Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct. 8 3 stars

Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead, HP2 4UA, United Kingdom

#6 of 11 hotels in Hemel Hempstead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 691 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was ideal for the purpose of our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel starting to look a little 'worn' , going to need a makeover soon. However, having stayed in many Holiday Inns, that was pretty much as expected.

    Location was ideal for the purpose of our trip. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    happy customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean and modern

    room clean and large good tea and coffee happy with how quiet the room was really pleased with everything it was a lovely stay for me and my partner xxx

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked a room with pull out bed got standard room , booked breakfast with room wasn't confirmed, arrived at 3 pm room wasn't ready was going out at 3.30pm had to leave case behind desk and couldnt have a shower.

    n/a

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole town is lovely clean, the hotel is in a good position from the main roads and near enough to the town. There was a wedding in the hotel so the bar was a little under stocked but there was still something to choose. Love that there is a fridge in the room and shampoo and conditioner in the shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable, location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, comfortable, location, friendly staff. Lauren at reception was extremely helpful and welcoming after our 10 hour drive. Lauren in the restaurant on Saturday evening provided great service to our table. Food was also great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit on the small side.

    Location was great for areas we wanted to visit. Public areas nice and comfortable. Pool, jacuzzi and sauna very good and not too busy. Reception staff very friendly and proffesional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    A drop in previously high standards. Out of fairness, we shall try again when next we visit Hemel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The increased level of 'self service' at breakfast. In the past we have been seated by the waiter/waitress who has taken our tea/coffee and toast order, before delivering it to our table. This, small, token of service was much appreciated. The new do-it-yourself regime is a big disappointment. Shoving a teabag in a mug and mashing with a wooden stirrer just isn't the same and the toaster slow and inefficient. Food collected from the buffet breakfast bar was luke-warm at best ... again below previous standards.

    Excellent Fish & Chips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    A little disappointed this time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not made aware of the necessity to register my vehicle and I have received a parking ticket. Also, I was not made aware that I could have a voucher for breakfast to reduce the cost and I was charged the full rate by the restaurant.

    Rooms are always very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff where very helpful and willing to help at any moment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I have with the hotel is the cleanliness of the Health Centre, that has let the overall view of the hotel down.

    Staff where very helpful and willing to help at any moment they could. Lovely hotel all very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Nothing outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service at evening meal and very ordinary choice on all day menu. Chicken and ham pie crust like concrete. Fish and chips not value for money.

    Nothing outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and relaxing especially the massage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main road was a dual carriage way so had to go back on yourself at times but that is a minor problem and the road isn’t long food choice could have been a bit more varied.

    There was plenty of spaces to sit and relax. The pool was lovely and the massage lady was great. The breakfast was nice and the kitchen were happy to do boiled eggs for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Short Stay, Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Step in bath was difficult as I've short legs.

    There was area to relax other than your room. The staff were helpful. We decided to have dinner on site and we were not disappointed with the dinner. It was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfy and quiet place to stay, a bit distant from everything and needs renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are travelling to the hotel via public transport, you are going to find the last stretch pretty difficult. It is advisable to take a taxi to the property as the lack of footpath is frustrating. Also, the hotel really needs some TLC, it looks much better in the photos than the inside truly does.

    As with every Holiday Inn (IHG) hotel, the check-in process is completely seamless, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    good value and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent large clean and comfortable double room. Drinks and snacks at bar reasonably priced for a hotel. Gym more than adequate. Breakfast had a good selection and all staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    It was a great location for visiting Harry Potter world and very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little worn/old in places

    The staff in the restaurant were great, they gave us the time we wanted to really enjoy our evening, but rushing us to order or eat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast, much prefer to be served as I am disabled and struggle with a walking stick and collecting food and carrying it especially red hot drinks in cardboard cups! No glasses, no mugs, only cardboard cups available at 8.30 breakfast

    Overall good quality, comfortable room. Food I did have was good quality with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Average.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi and no compensation for it not working. Phone didn't work in bedroom so had to order room service from front desk, slightly defeats the objective. Quality of food was very poor.

    Front of house staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Adequate could be better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of service on arrival and lack of interest from the bar staff, leaving us waiting while he watched the tv with his friends. Cooked breakfast was not hot enough.

    The gym, pool, and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, shame about the wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi and phone did not work

    Spa facilities and cleanliness fab. Really comfortable and reasonable rates. Shame wifi not working as caused stress as needed to work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    very relaxing and perfect location for Whipsnade Zoo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant could of been more organised, we were a party of 10 booked to eat on both nights of our stay, 1st night perfect. 2nd night we had to move things around a bit. Some of the food was over cooked some wasn't heated up at all so had to send it back. Breakfast 1st morning no problems but 2nd morning we all had to sit where we could find a seat even though we were booked in.

    Location to what we wanted to do was perfect. Room was clean bathroom was good shower very powerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant, would stay again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant at breakfast alway looked untidy, no one clearing tables, and staff on the floor never seemed over enthusiastic to help. Second night we went to the bar, no staff, had to ask and it took an age for anyone to serve.

    Reception staff excellent, helpful,cheerful couldn't do enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some complimentary biscuits would have been nice as breakfast was an expensive extra. The shower controls were very stiff and difficult to use.

    The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. Good quality towels and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get to use the pool or gym during our stay due to classes being held and it was very busy.

    The hotel was very clean, staff friendly and the bed was really comfortable. Lots of choice for breakfast. Was well worth the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, nice clean room which was of a decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plugs could’ve been a bit closer to the bed!

    Very helpful staff, nice clean room which was of a decent size. Very nice bathroom! Beds were extremely comfortable and there was a large selection to choose from at breakfast, fried food, toast,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little too hard for my liking and swimming pool quite deep for my 4 year old, who is very tall for her age (nearly 120cm)

    Great breakfast and lovely jacuzzi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Had a comfortable and accommodating stay at the hotel, and the staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    the room was clean, comfortable and spacious. I slept extremely well, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and a good variety provided. Hot drinks machine was great. Only regret that I didn't spend more time relaxing in the room!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Average Hotel, not really worth the high price to stay. But staff were helpful and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed very out dated Cups and dishes left outside of people's rooms. Changing rooms in the pool were dirty.

    Staff was lovely, room was very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    I think £105 was a lot of money I would expect something a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    I think £105 was a lot of money I would expect something a bit more salubrious the decor was very dated however on the plus side the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    The pool/sauna/jacuzzi were very clean and not too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. We ordered a sharer bucket with wings/onion rings and nachos but it was cold and not very well presented. I also ordered the bread with dipping oil and balsamic vinegar..the balsamic was stuck to the bottom of the dish and it definitely wasn’t olive oil...quite disappointing.

    The pool/sauna/jacuzzi were very clean and not too busy. Although the steam room was out of order on the day we arrived but was up and running the next day. The bed was comfy and the room was clean and coffee/tea etc well stocked!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and convenient hotel. No surprises....consistent high standard Holiday Inn product.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought that £16.99 for breakfast in the restaurant was a bit steep - hence why we ordered lighter option via bar.

    We ordered both an evening meal and breakfast the following morning from the bar as wanted the lighter options. Food was delicious and staff were charming. I also requested some additional toiletries which were delivered into my hands at reception...very impressive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.0
    Poor staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in took 25 minutes, only 1 person on reception, system was down, went for breakfast, said was not included (it was on my booking), were rude and unhelpful. A big change since I last visited. Food in bar very poor and overpriced. Check out total chaos, again system not working. They dramatically need to improve and train staff in customer focus.

    Gym good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Angry guest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came down in the morning to find my van had been broken into and £3000 worth of tools stolen. With no help from hotel or police so thanks. Won't be staying again.

    Close to work

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took 4 attempts to get a card to open door and even then was quite temperamental. Very frustrating.

    Helpful staff. Comfortable room. Good food in restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.6
    Better customer values and response
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was not told about redtraunt not open we was woken at 01.30 with noise and smoking we have complained but have no reply bad communication

    Not a lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Full of potential but disappointed in value for money on this occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not made up for numbers booked and cold on arrival. Sofa bed lacking in comfort, duvets too light for season. Breakfast included in room rate but started too late to fit in with first ski lesson of day at snow centre.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Ok not sure would stay again
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t worth the extra money, was over cooked and been sitting around for a while also saw one of the staff pouring milk into the orange juice jug when she relised what she had done she didn’t empty it and start again instead just kept pouring in more orange juice!! One night there was a car alarm going off in the car park and all reception could do about it was offer to move us into a different room. (Yet when you book in the they take your car reg/ home address and contact number so was it really hard to track down who it belonged too?? Stared at 7pm and going off until at least 3 am) Our last morning was also eventful being woken up by the fire alarm being tested 3 times not once were we warned about this during our stay, rushed up got dress and grabbed a bag and rushed to leave to find out was only a test, tested a bit more than my patients!!

    Good location for what we wanted Spa area always clean and staff friendly down there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trainee greeter at breakfast needs training. She was very nice, and her badge said she was a trainee, but she did not explain where breakfast things were or take us to our table. Just a little thing but you do expect this from a holiday inn and that she should have been told she needs to do this before being placed in a position of greeting guests on her own.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast great pool steam room and gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant unavailable for dinner and bar was taken over by non residents party, had to go elsewhere for dinner

    Breakfast swimming pool steam room and sauna were brilliant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.0
    Good food .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was at the venue for a gatsby evening , was told that there would be a competion , for the well dressed . I hired my clothing for the evening worth £200 .. There was no such thing .. if I knew that then I wouldn't have spent so Much on hiring a dress , and accessories

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Worst stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Christmas party held in main restaurant and bar area if hotel had been upfront with this information I would have stayed at another Holiday inn Hotel.made using the restaurant and bar area very uncomfortable for other guests staying at the hotel very poor standard of management organisation.

    Staff very polite helpful.Food excellent and the accommodation first class.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was perfect for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was Christmas parties on and there was no noise control in the corridors meaning people were shouting outside as late as 11.30

    Room was really clean, spacious and had everything we needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Swimming pool, sauna, steam room lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool, sauna, steam room lovely! Staff on front desk were excellent and really helpful when we had a couple of changes to make and they were really busy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Excellent customer service from all staff, starting at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent customer service from all staff, starting at arrival. Good food in hotel - we had arrived late so had lunch there - fish and chips was outstanding! Breakfast was great - good selection for all. Couldn’t fault it really!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    I stay at this hotel regularly and always find the staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay at this hotel regularly and always find the staff and facilities exceptional. Any minor issues are always dealt with very quickly and efficiently. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. There is a lovely, family atmosphere around the hotel and you feel that nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean and well equipped, the restaurant and bar areas are warm and comfortable. All in all, this hotel provides excellent service and value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Helpful staff making for a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Windows did nor open wide enough, and the air conditioning was not cold enough.

    The beds were extremely comfortable. The conservatory in the morning after a night of snow was like a winter wonderland.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a party theme night on in the hotel, which was fine and didn't disturb me in my room. However, the bar area is already small for the size of hotel and it was packed, making it impossible to relax, work or watch the football. Either sort the layout or ensure their is a quieter, residents bar. The overall stay was on the expensive side for what it was.

    My room was a decent size and was comfortable. Breakfast was fine and overall my stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold to the point my duvet felt damp, tang down to reception 3 times and was told someone would be up! Eventually had to go to reception myself, They bought up a heater to the room which didn’t work! I stated also that I had no hot water and it still wasn’t fixed So not only was I cold but had no warm water either! And paid 134 for the pleasure of being cold!

    Lovely shower and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    A good hotel in a handy location, particularly if visiting the Warner studios.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get to our room we had to go through a lounge area and through the middle of a wedding party/celebration.

    room was spacious, bar food good and breakfast also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Ok but the soundproofing needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very ,very loud music from a wedding party, which kept us up after a very long day visiting Harry Potter WB Surely in this day and age better soundproofing could be installed to at least muffle the sound .Then the early morning noise of slamming doors and children running wild in the halls from the very same wedding guests at 7.50 am woke my whole party , meaning we had very limited sleep.

    My room was set up for a disabled traveller and I was very pleased with it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay for a hot chocolate at Starbucks (in the hall) for the daughter's breakfast.

    Very warm welcome at the reception. The amenities (pool-sauna...)were clean.The room was big enough for 3.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not very clean fillters in the hot tub were filthy the walk areas were very wet and slimey there were no slip hazzard signs and only one member of staff so it was clear to see why there was no cleaning going on

    Hotel was really nice our room was lovely if we were to visit the area again this hotel would be our first choice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was lovely and loads of choice and the facilities where outstanding excellent staff and welcoming nothing was too much trouble and worth every penny

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    On the whole perfectly satisfactory .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication from outside calls through desk to us. Our son tried to speak to us but was refused to do this because we had not given permission for him to do so. Nobody asked if we wanted to receive outside calls.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Specifically requested a double bed and was put in a twin room, asked to be moved at reception and was told no doubles were available. Not good enough. Booking offered a partial refund which was accepted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location and spa but restaurant disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait an excessively long time for the children's meals at dinner (including ice cream!) and all our meals at lunchtime. Got charged for the children's meals even though it's advertised that children eat free. When we queried this at reception no one seemed to know what the policy was. The back doors to car park, near the spa were held open on Sunday. Thought this to be a security and safety risk. Booked a double executive room but only one of everything (dressing gown, slippers etc). They did bring the extras later on but slightly annoying.

    Spa facilities excellent with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was well cooked with plenty of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Let down by slow service and incompetent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service by the staff. We had lunch twice and dinner over the weekend and it took over an hour for every meal to come out. The kids were starving and we should have gone else where. We were charge £9,95 for fish finger sandwiches instead of the sandwich prices of £6.95. Staff just shrugged there shoulders when we asked why. When I came to pay the bill it was all wrong with different food added on that the 9of us didn’t eat. When we came to sort it out it took a lot of discussion for the staff to understand what we wanted to pay for. I paid, checked my recipet and was still charged wrong. Had to be refunded £9,95, it was a huge waste of time even more annoying when we had 3 kids waiting in the car. Incompetence!

    Facilities were good and kids enjoyed swimming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Good for a stopover but not a long stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in the receptionist was unhelpful and didn’t give us any information. Was more interested to confirm who we were and just give us the key. Needs more plug sockets. Complimentary water with coffee and tea would be nice in room. Breakfast was good but the bacon was under cooked. Also the smell in the lobby of food wasn’t very nice.

    Quiet rooms and decor in lobby was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, but influenced by motorway work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One way system on leaving and traffic to M1 not good. Only just made my destination (10 miles away, I was planning to be early - by an hour).

    Good hotel, clean and modern room. Good meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable, convenient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Broken glass in car park pointed out, not cleared up 12 hours later.

    Excellent breakfast, lovely decor in public areas, room clean and very well furnished. Friendly and helpful service from all staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location. Family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist on arrival. Not a nice greeting in fact he said nothing. Light out in bathroom, should have been checked.

    The pool area and it was easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    No comment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had been cooked too early was cold did not have any.Did get a refund however. But had to buy a breakfast in town.Most incovenient. The hotel decor is very tired.Bath was stained paintwork peeling off on door.Will not stay again.

    No comment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.3
    Wouldn't go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took the other pillows from the cupboard because the one on the bed was too hard but the softer pillow was very smelly. It smelled mouldy and damp! Sink in bathroom was not very clean. The overall appearance of the room was grubby!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Really lovely staff & excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the room could have been a bit more up to date.

    The evening meal & breakfast were lovely. We were delighted to find out our daughter ate for free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location for a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is quite far out of the town, so a shuttle of some sort would be great, but it was a nice walk. Not the hotel's fault, but footpaths near it would be great.

    Beds very comfy. Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing and the massage I got was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant could be a lot better if they seasoned their meat more. The breakfast was okay but they never had any welldone eggs which I would of liked.

    The spa facility was nice and so were the staff there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Friendly and safe for single travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    I stay here regularly and find it brilliant for my needs as a lone female traveller on business. The staff are extremely friendly, the hotel restaurant and bar areas are lovely and the rooms are clean and very well equipped. There is a M&S Food To Go and petrol station next door where you can buy breakfast and coffee. The in-room movie channel is a big bonus. A great family-friendly hotel suitable for both business and leisure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Everything I wanted for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom extractor fan not working.

    Spacious room. Quick and easy access to internet. Lovely gym, pool and restaurant. Staff go the extra mile. M&S shop at the service station just a few metres away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Felt underwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist unwelcoming; allocated room given in noisy, isolated location opposite meeting rooms so asked to change; had to go across road to garage for late night coffee and hot chocolate; lot of food and drink unavailable in restaurant and not enough Staff in restaurant on Saturday night

    Location suited our plans Room clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    We stayed here as a base to go and visit Harry Potter studio tours and it was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, we have no complaints.

    We traveled with our disabled son and the accommodation was perfect. The staff in the dinning area were really helpful and sorted out seating for our group. The man on the desk when we were leaving was really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.4
    Parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby restaurant. Breakfast very expensive. Duvets were heavy and dense.

    Parking. Good quality TV. Internet was easy you to access. Receptionist was superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the bed, normally I'm not keen on a soft bed but it really ended well because I slept really well. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, it filled me up all day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent Staff, Excellent Food and minor problem fuller resolved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a TWIN room and they didn't have one - I don't think I should have been able to book a TWIN room if they didn't have one, also fold down bed was broken so my friend had to sleep on the settee.

    As usual with Holiday Inn the breakfast was excellent! First time we've used the restaurant but as we arrived late it was the obvious thing to do - food and presentation was excellent but a bit pricey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.8
    comfortqble bed but not value for money
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a room on a higher floor and we were given a levek ground floor right at the end of the corridoor, our room had a damage to the wall and also we requested a smoking room and we got a non smoking room.

    The bed was comfortable, enjoyed parts of my breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Ideal Business Stopover. Very Impressed. Excellent Situation for M1/M25 Links
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Ideal business stopover. Stayed for 1-night. Got allocated a refurbished room on lower ground floor. Suggest requesting this at time of booking. Room was quiet, well-appointed, clean and tidy. Provided a relaxing nights' sleep with a really comfortable bed. I had to organise a taxi to my business destination for a 5.00am pickup and the front office/reception staff were really helpful and accommodating in sorting this out for me at short notice. I just picked up the phone in my room on the morning in question and it was booked and the taxi collected me on time from reception. Really impressed with the overall level of service. As a result, I have booked the accommodation for my next business trip when in the area scheduled at the end of September. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    OK. But not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was expensive and disappointing. I head my meal then went to the garage next door as I was still hungry. I'd stay there again but wouldn't eat there.

    Location was good. Girl was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: