Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Guildford 4 stars

Egerton Road, Guildford, GU2 7XZ, United Kingdom

#4 of 10 hotels in Guildford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1424 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all polite and helpful, and there was always a member of staff available to help with any questions. The breakfast was a special treat!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired bathroom, chips out of the floor tiles. The bed runner always looks stained and is very off putting. This has happened on all four of my stays. This really needs some attention and is letting your hotel down. Light switches are also grubby.

    The breakfast is always very tasty - a great variety and quality of food. I look forward to it when I stay here. I also enjoy the pool facilities. The staff are polite and smiling in all areas of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were ALL amazing!!! Smiley, helpful, knowledgeable and always quick to help. Nothing was too much trouble,they were all flexible and communicative! The BEST!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not personally stay at the Holiday Inn Guildford however I booked it for friends and colleagues. The whole booking process, the reservation staff were quite complex to deal with. It was an awful experience. Despite making the booking, when my work colleagues and friends actually arrived, the staff claimed there was no booking till I had to clarify the whole process despite sending them very very clear cut emails.

    Nikol was really good. She was on the ball and really wanted to help! they need more like her in that hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks were far to expensive! Which was a shame.

    The breakfast was excellent with so much good choice. The best we’ve experienced so far. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for what we needed. Excellent facilities especially he swimming pool. Friendly staff and excellent check out and check in fast and convient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed some attention, a couple of lights weren’t working, the bin hadn’t been emptied and contained leftover food, tea and coffee facilities could have included biscuits as most hotels do. Also, table clearing at breakfast was very poor, we had to put our dirty dishes on the table next to us, which was already cluttered with dirty dishes and not cleared in the half hour we spent there

    Location was excellent for visiting my son in the university, reception staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and good, beds were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated furnishings. Lower ground floor lack of light. Low levels of staffing led to long wait at bar for service.

    Comfy bed and pillows. Very convenient for University of Surrey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ticking noise in room all night which staff were unconcerned with when mentioned at check out. Children's play area in worst location where people are walking through all the time and there were lots of children when we stayed. I nearly fell over toys and my friend suffered a near miss to her head when a child threw a toy! Not enough staff my food order was wrong and it took a lot of huffing and puffing to get a refund for food I had never ordered in the first place. I won't be using booking.com or Holiday Inn again. Misleading emails and no compassion shown for human error when I find I raised the alert in what would have been plenty of time for a refund to be actioned! Poor customer service on both counts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold, could not heat it Food was terrible, pizza was a dry as the Sahara desert Cleaning staff tried to discard my personal tooth mug

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought a bit mean not many toiletries in bathroom, toilet difficulties flushing, but on the whole pleasant experience basic room but fine for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were like rocks and the mattress was so hard. If I had known there was a sofa bed in the room, which I found out when leaving I would I slept on that. Would definitely take own pillow. Thought breakfast was very expensive, no way would I pay that.

    Very clean, close to town. Plenty of parking which is handy. Shame swimming pool was closed but looked really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served in restaurant was more like child portion . I ordered squid which was more like thinly sliced onions and crumbs and a diabolical portion.sea bass and herby potatoes main course was as small as a starter. I couldn’t believe that guests are expected to pay for such a terribly small portion. It’s better to price it higher and serve adult portion or if the chef is trying to set it like a five star portion, make it five meal tasting menu.

    Friendly staff, and the room was very comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were un-welcoming on arrival and none of the spa facilities were available, including the pool. We were told this was due to an annual clean but some warning ahead of time would have avoided a great disappointment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    about half of the room in front of the highway, and double isolation doesn't help. room are rather old (i took some photos with furniture that should be fixed asap). no fridge in all room. Swimming pool was closed for 10 days (should have said it in the website !). Staff really not pleasant (in the morning, whereas the one in the afternoon was ok). and above all the really expensive price regarding what you get. Also be aware that there are a huge number of rooms which means that you might be required to go a bunch into the corridors

    the proximity to the university

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't work and the only suggestion was swapping rooms. In the end we had a free breakfast. Breakfast, could have had a few more available vegan options.

    The shower was lovely and the wood sliding doors kept the room quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept awake by couple in nearby bedroom screaming & moaning for several hours until 5 am walls must be very thin, so got little sleep. Didn't know exact bedroom so couldn't complain put me off Holiday Inn's

    Bedroom good size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service abysmal. We placed an order for a certain dish and told 10mins later that they had run out, so we chose an alternative. After a long half an hour both dishes turned up, including the one that was supposedly not available. Also one of the other dishes ordered did not arrive, so when we asked for it the male waiter did not hide his frustration- he sighed and went away. After another 10 minutes the final dish arrived and it was pushed in front of me without any words; no apology for the mix-up and/or delay. Finally the bill was presented and was for all the food, including the extra dish that was wrongly supplied. At breakfast next morning table reservations had been made, but were not available on arrival; guests at another table were asked to move so we could have a table of six (3 tables pushed together). Breakfast vastly overpriced. One room for our block booking of rooms was claimed not to be reserved when we all checked in. Then it was somehow found, but only after our protestations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of a revamp in the rooms & smelt strongly of bleach.

    Rooms were a bit noisy & need updating but was large & comfortable. Staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit unpredictable and it was difficult to control the temperature and the rate of flow

    The staff were fantastic, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It was great having 24 hours free parking at the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold to start and took a long time to warm up. Lots of noise from above simply people walking about. Children running through corridors and being loud.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our loo kept running. Reported fault. Didn't appear to be fixed. Total electricity outage in bathroom on Sunday morning. Reported fault. Came back Sunday pm still no electricit. ReportED AGAIN . Reported again at checkout. Finally was fixed took 2 minutes to fix. We were grateful for breakfast discount given to compensate

    Convenient to get to cathedral and friends near by Food room cleanliness staff pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Sunday the service for lunch was poor , we had to clear our lunch plates ourselves before we had desserts. When dessert came had to ask for spoons.

    Reception staff were very helpful on arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a twin room which was not available on arrival (Actually the super king bed we ended up with was okay). The evening restaurant/bar service was very bad - simply not enough staff to cover, especially with a function on. To be clear the issue was with staff scheduling/numbers not the actual staff.

    It's a great location for the Surrey Sports Park Pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large resort, staff were really friendly and accomodating. Had a problem that I needed to leave during the day but didn’t have time to return to check out, staff were very useful and sorted the issue over the phone. Seemed that there were a wide range of groups using the hotel (families, business, friends, couples, stag/hen weekends) which created a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location as an alternative for an airport hotel with good train link into Gatwick. Executive rooms conveniently located in quiet part of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room was tired, dirty, and had a damp smell. I had to upgrade the room to get a nicer one at a cost of £25.

    Breakfast was nice! Especially impressed with the member of staff seating customers at breakfast (2nd April). Real 1st class service!! He’s totally wasted at Holiday Inn!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger portions for dinner the chicken wrapped in bacon with one potato cut up into 20 pieces (not enough) & the Goan curry tasty but my partner said not enough. the breskfast was a little bland in taste. it was a bit of a cattle market at breakfast, too busy, with the staff bumping into us to clear the coffee area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updating and hallways are a little old.

    Room was spacious and comfortable with a huge bed. Bathroom was a little dated but shower was very powerful. Gym and pool facilities were good and restaurant very good. Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Overall great stay with good shower pressure, but found the rooms very hot even with the aircon off as it wouldn't go down to 16degrees when I selected it. Also found bar staff too slow, there was 1 person working and there was a wedding with dead people so more people should be helping and waited fat too long for one drink. I was not impressed with the hairdryer, these need to be updated and changed, was not adequate at all. Room service number wasn't picked up, tried for over 10min, finally phoned to from desk and was helped

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything that could improve this hotel for the purpose of our stay.

    The staff without exception were brilliant. Checking in process friendly, informative and immediately felt comfortable. Bar, lounge and restaurant staff and service impeccable, food excellent and delightful ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable, pillows were a bit flat.

    Nice welcoming hotel. Lovely big room, very clean. Lovely relaxed feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a bit uncomfortable, too firm. Room was quite cold.

    Breakfast, location close to where I needed to be (university campus). Has a health centre (did not use though). Room is spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floor above when people walking on it and lasted until early hours of the morning. Room 276. I did request a quiet room, which was not ready when I arrived at 5pm. So, I was given the option to wait until the room was ready and was told they were not able to tell me when it would be ready! I then opted for another room which was unfortunately not that quiet.

    Very friendly chef in charge of the breakfast section.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I found the staff most helpful even printing me off a map for my journey home

    I only had breakfast but this was excellent and I did approve of the discount I received by booking a day in advance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a spot of paint work on the corridors . And doors and if im being picky the breakfast chairs are a bit tired

    In a quiet corner and a great place to stay especially if you are going to the university of Surrey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very noisy , I don't know why but it woke me up The pillows were also very hard. There are no USB charging sockets for phones.

    The reception staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent from check in , bar and checking us in for breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable but the window advice was to keep the window shut and the room was a very warm even with the air con turned down. This didn’t detract from a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have fried eggs and bacon available at all times for a full English breakfast

    Breakfast was poor, no fried eggs or bacon, I had to wait 10 minutes for each which is unacceptable, the rest of the breakfast was cold. Very Very poor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tired & the bathroom was clean, the entire room could do with a refresh. The hotel is well positioned for the hospital & science park. In that respect they have a captive market. The restaurant was good. I was on business & on tight deadlines so could not make use of the gym.

    Comfy warm room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn't get chance to use all the facilities!

    Excellent staff at front desk allowed me to print off documents i needed for an interview and the breakfast sausages were great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had old used coffee mug in the bathroom which we complained about however it was still present at our time of check out Resturant very expensive and quality not worth the money

    Very convenient and everything we really required for the one night stay we had

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hotel does what is says for a Holiday Inn - comfortable bed, good shower, decent breakfast but no frills.

    The hotel is very quiet - as it's just off the A3 we thought there'd be road noise but you can't hear it once you're inside. Room size was good and the shower was one of the best I've had in a hotel bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment process, was told I could pay in cash to get there and they try to refuse it. Also was sat in the bar and a rat ran through, told receptionist and they just laughed. It went through the restaurant so god knows what it ran on/over.

    Location. Facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. The place didnt feel welcoming. Was not informed the wifi was not free for video streaming.

    Nothing. The loction was handy but that was it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There would have been a better solution in the bathroom instead of an old curtain along the bathtub. Location is not that good for Guildford center and train station.

    Very close to Royal Surrey County Hospital and University of Surrey. Staff is very friendly, they are willing to help in any case. Bad and pillows are very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed too small, on previous visits we,ve had a lovely room with very comfy large bed. This time we had a very hard smaller bed,(it was possible a standard double ) The pool area only had 3 lounger bed at pool side. We had to sit on low ledge around the edge. Our previous 2 stays have been so lovely but this time we came away disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much on food menu that was the only thing

    Lovely hotel and really nice staff great location 5 minuets away from the castle and town centre and right next to harlequins training grounds👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thermostat in our room kept resetting to 26 degrees c, so a little hot! Didn’t order newspapers but they kept coming and was expected to pay for them. Lunch panini wasn’t great - undercooked bacon and cold chicken. Small points though - we had a great stay and will definitely be back.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely pool, great bar and public areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor toilet flush in room. Reported it and I believe they will sort it out promptly .

    Friendly chef - Greeting diners With a good morning at the cooked breakfast station . Otherwise - the food choice was a good standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the holiday inn is quite remote, so if you don't have a car, you'll have to call a taxi or walk for quite some time, to get to any shops/restaurants.

    Facilities and rooms were fantastic. Their breakfast is also superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear a pin drop in the rooms next to you. Absolutely no peace and quiet. I heard above and the rooms side of me. Everything they did. Not nice at all.

    Temp control in rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at this Hotel in February. Room very pleasant, but beware of the parking scam. You have to key in your registration number at a separate terminal at Reception. Several weeks after my stay I started receiving intimidating letters from 'ParkingEye', claiming that I had 'breached' their terms and claiming that my reg had been entered 'incorrectly' because one letter was incorrect. Sounds like a terminal fault to me. Anyway, they have now followed up with a ten page 'Letter before County Court Claim' requiring my personal financial status. The Hotel does not dispute that I had a perfectly legitimate reason to be parked there, and the whole situation has become utterly ridiculous. Please be aware of this scam.

    Warm welcome, spacious clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very attentive, we had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. I took advantage of swimming in the pool and using the spa facilities!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed updating. Few cracks here and there. Lighting in room a bit poor not bright enough.

    The room was a good size and very clean. Bed was comfy . Loved that it had somewhere for me to do my hair and also had a full length mirror. Room service was good. The bathroom had toiletries with offer of extras you may need.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a lack of pedestrian footpath once one leaves the main driveway, and goes into the car park. Apart from this, we have no problems.

    The room was very clean and warm. The housekeeping excellent. We would like to commend the Restaurant staff, for their warm and efficient service. We would like to commend our server, Dominic, who on the three evenings we dined in the restaurant, made us feel valued customers. as did his colleagues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was not working perfectly, and the third night, there were some people running around and being loud.

    everything that you might need during a business trip, was there!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Bathrooms are a little dated with poorly flushing toilets but very clean. Could do with some power sockets next to the bed. Very comfy bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I upgrade booking to include breakfast after the initial booking - this information was not updated at the hotel . It caused irritation after a 4 hr drive. The member of staf didn’t seem to grasp the issue to reassure me. Also the bar was very expensive

    Exit check out rectified initial reception

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were met by a very unhelpful receptionist who was very rude to my friend. She told her that her room was not booked - and was not helpful when she presented her actual Confirmation. To add insult to injury the key cards did not work, and when asking the same receptionist she was rather condescending - and there was not even an apology for any of the hassle. We were over charged for dinner as well. Luckily our stay was not spoilt but the customer service really does leave a lot to be desired here. It was sad as one young male waiter and a couple of other staff were very personable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was a bit too cold. the location is a bit out of town center.

    Breakfast selection was great! good brewed coffee and full English breakfast! it's perfect for weekend stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Saturday evening me and my husband came down for dinner decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. Half way through our meal a birthday party in the bar area started with very loud music, me and my husband couldn’t hear each other properly so it kinda spoilt our meal. I understand it was a party and these things do happen at hotels but would have been nice to be informed it may be noisy before we got shown to our table, this way we could have chosen to eat somewhere else if we wanted a quite evening.

    Loved the pool spa area , breakfast was fabulous with a very friendly chef nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold as the heating was not working. However, our problem was quickly dealt with and we were given a plug in heater.

    The staff were excellent and very helpful. The bed was super comfortable and the shower nice and hot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the room loiked quite old and the hallway looked plain and boring and the caperts looked old and dirty.

    In a quite location, closer to town and other important features.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was there on a weekend , so breakfast wasn't open till 7.30 , But reception very kindly ordered room service full English for two , very helpful and efficient young lady called Siobhan

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water in room and no biscuit with tea or coffee ... not a big deal though !

    Breakfast is always great, chef is there and also very friendly and helpful !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the girl running the spa! Very short on personality

    They were very helpful! We arrived early and they were kind enough to let's us in our room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Have stopped at the holiday inn Guildford many times and have always enjoyed the stay.any problems ( not many) are always quickly rectified.great leisure facilities and great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds comfy, incorrect room booked for the family I was travelling with but this was soon sorted out by staff. Initially the room was not ready until 1 hour after our check in time which meant having already used the pool we were hanging around the lobby area waiting to get access to the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee from the coffee machines in the restaurant area - coffee at breakfast/evening meal. Not good. Bring out the cafetieres!!!!!

    Evening meal in restaurant was superb. Restaurant staff - superb. Reception staff very good as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of rotten eggs when the heating was on. I had told the staff twice about this but they appeared dissinterested

    The facilities are good on site

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bottle of drinking water in the room ( minor I know but would have been handy)

    The staff are very professional, friendly, the showers are brilliant and the breakfast is one of the best. The rooms are big with all facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rang room service took ages to pick up the phone

    Location. Room was ok but wasn’t very clean. Eg telephone etc was cleaned but the essentials were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Jacuzzi was not working but the staff were very apologetic. Have stayed at other Holiday Inns and found the bar prices very expensive got different costs from different staff members and not a lot of choice.

    Restaurant and staff were lovely. The rooms were comfy and everything was exceptionally clean and even had enough towels, would recommend shower curtains to be updated. Pool was a good size and ideal location in and out of Guildford

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park paving had mud on it which my wife slipped on fell over and hit her head. Her new coat and cases were covered in mud. This ruined our stay.. The manager did ring me to find out what had happened but his only concern seemed to be to find out where the accident had occurred. Also the sink plug had lost its seal so I couldnt shave properly in the morning. The air conditioning in the room was extremely noisy and far too hot. Eventually we discovered a thermostat to turn it down. It would have helped if the receptionist had informed us aboiut the heating controls.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: