Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. West Midlands hotel reviews
  4. Birmingham hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-Snow Hill

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-Snow Hill This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1 Snow Hill Plaza, St Chad's Queensway, Birmingham, B4 6HY, United Kingdom

#34 of 76 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4194 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    8.3
    Lady on reception was super helpful making changes to and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upholstery on sofa bed stained, and some marks on carpet.

    Lady on reception was super helpful making changes to and reverting my booking due to hospital plans changing. Shower is ace and bed super comfy!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Pleasantly surprised
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV was difficult to switch on and off- only a minor criticism! No biscuits with the coffee!!!

    Really comfy beds and pillows Modern decor Clean Lovely bathroom and powerful shower Decent hairdryer and placement of mirrors Very helpful friendly staff No noise from corridors etc. Reasonable choice for express breakfast

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    5.4
    did NOT enjoy my experience due room being cold , needed a taxi but vwery awkard to for taxi to pick
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was stone cold then moved to another floor 13 to another room but had to ask for a heater. don't expect to £340 and get this kind of treatment

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    7.9
    It was a disappointment we were given such a bad room initially, smelly and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first room we were given was dirty and smelled of some type of cleaner, had to go back to reception to get a change, our daughter was put in a disabled room, nothing wrong with it but unusual to be given one. , bar is not great, poor selection and ran out of beers. breakfast mediocre. check in is appallingly slow!!!!

    room was comfortable, bed linen nice, good shower facilties, staff friendly,

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.2
    Ideal for a business stay but would not eat evening meal here again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was dull, no tomatoes or mushrooms to go with hot options. Dinner menu very limited and not very tasty.

    very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    5.4
    - The thermostat didn’t work in the room I was given meaning it was freezing. - After finally been
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - The thermostat didn’t work in the room I was given meaning it was freezing. - After finally been given a new room, it was lacking with toiletries which was very disappointing and again took a long time to rectify - Breakfast was also cold and not very appetising

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    Nice hotel but a fair walk from the city centre
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gym was a total let down: the only treadmill and one bike was out of order both days I used it and the equipment was old and dusty

    Nice hotel. Breakfast was included but a bit limited on the hot options

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.6
    Met my requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower off/on handle is faulty. Struggled to turn it off after use

    The staff in particular ‘young lady’ who delt with me was very polite & helpful

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Bed was comfortable, chose of two different size pillows, I always bring mine own,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More wholemel bread or rolls, being a diabetic, only white rolls offered or seeded bread,

    The room had everything we needed and the buffet breakfast catered for all

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    9.2
    Clean, stylish and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows didn’t open. No biscuits on tea tray. I rang down for toothpaste to reception and no one answered.

    Clean, stylish and spacious. Lovely big shower.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    6.7
    Some of the staff are lovely and others are terrible you...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park even with a 50% discount is very expensive. The breakfast times finishes at 10.30 on weekdays which is to early.

    Some of the staff are lovely and others are terrible you have to be Lucky who’s on shift !

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    7.5
    Great location for Birmingham Children’s Hospital where I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit dirty (paper on floor when I walked in, streaks all over bathroom counter top. Sofa bed dirty, worn and mishapen, seemed very old!

    Great location for Birmingham Children’s Hospital where I was doing a course. Decent food in restaurant. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    4.2
    Definitely never stay here again 😡
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was poor. Heating not working in room. Selection of food was poor. Staff shortage, as a budget hotel we paid far to much for what we got in return. On a scale of 1-10 I’d give 3

    To be honest nothing really.. definitely wouldn’t stay here again

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.2
    Great location for the city centre and not to far to walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed didn't seem as comfortable as it was the last time we stayed a year ago.

    Great location for the city centre and not to far to walk to some great shops and restaurants. Fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent location for the City Centre
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner in the room was noisy and we had to turn it off over night even though it was quite cold in the room. The mattress was very soft and dipped a bit towards the middle. The Car Park entrance next to the hotel could be better signposted from the main road as we missed it and had to drive around.

    The room was clean and well laid out. The bathroom was particularly nice. There was lots of choice for breakfast. Excellent location. Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    9.2
    Lovely pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How clean it was and the bed was very comfy

    Lovely stay was very happy with everything. Me and my partner came for a night as it was my birthday and the room was a lot bigger then I thought it was going to be, The bed was so comfy, the breakfast was lovely lots to choose from. definitely would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    2.5
    I paid for the hotel at the advertised amount and was in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I paid for the hotel at the advertised amount and was in a bit of rush so I was unable to argue points as to why that booking should stand but nonetheless disappointed

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.8
    Basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold and the heating didn't work properly. The TV worked intermittently. The sofa in my room was dirty (had lots of stains on it). Breakfast was very very basic and not great quality. Check in was very long as they were unable to locate my booking. This delay meant that I had 5 minutes before they stopped serving meals in the restaurant. I was then told that I was unlikely to be served as the cook had left the kitchen. I had to order from the 24hour menu instead.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    8.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too cold in the room and it seems as if the heating system wasn't working properly as it always defaults to 19 celsius after a while.

    Breakfast in the money means that I don't have to worry about that aspect anymore.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    8.3
    Clean modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disturbed and terrible night sleep due to Hearing next room flush toilet and hearing really loud water moving through pipes in walls all night! Staff dismissed our complaint saying it’s the air-conditioning system. Plus the pillows were really hard. Premier inn have got pillows just right

    Clean modern rooms. Excellent breakfast and great value

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    10
    Nice facility with a very reliable staff.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    The Staff was extremly helpful and changed my reservation, which by my mistake was booked for the next night. They were very nice and polite giving me a lot of personal comfort.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    Great stopover ,staff welcoming and friendly, lovely room,comfy great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Met our needs ,nice stay

    Staff welcoming after traveling through snow from home arrived late ,lovely room comfy bed ,good breakfast ,would definitely call in again as a stopover to and from Leeds . May even give the one in Leeds a try .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    7.9
    Short stay was made comfortable with a good room, good view and a warm reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised when I called room service for cutlery and I was instructed to go down and get it from the breakfast lounge. It was quite contrasting to the check-in experience. I am not paying for a room in a 3 star hotel to be instructed by the staff to go fetch my cutlery. That disappointed me quite a bit. Additionally, staff at breakfast were rather flustered and the chaos in the kitchen was evident because most of the hot food had to be waited for (almost 15 minutes for the sausages and bacon).

    Unfortunately, I was quite tired to notice the receptionist's name while checking in, but the check-in process was rather pleasant. We were asked for our floor preference and were also given all necessary details about the check-out process and breakfast. The room itself (1601) was clean with a comfortable bed and sofa.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.6
    The stay was great, and if I come again I will surely book this hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't have a small fridge in the room. My son takes eye drops and i had to use one new every time (usually i put it in the fridge from morning till evening). The tea and the milk that we had in the room weren't replaced.

    i requested a bigger quilt because my sons were sleeping on the sofa bed and we came back the quilt was there. great location and service. we needed a cab for the next morning and the receptionist phoned immediately. We had an appointment at the Birmingham Children's hospital, and it was very comfortable for us since it 5 mins away.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a bit lost while looking for a place to park and nobody was answering the phone at the hotel so I had to walk there and then I had to wait for everyone in front of me to check in just to ask where to park our car - they say Private Parking is available. Eventually it was a park place next door that we had to pay in full in order to park there + the place in front of the hotel where you're supposed to drop off your luggage was occupied by two parked cars so we had to drag them all the way from the parking place. At the check in they gave us the wifi name for which no password was needed but they didn't explain the process we had to do to connect so when we called from our room to ask for instructions they asked us to go down to the reception again to set it up for us.

    Hotel was close to the city centre so we didn't have to drive there. Room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and breakfast was very good, combining both, english and continental.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    6.3
    Not great, was hoping for better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fan in the room was incredibly noisy and kept me awake for most of the night. The meal I had in the evening was extremely overpriced for what is was (paid £1 for cheese on my burger, and it was only a single slice of American cheese) and extremely hot on arrival, almost like it had been in a microwave too long. Breakfast was stale and the selection was quite poor.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    7.9
    Very comfortable beds and lovely showers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mini gym - half of the equipment was out of order Evening menu - not much choice for a vegetarian or healthy option

    Very comfortable beds and lovely showers. Rooms very clean. Good range of food for breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    5.8
    Short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was freezing and the heating system didn’t do much. I chose the hotel for the size of the room and sofa so I wouldn’t be confined to the bed - the sofa was covered in stains and was quite filthy. The room overall was run down.

    The location was very good and the shower was good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.8
    Sunday night in Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NCP car parking expensive at £14 for overnight and that’s with a 50 per cent discount

    Great location, great view over the city! Late checkout as a IHG member

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.6
    But all in all fantastic place and special thank you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not a lot of toilet roll when we walked in if im honest.And there seemed to be a issue with the bed rolling forward so the pillows would drop down behind.

    But all in all fantastic place and special thank you to Brandon again for helping us out.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very uncomfortable . Breakfast was poor 3 coffee machines non working so no coffee !! Parking was a headache Room layout not good tv too small Rooms were basic Wouldn’t return or recommend

    Staff were friendly . Book in was quick

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    in birmingham for a concert and knowing we had a nice room and bed to go back added to our enjoyment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    only stayed for one night but nothing we didn't like

    everything exceeded our expectations staff were friendly and very helpful, room clean and lovely bathroom and shower, will definitely stay there again if we in Birmingham anytime in the future

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    Great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place to stay. Brandon on reception was highly professional and friendly and gave a seamless check in. Good location and perfect breakfast. Would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    The masses of positives outweighed the minor negatives and WE WILL BE BACK!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sausages were a bit undercooked and taste wasn't pleasant. Only 1 coffee machine was working. No toiletries. And the telly wouldn't come on.

    Food was good. Bar prices reasonable. Lovely room. Lovely staff. Amazing shower

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    7.5
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was too soft and the shower was not a power shower hose was faulty

    I loved the breakfast bacon I liked the contempery room was nice and. The room was nice and warm

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    3.8
    Very disappointed for first time using holiday inn could learn a lot from premier inn
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpet was wet by room door. Room was cold and just felt grubby sofa all stained. Not clear where to park with roadworks stressful to find. Booking.com thought car park included first time ever had to pay for parking with hotel made it very expensive. I parked at 10pm had to walk through deserted car park couple of mins walk felt very unsafe as a woman on a Saturday night. Basic reception area very high rise building had a room on 23rd floor! Receptionist not very friendly. Brother in icu Birmingham hospital reason for stay didn't have breakfast as hotel didn't seem clean.

    Wouldn't eat breakfasr

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Very happy with every aspect of my stay. I will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was fabulous

    The staff. They were so helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were very clean & comfortable. The beds were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    6.7
    Not impressed with the area manager or breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were accused of smoking weed, which I explained was not true and charged £100 without any notification. If I hadn’t checked my account I wouldn’t have been non the wiser and when I spoke to area manager he was really rude and offered no solution just that the room couldn’t be used.

    The initial staff I met were so nice and gave us complimentary drinks for my partners birthday

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    7.5
    Really enjoyed the stay but was a bit disappointed with the inclusive breakfast on the Sunday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very well restocked. We were left with only 1 towel and cleaning clothes were left on the floor in the room

    The bed was very comfy and the shower was excellent

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    4.2
    Fair for one night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom dirty in places. Sofa bed covered in stains. Bits on the carpet in places. Noisy all night could hear conversation and TV from other rooms. Food was awful in evening. Didn't ask reception to change rooms as was already unpacked and just wanting to sleep by time I noticed. Reception particularly uninterested in the morning.

    Breakfast was OK. Carpark nearby was very good. It was cheap.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.9
    Pleasant stay, chill in the rooms,few options at breakfast but ok for 1 or two days, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in the room was no more than 19 C. Even you set the thermostat at a higher temperature after 15-20 min it jumps back to 19. So basically in the room was a constant temp of 19. My colleague has the same problem with the same @response @ of the system.

    The room has all basic facilities necessary

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.9
    The place is advertised as serving hot and cold food all day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is advertised as serving hot and cold food all day but in reality nothing was available till 6pm. Coming down to eat with two 4 year olds to be told that is not good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.6
    The staff,food and facilities were excellent and well...
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in the room was playing up but otherwise all was good

    The staff,food and facilities were excellent and well located if you have a child in the Birmingham children's hospital ( god forbid) Not too far to walk to the Bull Ring. Taxis are ok but expensive if you are stuck in traffic. Personally,we took the train there anyway.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing quiet and friendly would recommend highly
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were super friendly food in down stairs restaurant amazing, very comphey bed only thing I would say is to put instructions above the electric supplie exsplaing to put your key card in the slot to turn electric in your room on but other than that great

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    7.9
    overall nice stay and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    sofa bed was not working in two of three rooms we booked and staff told that technician not around.thogh in booking.com it showed that sofa beds are available.very bad breakfast ,nothing to talk about.everything was cold.

    spacious rooms.staff friendly.location ok not great though.we requested extra quilt for children and were given.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    7.9
    Perfect spot for a get away in the city centre, close to transportation and shops.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been more choices for breakfast, never the less, it was fine. Although I liked my room, the kettle and cups were not clean, but everything else was nice.

    The location was excellent. Not far from town city and ease of access to buses and train station. Hotel staff were friendly and I had the opportunity to leave my bag, after checking out and collect at a later time.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    4.6
    Unacceptav
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was working. The heating , the tv set, the telephone werenot working. They changed the room and it was the same. On departure they charged my credit card 26.85 i dont know for whar reason! Completely incompetent! I gave them a parking ticket to validate, they topd me i get 50 % off but no it didnot work I payed the whole amount! Completely liars ?,! Unacceptable Never again Acceptable!

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    8.3
    Ok quality for money
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the breakfast, only eggs, beans, sausage and bacon. Another thing i didn't liked was the cleanliness, hair from another person on the towels, dirty carpet, bed isn't comfortable because they keep trying to protect the mattress and with 2 covers you fill like sleeping on a duvet.

    I liked we stayed at 16th floor, nice view.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.2
    Very comfortable and worth coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we didn’t like at all 😊

    Excellent food. Beds were very comfortable. Brilliant location only 5-10 minutewalkfrom the centre of everything ie shops, restaurants, museums etc. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent. The Bull Ring Mall and station is within walking distance, and there are various food places and supermarkets within a few minutes. The staff was exceptionally good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.3
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unfortunate to have a group in the room beside us that decided to party through the night. The staff in fairness dealt with issue when brought to their attention in the very early hours!

    Staff very friendly. Great system at breakfast and easy to manage with young children. Great location for access to transport and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, excellent service and a very comfy bed! Would stay again :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV was difficult to work initially (I'm not very good with technology!) but fine once I got used to it. Used the gym facilities but was disappointed that some of the machines I wanted to use that were out of order. Also, beware coffee drinkers, it comes out of the machine scalding hot so if you are in a rush add some milk.

    After checking in I found that the TV didn't work, the staff made every effort to fix it and moved me to another room when this did not work, I did not want for anything during my stay and nothing was too much trouble. The room was big, the was bathroom spotless and the best thing of all was the bed! Comfy but firm and difficult to leave each morning for work! Good choice available at breakfast and the location was great; a short walk from the restaurants, office and train station (Snow Hill). I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.8
    All to brief, but good fun and staff were really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car arrival was somewhat poorly signposted although heavy rain may have hindered navigation. The main problem was finding the hotel entrance after exiting the car park on 3rd floor. Better signposting would have been useful. Breakfast was hectic, which is not a problem, although staff were struggling to keep hot buffet stocked.

    Super shower and high floor view. Great atmosphere among reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.5
    Slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having ordered a room for 2 plus a ten year old the sofa bed had not been made. When we pulled it out all that was there was a stained quilt with no sheets or pillows. My 10 year old granddaughter wrote a letter that she left in the room with our address with what she saw as her concerns. No response has been received. The Sofa was also stained.

    The room was reasonably sized the facilities good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    5.4
    The staff are the only thing that saves this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are filthy! Stained sofas in both rooms we used! We had what sounded like an airplane engine for air con in the bathroom, changed rooms only to find another stained sofa and when we got home from a night out we realized we had no duvet! Absolutely amazed we called reception and the poor girl had to set her the entire hotel for over 20min to find one! Meanwhile I’m freezing in my pj’s! Fire drill was an absolute joke! 15min waiting for staff to guid us from assembly point then got fed up waiting and walked in to be told flippantly nah just a drill! There were still People with children left standing where we were so I told them to get a staff member to the exit point!

    The staff are the only thing that saves this place! I didn’t complain again as they were all so cheerful and lovely to talk to but the hotel itself is not up to standard!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Chilled weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Last year we could get a hot drink anytime. Now it is limited to breakfast or in the rooms. Sometimes it is just nice to sit a people watch with a cup of coffee.

    We have stayed at this location a year ago. It is clean friendly and in a quieter location but great for catching the train an easy to get to the hot spots.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.4
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Allocation on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room changed 3 times due to no heating and room stinking of cigarettes 3rd room phone didnt work no heating no remote control Breakfast is absolutely awful bacon u can use as a knife its that hard

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.4
    Location.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The central heating in the room was not working . Two portable heaters provided but did very little. Changed rooms . Similar issues. Room very cold. Sofa bed was not made in the second room despite request. Phone not working which meant frequent trips downstairs to reception. I am a repeat guest but will have to try another hotel especially if visiting during winter.

    Location. Most staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    6.3
    Disappointed this time round
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have used this hotel several times before with no problems, but on this ocassion the room fell below standard. Heating was temperamental. Weather was cold and heating did not warm up the room sufficiently. I was awoken half way through the night as it was freezing in the bed due to the heating. Carpets and the throw on the bed were very stained.

    Reasonably cheap as was booked several months ago, and close to all public transport, and shops.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.5
    Comfortable, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast, too busy, lots of queues on the first day of our stay, would have liked more fresh fruit, and a little more variety for the cooked breakfast

    Friendly staff, clean room lots of fresh towels

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    5.8
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would prefer a Premier Inn. The hotel and experience was below expectations albeit the staff were great the building furbishment and fabric was not aligned with the price point.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.8
    Just a Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stay! The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The facilities are great with the filling breakfast a good start to any day. The restaurant meals are very good, with a broad selection on the menu. The rooms are very comfortable and the internet is good. The off-site paid parking is not so convenient, however is minor inconvenience by comparison the advantages of this venue. A big "Thank you" to Dean (Manager on shift) who went above and beyond to assist us after check-in, and the fact he is a Villa fan was a bonus! Would definitely recommend this establishment, and certain to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    5.0
    Unpleasant experience in a Budget hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very cold at night despite the air condition. I had to request another mobile heater to keep the room warm. False fire alarm at 12.00 am created panic for everyone There was no hot water in the morning on my second night (could take a morning shower with the ice freezing water). The staff clarified that the boiler has gone off. The room was noisy with thin insulation. My sleep was disturbed by the noise from the traffic in the toad and people arriving late making noise in the corridor

    Good location close to the train station and the city centre. Check in was very quick and the reception staff were helpful The room was specious and the towels were good size and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.6
    Cleanness, quite, and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast time was so early especially if you are on holiday you would stay up late and not be able to wake up so early for the breakfast I wish the time was a little extended

    Cleanness, quite, and location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.5
    The room was ok but had little sleep being so close to lifts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was ok but had little sleep being so close to lifts also when people using toilets you can hear it flush through the pipe work and shower also no soap in shower dispenser nor the sink soap dispenser

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.1
    The location is excellent for what we needed and only a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I stayed there was no heating and the tv didn't work

    The location is excellent for what we needed and only a short walk into the city centre. Great for site seeing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    6.7
    It was new and clean what more can I ask for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating had broken in Jan and was freezing all night. In fairness to staff it was a super busy night so I couldn’t get hold of anybody to ask them to fix it.

    It was new and clean what more can I ask for. The pictures on site are to true to life. Loved the bathroom

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had stayed here before (couple of years before) as a family and found it nice and comfortable so decided to book again during our visit, but we were let down by the unfriendly staff and horrible sofa bed. Couple of things definitely need improvement: I had made reservations through booking.com and specified sofa bed (as a family of 4) but was given a room without sofa bed. I called reception to check if someone would come over to make sofa bed and I was told of no request about sofa bed (though I have in email) and abruptly hang off call, I called them back again and without basic courtesy was told they are moving us to room next door which had sofa bed. But the sofa bed was worst I had ever slept on. Morning breakfast was cut short at 9:30 though it’s Saturday, manager or who looked after breakfast was far from being friendly as she locked the juice machine even after seeing us waiting for juice( rude at its height), as it was holiday period and Saturday, no one is going for business so no point closing breakfast at 9:30 - highly inconvenient hotel. It’s not FREE breakfast but inclusive of what we have paid. PLS CHANGE YOUR ATTITUDE STAFF AND MANAGEMENT

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.0
    Ok but not good for value of the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was near to the main door of lobby, whenever the lobby door opens, somehow it was creating a push to our room door and the sound was coming. This happened several times during night which was very disturbing. No heater, though AC was there and maximum temperature was 25, I don't think it was working. We were feeling very cold. No toiletries present.

    Check in was quick, ambience is good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    3.8
    It was just a room to stay at night.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff specially on arrival,was not polite, reluctant to give information about facilities and parking, answered questions with flat tone, TV was not working and could only manage next morning. Was left on our own for everything.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, nice receptionist,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Problem with setting the heating, only 2 cups for 3 people in the room, one teaspoon, our room wasn’t ready when we turn up at 3pm

    Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, nice receptionist, breakfast was very good for money value

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.6
    Would come again. Cleaning needs to be looked at in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpets were nit hoovered prior to staying in the room. Same as last stay. Although beds were made no dusting was done. Still crumbs and stains on tables. Sofa bed ha stains

    Breakfast was nice Rooms were nice Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Excellent will stop at snow hill again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike as far as I was concerned

    Helpful staff.asked for quiet room as working nights the staff were very helpful in organising that for me.Did’nt hear a noise throughout my stay had two good days sleep.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    8.3
    Watch out for the car parking charges at £14.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car Park Charges Rude Cleaner Lift kept breaking

    Watch out for the car parking charges at £14.00 a night and that is half price! Room was quite small considering we were staying four nights, the breakfast was lovely and I couldn't fault the hotel staff on reception who were really friendly andf accomodating aside from the cleaner who kept knocking on the door on the last morning despite the clear sign "No Housekeeping Required" when we had late check out booked until 2:00pm and when we told her that she was furious and rolling her eyes. Aside from that for my first visit to Birmingham i would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    7.9
    will stay again but would need the above criticisms to be looked into please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The croissants were hard not fresh, the bed/mattress needs changing as there was no support as we both rolled into the middle of the bed. I have stayed here in the past so was disappointed that this time was not as good.

    the staff were friendly, free paper. rooms were good.

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: