Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Chester South 4 stars

Wrexham Road, Chester, CH4 9DL, United Kingdom

#20 of 28 hotels in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1869 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar are a little overpriced for the standard of the hotel. It’s a fair distance from the town centre nightlife also. Expect a £10 cost to travel by taxi.

    Executive suite was modern with high spec shower and decor. Parking is free with ample space, which is a rarity these days. Breakfast was very nice in good sized restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food menu limited and relatively expensive. Why do you not supply bog-brushes?

    Eco shower. Bus stops nearby to escape into Chester, if you do not have car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not an executive room....this hotel needs an overhaul...on the whole disappointed everything about the hotel was a little bit sad..sorry but won't be going here again..

    The location was fine for visiting Chester.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lights above mirrors...we women need this! Noise could be heard from corridors and from rooms above.

    It was clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very dated, wallpaper was peeling from the wall in our room. Hotel noisy during the night with other guests walking in uneven floors & banging doors.

    Great location for us as we were attending a concert in Wrexham.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was carnage. We had to wait about 20 minutes in a queue for a table to be cleared. When we did eventually get seated we were sat next to a shelf full of dirty dishes. There were dirty dishes everywhere and i had to ask the waiter twice for a clean cup. Breakfast was completely empty and people had to wait for bread, plates, glasses and food. The place was a complete mess.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfy. It was close to chester which we went into in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi kept dipping in and out. The health club was very good, however, the changing room floor was very wet! There should be someone to sweep away the water!!

    The location was good, bed was very comfortable, bathroom was large and shower was excellent. Restaurant was good, food excellent, but not enough staff on duty!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant carpet was very dirty, lots of stains- needs replacing. Swimming pool area needs a lick of paint.

    Really comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, looked like it had just been refurbished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We expected a double and when we arrived was a super king . I book singles by mistake and was changed with no extra cost . All services excellent couldn’t fault it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy if on ground floor squeaky floors above no dampening or sound proofing so hear every footstep and if drop anything it is loud can hear cupboards shutting. Hardly slept both nights.

    Great location for easy access to zoo and aquarium. Petrol station immediately next door with a Starbucks and well stocked spar supermarket.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the cigarette bins were full some of the staff very ignorant and rubbish in the garden bit

    Great receptionists very friendly and helpful very clean rooms and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to queue for breakfast, over 10 min wait, went to have evening meal, only to be turned away because the lady couldn't be bothered to set us up a table and she was rude.

    Room was OK x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed due to staff shortage which made the wait from the bar service longer than normal

    The bed was comfortable and the shower was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar meals could have been a little cheaper, that would make it more appealling to stay and dine rather than go into the city.

    Couldn’t fault it. Staff were absolutely fabulous. Don’t be put off by the dated exterier, inside was spotless. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very unorganised and we asked if we could sit at a window table to be told they hadn't had time to clean the tables, the place was empty!!! We'd been there an hour or so and chips and bits left on floor the whole time. So we were put at another table, we were not happy so moved ourselves.

    A bit dated from outside, basic but clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not ready on arrival after long journey and still not ready 4 hrs later, had to be moved. Then at midnight when we got back from show, went up to room and key card didnt work. We were not the only people who complained about the rooms, they were dirty and smelt. Overall hotel looked grubby. Breakfast was chaos very few tables cleared and a massive queue, it was disorganised and the staff were running about like headless chickens. There didn't seem to appear to be a manager in hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lovely. Gluten free options both hot and cold. Staff knowledgeable about gluten free products.staff friendly,and professional on a really busy bank holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast average cups stained and generally carpets needed deep clean, Building now dated and requires refurbishment Remember when it was called Post House hotel in the 1970,s Could do with another bar area present bar dominated by familys and football on television

    Location comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a leak. Staff were rude and miserable. Breakfast was edible, the juice and milk was always empty. They only offered one tea pot when you sit down if you were lucky.

    The pool was nice. And the location was perfect for why I was in Chester

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks and food was quite expensive.I t cost nearly £9 pounds for two normal type alcoholic drinks one and a half pints.The food was okay but I t was nearly double what we usually pay for the same type of food in Yorkshire.There was'nt quite enough tea , coffee sugar andmilk in our room.

    The room was big and the facilities good.The bed was very comfortable and the black out curtains helped us sleep longer as no light was getting in to wake us up.The bathroom was well equipped, clean and bright.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Saturday night there quite a lot of noise with children running up and down the corridors.

    Excellent comfortable room breakfast was superb can’t comment on the pool as we didn’t use it. The hotel is well situated especially for park and ride.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the check in was very brusque, no smile and not very welcoming. she appeared tired and busy. the check out was fine however.

    the room was tidy, airy and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not that functional. No central ceiling light in the main bedroom. Massive mirror but with no light above or near it and no plug sockets neat either making it totally useless. Breakfast was good although service a bit lacking.

    Good location got where we wanted to be

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of TV channels despite there being so many available on freeview these days. And the TV was hard to navigate. Leisure facilities in dire need of refurbishment.

    The staff were very helpful showing me to my room and fixing the broken window issue straight away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the room was greatly inflated because of events that were happening in the town.

    The bathroom was excellent and modern Room was quite large and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in bedrooms during day we were freezing and despite us asking twice the heating did not come on until later. Also drinks in bar very expensive

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu was not particularly attractive to us, so we chose to go into Chester to eat.

    The location just outside Chester and the room rate which represented very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen was hinged but water seeped through the wide gap and it was not easy to climb in and out of the bath. Infact I would say it was dangerous and I am not immobile in any way. Review the bath please. Also plug basin wouldn’t seal so couldn’t fill basin with water. Loo flush had tendency to get stuck and water kept on running .

    The staff were excellent and even when the restaurant was exceptionally busy they still made time to converse with guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and food area was very poor. Poor quality and cold food for very expensive prices. Only one member of staff on trying to go everything and when we sent our food back she just didn’t speak and just threw it to one side

    Reception staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found some areas quite dated and drab, and a very long walk along narrow twisting corridors to get to room. I understand that the hotel is quite old now and was told that modernisation was on the near agenda.

    very quite but ideally situated hotel. all facilities were excellent, but did not know that there was a swimming pool on site Had evening meal and both meals were delicious and very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating didn't seem to work so room a little chilly in the evening and first thing in morning. May be off as its spring but still not too warm.

    The breakfast staff were especially welcoming and happy for 6.30 in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating broke first night very cold even thoa maintenance man fetched us a heater bathroom not very clean also found dirty old town shirt in wardrobe

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t clean, the heating wouldn’t go off so was feeling extremely sick from The heat, the extractor fan was on ALL night had no sleep would Not reccomend

    Not really much wasn’t a pleasant stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices for drinks were expensive

    Lots to choose from at breakfast Bed was comfy Quiet Close to Chester city centre and Chester Zoo. Near a 24hr garage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner wasnt feeling too good after his long drive so he tried to have a lay down and was woken up to kids screaming and running up and down the corridors and trying to get into our room. They also woke us up continuous through the night. When i told reception in the morning she said ‘oh yeah, sorry about that!’ Very flippent. Will not be staying there again!

    The bed was comfy and the room was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice of quilt tog and no heating in room only air con which was unresponsive to change of temperature. A more varied menu and better tables for eating a meal in the bar area

    Beds comfortable and great shower.Liked pool area and Sauna great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room very cold was at night because the radiator wasn’t working. And the shower leaked.

    Staff were really friendly and very helpful. And the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen would not stay open so floor was soaking. A fridge would have been nice especially as my husband has medication that has to be kept cool and in a fridge.

    Rooms were a good size and clean. Bathroom did it for me, it had a bath as well as a shower and was spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    External aspect on arrival was off putting, looked very scruffy. Could do with revamp to provide better impression

    Good size rooms and very fresh modern and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window could if shut and it could if been warmer the room was freezing

    The window wouldent shut and the air conditioning was blowing cold it was freezing in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to manually change the heating

    The room was clean and had everything in it that you needed for an overnight stay. It was close to the park and ride for travelling to and from Chester

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows, divan base, door frames, doors, clean paintwork, carpet replacement in hall, outside fascade needs some TLC.

    Pillows terrible.The replacements were just the same. Carpet on Reception stairs disgusting. Paintwork very dirty. Lots of damaged doors and door frames. Bed divan ripped. Really wouldn't take much to sort these problems. The Holiday Inn we used in Liverpool was much cleaner. Breakfast very good. Pool brilliant, probably at the top amongst the hotel's we have used. Staff very obliging and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an executive double room for more comfort. And it was lovely. But possibly overpriced for what you get. You also have to walk a crazily long way to get to it. Perhaps ought to point that out to guests when booking. Luckily we are able bodied and enjoy long walks so it was fine for us. The most annoying thing was the awful loud buzzing noise coming from the radiator all night. The only way we could stop it was to turn the heat right up so we were boiling. But there’s no way we could’ve slept with that racket going on. Otherwise everything was great. Best things are the huge car park and the fantastic breakfast - including breakfast staff.

    The location was perfect for us to visit Chester and Liverpool. The huge free car park was a great bonus. The room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. Mostly the staff were fantastic. Big shout out to the guy receiving guests at breakfast - highly professional and so welcoming. The girl who served us a coffee when we got back late in the evening was also lovely. The reception staff could do with a little more training. They’re really friendly but don’t have the same level of training and professionalism as the others. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior of the building looks very 'seedy', right up to the point where you walk into reception ... then it gets a whole lot better. Every time we left the hotel, or arrived back we had to run the gambit of half a dozen smokers taking up the narrow entrance to the hotel.

    The breakfast was particularly good, with plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked a double room with a double bed we ended up with a nice clean double room but 2 single beds pushed together which annoyed me, we didn't want separate beds! And it was only my wife that stopped me from complaining. Not only that but the beds and pillows were the most uncomfortable we've ever experienced. Also the room was cold and the heating didn't work, when I asked about this I was told it doesn't work until after 6pm? But when we tried in the evening it still didn't work!

    Some of the staff were a credit to the hotel and the food was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Specifically booked this hotel for its breakfast due to staying in previous Holiday inn's on previous occasions. However we were very dissapointed when it came to breakfast for a number of reasons. Firstly when we arrived at the hotel we were notified that breakfast would be SERVED until 12am (also advertised on many of the leaflets in out hotel room). Therefore, after spending a lovely evening in some of the nearby restaurants and bars, my partner and I didnt get back to our room until late and decided to rent a couple of films due to not needing to wake up early for breakfast. We thought this was a fantastic idea due to most hotels finishing breakfast at 10am. However,when we entered the dining area within rhe hotel at 11:05 we were notified that breakfast had finished.The restaurant was bare and all of the tables had already been cleared and there wasn't a dirty plate in sight, suggesting that the breakfast had been cut short way before we even got down to the restaurant. Despite paying the extra to stay in this hotel and paying the upgrade for the breakfast that we didnt recieve, we wasn't offered a refund, not even a partial refund by any of the staff, despite forwarding our concerns. We then left shortly after and had to grab something quick at one of the motorway service stations on our 4hr drive back home, something we didnt plan when booking this hotel.

    The room was fantastic for our stay, very comfortable and spotless. Couldn't have asked for a vetter room when it came to our stay. The staff were outstanding and always went the extra mile to meet any of our needs. We forgot our toothpaste and the staff helped us out straight away with a sachet, brilliant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above.

    The hotel was fine, the swimming pool was excellent but the evening meal was below expectations. I thought I was going to have an authentic Indian curry but it tasted as if it was off the shelf from a supermarket and so was the naan bread. Never experienced a bad meal at a Holiday Inn before and this was a let-down. The breakfast though was very good and I enjoyed this very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst newly decorated and refurbished the bathroom door and main door to the room looked as if they hadn't been painted since the 80's. Odd when the rest of the place was clean and sparkling. The breakfast buffet whilst perfectly good did look like it had been under the heat lamps a little too long , and that was first thing just after breakfast opened at 6.30

    Friendly helpful staff, nicely refurbished. Good shower and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was somewhat limited in terms of classics and the restaurant appeared dark and dated. It could easily be improved with a simple make-over. The phone reception was weak and the television had few channels.

    Excellent, well-proportioned,spotlessly clean room and ensuite. Very quiet away from the busy road. The beds were comfortable and the wifi functioned well. Breakfast was very varied with lots of cooked items and cold meats, pastries and fruit. The quality of food served in the evening in the restaurant was excellent, if a little expensive. All staff were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a ground floor nr pool.we were on 1st floor.lift access only went to the restaraunt. The bed was hard and it took a couple of goes to open the door with card.the bed was really hard.and un comfotable. The restaraunt was over priced.we never ate there.the jacuuzi was out of order until sunday thats 99% of our stay and the sauna was segragated.the changing rooms had a curtain only for privacy.I changed in the toilets.people were in cociderate of an evening when noisy going past our room. Mayby a sign to be quiet would be appropriate

    The location had free parking andwas nr to the motorway and the park and ride was accross the road into town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very busy, possibly more staff would have helped with clearing of tables and avoided the waiting for a pot of tea

    Food was freshly cooked, also plenty of choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought 12.95 was very expensive for a breakfast.

    Lovely modern hotel with great facilities. Bit out of the way but only a bus ride into chester which stopped over the road from the hotel. Coming back the bus stopped right outside the hotel. The Fare was great value at 4.40 return. A Taxi cost 7.95 Would definitely stay again if visiting Chester.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price paid this Hotel was excellent value

    The staff make the difference at this Hotel; especially the older gentleman who was particularly attentive in the restaurant at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels weren't replaced, only folded whilst still wet even when replacements were "asked for" (left on the bathroom floor.) Swim towels were never replaced after first use (stayed 3 nights,) glass and drinks tray not returned to bar during housekeeping.

    Great service from the restaurant staff, especially at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators and rooms were poorly signposted. TV had 1/2 the amount of freebies channels and the bar prices were stupid £4.55 for a pint.

    Really good clean room with powerful shower and essentials e.g ironing board, iron, wardrobe space with hangers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel because of the spa but were extremely disappointed when we arrived to find the hot tub and sauna were closed.

    Very friendly restaurant staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so hard, uncomfortable pillows, hairs on bed and in bathroom sink! We had lunch before leaving in the bar downstairs, not good at all, left mostly all of it! Frozen burger bun?!

    The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly unlike the reception staff that had the “cant be bothered” attitude!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the prettiest from the outside but lovely and comfortable inside (once we figured out how to work the radiators) staff were also incredibly courteous and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor to outside could do with some improvement

    The beds are really comfy. The only thing that could make improvement is a second easy chair and a coffee table in each room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The in-room film feature did not work, but this was a very minor inconvenience.

    The staff were excellent and were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was very good. The location was good as it was next to bus stops which made travelling into Chester extremely easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very unwelcoming, abrupt boarding on offensive. I will not stay there again. I strongly object to being treated like I am doing them a favour. It’s overpriced as well. Not suited fir business travelling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long way from my room to the reception and the restaurant. Although that’s not the hotels fault

    Spotlessly clean as always. Good car parking. Friendly staff. Excellent café the service was first class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The door rooms are a bit noisy when closing, surely due to the key locking system

    The breakfast is good. The staff is great and the service is really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff a little too eager to clear plates before we had finished with them! But they were very helpful.

    Room and bathroom were excellent and very comfortable bed and pillows. Was very warm and clean and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed due to illness. I booked at lunchtime but didn't know this until I returned to the hotel at teatime.

    Staff member in the bar was super, he was very busy as the restaurant was closed but he was friendly and looked after me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maze like corridor when we were at the back of the hotel. (Only because I had one too many brandy’s) 😄

    Polite friendly staff, nothing was too much hassle. Amazingly clean facilities. Food and drinks reasonable priced. Room backed onto a field so no traffic noise, bed comfy, shower powerful. All round great nights stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was overly priced. The staff had to helpful not by choice. The rooms was too overly priced for what you got ( we had a door that wouldnt lock due to failure of the card swipe lock, the bedside lamp was broke and the standing lamp the shade was falling off that too) for the amount we paid overall and the service we got was awful. Will not be staying here again.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor finishing. Door edging unfinished. Minor finishing touches need to be completed.

    Excellent staff-approachable,friendly team for whom nothing was too much trouble. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Staff friendly.

    Great location next to the Park & Ride. Also easy access to local buses and A55 to Chester zoo and Cheshire Oaks shopping and food outlets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place didn't from the outside look like a hotel whatever. The room had cobwebs and weren't that spacious for the price. I thought to be honest it was overpriced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel corridors very shabby, cleanliness of room poor, walk to the room long,noisy children running up and down the corridors also charged twice for our stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a double bed when booking but got given 2 singles and to be told at check in that it was only a request through booking.com The pool area was very run down (paint work) water pipes in the room made a loud noise at 4am in the morning plus the floor boards in the room above need changing

    Staff very pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was far too busy for breakfast run out of glasses for the juice many times

    Staff were amazing some of the nicest I have met in a long time. Unfortunately had some ignorant people in the room next door who woke us up at 5am being loud so we ended up checking out at 6.20am!!!! Not the hotels fault though and I am sure if we had complained they would have sorted it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of a upgrade plus maybe ipads in the lounge ( like McDonald's) area for the children or some kind of game system

    Swimming pool and the beds were very comfy and the lounge area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit far from shops but the park and ride over road is cheap enough to take you to centre and back ideal if you were a driver

    Loved the pool sauna and jacuzzi

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: