Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Preston 3 stars

Ringway, Preston, PR1 3AU, United Kingdom

#8 of 13 hotels in Preston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1024 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Not very pleasant
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was booked as double bed but they could only give twin beds. They said because I booked through an agency so priority cannot be given and they changed the room to twin beds. Kept asking for tea coffee facilities in the room. First asked at 7 pm and they promised to send them straightaway but never did in spite of calling reception every 20 minutes. Finally at 11 pm they said for us to collect from the reception.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    very dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No rectification after I advised them that wanted a double bed not a twin bed ! staff wasn't helpful and did not refund money as i had to leave the room halfway through my stay and plus I got the wrong room !

    The room.wss cosy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Decent hotel just needs better beds and better air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were really uncomfortable and the air conditioning was poor. It was the hottest day of the year and it took about 4 hours for the room to cool to a comfrtable level.

    Hotel is ina good location and the staff arequite friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The best of Preston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was too many police and ambulance cars driving past in the night with sirens on but it's not the hotel's problem.

    Staff from the management to the room maids were so frendly and helpful would recommend anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    OK if you need to be near town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-con in the room, and apparently most rooms, was not working well, and it was a very hot day and night...this needs sorting. The lights in the room were strange...you could not have a reading light on just on its own...all or nothing. Some of the fixtures and fittings were tired, scratched and in need of TLC.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The beds were comfy, along with a choice of pillows. Free car park, good location and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    We were very happy with the service, meals and room. The hotel was very convenient for the M6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very happy with the service provided by the staff - very professional. The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice. The room was very clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. All together a very satisfied customer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Preston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative I have was a 30 minutes wait fora taxi to the station. I nearly missed my train. Hotel staff phoned 3 times before it finally arrived.

    Great room and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    good central location by the bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unable to park in the small car park so had to find on street parking which maybe more of an issue if arrive mid afternoon

    good central location by the bus station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    great location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bigger carpark at front of hotel - although overflow worked well. We were later down for breakfast so the floor where others had eaten was messy, the choice of cold foods was limited at that time. choice of foods within the hotel was limited although competitively priced

    quiet room, location, value for money, size of room, strength of shower air con nice and quiet and worked well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    The property was dirty and my room had clearly been smoked...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dirty and my room had clearly been smoked in from the smell. It was on the 6th floor so definitely not from outside. I booked 2 rooms and the other didn’t have a working air conditioning unit. The rooms were cramped we had 2 twin rooms and they were that close it may well have been 1 bed not 2 singles. The room looked like it was cleaned by a teenager, cleaned only in the areas that could be easily seen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, smart elegant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked at last minute to attend a work function and was surprised at great low price. Central location so easy access into city centre and a big bonus of free parking , Didn't have time to use any of the bar or restaurant facilities but would definitely stay again in the future,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and friendly. Would definitely recommend. Lovely breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot even though air con was on although not efficient. Kind lady brought me a fan which had to be on all night!

    Friendly staff, nice introduction to breakfast from the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Care and attention needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was average but left me waiting for 5 minutes while on the phone without letting me know he would be five minutes, lack of care

    Hotel is in a good position but very dated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff was friendly and helpful with my
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed 263 QTR extra and I don’t know the reason And the stuff didn’t know although I’ve booked and paid through booking.com and I hope that you Explain the reason for the payment , thanks

    The staff was friendly and helpful with my

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    a delight x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would not be able to think of anything negative at all !!

    room was spotless ,bed very comfortable and bathroom and bedroom nice size . staff were very polite and helpful ,smiles were GENUINE ! Breakfast was superb in every way ,restaurant was immaculate, the staff are a credit to the hotel and management team. i would not hesitate to book again :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    The bed and pillow made my body ache extremely tough like...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillow made my body ache extremely tough like foam that had been used in a fire test and left to harden that was the mattress you just lay on it there is no ideal possible of “getting in to bed” or “getting comfy” the pillow was a rectangle flat hard thing cheaper than cheap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable room but atrocious management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk manager was abismal. Was told due to our booking being through booking.com we were not a priority and would have to vacate our room after 1 night and move to a twin for people who had booked directly with the hotel!! Not acceptable. Booking.com we’re fantastic in sorting it but I wouldn’t recommend the holiday inn to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Fit for purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot and fan not working in bathroom. Overall I know it was a bank holiday Saturday but I think the price I paid for the room was quite high. Staff were not over helpful. Did not inform us of any facilities and did not even ask us if we would like breakfast or inform us of breakfast times.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Bad location noisey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To load doors banging arguing shouting out side the reception at early hours no sleep doors banging all night not amused

    Not much staff are good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs done though I hear they plan to do this

    Location & staff were brilliant, the breakfast was excellent, bacon was cooked, something you don't normally get with hotels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Good base for city centre, and guild hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise. Could hear noise from bus station announcement from 6am.to gain access after 10pm you have to press a button for lift. Needs a member of staff downstairs as it got confusing.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location for guild hall. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Welcoming and spotless clean and best pillows ever
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to say had an amazing night in holiday inn wish we could of stayed longer had no bad comments at all place is spotless and anything we needed was not a problem like milk and sugar late at night . Would defo stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, friendly and accomodating staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be useful to know in advance befire commiting to booking if parking can be reserved. I really needed a parking spot and nearly missed that opportunity. The otcome of my trip would have been a disaster without it

    Staff was extremely helpful in the check in and very accomodating on the limited parking situation. They even ehlped me to park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Quiet room. Friendly staff but Bar19 big let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Again the restaurant falling short Original choice out of stock.Big chunky beef of chilli second choice. Looked like it came out of a tin. Pacified with complimentary drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.5
    The room I was given was like I was locked in a shed it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was given was like I was locked in a shed it was very hot I couldn’t breath the aircon didn’t work being asthmatic I needed air and ther was no air the room wasn’t worth wat I paid and I am waiting for a refund the location wasn’t accurate we walked two miles to get to the hotel no sign pist at all very very disappointed and it’s not walking distance from the station to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    No problems with general standard of hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked this hotel as it was advised as having car parking, however when I arrived in the evening there were no parking spaces available so I had to pay to park somewhere else. There is only parking for approximately 20% of the rooms in the hotel, so if you will be arriving late on a busy day you are likely to have to pay to park elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    good price for centeral location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car park very limited, need to get rid of the center rocks display and make another 3 or 4 spaces

    nice room with air con & also radiator for the cooler evenings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay staff very friendly and professional, would definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the room was on the small side for two people, particularly as we were on the members floor. No where to relax without laying on the bed.

    Bed was comfortable and room clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice if at least one or two rooms per floor could have a walk-in shower or a lower bath as my bath was difficult for me to get into. I would imagine this could be a common problem.

    We like to use buses to visit parts of Lancs and Yorks so hotel is perfectly placed and very comfortable with an excellent staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Reception staff where fantastic a great help and made it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare including a delivery truck blocking the exit when trying to leave due to people double parking not a direct problem with the hotel but would sugegest this was managed better

    Reception staff where fantastic a great help and made it really easy. Bar staff were fantastic as well very knowledgeable and friendly. The bar itself was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Good hotel convenient for the town centre but if you can't park without hassel it all goes to pot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking is severely limited and the overflow is owned by another company which while at weekends you may stay without restrictions on a weekday however you have to move your car before 7 am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Fire alarm went off at around midnightht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off at around midnightht. No information from staff, very unorganised. Chaotic and no control from staff. If it was a real fire it felt very un safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoors facilities were non-existent. A bench and an ashtray. Not much good in the pouring rain. Last time I looked smoking was still legal and people who smoke are still accepted as paying guests. It's not just the Holiday Inn that is guilty of this.

    Comfy beds and pillows and breakfast was lovely and plentiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Amazing staff that make
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat of the rooms and air con only as low as 18 degrees very stuffy

    The staff were incredible from check in with reception to the dining staff when it came to dinner .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Great to use as a base for exploring the area or visiting Preston
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar food and drinks were very expensive.

    Comfortable stay in a clean and quite room. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The wi-fi was strong throughout the hotel. Location was OK, around a 15 minute walk from the station, but the route along the main road was a bit precarious at times. It was very handy for the town centre and university though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location and reasonable value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area on the first floor is a bit ‘impersonal’.

    We had a meal in the bar area because the restaurant was closed (as it was a Bank Holiday) and we expected the food wouldn’t be quite as good but in fact it was excellent! All three courses were first class and the service was also excellent. Also our room was extremely clean, especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel by measures - but needs to install proper access security especially at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One real concern for me. The hotel is not fully secure as anyone can enter the building on the ground floor and access all floors simply by taking the lift and not stopping at the reception which is on the first floor. We saw a group of local "kids" doing just that which means anyone can enter the hotel also at night and walk the corridors looking for unlocked doors or whatever. For a reasonably upmarket hotel they should install locks on the front doors (none in place when we were there) and a security system for the lifts (e.g. you can only go to Reception on floor 1 if you don't have a valid keycard). This security risk would put me off returning for the moment.

    Very convenient City Centre location, good comfortable rooms, very good cooked breakfast. Also very helpful staff as I had noisy neighbours and the hotel very happily moved me to another room. Lastly free wifi and parking. A lot of good points!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    There is a place called Fischers, a very good beerfood bar,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a place called Fischers, a very good beerfood bar, at walking distance. That made the trip to Preston woth it. Other than that, it's not a great town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    comfy but could do it a slight upgrade for the out of date windows
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room i was in as a horrible sound coming from the window with the slightest for of wind and it kept me up for hours but there was no way of stopping it. Plus the window let a lot of the cold in

    i liked the addition of the wooden doors to block out as much light at possible along with the selection of pillows and their firmness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Location to the Guild hall for the snooker
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom had grubby stains on the ceiling windows had muck or mouldy in the sealer, room cost £95 with no breakfast which is a bit pricey considering I stayed in the Crown Plaza in Birmingham the night before at £70 with breakfast and it was far more superior

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff were pleasant and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was small and cars parked wherever they could fit. The website had said there was an overflow carpark but we couldn’t find it. We end up parking in a small, pay and display carpark about a 10 min walk from the hotel. On checking in we were advised that we should have come to reception first and they would have given us a pass and directions to the overfill carpark. We now know for next time but it wasn’t clear that’s what’s we had to do when we first arrived to find the carpark now full. It wasn’t too much of an issue and the car was fine where we left it but it’s worth mentioning so other visitors know what to do.

    Staff were pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely. The hotel was easy to find and close to the Guild Hall where we were visiting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a male knocking on doors until 4am asking to come into the room. One guest left as he entered her room without permission and it frightened her.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy guests in room next to me. Service slow at breakfast...waited 15min for a coffee. Had to go and ask eventually. Apart from that breakfast was excellent.

    Nice comfy bed..good facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    The staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first glance the room appeared tidy but it turned out there were hairs all over the bathroom and what I can only assume was mould on the TV remote. Also a used mayonnaise bottle stuffed behind the desk.

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay at this establishment and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom would be the first to improve upon. There was no replacement toilet rolls plus the toilet tissue was extremely bad quality, a tissue box with only a couple of tissues left. The body wash was placed next to the sink and the hand wash placed in the shower. There was no complimentary items placed in the bathroom such as shower cap, shoe polish which are provided in other establishments of the same caliber. There was barely any tea/coffee facilities the selection provided was at a bare minimum.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean and comfortable with a great layout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Would definetely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We cannot pin point any-thing that we disliked.

    We were a family of 4. What we liked the most was the welcoming experience of the staff that were on duty especially Zoe and Camilla in the bar. They were really outstanding. It makes such a difference to have happy, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good,friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff in the restaraunt & bar were all vey polite & friendy.Managed by Kirsty & Mike who led from the front.Special mention to Zoe who was a real star.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Good comfortable stay. Room excellent. Downside was dinner was poor - noisy diners on next table
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got wet getting from the car park. Restaurant was noisy - tables too close together.

    I liked the wooden blinds, excellent light control. A really good comfortable night's sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking in hotel carpark at time of arrival had to pay to park in bus carpark opposite as lone female feels quite remote felt vulnerable also the lift was not working so had to carry suitcase up and down the stairs

    excellent breakfast good room service staff lovely very helpful room comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    See above comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike, everything spot on.

    We only live 8 miles from this hotel, but we were being picked up early the following morning, so decided to book an over night stay, in "any Preston hotel" What a bonus we picked the Holiday Inn, perfect in every way for us, and we will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    My daughter had gone up for a interview & in the rush...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter had gone up for a interview & in the rush left her glasses by the bedside table. I phoned to ask them if they could post them & I was happy to pay the postage. They claim they weren’t in the room. I was upset when they told me the glasses weren’t there !! A nearly £300 Tom Ford frame just vanished!! & the room had not been used by another guest !! Very very disappointed!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    None. A good hotel for business trip or leisure.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centred location, though far from the train station but you can get taxi which is cost around £3 to the hotel. The bus terminal is just opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    All I saw was a pleasant helpful lady on desk who got me a...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All I saw was a pleasant helpful lady on desk who got me a taxi for early train to Scotland. I didn't have food. Place was clean. water was hot , it had tea/coffee facilities. Suited me ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    No sleep at all but good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buzzing noise in the bedroom Cleanliness of bathroom State of toilet seat Room was very hot

    The breakfast was fabulous. Hood choice. Cooked well. But I didn't sleep a wink because of the buzzing noise in the room. The a/c didn't work so was extremely hot and uncomfortable. The toilet seat was ready for dropping off and the bathroom needed a good clean. The rest of the hotel was great. Staff were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.3
    Would stay again happily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and too stuffy for me. You could only open the window a small amount and it was noisy when it was open.

    Breakfast was good though it was very very busy. Staff were friendly and helpful. location was great for football and the centre of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Quality hotel with good food for breakfast and evening meals.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is very limited and the overflow is only available for limited hours so the solution is to park in the bus station car park across the road at a cost of £6 a night. Not a big deal if you are expensing it...

    Excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff on check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Good location to the centre and the Guild Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location to the centre and the Guild Hall. Pre booked breakfast on arrival which was charged at £10 per room, excellent value for money. Good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast. Good value bar prices too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Would suit anyone looking for a convenient location to the centre and short visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was a bit annoying as it did not seem to work fully but as we were not there to watch tv it was not a great concern. The furniture was a little worse for wear but not shabby.

    It is not a vast selection at breakfast but there is a little of everything, cereal, fruit, cold meats etc and the quality is excellent. The dining area is light and pleasant. The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    3.8
    Very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was ridiculous especially when I was staying with a young child. The restaurant took 45 minutes to order as no one came near us I'd to take my child to the bar to order.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    Was ok but wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking situation was atrocious ! Got back to hotel at 10-30 and told we had to use overspill and be out by 7am - I don’t pay to stay in a hotel to get up at 6.30!!! Very disappointed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Really nice, but the old town HSS
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A different food menu with a better vegetarian choice,but the breakfast was excellent, could have a few more food groups.some bubble baths in the bathroom, shampoos and conditioners would be great.

    A really good standard of accommodation, cleanliness, excellent service,a really nice home from home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Friendly Bar staff, however food average and parking horrendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is horrendous. Room was average. Breakfast was awful eventhough we were there early! Most food was overdone apart from bacon that had only been cooked on 1 side!! All in all, very overpriced for what we experienced.

    Bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.6
    Needs an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Decor is battered. Single bed not a double which seems to be an on going con from reading other reviews. Bar man on first night was useless. Fire alarm on Monday then bottle bins being emptied 6am Tuesday!

    Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Clean comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty pots on most of the tables in the ding room. 6.00pm. Thought we would have a drink in the bar. Waited nearly 5 minutes no sign of any bar staff so we left. Nobody seemed bothered.

    Clean comfy room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Quick stopover on route home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Windows need better sound proofing. The noise of traffic in rooms situated near the back of the hotel over looking the main roads was like staying in the centre of a grand prix race track. We got moved to a much quieter location overlooking the main entrance.

    Comfortable beds. Great shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    A hotel I would stay in again when visiting Preston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    A good hotel within walking distance of the Guild Hall, where we were attending a concert. We were able to drop our cases off before booking in time, which was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Our room was cosy, we arrived late at night and had gotten...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cosy, we arrived late at night and had gotten really cold, so a warm room was appreciated. Booking in at Reception was done super quick. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A very relaxing overnight stay , will certainly be booking this. hotel again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watched the TV but would have liked subtitles on as the sound was very low.

    We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which we enjoyed. We had drinks afterwards in the bar the seating was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    Lack of sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From 3.30 - 4.30 am there was one or more person going up and down the corridor banging on doors and there was shouting. I tried calling reception several times but there was no answer and I did not feel safe and I got a terrible nights sleep. It was awfal

    Hotel is fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Alright for a place to put your head
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could only use one plug in the room which was were the kettle is, the other sockets were in such a bad position that you couldn’t even plug in the hotel iron!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    No problems and staff spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. Breakfast sausages not to my liking, but can’t have everything.

    Staff were very helpful, good parking and facilities were fine. One night stay, but more would’ve been ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location & overall very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the warm breakfast everything was fine & i would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Preston. The lift was not working from the ground floor entrance & anyone in from a late night out had to walk up to first floor Reception to get access the lift to other floors. This could be a security thing so reception can see who is coming in etc.

    Room was perfect, quiet with all you need (iron & ironing board was a bonus). Breakfast selection was really good but the Full English was only warm as it had sat for a while although i did go just before cut off. Coffee & cold juices were lovely & service was good also. Very nice overall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant, back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is extremely good as is the other food served. Staff are friendly but professional and very helpful. It has been a pleasure to see Kirsty progress and to see that the company appreciate the hard work she has put in.( Just to clarify I am a retired people trainer for the industry).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed staying in this hotel and we will definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Hotel is in a good location. Check-in was fast and simple. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was nice and had so many to choose from. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay if you are going to a show at Preston Guild Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think we were lucky to get parked so easily, but there is alternative parking if you can't get into the small car park. The decor is definitely nineties and could do with an upgrade.

    The room was a good size and the beds really comfortable. I liked the pillow choice option and took them up on the complimentary toothbrush set as I'd forgotten mine.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: