Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Redcliffe Hill, Bristol, BS1 6SQ, United Kingdom

#27 of 48 hotels in Bristol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4620 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower handle was broken, shower could have done with some black mould killer, Bed was extremely uncomfortable , breakfast was not well organised,a shambles , it took ages to get a drink at the bar, (20 minutes) not enough staff, 3 rooms over 3 floors , really! Just generally not quiet up to it. Back to the Royal Marriott next time 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was busy, my parking space by a wall was tight and I was not comfortable that the parking is monitored (potential fine) by a separate organisation to the hotel. We paid for parking but would hate to have to go through a resolution process with a private car parking agency rather than just deal with the hotel

    Lovely view from our room on 5th floor. Enjoyed using the pool in the early afternoon before it started to get a bit busy. Check in staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were hard as rock. Room service food was forgotten and when we actually got it was not what was stated on the menu. The bathroom could do with some attention to detail / TLC. The rear entrance from the car park wasn’t very inviting (very industrial) And the signage on front of building needed fixing as only half the sign was lite up. (Being picky I know)

    Lovely bar area, very inviting. The rooms were spacious with large beds and well equipped with hangers, towels, safe, coffee/tea facilities, biscuits, hair dryer, trouser press etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were seemingly put on a corridor with hen and stag parties, which was very noisy. The people in our neighbouring room were talking very loudly (we could hear every word) until 3am, alongside people shouting in the corridor, a couple arguing in the room opposite using very crude language and what seemed like people playing musical bedrooms (doors slamming)! We called down to reception but nothing happened. We went to use the pool and our card didn’t work - when we took it to reception there was no apology just a rather sullen correction of the card. When I mentioned our nights stay to the reception when we checked out there was a rather insincere apology. Overall a very disappointing stay for the money.

    The beds were reasonably comfy and the location superb. Pool and gym acceptable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. We were upgraded to a Privilege room in check in, and paid for breakfast on check in (even though we thought it was included in our booking). Room was clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Used the pool once during the stay - lovely chilled area with dim lighting and loungers at poolside. On going down for breakfast both mornings, despite paying on check in, there was no record of us having paid for breakfast on their check sheet but was not an issue to them and we had breakfast each morning. Selection of various breakfast foods - from an English fry up to cereal and toast, to fruit and pastries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay £30 for parking... a bit excessive. I know most hotels in Bristol do charge it but I think it’s far too much, particularly when you don’t even get a parking space if full and have to leave it on the side

    Good location, comfy bed, good bathroom. Good choice of beer and wine in the bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    pool needed better showers.

    It is SO close to the harbour/boat trips/lovely waterside restaurant/art gallery/museums/ss great britain/floating restaurants etc. Just walk diagnoally over Queen Square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little walk out of town. Would not like to walk in the dark alone back to the hotel.

    A great hotel with a pool that’s open for use all day long

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception Staff - I won't name and shame - but no information is being provided- its a shame that a guest has to enquire everything from dinner - breakfast - parking - gym facilities etc etc Shame !!

    The location was great! everything within walking distance, Good bars and atmosphere, great lounge area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bit tired and dated and the pool area needs refurbishment as lots of cracked tiles on the pillars!

    clean, big spacious room, great location for the harbour and station and town centre the pool was also so warm!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could have been friendlier. Room was really warm. Bathroom a little shabby, as were the changing rooms for the swimming pool.

    Location was perfect. Lovely evening meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelly. Room very hot and air conditioning control broken. Ordered breakfast in my room put order out at 9pm but order not collected so no breakfast delivery at time requested. I rang room service to order but when it arrived it was too late I couldn’t eat it because I had to depart for work. Only discount offered was tray charge! Very disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner on the 1st day did very little in our room & left a tray with glasses on the table & didn’t clean up a small spillage on the bedside table.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning just didn’t work and I complained, moved rooms to get another boiling hot room. They said the engineers were working on it. They weren’t! Why give 2 decaffeinated coffee capsules and just one caffeinated when 2 people share a room? Why not tell guests that you need a token for lockers in the pool area BEFORE they try to use a £1 coin that doesn’t work since the change to the new coins? Get them converted or tell guests BEFORE they get undressed.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are hotter than hell. Air conditioning doesn’t function and the windows don’t open. Perfect if you want to sleep in a greenhouse

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room (2 adults 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was non existent! Everyone was complaining how warm it was and no windows opened. This seemed to be a hotel wide issue! The car park is also way to small no spaces at all however there’s a cheaper one round the corner anyway!

    The room was nice and the beds comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were stuffy no opening windows/ air con not working properly The ladies changing rooms at the pool were poor/lockers not working and generally not very clean

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ridiculously hot and unable to get it cool. Light poured in through the curtains. Air con was a con - completely useless.

    Good range of facilities and staff were pleasant and helpful. That’s about it. Not much more to say.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room keys stopped working five times. this is how many times i had to go to reception to get replacements. i was there two days.

    the pool was ok and the bar staff were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lots of wasted space in room, configuration could be better, who would need 14 plug sockets in one room. Seem to have a plumbing problem, majority of toilets have a low light flush, didn't find one that flushed fully first flush. Lounge area and bar are more suited to larger groups, majority of tables made up for 6 people, not enough tables just for couples, again wasted spaces.

    Location was good, staff very friendly and efficient. Booked a Privilage room - very spacious. Food good, food and drink very reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy aircon We were given a disability room No complimentary water in room Kettle didn't fit under sink tap Stain on sheet

    Location Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms were stifflingly hot and this problem was known yet they kept booking into these rooms and we had countless complaints. We complained and after initial attempts to fix this aircon problem with a fan, they eventually move our room. Safe and TV were not working properly but still glad to be in a cool room. Not worth the price we paid

    Staff were good, nice bar and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The £5 charge for use of tray via room service was diabolical. I am struggling to understand how the staff member would have brought the food to the room without a tray. Queued for over 10 minutes when checking in. Receptionist didn't apologise and strangely paused for 3 seconds before smiling at me when I approached the desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised on your site as a spa and wellness centre it is a gritty small swimming pool the spa is a separate thing all together and only offers treatments no spa when we said this to staff in the morning and said about the heat in the room she didn’t seem like she could care any less I think booking .com should start looking at properties before they advertise them as having things that they don’t

    Room was ok that was about it but was terribly hot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not work. After first night barley getting any sleep I complained. “Sir we will look at it” that evening I enter my room and it’s just a sauna. “Sir we have issues with our air conditioning system for a while now” They provided me a room on other side of the building which was a little better but still not worth the money. I will definitely not be coming back and do not recommend this hotel.

    The location is very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no electrics working so no tv and plug sockets. There was hardly any loo roll. These are basic expectations that should be checked before a guest arrives

    The main area when you arrive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No SAUNA!!!

    This was my 2nd stay in 4 months. The rooms are the same as seen online. Bright and clean. Bathroom was massive! Spa experience was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Annoying that to have an account to charge to the room they would only take prepayment/ preauthorisation by credit card, I settled my bill by debit card and had a huge amount of hassle releasing the credit card with a 1p payment on credit card then a refund then paying by debit, took lots of time and was a hassle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms air con didn’t work we also requested a fan but due to the rooms having no open window access we didn’t sleep a wink apart from that was amazing in the day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arrived, check in did not inform us about where swimming pool was, gym, restaurant or even which direction our rooms were in. Very hot rooms and room 271 had lovely view of noisy equipment.

    Lovely large, clean rooms. Not too far from city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of staff were not very pleasant. Breakfast was mediocre for those not wanting cooked breakfast. We ordered off the menu and waited 30 minutes for it to arrive. We booked a two double bed room but only had the one double bed.

    High quality hotel, most of staff were friendly. Bedroom and facilities were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a couple of niggles with things not working properly which weren’t a big deal for a few days: the air con wasn’t very effective but the staff brought us a fan as the room was very hot, the tv remote and our room keys kept needing to be reprogrammed. We were right by reception so it wasn’t a problem to nip and get the keys activated again.

    The location was great with a couple of minutes walk to some great restaurants by the river. The communal areas were nice as was the pool. The room we were given was plenty big enough for four of us. There was a handy car park (although you pay for it). The bar area had lots of board games etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centre of hotel was a large inner garden - very overgrown and unsightly - could this not be better used and more pleasant to view whilst eating the breakfast etc.

    Great buffet breakfast - lots of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Food facilities. After 10pm the kitchen closed, the waiter took the order without informing us, and 50min later they came back with our order. By the way the order was a simple sandwich. Asked multiple times the staff for info, but they were quite rude.

    - Friendly staff - Cleanliness - Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a little over priced or under whelming in terms of facilities.

    The bar / restaurant was comfortable. Reception staff were welcoming. The spa facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what we got. Dirty toilet in our room. Television remote that kept not working. Room attendant actually walked in on my partner nude from the shower in the morning. Pool was extremely cold and non inviting. We wanted to stay at a hotel that offered a spa and pool area and for the money we paid it was terrible. No steam rooms, shallow pool, cold.

    The overall look of the room was lovely. It's just a shame the cleanliness of it once we went into our toliet and cleaning area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble for anyone. Given a complementary room upgrade on check in - large spacious room, clean, comfortable. Exceeded all expectations, would stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron was broken I contacted the reception and they said they will replace it but no one replaced the iron. One of the bottles of water in the fridge was half empty.

    The bed itself was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes the air conditioning in touch on my eyes (I have dry eyes) and in the swimming pool - but that's likely just to be me!

    Staff are outstanding - love this place - been back 4 times I think when over for VegfestUK.... The guy on the reception was so helpful and always a pleasure to talk with. I only rated breakfast a tiny bit lower of their sausages were vegan friendly not just vegetarian!! :D

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit far out but still a lovely place to visit

    Very spacious room & bathroom also comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived ,met by 2 people sleeping rough on the way in , rooms so stuffy , £30 to park 2 cars , £30 for 2 breakfasts , so declined them and went out , when you add the car park and breakfast on it’s quite expensive , £14.20 for 2 gin and lemonades , felt like once your there anything you want your ripped off

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, There could have been a bigger parking lot. I arrived at the hotel at night and found it hard to find any parking

    Exceeded what we were expecting. The room was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 5:30pm and there was loads of trays and plates outside various people's rooms on our floor. We went out at 7pm and then returned at 10pm and all of these items were still there and not collected...

    Good value for money and good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason there was confusion at reception about the rooms we booked. Even though my email confirmation clearly stated the rooms we paid for - we very nearly had the wrong types of rooms (doubles instead of quadruples). Also, although the spa treatment was amazing - you have to walk through a car-park to get there and that just ruined the overall spa experience.

    The rooms were an amazing size - the quadruple room could fit 15 of us in easily for pre-drinks before our night out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were friendly but lacked telling us any tourist information, it would have been helpful to find out more about the area on arrival, also the pool has no individual changing area so it lacked privacy when changing, there was also long queues at reception at times

    Room was big and comfortable with two large double beds. The hotels pool was lovely and good for relaxing. The hotel was very generous with towels and toiletries. Overall a good stay would recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was not working properly even engineers could not sort it ? WiFi was not good at all Room was too hot despite a/c

    Restaurant &scar Park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather warm and difficult to cool down. The bar menu was rather basic in my opinion but this is not really a big deal given all the restaurants in Bristol.

    Very comfortable bed in a spacious room. The staff were attentive and quick to respond to requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was MUCH too hot and the air conditioning not only failed to cope but sounded like a 747 preparing for take off.

    It's near the station. The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television was sometimes difficult to get off the menu page using the remote control.

    The room was spacious, well lite and all the amenities needed for my short stay. The bed was comfortable and not to hard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast options are a bit limited, considering it's mainly a business hotel. The location is a 20 minute (and pretty) walk from the College Green area, but not so accessible from the City Centre. The aircon is on the warm side.

    Nice, clean, modern bathrooms with a good shower. Bed is comfortable and clean. Despite an unattractive view, the location is nice, and there are 2 attractive restaurants by the dock (a 3 minute walk from the hotel). There is a pool, although sadly I didn't have time to enjoy it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't open windows. Poor selection on breakfast (only classic English breakfast) I would love have some salads etc. Otherwise fine.

    We did earlier check-in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Severely uncomfortable as air con not working and had to leave the door open on corridor. Were given free parking as a result of complaining but should not have been in this position in first place. We were attending funeral of a young man and needed the room to be conformable for sleep after a long 8 hour journey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV did not work. A housekeeper tried to help, then called a maintenance man who also couldn't fix it. He said he was going to call someone else but didn't come back before we checked out.

    The staff were friendly and the room was a good size and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not very friendly on arrival. Very short, no humor and bare minimum on the information they provided. The wifi wasn't great. Although there was plenty of room for an ironing board and an iron there was no board? Just a bit weird!

    The parking was cheaper through the hotel and in a good location. The hotel itself was in a good location. My room was spacious, clean and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Parking lot, for a stay of less than 48 hours (from day one - 12:00 until day 3 - 11:00am) we were charged three days, which does not 'feel' client oriented.

    Good breakfast, ample variety to choose from. Very good locations, 5-10 minutes walk to the city center shopping, dining and outing locations!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con wasnt strong enough and the room got really warm and stuffy and there was no windows, The outside of the hotel looked pretty grotty Parking is very expensive but it seems every hotel charges around this amouth in the city

    It was a nice clean hotel, rooms were big enough and had everything you needed, restaurant was really good with nice food and had a bar for drinks Good value for money over all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband had a late arrival due to delays and initially they wouldn't let him order food and eat in the bar area, (where I was), but only in our room! After complaining they did eventually enable him to eat in the bar with me, but it was quite frustrating after 8 hours of travel. The food available in the hotel was poor. I think everything was deep fried in some aspect. Even in the chicken in the chicken sandwich was breadcrumbed and fried.

    Location - near to town and railway station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no sauna/Jacuzzi or pool in the spa area which would have been nice. My husband joined us the next morning, he is wheelchair bound, the lift wasn't working so he had to be carried up the stairs. The disabled toilet was out of action, he was provided a key to one of the disabled rooms but he was unable to get in the bathroom to access the toilet as not wide enough. This should be addressed immediately for wheelchair customers. On this basis I would not recommend the hotel.

    Spa was lovely but we had to walk outside in our dressing gown and slippers to reach the spa, would be good if there was entry from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the breakfast service didn’t interact with people coming into the restaurant. They all had a very glum look on their face & when people asked for the bread etc to be re filled they looked as though it was a massive inconvenience.

    Breakfast was really good. Lots of choice & plenty of it too. Location was absolutely brilliant. Less than a 10 minute walk to the harbour, bars and restaurants!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed in the breakfast, found the English breakfast to have a peculiar taste! 😝

    Everything to do with the room & staff were top-notch 🙂

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very impressed with the hotel, despite reading some negative reviews

    We were upgraded to a lovely big, comfortable room as there was a prom event on the 4th floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is terribly organised. Food is fine but good luck ordering or getting a coffee. Staff generally very polite but not actuallly helpful

    Nice room. Bar food very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we struggled to find a parking space due to a very small car park in comparison to the size of the hotel. The staff on reception weren’t overly helpful when we asked for alternatives for somewhere to park (a question they must get asked a lot). When we finally checked in, we were handed our room keys without any explanation as to which floor our rooms were on or how to get to them. During our stay we wanted room service to save time, however nobody answered the phone when trying to order some, so we tried phoning down to reception but there was no reply there either. It was also an inconvenience that we had to go up to reception for tokens to use the lockers in the changing rooms for the swimming pool, something which wasn’t communicated to us earlier. There was a lack of space to keep towels and robes dry around the swimming pool, and limited seating area.

    We had a lovely weekend overall and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Their was a large choice for breakfast and the quality of food in the restaurant and bar was very good. The staff in the spa were very friendly and we all thoroughly enjoyed our treatments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really spacious room and bathroom . Spotlessly clean.Hotel bar was good with friendly attentive staff. Could be improved with an easy access outdoor sitting area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv didnt work so if that worked that would of been great but didnt come to stay for that

    The bed was extra comfy and I loved the pool, wasnt too deep and was the same depth all the way and the gym is nice in the morning before a swim :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at reception weren't helpful. On my way out from the hotel I asked for my room to be cleaned and the lady at receptio responded by giving me the door card and to go back to my room and put it on the door instead of arranging the housekeep to clean my room. Additionally, I thought the spa could have been better, the pool is freezing and there is no steam or sauna room or jacuzzi room which is what spas provide

    The room service staff were great and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was shite and windows wouldn't open - in 26 degree heat, that wasn't very good, room was like an oven. When checking in, staff were very down and uninterested, woman did not smile at all.

    Located in a beautiful area, place was lovely and view from room was amazing. The canal was only a 2 minute walk, restaurants surrounding were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not very impressed when trying to check in that I waited a good 5-10 minutes for the member of staff to stop doing their paperwork, they acknowledge me but carried on for a long period of time before assisting me. The breakfast was ok, the hot water for the tea run out and the beans were cold, the bacon was a grey colour. The croissants were very nice. Parking was expensive but reletative to parking for 24 hours on a city centre.

    I liked the large comfy bed and the pool. Parking at the hotel was convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot and windows didn't open. Only one towel but two of us staying (had to buzz reception for another) No water in the room, no decaf coffee/tea. Toilet didn't flush properly and no bath, only a shower!

    Nice room, clean and tidy. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 double beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn’t working and cleaning standards not great. Area near toilet was smelly and carpet in bedroom dusty.

    Location is great with transport links nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was tired! Staff were not that friendly apart from the waitress for lunch but she said she just started and couldn’t answer any food questions (shame she wasn’t trained correctly). Hotel room was very nice but so hot, no windows that open and A/C didn’t work!!

    Location and pool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was not appealing to look at from the outside.

    Very kind staff - saw me struggling with two coffees at breakfast and carried them for me to the table. (We were in the main bar area not the restaurant). Bed was really comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had difficulty with parking as we had to arrive late on both evenings. However, when we couldn't park at all on the second night, and used a car park near by, that night's charge was immediately removed from the bill. We weren't impressed by the food but there was plenty of choice for breakfast and a bar menu. Didn't have time to swim but the pool looked very nice. Being a bank holiday it was busy and therefore rather noisy during the night.

    We were given an upgraded room which was well equipped and very comfortable. It's very near to the harbourside and the beautiful St Mary Redcliffe church. We had to find a hotel at short notice on a bank holiday weekend, so from that point of view it was an acceptable stay, but probably wouldn't stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny car park had to fight for space, huge ques at reception check in and out. Room party next door to us at 4.30am, 4 phone calls to manager got them removed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was a faf to organise. Parking and paying for parking wasn't simple, setting up a room tab wasn't simple, TV was arkward to use and had limited channels, checking out and getting a receipt was arkward.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: