Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn London Kingston South 4 stars

Portsmouth Road, Kingston upon Thames, KT6 5QQ, United Kingdom

#8 of 21 hotels in Kingston upon Thames

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 950 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the brakfast was aweful and really should be reported to h and s . reheated hot food that was cold to eat. food poisining waiting yo happen. 2nd day ; no brown bread, no cornflakes, no flora. coffee cold. dreadful really and a health hazard

    not a lot . really not 4 star. room was ok food dreadful staff not very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    My stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage for the car parking was confusing and an larger sign on arrival would be beneficial and perhaps early warning about getting the car park as it is shared the range rover garage

    The accommodation fitted out needs - we were upgraded without being asked. Although the booking was for a twin the beds were joined but they very quickly got that sorted and split the beds. Asked for fresh milk for our tea and again dealt with very quickly and efficiently.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.8
    A very expensive stay for a small unclean room, very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't clean Bed Was very uncomfortable. Hotel undergoing a refurbishment but we weren't advised. We told staff re a load glass smashed in the car park. It was still there in the morning Due to the refurbishment we had to eat our breakfast in a conference room not very pleasant. Loads of rubbish outside the bedroom window.

    Location was good for the event we were attending

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Modern, posh, relaxing and easy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled to park but the staff let me park in drop off. Big balcony but unable to get out onto it - I’m sure the staff would have helped if I rang. Breakfast staff spoke inappropriately.

    Hotel and room decorated really nicely. Great views from the front of the hotel over the river. Reception staff really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Large comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a nice area. Car park a fair walk to hotel. Tiny bathroom. Room slightly tatty. Chair damaged.

    Large comfortable bed. Helpful staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Wedding day stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing? All good.

    The location of the holiday inn was perfect for the wedding we attend because it was only a 10 minute walk away. And I could still see the hotel from the wedding location, every good all round.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding in the hotel and we were unable to get much sleep due to the loud music. If we had known this prior to our stay, we would have booked elsewhere.

    The location was acceptable for our trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel with great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff were awesome I was at the beginning of a charity cycle event and they supported me taking my bike to the room the guy on reception Maz was so welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Had a comfortable stay in Kingston upon Thames. I will use the hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oddly, the positioning of mirrors around the bathroom door made it strangely disconcerting to leave the bathroom (21st Century problem!) It meant that one thought there was someone entering the bathroom as you left. Quite a long walk from the carpark at the very rear of the property to the front of the hotel and reception. It might be a problem in the rain or with heavy bags. But it is past a Land Rover Garage so there are exciting new cars to look at if you like that sort of thing.

    Bed very comfortable and the room was well appointed with all the facilities one could wish for. The Hotel is well positioned and easy to find and has a carpark. Nice restaurant for an evening meal and / or a drink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a convenient location which enabled me to visit friends locally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surprised that there was no mattress protector, though the mattress itself seemed clean. Have stayed many times before and do not remember this.

    Upgraded to executive room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Seemed like maintenance and general housekeeping was sloppy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked into the room there was a partially eaten tray of food outside our room - despite a request at the desk for it to be moved it was still there when we left in the morning. One bedside lamp was not plugged into a socket which meant I had to move the bed. The table lamp at the desk had no bulb in it. The control knob to switch between shower and bath was broken and inoperable. Was not able to opetate the TV as could not find the on/off switch - thought it was a problem with the remote.

    Position was good and suited our need. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    The staff were unhelpful and seemed to be constantly adding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were unhelpful and seemed to be constantly adding extra charges to everything they did such as a £4 service charge on a bottle of wine. The room was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Holiday Inns are good value for money, clean, great staff and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought frosted glass bathroom door not in good taste. I don't particularly want to see my wife sitting on the loo.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Room very clean, comfortable and good value for money. Restaurant excellent - food well presented and tasty. Overall I would definitely return here or to another Holiday Inn.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Upon arrival we were made aware that we had been chosen as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mini bar in the room didn't have a massive selection of drinks, which was a little disappointing and not enough toiletries provided in the rooms.

    Upon arrival we were made aware that we had been chosen as guests of the day, which meant we were upgraded. Nice little surprise for a weekend away!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not immediately obvious so ended up in staff parking but pleasant receptionist advised would be fine.

    Comfortable room with a view of the river

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    The receptionist was rude and unhelpful, I booked a twin...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude and unhelpful, I booked a twin room which falls under the same bracket as a double. She refused to give me a twin until the manager walked past and corrected her. Yet she still had a attitude about her being wrong.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.3
    Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No child’s bed put in our room, even though I was assured it would be done ! My husband had to o sleep on the floor. Staff were useless ! Planned in advance for my daughters graduation - ruined by incompetent staff

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    excellent stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    public area bit small so we went to room and as wedding on in hotel parking not good

    the walk in shower and the terrace and being top of the hotel with great view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    A place to rest my head, nothing more,nothing less
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ridiculously over priced for what I actually got. Very tiny, hardly enough room to swing a cat and have stayed in other places and paid a lot less and got much bigger and better. Free parking provided is actually down a side road right at the back of the property, lifts to get downstairs didn’t work, and subsequent stairway was unlit. Just gave the feeling that they didn’t really care about the customer, that I should be thankful that I could put m car somewhere and I’d just have to deal with how ropey and shoddy it was

    Staff were very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location to visit someone at Kingston University and for getting to Hampton Court.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to have almond milk, lacto free milk, get up to date with theses types of needs. Whole milk is not what most people drink theses days!

    Great location for visiting Kingston university students, or just visiting Kingston.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Don't have high expectations of this Holiday Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The allocated rooms were unacceptable an unacceptable situation, one smelled of smoke, and not what I thought I had bought when booking. Also, the rooms were not near each other and we are 4 sisters and children. Finally our complaint was satisfied by a more senior member of staff. The rooms were not clean nor was the layout practical in one of them.

    Staff helpfulness. Position by river and access to Hampton Court. Car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Staff could not have been more accomodating towards us, when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    Staff could not have been more accomodating towards us, when we were thrown into the chaos of the London bike race road closures. We have stayed there before & the same level of helpfulness with a smile was evident, in what must have b en a difficult weekend for them. Nothing was too much trouble ...thanks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    The room is specious, the balcony overlooking the river and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge it was really hot and I can't drink a room temperature water 😕

    The room is specious, the balcony overlooking the river and has an amazing view, the room was AC which is hard tofind in London

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Fab hotel, will definatley be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath taps couldnt quiet work it properly. Price of breakfast per person was a little over priced for our liking so decided against it both nights.

    Air con in rooms, comfortable & clean, nice bar area, good size of space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay, the staff are fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being vegan there was a lack of food for us but we only had breakfast so was manageable. Also minibar was just 1 beer and water so we thought was a bit mean as it said "free minibar" which made us think they were giving us a treat. Also only dairy milk in our room so couldn't make a cup of tea. The bathroom floor gets very slippery but they do have little stickers up telling you to be careful

    We were given an upgrade when we checked in, but we had paid over the top for our stay in the first place so, although lovely to get the suite, we had sort of paid for it. The suite was lovely and the view was so relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed stay. Took buses into central London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room lousy. Car park quite a walk from hotel entrance and a bit odd to find. Says about river but you can’t get down to river opposite hotel. Just a walk along pavement until you get to a pub.

    Breakfast excellent. Rooms comfy and had air con. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Weekend break hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some problems at booking in,given an uncleaned room.few other niggly issues.

    Excellent location for our trip to Hampton court palace. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Buffet breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    My stay served its purpose well. No problems and the staff were friendly
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi codes seem to be for one or a few days only so I was often trying to relog in. In this day and age surely wifi in a hotel should be just like the electricity and running water - hassle free

    I was staying here while my home was being refurbished. It was a perfect solution to that problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    Awful will not be recommending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and cramped. Air con wasn’t working properly. There were no pillowcases on our pillows and we had to request them from housekeeping. Wardrobe soooo small! Overall decor in restaurant is tired and in welcoming.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Served its purpose, of somewhere to stay whilst in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plate of half eaten food left outside the door for 2-3 hours. Surfaces of furniture were sticky to touch. Bathroom floor was dirty behind the door. A discretionary service charge was added to the bill in the bar, without asking if it was alright to do so. Didn't refund it when it was pointed out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con could have done with a service... hot room in 30 degree heat. The corridor outside wad cooler than the room

    Executive room had a huge balcony over the water with views over London. Lovely seating area with table and chairs outside, and fake grass to walk on. Room was big with huge seating area and bed Bathroom big with modern touches. Mini bar was included as well as lovely fruit plate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and great fun. Lots of lovely restaraunts and pubs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safes available in standard rooms and none available at reception due to lack of keys

    The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable. Very central lovely location in kingston

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Room 311 had a spacious balcony and wonderful views over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking was allowed on the balconies but there were no ash trays so unsightly 'dog' ends had been thrown onto the grass roof of the lower floor. Please provide ash trays. And can we have english butter at breakfast?

    Room 311 had a spacious balcony and wonderful views over the River Thames. The evening meal menu was imaginative and good quality. The reception staff were very helpful with travel advice in London.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Good, with some unnecessary happenings
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restaurant work in a muddle not organised for a busy restaurant, fire staircase has clutter and maid did not clean room correctly. Finally, very difficult to park!

    Location, view, easy walk to good pubs, restaurants and the walk was along the waiter side, easy drive to Hampton Court

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff good, breakfast good the property well located,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plug in the wash basin was stuck firmly closed! We could not use it as a result.

    Staff Friendly and efficient and thoughtful. Varied lunch menu. Breakfast good. Car parking for disabled very good. Will hope to T stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean room and site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pizza from the bar was very underwhelming; needed to have some mozzarella cheese, and far more herbs; couldn’t taste any oregano at all! Only managed to eat less than half of that pizza.

    Clean room and site. Very accomodating and helpful management and staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Location suited us but limited air conditioning took the edge off the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was hot when we stayed at the hotel but there was air conditioning, however the lowest temperature that we could get was 18 degrees. Did report to staff but they indicated that they couldn't do anything about it. Restaurant area was quite crowded in terms of the seating arrangements.

    Good location. Free parking to the rear of the hotel. Breakfast a reasonable standard. Room a good size. Bathroom good standard. Pleasant river walk to Kingston centre - bars, shopping etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    averall a good stay, staff were very helpfil and freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a little small for a suite. breakfast was a bit of a let down as table we were seated at had not been made up, and had to wonder around other tables for salt and pepper, milk and cutlery.

    check in and parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Overall 3 out of 5. Not very good and I wouldn't use Holiday Inn again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. After calling and being told that there was plenty of free parking, i found it very difficult to find a parking space. 2. reception took my card details so i could spend at the kitchen / bar area and add the cost to my room. This didn't work and i had to pay at the bar. 3. Waitress in the kitchen area was unhappy in her job and this made her miserable]. 4. Kitchen manager decided to reprimand all staff in front of customers. I don't want to see this. 5. Breakfast was OK but only ok. I didn't finish it. I couldn't wait to get out of the building to look for some nice food!

    Apartment was clean and the bedding very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t polished dust everywhere. The local cheap taxi firm the holiday inn is promoting rips people off. The reception staff and manager didn’t seem bothered

    The comfort of the bed was good along with the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean and spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners knocked on our door one and a half hours before check out. They did this 3 times before check out. Had to complain about it to reception.

    Clean and spotless. Easy to check in easy to check out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    The room was very shabby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very shabby! We had been upgraded yet we couldn’t work out whether the room had been cleaned!? The balcony had weeds growing on it and the outside table and chairs filthy! We were told as special upgraded guests we had a “free” complimentary Mini bar and a fruit bowl! The mini bar was 1x bottle of becks 1x miniature coke and Diet Coke! And the fruit bowl was a plate with a small orange banana and pear! The breakfast in the morning was just ok was served in a packed restaurant we were like sardines! Wouldn’t recommend this hotel to my worse enemy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Poor service, unhelpful staff, refused to serve a full hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, unhelpful staff, refused to serve a full hotel drinks after 11pm and twice cleaning staff walked into our room to clean it on day of departure without knocking and before 11am check out time. Would not go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great location, great rooms, greatest staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking a little far away from reception

    On checking in, I was told that I had been selected as guest of the day so received all the associated perks including an upgrade to an executive room, 25% discount on our food and beverages bill and free mini bar. All the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful & made our stay enjoyable. We would recommend the Holiday Inn Kingston to friends and family and will definitely stay there again next time we visit the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/bathroom taps. Very awkward to use, temp control and change shower to bath

    Friendly staff atmosphere. Helpful staff. Clean and good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a card for my door for the executive room 102. I was supremely surprised when someone entered my room with a card that worked to gain entry and then shortly scarpered after we woke up. It was wasn’t a nice feeling to wake up with someone coming in your room at the bottom of your bed!!! No apologies or anything?? Never mind I won’t return. Keep safe people

    Nice clean place. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Could do better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room for two people. Arrived late and had to leave early. Only one Bath Towel between the two of us, and no cups provided to go with the tea making facilities

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we stayed the double bed sank to the middle. In the morning we noticed the bed was broken. The shower did not work correctly, Room was very dusty. Went to use the hairdryer and it was full of dust,

    We stayed a second night and had an upgrade to a larger bed and working shower,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Good stay at the hotel - breakfast staff let hotel down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but staff were really hopeless at ensuring that things were kept filled up. We had breakfast on the two mornings we were at the hotel and on both days we had to keep asking staff to fill things up or replace items. This was very frustrating and we noted other guests asking staff to replenish items. Some staff were standing about so this was not a staff shortage. You need better management in this area.

    The hotel was well located for Hampton Court. The check in staff were excellent but breakfast staff let hotel down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, a bit far to walk to the town centre, pubs within walking distance were quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff forgot to get a signature from me when I ordered my first round of drinks, we subsequently had two more rounds and a meal. After retiring for the evening there was a knock on the door with one of the bar staff asking for a signature, this was around 10:30 and we were in bed, not what I would have expected. The en-suite bathroom has a frosted glass door which made the bathroom experience a little exposed!!

    Good location, parking onsite nice bar, meals were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Smart and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opaque bathroom door ridiculous. Who wants to see that???

    Smart and clean. Offered an upgrade to balcony room with river views and free minibar for only £30

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Have been before also to many other Holiday Inns. All very good. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance to Twickenham Rugby. Price of the room with breakfast at £180.00 it was expensive.

    The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was very clean. The fruit in the room was a nice touch I thought. The staff was very helpful and the sun was very hot and shiny on Saturday too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Pricey but worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive but worth it.

    Booked Superior King Room for 1 night whilst in London for Rugby at Twickenham. Cannot fault the room... Beautiful views over the Thames with fab balcony. Included in the price were complimentary snacks/drinks in the room, late check out was arranged with no difficulty. The breakfast was perfect. Quality and cleanliness of the room was great. Added benefit of free parking. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, reasonably priced just what we need for overnight when visiting family nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulties finding parking space but understandable for Saturday night and large wedding party.

    Saturday night and a 400 strong wedding party downstairs and we didn't hear a thing. Good relaxed buffet breakfast, not to pricey if included with room price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    The upgrade we were given was a great compensation for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The frontage was cramped by the road. Needs an uplift.... More visibility.

    The upgrade we were given was a great compensation for a very poor first night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Apologies I am not going to fill each box, but complete the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apologies I am not going to fill each box, but complete the whole review here. Having stayed here a number of times, I have previously had light airy rooms, this room felt dark and a little dingy. The shelves in the bathroom were covered in dust. On one day, towels were replaced for clean ones, but only one fresh towel was left meaning my partner and I had to share a towel. Breakfast, if you like a full English was great. Not a complaint their.. The Continental however lacked a little. Having only hot plates when having a cold spread breakfast is slightly annoying. The ham and meats looked almost nuclear in places. The location, and staff as always are great though. Friendly, helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    It was fine really. However, we expected a bit more finesse from the supposed upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have expected a walk in shower for riverview room. Not enough milk for coffee. Robes shabby and grey...seen better days!

    View of river from window. Unable to access balcony as could not find a key.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to our room there was meant to be two bathrobes and two slippers there was only one set, the power on the shower was poor there was still a welcoming card to the previous customer neil stating that he was client of the day or something of the sort.The food at jacks restaurant is average it is quite bland but not horrible.

    The staff were really friendly helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Room ok, needs a little smartening up and more diligent cleaning. Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not that clean, dust and watermarks on surfaces. Scuff marks on bedroom wall and chunk of plaster missing. Loud music from groundlfoor heard until past midnight in our third floor room.

    Check in staff friendly, sorted an extra bed for our son quickly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Our stay, although short was really good. The staff were friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that the music in the restaurant was too loud. Guests had to raise their voices a little and I had to listen to others conversations. The choice of music could have been better. Not everyone wants to listen to pop music.

    Everything was as you would want for a stay. Our waitress in the restaurant was very helpful and an absolute delight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Quick but welcome stayover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was deathly cold, c.10-12c when I arrived, presumably unoccupied for a while but should have been kept warm given the inclement conditions outside and my planned arrival. Spent 20 mins at 1.30am trying to get the aircon to heat things up. Breakfast was expensive for a buffet English at £16 and not included in the room cost so total B&B was £130 for a quick stay.

    I arrived very late on a very snowy night so very pleased to be welcomed by friendly staff. Despite the late hour the barman took pity on me and served a much needed night cap. The location is good and the breakfast was tasty. The room was otherwise clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    For one night it did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a longer stay a bigger room would have been better. Booking.com did advertise on the booking no pre payment was required but payment was taken straight away

    For one night it did the job

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Well located and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that it was pretty cold and difficult to warm up.

    Really comfortable and well located for what we needed. We were upgraded which was lovely. The room was rather chilly and it took some time to warm it up but it got there in the end. Restaurant was freezing! But staff were friendly and the food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Great stay with exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We ate dinner, breakfast and a carvery lunch in the hotel. The food was excellent and staff were extremely accommodating. The hotel far exceeded expectations. Free parking is a real bonus in London area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Room and employees were great, nose and other things were the let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throughout the night , music was being played and was far too loud , myself and my partner had an early flight the next morning and only for 3-4 hours sleep. Was very much a let down because of this , I didn’t pay to be kept awake

    Room was very clean and comfortable, well equipped and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug didnt work in bath

    I was selected as guest of the day Bigger room Mini bar Balcony Robe Lovely breakfast Brilliant. Would recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent until the breakfast service let things down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and the rubbish service from staff as they gave me Twinnings Redbush tea when I asked for decaffinated and couldn’t help when queried as I know Twinnings do decaffinated tea.

    The room and the room service and also the bar service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    The best night's sleep I've had in a hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit far of a walk from Kingston town centre, so weren't many things to do nearby.

    Had the best night's sleep ever- the bed was so comfortable! Staff were also very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice for a one-night treat but struggling to live up to four stars AA rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My parents felt that the room was on the small side - not really much room to manoeuvre - and also it was a bit tired looking, for instance one complete edge of upholstery had been worn away and become threadbare. They thought it had the feel of accommodation for travelling salesmen!

    Being selected as Guests Of The Day which was great for my parents (I only did the booking) as it was part of their birthday treat. They loved the view from the room which had a balcony overlooking the river. They appreciated the free bowl of fruit and snacks and FREE mini-bar. And they liked the restaurant where they enjoyed breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Expensive for what it was, though rooms were comfy and staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not overly impressed by the price. For 2 nights I paid £165 for single room occupancy and was given a room overlooking the back of the building. If I'd asked for a double bed, it would have cost an extra £20. Thought the price of breakfast was outrageous at £17. With a Loyalty customers discount it was, still, £12 but you had to purchase a voucher the night before. I fancied breakfast one morning but was not allowed the discounted rate because I hadn't purchased a discount voucher the night before. Sometimes, we don't fancy breakfast until that same day. And how many people can eat breakfast to that level of £17?! Also, I noticed that a 3 course carvery is, usually, £27 but was £29.95 for Mother's Day. Diane

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Good position for the river, Surbiton and Kingston. Diane

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Great except for Lack of Heat in Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was freezing when we arrived ( at Time notified to Hotel ) Room cold all night . On enquiry at Reception we were informed that all electricity (including heating ) is cut off when Door Access key is removed. This is a totally contradictory situation --Room cannot be heated until occupied !! Total nonsense.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was comfortable but needs replacing as I rolled into the middle from my side. Could also benefit from having a violent or complimentary bottles of water in the room

    Location was ideal and had parking on site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.5
    Sorry, this was a disappointment. I would never want to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly. A lot appeared not to know their jobs very well. Manager should have called the police for help with an aggressive and abusive visitor/guest in the reception. staff tried to subdue him politely. This person was allowed to cause a scene for several minutes. Glass door to bathroom not very private. Bed sheet needed to be changed for our second day but wasn’t. Decor very tired 1970s feel. Seems I lost all of my loyalty points since over 12 months since my last stay. Hotel faces the Thames but our view wasto the car park and side of building - not good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Overrated and expensive '4 star' hotel set in a business park opposite a water treatment plant??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Firstly, they did not reply to my requests through Booking.com, not a word or an apology. As a Booking.com 'Genius' traveller, as a 4 star hotel, I thought it was resting on its brand name and its river location far too much and focusing on how they can screw down their expenses rather than provide a real 4 star hotel service in London. The hotel is located on a small industrial area, almost opposite a water treatment plant on the river. My 'standard'room looked out onto a solid brick wall and metal clad roof 5m across the narrow access road. Are the views shown for this type of room???NO! At this grade of hotel, you would also expect some room facilities that are just included as 'STANDARD',as on the continent, such as a room safe or fridge. I have to say the only thing that made it any better than a basic Ibis or Travelodge was the quality of the bar and food( although even they just could not keep food hot at the breakfast buffet; tepid everyday and regularly missing a condiment set). For my money, it is overrated, should be a 3 star and price lowered accordingly.

    Free parking, easy access to river walks and 20 mins walk to Kingston UT town centre. Jack's kitchen bar and restaurant serve great drinks and excellent food from an interesting menu. Clean and warm room. Friendly and helpful staff. Strong WIFI, good coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    Loud music waved goodbye to any chance of a good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loud music playing from somewhere in the hotel, with a heavy bass, past midnight. When you book a hotel for a good nights sleep before running 13 miles, you're not up to "party" the night before. This should have been made clear and then we could have booked somewhere else.

    The only good thing about this hotel was the location to the start of the Hampton Court half marathon. Oh, and the room service was quick and the room service staff were lovely. The food was not.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: