Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Haydock 4 stars

Lodge Lane, Haydock, WA12 0JG, United Kingdom

#1 of 4 hotels in Haydock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 910 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 3 coach parties and a wedding in progress. Therefore we could not have any food in the restaurant before 9pm and the reception/dining area was full of LOUD SCREAMING children. We had to eat in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location room very nice bed wasn’t that comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn’t get a table in the restaurant and had to use room service and be charged for that

    Great location room very nice bed wasn’t that comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good for a night's stop over on a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress cover that includes plastic sheeting is very hot at night. Please consider offering range of douvet/ bedding from light/cool - or at least make it clear that options are available. Breakfast very expensive.

    Convenient, very friendly staff, clean. Choice of pillows great idea. Swimming pool looked good although we didn't use it this time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this overnight stay for my daughter and her family visiting me. I went to pick them up and now Holiday Inn are trying to charge me £100 for parking for 50 mins!! Disgraceful!

    Good location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could not find fault to do so would have been unfair to all the staff

    the atmosphere of this hotel has never disappointed us its just a fun place .Staff so good .The bar is good great place to perk yourself up after backing 6 losers at Haydock Races .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    Served a purpose for going racing but certainly wouldn't dine here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uneven and we couldn't get comfortable. Bathroom door didn't fit and had obviously had a quick repair job prior to us arriving .... need repaired ( or renewed ! ) again. Ate in hotel 1st night and it was pretty awful for the price paid ! Canteen food at best for restaurant prices .... sandwiches weren't fresh - soup like water - curry very average. Don't eat in here !!

    Spacious room which was reasonably clean. Good location if racing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    We had a one night stay after a day at the races. Check in was very efficiently handled by a very pleasant youg lady and we were quickly taken by shuttle bus to the racecourse. On our return we spent a very comfortable evening in our room with everything we needed. Breakfast had a really good choice of hot and cold food. We were greeted by a lovely lady who could not have been more helpful. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would certainly recommend the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner received a parking fine notice, an over sight by us for only registering one car but harsh none the less i thought. The hotel quickly helped us get the charge dropped once brought to their attention.

    Excellent breakfast...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    2.5
    Don’t go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above all bad I have already explained above They have no understanding of honour , commitment or integrity Couldn’t be worse

    When we arrived at 5pm the hotel was full and our long standing booking was overturned despite being paid. This hotel group is disgraceful do not risk making a booking as they have no honour or integrity. No stars

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Really Friendly Staff and Lovely Hotel Grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    picked up one of the towels that was left folded for us in the bathroom and under it was a huge spider - not so great for someone with a horrible fear.

    Lovely grounds around the hotel. Nice room/room size. Really helpful and friendly staff. Didn't use the pool etc but it is great that it is a facility you can use when staying.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Was a nice stay and good location for where we needed to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the breakfast was abit steep, it was £14.99 for a breakfast we did end up going elsewhere in the end

    The staff when checking in were so friendly and helpful, they were pleasant and helped us locate where we need to go and how to get there they also gave us a list of taxi numbers, but also ordered the taxi for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean room but slow service in the restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the restaurant and the service was very slow - I had to go up to the staff to ask them to clear our plates, then again to ask for puddings, then again to ask for the bill. The restaurant was not busy and there were plenty of staff - they just were not attentive to their customers.

    The hotel was great - very cheap and very clean. We had a lovely room, nice and big with an excellent shower!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Busy hotel with staff why excelled
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very busy due to wedding

    Staffwere amazing, empathetic and incredibly cool and effective under great stress. They just kept doing their jobs and made things happen smoothly. There didn't seem to be anything they couldn't cope with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Unexpected jewel of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just off M6. I was travelling with 2 young kids. The staff were so friendly and helpful and kids eat free in restaurant. Food was excellent. Used pool twice, clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great stay, superb leisure facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was quite expensive

    Superb facilities at a very good price. I didn't eat at the hotel as there was a steak house close by. Leisure facilities were great, room excellent and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    Our booking was not there when we got there so luckily they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking was not there when we got there so luckily they still had a room so slotted us in. The sofa bed was not made up when we checked in a 7.30pm and had to ask twice before it was eventually done at 11.30pm delaying getting our child to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great for Haydock races
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was tea making services in the room, but a couple of bottles of water would have been appreciated.

    The hotel was modern, clean, friendly and close to racecourse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Holiday Inn, Haydock: the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found nothing negative about the hotel or staff.

    Reception staff efficient and professional. There were people arriving for a wedding and also the Haydock races and the reception staff handled the pressure with professionalism.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Arrived on a busy raceday at nearby Haydock Park which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only comment I can make here was £4 for a bottle of still water from the bar was a bit steep, even for a large glass bottle......other than that ......great hotel in a beautiful setting......

    Arrived on a busy raceday at nearby Haydock Park which was also our destination. Easy access to hotel just off the M6. Checked in very quickly and registered car in car park. Was iven room on top floor which wasn't an issue and was absolutely delighted to discover it was what appeared to be a family room and was huge. Bed was very comfy which was a bonus after a day at Haydock Park and I've got to mention the sublime Fat Bull steakhouse on the outskirts of Ashton......fantastic meal after racing........both highly recommended......TIP....book early for best deals......

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful staff, great size twin room, decent breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food a little overpriced, behind toilet in bathroom was rusted/dirty.

    Very helpful staff, great size twin room, decent breakfast, lovely pool area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in bathroom terrible. Difficulty showering because pressure was so low

    Excellent value, very good breakfast, bright, modern property in attractive grounds with free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay while attending a family event nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of minor issues with the bathroom which were reported to Reception. The mobile phone signal was very poor and several times unavailable around reception and in the restaurant, but was fine in the bedroom.

    Nice room and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Good comfortable pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil.

    Easy access from main East Lancashire road/A580 and M6. Very modern, fresh and comfortable, good breakfast. Happy to use again. Have some good ground floor rooms for disabled access and lifts to other floors.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    please see above issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BOOKING.COM issue with booking - We had a big issue as we had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and then 1 room for 1 night on the same weekend at this hotel. When we arrived they only had a booking for 1 room for the 2 nights and 1 room for 1 night. We were 1 room short, but it showed clearly on our booking.com that we had the 2 rooms for 2 nights booked and we had all the conformations. It was a very busy weekend at the hotel with the races and a wedding, so they struggled to find another room. We made this booking back in MARCH 18! was this booking.com's error??? we did get accommodated eventually for all the rooms we have actually booked and had booking confirmations for. But it did cause us some stress and worry and lots of time to sort the issue out. Also when we came to pay they tried to charge us for the room price £30 more than the agreed price we had on our booking.com booking and confirmation. Again we showed them all our booking details again and confirmations stating the agreed price. So this was sorted out in then end. There seemed to be a massive missing admin link between booking.com and the Holiday Inn at Haddock. We have always thought how amazing booking.com are and book all our hotels through you. But something massively went wrong with your system this time!! The actual hotel though was beautiful and amazing service and staff.

    It was a beautiful hotel and the staff were brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Stay good , stayed in room 220 , the down rain water pipe seemed to blocked , very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet cold . No gluten free cereal option. Terrible view from window , blocked rainwater Down pipe , noisy

    Comfortable , good internet and easy to find

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was clean and tidy to an excellent standard plenty of room , it was one of the best rooms I've stayed in for a long time and it was a good price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Great but smelled funny
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty water smell in room, think it came from bad shower drainage meaning the bathroom must flood regularly crating a damp smell. Had to wash everything I took with me even clothes I didn’t wear to get the smell out

    Good size room, comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Good leisure facilities, nice room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant menu wasn’t as extensive as I expected. The portions were quite small for the cost. No pillows in room for sofa bed.

    Good leisure facilities, nice room, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay. Perfect location for the theatre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in our room (432) didn’t seem to flush all the time. ( maybe the pressure was lie at the time)

    The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast very nice. We liked the location and would come again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night and everything was fine so I can't say we didn't like anything

    A very nice tidy hotel in a good location for Haydock racecourse. The breakfast was good and the staff are really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good ,the evening meal we had nearly a 40min wait not happy with that .

    The room very clean ,the staff very efficient, good stay over all,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    comfortable, good location and value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dusty with thick dust on the desk area. Also strong smell of paint as works were still ongoing on the floor i stayed. The public toilets near the reception were blocked and did not flush and were not very clean

    Staff very friendly, and recent redecoration to the rooms was good. Also the choice of room service was very good when compared with other hotels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Like the Bishop"s egg, good in parts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the re-vamp there are obviously going to be problems. The plug in our sink did not seal, so water drained away whilst washing. The toilet cistern constantly trickled water and then would not flush. The gents public toilets were completely blocked, leaving us without a usable toilet. Room was very noisy at night as people constantly let their doors slam. Restaurant is very noisy and resembles a college refectory. Choice on the menu is very samey, chips with everything!

    The room was larger than expected, which was a pleasant surprise. The re-vamp also was very attractive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay,great location for a couple of days racing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaper drinks,more staff on at busy times would definitely be a big help

    Room large and airy,large bathroom ,leaky shower fixed in double quick time.bar area very good ,plenty seats a good selection off drinks though very expensive.staff very helpful though service a little slow at times,though the hotel was very busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    If you are a Haydock race fan this is the place to stay. Highly Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was ok for us the ensuite shower room is a bit cramped. If you are a big person like one our travel companions it was a tight squeeze for him.

    Staff very friendly. Room clean and tidy.Breakfast very good. Will definitely book this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Booked this property because of its location near Haydock Park,it was really comfortable and we had a great time,after the races we went back and had a lovely meal in the restaurant,it has got great facilities and the staff are so friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    I like this property because of location, had easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like this property because of location, had easy access to the motor ways and the A roads so I could tour parts of the north being Liverpool and Mancaster, had a lovely time and would like to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant, comfortable stay. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 male member of bar staff on Saturday evening was very rude and arrogant ( Didn't get his name) other than that nothing that I didn't like, apart from paying 13 pound for a gin & tonic, a bit overpriced .

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable, Very good shower and excellent air conditioning. Staff especially the female bar staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The reception area wasn't too good but it is under development so cant be helped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    Not worthy of the Hilton brand - you should be closed for refurbishment not booking rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works, an unfinished dining room, sharing breakfast with builders (with tools). A temporary reception desk behind an assault cause of tape and lounge chairs. Poor.

    Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    A bit shabby and run down but more than made up for by helpful and good humored staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed pillows were really really Firm. The heating didn’t work. But portable heaters were quickly supplied. Toilet continually ran water. Still enjoyed my stay despite that. Refurbishing the foyer whilst we were there. A bit noisy at breakfast.

    Staff all very friendly and exceptionally helpful. Good leisure facilities Good breakfast selection and dinner was also very acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Well Below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding reception made the restaurant not available for use, were told we could eat in the bar. No space due to wedding party, were offered 2 x 2 seater tables in the corridor next to reception (there were six of us!) Breakfast at 9.15 was cold, only sausages were warm, I complained and waited more than 20 mins for some food to be brought out. The cold items were not removed for other guests. Only eggs and tomatoes were refreshed! Very disappointing

    Bed comfy, bathroom and bedroom clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable, value for money and I will certainly go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbishments were on going so was a little chaotic at breakfast as not in the usual restaurant and there were 2 coach parties also being fed. Had to ask for cutlery, butter and side plates. Staff were doing their best and were very obliging with a cheerful attitude under what must have been trying conditions. Breakfast itself was excellent.

    Bed was very comfortable. The room was quiet. The staff were excellent.The location was ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think on the hotel search, it must have just been stated as breakfast "avalible" and not "included. I thought that when I filtered fo "with breakfast,". it would have given results of "breakfast included." This really Booking. com's issue. They should filter as "breakfast included" as well as just "available". When we checked-in, we learned it was £14.95 per person, per day, for breakfast. The staff offered us prepaid breakfast vouchers at a discounted rate, if we purchased them at check-in for all 3 days. We bought the vouchers for breakfast at check in, The self-serve breakfast buffet was fresh, hot, and kept well stocked. The restraint is very light and open, with friendly and attentive staff But at check-outwe were shocked at the bill. The computer system messed up the bill iand we had a higher than expected biill, which we paid. However, when we were leaving, we expressed that we only bought the vouchers because of the discounted price. The staff member reviewed the bill and rectified it and made the adjustment by making a refund to our credit card. Thanks to her offering to make the adjustment, we were very pleased and the bill didn't give us a bad taste on what had otherwise been a fabulous stay. We enjoyed our stay very much. Even though it is not in town it was a lovely hotel and place to staying worth the short drive into Wigan

    Great Breakfast Staff coped with the massive amount of customers very well and professionally.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Ruined and spoilt the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely spoilt the trip to the fact I arranged for breakfast to be supplied as this was a gift for my partners parents, I even spoke to reception on the morning they were checking out to double check that breakfast would be included and they didn’t bother to tell the breakfast team so they left the hotel. Not happy at all!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Great room, friendly quality staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with breakfast. But that has been reported and is being dealt with.

    Clean comfortable room. Excellent staff, from reception who gave a lovely welcome to bar staff who were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Good but could have been better if restaurant improved quality of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was mediocre and breakfast items were often not replenished quickly enough meaning long waits

    Very friendly staff, good clean rooms, comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    At the time of booking I should of been made aware that the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the time of booking I should of been made aware that the Hotel was under renovation. On arrival I received a letter advising the work that was going on. Had I know I would of booked an alternative Hotel. There were drills and work going on even though it was Sunday evening. I decided to have a drink in the bar around 7pm and I studied both the bar menu and the restaurant menu planning my meals for the rest of my stay. On Monday evening I was told the restaurant menu was no longer in use. I only had the bar menu to order from. I eat elsewhere the following night. On my last night I decided to have the £10.95 Ceaser salad. I upgraded it with a Chicken Breast. New price of £14.95. I received one long leaf some iceberg lettuce, cold chopped bacon and a third of a chicken breast at best. Not very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold, very poor service, very cold in restaurant,, would not recommend this place, manager was supposed to ring but still waiting!!! Sums up this hotel!!!

    Not restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little small but very clean.

    Everything, especially the bed, pillows were lovely...would love to purchase one. Very friendly staff. Choice of coffee at breakfast was a great idea. Pool lovely and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice clean good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed bar closed early as was not busy but we arrived late due to sporting event was expecting to be open till later as advertised 😡

    Nice clean good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A must for Haydock Races
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resteraunt Dinner menu was limited.

    Good value very comfortable. I contacted the hotel the evening before we stayed and asked about an early check in ( I have a chronic illness) and they said they would do what they could. When we arrived they were really helpful. Especially the receptionist at 11am in the 31st of March. Really impressive staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Bit of a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    £15 for Ceasar Salad. Advertised with bacon, skewer of prawns & Monk fish. No bacon, 4 prawns & 2 very small pieces of Monk fish(1cm each)! Executive room booked. Found out at check out we should of had bathroom robes and mini bar! NO robes and mini bar locked with only one bottle of water in it!! We did howerver enjoy the one Mars Bar left in the room each night!!! Hotel did say they'll be in touch.

    Swimming Pool was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Terrible, will not be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed for the children was no made up on arrival and we had to wait 40 mins for it to be sorted. Breakfast was a shambles not enough staff and we had to wait for food to be cooked. We had to ask 3 or 4 times for everything before it was sorted. NOT GOOD AT ALL

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to be honest take it as a compliment as I am always very honest

    excellent customer service friendly helpful staff comfortable room just brill can't wait to stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    The staff are always so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a bathroom to have a tub.Desk was lovely but no room to walk around. Small room for an executive. I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza by John Lennon Airport and their rooms were far better laid out especially executive rooms.

    The staff are always so friendly and helpful. This is my 3rd stay when coming to watch the mighty Refs play the beautiful game. they are attentive and very genuine when feeling with a concern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the location tricky to get to, but if been once it’s easy after that.

    Comfy and large rooms with tea coffee facility, iron, hair dryer. Comfy beds and a working AC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    I would certainly stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access route into the Executive rooms corridor on third floor was extremely poorly designed. Poor signage.

    Nothing too much bother for the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Ok but not overly comfy in bar/reception area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foyer area draughty and bar area short of seats which extended into the foyer. Not warm or particularly comfortable in that respect. Furnishings a bit basic in main reception area too.

    Room and bathroom were clean and modern. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Apart from heating , good
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not great ..took a few hours too heat up , central heating radiator was ice cold and i did have to put my hairdryer on to warm room up for half hour x

    Steam rooms , sauna swimming perfect x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable, welcoming Hotel. A lovely warm room which made us feel warm and cosy all night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a view at the rear of the hotel which overlooked one of your conference rooms which was not ideal but it was not important - it did not spoil our visit to your lovely part of the country!

    The room was lovely and toasty!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing. Holiday Inn Expresses are better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room hadn't been serviced properly Room was cold; as was restaurant - two massive orange floodlights installed to heat the room! Hot water took an age to come through and then only warm. Better in the morning. TV not good minimal channels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Very good for race day out -have now visited on several occasions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Downstairs toilets rear of reception not working properly

    On ground floor -ideal for racing day out-10 min walk to course-nice beer and evening meal to round off

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money for an over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mark on the bed cover, pool is on the small side especially when lessons are taking place.

    Room was good value for the price, gym and hot tub were good again for the price of an over night stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water had to wait for ages also shower not very powerful very disappointing

    Service excellent staff very friendly food choice excellent food arrived timely tasted excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff where very helpfull
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Btoken shower

    All would have been rxcellant other than two problens with the shower although the staff where so could it dodnt seam imprtand. Breakfaxt was excellent. Staff qhete even better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    Adequate
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist who booked us in was very good and helpful The receptionist on checking out not so!!! I noticed that the bill had been incorrectly calculated....I had been charged for breakfast despite it being included in the room rate I asked her to explain the itemised items on the bill....she did so reluctantly She did then refund the overcharge but didn’t apologise at all and walked away from the desk without really offering me any regret about this rather large overcharge of £23.00 Some serious customer service training required I think

    The chamber maid who attended was very helpful and provided me with a more suitable pillow as requested

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    The bed was comfy, the soup we had delivered to the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was filthy, we gave it to the receptionist so it was taken out of the room. We couldn’t have a cuppa.

    The bed was comfy, the soup we had delivered to the room was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Coldest Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Foyer was very cold. Heating and Ventilation system could not cope with the duel front doors being in constant use. Ate in the restaurant with blow heaters placed around and on top of tables. Next night had a bar meal with coats on.

    Next to Haydock Racecourse

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    The staff give you a reason to return. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was broken in our room.. But the wonderful receptionist Michelle was really helpful. Did more than what is in her job description

    Location.. But you need to sort the Sat Nav post code out... It took us to a different Hotel..Daniel in the restaurant was very friendly and made us feel really welcomed... Which doesn't happen very often as we are OAP s.... We often get ignored. . We certainly did not at this hotel...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    I've stayed at 100's of hotels and I can say that...
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was booked for 3 people but wasn't set up for 3 people, I.e only 2 of everything, tea coffee, cups, glasses, towels etc. The girl on reception sorted it though

    I've stayed at 100's of hotels and I can say that your receptionist was above and beyond excellent, very helpful person indeed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    it was somewhere convenient but next time i think i'd just spend the money on a taxi and go home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room and the corridor leading to it smells really musty like the whole place has been cleaned with a dirty old mop. the bed was ridiculously soft and lumpy and only after sleeping in it did we discover some dodgy looking stains down the side of the bed. The carpet was stained and there was sugar sachets down the side of the furniture from previous guests.

    it was close by to the race course where i was attending a christmas party

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Just what we wanted. Great staff and Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did get parked but quite far away from the Reception. And it was raining. This problem you could Not change. Reception got very busy at times and more staff would have been helpful at times before Christmas night parties customers checked in

    Staff all lovely including housekeeper. Reception very smart. Room clean. Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    lovely place, would definitely use again if I'm in the area :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sauna seemed too hot? or maybe it's just me not used to it. At breakfast I was asked about 5 times whether I would like a tea or coffee which began to get a bit annoying ( I was fine with just juice which i could get myself)

    the lady on the front desk was very friendly and helped me with anything I asked and never seemed flustered even though she had about 3 people trying to get her attention at any one time. Also the lady at the desk of the leisure center was wonderful and really looked after me when I turned up with no clue that I could use the pool, and helped me buy a swim suit and let me try it on first. Also lent me a locker token and a big fluffy towel, I just felt really welcome :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Good accommodation, but services not up to scratch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet ran continually so did not flush properly. Had to go down to the bar to order rooms service as no one answered the phone. Restaurant was not available on any of the days due to private parties, this meant going back out in the car to find somewhere to eat, if not using room service what was quite limited in choice.

    Liked the staff, ease of parking and size of the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.2
    Totally unsatisfactory.would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottom toilets out of order but no warning. Only 1 lift working.no hot water in either of our rooms.next day buffet breakfast pathetic with very little food to choose from

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Haydock traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: