Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Southampton 4 stars

Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton, SO15 1AG, United Kingdom

#20 of 31 hotels in Southampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 862 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for the cruise port. Shops, pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Room was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Buffet style breakfast with lots of choice, full English and continental. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Southhampton Holiday Inn - perfect for cruising!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large amount of people checking out to catch a cruise. The front desk is small, two people working it and it so happens part of the system was down so only one person could check in/out.

    The location was perfect for getting to cruise terminals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall its good hotel and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved to have a king size bed as my husband is big and we could not fit well.Lifts too small and takes long to get in.

    Area very good if you are cruising from Southampton 5 min walk to the terminal.Rooms big and clean.Very close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was chaotic, they knew it was a busy weekend with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaotic, they knew it was a busy weekend with the boat show and cruises departing so should have had extra staff on. Check out was so slow. Expensive for what you got.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    The exterior of the building does not match the interior.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only x2 lifts - they took ages.

    The exterior of the building does not match the interior. From the outside the building looks tired and in need of attention - clearly the investment in this hotel to date has been on the interior. Check-in was quick and friendly, rooms modern and clean and breakfast was great. Would certainly use this hotel if I was using the ferry or was in Southampton again. Great pub just a 5 minute walk away - Duke of Wellington.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Never come back again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of the hotel corridors and room. Smells like some insecticide or bleach. Bathroom cleanliness doubtful. Lunch was bellow any expectations. We ordered fish and chips and Caesar salad. Fish was very small and the batter quite oily; the tartar sauce was actually a mayonnaise-garlic sauce, thin and doubtful . The salad itself was a simple iceberg salad with plain croutons . The anchovies in the Caesar salad were missing. When we asked for anchovies they came with a sort of sardines marinated in vinegar. Disgusting.

    Restaurant ambiance Comfy beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I personally don't like the soap and shampoo dispensers in the bathroom and shower.. I prefer an old school bar of soap please ! The building itself showing a few signs of age..

    Parking was easy and reasonable value. The hotel location was very good for my purpose - access to the old town centre within a short walk. The check in was fast and the reception staff were friendly. The room was a decent size, the bed was pretty good. Excellent and plentiful breakfast. Checkout fast and smooth. The TV operated as a normal TV - none of that mucking around with a needless and annoying in house system.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered evening meal and we waited over an hour it did not arrive so left and went to the grand harbour and were served within ten minutes very disappointed with the service and reported it to reception

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Our stay is always first class no conplaints, we look forward to our next visit in May
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    We always stay at the Holiday Inn the day before our cruise and always ask for room 602, we enjoy our stay at the hotel. thank you to all the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay just a sad ending
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much about not liking the hotel, but my daughter left her blankie from birth in the room and it wasnt found i would give anything to have it back she cries to sleep without it.

    The location was perfect, the kids loved the swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing stay, disappointed with service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant we waited too long for drinks and food. We ordered food but waited so long that we left and went for dinner else where.

    The room was comfortable and modern. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked by mistake room only £74 once I had realised I tried to change booking to B and B at £84 as still being advertised. I emailed the hotel only to get a reply saying breakfast for me and my 7yr old would be £18. Thanks for that, a bowl of cereal for my son and a breakfast for me £18. I took him to Frankie and Bennys 300 yards up the road and had the same for less than £10. Car parking on site was £10 - £12.50 for 24hrs I downloaded the “ just park” ap and parked literally across the road for £3:50 for 24hrs. On checking out had to wait a long time. Only one member of staff checking lots of people out at 10 o’clock on a bank holiday Monday morning. She was apologetic and nice though. Shame about the above cause it is a nice hotel for the value and great location.

    Fantastic location, clean rooms and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great location for the night before your cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested rooms as far away from the lifts as possible, but we were in the rooms next to the lift. No showstopper.

    Excellent location for a night before your cruise, and easy walk to the shopping centre and eateries. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. Assisted with booking transfer to cruise terminal, and is well set up for passenger transfers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    Dr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually, there has been a problem where they have lost my file and I couldn't check out, till now I have not received the receipt. They took my visa card details and apparently they tried every day to take another payment while the payment is hold.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Great location; large, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't really have anything negative to say about this hotel.

    The room had air conditioning, which felt wonderful in the middle of England's heat wave. The room was large, bright and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel is located near the old city walls and at a short distance from a major commercial shopping centre. It is also located near the cruise ship docks. There are very good restaurants nearby, on the other side of the city walls.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Staff were very helpful and friendly, even though it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, even though it was a busy time. Room was clean and comfortable with a nice outlook. Location extremely handy for port and West Quay shopping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small size bed in twin room,noisy house keepers in the corridors,reception never answer your call you have to go down for single simple thing, laundry must be handed in the reception You can listen to your nightmares in the other room very clearly

    Cleanliness ,new bright room,location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, super clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive and no breakfast included option , car parking not included

    Excellent location, super clean and comfortable. Hotel staff great. We were using it as pit stop before a cruise so fantastic view of ships and port. Food great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.3
    Horrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been changed The lady on reception needed some customer service training

    Staff were very rude! Ladies bodily fluids all over the bed. Would definitely not reuse!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Good stay comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but efficient, would of liked a bigger room for the price we paid.

    How close it was to the cruise port, shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice of hotel for our stay:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside of building needs repainted.

    Excellent location for staying before boarding the cruise ship (ship docked almost outside our window!)Clean comfortable room. Easy to find location-good signage. Nice breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great overnight stop. Easy to find. Lovely views and central loaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to fault

    Really smart hotel with great view across the water. Rooms well maintained and staff very friendly. Great breakfast and a 5 min walk from the West Quay shops and cinema + Ikea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price !!!! Especially when I can come in a couple of months for£95,and a couple we met booked up a few days before the W/e and stayed across the road in the Grand for £55

    The best breakfast ever in a B&B and location and view from the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Very pleased with the overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better for value. Rather expensive if one doesn't want a full breakfast

    We went on a cruise with Cunard, so the location couldn't be better. If one decides not to eat at the Hotel, then The Dancing Man was extremely good, especially the steaks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Great value - amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all great

    The room was clean, bright and airy with good views over the port. The evening meal and breakfast were both tasty and good value. The staff were amazing and the position perfect for our cruise the following day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice and we will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service at Dinner was slow, sometimes very slow - staff shortages seemed to be the problem. Breakfast service was great as lots more staff!

    Staff were friendly & helpful. Room excellent - lovely comfy bed! So glad we chose this Hotel - would use again. We liked the fact that some staff were "retirees" - so experienced and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Always stayed here and always will,so easy for our cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble began in the dining room which was packed.One poor girl seemed to be doing everything so there was no greeting at the desk to show us which table to go to.The food was ok but then muddled up on the bill.She was too stressed and we had to take our receipt to the reception to sort out.They were busy booking people in and the lady was waiting for her shift to end.Eventually we all had to go over and after going back to dining room they bought our bill up on their screen for us to check.This was easy half hour wasted.

    The rooms were fine and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Adequate for vist - £156 really poor & £10 parking - no return vist
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the room £156 for one night with no breakfast - very poor Asked for double bed - got a twin not particularly comfortable - hard bed No biscuits with tea/coffee in room Plus £10 parking ??

    The locality was close the venue st Mary's stadium

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel, Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good!

    Very close to town and Gate 4 on the docks for the cruise ships, and next to the Isle of Wight ferry! Lovely friendly staff, nice rooms very clean, and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Short stay Peppa Pig world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for one night, while visiting Peppa Pig world. The room was newly refurbished and very clean. The breakfast was of good quality and a pool was bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    I did not expect it to be newly renovated and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally everything and while I scored everything a 10, the breakfast would have been a 9.

    I did not expect it to be newly renovated and the room was lovely. It was great watching the ships come in in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    did what it needed to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I mentioned to the receptionist that a welcome smile is usually expected when checking in. We were not told what time breakfast was served. Difficult to find any information in the room, I found out afterwards that there is a directory on the TV, however we could not find this on the TV in our room Breakfast food was left out quite a long time so a lot of what was available was dry Beds could be bigger, most hotels offer larger than standard double beds Quite a big gap under the bedroom door which let a lot of light in during the night Curtains could be heavier to block out the light during the night and early morning Other doors on the same floor close quite loudly

    Breakfast was varied, staff pleasant and area comfortable and bright Room a nice size comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    This is the second time I have stayed at the holiday inn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time I have stayed at the holiday inn before a cruise and both times I have found everything excellent. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Rooms clean and staff are excellent, especially Ruth at breakfast time helpful and very friendly. Nice to see a smiley face first thing in the morning. Only one negative, we wanted to book again with some friends before our cruise in July, but the price has doubled. I did ring to see if they did loyalty discount but didn't get very far.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    a shame i had to add a few moans as the hotel was really nice, staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ok here goes. massively understaffed. the poor things were running round like mad. the bar and the restaurant was lovely but slow service. also we had brunch and dinner and both meals came without items ordered. breakfast the following morning was much more organised and the food was fab.. the lifts were a nightmare, I waited 20mins to be able to get down for breakfast as there was no room for my scooter along with other guests, in the end my wife had to "hijack" one and bring it to our floor. the remote for the tv didn't work, my wife was asleep when I finished watching tv but I had to wake her to turn it off as my disability means I cannot walk. little things but the hotel needs to tweak them.

    being disabled the room/ bathroom was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Good, it was a place to stay while we were busy with family in Southampton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts are old, small and slow, maybe they need refurbishing next. We were completely ignored by a young member of staff at the bar, even after us asking for her assistance. She had a task to do and was not going to serve us or acknowledge our very existence. We ended up walking away and going elsewhere for a drink Luckily the rest of the staff were friendly and helpful

    The rooms are newly refurbished, even smelt of fresh paint. Clean and modern

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    the Housekeeper lady is kind enough to find me a bedroom...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for an invoice upon checking out but was told they cant issue me a copy when its paid via booking.com?? Now that I've checked my CC statement, I was billed by the hotel directly. which means I have to write to the hotel for statement/invoice..

    the Housekeeper lady is kind enough to find me a bedroom slipper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Basic hotel.. good enough for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirt on windowsills in my room it had gathered in the corners. They were white framed so it was very obvious. Shame as the room was refurbished and looked fresh and pleasant. Bathroom very small. Leisure facility not worth visiting.

    Listened when I asked for quiet room. Provided toiletries I had forgotten very quickly. Great car park with plenty of room. Close to shopping centre, restaurants and cinemas etc... Bed was very comfortable and very well made. Slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Met most of my expectations for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cooler than expected. There seems to be some issues on the buildings ability to cope with changes of weather. Reception staff responsive by offering a portable heater if required. Hotel gym well equipped for travellers. Down side, if you're not a regular user of gym's you may not be aware of etiquette to wipe down equipment after use, having to do this myself prior to using kit. Plenty of wipes available but no signs to encourage use. When mentioned to gym reception staff on leaving response was "we know what you mean", not what I expected. If you are aware of an issue it should be addressed!

    Staff friendly and helpful, good choice at breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Poor stay compared to previous occasions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of snacks, wardrobe space inadequate hanging for trousers

    Improvements did not meet expectations.car park charges over the top having to pay extra to normal rates for cruise PKG!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay at this accommodation and will deffinately return.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was quite twee but it was satisfactory. The only thing I could comment on was the wardrobe space, it needed to have a longer space between the hangers and the first shelf.

    We went to Southampton for a family wedding, the location was brilliant, we watched the ships come and go, that is a novelty for us. The food was nice but there wasn't a lot of it. There were a lot of easy chairs to relax on whilst planning what to do next. It was lovely and quiet, the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Neither good neither bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All I could smell was fresh paint. We needed an HDMI cable for couple of hours. This hotel has a conference room for meetings and they said that they don't have an HDMI cable. Without even checking. We were told that pool schedule is till 22. When we got there at 20:30 they said it's till 21 and we can't enter anymore. So we were not able to benefit from the pool or jacuzzi and that was a reason why we choose this hotel.

    Location was nice and hotel was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding customer service at this friendly, welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, although the dinner and breakfast menus didn't appeal to us but the hotel is so close to more exciting eateries that it didn't matter. All within walking distance.

    The room was very comfortable, with plenty of space to store luggage. Quiet, excellent TV, complimentary toiletries offered such as toothbrush, sewing kit, sanitary items etc if required. Complimentary newspapers, and best of all we asked on the day of departure if we could have a late checkout and were given one until 1.30pm, also complimentary! We were extremely impressed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Will definitely return, may take a cruise from this hotel as it is so convenient !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't at all impressed with the all day/room service menu, but the breakfast was good.

    Loved the views of the dock watching the ferries and liners from the top floor. Great spot if you're going on a cruise or shopping in Castlepoint shopping centre ! Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    nice location for a holet for west quay shopping or going on a cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as above

    The heating in the room 616 was not very good and the staff did not resole the issue however they did take 15 % off the bill, but I wouls have perfered the room warmer than has money refunded. the food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff good, interconnecting room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in delayed arrived 1:45, check in was for 2pm, not allowed to check in til 2:45, a bit annoying.

    Staff good, interconnecting room was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    If the food had been reliable and no noise it would have been excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A group of young rugby players is always going to be trouble. They were controlled in the end but only after they had disturbed the rest of us and I threatened not to pay. Guests do not need that.

    The evening meal was very good on the first night (vegetarian special) but dreadful the next night (just fish and chips!). Good pool and sauna. OK gym but kept too cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Plain basic but very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had no towel rails to put the towels on. There was a message that said to put towels on the rails if you are hoing to use again. But no rsoks to put them on!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. And it is situated in the right place near cruise terminsl plus walking distance of westquay shopping centre and the msin street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall was nice stay but lack IHG benefits and charge for parking spoilt stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am IHG member but did not get points or best prices as booked through bookings.com yet when booking through work agency I did! Not happy. Parking, thought it was bad that parking was separate charge, even for the initial night, was not leaving car there, though this was very bad. Beds too soft.

    I was meeting friends at cruise terminal and location was excellent, shame close proximity did not come out clear in advert. Breakfast and meals good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    Loud and very little sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one told us that we would have to pay for parking and then tried to charge us £30 on check out which the receptionist finally managed to take off the bill. There was building work going on the whole time we were there. No one made us aware that this was going to happen. We was away for a function and was getting back at around 4-5am to be woken up at 8/8:30 by the super loud building work. You should keep surrounding rooms empty and I would suggest better soundproofing

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel with recent refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next door having a party til 4 in morning when we had to be up pretty early! Staff came to sort it, but we’d already been woken a few times. Not hotels fault, but a reflection on our stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    our second stay at holiday inn southampton which we both enjoyed. good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wardrobe design could be improved. hanging portion not big enough for clothes to hang properly. no hanger facility in longer wardrobe recess. no hair dryer but received one on request. appreciate hotel was still in process of refurbishment so these were very minor observations.

    excellent location, suited us perfectly. staff very helpful and friendly. food very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely one night stay in an executive double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit too powerful.. in that it sprayed over the edge for the shower tray and soaked the bathroom door, which was starting to look rather the worse for wear in the bottom corner, and had started to jam as a result.

    Great location, tidy rooms, and a nice powerful shower. Great staff too. After a slight mixup, where the room we were given was made up as a twin room instead of a double, we were given a different room immediately, no hassle whatsoever.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Another lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we love staying here

    Easy check in too start with,we had yummy food served by lovely staff both at breakfast and dinner.bar and breakfast/dinner staff couldn't be more lovely and helpful thank you for a great birthday stay weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    always friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was problem with the heating due to the refurbishment. However, staff were very attentive and supplied me with a very efficient heater so I didn't suffer from the cold.

    always friendly helpful staff. New rooms are very nice with lovely big showers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointing, would have expected better of Holiday Inns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was of a poor quality in the evening although breakfast was o.k. As above, no heating in room.

    NO heating /air conditioning operating in our room. Had to ask for a radiator ( which was hardly big enough ). Why didn't they move us to another room ? The hotel was hardly full. Ate in the restaurant in the evening, not an experience I would care to repeat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    The staff are very helpful and welcome you with a great big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very helpful and welcome you with a great big smile. We had breakfast included in our booking and find the choice of items excellent and enough to ensure you do not leave the hotel hungry. Always use this h

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on 1st floor directly above a function - couldn't sleep until after 1am.

    Excellent location, good sized room and en-suite, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    3.3
    A very poor example of the Holiday Inngroup
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old bathroom and room decor

    The hotel is seriously outdated. The rooms decor is very old and needs serious upgrading. On checking in we informed staff that the room smelt damp and lo and behold another identical room with the same problem was offered.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    it will be good when renovation is complete but not at the moment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is a lot of renovation going on, making it not comfortable at all and i think they should charge less than they are at the moment.

    location is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    It was okay but got price would have expected bettet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had communication with hotel to upgrade and they failed to supply. I had to complain to reception staff and the manager got involved. Luckily I had the email with agreed upgrade. Very lucky they had an extra room.

    Very local to were I needed to be.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Unfortunately I will not return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the dining room were not friendly, only the mature lady who was very welcoming, not a Good Morning or a smile, needs staff training, young staff walk past leave table with dirty plates, the service was very poor, noticed by others as well, walk past a table with dirty dishes pick up its so easy, Breakfast was not hot. Also Christmas parties both nights , music playing loud until gone midnight, then at 1.15 moving furniture about in dining room, I rang and complained, it still went in for another 30 mins, so sleep on Saturday night not good at all, even when I complained not a sorry nothing.

    I liked where it was, but from 3 years ago when I stayed it’s very tired, the first room had stains on the carpet, and chipped paintwork as it was executive I expected more, to be fair I asked to move and the next day was too a room with a bath in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough toiletries had to ask for more as we did with coffee etc There was no mention when booking that the hotel was being refurbished, room was disappointing however view was excellent. The swimming pool was not actually inside the hotel but across the car park which should have been mentioned . For another £10 we could have got a far more superior hotel The staff however were excellent but I wouldn't use that particular Holiday Inn again

    Food was lovely & reception area was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Great Breakfast, Great Staff, Great Location, Hotel in need of modernisation but price is spot on
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little faded at present (Nov 2017) but looks as if it is in the process of being updated.

    Great Breakfast, Great Location, very easy for meetings in Southampton. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Horrendous room service food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered room service. Both got 'chicken' burgers that were totally inedible. We could both only manage one bite each. Fries were also cold. For the price, it was absolutley ridiculous. Told staff at reception but they still took the money from us with not even an apology.

    The Location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    How not to keep a hotel open when being refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy due to work being undertaken. Lifts were out of order and when one was eventually working, this was either used by chambermaids or workmen.

    Near centre of city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    great for an overnight stay when joining a cruise ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was fine for this trip. Food quite pricey if staying and eating breakfast/lunch or dinner at hotel. Lots of good value places to eat in Southampton and close by.

    Easy walk into town and easy walk to cruise terminal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice happy staff. Restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sort out heating( did give extra blankets and a heater) The lifts both out of order. (Ok for us to keep us fit.)

    Being put on the 3rd floor which the room had just had a refurb

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice, clean room. Very pleasant staff and relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having one lift out of action due to improvements is fine but we weren’t told there were stairs, or where they were. It was not obvious and took us till our departure to discover them.

    Very comfortable room. Staff very pleasant. Very quiet especially considering our room was next to the lift.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is fine for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need updating. Booking was for twin room as specifically advised and on confirmation. Not assigned although the hotel sorted it out. We were advised this was down to Booking. com and not the hotel.

    Hotel is fine for a one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful way to start our cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super helpful and we had room service for our evening meal which was very very nice. Breakfast was superb and cannot be faulted I asked for a soft poached egg which was no trouble and received 2. We always pick holiday in as it is close to the terminal for the cruise ship and we have never been let down by then .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    t was convenient to the cruise ship and was able to walk to the ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevators are too small and outdated. And there should be more elevators. The toilet only worked sometimes. It had to be flushed many times to work properly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic start to our cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great

    The general ambience and quality. The staff were amazing, very helpful, cheery and polite. Perfect location for joining our cruise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Excellent care nothing was to much !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So very kind and helpful

    Fantastic stay when we arrived back from cruise at 8am they allowed us to safely leave bags no problem! Also allowed me to ring a taxi to the airport 10/10 !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    I enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was that comfy I didn't make it to breakfast. But I would definitely stay again. So.. the hotel is in a very good location 2 minutes walk into town.. and the room was really comfy and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.8
    poor value £203 for a night compared to £34 the night before. Others got a better deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was musty and poor value for money compared to our premier inn the previous night. Others got a better deal but we seemed penalised because we had to book an accessible room in advance.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: