Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth – North 3 stars

Eastern Road, Portsmouth, PO6 1UN, United Kingdom

#12 of 28 hotels in Portsmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3630 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.0
    Convenient location with clean, spacious and quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, bright and spacious room and very quiet, despite the close proximity to the A27. Conveniently located for easy access from the ferry port and for our onward journey the next day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay - it HAS to improve the service otherwise I can see it going downhill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed the entrance which was away from the hotel and beside the next door garage - this could be improved upon. There did not appear to be enough staff on duty and there were too many "sorries" from the staff.

    The room was excellent and the ambience made us comfortable. It was a pleasure to be there -ONCE WE FOUND IT!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay for one night en route to a holiday or heading home. Easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Excellent hotel and value for money. Room was spacious and had very modern furnishings, including bathroom fixtures and fittings. Bed was very comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was tasty and of a good standard. Staff very friendly from reception to the bar.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.1
    On whole a pleasurable and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests being inconsiderate by slamming doors late at night and the choice at breakfast very limited ie no mushrooms fried eggs hash browns etc

    We like the fact. staff were available and friendly on arrival late evening and hot food available late evening

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Good spot, clean and well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find and just off main road. Room was big and had a nice seating area as well as the bed. Had dinner in the restaurant which was good and well priced. Breakfast was included in the room and was to a good standard. Easy to access the Park and ride which is a must to use get into Portsmouth. Nice to have free parking included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Great all round hotel on route north from Portsmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was all good.

    Large reception with bar. Well lit car park beside hotel. Nice spacious room with comfortable bed and good bathroom. Good breakfast including tasty cooked options.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Friendly staff that accommodated our arrival after midnight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff that accommodated our arrival after midnight due to a ferry delay.Really dog friendly.Lovely comfortable room with all facilities and fabulous self service breakfast.We travel to Portsmouth regularly and it was the best stay we have had.We will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    As we have come to expect, the hotel and staff were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of! Perhaps a some strawberry jam at breakfast but that is being really picky!

    As we have come to expect, the hotel and staff were a welcome end to our long day. A Clean and comfortable room, attentive and proficient staff all added up to a lovely stay! We would have no hesitation in returning or in fact recommending the hotel to our circle of friends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    4.2
    As expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor signage from main road . Property visible but entrance not clear Single story layout meant very long walk from reception with luggage

    Clean , tidy . open late comfortable .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    It is too far away for us to return, however, we would certainly choose your group if we travel and
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friend and I were delighted with our room, weare both disabled, unfortunately there were no disabled rooms available, however, we were placed on the ground floor and we would certainly recommend your hotel to friends. We would like to commend you on your staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were met with smiling friendly staff when we had any enquiries. The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Was a brilliant start to our break , thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfortable , the room was cool with the air conditioning on which is good as I suffer with the heat , best nights sleep in a long time , breakfast was lovely and plentiful , enjoyed the yoghurt and fruit, sausages very tasty as was the bacon, staff very helpful and friendly . Wifi throughout the hotel is a bonus as was the free parking , thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come back , would recommend to everyone . Made a great start

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.7
    You have painted the exterior but omitted the service items that make a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating ( Why leave the double doors open when the outside temp is around 5c Serious draft in dining room.

    Hotel was very cold, supper was indifferent and breakfast was not ready when we left

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Near M27 and a great value for money for one night stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to point out really! Note: It is far away from Portsmouth city centre. (10-15min by car depending on traffic).

    This hotel is located near the M27 which was a perfect location, as we were just spending a day in Portsmouth on our way to Bournemouth. Check in was easy, and we found our room immaculate! It's a great value for money when you get iron and ironing board, hairdryer, kettle and nice flat tv. Breakfast was included and it was good!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Good value for money and when we come to Portsmouth again we will book again if price still reasonab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern furniture and layout in reception bar area restaurant lounge. Good breakfast and included in price. Evening meal a little over priced. Room with blackout curtains. Air conditioning good shower spacious, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    From check in to breakfast was all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    From check in to breakfast was all great. Our room was very nice, clean with everything we needed. WiFi is great in all areas. Would like to say that the lovely Jessica is a great asset to the hotel and made to feel very comfortable while in the bar area before heading off to bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in Portsmouth area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi could only be accessed in the lobby or dining area. I could not pay for drinks or food with cash. The food was mediocre.

    The staff were very helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet. Parking was free and safe. A bus stop was close by. Access to major roads was very close.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Overall, very good, but staff should provide the room booked & paid for.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a room with a sofa. It was our Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to sit together with a bottle of wine, but the allocated room only had 1 chair.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    Much better than expected, food ok, staff very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some exterior decoration in need of work

    Hotel looks like it has recently been refurbished inside so the bathrooms were bright and attractive and the bedrooms and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Excellent and would definitely come back again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for the night we stayed.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room a very good size. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. We were very pleased with our night stay and would definitely book again but for longer next time. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The map isnt centred correctly that’s nothing to do with the property though...com off the roundabout and turn left from the ferry, not right...

    Was OK. Certainly good value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have breakfast witch was included due to not enough seating for partner and children. Had to travel out for food due to being very expensive.

    Was close to things todo during the evening with children.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, staff really helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have done with to start half an hour earlier, as we stayed before catching early ferry to Spain. Cooked food just arrived as we had to leave. Not happy not being able to pay for drink at the bar in cash.

    Clean large rooms nice restaurant area and outside terrace to sit with and have a drink.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    A very comfortable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was very low. The sign at the entrance was not lit very well.

    The room was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Bed linen and towels were of a good quality. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Ok pleased room ready early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I nearly asked for change of room although the room was clean it had a strong dog smell. As only staying 1 night decided to leave it.

    Good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks were a bit pricey, great value for the room, however with having food when we got there and drinks, didn’t really work out as top value in the end

    Easy to get to, great location not to fair from the city centre, nice staff good food, breakfast perfect really happy, would book again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.4
    Staff need updated fire safety training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incident involving a small fire which the incompetent staff could not deal with effectively. I had to sort it out to prevent the fire spreading. Guest Services Manager was totally useless and showed a worrying lack of respect and contempt for the incident. His attitude towards the whole situation was worrying, very dangerous and at times he was very cocky and arrogant. It's my suggestion that he be removed from that post and receive some thorough fire safety training and customer service training. I wont be staying there ever again.

    The rest of the staff were brilliant. Lovely welcome, the lady on the bar had a great sense of humour and was very quick to serve us. The hotel in general was very clean, smelled lovely, very presentable. The room was very comfortable, clean and well laid out. The breakfast was a little cold, but that didn't bother me.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Great new place, spacious rooms. Great value for the money for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner and bar menu we adequate but need variation at each place. Every express was the same menu. Need trays for breakfast!!!!! Had to go back and forth several times .

    Room was great for for money! Loved the darkness the curtains gave.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and comfortable but disappointing food options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very disappointing if you are Vegan or Vegetarian - It would have been good to see mushrooms, hash browns and tomatoes being served ...vegan sausage would have been fantastic.

    Friendly reception staff, spacious room, comfy bed and pillows, nice shower, efficient air conditioning,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay in Portsmouth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous stay in Portsmouth! We arrived late at night after our ferry crossing from Caen with two children. About ten minutes from the port. Room super clean, staff very helpful and friend, comfortable bed and a yummy breakfast selection! Perfect for our needs overnight and great value for money. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Great place - easy to find, rooms very comfortable, staff friendly, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer didn't work in my room - I didn't say anything and I should have. I am sure if I had it would have been checked/replaced asap.

    It's all great - the location, the facilities, the cleanliness, the comfort. I really like the offer of hard and soft pillows - that makes a huge difference to a good night's sleep. All in all this offers everything a family could want for a trip to Portsmouth. Excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.0
    Great location. Poor overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Empty chocolate wrapper left in room. Hairs on the bathroom walls. Remote control for tv underneath the bed. Room not well vacuumed. Fish was overcooked and dry.

    That I only booked 1 night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not enough items for breakfast. i.e. fried eggs.tomatoes, mushrooms etc. Scrambled egg was awful. Hotel was not very warm apart from rooms.

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Convenient location. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    The room was a good size and very Clean, tea and coffee was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a good size and very Clean, tea and coffee was provided, the bed very comfy, the shower was large and a good selection of channels on the tv, quick and easy check in

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Just done it or had you not read the above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOW"T

    convenience to the port, the chips were excellent, staff helpful, could answer all our Queries like "where do i get hearing aid batteries from" Sainsbury"s just down the road they were right..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, just a shame about the negatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a long walk from reception! Not good when I suffer from arthritis. Plus no lift and I was on the 1st floor.

    I didn’t feel uncomfortable as a solo traveller

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.6
    It was clean and the staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible it was the worst breakfast We had ever eaten it certainly was not a full English. No fried eggs hash browns mushrooms. The beds were uncomfortable and the food menu if you can call it that in the evening was poor. This was poor value for money.

    It was clean and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.3
    It was just fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really but consider that maybe this would be a hotel for business or passing through visitors

    We thought the room was excellent, clean, comfortable and in particular the headboard with the integrated lights, sockets/USB ports. Loads of sockets, Hairdryer , iron, ironing board all supplied. Late evening we requested additional milk for our room and this was immediately satisfied.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean and convenient
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were given had a loud whining noise and when we asked about it we were offered a different room and told it was a known problem, so why put us in there in the first place?

    It seemed to be newly refurbished. The shower looked as if it hadn't been used before. The shower was lovely, big and walk-in. The room was a decent size and there was room for my dog's bed. There is plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.5
    SUited our needs extremely well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to choose carefully at breakfast time, but enough variety available. Otherwise everything absolutely fine.

    A comfortable, clean room with everything we needed. The staff extremely helpful and keen that we should let them know is anything was amiss. A good, overnight stay with breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent in all aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chilly near the entrance doors, not comfortable using the seating near this area. Suggestion that the inner & outer doors don't open at the same time may help?

    Modern clean lines. Large comfy bed. Breakfast selection. Bathroom was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Peaceful and quiet location, ideally situated for the ferry and all routes in and out of Portsmouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing all great.

    This hotel was ideally situated for the ferry terminal. The staff were helpful and the room ideal for our needs. The room itself was well appointed and spotless. The shower was large and easy to get in and out, no over bath shower which suited us down to the ground. Air conditioning unit was a bonus and worked!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    perfect is all can say
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel. Beds best I have slept in.everywhere very clean staff were great. Good room size breakfast plentiful and hot. Will be staying again as good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, couldn’t fault our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great restaurant & modern room with plenty of parking. Was made to feel welcome with the kids, they even provided a goodie bag for them which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Worth more than 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    Very modern and comfortable room with a very snazzy bathroom. Amazing breakfast with loads of choice. Really friendly team running the hotel. Plenty of free parking with easy access to Portsmouth. Phenomenal value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    After 2 stays, will not return due to poor breakfast both visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was disgusting!!! Everything was luke warm and very little to offer. Only a selection of 4 items for an English breakfast which two of them I do not eat. Could really do with a selection of pastries rather than just crossiants that we do not like.

    The room was lovely and clean. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, quick service, even when we arrived early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little on the expensive side for one night in this type of hotel.

    Friendly, quick service, even when we arrived early. Large, comfy room. Convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Good location for Portsmouth North.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from motorway traffic kept me awake. When I arrived for the buffet breakfast there was very little left. Even bread to make toast had run out. Empty dishes on the buffet bar weren't being replenished.

    Very good value. Nice spacious room. Very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location for Portsmouth motorway network.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the hotel room and no lifts. Also only one chair in one room out of 3 that we stayed in

    The FOOD was sooo delicious and flavoured perfectly compared to other places. Such a large room, perfect space to get ready and place stuff everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    We are very happy customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were pleasantly surprised at the excellent room and the dining and reception areas, staff were really friendly and helpful . We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends, also we will be returning in the future can only describe our visit as outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly stairwell. But not a big problem.

    Central location. Easy to get to lots of places. Staff really friendly and helpful. Room was spacious. Great bed. Lovely shower and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Southampton boat-show and Dockyard &Warships.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot fault anything.

    The bed was very good, we slept very well. Room was quiet and spotless. Included breakfast was a bonus. Tomatoes would have given an alternative to beans but the breakfast was plentiful and freshly replenished. There were many cereals and porridge pots. Nutella, Marmite, honey and other spreads for croissants, baps or freshly toasted bread so you could vary breakfast as we did. Good coffee and fruit options. The in house Hotel Information sheet found by brochure table at reception with local restaurants and car parking times/prices was very useful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely and comfortable but pricey restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found that the menu in the restaurant in the evening to be expensive and restrictive,and you could only pay by credit/debit card.As it was our wedding anniversary we didn't want to venture into the city that night.

    This is the first time that we had been to this hotel,and found that it is a very comfortable place to stay.The room was excellent,we were asked if we would like a ground floor or first floor room,very good check-in.The breakfast range was fair but not comprehensive with only 4choices of hot dishes,usual toast and croissant selection,fruit juice and cereal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    The room is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for dinner in the restaurant but decided on a takeaway as there wasn’t much choice on the menu at all..

    The room is beautiful. Very clean and comfortable!! Staff were friendly enough.. Breakfast was good, (mushrooms are needed though)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    staff went out of their way to help with menu choices and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited food menu at the bar and 2 options not available. Had to wait a while for bar service and leave my little girl at the table, however the staff member that came was apologetic and excellent.

    staff went out of their way to help with menu choices and very good at check-in too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    We stayed here on the way back from Gatwick and it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    We stayed here on the way back from Gatwick and it was a beautiful place to stay. Much cheaper booking it on booking.com. We checked in at 9pm and despite the restaurant being closed a small menu was available and we had soup and pizza at 10pm. Our room was beautiful and situated at one end so very quiet and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was amazing with so much on offer. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Lovely staff and hotel. Was upgraded to a bigger room without asking. Very good buffet breakfast. Bar and food was 24hrs. Excellent standard of hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff were really friendly (even at 3.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the pillows not very comfy, however there is options in the room of soft or firm pillows. Although I didn't find them comfy for me, it was nice to have the different selection.

    Staff were really friendly (even at 3.30am while I was walking my dog!!) Entire hotel was really clean. Breakfast there was lots of choice. Evening menu is small however, what we ordered was delicious! Room was a good size and everything you needed. Best hotel shower I've ever had!! Although the location was right on a busy roundabout, there's a park right next to the hotel which was fantastic if you're travelling with a dog. (they also have dog treats at the check in desk!)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.0
    Good value overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location meant that we had to drive into Portsmouth for an evening meal, having already had a long journey. All the local eating places were fully booked.

    Very clean and comfortable, quiet at night, pleasant staff, plentiful, varied and well cooked breakfast, very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    A standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overpriced for what it was which is a standard Holiday Inn which may be because it is near to the ferry port. The parking was fine but no secure areas near the reception for motorcycles, maybe they should consider creating such an area.

    It was a standard Holiday inn, nothing really outstanding. I would stay again due to the proximity to the ferry port.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    evening meal menu spoiled stay but will return again but will eat out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dinning menu, poor; went to pub/restraurant just down road. Poor evening dining but breakfast was as good as anywhere. Need to greatly improve menu or tell people where food is available, we asked at garage next door.

    you know what you are going to get

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A quality over night stop near the ferry port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was better than expected. The AC temperature needs to be adjusted up a little in the bar/restaurant area. The Holiday Inn could save quite a bit on cooling costs

    For clean, comfortable over night stay, it rates very well. The choice for breakfast and the quality is top

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Helpful staff modern clean interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room situated next to an air conditioning cupboard the noise from which was unbearable sleep was impossible so at 1.30 am was moved to another room. We were however moved quickly and efficiently so can’t fault the staff.

    Helpful staff modern clean interior

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    I stayed in the Village Hotel the night before, and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the Village Hotel the night before, and considering the price increase between there and the Holiday Inn Express, the Village was on a different level in all areas compared to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Clean hotel but expensive for what you get in August.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price - as booked late, few rooms available in Portsmouth and therefore price was very high for what you get.

    Rooms capable of taking a family of four and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    peaceful, efficient and just right for the wary traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    impossible to say and would be unfair because of the short time I was there

    Only here for one night for early morning ferry... Ideal, pleasant and inexpensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Rooms were nice and quiet, beds clean,
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite poor for the price we were paying, only scrambled egg which always looked as if it had been sitting for hours,

    Rooms were nice and quiet, beds clean,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom door wouldn't shut properly Curtain one side of window wouldn't pull across properly No biscuit with our cup of tea Scrambled egg for breakfast tasteless and dry

    bed comfy - room large - good shower - very clean parking excellent -plenty of spaces and room to park classic car hotel conveniently situated on outskirts of Portsmouth and straightforward to access road to Goodwood evening meal good value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    A great spot for overnight and onward travel. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    public areas a little austere

    Good location for travelling, close to the motorway. Very comfy room, clean and bigger than some of the competition. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stopover for the Isle of Wight ferry. This is our hotel of choice when visiting the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The basin was not very well designed.

    Room was spacious and bed comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price. Very convenient stopover for the Isle of Wight ferry. Walk in shower rather than a bath.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would definitely be staying again. This hotel was cheaper than a lot of other but you wouldn’t think it as it was excellent. Best value for money. And it included a lovely choice of food for breakfast all included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in quality room, but food was a bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn't great. Dinner options limited. From hotel to major tourist attraction (Dockyards) is 20 minute drive by car. Hotel seemed to have thin walls, on our last night the TV from the neighboring room could be heard clearly.

    Very helpful staff, the room we were given was on the highway side and quite noisy but staff were very friendly and arranged a new room for us on the courtyard side which was much better. Modern hotel and facilities. Room could be made fully dark. Good air conditioning and hairdryer. Location easily accessible from the highway and plenty parking spaces.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    The room was spacious,clean and comfortable and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the meals bought wasn't good value for money. Disappointed. The breakfast arrangements were not restful- a lot of queuing,waiting around until toast was ready or for hot food tureens to be refilled.

    The room was spacious,clean and comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. We were happy with the price we paid with breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable comfort with great parking at a highly recommended budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more choice for cooked breakfast options (the lack of fried eggs or baked tomatoes was a shame), and some of the bread could have been fresher/higher quality. However, I still enjoyed my breakfast - so this is a little nit picking!

    The rooms had been wonderfully well renovated, and felt extremely modern. I especially liked the use of the curtains give the room an organic feel, rather plain straight edges. The bed was very comfortable, the shower piping hot and the hotel itself was a pleasure to walk through. Add to that a great staff team who you felt genuinely cared for their customers, made for a venue I will certainly aim to stay at again next time I'm in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, comfortable room, location - very quick from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ok, but I have had better, eg sausages a little overcooked cold plates meant food quickly got cold. Hated the screechy "music" in the bar at night and at breakfast. It's not needed, please turn it off.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, location - very quick from the cross channel ferry port. Pleasant bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Definitely booking again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi is a bit slow though i did not use much because my 4G network connection is faster. Kids didnt complain.

    Everything location, very quiete and good value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: