Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holly Trees Hotel 2 stars

Crewe Road, Alsager, ST7 2JL, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Alsager

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite cold and no heat in the bathroom. As the hotel is privately owned some maintenance/decoration items are a little overdue. The bathroom door didn't close properly and the fan didn't work. Carpets curtains and lampshades have seen better days.

    The breakfast was very good and the owner very pleasant to talk with. The hotel is only small and privately owned but has a little bar with good prices. There is a carvery pub about 10 mins walk away but this was quite noisy with live music on Friday night. The hotel bar on Sat night was much more pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was large and very clean. Breakfast was good. The room was excellent value for money. Very important for us was that the hotel was very dog friendly and there was no extra charge for them. Outside there was a large area to exercise them which was ideal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay. Very friendly owners, the place was pet friendly as advertised. Breakfast was included. Nice garden outside the hotel, which we enjoyed in the sunny day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival the sign looked dated and it soon became apparent that the whole hotel needed some work. This is not a hotel for young people....the soft furnishings and pink toilets and hand basins were from the late 70s early 80s. We were met promptly but had a strange conversation about how the owners were winding down and not sure where they were going in the future. I was keen to use the bar but was told that they only served bottled alcohol and I got the impression the bar is not well used. Our room was quite small and the en suite was ridiculously pokey...with only 1 small shampoo and shower gel for 2 of us. I was hoping that the breakfast would blow me away...im sad to say that although the full English was hot and substantial there was no fresh fruit, no croissants and only 3 yogurts that were all the same flavour. The hotel was a great size with lots of potential, Alex polizzi would like it. I didn't feel that we got value for money and have stayed in cheaper hotels with better facilities overall however if this hotel had a makeover I would give it another go.

    Car park was large. Breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is more than adequate. We hoped to have dinner on arrival but the restaurant isn't open at weekends. However, there is a good pub with carvery within a 5 minutes walk. Access to the M6 is very quick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing wrong with Hotel, but-Petrol stations! nearest one is on the junction 15 exit at 132.9 per litre, with nothing elsr=e in the immediatew area.

    Very handy for Motorway. Lovely dog walking a 10min drive but well worth it. lovely room and excellent breakfasts.Bonus of a Green King Carvery very close, plus pubs all over the place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly considered a little tired décor wise by young trendy gloss seekers :-/ Ignore that as The Holly Tree delivers over & above on every other aspect!

    SUPER ALL ROUND stay with impeccable service!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two improvements would lift it to outstanding: a shelf in the shower to hold gels; and ditch the PG Tips teabags for Sainsbury Red Label - taste better and are cheaper - and provide some sweeteners please!

    Bath sheet!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I never thought such hotels existed where a single room occupant was given one Kit-Kat (and no other biscuits) to have with their in-room tea, and so were the occupants of the double room! So we got one finger each! Pillows too flat. Dog barking in next room.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave!!!!!

    Wonderful place to stay. Very welcoming and homely. Breakfast is absolutely superb and well presented. We have stayed here with our dog on several occassions also and it was great. It's like a home from home when you are away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little aged but not enough to worry about

    Excellent prices & convenient location to motorway. Nice pubs available within walking distance & owners very Helpfull ;)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much at all

    The staff were very accomadating and helpful. Room was great shower could have been a bit more powerful. Breakfast was perfect and plenty. Overall a great stay. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have stayed at The Holly Trees three times in the last year and have found The Owners are very polite and accomodating. Breakfast is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit tight for space with our dog. Bathroom is also quite tight, with the toilet and radiator right on top of each other. The bed was ok, tea and coffee making facilities, shower was ok. Breakfast was good and our hosts were welcoming. Good selection of food cooked to order, nice size dining room and had lovely table in bay window looking out at the falling snow!

    Good location for us as family live locally and handy to stay, especially with our dog for the night on a family trip. Easy parking outside and handy garden for our dog. Very welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a very high step into the hotel and the entrance would benefit from having grab rails on BOTH sides of this to help those less able people to access. Also another banister rail on the fairly steep stairs.

    Warm welcome and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent as expected. Love this place. Extra comfy beds, everything you need, friendly owners. Why would you ever go to a bland chain hotel when there are wonderful places like this?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that would put us off staying again. The decor seemed very dated, but that is a matter of personal taste.

    Generally a very good experience. The hotel is a little way out of town, so you need to drive to get access to local shops, restaurants etc. But that means it is very handy for joining the nearby M6. Plenty of parking on site. It is by a main road, but we heard little road noise and had our window open all night. The rooms are large and very conventionally furnished, but all was clean. Breakfast was excellent in a light and sizeable dining room. The restaurant was closed the evening we stayed there, but the owner was happy for us to bring a takeaway meal back and he helped by providing plates and cutlery. The hotel also has a downstairs lounge that guests are welcome to use. Alsager is a nice little town with some very good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe decor is tired but the hotel and room was spotless. Our room was small but was only for one night.

    Bed was clean and comfortable. Lovely warm welcome. Good breakfast. Spotless hotel in general.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could off made the garden more secure for dog as could go threw bushes on too the road

    Lovely staff made me feel welcome comfortable bed nice and peaceful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe is the light bulb in the bathroom blew in the morning before breakfast but was able to manage as the room had good lighting.

    The hotel is very accessible is from the motorway. Staff were were very friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereals and I really enjoyed the fresh grapefruit segments in juice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant really think of anything maybe a shop close by could of done with

    I definitely recommend loved it so much I booked extra night pet friendly breakfast nice beds nice and comfortable nice and quiet with lovely views staff polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could have been better (more power).

    Found the hotel was very friendly and the staff very friendly and making everything to you need. It was a warm hotel to be at, and you felt very welcomed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    we use to use holly tress previously but stopped for various reasons and tried other hotels but holly trees is the best and we will be going back ( reasons being we use to take our dog and he was looked after so well but we could not back so quickly when he passed away we needed time out as dog lovers know so well)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to record.

    Very accommodating to guests travelling with dogs. Good country walking just across the main road from the hotel. Well behaved dogs allowed in dining room - there were three three families travelling with their cherished pets and all appreciated total inclusion within this comfortable hotel's facilities. Breakfast was well cooked and set us up well for an active day ahead. Clean well appointed room - very busy road outside double although glazing eliminated traffic noise. Friendly welcome - keen to advise us of local facilities in area. Extremely good value for money will definitely return if we have to repeat our trip in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs, probably my age ! The shower was very slow and little water.

    The room and especially the en suite was a great size, staff really helpful, did some much needed washing for us. The dogs were made to feel really welcome. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    furnishings a bit tired/dated.

    Nice breakfast, dog welcomed and large room. As evening meals not being served in the hotel due to a bereavement was told of an excellent dog friendly pub along the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found the lighting a bit too dim for reading

    The room was large and the beds comfortable. Good shower room. Excellent breakfast and lovely breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative comments.

    Excellent location for quick access to M6. Good pubs quite close. Spacious room and en-suite. Breakfast very nice, served quickly with a smile. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent base for onward journey to Yorkshire. Great welcome and excellent cooked breakfast to set us up for the onward journey next morning. Village has great selection for meal out too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An excellent place to break our journey from the south coast to Scotland. A very warm welcome for us and our dog. Pubs for an evening meal within walking distance and a substantial breakfast included in the price. This was a last minute change of booking for us (there was a problem at the hotel we originally chose), but we were very pleased to discover this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an electric car owner, access to an external mains power point to charge my car overnight would have been nice but the same could be said for many hotels, in the meantime all I can hope is that accommodation booking sites such as booking.com introduce a search filter to enable EV drivers to seek-out the EV friendly hotels I’m confident that the first hotel booking site to add an EV charging filter to their website will strike a chord with the rapidly growing numbers of EV owners as this is critical to planning a road trip.

    Plentiful breakfast, staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the road so it was a little bit noisy. The hotel was really nice but could do with updating.

    The owners were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good and generous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is a little dated, but this was clear from the photos, and the room was perfectly clean. We stayed Sunday night and were expecting to eat in the restaurant. However, they don't do food on Sunday evenings, but we were promptly directed to a choice of pubs within a 5 minute walk.

    Great location. Very friendly staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little chilly in bedroom and bathroom on evening. No heated towel rail to dry out towels.

    Very friendly, helpful owners. Very comfortable beds, plenty of storage. Restaurants and shops nearby. Peaceful countryside views at front, wild rabbits hopping about at back. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor could be updated but that didn't detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

    The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable. The owners were very friendly & welcoming and recommended local places for us to have a meal. The breakfast was excellent and I asked for something that was not described on the menu and they were happy to accommodate my request.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that I could mark down. My needs are well met here.

    This establishment fits my requirements very well. I need somewhere that is very dog-friendly. I need somewhere that is close to the M6 motorway so that I can break my journey conveniently. I need somewhere that is clean, comfortable and good value for money. Holly Trees ticks all the boxes for me. This was my fifth one-night stay this year and I shall be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double duvet heavier than I would prefer and pillow a bit hard, but not a bad night

    Very convenient location minutes off M6 and just outside Alsager. Field at rear full of rabbits. Watched cat and fox come for their rabbit breakfast. Badgers reported.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall shabby feel to reception area and room. Very small ensuite - a matter of squeezing in! Bed had old fashioned sheets and blankets - felt a bit odd when one is used to a duvet!

    Proximity to the M6 for travel. Budget priced stay. Reasonable breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not something within the control of the proprietors but on this occasion the weather was very hot and sultry and with the windows open to catch what little breeze there was, the traffic noise was quite intrusive. I've stayed there before and not noticed the traffic, and I'll stay there again. All the positives outweigh this negative and it's not within the hotel's control anyway.

    This hotel is very conveniently placed for me to break my journey. It is very pet-friendly and I travel with a large dog. The dog-exercising facilities are excellent. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The (inclusive) full English breakfast is excellent and the whole experience is really good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise from the nearby M6 but, as it was not a particularly warm night, we were able to leave the window next to the bed closed and open the bathroom window instead.

    This hotel has some character ( unlike the chains). There is plenty of space and the room was well equipped and pleasantly decorated. The bonus was the excellent cooked breakfast provided and we would definitely stay here again if in the area.We felt it was very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is our second visit to the Holly Tree and won't be our last , I cannot praise it enough. So accommodating and friendly , the breakfast is outstanding and excellent value for money. We visited Wedgwood Museum and Trentham Gardens which are only 20 - 25 mins away . Lovely village with a short walk to the pub with great food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact I forgot to pack my toothpaste,, 😯 apart from that I enjoyed my stay.

    The pillows were lovely and fluffy,,,, and the breakfast was great even the fried bread the whole stay was lovely .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor and facilities haven't changed since the early 80's and it smells like it too. The headboards in our room were dirty and should be replaced. Think the 2 star rating the hotel has is for the breakfast as it was okay. Definitely won't stay again.

    Host was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning would improve the experience of visit.

    My bed was very comfortable, views across the fields, access to Wi-Fi, staff very friendly and helpful- I only had time for tea and toast however the menu look good. Ideal location for my business trip, easy access to M6.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good for disabled stairs very steep and narrow with kids.

    Breakfast was fab hot and fresh good ingredients. Bedroom was very good size with good bathroom and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame the bar was not open.

    Good rural location but only a short distance from the motorway. The hotel was pet friendly and all of us were made welcome. The dog enjoyed being able to stretch his legs on the lawned area. Plenty of options within easy walking and driving distance for an evening meal. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More electric sockets. I only found one behind the TV.

    I liked all of it. The owners went out of their way to accommodate concerning the food. Took the time to talk. Very helpful, even offered to carry my luggage. Will certainly recommend it to others.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is very dated and the WIFI was inconsistant. The TV in my room was very small and the signal was poor but as I didn't really want to watch much TV it was not a problem. I didn't report this to the staff.

    The location/staff and breakfast was very good. Made me and my furry friend very welcome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the hot tap in the washbasin was very stiff and difficult to turn on and off.

    The room was warm, because the heating hadn`t been switched off although it was mid may.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was small - an awkward 'L' shaped room. Hot water took a while to come through, but adequate. Adequate tea and coffee making facilities. OK for an overnight stop.

    Location was good, 5 minutes walk from a Brewers Fayre serving good food as there is no restaurant at this hotel, only breakfast. Which was adequate. Nice tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've stayed here before and found it to be excellent for the price! Near to the M6 / Beds comfy / Good with dogs with garden to run around/ Breakfast tasty/ Proprietors very friendly and helpful! If you want luxury then go elsewhere and pay treble the price plus! BTW theres's a nice Joules pub - "The Mere" in the centre of Alsager - well worth a visit for beer/meals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar was not open...saturday night ??

    the quality of the breakfast was very good and it was hot, the room was a bit on the small side but bright and airy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was pet friendly which was a requirement for us. The breakfast was prepared fresh and was delicious. The host directed us to pet friendly pub and park. If in area would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar could have been open till later on Saturday night as we would have liked to have had a few before going to bed. TV was a little small, but worked think I am just used to my 55" one these days!

    Friendly welcome by the owner, not a faceless city hotel. The hotel itself is typical for the type you would expect a family run hotel. Compared to a big brand city boutique hotel would be pointless as they are designed to bed the ultimate. The hotel although not at the peak of 'brand newness'! was well maintained. Bed was comfy enough and didn't feel any springs as I have experienced in some hotels. The room was warm and cosy, I felt comfortable. Again bath room was well maintained and very clean and ok the shower wasn't brand new and all encompassing but what do you expect for £55 a night including breakfast. It gave me exactly what I needed a hot shower with good pressure and lovely warm water. Breakfast was great really nice food and well presented. The owner couldn't do enough for you, he was friendly, talkative and polite. All in all I would recommend the hotel to everyone who doesn't need to be in an inner city faceless branded hotel as it was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The pillows were first class. We found the owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty, timely and plentiful. We will be happy to stay there again if we are in Alsager again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeaky doors when trying to get to bed quietly after working late!!

    Clean, very comfy. Easy access to M6. Only sampled parts of the breakfast, but all was fresh and plentiful. Breakfast served 8.30 to 9.30.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was cold - despite the heating being on the room was still cold - I think the radiators were blocked

    Breakfast was freshly cooked and the owner was an excellent host

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were not doing evening meals so had to go out. There is a very noisy road outside. The TV signal was intermittent.

    The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Temperature in shower needed fine adjustment - otherwise no issues

    Good breakfasts with wide selection; tea making facilities in room; comfortable room. Value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a warm welcome and the host was very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom facilities was excellent. We had a number of hours to while away before we were due at our appointment the next morning and we were very pleased that we were able to use the lounge once we had vacated our room. As my wife has some mobility problems and usually ground or first floor rooms are usually acceptable, but due to the steep stairs perhaps a stair-lift would be a welcome addition to an already very good hotel. This must not be seen a complaint but merely an observation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation and the owners was nice. Very helpful and flexible with arrival times and to put a family close together. What was appealing was that the hotel was pet friendly and if we travelled with our pet it would have been perfect. People who put negative comments should not go to a pet friendly house if you do not want to stay with pets. We met a lovely dog and did not have a problem and there was no hygiene issue. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and bathroom facilities Old fashioned generally. Tried to cancel 2 days before, prior to 6pm, but they wouldn't ok it to booking.com

    breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot tap needed a new washer, but it was still usable. However, we weren't there to enjoy the hotel, but to enjoy the countryside and the party we had been invited to (not at the hotel), so this is a minor dislike and did not detract from our stay.

    The poached eggs were perfect because no vinegar was used in their cooking. The garden is extensive, although December is not the time to see it at its best.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing,

    We were a group of friends looking for a place to stay half way between Leicester and Blackpool . After researching I came across the Holly Trees Hotel which could not only accommodate us but also has a lounge and bar that I thought we could have a game of cards etc before going out to eat. I had planned a picnic in nearby Milton Park before booking in at the hotel. However the weather did not make this possible. I emailed earlier to ask if we could book in earlier which was no problem. After booking in I asked if we could bring our picnic in which was no problem at all and we had a lovely time in the lounge. We were also supplied with tea and coffee on a regular basis, absolutely fantastic. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable and have everything you require. The breakfast choice is very good and I can certainly recommend the full English. We will certainly be staying here again, great hosts nothing is too much trouble, thank you so much.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there for one night with my mum & dad we stayed in a family room. The room was beautiful & spacious & the beds were very comfy. The Staff couldn't be more friendly & the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more power in the shower would be more to my liking, but that is a personal preference.

    The breakfast was cooked exactly as I like it, and it was extra special in that extra items were put on the plate to cover the ones I didn't want. e.g. an extra egg in place of the mushrooms that I declined etc. This is service above and beyond the normal hotel experience when you only get the items that you ask for and nothing else. Top marks for looking after your guests.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its just a little bit tired in the decorations and towels side

    welcoming and friendly, excellent cooked breakfast, all freshly prepared. Ample parking and easy walking of the village with its pubs and eateries. 5 Mins from the motorway yet rural and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An old fashioned hotel, but I mean that in the nicest possible way. Very friendly greeting from Sarah when we arrived. We were given Room 9 overlooking the rabbits and the squirrels in the back garden. Very comfortable bed, shower OK. Drink in the bar after our meal out. One of the best full English breakfasts I have ever had. One mile from the restaurants in Alsager town centre. Will book again next time we visit our family in Stoke.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A very grand house quiet location my bedroom was large and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast high quality. The owner obliging to anything needed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no food in evenings - good directions to local amenities with a chain pub food place within 300m and a spar for the self sufficient even closer

    Quiet, with a great and plentiful breakfast, great for business people

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was pleased with everything.

    I was travelling with a friend. We were given a "family room" which consisted of one double and one single bed. Nice room, comfy beds, big TV, tea-coffee in the room. Nice breakfast. Very nice welcome from the owner. She recommended a local pub, within walking distance, that served delicious food. Lovely to have off-street parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower screen, but would not put me off staying.

    Bed comfy. Breakfast hot and tasty. sufficient to eat and was asked if we would like anything else to eat.Friendly people.Big quiet family room, nice and warm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, bed , TV and toilet facilities were a little smaller than what I am used to, but perfectly functionable for a single traveler

    Breakfast was super value. Staff very pleasent. Parking easy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated decor. Mattresses a bit saggy. Carpets in bedroom not very clean. A melted kit kat that had re formed!

    Lovely friendly staff. Good breakfast. Quiet.Nice garden. Good for late arrival.Helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a little help with privacy from the bedroom window as it overlooks the carpark at the front of the house before the views of the fields across. Decor tired needs an uplift.

    Lovely view of cheshire countryside. Big bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: