Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent 4 stars

M6 Junct 15, Clayton Road, Clayton, Stoke on Trent, ST5 4DL , United Kingdom

#12 of 21 hotels in Stoke on Trent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1312 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stinking mould...you couldn't breathe...we needed open window about one hour but still stinking...the girl with black hair (supposed to be the one in charge) she was very rude by telling me that I couldn't change the room ...and I already paid for that and couldn't do nothing...my special request was to have a good view...and my view was a huge wall....

    The staff over night they were very friendly (the two young boys) the location perfect...the breakfast good enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure attendant chap was on phone not noticing kids and babies in hottub.The room was tiny for a family with sofabed made up also the second time we stayed the kids sofabed wasnt ready and when i opened it it had a rather old duvet on it which was fixed promptly with a call to housekeeping.

    The pool was great but no area for kids and leisure club members did laps across pool and didnt like the kids in the way.Sofabed was madeup when we arrived with extra towels. The Beautician was so lovely we tried manicures a pedicure and a facial and eyebrow threading all were great. Breakfast was very nice and the bathrooms were really lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing.

    The room was a very good size also very clean,the bed was just right for myself,i liked that there was a choice of pillows soft or firm,tea and coffee was stocked daily and extra if you asked,fitness center and pool were great i used them every day,nice touch with an added menu for world cup to try a different taste from around the world.all in all a great stay and would definitely stay here again staff were all very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren't comfortable for me. When we were checking in we were not told what time breakfast was, when the gym and pool was open and closed.

    The pool was great, rooms were clean and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t clean in the slightest, was extremely shocked that that is your cleaning standards. Shower floor was filthy, the walls were horrendous and carpet was stained with food on it. All through the corridors it was just so run down, the walls all marked with dirt and carpet stained it’s something I would Expect from a 2* hotel. I think you seriously need to higher your standards of cleanliness because it is just not good enough.

    I liked the restaurant food was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a twin but we had a double and an in comfortable bed sofa. There were holes in the sheet on the main bed and just a sheet on the mattress of the bed sofa, no mattress protector. Although the room was clean it did not smell fresh. I think the whole place needs a refurbish. I will choose Premier Inn next time.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get my face into the washhand basin, which made shaving awkward. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were a bit rubbish.

    The building has an unprepossessing exterior but the interior appears to have been recently refurbished, and my room was very neat and clean, with a good bathroom. Air-conditioning that worked!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A soulless hotel in a convenient place, fine for passing through or business not a destination venue at all

    The usual holiday inn standard, worth the money if you get a cheep deal.. The staff we encountered were friendly but forgot our cheese board it came very late so we needed more drinks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room for family of 4.

    Great hotel. Brill staff, only negative is that we shared a room with the children on a sofa bed and the rooms are too small for that, you couldn't walk around the beds properly. They shouldn't say that 4 can stay in a room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was very overpriced for the quality of it. My chicken burger was £13.95 and supposed to come with a "side of red cabbage slaw". The slaw was NOT red cabbage, just regular slaw and the portion was the size of a thimble which was disappointing. I am on a low carb diet and the slaw was the main reason I chose the dish. Also despite it being cold and the receptionist promising to send someone to sort out the heating in my room nobody ever turned up. And an old cleaning rag was left on the floor in my room and the cleaners left my window wide open.

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room seemed a little dated and in need of some TLC but was clean and had everything we needed

    The hotel is located next to the health centre so handy for popping in the gym or having a swim

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard of Executive rooms. Wardrobe doors missing, toilet roll stuck onto the wall with a piece of unpainted wood and cupboard door hanging off. Lack of lifts and number of stairs from reception to Executive (or rather family) rooms. Very difficult with pushchair and luggage. Noise in corridors and swimming pool from inconsiderate families. (I don't know what the hotel can do but children running in corridor at 11.30pm is not expected.

    Staff at reception very friendly and helpful when I brought my complaint to their attention. We were immediately offered another room which turned out to be much better than the one we'd paid for. Restaurant staff (evening and breakfast) also very helpful and pleasant. Food - great choice both evening and breakfast. Good value for money. Thank you - it really makes a difference having professional and efficient staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff when we checked in were very slow. More interested in having a break and cashing up than actually serving anybody. Breakfast felt like staff were completely overrun. Food was adequate apart from grey scrambled egg!!

    Location just off motorway is very handy and remarkably quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are really helpful, great location, loved that it has a little playground and the pool so the kids were entertained. Lovely family hotel, would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mini bar or fridge at all!! At check in nobody told me to check in car - been driving for 6 hours missed notice on desk and then told could be fined!

    Pool and Restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room toilet was broken, fixed very promptly but then after two flushes it broke again. The room card keys didn’t work and I had to get the reception staff to fix it twice. The staff member advised not to have it near my mobile phone or a battery. It worked okay after that.

    Staff were the best, they were very accommodating and were able to give us a twin room after having to book a double room initially. Free newspapers. Swimming pool was good. Breakfast was good. Parking good, location good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cable tv a bit dodgy and should go straight to TV channels & not flogging a film on the hone screen.

    Very clean and practical, excellent value and the staff are super helpful and well presented. So the atmosphere is very welcoming and the breakfast was absolutely tops - better than many we’ve had in far more expensive hotels. I’m definitely returning. Well done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we have a kid who has strict dietary requirements. We were disappointed that we weren’t allowed to heat his food in the hotel’s microwave. This is the only hotel that didn’t allow us to. Such a shame really as we have enjoyed the reception staff.

    Alaa and Julia in the reception were lovely. Very genuine and has pure concern and very determined to give us an excellent stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room Was far too small. Standard double for myself and my daughter and couldn’t swing a cat! Breakfast was nice, however slow to replenish things particularly cups, tea bags, hot choc sachets. I found the food and the bar a bit pricey. Eg we ordered a bottle of wine and as you didn’t have any house, or the cheaper alternative Sauvignon blanc, we had to pay £27.99 per bottle which isn’t great service- and just a money maker for you!

    Staff were brilliant, especially Jayne in the restaurant. We had a large party and she was excellent at accommodating us and out requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After booking executive room disappointed that it was very cramped, wardrobe doors did not work so was unable to use tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was tiny and the door was rotten and chipped along the bottom. Have stayed in many holidays inns where I thought the room standard was much higher than stoke on Trent.

    The pool was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Matteresses on sofa beds cold be a little more comfy.

    The reception staff were really helpful as there was a mix up with my Room. They handled the situation very well and had real consideration for my issue. Made such a difference. Will definately use this hotel again next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s had a re-fit since we last stayed so was evpecting it to be better. Breakfast was no where near as good although the room was nice. We arrived back at the hotel after a meal out with friends to find the bar was closed due to once a month the cleaning had to be done. Had we known we would of gone elsewhere for a drink. The person on duty was unhelpful which spoilt the night as it was a catch up with old friends. Will be booking elsewhere in future.

    The property was clean and staff ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the men's toilets next to the bar /restaurant the urinals were broken or leaking and rather than placing buckets under them they had used towels which you were likely to see in your bedroom or the pool area which was a bit of an unpleasant thought, also the bin was overflowing in the same toilet so it seems that's one area of weakness for the hotel. But the rooms were clean and what I saw of the rest of the hotel looked clean and well kept

    The staff were friendly and helpful especially when we needed to change room as the sofa bed was not made up in to a bed as it should have been. We had arrived at the hotel at 0030 with two young children and we were relieved to see three members of staff at the reception and our issues were dealt with very quickly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff and overall value. Always get a lovely greeting from reception and when checking out I'm always asked 'how was your stay' I know this would be part of the staffs training but to me it's always sincere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for £90. I have stayed in larger rooms for less money. No bed side drawers but again, this could be due to lack of space. It stated a bath on the room description but just a shower.

    Clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on!! Brilliant hotel

    There was one specific waitor that was so pleasant!! Im sure his name was Richard. They were short staff and handled everything so profrssional. He is a great boost to your hotel...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously - due to proximity to Alton Towers - this hotel caters for young families. Consequently, there were quite a few noisy, boisterous children running about. There was a very musty, damp, smell in the corridor leading to rooms 300 - 320.

    Very convenient for M6 and Stafford. Enough ground surrounding hotel in which to walk dogs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the hotel was dated and I have stayed in far nicer hotels with better facilities for less money. I feel like I was charged for the name Holiday Inn rather than the standard of hotel.

    Gym was good Staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of lady when we checked out. Blaming booking.com for their mistake. We had executive room with banker bed. No bedding for this. We had to call to getting bedding delivered. This means room was not checked after it was cleaned. Not very professional from her side to blame someone else.

    Swimming Pool and Food was nice. Lady that served our food was amazing. Very helpful with kids and made us feeling welcome. Thanks a mil.xxx

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that there were too many children in the hotel and the piles of food on their plates was disgusting but I guess that it's covered by extra cost to the people without children.I also feel that somehow we should be informed of the extra charges when checking out before we get to pay the bill ie.the service charge and tray charge I believe it was.

    The bed and choice of pillows was excellent and the room very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freeview tv same as most hotels. I rather pay a little more for say Sky tv to have more choice in tv channels

    Excellent location as right on doorstep of M6 and not far from Hanley or Newcastle-under-Lyme

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communication with the hotel, the absolute shambles that resulted in our first night being cancelled through no fault of our own. The fact I tried to contact the hotel all day from 9am didn't get to speak to anyone until 6.30pm and then felt like I was being blamed for the situation.

    The location and views were lovely, nice facilities and having the pool entertained the children. Although the access times could be communicated better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For an exec room it was tiny. By the time sofa bed was put down you could hardly move and there were 4 of us, two of whom were teens! Bathroom really really small also. Only two cups and tea/coffee for two people and not four, had to ask each day for extra milk tea and cups!! One complimentary kit Kat...again for 4 people which was random,

    Little extras in exec room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior looks a little tired, the interior makes up for this but might put people off?

    Bathroom was lovely. New and clean. Beds were comfortable and great that we had two doubles. Reception and restaurant were also really nicely presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door in bathroom was stiff, no aircon in the room, tv difficult to use.

    Friendly staff, swimming pool, great bar, help with bag, taxis were ordered my staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most unhelpful staff we have ever come across in any hotel. Extremely poor customer service from the Reception team, to the reservations department. We contacted the operations manager about the issues, and nothing has been done about any of it. No wonder they're useless if the manager lets them be this way, and does zero about it.

    Easy access from motorway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had issues with the TVs when we checked in and could not purchase movies. When we went to reception to report we were moved to a smaller room which had the exact same problem. And told that maintenance would be called but didn’t know if they would attend. This member of staff didn’t seem to care with no apologies etc (and working as a customer service manager I was very disappointed by this!! The next day we reported it to reception again and were told “if maintenance attend they attend, if they don’t they don’t” by the time we checked out we were told it was a server issue and nothing could be done. (Didn’t help that the room didn’t even have full free view channels, so we were stuck to watch standard tv)... decor in the bathroom not great, with cracks around the top of walls and paintwork patches under the sink.

    Julia’s service was great as she could see that we weren’t satisfied by our stay. And comfy pillows in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty shower. Called for room service and no answer. Small room for the money i paid. Only one menu in the restaurant. Food was average- boyfriends steak was undercooked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe doors come off rails too easily. Bed could do with a vallance to hide inevitable wear and tear. Poor choice of TV channels - too skewed in favour of younger demographic. Bar staff efficient but with a bit of an unpleasant attitude - an attempt to emulate French brusqueness which doesn't pay off - this is Stoke-on-Trent, not Paris.

    Reception staff friendly; check-in/out very efficient. My room was bumped to executive and our first drink and WiFi were complimentary - possibly because it was a Sunday, but this was welcome nonetheless. Room generally clean, the decor was pleasant, the heating/AC was easy to use and responsive, and there was loads of storage space. The breakfast staff were particularly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a stale damp smell in our room which was reported to reception. Not a good first impression! We were offered another room which we declined.We think that the smell was coming from the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water pressure for hot water. It took 45 mins to run 1 bath, and there was 5 of us.. Also the additional bed that they supply for ages up to 13 was small and very uncomfortable as we could feel every spring and bar. Bathroom was incredibly small and also the room. The TV was a little out dated.

    Breakfast was ok with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We had a small dog with us and the staff at reception were extremely helpful and made us feel most welcome. The feel of the hotel was very homely and we felt very comfortable and relaxed in the lounge area. The bedroom was also very clean as was the breakfast area. Can recommend the lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food Decoration was in need of some restoration Room was changed from twin to double without asking me. (I was told rather then asked to change).

    Location Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff especially Julia excellent. My son left his monkey behind and Julia returned it to us in the post! Excellent service. One happy boy! Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast times were early so it was a scrum to get near the hashbrowns. Lots of kids (we had one too) so very noisy. Breakfast staff avoided your eye and seemed rushed without doing much. I always think that if you feel the staff are in charge then breakfast is a much calmer and more pleasant experience. There was an impression of abundant choices but everything seemed cheap tasting like the orange juice from concentrate and boring bread. The meats and cheeses looked very sorry for themselves and the fruit seemed straight out of a tin. The watermelon slices vanished as soon as they arrived. If I was a Holiday Inn manager I'd roll back to table service. At least do the coffee and tea! The hotel charges Marriott prices for Travelodge value.

    We chose this hotel for the pool and location so thumbs up in those departments.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed in the room was terrible and squeeky my daughter said it was the worst night sleep she has ever had. The shower screen didnt close propperly which made having a shower annoying.

    The food was the highlight of our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, will definitely stay again if in the area

    The staff were very welcoming to us travelling with our dog. The room was very comfortable and the shower amazing. We had an excellent evening meal an breakfast. Great location for travelling on the M6

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 3 of us staying and there was only one towel in the room. The TV didn’t work and other people in our party said the TV in their room didn’t work either. The water pressure in the shower was awful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city itself and the room attendants ONLY. The rest are the worst ever.Dogs are inside the breakfast room. They charged me for 2 rooms despite the fake information on the wesite. I don't recommend it for my friends. Other choices are available like premier inn.

    w

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were too small. Only one person was able to stand in it at any one time. I opened the door while my son was in the bathroom and he smacked his head on the door... that’s how small it was. It just made bathing kids an ordeal. This should be reviewed especially in family rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service charge for evening meal was added on at check-out. I didn't grudge it because staff had been very pleasant, but didn't like the way it was surrepticiously added on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact my 14 year old son and 7 year old daughter had to share a sofa bed as apparently this is the largest room they provide. Completely unsuitable my youngest ended up sleeping on a make shift bed on the floor after hrs of nobody sleeping

    The leisure facilities were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom, had had improvements but poor quality work, Panel round shower hanging off, panel round sink area not fit right looked poor workmanship

    TV good service and WiFI

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a bath for my two young children. Evening meal buffet was average with dated choices of food however food quality was good.

    Clean comfortable room with a small but clean shower room. Shower was a good pressure. Breakfast was delicious with everything you could want.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner buffet very overpriced for quite a limited selection. Sofa bed in room very uncomfortable. Signage inside hotel poor.

    Went for Alton Towers. Good location off the M6 and reasonably close to the park. Pool ok. Breakfast a bit limited but good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big spacious room, comfortable beds. Late checkout ,in the morning we had time for a splash in the swimming pool.Friendly staff and breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit on the small side for a ‘family room’ but it did the job.

    The staff were very accommodating and very welcoming. The dinner and breakfast buffets were great for families with a good selection for all tastes and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit pricey on food - £12 for a chicken sandwich and chips - although kids eat free so it sort of balances out. Problem on check out in that we'd paid seperately for food and drinks but then they'd also been added onto our room tab which I now need to claim back. Hotel is clean but a little dated looking around the edges. Bathroom tiny with no bath.

    Clean and tidy. Nice food, easy check in. Staff really friendly. Enjoyed the all you can eat buffet - that was decent value as opposed to the standard menu (see below). Shower got nice and hot with plenty of pressure. Decent location for Alton Towers. Free WiFi that had excellent connection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really cold even though we tried to get the heating going. Breakfast was okay but selection a bit poor, certain food was finished and not filled up during our breakfast so options were quite boring. I left the breakfast still hungry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saturday evenings, the place has lots of children having fun but disturbing other guests in the bar / lounge area. I was not able to relax and so dined elsewhere. The staff told me it's only on Saturdays when they have so many young families staying.

    General comfort of hotel and welcoming staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in-house TV which seemed to keep coming on...until we turned it off at the wall.

    Room and bed comfortable.very clean and good shower. Breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought that the prices on the all-day menu were a bit pricey. Breakfast was nice and worth the money. Discount as a resident was welcome.

    plenty of wardrobe space. luggage rack in room. comfy beds and pillows. Spotless bathroom. Good size shower. Pleasant and welcoming staff. They helped us to our room with our bulky luggage. Jenn on reception was most helpful and informative, and a credit to the company. The swimming pool was very nice and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful at checkin. The hotel is quite old but is tastefully modernised and feels very comfortable. Rooms are quite small but very adequate and good value for the money. A nice change to your normal premier inn and travelodge affair.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with guest next door which meant on the 1st night we had little sleep and the dealing of the matter from the staff was unsatisfactory.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought there would have been a bath in my bathroom but only shower that disappointed me. I also thought there might be a fridge but no fridge. No lift either so had to carry my luggage up flights of stairs, not impressed with that one bit, and was a hike to get to room. After my first nights stay I went to work and was really looking forward to a cup of coffee when I got back to the hotel... but to my absolute amazement my dirty cups and spoons were still there when I got back, my coffee wasn't replaced, no milk, everything covered in coffee slops, the only thing that had been done in my room was replacement towels. I left a breakfast order hanging tag on the table for them to replace, as it had already been filled in by somebody else and I was hoping for a new one to replace it for the next morning but.. it had been put back in the leaflet holder, still the same one so I didn't get to order breakfast. I found the housekeeping a bit unbelievable and not clean as it made me wonder if they had even cleaned it for me. I wouldn't recommend to any business colleagues as I couldn't say I enjoyed my stay.

    Good location for business

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small changing room for pool with only 1 shower. Small sauna in each changing room - why not just 1 unisex one I could sit in with my wife, creating more space for shower/changing?

    Clean, spacious room with the usual facilities (2 seats, tea-making items, iron + board, soaps). Comfortable, king-size bed. Easy access & excellent shower. Good selection of breakfast foods. Free newspaper. Good sized, regular shaped swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a little firm for my liking and there wasn't a great selection of things to watch.

    Great choice for breakfast and good health club facilities included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above! Also the film we paid for for children kept slipping.

    The room that was allocated for us was lovely but we had no fridge so was unable to give children a drink albeit water or juice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable, felt like we were sleeping on a water bed. Made me feel sea sick. Both night didn't sleep well at all. Food was a little pricey

    Staff were very friendly. Update hotel. Area was nice, easy to get around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go down to the restaurant to order room service as no-one answered the phone, not room service, not the restaurant nor the front desk.

    Comfortable room, good size, good nights sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our TV had no signal and the receptionist was unable to repair this fault. She did offer to change our rooms but we had already unpacked and so didn’t bother to change rooms.

    Plenty of choice of food for breakfast and quality was excellent. We were late for breakfast (having been told by the receptionist the night before it lasted from 630-11am, so we turned up at 945am). The kind ladies still served us the full breakfast selection - so many thanks ladies for going the extra mile!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 320, was really cold. I had to have 2 quilts to keep warm through the night. Bathroom very cold, no individual heating. The whole ambience didn't encourage me out of bed in a morning, as it was so cold. I complained twice 3 times, as I had a 2 night stay. On the 2nd time the night manager came to investigate, on checking the radiator(which incidentally is rendered useless behind floor length thick curtains). She concluded it was only Luke warm, as it probably needed bleeding. The breakfast was barely warm unless you order fresh. To add insult to injury they only refunded £15. Had I chosen premier inn my whole cost would have been refunded.

    Location, to the hospital.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older building so there was very limited disabled access. Not much anyone could do about it in the moment but worth others being aware of. Staff were very helpful assisting my husband to use a stairlift down one flight of steps, but this was the only one available. No disabled access to further bedrooms down further steps or down even more steps to the pool/gym area. This wasn't too big an obstacle for us, but I know that this would be hugely problematic for others with more limited mobility.

    Fantastically friendly, helpful staff. So lovely to be consistently greeted by smiles! Swimming pool was great, beds comfy, a great breakfast selection. Safe, fully fenced playpark for the kids. Great location for Trentham Gardens. Close to the motorway but quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand children can stay for free; that’s great news for families. To be charged an extra £20 for one dog does, therefore seem rather excessive.

    The staff here are exemplary. Comfortable, spacious room and a great selection at breakfast. The use of the leisure facilities was an added bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly staff and when the twin room requested on Booking.com had not been allocated they changed it right away. Easy to find and quick from motorway

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: