Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village 3 stars

Sale Way, Leigh, WN7 4JY, United Kingdom

#1 of 4 hotels in Leigh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1049 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great!

    Location was great for where we needed to be. Room was bright, clean and spacious I don’t normally sleep very well in hotels but I had the best nights sleep whether in a hotel or at home, in a very long time. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our phone and computer security said WIFI security certificates needed updating so difficult to logon

    Stayed for the IM Bolton race so think the price was more expensive than usual due to popularity of event / proximity to swim location. But apart from the price paid, the hotel far exceeded expectations: room, staff, food, cleanliness etc all good. Had some issues getting on WIFI but other than that all great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    good budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is tipicaly english, just bacon, saussages, eggs and beans... and if you are not fan of this you will stay hungry, no any cheese, some salami, nothing....

    BUdget hotel good for my business meeting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Very short but enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous occupants of the room we were allocated had managed to get some sort of drink halfway up the wall and hadn't been cleaned up.

    Very friendly staff and very good value for money. The breakfast alone was worth the stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Arrived early for a wedding to see if we could check in and we could excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to twin when booked a stand room when it said standard double

    Staff very helpful , change room no problems , break fast was lovely hot self service . Very clean and comfortable would recommend . Ideal location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Last minute booking to see newly married couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked EVERYTHING!!!!!

    Booked a room on line went the same day welcoming staff at reception surprised at the room size 10/10 for cleanliness. Breakfast area was relaxed and the choice of food was excellent and was cooked to perfection.No problems with anything at this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    On our arrival we discovered that there was a Lionel Ritchie...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our arrival we discovered that there was a Lionel Ritchie concert that night and parking (for that night) was problematical. Other than that our three night stay was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    Hotel next to the venue I was visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking was for 3 people when we got there they said only 2 could stay in the room however I did recieve a call when I booked in February saying they would make a bed up . I was so upset I didn’t quibble about the payment which had taken in consideration for 3 people I don’t like to argue very sad

    Hotel next to the venue I was visiting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink was broken. Not the end of the world and Im sure it would be sorted straight away.

    We were there for the Lionel Richie concert. Lots of lovely little touches to make the stay more enjoyable. Lovely helpful staff, great breakfast, room was nice and clean, can't really fault it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place, just a bit far away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Can't complain as was last min but cost £60 for a single taxi which cost us £240 over a period of 3 days on travel alone

    Great food. Nice environment. Quality was nice JD very hygienic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Sleepless night!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all in a room on 1st floor straight above the smoking area outside so my room stunk of smoke and could hear people talking loudly! Then placed in another room at the back next to the motorway and couldnt sleep for the noise of traffic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Everything was fine for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we heard no noise, my daughter who was staying in a room at the back of the hotel, was disturbed by loud music from a party which continued until 7am! This was quite unacceptable.

    Everything was fine for us. We didn't hear any outside noise in the room which was at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant experience, would stay again and would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one minor grievance, although breakfast was good, only scrambled eggs available, would have liked poached.

    Pleasant arrival at reception, helpful. Room spacious clean and comfortable, great walk in shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Good for quick stay/ lots of parking
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for two adults and two children but only one duvet for all of us. No fridge but we’re have little safe that any one could currying it away if could get in side the room.(hope less) No toiletry Smells of dam in showroom Barman look very tired.bress him!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Unfortunately not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor kept disconnecting and when I tried to call reception the phone wasn’t working. I tried to call externally but no answer either. I had already showered so didn’t want to go downstairs. I couldn’t use the air con as it was very noisy

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Work trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly further from town than convenient but Leigh does not have any closer hotels so there's no alternative any way!

    Very clean, comfortable, great shower, great breakfast (complimentary), good points scheme and friendly staff. Everything you need, no complaints.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, all good.

    Attended a festival nearby, to say the staff were patient and understanding of the situation they were in is an understatement. Hundreds of festival goers stayed here and not one issue I can recall. Excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable visit .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toaster in the breakfast room wasn't big enough for the bread you were using. Had to keep your eye on it to turn it over or had just half a slice of toast.

    No noise even tho there was a wedding going ahead.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Good stop off point when traveling on M6. Clean, comfortable and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a bit dull, but for an overnight stay, it was perfectly ok. Lighting in restaurant area was incredibly dark but turned out they just hadn't put all the lights on...! Service in the evening a bit sporadic but in the morning redeemed by lovely lady who rushed off to get me some fresh fruit! Self service breakfast is ok, but perhaps needs a bit of tweaking. e.g. better quality bread ?

    Quite a surprise when you walk through the door Really fantastic ground floor area. Huge sitting area, bar and restaurant which looks very newly decorated. Very stylish. Safe parking right outside the door. Good sized room and comfortable bed and good bed linen. Bathroom very simple, immaculacy clean and minimum toiletries, but quite adequate. Reception staff were very welcoming and efficient. Nice relaxed bar area, with newspapers on offer. Evening menu was fine, nothing fancy but it was well cooked. Good for single travellers and perfect overnight spot when driving up or down M6. Id use it again when doing this 500 mile trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Always enjoy our stay will be staying again in the future. A loyalty scheme would be good idea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit chilly as couldn't master the thermostat.

    Having stayed here for the third time just wanted to say staff was very good as we needed late check out wasn't a problem at all and think the breakfast is excelliant always enjoy it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After advising staff that the safe did not work and so called fixed it still did not work. Also we asked twice about the WiFi as we could not access it. Staff didn’t seem bothered and said that other people could. The actual message on our device was the Hotel WiFi was not connected to the server. This made things a little awkward for us as we really needed it.

    The room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Price and location second to non.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system did not function in our room but not a problem as we only spent one night and the duvets kept us snug !

    Must be the best value ever,£59 for a twin room including cooked breakfast in a hotel of this standard.Would not hesitate to recommend to any age group.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Decent budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included but was nothing to write home about.

    Even though there seemed to be a few parties there including a bunch of high school boys there were no disturbances late on. Blackout curtains are great for light sleepers. Good rainfall shower and big cubicle. Breakfast was incuded in price. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great facilities
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been woken by a stranger in our room who had been given the wrong door key , even though i locked the door he still got in. I found it difficult to sleep that evening.

    Great facilities Clean Fab breakfast Very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Marvellous and it exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pool would have been a bonus and then we would have stayed a lot longer.

    The staff were welcoming from the second we arrived. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was hot and tasty. The feel of the hotel was luxurious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel but the deposit situation ruined it for us as it left our finances strained!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get rooms beside each other even though we booked as a family. Myself and my partner had to sleep in rooms that were not adjoining and sleep with a child each as we couldn’t put the kids in a room on their own. The figure of the deposit to be held by the hotel was not in the small print. The total cost of the rooms was suppose to be £118. Surely this should be the deposit held but instead they took £207.24 and only returned £33.68. £173.56 is now what we have been charged instead of £118, leaving a sum of £55.56 owed back to us. As we are nearing the end of our family holiday. This is money we could have done with. Why would anyone take a deposit worth more than the actual cost of the room. I have contacted the hotel about this matter and have been told it will balance up later in the week because of the bank holiday. We will be finished our family holiday and at home by then. May i suggest you make them print the sum of money they are going to hold as a deposit as it was nearly double the cost of the room.

    staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Suited our needs.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have anything appropriate for us to buy to eat for lunch, e.g. no sandwiches or similar. However, excellent cafe in Morrisons immediately next door!

    Excellent value for money. Convenient for Leigh and surrounding areas. Bonus was a very large Morrisons supermarket next door. Visited it twice, once for a quick, cheap and excellent lunch and the next day to buy some things for the party we were attending.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant but very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very basic, the first morning when we arrived for breakfast there was nothing left we had to wait for it to be replenished. only bacon, sausage(not Cumberland that was advertised) scrambled egg and beans were the hot choice. no bread left to make toast, no fruit left if these problems were addressed my stay would have been a lot better.

    the hotel was clean and modern, 2 pillows each on a double bed is always a winner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a door in Room 210 that you could open which was a door to another bedroom, this kept being opened by the people next door and they kept knocking on the door. Not sure if this is the same in every room but it Didn’t feel very private knowing that was there. It felt like they left there door open and could hear everything that was being said. We only had 2 milks and 2 tea bags in the bedroom, could of done with 4 milks and 4 tea bags as good to have a cup of tea before you go bed and in the morning.

    The room was really clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A well thought out, clean and friendly hotel. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the bedroom not great for makeup application. Lighting is good in the bathroom but if your partner is using the bathroom whilst you are wanting to apply makeup, its not very practical. Pillows were a little high for our taste, but I didn't check to see if hotel offered an alternative.

    Very comfortable, clean and very stylish. Friendly staff and a good, free breakfast with vegetarian/ free from options on request. Quiet and enjoyable stay. Alot of thought has gone into the little details such as a plug near the mirror so you can style your hair.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Felt at home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast spread could be better as one tends to get bored when staying for a long period.

    Good quality rooms and bed. Very courteous and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    The room was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was terrible, cold eggs cold beans. Only veggie option was sausages which you had to order, cant get a drink after 11pm unless you pay £30 to use your card . no room service for food.

    The room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    ok
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    easy armchair in bedroom was far too big and heavy. The heating in the bedroom was poor such that a small mobile electric radiator had to be used. Sink in en-suite bathroom below the plug hole had not been cleaned such that black filth pieces came up into the basin.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location for work and good value with clean rooms and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening food is overpriced but there is a local pub which dies amazing pizza and worth a visit

    Good location for work and good value with clean rooms and friendly staff & free parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Stayed the night before with my family and bridesmaids it was really good x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room is very dull. Need a bright light somewhere and also the warm light too x

    The style, the red wine was particularly good. The helpful easy going staff happy to help. The bonus of bacon when only expection croissants!! Good quality hotel xxx

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable and very clean hotel. Would highly recommend
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    I stay d as part of the GB masters rugby league team prior to a test match against Australia so a comfortable and restful sleep and stay was a must. It lived up to all expectations thankyou.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    A great price for a fantastic, quality, comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had mushrooms and tomatoes as well maybe? Veggie sausages?

    Breakfast struck the right balance between hot and cold food. Great pastries, lovely crisp bacon, great drinks etc. Nice buffet style serve yourself format.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    All in all a pleasant stay the worse thing for me was the bed being to soft which gives me back ache
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was to soft for me and my partner. But that’s a personal thing. Fan on the heating made a noise. The hot breakfast was a bit sparse only 4 items and I don’t like 2 of those

    Happy helpful staff. Free wi-fi. Central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    I was incorrectly charged a no-show fee for the previous...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was incorrectly charged a no-show fee for the previous night. This has now been refunded, staff were a little unhelpful as this was a miscommunication between Booking.com and the hotel, nothing to do with me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Apart from the residents bar the rest was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After the wedding quit a lots was staying and wanted a quiet drink with the bride and groom but the residents bar shut as well and one of the night staff was quit rude when we ask for a drink

    There for a friends wedding the staff was extremely helpful with everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Room is amazing and prices are fantastic .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to put £100 cash deposit down and before I had to put £30 down which wasn't mentioned when booking .

    Room is amazing and prices are fantastic . Breakfast is good and staff very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was lovely but the meal let you Down
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetarian option without asking and no time to wait for something to be cooked. Nothing on offer. Evening meal was as. Having driven 8 hours it was a total let for. Chips full of fat and inedible. Apple crumble was simply cooked Apple's drowned in custard. Awful meal would not eat in the hotel again. I told a young lad on reception outside was lots of chewing gum he may wish to move. He left it thet6e for your customers to step on. Lots of cigeratte ends out front of hotel too. Very bad impression.

    No vegetarian option without asking and no time to wait for something to be cooked. Nothing on offer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    I wouyld definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a few extras in the bathroom without having to request everything from reception - not a big deal but most hotels do not expect your to do this.

    Comfortable rooms with space to move around. Very clean, big shower. Breakfast simple but more than adequate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when checking in I had to swipe my card and give a holding deposit then on checkout I have to swipe my card again, there was a long que and it was an inconvience for us.

    Hotel was beautiful and the room was so clean and beautiful too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Booked at 7pm to check in same day and more than happy to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked out the staff behind the reception desk were speaking about their colleagues quite unprofessionally, I had to wait for a while as they finished up their conversation.

    Booked at 7pm to check in same day and more than happy to accommodate me arriving close to midnight. Lots of parking, great breakfast, comfy bed, very clean, will definitely use again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Other than the check in process / form issue a very comfortable stay and excellent choice of breakfa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long day of travelling attended at reception to check in. I was handed a form which required my name , address, car details, telephone number, e mail address and next stop over address. I can appreciate my name and car details but questioned the receptionist as to why my e mail and contact tel number were required ? (No doubt to send me junk e mails / give sales calls or pass onto third parties. I was advised that they were required incase there was fire in the building and they required to get in touch with me. I usually check e mails about once a week and I certainly would not be scrambling around looking for my mobile telephone if the building was on fire. It is a pity about the check in process / form as everthjing else was fine.

    Clean and comfortable room. Excellent choice of breakfast..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice place for one night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was rather hard, though I know you can't cater for everyone this was like sleeping on a rock. the bathroom had a nasty smell as soon as I opened the door. the heating didn't auto click off so woke up at 5am extremely uncomfortable

    easy to find, polite staff and the breakfast was great with a wide selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall our stay was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided to have a meal in the evening. On arriving in the restaurant we were told there would be a half hour wait due to a few large tables having been booked. The half hour turned into an hour when my meal arrived (this was a prawn salad and a jacket potato) my husband's didn't arrive for another half an hour and when it did it was below par. We will not have another meal in the hotel and want to be very clear it was in no way the fault of the staff as they were run off their feet more staff should have been on duty.

    The room was excellent and the bed very comfy. The breakfast was of a high standard and the staff were more than happy to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Large room with lots of space
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were all lovely but not enough of them. This meant i was waiting at the bar (the ony person) for over 5mins for the staff to come over from the desk and serve me mid way though my dinner. Which was cold by the time i returned.

    Large room with lots of space

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great stay again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the third time my family and I have stayed here. We always receive a friendly welcome, and our stay is always pleasant. We will be back this summer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Our day out at the holiday Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like really apart from maybe the bar prices a bit to high.

    Very clean all through. Really well set out. Set in a nice area and easy access.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant. Nice room, very welcoming on arrival and would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very soft and too ‘bouncy’ for me. Felt like I was going to roll off the bed. The drain cover in the bathroom was broken which could cause a health and safety issue. Someone could trip on it and in a wet floor it could be dangerous. Doors banging closed early in the morning. I didn’t sleep well and when I did doze off I was woken by the doors being slammed.

    Bed looked very comfortable. Nice to have a choice of soft or hard pillows. Lots of space in the room as it was an accessible room. Great shower with lots of space in the bathroom. Plenty of safety handrails and a wetroom which was good. No need to try and climb in and out of the shower. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was plenty of choices whether you wanted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was ideal for us visiting the rugby club for a dinner dance otherwise it’s a little too remote

    Breakfast was plenty of choices whether you wanted continental or full english style

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Amazing value for money short/medium stay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Staff were far more than accommodating. They did everything they could to help. Breakfast was full cooked English buffet, although only advertised as continental! Rooms big, clean and comfortable. Best hotel in the area!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating & Aircon system was noisey. My boots kept static charge shocking me from the carpets.

    Was going to a family party in town, Taxi service was fast. Pub restaurant and supermarket 2 seconds away! Hotel had a restaurant and very well stocked bar. Fantastic location for everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    We had a lovely three night stay here and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our 3 night stay there was nothing to dislike.

    Very spacious room, excellent facilities, breakfast was adequate and good. We ate in resturant a couple of nights and meals were very nice. The staff, especially Joe on in the evenings, were very helpful. Location is very central with easy access to motorway system. Nice walks in the area around Pennington Flash Country Park and the canal towpath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    clean, friendly, comfy bed and plenty of choice at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the difference in heating from reception to the lift to the corridor to the room not enough staff on arrival - the chef and just one other member of staff who was checking guests in, dealing with queries at reception, serving in the bar/ restaurant and everything else in between - in stark contrast at breakfast there were FOUR members of staff doing not a lot at the reception/breakfast - doesn't make sense. the shower wasn't draining very well during my shower

    the powerful shower with plenty of hot water comfy bed plenty of choice at breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.2
    You will go hungry
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable property itself was okay in a nice location easy to get to shops and local amenities the Breakfast was diabolical even the receptionist agreed but did not offer anything off the bill even after complaint was raised we won't be going back ever again. Looks can be deceptive it looks like a nice hotel bit I would recommend not to go.

    It has good parking and easy acess

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    On our second night we were awakened in the very early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our second night we were awakened in the very early morning with loud arguing noises from other people outside our room it continued for some time rang down to reception who said they had already had complaints would report to manager we didn't get any more sleep had breakfast 7am nothing was said checked out shortly after still nothing said only receptionist on the desk we have stayed here many times before no problems so hope it was just a one off would have appreciated a response though before we left. M Mc Guiver

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Great 2 night stay close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of the drinks at the bar but always pricy in hotels. Was just over 12 GBP for 3 drinks (2 pints and 1 wine).

    Another good stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean and spacious, there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room and you could buy snacks in the lobby. Best of all there is a supermarket within walking distance to the hotel (Morrisons) so you can just pick up things there too. The bathroom was also spacious, well lit and had a large walk in shower, which was good for me to access. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice from cereal, toast, pastries, cooked (bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, baked beans), fruit etc. plus lots of choice for unlimited drinks too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice place. A bit expensive (possibly due to late booking)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath is standard size, but with all the grab bars and towel rails etc it was quite cramped to have a shower in. Also it had the increasingly common perspex panel, which are never big enough (as I'm over 6ft tall, my head was higher that the screen - now water all over the floor doesn't really bother me, but I doubt it is good for the floor) Cleaners made a massive racket servicing nearby rooms while I was trying to sleep. Minor point: There is no ceiling light, so a little bit dark.

    Very nice place. Helpful staff. Big room. Comfortable bed. Curtains completely lightproof. Fairly quiet from outside. Window was a bit draughty but thick curtains made that unproblematic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel and everything works.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner food is bar type; OK for a couple of nights but nothing to get excited about.

    Good hotel and everything works. Clean and quiet with good staff, it is all perfectly satisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Trip north to see family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly staff, we had dinner and breakfast both of which were good. Ideal location from the motorway and to get to Bolton the following day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and staff breakfast - POOR taxi serivce.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I phoned asked reception to phone for a taxt at 9 15 to be there in 10 mins. While we brushed our teeth and walked to recpetion.. I do believe the hotel did call the taxi firm. However we were at reception at 24 mins past and no taxi.. The reception staff had to phone twice duing our 47 min wait. This delay negated all the relaxation from the hotel as it made us miss our friend who was travelling by train. This caused panic confusion and lots of re arrangement of plans.

    a great warm reception at 1am in the morning after a party. The Bed was comfy and breakfast plentyful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    overall a good place to stay compared to what else is available within the surrounding area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was still eating along with 2 others on another table and the staff decided to take the breakfast away. Common practice is to let the guests finish or tell them if they need anything else they should take it within the next 5 minutes or so!

    rooms were spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money but not very convenient for other amenities or large towns/cities in the area.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing within walking distance other than the sports stadium. Further from Bolton, which was the purpose of our stay, than anticipated,

    Good breakfast. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Great stay for in-laws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    We could not make the journey ourselves so my mother and father in-law stayed instead of us and these are their scores and remarks. They felt the staff were very helpful and enjoyed the twin beds in the accessible room and the walk in shower. My father in-law really enjoyed the choice available at breakfast, from the bacon and eggs to the toast and tea and thought it was great to be able to go back for more. Easy access into Leigh and surrounding areas. They enjoyed it that much they have asked me to book them in too, when we stay in December!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    First Class Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little too warm.

    Staff very friendlt and professional, could not do enough for us. Had an early check out, 5am had breakfast out ready and little bags with a crossiant and banana in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    The property was within easy reach of the venue that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself was fine, l paid for 2 nights costing £152 l could have stayed at a different hotel 2 miles away for £100, the taxi fare would have only been £12 return l think this is a situation where things could be changed.

    The property was within easy reach of the venue that we attended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.0
    Big bouncy cumfy beds we got early check in at 12 which we...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like pilliows was to hard for us but managed get sleep

    Big bouncy cumfy beds we got early check in at 12 which we asked for and late check out at1 cause we was getting married in the leigh sports village 2min walk to the venue lovely breakfast and free parking at the front of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the room to arrive after our wedding reception, we arrived late on in the night the staff behind the bar wouldn't let us purchase a soft drink without a credit card.

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    A really nice hotel. We recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (Room allocated on arrival)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little too hard for us but that is only personal preference!

    the overall experience was very good. The room was clean and well kept. Breakfast was very good with everything you could think of.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything we needed for an overnight stay at a bargain price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at the back of the hotel so heard quite a bit of road noise. Also perhaps need to look at a little more soundproofing as we had a midnight wake up from one of the rooms opposite - they certainly were enjoying their stay!

    Lovely room, comfy bed, nice large shower. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast included in the price too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Great when it’s not busy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy cleaners banging doors early in the morning. We went down to eat but was told we couldn’t order as the kitchen was closed, this was 6pm Saturday night. They were more focussed on a wedding taking place. No place to sit, 1 person working at the bar with a long queue.

    Very close to Leigh Sports Village and Morrison’s.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous, very reasonable cost..amazing facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've done with an iron after travelling with clothes but that's not the end of the world

    Everything was fabulous, the reception staff were friendly & helpful. They chatted about our plans & when we came to order a taxi they remembered where we were going..fabulous customer service that. The breakfast was wonderful, the room was everything we needed and more. The air con was great coz it meant we didn't need to open a window. Easy to get to with great parking

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: