoons looked dirty as well. I told the staff at the end and they just said sorry. For £82 a night I don’t think it is good enough

    Good location, use of gym and pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly clean and helpful but better signposting please!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel itself is secluded and incredibly difficult to find even if you've got it on GPS Very very badly signposted

    Staff were friendly and very helpful Food was OK

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    OK but hotel is in need of thorough refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is very tired, especially in the rooms that I saw (family and friends were staying there too). In my room the bathroom fittings were worn and in need of a thorough clean and/or replacement. Worst of all, there was a terrible smell (like rotten eggs) from the sink after the tap had been run. Presumably from rubbish in the U-bend. I had to keep the plug in the sink to control the smell to some extent at least.

    Friendly, helpful staff, good facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff - good fun, helpful, engaging
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to round the sun to get to the moon - a marvel comic antihero clearly designed the road system here - but not the hotel’s fault I presume 😬

    Staff - good fun, helpful, engaging

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    The indoor pool was great for the kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated for a 4* hotel. We only used the pool for 2 days out of 4 due to water temperature issues not being fixed.

    The indoor pool was great for the kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for stay; disappointing pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the swimming pool was smaller than appeared in review pictures and water was quite cold - the changing area was also quite shabby - all in all the sports club needs makeover and the pool needs an add on for smaller children. Hotel is ONLY for those who will have own car to drive into town, as a bit off but close to major highways. Mind you, for us the pool was a major reason to go there - as around NY there isnt much to do outdoors

    Good breakfast, albeit standard to be expected to such a hotel, on weekends and NY day breakfast upto 12 which was great, check out till midday which was great too, ample problem free parking, courteous staff - no issues in the room, infact free water bottles and candy bar as well - climate control a bit weird but ample explanation given

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall good stay for the price with a nice room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant meal at night wasn't anything special Gym and swimming pool where small. No unisex sauna, this was a shame as my partner and I would have liked to relax together.

    Great breakfast. Dining for 2 at £39.99 was a good deal considering you had 2 drinks (house wine) and a 2-course meal. There's a sauna in each of the changing rooms. Starbucks on site. Cose to Cribbs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    It was an ok stay but probably wont rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the food was ok we felt it was expensive to eat in the restaurant and the breakfast was also expensive and not value for money. It was chaotic trying to get food and on returning to our seats the food was cold.

    The staff were friendly in the restaurant and front desk the food was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: