Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Portsmouth 4 stars

Pembroke Road, Portsmouth, PO1 2TA, United Kingdom

#17 of 22 hotels in Portsmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1655 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too small .. I have stayed in holiday inn express with big beds .. toilet needs to be moved move central ... it's right against the wall on the left side .. Bed side shelf too small , I had the phone and just enough room for a cup , if you had kids could easy be knocked over , bedside socket was not working, would have been nice to have a full bedside cabinet with a draw,not just a shelf..Bed was a little bit too firm, we didn't have a good nite sleep .. no nite light in bathroom..

    Staff very friendly and helpful, has a pool ..good location 15 mins walk to Gunwharf & town centre .. Near the seafront 5 mins walk.. depending on floor sea views.. nice and clean room seemed very fresh & bathroom seemed fresh and clean.. Despite my comments would stay again nice hotel..& the staff make you feel welcome ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping needs improvement, room needed phone working & bathroom extractor wasn’t working.

    Reception & facilities staff are excellent, others are good, room & hotel very clean & bed very comfortable, facilities are excellent...would recommend this place in Portsmouth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom was a little odd, the toilet was right next to the bath and the toilet roll was on the other side of the bathroom, for a shorty like me it was a big stretch to reach the toilet paper. Lovely shower and the bath was a good size. I made a suggestion at reception though to add a little dish to put the soap on at the sink as no-one ever seems to think about that.

    Room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, I usually sleep with 2 pillows but only needed one here. The heating and air conditioning was system easy to use, however you need to be able to sleep though the noise it makes, its not that loud however for a light sleeper like me it can get a little annoying. The bar downstairs was nice and bar staff was friendly. We didn't eat there as we had busy days planned but the menu look good. Would recommend Beckett's (bar and restaurant) which is a 2 min walk from the hotel, food was amazing there (not for those looking to eat on the cheap though.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny with the door hitting the toilet, the room had dust all along the skirting boards which it would appear had not been cleaned for some considerable time.. There was a long wait to get a drink from the bar when a function was on

    The staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Good car parking with a 20 minute walk to marina. A quiet location with good views from the upper floors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing really that I didn't like, except for breakfast in bed took half and hr longer to arrive than promised which meant rushing to check out but that was made up by a member of staff offering us an extra hr later check out so we were very happy. Also the pool man could've been a bit more interactive and engaging he just behaved as if he didn't want to be there.

    I liked the service, generosity and professionalism from front desk members, the facilities were very appreciated and we enjoyed them. William at front desk did a fantastic job he was professional and very helpful, he was the one that made up for the late breakfast my offering us an hr later check out which made the whole experience very pleasant for my partner and I.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very tight and limited, we managed to get a space and bonus it is free parking but hit and miss if you will get a space.

    Allocated best room in hotel with spectacular view and comfy bed. Bonus was given free drinks vouchers for the bar as a welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive ... very small room with an even smaller bathroom. I expected more for the money I paid

    Location was good and upon asking we had a sea view, over the trees

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for “executive room”. No robes when we arrived. My wife had to clean the basin. The room was small, and the bathroom even smaller. The tissue box next to th hand wash basin had a few bits of torn toilet roll stuffed in it. I would like to know why I paid extra for room that you could just about swing a cat in. It was very disappointing and a good job we were only there for one night!!!

    Bed was OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The television was on the sideboard taking up most of the space, would be so much better mounted to the wall. The shelves either side of the bed were tiny and to add to this the telephone took up all the space on one side. Small comments but they do make a difference

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities included an ironing board and iron in the room. The room was light and airy. There was complimentary coffee in the lobby - excellent! Also the pool and fitness suites were a real bonus. More than all of this, however, I found the staff extremely helpful, friendly and professional. For a lone traveller that is most important. For some reason my booking had been cancelled and this came as a shock when I arrived to check in - the staff, however, quickly found me another room and the issue was resolved.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have just enjoyed a 3 night stay, everything about the Hotel was excellent. The staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, and everyone met us with a smile.........

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were lovely but one whose english not first language gave wrong directions - we worked out he had left and right the wrong way round - but he did give instructions with a smile

    Room as expected but no local info or hotel info in the room. Booked room for two and yet only two tea bags!!! - staff did give more on request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thing that is very poor and greedy of the Holiday Inn chain is the contact phone charges. 0871 numbers are the only numbers on offer. This is just an excessive revenue earning ruse and should stop. Shame on the Holiday Inn Group.

    Location, friendly staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check in could have been better. breakfast was cold and disgusting not worth the money charged overall experience very poor for the money charged expected more having stayed in other holiday inns

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, great staff. Room and bathroom was quite small for two people but adequate for one night. pool and facilities were nice but need upgrading

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small fridge would have been handy.

    Swimming/sauna/steam room and Jacuzzi were a great added bonus, good choice for breakfast, great location for Southsea and Gunwharf quays was a 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good, staff very friendly and helpful, food is excellent, nice bar

    Not far from see front, shops and bars, been here a number of times and will keep going back as this really is a nice place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room needs some TLC the hotel in genral is a bit run down I thought it was greatly overpriced nor even up to travelodge standards very if it was not for the facilities I don't think many people would stay here at £89 a night for a standard room with no breakfast for us it was the convenience of taking a earky ferry the naxt morning but it would not be my first choice if I should need stay over again there's a lot better in the area and cheaper.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in our room was dirty and we had to ask for it to be cleaned. We were given a twin room despite ordering a double (along with hearing other people making the same comment)

    The room was reasonably comfortable and quiet with a new looking bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were renovations taking place to changing facilities in the leisure club. The parking was very tricky in places. The staff dis give a street parking permit but after I had struggled and got yellow paint on my car!

    Close to the seafront. Comfortable beds. Lovely leisure facilities. Pleasure to dine in the restaurant. Staff so lovely to my son. He felt truly spoiled

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly overpriced, could have been £20 or so cheaper for facilities etc...

    Car park full but given a permit to park on main road opposite hotel. Pleasant staff upon check in. Lovely room, breakfast very nice, freshly cooked & no queues or rush. Central area, easy to access city or seafront. Quiet room, slept well, good blackout curtains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Sunday the restaurant staff were poor and disinterested, even though it was the same manageress. When I spoke to her she said they were very busy. Maybe employ more staff with better training? But that didn’t explain why she tried to charge me for a full breakfast when I only had a continental. A shame.

    Hotel was quiet and comfortable. On Friday and Saturday all staff that I met were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking!!!!! Nowhere to park in the hotel! All spaces taken. Had to pay to park on the side of a road for 24hrs costing me £12!

    Great location. Lots of things to do surrounding. Staff very friendly and my request for a top floor room was met.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no where to park as car park was full. We paid to park on the road but discovered the hotel would have given us a permit but didn’t offer to reenburse our costs. The was no where to sit down stairs as it was occupied by a wedding reception. And to use the swimming pool we had to walk through the wedding party which didn’t feel comfortable doing. Also the room was next to the smoking area so was really noisy but did quieten down by 11ish tv Ariel kept falling out the wall and list signal for 15 Mins aswell.

    It was easy to access. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Staff were friendly but bar staff seemed a little stressed as the was a wedding reception on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See previous comments

    Frankly not a lot to like - it’s all a bit tired especially the bedrooms and bathrooms - limited parking many having to park on street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffe breakfast I think for what is offered is a bit on the high side. Children didn't like it so took them to Harvester for breakfast. Room too choke though and exceedingly small for the size of a standard suite.

    As usual upgraded to the latest design of Holiday Inn. Never expected anything less though property is old but it's upgrade was per excellence

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far out from the town and doesn't look like much from the outside.

    Staff were fantastic and very helpful. Room was lovely. Breakfast in the room was very yummy. Brilliant weekend here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have any information in the room about the hotel and the directory of services didn't load on the television in the room. We knew all about the movies but nothing else.

    The quality and range of breakfast items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little tight for for space especially when using the toilet although the shower was great.

    The location was excellent being situated near the seafront and within walking distance to Gunwharf Quays & The Historic Dockyard. We enjoyed a superb breakfast and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little cramped especially when using the loo! Chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as thought it was overpriced

    Comfy bed, liked being able to use the pool in the mornings. Nice bar area. In a quieter location which I liked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Men's changing room for pool was out of action. A bedroom was provided to change in but it was a bit odd walking through bar area and past reception in your swimwear. I suggest offering people robes to wear to go back to rooms in or just to get through hotel. We would have brought our own had we known in advance.

    Nice clean room, breakfast very good. All you want to eat and friendly helpful waiters. Bar and restaurant in the evening relaxing with food served til very late. Reception staff helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A seat just outside the main entrance away from the smoking area would improve your facilities, for guests whom wish to wait outdoors for lifts, taxis etc.

    General building and staff were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mens toilets closed and refurbishments to male pool changing areas. Although alternatives were offered still inconvenience.

    Lovely breakfast, situated in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t enough car parking in the onsite car park so we had to park across the road however the hotel did pay for this parking.

    Staff were very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable! Perfect for sightseeing around Portsmouth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, but fhat was my fault, as it was the opposite side of Portsmouth from where I needed to be. Plus,I thought the Booking.com price included breakfast.

    Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a double. Got a single. Asked for ground floor got 2nd. The room was very small. Asked for a bathroom got a shower room. Didn't stay long enough to try facilities. Asked for money back and left after half an hour.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Given a room with dirty carpets and large handprints on bed base. We were upgraded to a room with brilliant view,. Breakfast is uninspiring scrambled eggs are a disgrace the same in your Guildford hotel. A bit too corporate... sloppy entrance - a view toiletries in a glass case - oh please...... Needs more info and pictures of Portsmouth to individualise it.

    Fantastic view, brilliant location. General staff very good. Manager less so.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small, dated and very basic. The building itself was tired looking and dirty. The spa did not provide you with any towels.

    The restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Bed very comfortable and sleep well. Up morning at 7am then went downstairs for swimming, spa, sauna until 8am then breakfast, it was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant seemed understaffed ; one food order was both very late and the wrong dish. At check-in we were not told how to get towels for the pool. The newspaper ordered was incomplete when delivered.

    Staff were exemplary in courtesy and approachability. The pool and sauna were excellent. We liked the chance to order food and bring it to our room ourselves.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having spent the previous 2 nights in a Premier Inn for work I was shocked at how small and cramped the bedroom and bathroom were. Also in the evening we decided to have a snack in the lounge area and were inundated with a large group of elderly guests. We vacated a 4 person table for them which they completely ignored and it was impossible to have a conversation with such noise going on around us. I wish we had known there was such a large group booking and we would have gone somewhere else. Now we are unlikely to return because of the negative experiences.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Clean, warm and comfortable room . Good breakfast with a wide time slot so suitable for people working or at leisure. Friendly staff who made the time for everyone despite a large number of guests staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and jacuzzi was fabulous. Breakfast amazing, fresh fruit, cooked items, all kinds of tea bags and bread. Curry and fish and chips in restaurant top quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The couple in the room next to us having a massive row at 2am ! Nothing the staff could do

    The bar manager was very accommodating when we asked to watch a rugby match on the tv in the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service has to improve. They gave us the wrong pizza and insist that was the right one. Then we complained and the waitress checked with kitchen and realised they made a mistakes. She doesn’t even know the difference between roasted vegetables and vegan pizza. The guest next to me also complained given a wrong bottle of wine.

    Room and facilities are within expectation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t eat there as felt it was a bit too expensive.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room had everything needed for a short stay. Pool, sauna and steam room are an added bonus. Good position.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    The staff at this hotel are amazing, couldn't do enough for us, it's also in the best location, so close to shops, seafront, Hovercraft, Historic Dockyard and Spinnaker Tower. The pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ware a real pleasure to be in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other residents having no respect for others by having loud music up till 5! When reported to staff they immediately sorted the problem.

    New refurbishment was lovely and staff were so accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hairdryer was annoying as you had to hold down the button to get a flow but that is a really minor issue and I cannot think of anything else I would change.

    Excellent staff; small but well-formed room with everything you need for a few days stay. The location was excellent as was the addition of access to the swimming pool,sauna and steam room... a real bonus for us as a family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park spaces as arriving late only one space at the very back very hard to get in and out but was very busy so I expected that upon late arrival

    Checking in girl was very friendly forgot the name. Great first impressions All staff very friendly even the cleaners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom way too small. No room to dry yourself between door and toilet without knocking yourself. Room needed updating. Old units No place to put your smalls. No main light in room.

    Staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a great one. Most friendly I’ve stayed at. Very clean in all areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor was a little dirty and the bathroom itself was also very small. The lifts were small and slow so always a queue in the morning.

    The bed was very comfy, pillows nice and firm. However room was very warm and little uncomfy during the night. The breakfast was OK for a buffet not I would say worth £14.50

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restaurant in the morning weren’t very friendly.

    Great location, room was clean and tidy. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Although the room was cleaned every day I could still see the cobweb in one corner of the room ceiling that I had noticed on my first day of arriving there. It was still there when I left.

    Loved how the staff accommodated my request for an extra heater in the room cause it was freezing and I m not used to extremely cold weather. They really did go out of their way to provide me a portable heater for my entire stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opted for a room with a bath but upon arrival I got given a room without a bath so would have been nice if I got told this.

    Property location was excellent, 10/10 for cleanliness, room was a decent size & shower/toilet facilities were great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for lactose free products when I booked but there was none available. So had to buy my own products.

    The location was ideal for visiting the historic docklands museums.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heating in our bedroom was broken and was on constantly so the first nights stay was very warm. We had to have all the windows open. When reported to reception, due to it being Easter, maintenance weren’t working so couldn’t be fixed. The staff offered to switch our room but we were fine with keeping the windows open.

    Great location right in the heart of Portsmouth. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Everything was clean and tidy. A great feature was the taxi service the hotel offered (press a button in reception that orders a taxi which we did several times) and the taxi was there within 5 minutes. The bar area was very modern with drinks not being too over priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Lovely room with everything Thai was needed. Bed lovely and comfy plus a choice of pillows. Had trouble with door lock which was promptly looked at second day. Staff so helpful with that, they had to keep coming and letting us in!! Staff so courteous and helpful. Nothing any trouble. Nice welcome drink upon arrival. Lovely pool too. Thankyou

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plasterboard wall in the bedroom was breaking up. The bathroom sink did not work properly. The coffee at breakfast was disgusting

    The breakfast good. The most comfortable hotel be I have slept in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small, room too hot.

    Hotel is in a nice quite location near to sea front and shops and restaurants. Good breakfast, like the swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service was a bit slow, I had to ring them twice, but nothing major.

    The executive room was spacious, clean with a great bed. Breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast the sausages could have been of better quality.We thought the room was on the small side.This was not a particular problem,over two nights,but over a longer period,the size would have had a more negative impact..

    The hotel suited our requirements.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was extremely small, and lacking hooks for clothes. The towel racks were not big enough. The TV had only a small selection of Freeview channels.

    Staff helpfulness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When wanting to use the swimming pool, we were told we had to wait an hour therefore we didn’t use this facility as we had no other time to. Waste of money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The changing rooms could have been cleaner.

    Comfy, staff were friendly, breakfast was lovey.. A elderly lady did ask in receptionist if there was a brolly she could use. It was pouring down outside. Maybe it would be a good idea even if they have to pay a deposit until they return it. The changing rooms could have been cleaner. All in all a lovey stay. I would like to take my husband down. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to find anything wrong at all I would say the Orange juice was weak and watery at breakfast but this is just a tiny thing that really didn't make any difference to overall experience

    Good location, not really far from anywhere. Everything was great. I was made to feel very welcome and staff were extremely helpful. My room was small but but ideal and the shower was to die for, best one I've ever had. The food for dinner was excellent and breakfast had plenty of choice and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park far too small although hotel did give vouchers for parking elsewhere. Simple request for warm milk in morning couldn't be achieved at breakfast and no answer as to why. A lot of door banging and general noise in the hotel. Room felt cramped and bathroom quite small.

    Bed was comfortable , bar staff friendly and efficient. Food served was good and to a high standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a pain on the weekend due to a small car park but parking permits are provided for free so you can park along the road.

    Very homely feeling rooms, nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and shabby,sliding door could with a repaint. It had recently been retiledbut grouting not been cleaned of propally.Also not very clean on windowcil in bedroom lots of marks and skirting shabby paintwork and lots of chips and chunks.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything

    The room was comfortable and clean, and the facility's were good. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking you car is a little tight. The bed wasn’t comfortable it was very hard.

    The lay out of the room was well worked. The bathroom looked amazing and the view from our room was really nice. The buffet breakfast was good quality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small, and there were no bathrobes, as listed in what to expect when you upgrade.

    we arrived early and were given an early check in which we appreciated, as weather was poor. the food at breakfast was lovely, with lots of choice, and the wellness centre was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink was a little dirty

    Staff were so friendly and really accommodating. Beds were super comfy and for light sleepers like me the windows really shut out any sound and light.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing met our standards, our stay was short lived as we left a day earlier than expected! The lights in the bedroom did not work so we were sat in the dark in the evening, the bathroom was dirty amd the shower and sink were both blocled! The room was horrendous so untidy and was not cleaned! Holes in the walls and dirty marls everywhere! The water was cloudy! Everything was dreadful we will definitely not be coming back and we will tell others not to visit! Waste of money!!

    Leaving

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few marks on the walls in the bedroom which could have some attention.

    I loved the view and the outlook from my bedroom. The hotel was nicely located for long walks and to explore.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Portsmouth traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: