Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4 3 stars

Crest Road, High Wycombe, HP11 1TL, United Kingdom

#2 of 7 hotels in High Wycombe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 831 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel has good facilities and comfortable lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were really silly mistakes made. Small things but frustrating. Housekeeping only changed the towells but didn't even make the bed. The ordered red wine was forgotten, then not available, then served really cold and charged for twice. The food was good but coleslaw missing from plate and side order never arrived. Easily sorted with training and better management.

    The hotel has good facilities and comfortable lounge. The beds are great. The staff are all very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel facilities are good and it is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed quite disorganised but very willing.There seems to be a lack of staff training, which meant service could be a little slack and/or mistakes made. Individually the staff were all lovely. Management seemed to be missing.

    The hotel facilities are good and it is in a good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    okay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door slamming. they don't shut quietly so every-time someone in the corridor went in or out of there room the door would slam shut, okay during the day but not in the night when trying to sleep.

    beds were comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Standard hotel for business travel or passing through
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone didn't work, so I had to get dressed and go to reception with wet hair to get replacement hairdryer. Nobody seemed that bothered. Somewhat expensive for just a room off the motorway.

    Nice room but with extra touches such as plenty of bottled water and hot chocolate! All linens very clean. Great shower and bath. Hairdryer was faulty but was replaced immediately. Food reasonable. Easy to get extra breakfast for colleague who came to pick me up in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.3
    Compared to our stay at Haydock holiday inn this was a very poor example off holiday inn experience
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were disorganised, the room was dated, the bed was very uncomfortable, the breakfast was ok except having to queue for 15 minutes to get one cup off coffee, the evening meal only part off the order arrived nearly finished before being able to find a member of staff to ask, waiting 10 minutes to be served in the unattended bar

    Location was perfect for our needs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant comfortable stay with great facilities and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors slamming/ door noise

    Doors slamming was a problem. Easily rectified with door stoppers or the like.1 But everything else was spot on. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    The location in respect of our onward journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an executive room for a higher price. It wasn’t in anyway superior to the normal rooms we have stayed in during our previous visits to this property. That is unless you count the dispensers on the wall in the bathroom, the two glass bottles of water and the one Mars bar.

    The location in respect of our onward journey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good and convenient for stopover if you dont need an early start on Saturday!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we did not like 10% service charge added at till on food and drinks order made at bar, nothing on menu to inform you of this. ( didn`t even offer to carry drinks to table! )

    We liked the early breakfast advertised on website from 6.30 until receptionist told us it did not start until 7.30 on Saturday ( we did decide to pay for it on booking in as it was cheaper and we would alter our plans, but in the end decided to skip breakfast for an early start} Evening meal - food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    good location, nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower curtain was stained on the inside, they need to make sure the place looks spotless for the next guest. I ordered room service and it had to be paid there and then, this surely can be added to my bill when I check out.

    Breakfast was varied and fresh. Rooms were clean are comfortable. Wifi signal was strong and location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Consistent Holiday Inn Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower strength could be better. Not bad for a mixer tap with shower but I feel this could be upgraded.

    Staff friendly, room very clean and quiet even though this inn is next to a busy motorway. Facilities good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Dreadful customer service. Don’t bother staying here if you want a twin room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room, only to be told on arrival they only had a (very small) double. Totally unsuitable for 2 adults who are not a couple. Reception staff were completely unhelpful and didn’t resolve the problem at all - despite proof from Booking.com that 2 single beds / twin were requested on booking. No alternative solution proposed, just told they were full. This was our 3rd visit but will not be staying again!

    This stay - nothing except location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing hassle free stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Whole stay was brilliant friendly efficient staff ,compfy bed ,excellent plentiful breakfast , late check out anytime check in what more do you need will defiantly be staying again thanks very much 😀😁😄

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Brief overnight only!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been a little larger but not much can be done now! Otherwise, nothing to complain about...all good!

    Clean & tidy. Rooms not big but adequate. Hotel has bar and lounge area, both of which we availed of!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have breakfast , so we can't comment on the quality but we thought it was extremely expensive at £14.95 pp .perhaps for the main clientele mainly buisness bookings it's fine but not for the average booking . We were offered a reduced rate @£10 pp but still thought this was expensive .

    The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionist was so unhelpful and rude . There was no lift and we didn’t get any offer of help to take our luggage upstairs . There was no safe in the room and when we questioned it , I was told I didn’t request one . My expectation from Holiday inn was to have a safe in all rooms . This was not the first time I stayed at holiday inn . The room was very cold in the first night of our stay and the receptionist attitude was not right . Although later on another nice lady helped us and brought us a heater .

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Mostly satisfactory
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it had been a warm day, as the evening approached and the temperature dropped, still had air con running too cold.

    Room was good and within easy reach of facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    The location.
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked twin room but was told by staff that because the booking wasn’t made direct through them it means nothing. Had a double bed. For me and my 16 year old son. The hotel did put a camp bed in, but that wasn’t what I paid for.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel, highly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee is a little bit expensive!

    Lovely hotel, beds and pillows are very comfortable and I slept very well. Lovely staff, very friendly and welcoming, great location. Good all round hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that there were no bedside lights working on either side of the bed and I had to use the large angle poise lamp in the corner of the room

    Position of the hotel and the accommodation good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Second stay, quite expensive this time. Would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff could have more training for busy times. Water in bathroom sink took ages to drain away, reported to reception and within 10 minutes man appeared to look at it. Wanted to move us to another room, we declined the offer as it was about 11pm. He was going to come in the morning but arrived 5 minutes later with a plunger ( which he really should have come with) and fixed it :-) He was polite and helpful, especially when we used Spanish, to a man who we think said he was Romanian.

    Location, free space for dog. Good size room quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a hurry to leave and ask if we could get a refund for our breakfast , she shouted at us stating NO.

    Staff at the reception on Sunday morning was not pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Man United won so the weekend was a memorable one, venue well recommeded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in could've been slicker, even thou we arrived at the time advised to check in the room wasn't available for about 20mins after arriving. This was an issue that affected a number of guests attemping to check in?

    The facilities were ideal for there purpose.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small and was a long way from the reception area, plus there was no lift.

    Friendly reception. The restaurant/bar near the reception area was a pleasant place to have a drink and a snack.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall we had a great stay and look forward to staying again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bedroom the small green lights kept me awake as they seemed to be very bright, but I do understand why they are in the rooms. Also it would have been nice if the bathroom window had a blind or curtain to use while using the shower/bath etc.

    The room was a brilliant size, especially the bathroom. The T.V. Kettle, Ironing board etc where very welcome in the room and it was also great that the T.V. size made it easier for my to see. The breakfast was wonderful and the bacon, eggs etc was cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, convenient and stress free!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast selection and presentation

    Breakfast selection somewhat "tired" certainly towards the end of the session. Not recommended at full price! Bed excellent, and staff extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Arrived and booked last minute and the staff were excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived and booked last minute and the staff were excellent and set up a baby crib for us. Great location just off the motorway. Perfect stop off point

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, recently refurbed, Spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, recently refurbed, Spacious and clean. We didn’t eat here, Frankie and Bennys just around the corner with cinema so easy stop over with mixed ages of children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Good night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical Holiday Inn for business travelers. The shower was a big disappointment and it is not suitable for females.

    First warm hotel room in GB during one weeks stay. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, comfortable and convenient stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seened to be a space in the room tor a fridge but I had to ask to store some items overnight...

    Staff were most helpful and pleasant, definitely willing to assist as much as possible!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Was quite good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed cold and although we adjusted the controls in our room it was cold particularly the bathroom. The bathroom sink plug didn't work and the toilet was heavily stained.

    Very substantial breakfast. Wide choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Ideal hotel when visiting relatives in High Wycombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    someone next door having a very early bath!

    The room was clean & comfortable and the shower was excellent. we did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on this

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    There were plugging heaters.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room was dusty - Blockbuster films were not - Not enough teas/coffee sachets and milks and sugars - Hotels in bathroom usually have an extra small towel and carrier bags but didnt and there was only one toilet roll - There was previous guests facial hair near sink - My phone was dead so required maintenance to fix a new one so i could call room service - No lifts and i suffer with back pain so i struggled with luggage - No fridge with food/drinks

    There were plugging heaters.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was very clean and in the perfect location for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 7am the cleaners were making a racket in the room next to me and my partner they were banging on the walls scraping.,it was horrible and frustrating to say the least.,Then at 9am one of the cleaners did not even knock on the door and just invited herself in.,until I shouted excuse me.,she then apologised and left.,so overall a bad morning

    The hotel was very clean and in the perfect location for me.,the lovely lady at reception was pleasant and helpful when arrived to check in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Great comfort , value for money , courteous and friendly staff and tasty food.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long corridors for elderly parents to walk!

    Fantastic staff! Really comfortable warm quiet rooms. Brilliant breakfast . Great bar to sit and discuss family issues. My 85yt old mum was unwell and we needed to go to hospital. The staff were calm, supportive and helped us sort her out. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    It will be fine when the refurbishment is completed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of a refurbishment not good - clearly had a problem with central heating as you room had 2 portable electric radiators in for which I was grateful. Also, allow 20 minutes to get out of the car park and on to the main roads - this is a real problem from the early morning

    The staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely brand new room, exceptional bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room I booked had a mini bar, but it didn’t. Would of been better if it had one, to store drinks.

    Lovely brand new room, exceptional bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location, good quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the small side, but everything needed was there. very convenient location - as long as the motorway junction is open!

    Newly refurbished, comfortable room with all that was needed for a comfortable stay. Nice bar/public area with good coffee

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again but eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the food was, at best, mediocre. The same desert 3 nights in a row, same soup 3 nights in a row, poor choice of main dishes, inadequate salad. The best meal was breakfast.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Refurbished rooms are stylish with good facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall good, just a few minor issues!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had two tea bags and one bath towel, despite paying for two guests. Usually expect to have a towel each and more than one cup of tea each.

    Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge. No bath. No comfy chair in room. It was a new room clean but clinical. Older rooms have stayed in before much nicer

    Nice to have mid day check out. And nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, welcoming staff, really comfortable bed,shame about the room service charge!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think charging for a tray to be delivered to the room (room service) is really unacceptable as we are paying for the food. Why not charge for using the towels or the bed linen?? Where does a hotel draw the line when it comes to charging guests??

    The gentleman on reception was very helpful, got the balance right between being chatty but professional. Bed was very comfortable. Room really clean. We liked the idea that we could contact the manager at anytime if we had concerns. Buffet breakfast fairly standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Picking someone up from Heathrow
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors to room 54 no heating ,veneration fan in bathroom inoperative & towel radiator inoperative & radiator in bedroom inoperative, this hotel is currently being refurbished, had weather been informed we wood not have stayed there ,overpriced accomadation could have booked travel inn for £100.00 less very disappointed customer, will not book again with you.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for an overnight stay -- and conveniently near the centre of High Wycombe .
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some confusion about the booking which I had made on the internet rather than with the hotel direct . This was resolved -- and the manager kindly offered us free drinks while this got sorted

    efficient bathroom -- and clean . breakfast satisfactory -- it was convenient that the restaurant is situated near the reception desk and the hotel entrance where there was plenty of room for luggage to be left pending our departure .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    4.6
    Reported toilet not working before going out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reported toilet not working before going out. Returned was told been checked it's working. I checked was by working. Reported again was told can't do anything!! No offer of even reducing the bill or change room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.2
    Noisy and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put in a room where there was a lot of work going on. The rooms AC did not work nor was there any hot water. A lot of noise from builders. No fridge nor drinking water!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £63 is a bit more expensive than other hotels nearby. The only complaint was that there was no buffet breakfast as promised the night before and having to order off the menu delayed us slightly. We had a utility warehouse event at the swan theatre to get to that morning

    The bed was very comfy and staff were very friendly. The room was a lot nicer than expected and our request for twin beds was met which was nice as I was staying with a work colleague

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    new refurbished room was set out well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was next to builders who were working on a saturday; signage to room was poor and misleading; a/c unable to control and was cold during the night; night porter could have been more welcoming

    new refurbished room was set out well

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Been before, it's good but disappointed on this one occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didnt tell us when breakfast was on so we missed it. Also asked for late checkout at desk and were told we could go at 1 but got rang at 12 asking us to leave

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    Needs work and more staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting to be served in the morning, guests were banging on the bar to get served as their was no one there. Only one bath towel, TV on the blink took an hour to get it sorted.

    Plenty of parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Very pleasant short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to 1st. Floor rooms.....no lift, stairs not particularly that easy to negotiate, with luggage.

    Excellent Breakfast,extensive choice, help yourself buffet style on all items.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    good would stay again prefer to a travelodge;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very hot and meant our sleep was poor;

    the hotel was good and staff very helpful at 5 am when I couldn't sleep. the room was a good size bed was a little small but okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did try asking for disabled room unfortunately none was available, Very kind staff offered to take my cases. Had to carry the cases down the stairs my self , Next time I will ask for the ground floor

    Location was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Two day's respite Stay, I left rejuvenated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seem to be trivial, but a visible dark stain at the bottom of the toilet bowl irked me, every time I used the loo.

    Pleasant environment created a friendly atmosphere. Everyone I encountered at the hotel communal spaces came across as relaxed and responsive to a smile.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Cosy and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried contacting the hotel a few days before via booking.com about dietary requirements and wasn't responded to

    The window shutters and view Shower was nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    A very nice place to stay, would like return and see what is like after the rooms have been updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was dry, it had been kept warm for some time, and the bed was worn as you kept falling to the middle of the bed. The passage ways were very cold considering it was only 1deg outside.

    Seating area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Staff friendly and accommodating, room was good size.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a new carpet being laid and although the staff asked us if we wanted to move rooms we chose to stay but the new carpet smell was quite over powering in the corridor but could not be helped. This smell was not in the room.

    Staff friendly and accommodating, room was good size.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location / facilities for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff; initially I only booked an overnight stay for one night, but as my work commitments changed, it was not a problem at all to get things sorted on the spot at the hotel. Breakfast / dinner was fine, again very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travelled with my wife of over fifty years and there was no option for travelling with a spouse. Could you not change PARTNER to PARTNER/SPOUSE on this option? or will it offend some pressure group?

    Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel, well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having traveled to several countries with Holiday Inn, breakfasts was not at the expected standard, everything over cooked/burnt

    Good location, walking distance from stores, lots of parking. Usually I get a executive room with my membership which were being renovated/already taken however for last minute arrival, very decent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    A relaxing place to stay, with good facilities
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no negative aspects for us.

    The staff were excellent. We arrived at a very busy time, but the staff remained calm and in control, very friendly and helpful. We had our dog with us but this was no problem. The location next to the M40 is spot-on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Don’t stay if you’re disabled and want a hot shower
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a disabled room witch was very nice apart from the bath/shower it should have a walk in shower or wet room as the bath with shower over is to narrow to have a shower for a disabled person also has an old fashioned plastic curtain for the shower SO disabled person has a shower holding on in a narrow bath trying to stop plastic curtain sticking to them and using shampoo - also low water pressure which happens according to reception when hotel is full- sorry very poor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.2
    Not a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude as I booked in. Room was tiny. Was made to feel very small when booking in with crazy things like has my child got any identification. Could of just walked out then. But traveled out of town to get there.

    Nothing at all. Bad experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    It was fine for an overnight stop at a special reduced price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a meal in the bar area about 5.45 (restaurant did not open until 6.30) & had to wait over 30 minutes for food to arrive. Chips & garlic bread could have been hotter. Temperature of shower was fine but it was very fierce & difficult to calm down!

    Room was clean & comfortable & remarkably quiet considering proximity of M40. Enjoyed breakfast. Liked the very obliging employee who tried to sort out the problem with our TV.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Holiday Inn High Wycombe is very conveniently situated and it fulfills all you need for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The continental breakfast items were excellent, the cooked items, however, were most unappetising and on day two we avoided them. They looked and tasted as though they had been cooked way in advance and kept warm. Shame. The outside courtyard area was the only area of the hotel that let the cleanliness down. Lazy smokers had littered the ground and it was hard to see when the area had last been cleaned.

    The hotel was quiet, peaceful and relaxed and the staff were helpful but unobtrusive. Our room was clean and comfortable, if a little too warm but maybe in August this can't be avoided. Overall very convenient for our short stay visiting family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Ideal and comfortable location for visiting family and friends in High Wycombe and London area.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to really complain about - well priced, easy-to-use taxi service to get into town and back.

    Ideal location to locate for accessible visit to High Wycombe area. Clean, quiet and comfortable overnight stay. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice bar/restaurant. Really good breakfast the next morning. A good deal through Booking.com!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.3
    Uncomfortable lumpy cot, unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double and twin, got 2 double. We're told no twin left. We rang the hotel to book a twin and there were some available. They then gave us a "twin" which was a double bed and a cot. Very uncomfortable lumpy cot. That is not a twin room! Extremely disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was disappointing (cold, always the same, not clean and organised), the mattress of the bed was bad (we rolled to the middle), carpet was not clean, and there was a lot of noise from other guests in the evening, night and morning.

    Parking, that's about it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    We liked the large shower room and facilities to get ready...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The automatic door nearly hit us on the way through, does it comply to safety standards?

    We liked the large shower room and facilities to get ready for a friends wedding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Without the little niggles this would have been a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was set up for one person e.g one dressing gown, one Mars bar, one hot chocolate sachet but reception told us next morning that we could have asked for another of everything. We had a very reasonable Executive Room as we thought it would be quieter however we didn't bank on the extremely noisy family upstairs with no regard for others whatsoever. Again reception said they would have spoken to the people had we rung them. You could clearly hear the water running every time from another room. At dinner the soup starter was very tasty but the mashed potato with the main was cold, this was replaced by the waiter. They had run out of the cheesecake so another option was chosen and we were charged for both. This was rectified in the morning.

    The executive room was very nice, the beds were comfy. Good range of tea and coffee, mini-bar if required, toiletries and a bath which was a bonus. Nice green area outside the room. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Communal areas comfortable and very well kept. Parking was very easy. We caught the bus from just outside the hotel into High Wycombe. Near the bus stop there was a cinema, a Frankie and Benny's restaurant and a Next home store opposite with a Costa coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Good but slightly pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal can be very weak to none in some rooms. Slightly on the pricey side overall.

    The room is really comfortable. The front desk staff is very efficient even in peak hours with many people checking in and out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.4
    Close to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a connecting door and next room had tv on loud. Was moved to another room and had no hot water in the bath or shower just in the sink so had to move rooms again to have a shower in the morning. Called reception about no hot water and was told someone will be there in 5 mins. 20 mins later still no one so had to go for breakfast without my shower. Used another room to shower as water couldn't be fixed so was late leaving to carry on my journey. Got a small discount but had to argue for that as it wasn't offered. Poor customer service.

    Close to motorway. Nice lounge and bar area. Parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    A good stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was only 4'6, which is very small by current standards.

    Our room was quiet despite the hotel being next to the M40. Almost no mould in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent. Stayed for three nights. Will stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike as such. I had read other reviews and one mentioned the rooms were a little dated and I would tend to agree. However, the owners did reply to the review to say there are plans to refurbish them following refurbishment of the bar/restaurant area which was indeed very nice. The only other 'picky' thing I did notice is that the bar wine glasses and tumblers were often a little more than smeary and not crystal clear and once or twice evidence of the previous user's lip cover. I do think this was down to the dish washer machine however.

    There was a little garden area which captured the sun most of the day and we were very lucky with the weather that weekend. Perhaps a little lighting around the plant bases would have added just a little to the evening when sitting out there. The staff were always very professional and helpful. I arrived earlier than expected yet the receptionist simply checked me in and found a room for me to accommodate straight away. Spotlessly made beds, a bath robe to use, slippers and plenty of toiletries. Plenty of towels both bath and hand. A good selection of tea and coffee in the room along with complimentary bottled water and a chocolate bar. It was nice to see wine glasses provided in the room too. I ordered room service one night and again very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs a complete overhaul and a deep clean.beds not very comfy and the room was hot as you cant open the windows because of traffic noise its quite close to the m40

    Breakfast not bad.ok for overnight stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish I'd asked for a room closer to the entrance as it was quite a long walk within the hotel. Other than that, it was fabulous! Would stay again without hesitation.

    Easy parking, quick check in, great room - large, well appointed, comfortable bed, clean, bathroom good. Great breakfast selection and staff on hand. Asked for soya milk each morning which was provided no problem. Great nights sleep each evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: