Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hollytree Hotel and Swimming pool 3 stars

Kentallen Pier, Kentallen, PA38 4BY , United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Kentallen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 928 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no issues at all.

    The pool was amazing everything was clean and functioning. The room was big and very comfortable, the view from the room was beautiful. For breakfast you had a wide selection of hot and cold buffet, everything was delicious and the waiters were really looking after us. Our stay was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for a few days hill walking. Great food. Dining area was lovely however roasting if sitting at the window seats. Will certainly be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was poor! Had to ask for bread and finger bowl at dinner. We were unaware there were specials on until the table next to us were offered the, after we had ordered. Table was not ready on arrival despite booking and several empty tables. Not very welcoming initially!

    Great spot. Decent rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Stunning location. The views from the Juliet balcony was breathtaking. I tried not to sleep so I could soak in the view every hour. I would recommend booking a table at the restaurant especially for supper - when the sun sets. Oh my word. The food was equally lovely. But what made our stay even more worthwhile was the geniality and hospitality of the Manager - Donald. To the owners, Donald is a credit to your company. He made feel so welcome and what a warm manner about him. I think he deserves a pay rise! The jacuzzi is the best bit as it looks out to Loch Linnhe. Our room was absolutely spotless and the bed was clouds on earth! We also had a lovely walk outside both morning and night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would renew a bit the rooms and the interiors in general, since the hotel has a high potential. The breakfast had not big choices and the quality was medium (e.g. overcooked scrambled eggs).

    The hotel is part of the historical Kentallen Railway station and the interior still have that structure. Our room was in front of the sea with a beautiful view, even if the weather was not the best. The room was ok for a 3 stars hotel. The hotel restaurant was good, with fresh fish (the oysters were wonderful), nice view on the sea and very good prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be more like a hotel - e.g. someone to carry luggage since rooms in first floor needs to be accessed via stairs

    I checked in at midnight and still there was a person who helped check in. The place is just at the waterfront and view from the room and lawns are amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As is common in many European hotels, there is no lift/elevator. Be ready to haul suitcase upstairs.

    Well situated for the various sites and hiking opportunities in the Glencoe area. We used the hotel as our base spending two full days, three nights in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at the restaurant could be improved but it is nice that every thing is sourced locally.

    The hotel has amazing views to the loch and it was lovely to watch the sunset from the restaurant. The room was very big and comfortable. The shower and bath were also great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and run down place with very little charm. Food was just okay. Smell from kitchen on parking lot not very inviting.

    The bar and the view from the bar where nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent overall, only thing I would say and noticed was that toast for breakfast was offered on both mornings that I stayed , including other guests having to ask for it. But overall excellent hotel with outstanding views .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great position overlooking the Loch with very good walks adjacent and nearby. Excellent breakfast and delicious dinners. Enjoyed the pool and the friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location just in front of the lake. We stayed in the ground floor rooms that had a small balcony where se could site and enjoy the view. Very spacious rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey and the accommodation is a little tired. Would have liked a kipper or haddock for breakfast.

    The staff were very welcoming and the food was very good. The view across Loch Linnie was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant could do with a clean along the windowsills and blinds need cleaned.

    Lovely location the views over the loch were magnificent. Staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift service which may be difficult for elderly guests & if the case, would reception staff offer assistance? Female reception staff was non existent for some 30 mins at check-out time! Other guests also having to wait to check-out, which seemed unnecessary given check-out time is 11am.

    Location & views. Warm, comfortable & quiet. Food very good & waiting staff efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff in the hotel. Great view from our balcony. Pool very nice, jacuzzi was in process of being built but it looks a great addition. Evening meal was very nice too, good selection at breakfast to cater for all tastes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did not have any information on the area of its own. No maps we could look at. No time tables etc. Only the large commercial tourist leaflets which were of no use to us. I was not aware there was access to a computer either. The staff are sweet but a little young.

    Hotel is easy to find. Lovely views.The staff are very friendly , mostly young. We ate in the restaurant which was lovely. The breakfast was very good. The cooked breakfast was not greasy and they were flexible with our choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice bathroom spoiled a bit by mould between shower tiles and towel rail next to toilet. Water pressure in sink low (shower was fine). Also thought DVD library and games for kids would be better away from reception area and dining service area would be better in the restaurant not in the corridor.

    Friendly staff, amazing views from all the rooms, nice food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i requested a large double bed i wasn't expecting 2 single beds pushed together considering how well presented everything else in the room was. Very uncomfortable.

    The views were fantastic. Room was nice and warm. Shower was spacious and super clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff are lovely. Genuine and friendly and efficient The hotel is very clean Had 2 fabulous meals there and a good wine list Nice breakfast, quality rather than quantity( ie black pudding is Stornaway) Rooms spotless, with a bath. ! Comfy beds Brilliant views And a pool and sauna What’s not to like? We will be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had contacted the hotel to ask that chemical fragrances not be used in my room, as I am chemical sensitive. When I opened the bedroom door, I was instantly uncomfortable, as the room had been sprayed with fragrance. (I had to keep the French doors open all the time I was in the room.) I didn't want to make a fuss, but mentioned the fact to reception when I checked out. I was told that my request had been acknowledged but not passed on to Housekeeping. NOT GOOD! This spoilt an otherwise excellent stay.

    Location, by the loch.....lovely. Liked the hotel building itself, being the original Kentallen station, which still has many original features. Lovely staff. Pleasant dining / bar facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Toilet blocked. No light in pitch-dark bathroom. Two nights disturbed sleep. First noisy guests at 3 am, 2nd hammering noise from vibrating heating system valve. No response from owners to my e-mail.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Only teeny comment on the narrow bath - but pleased there was a bath with shower over it.

    Fabulous views, relaxing stay. Had small swimming pool to ourselves, and with the addition of a hot in the very near future will add to the ambience. Good food, and very nice breakfast (whisky in the porridge)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom appeared dated and a little dark, mattress not very comfortable , not what I’d hoped for when booking a ‘luxury double’

    Situation, public areas-bar and restaurant, staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The value for money was not great - it was slightly more expensive than we would have liked, and the overall experience was not up to the price.

    The location of the hotel was stunning - the view from the room was right over the loch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more choice on the restaurant menu, but that’s about all

    The staff were the best part of this hotel, so kind and friendly and made us and our dog feel very welcome:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No croissants. Breakfast options disappointing. In places hotel and rooms could do with a facelift looking a bit worn. Did not find the bed very comfortable, heavy duvet and solid pillows

    Location, helpful and very efficient staff. Had a nice dinner but could not manage a dessert as started with the smoked haddock chowder which was very filling. The waiter said that they could have done a half portion but by then it was too late. The venison and bass were both excellent. A glass of sauvignon blanc for seven pounds was a bit excessive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find anything negative. My only constructive comment, and this is not a complaint. Invest in some new quilts and pillows, we like ones that are a bit more fluffy.

    Everything it was a real gem!! Staff lovely, helpful, rooms lovely, clean beautiful beautiful views. Food delicious! Great wine selection. Oysters locally sourced a real treat! Very interesting history as used to be the old train station. Lots of facts about that on the walls. Thanks for a brilliant stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!

    Views amazing, on a clear night unbelievable! Food was excellent & great value for money, staff could not be more obliging & friendly, already recommended to family and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving !

    Exceptional hotel with swimming pool on stunning loch side location... Views were amazing.... All the staff were so friendly and helpful.... Food was excellent.... Would definitely stay again... Loved it....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and could do with a refurb.We had no hot water until after 7.30pm

    The view from our room and the dinner in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need night light in the bathroom. Being on the Loch I thought there would be more fish on the menu

    Location and view over the Loch...especially with amazing sunsets

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 18 and 19 were ideal for our family visit both offering comfort, space, lovely facilities and excellent views. All helped to make our visit more relaxing. Looking forward to using the jacuzzi next time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was spectacular and room was clean and well appointed. The room was a little more dated than it appears in the photos. A good breakfast was included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just some of the decorating looked a bit tired, could have done with a bit of refurbishing, but it was still very nice.

    Comfortable and clean hotel, the staff were friendly. Our room was large and had a wonderful view, we particularly like the two comfortable armchairs in the room where you could relax. We had a really nice holiday and would definitely stay there again if we were going to that area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    Absolutely fantastic. The location is perfect, scenery is stunning, food is lovely, staff really friendly and helpful, swimming pool is heated, cannot fault a single thing. Can’t wait to come back!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work in my room but was ok in the public areas. Great view of the Loch

    Food was very good. Unfortunately at both meals sat next to a couple who were complaining about everything but that wasn't the hotel's problem. Everything else was great. Staff were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't any croissants for breakfast!

    I've been to this hotel quite a few times before which says a lot about how I rate it. Everything was excellent and the staff couldn't have been any more pleasant and helpful. I'll definitely be going back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the rooms and the restaurant is absolutely amazing. We were very surprised about the quality of the food. I highly recommend the sea food restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with TV reception channels, in particular BBC channels. Staff tried to connect but without success.

    The restaurant menu's, perfectly prepared and excellent food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices are good at the moment but find they are very expensive for in season .

    The views are spectacular. Staff are very friendly. Can’t wait to see the finished decking etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool only had two changing cubicles at the side of the pool! The pool was very cool. Only a few lockers by the side of the pool however alot were broken! Whilst the Hotel served its purpose it needs a refresh

    The location, the food and view of loch linnhe from our room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was cold (but still fun!) and we complained about our blocked shower plug but it wasn’t fixed.

    Overall the room was generous and comfortable, restaurant was lovely and views were beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the bed was meant to be a double bed however it was just 2 singles pushed together, constantly had to push the beds back together and found myself waking up in a dip in beds.

    Excellent view, room was a very good size , liked how there was seats positioned infront of the view aswell. Was really nice to have a swim and sauna at end of each day and hotel itself was positioned in a lovely area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This inn has an ambitious development programme and so there was a lot of external disruption

    Fantastic location and views from hotel and rooms Easy relaxed atmosphere and great little pool and sauna Great parking availability Food was staightforward but beautifully cooked and breakfast was awesome Especially bright, clean and spacious bathroom Altogether excellent and would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool very cool (thermostat problem), veggie options limited, expected exceptional evening meal with bigger seafood range and was disappointed, though the meal and local produce were fine they weren’t outstanding. Sticky toffee pudding almost made up for it though.

    Great location, beautiful views, friendly helpful staff, handy balcony, good size room, bathroom and bed, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work that wasn’t informed about before stay, tools left round the hotel, bad language and smoking outside of the bar by the builders, cold swimming pool.

    Very good food, helpful staff and great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too soft & the room too warm.

    Very clean & comfortable. Fantastic views from the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. At breakfast we explained that we were heading for a race, they provided our food quickly & with no fuss.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and sauna are fantastic facilities, although can be difficult to relax when a noisy/large family are there - enjoy the peace and tranquility if you manage to get it to yourself as it might not last long! :-)

    Lovely room with spectacular view of Loch Linnhe. Staff are friendly and approachable. Excellent food, both the evening menu and the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked some herbal tea bags in the room.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful; they even made us a packed lunch because we were leaving before breakfast. Food was delicious so we ate in every night. The pool and sauna were clean and fun, rooms comfortable and warm. Amazing views and great free DVD library which meant that kids didn't mind the weather!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of pool showers could be improved, better/clearer instructions & monitoring of sauna usage (guests entered without towels and went directly into pool afterwards without showering first). Better access to Loch and pathway signs (busy road up front with no path)

    Friendly staff, view and pool + sauna

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 21 has a sloping ceiling .... we banged our heads several times before we got use to it. Room rate the same as others that dont have this obstacle!

    Staff were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a jacuzzi making the most of amazing views.

    Really good location with stunning views. The rooms were a bit larger than I had expected which was a nice surprise. The pool and sauna are a bonus. The restaurant food was excellent. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t know building work was going on , spoilt the view at the pool , and outside, birthday treat so your looking for perfect,but I’m sure it will be fab when it’s finished!

    The view was stunning, staff helpful and cheery, breakfast gorgeous!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was nice and functional but slightly well used. Bath was SUPER slippery so be careful in shower.

    Large modern room with great views. Very large comfortable bed. Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was a wee bit pricey so watch if you have kids with you. Drinks were expensive (wine) or were smaller measures (eg Baileys). Overall cant complain but drinks really hiked up the restaurant bill.

    Room was excellent, food excellent, large portions, lots of seafood dishes, spectacualar views, helpful staff, clean modernised accomodation, heated pool 10m x 4m approx, sauna, a good central point for daytrips. Hot-tubs area being installed next to the pool and new bar area being built so will be nicer in summer 2018.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar could have been a little bigger or have more lounge area.

    Lovely little hotel. Really excellent staff, all young people who were really friendly and provided a great service. Lovely place to relax in the evening. Food was really good. Great Scottish breakfast.Amazing view and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could have done with a spruce up.

    Amazing views from the room and restaurant. The pool and sauna were great and the room was nice. Excellent breakfast included in the price and excellent food on offer for dinner as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t rate this hotel highly enough. The room was comfortable, spacious, well equipped, with beautiful views, and very importantly, spotless. Theres lots of choice on the menu, and although we didn’t use it, it was advertised that the same menu was available as room service. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were great. Tasty, big portions, well priced, and served by great staff. All the staff throughout or stay were friendly and helpful. Attentive to details that could have been easily forgotten but when remembered can make all the difference. Looking forward to going back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television reception was poor particularly on the BBC channels

    The room was a good size with a great view of the Loch, food was to a high standard both evening meals and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fantastic time in this hotel. It is located in the Western Highlands and the view on the loch was incredibly beautiful. We enjoyed a lot the swimming pool and delicious breakfast. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, quiet and extremely clean. I’d definitely come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heated towel rail wasn't working and the bathroom was a little worn.

    The size of the room was great, and we had a view with a window we could open. There was tea and coffee facilities which we always like. The staff were wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our seafood in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking through reception to get to swimming pool.

    The food was fantastic, we all really enjoyed our evening meal. Breakfast was very good as well. Staff were welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a beautiful location, it was well kept and the room had a stunning view. All staff were pleasant and very helpful..the pool was great and a bit of a luxury..! We will definitely be back for a few days next time. : )

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room with a view of the loch (captains room). Stayed here after a day snowboarding and it was great to get to the hotel and relax In the pool / sauna. Dinner was lovely, averaging about £17 for a meal, with cheaper options at the bar avaible. Breakfast was included which was also great ! Staff were also friendly and polite . Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool too small to have a serious swim. We have stayed a number of times over the years. It used to be the perfect place for a relaxing romantic break but its policy now seems to be to attract, and cater for, families. Gone are the white tablecloths and candles. Toys for sale in the reception area.

    food was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Amazing Food! I would recommend The Holly Tree purely on the quality of the food, breakfast was excellent, great choice. We had dinner there for the three nights of our stay and cannot fault a thing. The seafood, I had the mussels one night and the king prawns the next are of a better standard that I have received in some 5-star hotels. The rooms are clean and spacious with a perfect view of the loch, our dog was made welcome to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms with great views. Lovely breakfast. We stay at the hotel for an evening meal in the bar. Food was ok. I would stay at the hotel again, however would try somewhere else for dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk through the woods could be better maintained but other than that we had no complaints.

    Super views over Loch Linnhe from our room. The room was spacious and warm. We did not use the swimming pool but did hear people enjoying the facility. The food was excellent served by friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool and sauna experience ruined by three adults stoating a ball off the wall the whole time we were there. Relaxing it was not!

    Get there before the sun goes down as the view is stunning. Food and accomodation was great .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were busy with renovating an adjacent room quite early in the morning. Breakfast was not buffet, we were given a menu book, unfortunately our choice of "scottish breakfast" turned out to be not really suitable for our taste...

    The room is extra big and comfortable with a very beautiful view of the lake. The bathroom is clean, the complimentary soap and shampoo made my wife smile really happily. Free parking and easy to find. Historic building gave us unique experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    leaving

    A little bit of Heaven on Earth, Stunning Views, Exceptional Comfort, Yummy food and after eating breakfast we never needed to eat until dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was awful from the dinner menu, attitude of the foreign staff not helpful or friendly and rude.

    Man on reception and the Scottish waiter were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Info on walks near hotel in welcome pack would be helpful. Found walk on footpath towards glencoe on way home 😔. Would have loved to have the knowledge it was there! Plenty of info of attractions needing a car close by.

    Good warm welcome. Lovely huge comfy bed. Breakfast lovely. Staff very pleasant.fantastic views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a bit dated, not exactly deluxe. Breakfast a bit of a let down, being pregnant we did ask for the sausages and eggs to be well done but the chef wasn't having any of it, 3 mornings in a row.

    Lovely location with great views, dinner was very nice. Staff members were welcoming. Great shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hollytree Hotel and Swimming pool traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: