Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Taunton 4 stars

Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton, TA1 2UA, United Kingdom

#8 of 9 hotels in Taunton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 507 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    5.8
    Frustrated with Booking.com not passing hotel vital information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    That Booking.com had not told the hotel our requirements (as we booked) so when we arrived rooms were not ready; staff complained it always happens which is not something we need to know. Worst of all we were given a TWIN ROOM even though we booked a double and there were no other rooms available - so our nice £100 a night stay ended up in two single beds - thanks. One beer and one glass of wine = £12.50 in the hotel bar!!!!! VERY expensive for what we received and will not be going back to a Holiday Inn because of this experience.

    The location and the breakfast. (free parking too)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    maybe next time will stay at holiday inn express
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    road noise from the main road at back of hotel also from the garage which has a coach stop at for the airport etc

    no fruit when we came for breakfast not replenished when empty as for the hot food a lot of it was dried out from the heating lights above it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Brilliant as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interconnected rooms, clean, staff friendly, fab health club, lovely pool. Breakfast yummy and large selection. The only hotel I will stay at in Taunton .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel, convenient to M5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked an executive room, however this was on the 1st floor, my husband has mobility issues, therefore we were given a standard room on the ground floor, yet paid the same price as an executive room. I feel we should have been offered a discount for the standard room.

    Average hotel, convenient to M5.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    Room and bathroom were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered food for late lunch - service was slow and food was poor and over cooked . Breakfast was also poor - not enough hot food available (hot counter trays were empty and only slowly refilled) Cold buffet items (fruit, pastries etc were decidedly ordinary). Overall, quite poor value for money.

    Room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sophie on reception was very friendly and helpful. The staff in the morning were great even though we just got down to breakfast as it was about to close. They made sure that we had everything we needed and were again very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a smoking room at booking and I got a smoking room plus I have been charged an extra £120 from my account. I do not know why I have been charged this extra.

    The politeness of the staff and the food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Good accommodation, friendly staff but needs to improve quality of food in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal, although served nicely, needed improvement. Fish was over cooked & lasagne was sloppy.

    Good room in quiet location despite good proximity to motorway. Free parking, friendly staff & good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist could have been a bit more friendly - especially when I checked out, really needs some extra customer care training but the rest of the staff were first class and I stay in hotels on business every week and have done for 16 years

    Staff were excellent - restaurant team were exceptional and could not do enough to support you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    A friendly, comfortable place to stay with a great breakfast - very good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom looked good, but the sink area got very wet when the basin was used, and the shower also looked good & worked well, but water splashed all over the floor during use.

    Loved the new-look reception/bar/restaurant area, with modern furniture. Bed and pillows extremely comfortable. Breakfast very good, as usual. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Convenient and convivial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No "faults" - very happy with all. Didn't make use of the pool or other facilities so cannot comment or on the surrounding neighbourhood.

    We arrived in awful weather and found all to above a typical travelling stop ! One suggestion the very wet weather and getting to car parking etc would have been helped with a courtesy umbrella. Would definitely make use of this Holiday Inn again, a very convenient M5 hostelry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.8
    Stick to simple dishes on menu and don’t expect too much in the way of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of staff poorly trained, food did not arrive on table as advertised on menu. Manager tried to remedy situation but lots of staff in restaurant just staring into space rather than attending to diners.

    Room size good, near motorway

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    I would stay there again as the rooms were comfortable and the shower was great.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You advertise smoking rooms and don't have them, I asked for a ground floor room and was put on the first floor furthest from reception. The bar staff were rude and the prices were ridiculously high.

    The reception staff were very nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Staff were pleasant but hotel pictures of room a bit misleading showing bed to be larger than it is.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in an Executive/Family Bedroom which seemed to be pretty small. The bed was a small double bed with a very soft mattress. The sofa bed looked to be larger than the actual bed. We stayed one night only. Both I and my husband found the bed far too soft to the point it caused us both to have stiff backs for the rest of the day.

    The breakfast was very nice with a good selection to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Good enough to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not hot enough, and was under the impression breakfast was included in the cost of the room (it wasn't), dirty bathroom ceiling, paid for an executive room and asked for one with a bath, was assured this would be arranged (it wasn't), mobile phone charging point not working, channels too few, and from those listed were not actually able to be viewed.

    Comfy bed, clean, stylish room, helpful staff, good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff very helpful organising an early check in for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service at room service rates as early as 10.45 seemed unreasonable especially on a Saturday night.

    Staff very helpful organising an early check in for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Badly let down. Over priced and not the luxury stay I expect from usual stays at Holiday Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to queue at reception for 10 mins to check in because there was only one member of staff. That I had to queue at the bar and was told they were short staffed because there was a big wedding on. ( not my problem) That the bar had no atmosphere and felt like I was waiting at a railway station. That the restaurant was so full of a coach tour the queue was un wait able and I went out to eat evening and for breakfast. There were no toiletries in my bathroom other than dove on the wall

    The bed was super comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay but for the money breakfast should be included and not an extra charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough tea/coffee facilities in room and a small packet of biscuits each would have been nice. Although the breakfast was of a good variety insufficient quantities were put out, there was not a member of staff behind the counter therefore the customers had to keep asking for more and it held up the queue constantly.

    The room was clean and tidy,the breakfast was good, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Very good as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We think the room rate is expensive and when we needed to book an extra night we found a far more luxurious accommodation with breakfast for the same price so chose to book there for the second night.

    We were able to check in late at night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but not without serious faults
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed x2 nights first morning breakfast ok but not that warm Second morning again not that warm I was at hot plate when a member of staff in jeans and t shirt came out to replenish frid eggs that were as hard as rock already and in most cases only a jolt and a slither of white hash browns were like frizzbys backon was over cooked and hard. We sat down asked one of the five members of staff for two teas he was clearing a table at the time as we hadn’t been asked when he finished clearing the table he just carried on doing other things didn’t attempt to get our drinks after about ten mins I asked a older lady member of staff she got the drinks at once perhaps she could teach him some customer service as she was lovely also male member of staff smelt of BO at 9 in the morning not what you want when eating your breakfast or any time. I found bar staff and reception very pleasant but some of catering staff need work.

    Nice room comfortable bed and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    We met up with friends who live in Somerset, we had a great stay at your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about the stay.

    A really nice hotel, ideally situated just off M5. The breakfast was outstanding, an excellent choice and it set us up for the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    A clean, comfortable and modern hotel with a fresh design and a quirky lounge and lobby.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room with a door to an adjoining room. Although the door was locked it wasn't very well soundproofed and we could hear snoring from next door. Whilst the room was clean, the back of the television was very dusty and some of the cables had become loose meaning that initially there was no picture. Some cheap slippers would have been welcome.

    A clean and modern hotel with an airy and open feel. The bedroom was clean and the bathroom was pleasant. The breakfast (£7 paid for upon arrival) was very good with so many different things to choose from. Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location lovely staff clean nice upgrade since last...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not happy about paying for executive room and you still get same size room same facility and they leave a gown and slippers on your bed! Minibar wasn’t switched on so I couldn’t keep things cool in hot weather. The plug points by bed did not work. Should have just paid for a normal double room. If you want space this is not the hotel for you! Drinks very overpriced! 2 coffees 2 tonic waters 2 spirits nearly £30!

    Good location lovely staff clean nice upgrade since last visit very accommodating staff!! Special mention to Neeve who was extremely helpful. Swimming pool great for kids but very hot to sit and watch and no lifeguard / attendant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor room quality for the price. Shower only. No bathroom toiletries. No snacks in room. In-house Movies advertised on display card in room, but not available on the TV menu selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Super Sunday stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a problem .

    As a stop over going on to Devon and Cornwall it was perfect for us and so near the motorway Staff were cheerful and very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Reception staff very pleasant indeed, new reception area also great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Reception staff very pleasant and courteous on Friday 30 And Saturday 21 July. Also brand new reception and relaxing area very pleasant Air con. working well, uch sporeciated in this heat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    All in all we enjoyed our short stay and would happily return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor query was the bar meal; parts of which were not hot (we do understand it was busy - t20 cricket teams in residence). We didn't inform the staff of this, so they were unable to correct it.

    We both enjoyed the breakfast, plenty of choice even if you didn't want the full english.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Great pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom ceilings was extremely mouldy, flooded everytime you had a shower had to use towels to keep mopping it up! hairdryer never worked and three plug sockets were out of action and two lamps not working not great when you are trying to do hair and makeup!

    Great pillows! extra towels given when asked for!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    For the price we paid we were disappointed with the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 10 pm and found the staffing levels at such a large hotel inadequate. the day staff were more concerned with cashing up rather than serving at the bar. However they were very pleasant. The food served after 11pm was of poor quality which was understandable as there were only two staff on duty on a Saturday night. Considering we had paid almost £400 for four people for 1 night we were all disappointed with our stay. The morning receptionist was new to the job with no supervision and as a there were queues at receptions which caused a major delay for us to drive a long distance

    The rooms were excellant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay for an overnighter with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommended taxi company let us down ( booked by the hotel). Thought £4 for bottle of water in the room was a bit steep.

    Room v clean, bed comfy . Lovely bright sitting area and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very hot & quite noisy. Awful local taxi services.

    Mauro on reception was exceptional, only in training and yet his customer service was faultless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good except for breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went down to breakfast at 7.30am and nothing was ready/cooked. The lady who showed me to my table and said that the self service breakfast would be out now and to wait. Ten minutes later still no breakfast or coffee, so I went back to ask. The breakfast started to come out in huge silver turines in dribs and drabs, bacon first. The veggie options were out last. I gave up at 7.45 and just had what was there - beans, hash browns and mushrooms. There were allegedly going to be veggie sausages but I was in a rush. Back at my table still no drinks so I went to find a waitress in the kitchen who then brought me some coffee but there was no soya milk. She said she'd get me some. When it finally arrived it was served in a badly opened 1/2 litre carboard carton that poured the contents all over the table. A jug might have been better. If breakfast starts at 7.30 it should be ready at 7.30 I reckon, no 8.

    Everything was great except for breakfast. The staff were helpful at check-in and at room service. It was good value for money except breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom spoilt by flaking paint on ceiling. Why not add pvc to cover over? Also the silicone sealant was off a poor standard collecting dirt and mould. Use a fugi kit.

    Good sized room. Nice facilities for the market segment. Bathroom has nice touches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location, ample free parking, clean, simple yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit ‘tired’ feeling...not as good as many Holiday Inns or Expresses that I’ve experienced. Would not take my IHG Priority ‘points’ (other than for food or drink) as I booked through Booking.com and not IHG site. Not good. A UK only thing? (Not experienced this before...)

    Convenient location, ample free parking, clean, simple yet comfy room, bed great, breakfast good and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for overnight stay or short break, given its location and the offer to guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff encountered extremely helpful and pleasant. Property in good order, clean and equipped to offer a comfortable stay. Room airy and spacious. Food good and great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast disappointing and not up to standards of a couple of years ago, most tables hadn’t been cleaned down, didn’t get offered tea until after we had nearly finished, choice of fruit limited, pastries weren’t restocked before they ran out Not what I expect from Holiday Inn

    Good location, standard Holiday Inn facilities, gym and pool Waiter in restaurant was very helpful although didn’t appear until we had nearly finished breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Spoilt by 1.30am phone call.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slow check-in/check-out process. Was rung up at 1.30am and asked whether I still needed the second room for my son (who was travelling down separately much later), or whether they could re-advertise it.

    Fitness facilities. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.5
    Disastrous with long lasting bad memories
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As per my written feedback which I gave to reception. My room(5) ground floor, was opposite the NHS document checking room. I was awakened before 7am from that door closing with a bang every 1 minute. It was disastrous. I slept with ear plugs and had a pillow on my head but it was hopeless. People talking and laughing. Door opening and noisily closing every minute or two. Bearing in mind I checked in at 2am. I essentially had a few hours sleep. Nobody should have been given that room I stayed in let alone charged for it. I had an interview at midday you you can imagine my frustration.

    Everything other than below.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    surprised at service charge in restaurant but overall a comfortable and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Hot food needed replenishing in every dish. Table had to be cleared and re laid, none were ready . No juice glasses, no milk in urn, no croissants . It would be a good idea to have someone manning the food station and replenishing as and when neccesary, £14.99 seems extortionate when you have to wait 10 mins for staff to refill empty containers. I'm sure they didn't all run out at the same time and it would have been quicker and easier to top up gradually.

    The comfy lounge and lovely chairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable, but staff need training to a better standard especially on day reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in and out on reception was appalling, no eye contact, no friendliness and certainly, no customer service skills.When leaving we asked for our luggage to be put aside for us, this was no problem, but when collecting the luggage to leave I noticed the male receptionist did not have any shoes on and in his socks. The night staff were very helpful and great, being a night manager of a four staff hotel myself this was not one of my better experiences.

    The hotel was of a good standard and most of the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very helpful and nice and made our stay a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com over booked the hotel and we got our room down graded even tho I had already paid for an Executive suit. No one told us this I guessed from the room being small And standard. So I was really annoyed about that!

    The staff were very helpful and nice and made our stay a lot nicer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.3
    Over priced and very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on a bed and breakfast basis but they charged me for breakfast. The place is not family friendly and the menu disappointing for a child- children need good wholesome food not just burgers and chips etc. The room was by the car park so from 06.00hrs wheels from suitcases rolled along the path to the vehicle access. On arrival and leaving the reception staff were only interested in their regulars and their bonus cards! Not one person open doors or offered to help me with luggage or be courteous.

    Unfortunately I cannot compliment at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely and clean and staff were super friendly especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold even when we turned the heating up. Cold draft all night so had to turn it off in the end.

    Lovely and clean and staff were super friendly especially the gentleman on shift call Ralph.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Taunton mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room needs more work especially with the water always going on the bathroom floor and with no fan you will always have a steamed up bathroom and mirror..maybe more info about the spa pool gym area as loads of people didn’t know where the entrances to the pool and spa was ..

    Really helpful and friendly staff which goes along way ..new hotel decor upgrade is really nice ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    It had everything that we needed so that we could...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a good price, When we wanted to book a second visit prices had skyrocketed so we went somewhere else.

    It had everything that we needed so that we could concentrate on our plans and not the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Visiting Dad
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only got one teabag each. There was no free champagne. There were no chocolates.

    The modern and stylish decor. The friendly and helpful upbeat staff. The room was clean and spacious with all necessary facilities. Everything worked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    It took 45 minutes to get my dessert - first time waited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took 45 minutes to get my dessert - first time waited nearly 30 mins only to be told that they didnt have my preferred choice. not ideal. the replacement took 15 mins. Altough the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location close to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. Bar/lounge area and restaurant are open plan and very impersonal. Holiday Inn used to be a great standard but are now competing with Premier Inn and Travelodge.

    Good location close to the motorway. Clean enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Huge beds, great location and fab shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location being just off the M5 but you do hear a hum of motorway traffic despite double glazing (windows closed due to winter stay - maybe noisier in summer with windows open?). The double was massive - super king?? - the biggest we have ever been in and very comfy. Room and hotel was spotless - shower was fab. We left a watch in our room and the staff sent it to us free of charge and it arrived in 24 hours - thanks guys !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Satisfactory as a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was the same as the restaurant food. We ordered a sandwich, which came on a rough old board (one was even burnt on the corner!) and the sandwich had no butter! Not somewhere to recommend as a place to eat unless you were desperate.

    The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Ideal for one night. The buffet breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable, but felt i missed out on the pool, this should of been made clear when booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was poor, we booked the Holiday Inn to use the swimming pool however it was closed on Christmas day. Also the mattress on the bed needed to be turned.

    The breakfast was excellent, with vegetarian sausages cooked to order.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    An average experience. I will stick to premier inns next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving to an unheated room in January isn't really acceptable. Staff clearly not trained in how to deal with a fire alarm

    Restaurant staff were excellent. Front desk staff with the exception of the girl who dealt with checkout were good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Needs a new manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in they pre-authorised my card for alot more of the amount and then added charges to my account on check out that were simply not ours! .. I challenged this and subsequently they were removed. Then they charged me another 149.00 and forgot to cancel my pre-authorisation. .overcharging my stay of 175. This caused us real headaches for the journey home. The room had no working remote and also no milk was in the room. Compared to other holiday inn hotels I had stayed in this was the worst yet!..staff members aa the breakfast manager and Keeley were friendly and helpful but overall poor. Would try again but only for a discounted stay! Sorry guys but needs improving.

    Some staff were friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    The hotel did had a comfortable bed. Was charge an extra 1
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st- confusion of booking with booking.com. The hotel didn’t hold my reservation although booking.com did send me a confirmation of the booking.

    It had a comfortable bed. The front desk staff were helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable but wouldn’t have been happy to pay the full price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were not open on Xmas day which was one of the main reasons for staying there rather than somewhere else. Tried calling room service and front desk but nobody answered

    The bed was really big and very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Overnight stop.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food overpriced. Drinks overpriced. 2 glasses of wine £11. Just standard measures. Get real. Food was OTT pricewise too and only average.

    It was convenient for travel and Taunton. Easy access to rail station. Room excellent. Clean. Staff helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable stay but disappointed at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was completely chaotic, we had to call for linen that should've already been in the room and the toilet in the room had a problem with the flush.

    Room was clean and modern. It had everything you needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a strong smell from the drains in my room, which thankfully disappeared once the facilities had been used. the only other thing which annoyed me was the lighting in the room, lots of little lights or standing lamps to switch on that did not shed enough light into the room.

    location was excellent just outside Taunton, the hotel was clean and had everything you would need for a business trip stay. breakfast was good with a nice selection on offer. staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were led to believe that there were Spa Treatments available at the Health Centre. But we were not told that they were unavailable at weekends. The pool water was very cold so we didn’t swim and just chose to sit in the jacuzzi. We decided not to use the gym facilities.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room size was ample for our needs. The shower pressure was great and the body wash is useful. It’s a shame that there is nowhere to hang used towels to dry in order to use them again. Also nowhere to hang the hand towel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Not a great place to stay if you’re looking for comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows both soft and hard were very uncomfortable The checking in staff at reception when we arrived were unhelpful and not friendly. The chap checking us out who was in training had more customer skills that the rest put together. Screw driver found under the sink when we arrived which could have been hazardous to a child. Bar area used basically all day for meetings so quiet uncomfortable environment to relax in.

    Proximity to the motorway

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    perfect-restful, convenient, easy to find, no stress, fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all excellent

    it was all excellent -staff- wonderful attitude, very 'can do' and friendly- eg found some conditioner for my teen daughter to use in the shower -food- lovely -if you wanted ideas to improve- I'd suggest a welcome pack, and have mini traveller shampoo etc available in case they are needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday morning breakfast was a joke. The hotel is obviously full yet the Buffett was not refreshed. we had to ask the young ladies who were busy chatting to one another, if we could get some bread to toast, then again asked for some sausages and eggs. After 10 minutes a que and built up and someone arrived with 4 fried eggs! What the heck is going on??????

    Your receptionist was very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At checkout asked to pay £14.95 for a breakfast we had included with our booking. Extractor not working in our bathroom causing mirror to be ineffective Waited 35 min for evening meal

    Breakfast very good selection. Very clean room.Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for overnight stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds rather firm mattress. Shower .....water could not get away quick enough so flooded a bit on bathroom floor. Attention to detail needed on cleaning tables after someone has eaten there. Would be good to be offered small fork with the spoon at dinner for the dessert. Strange smell along the corridors...? Cleaning agent?

    Friendly welcome from reception staff. Lovely waitress called Margaret was very helpful at breakfast.....should be employee of the month for her care towards guests satisfaction at breakfast. Pleasant open area for lounge. Requested other pillows and some blankets ...arrived at room within five minutes, excellent service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    As always happy with HI, Taunton
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I managed to flood the bathroom in a minor way. Badly designed shower and there was a plug blocking the water in. Why have a plug in a shower! I was annoyed and did exchange some angry words which I regretted after. Normally in a hotel I let the shower run for a couple of minutes and return to take shower. This time there were pools on the floor. My fault but really the staff should not put plugs in a shower only facility! I was quickly attended to.

    The health club attached and good sized room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having armed police entering our room at 12pm at night Please anyone planning staying here for your days shooting don't bother . fire alarm going off at 5.00 am

    The staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main downside seemed to be threat of parking fine if you failed to register your vehicle - this should be a responsibility that hotel takes on for its guests. It was also difficult to locate hotel entrance from main road.

    All facilities were very good (parking, reception, room, bar, restaurant). Staff were friendly and competent. Important feature was temperature in room - nice and cool for sleeping comfortably.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    Won’t go again.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning/heating control had no power to it, so the room was either warm and stuffy or cold with the constant noise from traffic on the M5. I reported this and the fact that there were 13amp power sockets in the room not working, to the reception staff. I was informed that the maintenance staff “ might be in” today and would look at it for us. During the stay we saw no maintenance staff and suffered stuffy nights. I then mentioned it again to reception and was told he would look at during his walk round. Not impressed.

    The beds in the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    Would opt for the premier inn next time without question.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was essentially no better standard than a premier inn and in some respects less well planned and laid out- overall disappointing and masquerading as something it isn't! The door entry is dated and needs updating. I had to go to reception 4 times to get assistance when the key wouldn't work. The staff in the restaurant looked bored and and were very slow to even smile.

    The parking was free!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant but a few niggles.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card reader was faulty for our room. Locked out numerous times but nothing done to properly resolve the issue. Think it would have been nice if they had offered us an alternative room . Service in dining room at night very slow although staff polite.

    Bed was comfy. Enjoyed the Fitness centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was clean, airy and in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not sufficient tea, milk or coffee I the room, although this was available to collect from the foyer downstairs. This is not convenient in your nighty though!! There was a slight slope in the corridor which I tripped over every time I walked over it! There should be warning signs. Someone could easily fall over here, especially elderly or disabled people.

    The room was clean, airy and in a quiet location. The bed was comfy and you had a choice of pillows. The bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water for the shower. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Suited our purpose, there were 12 of us for a family wedding in Taunton. We travelled from Kent. Chi
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast range could have been better plus, having breakfast at 9 meant hardly any fruit available, I had cold scrambled egg as there was no other choice, grilled tomatoes were gone. The hotel need to keep the breakfast topped up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    Hotel could do much better, housekeeping poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is obviously having some issues. Housekeeping terrible, four changes of bed linen and still stained. Given wrong times for breakfast and things missing because they were waiting for a delivery, asked for bin under window to be closed but it belonged to garage next door and they wouldn't ask (I did, sorted) room was getting shabby. Duty manager said he was thinking of leaving!

    Hotel eventually made attempt to resolve issue

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Disappointing stay. Not really worth the money.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the batteries in the remote control were dead and I had to go down to reception to replace them. Breakfast on both mornings, even though we came down at the start of breakfast, was cold by the time you got back from the hotplate to your table. "Hot" drinks was from a flask dispenser.

    Room was comfortable and just ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Relaxation in Somerset with something for all the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    Room was comfortable and quiet. Basic choice at breakfast was good but there were additional choices, prepared individually, which were excellent. Staff are outstanding

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: