Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holm House 5 stars

Marine Parade, Cardiff, CF64 3BG, United Kingdom

#5 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Location, Lunch over looking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at lunch, second time here in a fortnight and second time they forgot our drinks. Staff very friendly but seem unsure so must be new.

    Location, Lunch over looking the sea. Spa pool and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Excellent quality hotel in beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great!

    Very hospitable and friendly hotel. Loved the open and airy plan of the restaurant which opened out into the garden. Fabulous weather at the weekend showed this beautiful place at it's best. The restaurant was top notch with very good service and lovely people. Service is excellent all round the hotel. The spa is quite small but perfect, very attentive staff. The room was very comfy and spacious with a seating area. We were given high quality tea, coffee and hot chocolate plus Welsh cakes - nice touch thank you! Enjoyed views of the sea at Penarth. Hope to be back v soon!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fantastic place! Staff are excellent, my room was one of the most comfortable I have stayed in. Beautiful setting over looking the bay, I cannot praise holm house enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Super helpfull staff, great location with lovely gardens and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super helpfull staff, great location with lovely gardens and a quick walk from Penarth Pier. Room was clean and luxurious for their standard double room. Plus we had room top terrace as a part of our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Free room upgrade on arrival. Very helpful reception staff prior to arrival who booked taxis for us. Lovely room and garden. Delicious breakfast. Location, close to the seafront

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Would return for another stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better selection for continental breakfast would be good Although the service was a bit slow for cooked Breakfast there was a good selection and was of great quslity

    Friendly and helpful staff Great room elegant decoration with comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing place to stay with lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toast made for you when cooked breakfast served rather than havino to do it yourself.

    Loved the Welsh cakes in the room. Bathroom and bath was amazing. Lovely setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Luxurious weekend break at a fabulous boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were made to feel very welcome in all areas of the hotel. The staff are a credit to the hotel. The facilities were excellent and the food was to a high quality. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok, but not first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked in advance for dinner but we’re so full that we would have had to wait an hour to eat. We ended eating at a different restaurant. I booked suite at this hotel and has treatments in the Spa. Unfortunately it did not meet my expectations. I would recommend that the owners invest a little on the facilities and decor. It appeared all a little dated and in need of renervation. Perhaps we were just unlucky, but we paid handsomely for it.

    Relatively easy to find. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it but not 100% happy with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast became rather boring after 3 mornings. Not everything on the menu available. Haphazard service on one morning. Staff and service hit and miss. Evening meal average. Cod dish not very hot and slightly over cooked.

    Hotel has a nice fresh feel. Excellent location and view from the bedroom and gardens. Efficient check in. Steepholm room very very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Amazing! 100% returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to it being a small boutique hotel, the spa is smaller than what we are used to...none the less, it is beautiful!

    This hotel is amazing, we loved our stay from the moment we arrived till the moment we left!!!! Perfect for a mini honeymoon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    What a superb place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaner not hoovering in the spa when in relaxation room!

    The bedroom was fantastic. Brilliant food at restaurant, loved sitting outside in the sun with a drink!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Lovely, relaxing and worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners leaving lots of things outside of our room every morning. Cleaners cleaning spa when we were in the sp, this could be done before it opens.

    The location and feel of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attractive hotel in own grounds, good car parking. Attractive terraced gardens overlooking the sea. We were upgraded to a large second floor room with sea view, a very pleasant and welcome surprise. Didn't use spa facilities, or eat in restaurant. Nice breakfast, cooked to order. Short walk into Penarth

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing surroundings, beautiful setting, delicious food but standard room a little small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room we stayed in was spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom, the bedroom was too small really, given the price of the room. Additionally the television didn’t work and a manager had to fix it as we were having our evening meal. Also, we weren’t given the option of a morning newspaper and despite the large selection of teas in the room there were very few mini milk cartons!

    The location is beautiful with views from the balcony of the spa overlooking the sea. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the massages and facials in the spa were first class, as were the products that they used. The breakfast was delicious and there was a fantastic choice of continental and traditional Welsh breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and welcoming stay. We hope to be back when it is not so busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some confusion about what was available on a Saturday night as regards food.

    Very comfortable rooms and beautiful view over Bristol Channel. Food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and friendly hotel with good facilities in a quiet residential area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception area is rather cramped and dilapidated; some reception staff were more attentive to their computer screen than to guests; gluten-free options at breakfast comprised only some rather uninteresting bread

    Excellent location, good spa facilities, very comfortable and spacious room with a good view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Great welcome, food and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have a sea view due to availability, but some others in our party did (I'm not sure it would have been worth the extra cost in any case)

    Great location with easy access to central Cardiff by train, super friendly staff, good food and finished to a high quality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Amazing stay, hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    This was a last minute check in due to over booking and the staff were amazing. Definately a hidden gem and only £12-£15 in a taxi to Cardiff city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    I was looking for a smaller more intimate hotel experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was looking for a smaller more intimate hotel experience in a great location , Holm House was just perfect and exactly what I was expecting ...... perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    lovely view from room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very strong smell of drains on entering the room , which persisted .I MENTIONED THIS AT DESK BUT RECEPTIONIST JUST SHRUGGED AND SAID YES IT HAD BEEN NOTICED BEFORE !

    lovely view from room .breakfast v good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    I wanted to stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I was upgraded to the most beautiful suite overlooking the sea. The room was warm and comfortable and breakfast was wonderful with freshly made scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice property, well furnished and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think I’m expecting too much to have the reception staff acknowledge you as you enter the small reception area. At check out the bill was presented, my card into the machine, the credit receipt handed to me followed by the card, I picked up the invoice, folded it neatly, placed the credit card receipt inside it and put my card into my wallet, I said thank you and left! Surely for such a classy hotel, the basics of customer service are a requirement. The staff enter the hotel through the main front doors after smoking in the refuse area. Spa guests are walked through the breakfast restaurant to the Spa Entrance. So the stay and the hotel were both of a good standard, there are just a few basics missing.

    Nice property, well furnished and good facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Well located for our visit to nearby Pontypridd and Cardiff, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that plaice dinner option not available. Found this surprising at 8.00 in the evening in a hotel of this quality.

    Staff were brilliant, all polite accommodating and friendly. Quality of food in restaurant very high.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Very pleasant. Hope to return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a birthday treat for my husband. A real treat. Staff were very attentive, food was delicious and the room was immaculate. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Generally an excellent stay though we were a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited menu on Sunday evening.

    Generally an excellent stay though we were a little disappointed with the limited menu in the restaurant on Sunday evening so we ate out. Breakfast was very good. Room and bed were both very comfortable and staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Good stay but a let down this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in accommodation adjacent to the main building, while nice it means getting to and from the spa is inconvenient at best, at worst not worth bothering. Also, there appears to be no male changing room in the spa. This is taken up by two female changing rooms. This meant that I was forced to get changed in a toilet - very annoying!

    Very friendly and professional staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel , very scenic and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very firm didn’t have a great nights sleep and wasn’t told I could hire a costume for the pool

    Sky tv , could control heating , big bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Came away not wanting to leave, just about sums it up - Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I had to say one thing - I would have liked fresh orange cut into segments and possibly Grapefruit to add to the nuts dates raisins yoghurt for a more healthy start etc.

    Everything!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice for a night away. Good friendly staff who took care of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy relax room in spa as big group of ladies drinking prosecco. Not really the place for relaxing! Cold in the snug room

    Nice pleasant place to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    I don’t hand out 10/10 easily, but Holm House was spot-on!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly a big problem but the car park is a bit muddy underfoot when it’s wet

    A crisp, clean, beautifully designed room with a lovely bathroom. A standout breakfast and excellent service. Make time to enjoy the breakfast, it’s too good to rush.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Such a lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with amazing views, food was great but I wish the bar and indoor seating area was a little bigger. Spa was very clean and relaxing. Room was gorgeous, view amazing, so nice to watch the sunrise in bed! Staff were so attentive and friendly, can’t wait to come again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was overlooking the car park and the staff from the kitchen were smoking out side our window! and talking really loudly! Also the window cleaner woke us up cleaning our windows! But apart from that it was a lovely hotel!

    The food and the ambience was perfect! The spa was amazing and the staff were fabulous especially Keeley in the spa!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic staff and fantastic hotel. Very welcoming and the food was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Survey limiting as I stayed with family but not with children, but no option to select this. Had a spa break with my sister, and we had a fantastic time. I liked Penarth as it was very uncommercialised and quiet,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was the mud outside our apartment on the drive way however it was a wet few days so perfectly acceptable. Absolutely fantastic property. Outstandingly beautiful building. The parque floor and panelled mohogany walls in the reception was to die for! Highly recommend. Shame we overslept and missed brrakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely comfortable small hotel !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only minor comment is the possibility of having a bowl of fresh fruit salad at breakfast.

    It is a lovely small hotel with beautiful rooms and good facilities. The food is good in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    I just love visiting, you start off our festive season just perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have been here every year fr the last 4 years at Christmas, the service is excellent the little touches make a stay all more worth while, and we were astounded when we received a complementary upgrade to a suit, this place is very special to me and I recommend it to everyone looking for a weekend away with something extra special keep up the good work

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic stay and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Areas of the bathroom could do with a touch up, loo seat needs replacing. Also after sending a day in Cardiff and coming back to having our room made up the door was left open and unlocked.

    In general an excellent stay and we will deffo go back. It was our wedding anniversary and we have brownies on slate left on our bed with happy anniversary written in chocolate. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door locks and keys fiddly. We were informed there were no mushrooms for breakfast on two consecutive days.? ? Breakfast would have been enhanced with prepared chopped fresh fruit.

    Location......small hotel......dining area.........comfy bed.......few individual touches...seasonal decorations

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous, almost perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was upgraded to a junior suite which was great but it had a tiny single wardrobe. The kettle was perched up on a high, narrow chest of drawers and had to be plugged into an extension cord. When the kettle was lifted off the base, the weight of the extension pulled it off into the floor. All rather dangerous.

    Beautiful hotel in lovely location. Decor was very tasteful and public areas were very comfortable. Fab food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Made us feel special it was a real treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all

    Absolutely brilliant so much nicer than staying in a “branded chain” hotel we were so well looked after, beautiful room, lovely decor throughout and compact but very modern spa, will definately stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was lovely plenty of choices. We had outside room which was just what we needed with 3 year old grandson. Room was spacious. And we would definitely stay in that room again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    A good hotel that let itself down a little on this occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel claimed our room was sea view and it was but it was obscured by the extensive flat roof outside the window. The wi fi did not work and the hotel staff were at a loss to help. Communications with the breakfast serving staff was difficult. Sometimes we did not get what we ordered.

    The hotel was clean and well presented with the staff friendly and welcoming. The bedroom had all the facilities you would expect pus complimentary welsh cakes. The TV had a good range of Sky channels. I particularly enjoyed the swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Can’t fault them

    The staff were very warm, welcoming and ever so helpful. We received an amazing upgrade that included a sea view and stand alone bath. Definitely returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous ..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luckily for me, I was upgraded. Had a lovely room, just a shame I didn't check in sooner or stay longer! Did go flying on the floor in the bathroom, so be careful! Leave a good amount of time for breakfast. Cooked fresh, super waiting staff, would have been nice to have taken more leisurely. Reception staff could have been a bit more 'hello' and smiley, but overall it was a superb evenings accommodation and I'd definitely book again, with time to use the facilities and/or go for a stroll.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    lovely room for breakfast, beautiful outlook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, little details over looked, not acceptable considering a price tag of over £200, therefore...very over priced!

    lovely room for breakfast, beautiful outlook.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast

    Such a cute little place, very quiet, relaxing and the bedrooms are amazing! Very clean throughout staff were lovely! Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Autumn break by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All members of staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous, and the hotel has a relaxed atmosphere. Our room was pretty with plenty of space and large windows looking out to to a sea view. The evening meal was enjoyable and the pumpkin souffle for dessert was amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little- perhaps a fresh fruit salad at breakfast time!

    Beautiful room, wonderfully helpful staff and superb location! What more could you ask for!?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    We had a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not really a criticism but Holm House is a good old fashioned British hotel, so expect creaky floor boards and odd bit if dirt around the skirting; a bit like living at home really.

    Good location, with an easy walk to the centre of Penarth (1/2 mile) or the pier (1/4 mile). Very pleasant staff. Lots of breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall fabulous for a short stay and pamper
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hydro pool was not heated sufficiently when we went to use it in the the afternoon . No lift access to the suites .

    The location overlooking the sea was fabulous. We had booked a standard double and asked if a sea view was possible and the hotel upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge ! Bar and dining area beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    A very nice small hotel in a good location which we would not hesitate to recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were upgraded to a mini suite which was excellent. Comfortable and great view. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food was good. We would have no hesitation in staying at Holm House again or recommending to others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Really comfortable beds, overall very impressed with this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No alternative veggie options for cooked breakfast so bit sparse when you take off the bacon and sausage !

    Really comfortable beds, overall very impressed with this hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful too. Evening meal was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Quiet Sunday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were a bit disappointing as the pool was freezing and we were unable to use it.

    The location was wonderful and we had a beautiful view! The room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Love the personalized service. Thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is fantastic! The value for money is superb! Room is big and nice and breakfast is very good! The spa facility is great and its a great get away weekend. We loved it! Service is great, very friendly and welcome. We feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Everything at this hotel was excellent, Staff, facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything at this hotel was excellent, Staff, facilities, cuisine all faultless. We had a superb evening meal served by very pleasant staff in top class surroundings and breakfast was just as special. I made good use of the spa which was included in the price. I would highly recommend Holm House to anyone looking to visit Penarth.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Very happy newly-weds had a perfect stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    I booked this hotel for my daughter and new husband for they're wedding night. They were over the moon with it it had everything they needed for a relaxing stay after a busy wedding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a little tricky with large cars.

    Absolutely loved Holm House. Lovely staff, amazing view from my room Middleholm. Great service, tasty food and lovely location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed my 2 night stay here , the hotel was lovely in general and a nice location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better selection of food

    The pool and sauna was amazing ! So relaxing I stayed in 'the court' room it was really nice, clean, spacious and the bathtub was huge!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Great for a luxury night away.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little mix up when booking meant that we had to pay an extra charge on arrival and the accessible room we requested with walking show - turned into a second floor room. But we managed and had a very enjoyable stay.

    Great room with stunning view. Comfortable bed, beautiful facilities and so clean and fresh. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    First class service in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault it.

    The luxurious suite we stayed in with the picturesque view of the Bristol Channel. The Spa facilities and the very pleasant and helpful staff throughout the whole hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    It was delighful to come back to this hotel after a long day working. Great views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was a great stay.

    I was given a complimentary upgrade to a lovely room with a view of the sea. Doesn't happen often to me, and it was very welcome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Perfect for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer a buffet breakfast, but it was very tasty with good quality ingredients,so not really a complaint. Pool was a little chilly.

    We received a complementary upgrade on arrival and couldn't believe our room; bath overlooking the sea, huge shower, 4 poster very comfy bed,great tea and toiletry selection in room. Lovely breakfast. Despite being higher end hotel was still relaxed and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely one night stay, we were in the outside annex which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely one night stay, we were in the outside annex which offered a clean and comfortable stay. The hotel is in a wonderful setting on the sea front so drinks on the lawn are most enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Won't be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small. The room was smelly (the receptionist kindly fetched a nice smelling candle from the spa to mask it). The hotel was ridiculously expensive for what it provided (and yet it was fully booked so I guess this is just my opinion). My wife's meal was very ordinary and quite tasteless (she had cod and chips) and the peas were like bullets. The staff in the restaurant were poor.

    The hotel was 7 miles from the airport. Just like they said they were!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Book a suite always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows need to be slightly harder or have the option of harder pillows.

    The suite was amazing. The massage was also amazing! The service too. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Felt relaxed and well looked after at Holm House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had mentioned on booking that it was our wedding anniversary and the hotel had left some lovely brownies and strawberries in our room. The room and bathroom was lovely with a great view and comfy bed. We had the spa to ourselves on both occasions and felt really relaxed after time on the balcony in the relaxation area with a view of the sea. Would come back here for sure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot.

    Staff were amazing very professional and yet friendly - excellent we have both worked in catering and understand how difficult the trade is. Buidling and location very beautiful. Will visit again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A first class hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff were friendly, very accommodating and professional. The views from the top floor suite, which we were upgraded to on arrival, were stunning and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall a very nice experience, would stay again, and also revisit to use the restaurant and bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that there were no Welsh cakes as advertised, and we had a big issue with the toilet not working, but we managed, it wasnt the end of the world,

    My husband loved the breakfast, especially the croissants, location was great for us, and to be able to have a swim after such a long journey was great, so the pool was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel for business or leisure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little except please could you have a fresh fruit salad at breakfast time ?

    The situation of the hotel on the cliffs overlooking the sea is amazing and the garden is beautiful.The food was excellent and the ambiance and service in the restaurant is very, very good. Rooms are beautifully decorated with good wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay in spite of a few minor niggles mentioned above. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite the expected service and attention to detail one would expect at this price e.g. We were supposed to have complementary welsh cakes in the room but had to ask at reception next morning. There were warnings on the plumbing about very hot water but no clues as to how the plumbing worked or which direction was hot and cold. The shower knobs were actually the exact opposite of our shower at home. The receptionist had disappeared when people were checking out on Sunday morning and despite the best efforts of the chef he was unable to locate her. My husband kept banging his shoulder on the TV at the end of the bed when he walked past it.

    Fabulous sea view from the restaurant and the garden. Very comfortable room with a separate lounge area. Huge breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful hotel but not quite up to the 5* rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price paid, and the hotel rating there were a few things that were not perfect, e.g. our dessert arriving while we were still in the middle of our main courses, dirty glasses etc.

    Room service breakfast was lovely, and we really enjoyed the spa treatments

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    We had an excellent, relaxing stay here and would definitely come here again if/when we next visit .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit too warm (if I'm being really picky!)

    The suite had an amazing view. It was finished and fitted to an exceptional standard. The staff were very friendly and professional. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was first class , wonderful staff and surroundings. Would recommend to family and friends. One of the best we have stayed in, can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holm House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: