Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Holmsdale 3 stars

6 - 8 Pleasant Street, Blackpool, FY1 2JA, United Kingdom

#294 of 379 B&Bs and Inns in Blackpool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Please tell staff comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away from the centre of Blackpool the parking is not great closest we could get to the hotel was a 10 min walk away

    Please tell staff comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.0
    Very disapointing. Good staff but well overdue refurbishment to the top floor accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay as soon as we crossed the threashold and saw the room, a definate warning I should not have ignored. The room we had was small and long overdue refurbishment. Dirty bathroom, mould, broken tiles and dirty floor with dust and cobwebs aplenty behind the sink.

    The staff and family were fine. A good breakfast with entertaining service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Basic guesthouse with lovely staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a little shabby, but I suspect better than most guesthouses in the area.

    Staff were very nice and friendly. Good location with a few minutes walk to the centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Good value accommodation with excellent staff close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to be more welcoming in the reception area which gives a feeling that the hotel is unoccupied. The area near to the hotel doesn't feel particularly safe.

    The accommodation was basic clean and offered good value for money. I was travelling alone but the room had a comfortable double bed. The lady waiting on at breakfast was both efficient and entertaining. The breakfast served up was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Pretty gud breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really only Wat mentioned also the owner took us to oue room and wen we returned later he gave us the wrong key so felt bad disturbing him late at night but we cudnt get in our room we didn't check either as we didn't think he wud get it wrong

    It's a lovely place stay very clean can't fault it at all the only thing was we were pur in a room by a blaring tv till early hours and a guy shouting very loudly and he was on his own 😔other than that it was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Good food, comfortable stay, friendly staff. Quite near to town and down the road from Beach, trams
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The druggies around that street and others were a great disappointment, spoils the place.

    The hotel was friendly and comfortable , breakfast was great and service too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Homesdale b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thee view in the morning, looked out over a garden , but for the money what do you exspect .

    Had a very friendly greeting , staff were lovely , I’m a celiac which thee owner understood and offered me breakfast every morning I choose not to but it was very nice off her to offer , Thee staff worked very hard nothink was to much trouble and there was a safe place to store our suitcases once we had checked out I would defo stay again .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Clean basic hotel close to all attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated - old fashioned decoration and furnishings Not very welcoming - booking in was not very organised - there was a mix up with our rooms and the Owner doesn’t come across as very friendly Wasn’t given WiFi code till departure No welcome pack in room Bar not open during my our stay ( it was one of the facilities we had looked for to give our group a meeting point ) Shower very temperamental- mixer taps Tea sugar milk pots and coffee all stuffed into one tin -

    Close to the town centre Clean and comfortable bed Clean bathroom Breakfast ok Able to accommodate a large party booking Lady serving at breakfast was quite funny - all be it a bit Strict with us all

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    VERY PLEASANT .GOOD BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AGAIN THE ADVERT SAYS THEY DID EVENING MEALS , A BAR ,AND HAD GARAGE SPACE , THIS WANTS CHANGIING ON THE ADVERT AS THESE WERE NOT AVAILABLE UNFORTUNATELY ,

    STAYED AT THIS HOTEL BEFORE , ALTHOUGH CARL AND JENNY HAD JUST STARTED RUNNING IT FOR THE NEW OWNER THREE WEEKS AGO , WE WERE MADE VERY WELCOME , AND THE STAFF WERE VERY NICE AND PERKY.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Homely Holmsdale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be critical-though this in no way marred my stay- the decor is a little dated but I found this quirky and quite homely.

    Friendly, welcoming staff that aim to please. Delicious cooked breakfast with quality ingredients. Comfortable beds, clean towels and linen. Quiet room at the back but the yards having planters made view pleasant. Enjoyed reading in the comfy lounge too. Showers hot and toiletries provided. Room temperature just right and windows opened for fresh air. Would gladly stay again. Proprietors Carl and Jenny very professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Room was decent and beds comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet took several flushes and there wasn't always hot water for the shower. Bins not emptied during our stay.

    Room was decent and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely and quiet clean rooms with everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little small but it was cosy and not really a problem nxt time we will go for a delux as everything else was perfect

    Lovely and quiet clean rooms with everything you need

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Value for money pleasant, comfortable, convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel itself was fine for the money and we had free access to the front door at all times. The décor is a bit tired but it is quite comfortable and there is a handy lift if you have luggage to carry.

    It was a fairly quiet location and very convenient for access to the town, the seafront, North Pier and attractions. Our room was on the inside of the hotel with a window onto a little courtyard which meant it was quite quiet. The bathroom had a good shower and we were provided with fresh towels every day if we wanted them. Also a supply of tea, coffee & milk was always topped up. The breakfast was very well-cooked and nice with a choice of cereal and a cooked breakfast and a glass of orange juice. Tea or coffee was provided in a jug for each person. The waitress, Doralee was delightful and made breakfast entertaining. There was a bar in the hotel for use by guests in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend break,without breaking the bank..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great just ted found the bed was a bit hard..apart from that all great worth the money x

    Brilliant staff very helpful easy to talk to nothing too much. Dolly the house keeper was brilliant very funny will definitely be back.. not far from anything nice walk to the central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I enjoyed my weekend.

    If you want spit and polish with nice creases, then this is not the one for you. But what it does have is comfortable rooms, quiet and peaceful, value for money and under 5 mins to the sea front. For me it was all about the location. It has a lift! Breakfast was lovely, the young girl serving us was a bundle of joy first thing in the morning. If you want the Wi-Fi code be sure to ask the young girl at breakfast, and also at the time of us going there, breakfast is at 8.45 - 9.30 as it isn't written anywhere for us to find out. It has seating out the front to sit and watch the world go by. The room was small, but it had everything we needed, comfy bed, clean and tidy, tea/coffee in room, bathroom was clean and at night it was peaceful and quiet, which was lovely. Our room was round the back. It served our purpose as we were out all day. One little gem be sure to book a table at the Stone Grill, look online, you are in for such a treat, if you like steaks then this is definitely the place for you with a twist! Get a taxi from b&b takes about 20 min, cost us £7 each way, we booked with blacktax, there card's in the foyer, popular taxis, nice and clean. We were lucky to get parking out the front. The question would be, would I stay again? Yes of course I would, I have no complaints! If you want posh then pay the money for a posh hotel, if your not to fussy then The Holmsdale will suit your every need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.2
    Small room and unwelcomed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male owner rather rude especially asking for little more milk . He made feel awkward and tried extra night for £46 although said £38 on booking and we found one £30 includes breakfast in town with lovely owners .

    The lady owner and guest sociable and pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    The room was spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There waa. norhing we didnt like had a great stay. Could not have been more helpful.

    The room was spotless. The owners were friendly and staff amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice clean comfortable room with friendly helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like is the window didn't shut properly in the room and we had people shouting and being too noisy outside all night which made it hard to get any sleep.

    Nice clean comfortable room with friendly helpful owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but goodenough for an over night stay

    Its close to the sea front. The room was all we needed there was also a lift in the property which was an asset the breakfadt was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, but, the owner did explain this, because we made a last minute booking!

    The hotel was on a quiet street and 2 minutes from the promenade. 10 minute stroll to the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    ideal location, good B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice B&B, small room but everything we needed in the room. good location. Breakfast was lovely and lady serving breakfast was very welcoming and chatty. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    Very comfy mattress and pillows to sleep on and room was nice and airy room. Lift to all floors was a bonus especially for luggage and disabled customers staying at the hotel too. Very friendly staff and owner very helpful in arrival to the property. Me and my partner Amy enjoyed our stay too as near trams and bus stops and loads of places to go and see and very close to the sea front just minutes walk and you are walking along the beach at low tide. Recommend staying here again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The Holmsdale guesthouse bang tidy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat lol but you can blame a guest house for that it was the weather

    The guest house was very clean the owner despite what you may read was very friendly and polite nice little bar on site.very good breakfast full English orange juice cereal (choices) oh don't forget the chirpy girl at breakfast she makes the whole day start off with her cheerful banter all in all very very nice would stay again. ....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Peace and quiet a lovely the owners were so helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just wanted to stay longer

    I loved the fact that the staff were friendly,happy to help nothing was to much trouble. And most of all we enjoyed the peace and quiet. The owners were only to please to help us. Every morning his(owners) wife greeted us with a friendly smile and told us of places with could visit which was useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were really friendly and happy. Spoke with all guest to ask about their day, very homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Extra seating with table. Lovely cooked breakfast with the waitress making the start of your day brilliant she was totally bonkers but looked after you greatly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Very warm wekcome from the owner Philip.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything i disliked about the property. I liked everything. It was close to train station and the north pier and was very quiet

    It was very clean and cosy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Short and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To put it bluntly if you require a lie in don't bother .as the cleaner was very vocal outside our room talking loudly laughing.as i left the room each morning to go for a walk.i was always asked .when can i clean your room .and hovering around waiting for my wife to vacate the room.very unprofesional.as my wife is a housekeeper in a large hotel she knows you do not wait outside rooms noisily.the only lie in we had was on the thursday which was the cleaners day off.

    The hotel was fine we stay in many hotels .no complainta about the room or facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Was welcomed but....
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    His Mrs couldn’t crack a smile, she was rude, un polite, didn’t want to help as it was the chap always coming to the door. Got back to the hotel room after the night out and was kicked out for noise complaints? How if I wasn’t even there. The words ‘you best leave now you noisy f******’s’ came out her mouth as I entered the premises before check out time. Oh and too add to it, there was a 100mg viagra chilling on our carpet upon arrival. How could the room have been cleaned?

    The old chap who owns it was spot on, very friendly, welcoming and helpful in regards to requests from the room. 10/10 for that good fella.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    2.9
    aporling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was an absolue shambles.the gentleman was not helpful very rude and the breakfast what can I say other then you wouldn't feed ur dog it.there was also damp in the bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    any problems during your stay speak with the owners
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    book in each room outlining what you need to do re breakfast times ect

    Left a review 29/4/18 after careful consideration about a payment issue i should have tried to contact the owner to put things right well they was apologetic and refunded my over payment so i feel i should rate this establishment fairly .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good quiet location but within easy reach of shops, pubs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet could do with a bit upgrading especially the shower and also the floor

    Good quiet location but within easy reach of shops, pubs and clubs. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast was great. Staff were really nice. Would recommend and would definitely use again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t polite. We locked the door from the inside thinking we could unlock the door from the outside with our key (like anyone would) so we went to get help to have him moan at us because he had to kick the door down. We did not get told you can’t lock the door from the inside. Very rude.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location you can book parking excellent breakfast rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at the same time as other guests if you don’t book parking in advance it can be a bit of a nightmare. The other guest wanted help to find parking we were trying to book in it became a a bit hectic

    Good location you can book parking excellent breakfast rooms are basic but clean and spacious bed comfortable and cosy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    We wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was greeted at the door after knocking once and ringing the bell twice by a rude man who told me off. What a great start l thought! He then proceeded to criticize my husbands driving, and when l explained that he hadn't long passed his driving test (at 69) and was not confident in parallel parking he began to mock him. Even asking "didn't you learn to parallel park on your lessons?. I was shocked to say the least. We didn't sleep for the two nights as we could hear every word coming from the other rooms. We also didn't have a shower for two days as the tiles and especially the shower door were filthy (photos can be seen by request)

    The breakfasts were fabulous and served by the most cheeriest of ladies we have ever come across (and we do a LOT of travelling). The dining room was spotless too. Nothing was to much trouble for Dora-Lee. The room was clean and tidy, the bed spotlessly clean with really comfy pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy especially in the mornings - rooms have thin walls

    Beds comfy, easy to get hold of owners if we needed to. Can’t comment on breakfast as booked room only. Location was perfect for where we wanted. Would stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    I loved how homely it was and how comfy the beds were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it had no air conditioning in the room I was in the room got was really warm and didn’t have a great sleep

    I loved how homely it was and how comfy the beds were the staff were really nice too I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view out the bedroom window.

    We both enjoyed our stay at your hotel it was warm with tea and coffee and a nice bed also a good shower.also very cheap for two nights with breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Easter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelt nasty.the manager wasn't helpful and he was quite creepy.it took ages to open the front door as all the keys were wonky. Wallpaper falling off walls

    The pillows were comfy.that was the only thing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.8
    Was glad to get bk home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Philip was miserable the girl at breakfast was great he was expensive in his bar was cheaper to drink out and single person would be better off going nearer to front really cold rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again, cheap and not far from the centre or beach, Great for short weekends away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking to the hotel- but managed to find a space that was safe luckily. The view from the room wasn't great but not a massive issue. There was mold on the windows but we just kept opening the window to air it out. When we arrived didn't get told much we didn't even know what floor we were on we had to work it out for ourselves. The door wouldn't shut properly had to push it with force. The toilet wouldn't properly flush until we left the last day and there was a bit of mold on the inside of the lid on the kettle which we left and didn't touch.

    The beds were very comfy! The showers was nice and warm, good heating, wardrobe was big and had lots of hangers. Not far from the beach or the central town and was easy to get too. The cleaning lady was lovely and chatty and made sure we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    It was good. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The teaspoon for our room was a little dirty so I had to go buy plastic spoons cause I didnt want to bother staff.

    The bed was really comfortable, i had a brilliant night sleep. Great value for money. Friendly housekeeper, she was lovely. Arrival was great, got checked in fairly quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.2
    Horrendous and cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and ceiling was yellow , the room was freezing (heating broke I’m guessing) door was broke , shower didn’t work and beds were uncomfortable

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean, nice but very nosy housemaid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the fact that someone had been through our things

    The bed was comfortable the place was very clean never really seen anyone, it was quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower too small and the heating was either too cold or too hot the rad valve did not seem to make any difference

    breakfast was really nice. hosts were lovely, value for money in the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating making noises when going off at night:-) didn't bother me in morning as I am an early riser.

    Owners and their waitress/cleaner polite and business minded. The hotel is homely,clean,warm and comfy. Beds comfortable,lovely soft bedding.tea/coffee tray an added bonus. En suite bathroom. Nothing not to like, no frills , furniture old but well kept. No reason to change for change sake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Good location free WiFi clean comfortable room good food friendly staff parking available all can't
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't stay long enough!

    Pleasant stay, comfortable reasonably priced friendly helpful staff much recommended Lift available to all floors and very useful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Peaceful,and comfotable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cant think of anything

    What we appreciated was the hotel was situated near the front, it was a quiet area,free from excessive traffic. Hotel more than exceed our requirement, "Clean room,with a more than adaquite breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.6
    Bed was uncomfortable with springs bulging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable with springs bulging. Breakfast was 8.45 till 9.30am. Felt rushed by owner to hurry up and finish as he wanted to get cleared up. Would not go again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Enjoy the town and managed to catch a great show in the Grand theatre. And enjoy a lovely afternoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners of the the B&B didn’t seam interested in there customers, and were a little miserable. and not people friendly at all. When requesting access to my car seam a major chore for them

    Location was good within easy walking distance of most of the attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Was could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner who greeted us was ignorant didn't want to know anything about us or our stay the room was very hot and small the shower was very small and me being a larger gentleman could not even get into shower my partner because there were lack of instructions for shower( or any information about hotel what so ever ) actually scolded herself In shower this I think is unacceptable on leaving the hotel the owner who took our money did not even ask if our stay had been pleasant or if we had during our stay any issues Also did not say goodbye and wish us a safe journey home would not stay here again because of these issues and would not recommend to a friend

    The waiting staff at breakfast was very good and the cleanliness of our room was faultless

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn't stay for a week

    The staff & owner were lovely, room great, breakfast wonderful, the owner could not have made us more at home (lovely chap)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall we had a lovely stay in Blackpool and would definitely come back to stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small and view was poor. Parking was bad but we were very lucky in finding a space very near the property so we left the car there and used public transport instead.

    Mattress was very uncomfortable but was swapped for a very comfortable one as soon as we complained. Very good breakfast, happy staff. Was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Good location but rude owner and cold room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner wasn’t the friendliest. I came in with a large suitcase as we had been elsewhere for a few days. He looked at it and said, very sarcastically, ‘and you’re here just for two nights are you?’ I took this as quite rude. It had nothing to do with him what I had brought. When I asked him if I could park in the car park opposite, his response was, ‘Not if you want blocking in and clamped’. We actually didn’t stay the second night of our trip, mainly because we were so disappointed with Blackpool but also because of the poor quality of the room, which had no heating on a wet and cold September, and the owner’s appalling attitude.

    It was just a few minutes walk into the main part of Blackpool. The cleaning lady was friendly and the lady of the house was polite even though I only spoke to her briefly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    For the price of the hotel , good value and easy walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise we had to book car park so had to park on next street

    We had a small room but it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast and the service fantastic The waitress could do enough for everyone The breakfast was a good size with extra toast and coffee This hotel is good value for the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Not far from the town centre and just round the corner to the prom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Booked car parking and the car park was in a private garage at the rear of the property. The staff are great, especially the lady who got us the breakfast. Will definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    It suited us both very well for the short stay we booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the shower

    Owners and staff very friendly Breakfast was cooked well and presented well Bedroom a good size bed very clean and comfortable Bathroom needs attention floor covering needs to be looked at and we had problems with the shower has it just worked from the 2taps and was very awkward to get the temperature at a comfortable heat it was either very cold or very hot .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. You get what you pay for - "cheap and cheerful" but good value for money.

    Nice quiet hotel, the policy of no children under 12 years of age makes for a calm and relaxing atmosphere. Excellent location only yards from the seafront and within easy reach of all amenities. The presence of a lift in the property was much appreciated!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.5
    Wonderful, staff very friendly and helpful, oh that includes owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard eggs and toast for fried bread,

    Very comfortable beds, room ample space for two,really easy to get to front, tram and bus, 5mins walk,can't fault hotel, maybe needs a bit updating but otherwise very friendly and staff go Xtra mile for you. Definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Room was ok. It’s not the best i have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not what I expected. Low standards. Poor quality products used and very basic with little effort. The lady was amazing thou and meets needs of customer service

    n/a

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Everyone was friendly, perfect breakfast in the morning, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiators didn’t work in the bedroom but overall we had a good time and really enjoyed our stayed.

    Everyone was friendly, perfect breakfast in the morning, and would definitely recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Hotel good. Illuminations and restaurant (Mandarin Chinese) good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking which was crammed so had to park in overnight car park ( only 600 yards away but open 24 hours ) . This is an all pay car park and cost £10 for overnight .

    Friendly staff and very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    staff was lovely as was breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking beds.

    staff was lovely as was breakfast. asked for parking as mobility problems was told booking.com dont pass this to hotel so no parking available hence was given parking ticket as unable to walk far. bed was old and not comfy. overall not bad for price paid xx

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    the bed was very comfortable and room was a good size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was awful . very cheap bacon and sausage egg was hard and cold fried bread was soggy. coffee was good.

    the bed was very comfortable and room was a good size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Very good had a lovely weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking - double yellow lines/residents parking all around available on road parking already in use Property does have a parking area but need to book & it was full Parked in council car park 5 minutes away - cost £14 for 48 hours - was OK and car was ok Bit of a rough area but hotel was nice

    Friendly staff Nice breakfast Room comfortable Superior twin room - quite small seating area consisted of 2 chairs didn't spend too much time in room so wasn't a problem Tram stop a 2 minute walk away - 1 stop to the tower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfy clean friendly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place where we had breakfast where we got sat was a bit of a squeeze for me and my partner. But other than that great hotel thank you for the stay will stay here again.

    The staff where great the breakfast was ok the rooms where really clean. We got lucky with parking. We would recommend this hotel to anybody good location and the beds are really comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    It was an enjoyable visit to Blackpool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was very close to the property next door and the owners of that property were carrying out improvements so we were woken at 8:00 every morning.

    Breakfast was very good, we had a choice of cereal, full English and toast plus tea or coffee. Room was adiquate and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxed and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Friendly relaxed atmosphere Fab cooked breakfast Rooms comfy enough for a short break The shower was hit and powerful brilliant Definitely would return to this accommodation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Thoroughly pleased with my 7 day stay at Holmsdale with my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A completely satisfied.

    Thoroughly pleased with my 7 day stay at Holmsdale with my daughter, very friendly & welcoming owners & excellent service from them & "Dora-Lee" Would definitely stay again & would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    did the job- wouldn't book again though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room, squeaky door everything was a bit tired and shabby. Owners were not very welcoming.

    Quiet, convenient location. Lady who did breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Good nights kip, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pressure on knowing your check-in time and the unpleasantness of not being very felixable. Website states latest check-in half 9. Also the towels didn't smell fresh or particularly clean. On street parking wasn't particularly great either due to location l.

    The lady's serving breakfast and cleaning the rooms where extra nice and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Very happy with my stay, couldn't have asked for any better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The covers were very plump, cosy, and smelt fresh which is what you like to find in a hotel. The shower was immediately warm and easy to use. I'm a vegetarian and would have been more than okay with just toast or cereal but the host offered veggie sausages so I was able to have a full English breakfast. Friendly staff and just an all round good place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Had a good 3day break weather helped (sunshine )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a view over the tops of garages with scaffolding and general rubbish on top. But did not go there to sit in room and look out the window so not a problem as such

    Location on road parking. Adults only. Friendly staff and guests

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    very nice place welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was missing hash browns

    the lady in the resturant was very friendly ..as was the owner It was close enough to where we wanted to be .bed comfortable shower good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice quiet location but bathroom needs attenion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better bathroom and a choice of brown or white bread at breakfast

    The bathroom was very old and the toilet hard to flush and it dripped all night..the Lino on the bathroom floor was stained and rusty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Reasonably priced for basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband has mobility problems and found it difficult to park close by unless we were quick to spot someone moving their car, we also had a little difficulty getting up the steps outside, so wouldn't recommend for ppl who have bad mobility.

    Beds were very comfy breakfast were lovey and young lady who served them was a very happy pleasant girl.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: