Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Holmlea Guest House

6 Southlands Road, York, YO23 1NP, United Kingdom

#64 of 84 B&Bs and inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 489 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    A beautiful presented room to stay in with little touches of home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They went out of their way to present a beautiful room for us to stay in. Every little detail was thought of from chocolates to flowers. They even gave us a lovely Continental breakfast which was unexpected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic break away, would definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ensuite for our room was across the which was a little inconvenient

    The room was very chi and tastefully decorated. The complimentary breakfast was a lovely touch. 10min walk to city centre, lovely area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for a cosy mini break and a great night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was extremely hot weather, so perhaps a little more ventilation would have helped our cosy room not get so stuffy.

    A quaint, cosy guest house that is the perfect location for walking into town. The balance between privacy and sharing facilities are just right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.5
    We found the accommodation okay if you don't mind driving into the town centre as too far to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too small for a double size bed and hardly any room to walk around it. Had to put our cases on top of the wardrobe as there was no floor space.

    The bed was comfy. Nice bathroom. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Feels like home - would stay again! Definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was beautiful but could include eggs

    Clean property, super comfy bed and very lively and helpful staff. Our room was upgraded without paying extra which made our stay even better. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Holmlea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.8
    Cute and cosy bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When booking online it said AMEX accepted but when checking out the lady said they don’t take AMEX so I had to pay using a different card which was annoying.

    Location is great being a 15 min walk to the centre. Check in process was clear and simple and being able to check in from 10am was excellent. Staff was friendly and there is free breakfast and parking included. Wifi was great and the shower pressure was good but a bit confusing to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bathroom

    Good location. Wasn’t too far from town centre. Lovely complimentary breakfast that we weren’t expecting! Lovely room. Bathroom small. Would recommend. Great parking available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Everything! Nice cosy guesthouse 15 mins walk to centre! Lovely room with plenty of tea and coffee, biscuits and even chocolates, nice touch!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    5.0
    Don't let them assign you room 5 until changes are made,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This room was a fire hazard!!! It was way too small to have a double bed in it. The only place we had to put our luggage was in front of the door causing us to be unable to open it. One of us had to move into a corner to pass each other in the room, and we are small people! The only way to make this room serviceable would be to take out the large wardrobe and the double bed and replace them with a single bed, small nightstand on the other side of the bed. A large person would not be able to fit in the shower.

    The room was clean and neat, the people friendly, but not around to be very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kettle had limescale and left a film on my coffee. The price of the room did not reflect the size of the room/bathroom, however, I appreciate it was York Races weekend and therefore all hotels had a price hike.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and the location to the city centre was perfect. The free parking and wifi; also very much welcomed. The breakfast in the room was really lovely, beautifully presented with fresh flowers. Orange juice, toast, yoghurt and fruit and pastries. Exceeded our expectations of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.5
    A good location to go out and about in York!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower facilities on the small side

    Very responsive host as we booked late in the day and had text message within minutes with full instructions to access the property We had left some items behind by accident and Sara was kind enough to post them all back to us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay, lovely weekend thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just that our private bathroom was across the landing as we didn't bump into anyone in the next room wrapped in a towel from the shower this wasn't an issue

    Staff very welcoming, the owner greeted us and pointed us in the direction of a few nice walks, bars and restaurants. Parking was very easy permits behind the front door nice quiet location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.5
    Historic York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Same key fitted the front door as well as the room so wasn't very secure. Everyone receives the one key for both room and front door.

    Location walkable to attractions of old town. Free parking out front. Breakfast ok. Self check in no problems.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little more surface space for kettle etc

    Brilliant location, very comfortable and well received/looked after. Great value for money and ideal for three day break to the lovely city of York. Our first but not, last time. Car parking a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.0
    Added bonus was a complementary breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and the bathroom was even smaller. We are average size and height and found ourselves bumping elbows and squeezing through.

    Added bonus was a complementary breakfast. The system they ave is well thought out. There is no face to face interaction with the owner. We met two people who only said hello gave us breakfast and kind lady who took payment at the end of our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    A lovely homey guest house close enough to the city to enjoy the buzz but far enough away to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was brilliant because there was a lot of choice and there was something for everyone! It also felt really homey, it didn’t feel like a hotel at all, it felt like home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Good location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasn't great & we did have a few issues with it but that righted itself. I did find the ensuite a little bit cold & you couldn't fully shut the door unless you were actually in the ensuite.

    Good location, around a 15 minute walk into the centre. Breakfast was good.....had we been staying for longer than 2 nights it would have been nice to have the option of a cooked breakfast. The bed was comfortable & we both slept very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.2
    Is close to town centre so only requires a short walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was slightly uncomfortable and it was a little bit cramped

    Is close to town centre so only requires a short walk. Good value for money and a complimentary breakfast meant we didn't have to worry about finding any where to eat on a morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.9
    The bed was comfortable and breakfast in room was good also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I did not like was that bathroom was separate from room, at night it was not good.

    The bed was comfortable and breakfast in room was good also easy parking with permit provided very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are a little small, but function well.

    We arrived really late and the host was very helpful and understanding when our plans changed. I love the fun wallpapers in the two rooms we booked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Lovely B+B that provides vegan options for breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big quiet rooms. Good location, about 5min walk to castle. Shops and restaurants nearby. Complimentary breakfast was a nice touch (and extra bonus points for providing a vegan option). If I am ever back in York I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    Close to city centre, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No replies to emails regarding arrival/parking...

    Very quiet, slept with window open and not woken or disturbed by any noise outside or by other guests...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    4.5
    Was expensive for first night at £95 for small cramped room so would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small and cramped. it was very warm with very little air, even with the window open. Toilet was not en suite. Because of this we had very little sleep.

    Staff were friendly enough. Located in a nice area close to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location excellent value. Exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Continental breakfast complimentary. Excellent. Brought to our room at our requested time by Florence who was very friendly. Warm toast, yoghurt, pastry and fruit and fruit juice! More than enough. Couldn’t be more complimentary to this b & b for value and location. What a find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    Meh. The guest house has got huge potential and it is indeed looking very nice, but with problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window insulation was bad, and I had a constant cold breeze blowing onto my head and shoulder for the whole night while sleeping (that is, trying to sleep). Glad that there were extra pillows I could use to block the cold to some degree. Hence the room was getting too cold too fast. We had to ask for a mobile heater - which they provided upon request, so that's actually a compliment. But guests should not have to do that for their own sake and comfort. Also, the room, and particularly the bathroom were too small.

    Nice looking property and nice room decor, with comfy bed. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a little visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thw noisy occupants staying in the room downstairs. Had to go down and ask them to turn down the music at 12am!

    Was lovely and cosy. Only stayed 1 night with my son so it did the job. Would come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing and a poorly run business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff sent us on a wild goose chase to get cash on the morning of our departure incorrectly advising of the whereabouts of the nearest cash machine. Their card machine was broken and we were put under pressure to pay by cash immediately! The management were condescending and patronising when I tried to explain that we had spent an hour trying to find a cash machine on foot with my young son in tow. The housekeeper made very personal comments which were completely unacceptable and irrelevant to the situation. The business us up for sale which makes sense in the light of our experience. The room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were very patient but by the end I was very upset by their attitudes and lack of courtesy considering it was their fault they couldn't take payment by card. I had offered to pay later after we had gone into town so as not to inconvenience us on the last day of our break. The housekeeper treated us as if we were about to abscond without making payment even though we were leaving our suitcases at the premises.

    The location was OK but much further from the station than indicated. The rooms were pleasant enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Really happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything I didn't really like about the property. Really nice building and rooms and great location.

    Clean, comfortable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Short enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was quite small

    We found the location very handy as it was a short walk to the centre of town. Very quiet area so no noise at night. Breakfast was great and staff friendly Decor of the room was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely book again the bed was the only problem!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit loud and squeaky

    Such a cute room, lovely set up. Cute chocolates on the bed and coffee/tea available in the room with a kettle:) 10 minute walk into town and FREE PARKINGGGGG

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    6.5
    It wasn't for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold until about 4/5pm when the heating came on. We stayed in room one, Our room was next to the front door which woke us multiple times when other guests came back to the house. We didn't have a good night's sleep at all.

    Easy to walk into the town and parking permit provided so parking was free outside the guest house. Lovely breakfast brought to our room in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable overpriced cramped and not en-suite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact we had an external bathroom and toilet I missed this when I booked it otherwise I would never have.. we asked to change but couldn’t so we put up with it we didn’t let it spoil our weekend but it put a damper on it,the room was I thought very overpriced it was small and didn’t look like the pics on website and of course no bathroom.

    It was comfortable and the breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.5
    Nicely decorated and affordable B&B, walking distance from York city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bathroom with electric power shower

    Nicely decorated triple room, perfect for close friends/family. Comfy beds and quite room. Hot toast & fruit served for breakfast in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    10
    It was very clean, the room was lovely, had everything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very clean, the room was lovely, had everything we needed, the breakfast in the morning was great, healthy and looked yummy. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend others to aswell. Thank you for a lovely stay xx

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely 2 night stay at Holmea Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely 2 night stay at Holmea Guest House. The room was cosy and comfortable. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the staff. Florence’s lovely breakfast trays were brought to our room each morning- a nice selection of toast, jams, yogurts, fresh fruit and orange juice. Cereals were also available. We would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    6.7
    Small but pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small although was cosy. Shower was terrible, literally trickling out. TV tiny. Bed too small, nearly fell out few times

    It was very quiet. Lovely staff. Quite close to the center. About 15 min walk. Easy check in. Loads of tea and coffee and breakfast in morning to your room which was nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    Sue who I believe is a cleaner was very helpful in letting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house is not manned 24/7 however there are 2 phone numbers one a notice board at the door so this didn't prove to be a problem. In the morning my partner and I were slightly late in checking out and felt as though we were a total inconvenience to the staff however we would definitely return next time we need a place to stay in York.

    Sue who I believe is a cleaner was very helpful in letting me into the property, quickly letting me know which room was mine and where the parking permits were. The room was big and cosy with a lovely en-suite. Breakfast was brilliant and on time and the house was quiet. The free WiFi is great and has a strong enough connection to be able to stream movies. Overall a wonderful stay with my partner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    10
    excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    having stayed there before we were looking forward to staying again. everything was great very warm welcome and the breakfast is excellent just what the doctor ordered.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable beds, good central location and nice bonus of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only slight issue we had as friends travelling was only 1 key for the room, rather than 2.

    Comfortable beds, good central location and nice bonus of breakfast served to room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    5.8
    Room was tastefully decorated, price was reasonable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of personal service, it seemed like I was inconvencing when I asked to pay, very little attention paid to guests. Broken lightbulbs left lying around in room. Check in system is very odd, I’d prefer it if other guests weren’t able to access my details.

    Room was tastefully decorated, price was reasonable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.3
    Good guest house, basic but clean with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heating set on a timer which we could not control, mattress needs replacing we turned it over. Breakfast ok but a cereal option would be nice.

    Staff, cleanliness and size of family room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Lovely b&b within walking distance of York centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely b&b within walking distance of York centre. But also nearby high-street was had some great shops, cafes and bars. We had a lovely lunch at Angel on the Green there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.5
    Quiet neigborhood yet 15mins walking distance to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet neigborhood yet 15mins walking distance to city. A bit of walk to train station tho, should go over a bridge which isn’t recomended if you have big luggages. Overall its worth the price:) And plus modest breakfast in the morning :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    The room was excellent- everything you could possibly want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very small but really that’s one tiny element that wasn’t too much of an issue.

    The room was excellent- everything you could possibly want. Breakfast was wonderful- delivered to the room. Great location. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    Unbelievablle stay thank you !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is not one thing to underate with this place of anything I wish there was a box where I could write more positives . Stayed with my partner and it was so cosy and warm in this winter weather ! .

    I searched every property in york and honestly this is the best !, location is a 10 min walk from pretty much anywhere central be it the train station on the main attractions and town, FREE PARKING OUTSIDE and you can leave your car there and walk into town which was a money saver , also they offered complementary breakfast SO FOR FREE !!, which was a unexpected kind hearted surprise , the staff where friendly home from home feel !, definitely would stay again . Thank you !.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    The room we had was very nice from the design, they've...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was asking for a Vegan Breakfast and received Products which contained Cowmilk, so that's a minus point, but received at least some Fruits and Soy yogurt as well :D +Point. Apart of that I was completely happy! Thanks :)

    The room we had was very nice from the design, they've got a good indoor design taste ;) I should also mention the staff was very friendly. Thanks for that! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.6
    Short but thourougly enjoyed it and loved the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It was very welcoming and cosy, we loved our room and we would be happy to stay here again, it was so close to the city centre we picked the perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    10
    Excellent location, cheap, clean, quirky, very well organised and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    10am check out. Room on the ground floor No full English breakfast option or dining area to eat.

    Quirkiness of the room. Well organised staff, breakfast, parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    7.1
    Would not suit everybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of a climb to our room. Room was roasting, we had to open window wide and switch off radiator. Fan in bathroom stayed on.TV switched itself on at 5am.

    Nice quiet area with bracing walk into the city. Good selection for breakfast but a bit cramped in our room. Friendly welcome. Parking not a problem with permit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    7.1
    Nic cozy, clean facilities, small rooms but you will find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sprung bet, thin walls.

    Nic cozy, clean facilities, small rooms but you will find wardrobe for your belongings,shower toilet,kettle for your tee. Complimentary brekfest in a room. Although sprung bed is not that comfy and the thin walls will let you her your neighbours. For this place I give 7/10. Distance from a centre 10-15min walk. Very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    4.6
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was hopeless Didn't see anybody at the hotel Nobody welcomed you We actually went in the wrong room as that was the only key left out ,didn't find out till the morning when an awful breakfast was delivered to the room .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    Lovely guest house, very clean and homely , slept amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv in the room was crackly

    The beds were so comfy , there was lots of tea and coffee available in the room , and also a complimentary breakfast to your room in the morning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    4.6
    Poor to average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for gluten free before I arrived as they offered it but they didn't have it so a poor breakfast option. Very unorganised ! A separate bathroom down the hall way.

    Tea making facilities, comfortable room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    5.8
    Comfortable beds and room. Tea and coffee plentiful. ITV channel unwatchable. Location poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was further away from centre than I anticipated. Getting in was difficult as no one answered the door for ages and had to wait until people were leaving. Later I found an e mail from Sara with code to get in . I rang the number of Sara by the door but no answer. Once in the room was very comfortable. Shower had poor power but was ok. Biscuits were there first night but didn’t reappear for second one and considering we didn’t request the complimentary breakfasts of toast and fruit a small packet of biscuits would have been nice. The ITV channel was unwatchable also and went back early to watch soaps and celebrity get me out of here but couldn’t watch them. Very disappointed.

    Beds were extremely comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities fab with lots of milk available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only problem was the shower...which was either ice cold or boiling hot...but it didn’t affect our two night stay

    Lovely quirky property We stayed in room 6...our twin room was comfy, clean and quiet Only a 10 minute walk into york Parking was easy and free

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Amazing value for money, other 2* places out there for MORE money! Be silly not to stay here.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One slight grumble, the TV was tiny. Not worth marking a star down mind you as everything else was perfect.

    The way the parking permits on a plastic bored is a great idea. Loved the decor and the friendliness of the staff! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.5
    Night in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking the hotel I was under the impression my room would be ensuite, had to go down the hall to access the loo and not convenient in the middle of the night.

    Staff was well mannered and helpful. Nice location and not to far to walk to the City Center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything about the room very clean room service was excellent just a 10 mins walk to the city

    Slept well in a very comfy bed no noise at all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a nice area and clean and tidy. Not far at all from everywhere we wanted to visit like the christmas markets, the minister ect. The staff were very helpful and helped me suprise my girlfriend with flowers and chocolates for her birthday which is what the trip was for. I lost 10 pound from my pocket outside of my room which the cleaner Ann found and left in my room with a note. Just leaving to go home and my car battery had died. Sue the cleaner pulled up her car and helped me get it started. The breakfast was nice and always on time. Overall great place to stay with great service. Would reccomend to anybody.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    5.4
    Will book elsewhere next time
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived on site. No one was there to meet us A message to call a number to get a code was on the wall. I am traveling from another country with no long distance on my phone and my phone battery died. A stranger on the street called and made contact so I could gain access to the room I had paid for. The lady on the phone was nice ad helpful however I don't feel that the it was a good way to setup access. Even an airbnb will give an email to contact with instructions. Very disappointed.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    A great respite after hours of travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter and I had a wonderful break. The B&B was so comfortable, excellently located and the staff and proprietor were lovely people. Breakfast was great. We would recommend to all and can't wait to go again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice continental breakfast was offered each morning as was a room refreshment. The staff there were very nice and personable. It was only a 10 minute walk from the station. I would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in York!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was lovely, but wouldn't have said no to a boiled egg or two ;)

    Excellent room, lovely comfy bed and nice bathroom Lovely complimentary breakfast Easy 10 mins walk to city centre Wonderful view in the evening as sun sets!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    7.1
    Ok not excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a surprise to be served a mediocre breakfast in our room. The accommodation was clean enough if a little shabby. The owners got a lot of money for one nights B and B for very little effort in my opinion. A decent coffee in the morning never goes amiss, not Nescafé out of a tube packet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay met the owner when she brought the breakfast to the room and she was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not ensuite I hadn,t realised it wasn,t until I went into the room.The bathroom facilities though was close by .

    Room comfortable ,very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.6
    It was homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was homely. Reasonable walking distance from train station and York city centre if you're used to walking. Breakfast served in our room and cereals, fruit, yogurt and fruit juice available outside of breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely B&B, beautifully decorated. Friendly staff. Room too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was far too small. As you ate breakfast in your room, there was hardly enough room to move. The bathroom door didn’t open fully as the bed was in the way. My partner is 6ft 3 and struggled to manouvere to get into shower without having bathroom door open as bathroom was extremely narrow. Sink had shelf over it which was very low down so difficult to clean teeth. Once suitcase was in there the room was very cramped and a struggle to both get ready at the same time. Beautifully decorated but should really have been a single room.

    The location was great, roughly 10-15 min walk into the centre of York, bed comfy, plenty of coffee and tea making facilities. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.8
    very pleasant stay and quiet street really good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was exactly as stated clean, comfortable and roomy but like all of UK it was up two flights of stairs luckily we only had overnight bags. If you are elderly with heavy bags check out the stair situation first Excellent service, polite, helpful and handy to walk into town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    6.3
    It was not a great stay, we made the most out of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a leak under the sink which ended up wetting our dresses. The single beds were not even single size more like children's bed size.

    It was cosy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful boutique boudoir
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was incredibly hard and I think they were a few plumbing issues. The main issue being an awful noise coming from the room above when either the toilet was flushed or water was used - I assume. That said it was a beautiful stay, but if you're a light sleeper like us, we unfortunately didn't feel rested

    Stunning room! Great location if you like a stroll. Sara was really helpful, full instructions left.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    4.6
    Worst bed and breakfast we stayed at during our 8 days vacationing in England and Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was old and way too soft. We couldn't get the shower to work and I even looked in the facility book but there was nothing about how to fix the shower. In the morning, the person cooking breakfast told us how to reset the electric that turned on the shower. Speaking of the person making breakfast, she couldn't read a map to tell us how to get to a specific place in town and she didn't bring up breakfast at the requested time. Fifteen minutes later, I went down to ask for breakfast as we had a scheduled tour time to make. She brought it up and of the two packaged muffins, one was open and a full bite was taken out of it. That was the straw for us. Would not recommend this place.

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    9.6
    Quality price, quality stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the bathroom was private, large and very, very clean, the Mrs. felt a bit awkward as it was separate from the bedroom. Didn't bother me though.

    A very enjoyable stay. Spotless rooms and a really comfortable bed. A quiet location and yet only a 10 minute walk to the city centre. Ideal and just what we wanted. Will not hesitate to book again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    8.3
    Easy check-in/out process, nice and clean - just very small and slightly expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. Breakfast is served in the bedroom, which means that it gets very cramped in the mornings. The shower was also really small too and slightly difficult to move in, and the tv was teeny tiny (but that's not too important!)

    The room was very clean, and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.1
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good stay. Paid £5 extra to ensure I had a parking permit but when we arrived there were several there on the side so wasted £5. Parking is on the main road and not on site so this would affect me returning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    The complimentary breakfast tray delivered to our room was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The complimentary breakfast tray delivered to our room was a lovely touch. We got a lot more than I thought we would - toast, jams, fruit, pastries, juice and yoghurt. We even got chocolates left on our pillow both days! York is an expensive place to stay and this guest house is more affordable than most. Plus, it is much quieter than the more central hotels. We would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holmlea Guest House Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: