Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Cardiff City 4 stars

Castle Street, Cardiff, CF10 1XD, United Kingdom

#26 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1966 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaos. No bread for toast and no milk in coffee machine. The staff on duty appeared very stressed.

    Location was great. Plenty of parking spaces. Helpful staff on reception. Clean comfortable room. Good bar area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charge was confusing whilst there were machines outside the hotel entrance not in car park it said which we paid for then was asked for registration at reception only to find they tried to charge us again for parking when we checked out as well as trying to charge for food we had not had that someone had charged to our room they really need to make parking payment instruction no clearer and obviously tighten up on things being charged to correct room

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient good breakfast but the room was below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed room no 622 was very small the bed was a double but this day and age you would expect a king or queen size again the bath room was very small The cables from the t v just hung down under the t v very untidy

    Breakfast was very good and the staff very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Cardiff stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated curtains were falling to bits well passed their best . Reception staff could be more welcoming .

    Location was great parking was a bonus Domestic staff were very polite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had requested a quiet room, which it was, but the bed was only a double and the one side was very close to the window and so there was no side table and it was very difficult to get out of bed. My Husband is 6ft 3" and I'm 5ft 6" so we were not very comfortable.

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast one of the best we've ever had in this Country.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Bar area was great staff in bar and reception friendly very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean but in need of refurbishment

    Bar area was great staff in bar and reception friendly very helpful excellent. Breakfast not so good no plates or cutlery not the best start to your day .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    very comfy pillows, view was good and I made a request for a fridge which arrived just after we did, excellent service, Breakfast was lovely too, nice and hot and plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Location to Cardiff Castle was so convenient being right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little small - but very manageable.

    Location to Cardiff Castle was so convenient being right across the street. It was a quick 30 minute walk to the bay. Breakfast was very good. Staff were very accommodating and professional. They had air conditioning!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable. Hotel is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No biscuits supplied with the tea making facilities in the room. After travelling it's sometimes nice to have a cuppa and biscuit on arrival. Went to the bar for a coffee but no buiscuits or cakes available. Was offered crisps as an alternative!

    Lovely big bed and comfy room. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The room was clean and spacious with a view of the Millenium...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not stay there long enough to find anything wrong with the hotel or staff.

    The room was clean and spacious with a view of the Millenium stadium. Close to the city centre and only a 5 minute walk from the main station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    Low quality price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, small, not much space for the price. The wardrobe was small and old.

    The view, the room was facing the gardens next to the river and the castle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Good in parts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking charges. The lack of toilet brush. The proximity of wc pan to wash hand basin. The lack of adequate lighting and positions of switch. Unable to find radio on TV unit. Please release £50 temp charge on Mr C Saunders room account.

    The position and location of the disabled room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Stay was comfortable and location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional bar bill was added when not used

    Was entitled to book the room at £79 however it transpired at £127 but disappointing also a surcharge was given for the bar for which was not applicable to me.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    A hotel with a good position just close to the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is so small that it is too crowded for two people.

    This is a hotel with a good position just close to the castle of Cardiff. The breakfast is nice and we are warmly welcomed by the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    The bed could have been more comfortable,less noise outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed could have been more comfortable,less noise outside our room drinks could have been cheaper and price for 2 nights is a bit shocking i will not be staying here again and i asked for a wake up call i didint get it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General condition of the rooms is poor let alone for a Holiday Inn. In poor condition broken skirtings and a damaged shower which nearly scalded my wife. Worst hotel I have stayed in and wish I had gone for another. If only the spent what they did on the outside on the inside. Safe to say we will not be going back

    Location and parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Absolutely atrocious service and facilities for a 4-star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath leaked so bathroom was like a swimming pool. Pillows too big to get comfortable on them. Breakfast was disgusting - not even smooth orange juice served.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Go to Cardiff for shopping, then have a great nights sleep at the holiday inn.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laver bread for breakfast, I bought some but for health reason they were unable to cook it never mind the breakfast was very good. The bath room could have been a bit bigger. But was very clean.

    Location, friendly staff, cleanliness of room and public area. It was my daughters 40th Birthday and there was a bottle of wine and a card for her which was a lovely touch. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. And hope to go back again soon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    For the price shocking room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea/ coffee / milk in the room Bathroom was not clean ceiling in the bathroom needs a paint For the price we paid the room was basic and not very well looked after

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is convenient and the centre is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thing every thing is fantastic!

    The location of the hotel is convenient and the centre is close to everything and the size of the room is very convenient and the breakfasts are fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double Room was quite small. Noise from road outside. Winter duvet on the bed so very warm- even with air con on cold.

    Lovely breakfast. Plenty of choice and not too busy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location, comfortable, good value and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated ...needs a refurb. But clean and everything you needed in the room.

    Friendly staff...very obliging Great location...opposite Park and Castle

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    A great place in a great location with great staff and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The screaming, screeching little 2 yr. old muppet that was allowed to roam freely in the bar for two evenings in a row at nearly 10 at night with parents that seemed to have little regard for the other guests trying to enjoy some quiet and social time.

    The food available from the bar and restaurant was excellent and plentiful. Room was really great and in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Very comfortable and clean. Staff helpful and pleasant. Stayed here before. Love Cardiff and this is a great place to stay for a weekend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was good and staff at check in desk were very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basin was damaged in the bathroom and looked unattractive. Air conditioning was icy and did not respond well when temperature was altered. I ended up switching it off

    Breakfast was good and staff at check in desk were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and size of room.

    Breakfast excellent. Proximity to castle and principality excellent. However, although clean, room was a little 'tired'.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Short stay at a Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like !!

    This is an ideal Hotel to stay in, if you are visiting Cardiff. It is centrally located, spotlessly clean, and ALL staff were friendly, professional and cheerful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    A simple and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were dated . Room fittings were also dated . Shower was small and fittings were corroded and No Bidet . No safe deposit box and No mini bar/fridge . Pillows were extremely soft ( no support ) despite requesting the firm ones .

    Hotel was located centrally near to everything. Food and Bars avail at the doorstep . St Davids is mall is about 7-10 mins walk . All Staff were very helpful and nice . Breakfast was simple and nice . Room size was reasonably big and beds were comfy .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated Prices for food and drink quite high Breakfast not included in cost of room Very noisy guest above our room banging at 1:30 am

    Good location air con

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet had problem with the flash it gave us hard time ... The cleaners only fixed the bed and didnt clean the bathroom

    The location was close to everything The breakfast was good Friendly staff Fast check in and check out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for Principality Stadium and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired looking and bathroom was very small.

    Excellent location for Principality Stadium and city centre. Train station about 10 min walk. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, just wish I could stay longer. We shall return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to be able to book a parking space but I understand the nature of the car park precludes this - I have been fortunate to have found a space each time I have visited.

    A very central location. Clean, bright comfortable rooms. Pleasant bar and restaurant area. Air conditioning, which was very welcome in such hot weather. All staff very friendly and helpful. Reception staff are very efficient. Restaurant staff are charming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room,a double, was too small and cramped for two people with very little storage space and tiny bathroom, a less able person would have great difficulty getting in and out of the bath and again no storage space. The bed however was very comfortable.

    Excellent breakfast , a well managed service by manager Loreta, who was welcoming and efficient ensuring food supplies were kept topped up and tables were cleared.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Plenty of choice at breakfast, staff really friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side but everything was in it .

    Plenty of choice at breakfast, staff really friendly and helpful, good view off the principality stadium.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Still my favourite place to stay in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a complaint, but were the rooms to have safes it would be even better than it is already. To be honest I feel secure in this hotel, but there are times when you don't want to carry valuables and laptops around with you all day.

    I have stayed in this hotel before, so I knew what to expect. It is my preferred hotel in Cardiff. I think it has the best location, well equipped rooms, a very good breakfast and offers excellent value for money. I particularly appreciated the trouble taken by Maria in writing to me the day after I booked, ensuring me that I would have the amenities I requested.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room 527 could have been better. But English people like me think wherever I go I am in tenerife or some exotic holiday place overlooking the sea,but Cardiff is a City, so it has to be different from Costa Brava or other holiday places. And it was really good.

    Beds were comfortable. Staff were very friendly and service was excellent. Facilities great. Other guests great. dinner was quality. Breakfast was top quality. Drinks were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    nice hotel friendly staff
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no cctv on the corridor, some 1 came into our room at 1045pm, my friend was awake and coughed, and they went, reported it to reception, and they said they must have had the wrong room with the room service but no knock on the door, think every hotel should gave cctv in the corridors especially hotels like the holiday inn

    nice hotel friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, lovely staff and well worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I had with my stay was that the rooms are definitely not soundproof, I had very loud people in the room next to me who were talking extremely loud all night until about 4am, so I struggled to sleep but other than that I had no other issues.

    The location couldn’t have been any better, my room had a view of the castle and bute park which was lovely too! The staff were friendly and happy to help and also recommend things to do and places to see! I had a wonderful stay and would happily stay here again the next time I’m in Cardiff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Execllent - the hotel went above and beyond for cyclists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel went above and beyond for riders at #velothonewales, which made things so much easier for all the riders, early breakfast, hydration station, the footie and the TDF shown in the bar. The rooms are a bit tired but they are clean and the staff make this hotel. Highly recommended for anyone doing velothon next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, fantastic staff, but hotel could do with a facelift
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decoratively is a little down at heel. Dark gloomy corridors, the paint work is tired and the wash basin in my room was cracked. Little things which detracted from the great service from the staff

    Staff were warm and welcoming and were able to resolve an issue with the room I was orginally given, and as compensation they made the parking complimentary.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Needs to be refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can really tell the hotel is getting old. The hotel needs to be refurbished. Not good value for money.

    The location is brilliant, and the parking (even though for additional charges) is very convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Overall - satisfied with our stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately in the morning they had a 'bus load' of young female sports people. Hence they were no room in the restaurant, but they laid tables in the bar, and the breakfast were not very hot. Or one had to wait for certain items. I realise it was a very particular busy morning and the staff did what they could.

    Ideal location to many attractions. And plenty of car parking space.!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    the road noise was distracting but not enough to disturb.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the road noise was distracting but not enough to disturb. the size of room compared to other accommodation providers at same price and similar location was very small and dated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Our second stay and hopefully not our last!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had complimentary water bottles on the second day....it would have been a nice touch to have them everyday.

    Location is excellent. Bedroom light and airy and a choice of pillows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    As it turned out ‘overpriced’ ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid‘an enormous price’ for what is now, a v. tired hotel ... Rooms crying out for a refurbishment .... unfortunately when we returned to the hotel after a concert we were in darkness due to a power cut / the roads were closed so nothing could be done about it. Batteries low on phones for torch /due concert, & glow sticks offered appreciated but not sufficient... straight to bed / no night cap or teeth brushing etc....Not what I had hoped for / expected for our fun night away..😏

    Location/convenience/ease of parking Hotel bar/daytime food & buffet breakfast .... with one exception staff proactively friendly & v helpful...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Not sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to cancel in circumstances

    I couldn't make the trip as in hospital and couldn't cancel without charge so had to pay 264 for my friend to stay one night not 2

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent fairly priced hotel. Breakfast outstanding. At the heart of the city. Staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All aspects of the hotel are fantastic.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast out of this world. Bed comfortable and air conditioning is fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location, great staff, rather hot!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our air conditioning in the room wasn’t working properly and it was an extremely how day so sleeping was rather uncomfortable. It was also expensive, I assume because it was a premium weekend - Ed Sheeran concert

    The staff were helpful and the location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.0
    Excellent location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit snug / car park could do with being smoother

    Comfy beds/ excellent location/just the job breakfast/friendly staff Suited our needs perfectly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    It was perfect for shopping and the concert in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive.

    Breakfast was great. Out meal in the evening was good. Beds were comfortable. Location was superb. The staff were brilliant - very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Served its purpose. Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rolled into the middle so not a comfortable nights sleep. Some breakfast items not very warm from the hot buffet

    location, very close to stadium which was what we needed. Plenty of choice for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not cool the room at all, it was very dated and worn out, the tap in the bathroom was unusable and the shower was either scalding hot or freezing

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, small dated rooms (shower was to small to realistically use). A few days before travelling (for a concert) received a call & told I couldn’t use the car park, woman was dismissive & only after prodding told me where I could park, I arrived at this car park to be charged £30 for the privilege. After walking about a mile carrying bags at the check in process discovered I in fact could have used the facilities to park. Unhelpful staff & way overpriced rooms ( I spent 3 days in Newcastle a few weeks prior for the price of 1 night in Cardiff). Won’t be repeating.

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Friendly helpful staff clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    The staff were so lovely very helpful at every stage of our stay, the breakfast was perfectly cooked and there was plenty of options available, the room was excellent, very clean, and the housekeepers and porters were very helpful, overall a fantastic stay in a well positioned area with easy access to the stadium and all that Cardiff has to offer, would definitely stay here again, slightly dearer than other places but well worth the money highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, friendly, quick and easy checkin and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side was when we used the hair dryer a chunk of plastic blew out when switched on

    Great location, friendly, quick and easy checkin and out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable - we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a dislike we just would have liked to have been able to bring my dog - many of your hotels allow pets but you don't? We are regular visitors to Cardiff and it would be good to be able to stay over without having to find a dog-sitter.

    Second visit - great place to stay as handy for the town. Tried to get in with our choir but this hotel is just too popular!! Book early!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    pleasant overnight stay in Cardiff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is now looking tired in both the public and private areas. The rooms are dated and the hotel could do with an uplift. Also, returning to the hotel at 11.30pm we were disappointed to see that the hotel bar was closed.

    The reception staff were very pleasant as was the lady who was in charge at breakfast. We were impressed with all the staff we encountered. Well done all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    A pleasant stay but with a refurb it could have been better. Expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in desperate need of a refurbishment. The bed was tiny and uncomfortable. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen!

    The location is amazing opposite the castle and the staff are very attentive and friendly. The bar area was nice and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    Very entral location, nice breakfast available, but the rooms quite outdated and need some cleaning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I did arrive to the hotel late at the evening at 12AM to check-in, I was told there is no booking under my name. I showed all the conformation emails sent via booking.com that I did a booking 2-3 weeks ago and it was confirmed. Though, I was told the hotel was fully booked and my booking does not exist. Taking into consideration, that my travel was 14 hrs long and I just wanted to go to bed, I was told there is no place for me to stay as I am not booked. After a long chat, I was told there might be a room for one night, but there will be no room for the next day. When I finally went into the room, the bathroom was not clean, though, the only thing I needed was a sleep after a long travel. The furniture in the room seemed quite dated as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit small and awkward getting into shower over bath as bath too high, but managed for a one night stay.

    All to satisfaction. did have a problem with opening of door each time but receptionist very helpful,given a complimentary drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    An average but comfy room. Fab location to the shops and restaurants. Ideal for our over night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite small and noisy because we were at the front of the hotel. I felt our room was tired and needed updating.

    The breakfast was lovely here, with lots of choice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location but the hotel is very dated and needs an overhaul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not change TV channels so had to get someone to fix it. It was a clip had come loose behind the TV which they new about but hadn’t fixed. The plug for the sink was jammed in the plug hole so we had to get someone to fix it. Only one packet of biscuits between the two of us,

    position to the main shopping, restaurants and theatre is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok once room situation was sorted out, but as a first time guest to a Holiday Inn not a great start!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room - small, cramped, scuffed paintwork & dingy. Surprised me - first impressions are everything and this was poor.

    The second room & the bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Exactly what we wanted at a bargain price for our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger room at the back would have been quieter.

    Excellent location for rugby ground and central Cardiff. Car park at rear of hotel, friendly, helpful staff. Lovely dining room for our breakfast and super selection of tasty food to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The room had plenty of space and the complete hotel wa clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That when I went down for dinner at the restaurant they could not provide me with a child’s menu as they didn’t have one to hand. All they could do was read the menu of the screen at the till.

    The room had plenty of space and the complete hotel wa clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location near the most beautiful park
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for a chain hotel.

    Absolutely lovely location overlooking Bute Park and a short walk from everything you could want to see. Very helpful friendly check in people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and room with warm and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist who checked me in could have made an effort to seem interested. Breakfast was a bit stale. The scrambled eggs was a bit oily and going stale. There was temperature stratification in the water flowing from the tap in my basin in the ensuite. My room #529.

    Enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn for my business conference at the hotel itself. The room was in good nic. Room was comfy and quiet. Other staff were warm and welcoming especially the breakfast/lunch host.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.0
    We had a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet too close to the bathtub also difficult to get in the shower and out of the shower I think that one day there will be an accident.

    Bigger bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The food was excellent and the service very good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't use cash at the bar at 11 at night as the till had been put away even though the bar was still open ... Strange !

    The food was excellent and the service very good !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant would definitely re-book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only critique would be that the pillows were quite hard

    I thought the room was lovely, great value for money.. and the bathroom clean and nice to use.. 12pm check out which is a luxury compared to most places.. would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and we had a beautiful view of Bute Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom layout could be improved eg by having 2 bedside cabinets.

    Staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast amazing and as a vegetarian it was great to see the meat kept completely separate from the other hot food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    was not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £150.00 for a room I asked for two single beds to discover your staff can over rule me as a paying quest that they only had double beds. now its always been my choice who I sleep with but not according to your staff. gutted they use terms and conditions on who is right and who is wrong because I never ticked the box. Cistern lever on toilet not fixed back.

    dampener on my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location, too expensive of what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn't look very clean. The matress was too soft. It was like sleeping on a water matress. No refill of thw coffee sachets.

    The location was excellent! Staff very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Small, tired room with basic facilities but some good customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the first time ever, we felt that booking through Booking.com put us at a disadvantage. The receptionist mentioned it twice when we were booking in, and not in a positive way. We were in room 521, which wasn't just tired it was exhausted, and that's still probably being polite. It reminded me of student digs - stained carpet. cracked loo, sinister looking black grout round the shower, small double bed....just very basic and uninspiring, especially for the money. I went back to reception to see if we could pay for an upgraded room but they were fully booked. Once we got our three suitcases in there was barely enough room to walk from the bed to the bathroom, and although an ironing board was provided, there simply wasn't enough floor space to use it. The public areas are ok but I would say the rooms are probably two years overdue for renovation. We stay in Cardiff quite often and wouldn't come back here - there are plenty of better hotels in equally good locations.

    This hotel is in a great location, very convenient. I would really have struggled to say anything else nice about it, except on the last night (Sunday) we ordered a sandwich in the bar. There was obviously a function downstairs which was spilling over into the bar we were in and the sole barman was swamped. He did his best, no criticism of him at all, but they were clearly not geared up for the numbers. It didn't help that a number of staff were in the bar for a social occasion of their own, and although they're obviously allowed time off, to watch them all having a great time whilst one of their own team was clearly drowning wouldn't have made me want to work there. Anyway, in the midst of all of this our order got lost and it took a while for it to get found and our sandwiches to arrive. We didn't complain, but it seems that the barman had a word with the night manager, who phoned our room later and said he was knocking the charge for the food off our bill. We weren't expecting that level of customer service to be honest, and it did actually put the stay in a better light for us, which has reflected in my scores.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room was not value for money. Not clean, towels not changed daily, no extra toilet paper given, carpet is very old and not lined properly as such a health hazard to walk on! Complementary water should be given in all rooms like other holiday inn.

    The staff were pleasant and happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: