Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3 stars

Castle Street, Hull, HU1 2BX, United Kingdom

#4 of 25 hotels in Hull

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 854 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    A very pleasant hotel, we stayed in an executive room which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very pleasant hotel, we stayed in an executive room which had the extras. We didn't eat at the hotel but it was very pleasant to sit outside by the marina having a few drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, convenient location with on site leisure facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very helpful. Spacious room overlooking marina. Continental breakfast was very good, one between us would have been ample for our needs. Great location for hull city centre, marina. We shall stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    In the end everything came up rosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival we tried to do the meal deal and where told ( because we had booked through booking.com we were not eligible. The following morning I went to the receptionist and asked if she would get me too the standard 10/10 as the notice said in the room she willingly obliged

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    best hotel in hull for location and parking but rooms are small and dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    executive room small and very dark no water in room empty beer bottle on balcony

    fantastic location on marina great check in and out times fridge in room and small balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    was very unhappy with the room it was below average on many things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything

    Room was very poor for the price cleanliness was below average faulty appliances in the room preferably would like a refund or compensating for the lack of value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay - can’t wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything.

    Lovely hotel, central for sightseeing, bars and restaurants. All hotel staff where helpful and very professional. Would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    very nice Location on the marina and parking space was for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Ventilation did not work in the shower room, as always in England, cheap hair dryer...

    very nice Location on the marina and parking space was for free on the weekend. Breakfast was good, friendly staff, nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the fact i requested a room with a view overlooking the marina,and on arrival i was given a room with an excellent view so big thank you to the reception team for that,who were very friendly and welcoming,the Marina is close by with excellent bars and restaurants,an ideal location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant stay but breakfast let us down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor. The food quality wasn’t good and the coffee was poor standard.

    The location was excellent and the staff were attentive, polite and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Lovely Location, but the hotel doesn’t match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room wasn’t in keeping with the chain of hotels. Staff disinterested in my request for information regarding a sister hotel. £13.50 for a cold club sandwich was deemed a little excessive.

    Good location close to the marina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel, nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was cosy, the room clean, but the best bit was the view over Hull Marina, gave light to the room. Food and bar areas were fine and it was only a short walk into the centre of town. There are some decent restaurants and pubs around the Marina. Standard, but nice hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    a perfect Birthday treat weekend in a lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing not to like! it was fabulous

    the setting was perfect and location close to centre it was absolutely great! staff friendly and professional, food a little over priced but very good! great selection for breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and helpful staff, good location town centre. Rooms are very tired and need refurbishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor, bathrooms and fitting were tired and in need of refurbishment. The wall lamp was away from the wall a little, fire sounders were badly fitted-external trunking stuck to ceiling.

    Breakfast and dinner was good quality. The Gym and pool are good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Central position close to shops, bars and good restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each morning at breakfast the restaurant was well attended by workers wearing dirty worn overalls and workwear. Not good when the rest of the clientele are in clean suits and clothes who are sitting on the same seating. Mentioned it at checkout but was told that nothing could be done about it. I beg to differ on that one as most hotels would insist on at least clean work wear or none at all in the restaurant. It is after all a restaurant and not a works canteen!

    Central position close to shops, bars and good restaurants. Good for business visitors with quiet areas available for after hours work. Good food at sensible prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    It's never "dull in Hull", plenty to see and do, very friendly folks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfy bed but as always with hotels the quilt is too hot. I asked for a 4.5 tog, not sure if we got it so we turned the air con right down. Could do with a larger road sign before you reach the hotel, missed it the first time and had to go round again

    Excellent location in the marina, very close to bars and restaurants and easy walking distance from town. Our room had a marina view and was very quiet. Liked having a bath as well as shower. All the staff were very helpful. Great breakfast. Secure car parking so didn't mind paying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    For the price.. won't be visiting again
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms in real need of changing really let the room down ..which was very nicely done. Hidden parking charge .. it says parking yep at £8!!!! Way over priced wine .. you're in hull not London £9 a glass .. that's a heck of a mark up. Balcony not really a balcony and had a privacy screen so defeating the object .. ow and you may not smoke on the balconies for those who need to know !!!!

    Food was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable apart from breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast--poor quality and long wait for cooked items to be replaced on the self serve buffet bar

    Location, comfort, accessabilty from main road network

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The £8 parking fee. Stayed there before and this was not in force. There are other hotels close by where the parking is free. I won’t stay here again unless my parking is free. Money spinner at a residents cost. Disgusting

    Location was perfect. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for our needs. A very comfortable hotel overall with friendly and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not sure that booking.com made me aware of different rates on different days ....... can you please clarify if I may have overlooked this.

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing hotel with a perfect location and excellent food. Go there!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!!

    This hotel has the most perfect location, you could be anywhere in the world alongside the beautiful marina! It is completely central to everything you need and all in walking distance to the old town, the gardens, the deep, the station and more. The food is exceptional so much so that we went back there each day instead of eating out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    We didn’t stay, but hotel staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were informed there had been change of rooms to accommodate ensuring guests not involved would not be troubled by a major function. The hotel tried to give us a quiet room... which had an adjoining door to the next room through which we could hear absolutely everything being said, even normally. Concerned that this would be a problem later, disappointed we did not get the twin room booked, we decided to stay elsewhere. The staff to their credit understood our concerns, and refunded our advance payment. You could not fault them under the circumstances but whoever moved rooms around should have taken that door (fine for guests that knew each other, perhaps) into account.

    The staff were accommodating given that we decide not to stay

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great for our night in Hull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating & air con instructions to complicated. Air con fan ran constantly. Shower head was brocken so water ran down the wall and not out of the spray.

    It was all or nothing. Fan ran constantly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Good clean hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was not great but that's a minor point. A little over priced for a bed for the night and breakfast. I expect the cost included the pool and gym which we didn't want.

    Central location. Good facilities including free parking at the weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Good. would have been very good but for breakfast issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little disappointed with our second breakfast. No butter or marmalade. Pastries not replenished. No crusty bread, and after request arrived still frozen in the middle.This breakfast frustrating, not relaxing.

    up-graded room, little extras i.e. bath robes/slippers, bottled water, chocolate, small balcony. Shower and bath. Plenty of hot water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Adequate but not amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com didn’t make it clear we were booking a ‘standard non specific’ so we ended up with a twin room instead of the double we’d requested. Breakfast service - no beans, no fried eggs 10 minute wait. Wasn’t even that busy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait a long time for our meal in the evening even though there were only a few people in the resteraunt when mine arrived it was not every hot.

    It was quiet, clean and comfortable and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Welcoming, staff couldn’t have been more helpful, very central for all amenities, absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the corner room over looking the highway and carpark, it was probably the coldest and windiest night of the year we stayed, storm iris I think was prevelant 😬 the wind howled past the windows making an awful noise rattling the windows, not much I know could be done at time but maybe windows need looking at, overall an excellent stay and staff very friendly and helpful, will definately be back when we next visit family in Hull, you’re so central, ideal place to be, Thankyou.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of signage for access from the main road.

    Attractive location right by the marina and old quays and within strolling distance of the old town museums and pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Served the purpose. Shame about the disruption from other less thoughtful guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is a bit tired. Overall clean and tidy. Smoking tolerated outside in communal social bar areas. There was a function on and young children were permitted to run around unchecked until after 1am disturbing other guests

    Convenient for the Ferry Port

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and had a lovely meal in the hotel on our last night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was exceptionally cold during our stay. There was heating in our room, however, it was very noisy.

    The staff were fantastic and the room was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    I would not consider a repeat experience unless the service improved radically.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff did not volunteer any useful information, Despite booking well in advance we were allocated a room on the traffic side of the building and told that no rooms on the other side were available. Our room was not cleaned until after 12 noon on the first day. The chambermaid had obviously been given a higher priority despite having hug the Clean Now request on the door.There was a wedding party on the Saturday which meant that no food was available to other guests and very few accessible alternative outlets in the area of the hotel. We were very disappointed with the standard having used Holiday Inns elsewhere in the world.

    Restaurant and house staff were very good and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A great venue for away matches at Hull City Football Club
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kettle didn't work BUT it was replaced immediately so really no issue.

    Really helpful staff and a great hotel. It was easy to get through the shopping mall, via Nando's, to Carr Lane and the bus to the KC Stadium (sorry, we are Villa fans!!). £1.30 on the No 2 and we were there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very, very relaxing, enjoyed it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking from the back carpark at night. Not enough light, very eerie

    Everything... Staff very attentive an friendly. All amenities under one roof. View of Marina from room an breakfast room lovely. Lovely walk to town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Location fab, rooms comfortable, but a little dated, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location fab, rooms comfortable, but a little dated, and having a pool and sauna was excellent, but the pool is dated and could do with a resting area, the sauna was seperate for men and women so it's impossible to spend time w your loved one relaxing there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Location was brilliant, close to all shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was brilliant, close to all shops. There wasn’t a marina view availability when we arrived, so book early if you require a room with a view. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    10/10 very impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room, the staff & and the food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, & the food was excellent and we shall be using Holiday Inns again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    good stay, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was s bit chaotic, coffee machine breaking down, staff were great though, run off their feet

    Location, nice and quiet, staff really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.5
    Visited this hotel several times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting dreadful in the room, gloomy and dark although bathroom lighting was good. Heating extremely noisy and not very effective. Window didn't shut properly so was draughty, had it closed there would've been a lot less road noise. The sealer around the bath had black mould in it. Room didn't meet our expectations this time I'm sorry to say (room 329) It felt dated, tired and unwelcoming. Not as nice as the rooms that face the marina.

    Visited this hotel several times. Comfortable bed and pillows, nice clean bedding. Breakfast was good although disappointed the pancake machine has gone :( Staff very good as usual.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Would like come back to stay in your hotel in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing reception lady bit not understand write for us we are deaf so she asked staff write for us we do understand with them it’s ok

    Bed comfortable, breakfast good, view good, place nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Reason why staff not enough to communicate with deaf person...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reason why staff not enough to communicate with deaf person also who can for awake cos reason for who told me for wait check in at 2pm why as they was very diaspoint. Next time to fast less people wait for and where more staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location near to shops, restaurants and pubs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towel rail in bathroom not heated. Fixed shower head over bath.

    Great location near to shops, restaurants and pubs and although very near a very busy dual carriageway it was quiet. The bedroom was a reasonable size and despite being next to the lift was quiet. The restaurant has a nice setting overlooking the marina. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night but the cooked breakfast was reasonably good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is tired, we're tired and the manager needs customer service training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are looking a little worn now. Mismatched furniture, poorly repaired walls and a ridiculous separate heating and cooling system just make it all seem very early 90's. Despite all this we usually stay here as on balance it ticks more boxes with us than leaves blank. However, following me reporting we'd had a poor nights sleep i was left feeling like the manager was doing me a favour letting us use his rooms. It simply stemmed from us being in a room that surrounded the lift access and lift shaft. The noise started to wake us around 1am, then 3 and 5 respectively. So clear was the noise I could tell which lift was the nosiest of the two. At check out i explained we were rather tired still and that the lifts were rather noisy. I was asked why i didnt report it sooner and we could have moved rooms. My answer was that we didn't see that as very practical at 1am and that we, half asleep, assumed it would be a one off, by the time it reached 3am there really was no point. I asked to speak to the manager and explained that we weren't light sleepers but that when i used the db meter on my phone it was recording pretty high noise values. I was then told that i was obviously aware of the noise or i wouldn't have done that, which is true, but i'd left the db meter running only when i went for breakfast, not all night! I was then immediately told i wouldn't receive a refund (i'd not asked for anything) and that there had never been a noise complaint across the whole hotel (this i find tricky to believe). I was then told that as an apology, on our next visit we could have a bottle of house wine. Which i didn't want, but the very insertion of the word 'house' in to that offer made it rather naff as an apology for 2 people not sleeping very well. It's such a shame that companies allow such poorly educated and ill mannered staff to hold positions that directly impact their customer base.

    The location is great as it's not difficult to get to and is really open next to the marina. Parking is also excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel and very good staff but if you get A63 side room you may be awoken by HGV noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms are near the busy A63 and is constantly in use with large HGVs and Articulated wagons throughout the night which do cause a lot of noise. This wouldn't usually bother me at all but due to the old wooden framed windows, they are double glazzed as well, the noise transfers through quite a lot and to make it even noisier the wind was also whistling through as well. I did speak to the reception staff when I checked out and they did agree that it can be quite noisy but also said that the hotel was to be refitted sometime next year, which is something but wont help other guests until completed. I would use again if my room would be on other side of building

    Staff are very helpful and unlike some hotel staff you could actualy have a laugh with them. Its easy enough to find

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    A Nice stay but spoilt slightly by the noise on the friday night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They had a Lionel Richie Tribute night on and a dicso which was very loud and we could hear it in our room which was on the 3rd floor. They seem to have something like this on every Friday so don't expect to get a good night sleep if you stay on floors 1 & 2, it would be like sleeping above a night club!

    We were upgraded to a Marina View room and the parking was free. The staff were all very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.0
    my only request totally ignored!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    886/5000 Although at the time of booking I had clearly specified a quiet room as my only requirement, the room I was assigned was actually noisy, both for the traffic of a nearby road and for the unusually noisy heating system. I repeatedly reported the problem, which, in the end, was only partially solved by providing a movable electric heater. Nothing to do for the traffic issue: apparently there were no rooms available on the quieter side of the building; after further complaints, I was finally offered another room for the last night, but was not worth it anymore. Problems also with the table lamp (which I needed to work); repeatedly reported malfunction problems, solved only last night. Definitely dissatisfied, especially for the way some of the staff dealt with my reports.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Location ideal but hotel and service a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool a bit old-fashioned and one sauna not working. Breakfast running out of hot food especially bacon too early. Didn’t realise that parking costs extra.

    location is the main attraction

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely time and would certainly come and stay again as there's plenty of things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the drinks were very expensive in the bar and had an Irish coffee which could have been alot nicer and cheaper.

    I liked it that we got upgraded to a better room with a lovely view and that the parking was available on arrival. The location was great round the marina and easy access to the town centre and all within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Really good location close to the marina and the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little pricey but that's the only criticism.

    Really good location close to the marina and the town centre. Nice rooms, friendly staff, good parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again. Location staff and food were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was very cold and uninviting although staff were very friendly. The furnishings were incomfortable. Toilet roll in rooms was dreadful

    The staff were very friendly and knowledgable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - frankly.

    Staff wonderful. Lovely views of the harbour. Breakfast - plenty of choice. A great experience of Hull - people and place. Fabulous city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect little trip to treat my partner for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to not like

    Huge bed with comfy pillows, really nice view. It was very very clean, the rooms are huge and the breakfast has everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Would go back. Good place for a winter stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very chilling draughty air con at breakfast, but we were helped to move to a more acceptable spot. Waste plastic waving in the top of a potentially beautiful birch tree by the carpark door. Noise from main road outside. Having to wait so long to cross that road to walk to Hull Truck Theatre, although crossing was well placed for the hotel. There was a towel rail in the bathroom, but it never heated up, could have been a problem if we’d both showered at the same time of day.

    Helpful, friendly staff. Car park good value for 2 days. Pool and sauna for a cold ,late afternoon were welcome. Choice of pillows. Decaf tea available for breakfast. Well prepared fresh citrus fruits. Lovelythick porage as a special order. Convenient to explore the old part of Hull and other restaurants. Good dark curtains with an overlap for avoiding chinks of light. Window that opened a little ,with the bedroom cool enough to sleep in was a big bonus for us , didn’t have to waste heat trying to cool it down. Thank you for the I each mornin g. Corridors quiet, despite having a big function on. We were pleased we hadn’t chosen a hotel on Ferensway: even noisier and a less pleasant milieu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend this hotel for a little break in Hull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little bit dated in places but don’t let this put you off.

    Breakfast was really nice, with a good selection. Restaurant overlooked the Marina. Although I never went for a swim the pool looked nice. All the staff where very pleasant and polite. Great location and within walking distance to old town and town centre of Hull. We got the train from Hull to Hessle, then walked to the Humber bridge. The walk across the bridge was lovely. You then continue the walk off the bridge and immediate left into into Barton. Not much in Barton but this is where you get the bus back to Hull. They are every half hour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff and lovely view. The pool and sauna are a great added bonus!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I don't like about this hotel is the heating. The room was freezing when I checked in and is heated by warm air. This makes you feel very "dried out" and gave me a bit of a headache.

    Loved the pool, the sauna, the friendly staff, the view of the marina

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A63 was unexpectedly close (and they say a picture never lies!!). Fortunately, our view was back over the marina and spot on.

    Breakfast was plentiful, varied and freshly prepared.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Good stay Meal good, Room good, Staff GOOD, ool POOR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Pool area was not inviting no tables or chairs around the pool sauna in changing room for men and the same for the women no Jacuzzi in all the pool area was a big let down would not use the hotel for relaxing break.

    Staff were very good friendly and helpful the food was explained what it was and also the drinks side and a bit off the history Mark the waiter was very knowledgeable of the area and we g back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Expensive for little comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs improving as does the heating system no where for guests to sit and relax if private party in bar

    Bed comfy pillow menu great friendly polite staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    It was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid a significant amount more to go for a deluxe room. However, to be honest I have stayed in comparable rooms at Premier Inn at a fraction of the price. The balcony was tiny and dirty. The hotel is tired and needs some attention. Therefore I need to question the value for money.

    The hotel was warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    Staff lovely, wedding amazing, disappointed with room & smell of it, especially for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tired as was location of wedding breakfast area, carpets filthy & shabby. Not a patch on premier inn’s we have stayed in .

    Spent the full day here at a wedding & staff where all lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Good and convenient but the breakfast quality was only fair and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite expensive as the only option was a full buffet. The restaurant/kitchen seemed understaffed as they frequently ran out of cooked items. My wife ordered porridge and it took about 10 minutes to come and several others were waiting for it too. They ran out of Yoghurt and Marmalade which seem simple items with a reasonable shelf life. The bread was just basic white or brown sliced; not particularly attractive.

    Good location, close to the centre and the Marina with parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Very nice but just missing the polish"................
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel just lacks that extra wow...... looking a little tired in places for the cost of the room which I thought was a little excessive or perhaps the price was hiked as it was New Year’s Eve.

    A lovely location and the staff were very helpful with good parking areas and close to the shopping area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Location good. Breakfast complete waste of money - in fact feel cheated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast terrible. Both mornings there was hardly any cooked food left. When I asked why they just said ‘there were over 100 guests’. Well they’re all paying guests so we should all have the breakfast we paid for! Worst morning restaurant in a hotel I’ve ever been to.

    Bedrooms fine Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    A great location, but over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was disappointing. We had a full menu and rang through our order, only to be rung back about 10mins later to be told that menu wasn't available and that someone would pop up with the correct menu and take our order. The correct menu was considerably more limited, especially for a vegetarian. I gave the order and food arrived about 30-40 mins later. Part of the order was wrong, but we took it anyway. The food was generally good, but one part (pitta and dips) was very disappointing. Paying £7 for parking isn't reasonable either.

    The room was very stylish and was a good size (an executive room). The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Ok value for money, staff super friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft drink prices and the Xmas afternoon tea was a let down, with shop brought items and nuts being served despite us saying before hand several times one member of the party had a nut allergy.

    Staff are accommodating and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Our dependable 'go-to' place for the annual Christmas family visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We'd have preferred 'real' coffee at breakfast instead of helping ourselves to tea/coffee from the machine. But we put this down to the fact it was Boxing Day and assumed it was just a festive exception, which is fair enough ... staff need to do Christmas too :)

    Our room was spacious, plenty of surface areas, and a fab view over the marina and beyond to the Humber. (Also great to have ironing facilities when changing into special Christmas Day clothes, and it was quick and easy to get a forgotten toothbrush from Reception.) Staff gave a warm friendly welcome and equally friendly efficient check-out. Breakfast plentiful and varied, with a relaxed atmosphere and good sunny view across the marina.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    4.2
    Nothing would never stay there again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty. There was some chocolate prices on The floor . Carpet generally grubby with sawdust. There were stains on The door from The bathroom . Ceiling paint peeling off . Lamps were heavily stained . The room was dirty , in a poor state of repair. Noisy. We have stayed in lots of holiday inns . This was by far the most dirty , uninviting place . Grubby and dirty throughout !!

    Nothing would never stay there again !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When making a reservation through Booking.com, please note that if you add in your guest's name, your booking may be added under their name instead of the main booker. This caused an issue with our booking as they couldn't find our reservation. Luckily there were rooms available, and staff were very apologetic (gave us a free upgrade to a marina-view room) but we were at the desk for 45mins!

    Staff friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay - both on the check in desk and at breakfast. Room itself was clean and comfortable, we had an Executive Room with a Marina view which was lovely. There were a few Christmas parties on during our stay but despite being on the 1st floor there was no sound from this upstairs and it didn't disturb our sleep at all - rooms are very well soundproofed! I did find the mattress too hard but that is personal taste.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Had a lovely time. Would have loved a room with a view of marina since paid nearly £100 for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get a room with a view of the marina. Would have loved that.

    Pillows changeable hard/soft. Breakfast was lovely. View at breakfast table was fab. Staff super friendly and approachable. Room nice and clean. Linen clean etc. Good comfort and style.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Very nice staff and facilities
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok, so we went in December and the area is right on the riverside but ... bbrrrrr .... it's very cold outside!

    This hotel is in the Marina area and within easy reach if the old town if Hull and the redeveloped area of the old ferry crossing and fruit/fish markets. Lovely pubs and eateries are bery close nearby. I'm a Transwoman in the very early stages of transition and despite what some kind souls have said, I don't cinsider myself as 'passable' That said, the reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff were all nice and engaging and did not bat an eyelid. I would definately stay here again 😎

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    A lovely location next to the boats and only a short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more expensive than other hotels.

    A lovely location next to the boats and only a short walk to princes quay, the old town and Humber street. My daughter and I had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay apart from issues with other guests.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a issue with other guests fighting at 3.30am in the morning, it seamed to take staff ages to sort the situation out, didn't get much sleep after 3.30am

    Easy to find close to the marina and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Over priced and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was basic and in need refurbishment; way too over priced and the food was a complete let down; management have partly reimbursed some of the cost of food

    The view of the marina was lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location in Hull, parked car and walked everywhere easily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee from the machine not very good Speed of service at the bar on the Friday (function) night was very slow - had to queue . Price of drinks a bit high. Not much choice of eating locations on a Sunday night - to be expected in some ways.

    Comfy room. Great location for visiting the Old Quarter, where there is a lot to visit. all within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Ideal location for a short break in Hull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room seemed a bit draughty and lacked a degree of comfort and cosiness.

    Lovely view across the marina at breakfast and the sunshine flooded in through the window. Good choice of food, including some freshly cooked choices at breakfast. Vegetarian options available. Easy and convenient car parking. Newspapers available. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. They moved us into a different room when the bathroom cold tap stopped working. This room was a lot nicer as it had a view of the marina. Good location, close to restaurants and excellent museums.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Reception staff were very helpful and knowledgeable with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were very helpful and knowledgeable with directions, complimentary water and chocolate in the fridge in our room were a lovely surprise and the easy parking and location to amenities was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: