Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hope & Anchor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hope Cove, Hope-Cove, TQ7 3HQ, United Kingdom

#1 of 4 hotels in Hope-Cove

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.1
    ok, I think if we went back we would try a larger superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too hot due to hot weather, and only a very small window. A small fan was provided but noisy and inadequate. Very noisy customers sitting outside after we had gone to bed.

    Food good excellent views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    6.7
    Location is perfect, nice terrace with great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tables not clean, also doors, stairs mucky. Room under the roof quite hot. Waitress Alex very kind but as we checked out, the wife of the bookkeeper didn't ask if we enjoyed our stay. Not interested?

    Location is perfect, nice terrace with great view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with great food in an idyllic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No car park so you need to pay for the the public car park. Checking in at the bar didn’t feel very welcoming

    Very big comfortable room Big fluffy towels Big drinks selection in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Walking the Coastal Path - perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Busy staff sometimes forgetful of requests - but always apologetic when reminded.

    Perfect spot after walking all day on Southwest Coast Path. Surprisingly good food for the volume they do. Great view of the coast. Great place to put your feet up and let your mind wander.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.9
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All tables and banister were sticky. Place needs painting.shower not powerful enough. Room smelt of dogs.breakfast not brilliant. No mushrooms. Poor quality sausage.

    Lovely location. Friendly staff. Band was a good idea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    Super location overlooking Hope Cove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately unfriendly staff who were not particularly welcoming.

    Super location overlooking Hope Cove. Nice comfy bed and very clean room. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.5
    Nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms noisy! Could hear 3 people snoring in various rooms around me!! Hotel slightly expensive but guess you pay for the area?

    The village the hotel was in. Very pretty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend staying at the hope and anchor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Highly recommend staying at the hope and anchor!! Staff is super friendly and helpful! Hope Cove is stunning and worth the visit!! Room was great value!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    a lovely place to unwind and good for coastal walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    helpful attentive staff, lovely food serves in a nice atmosphere. Room clean with plenty of complimentary tea/coffee /hot chocolate with nice biscuits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Lovely location, great food, great real ales, comfy bed, nice view, friendly staff and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like having to go out at 9am every morning to put a new parking ticket on the car to avoid £100 fine but I guess that's just a consequence of the small cove location; though I should think parking must be a major headache at busy times.

    Nice view, comfy bed, friendly staff, food good and well kept real ales.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    A lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are literally paper thin - I could virtually every breath from the people next door (let alone snoring, burping and farting)!

    Its all about the location, which is jaw-dropingly beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent weekend away in stunning surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was ultra comfortable. Cleanliness exceptional throughout. Location phenomenal. Staff very friendly and helpful, particular shout out to Mark who is outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sea Gulls !!!!

    Everything...the staff were professional, attentive & friendly. The food was very good, I highly recommend the eggs benedict. My room was very clean & comfortable with a beautiful view of the cove.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    6.3
    Stayed for my daughters 21st. Lovely staff but overpriced and needs attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were significantly overpriced. I paid £120 for a twin room. The quality of the decor, peeling paint etc, marks on walls, poor quality bedding. It wasn’t a great stay.

    Breakfast was good and the staff were nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cooked Breakfast was poor , over cooked bacon & sausage , undercooked egg , too much fried bread , presented on plate in a pile ! No Camembert sharer ? No main fish ! Seafood curry good but not enough fish for price .

    Situation Restaurant service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, can't wait to come back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom floor needed a good hoover and scrub.

    Family and dog friendly. Large comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Felt really looked after.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner could have been better but maybe unfair as we picked new items off the menu. Breakfast was very good.

    It's the location that makes this visit so special. Walk across the one lane road and you're looking dowm on Hope Cove. Very quaint, lots of good walks. The inn has it's own restaurant with breakfast and room views of the ocean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    very enjoyable short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    being on top floor with no lift but to be fair we didnt ask when booking for a lower room it was difficult for partner due to recent illness

    very comfy bed kindness of housekeeping staff when partner had to rest during the day location beautiful politeness of all other staff very nicely furnished rooms warm and cosy lovely views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant staff and good breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room overlooking the bin areas Problem with toilet cistern and towel rail was unable to be switched on (very cold)

    Pleasant staff and good breakfasts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel....may be too noisy in the bedrooms in the summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definitely need two easy chairs in a double room....maybe having a separate area for residents to chill in the evenings..comfy sofas etc (space allowing)

    Lovely hot shower..enjoyed controlling the temperature in the bedroom..excellent food and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent short break and happy to stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath side was showing signs of water/wear

    Excellent breakfasts and delivered quickly via high-tec process. Multiple eating areas enabled busy or quiet eating/drinking according to mood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not being able to order a pint at the bar, to be told to take a sit to order...finally place order 15 minutes later then when our drinks arrive they forgot my pint! How can a pub ban people from ordering a pint at the bar lol

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic will definately visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unprotected candles on the tables a lot of children in bar (half term) my napkin caught fire when it unravelled just an easy safety thing!

    Amazing location,lovely rooms good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.6
    Idyllic, beautiful, fabulous food, setting and Sunset skies
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear the people in the room next door early evening but didn't have any noise issues at bed time or during the night. There were people playing table tennis outside until late but again it didn't bother me I was watching a movie on my ipad. Parking would have been an issue as I didn't have any change for the machine but luckily someone was moving in the small pub car parking area which meant I got a space. So I would advise all guests have some change for parking metre.

    Loved the beach, views and walks. Didn't take my dog this time but will definately be back. Fabulous sunset. The room was clean and very comfortable bed. Food was delicious and breakfast very yummy. For the cooked I was able to select mine carb free easily. View from the breakfast area stunning, even though it was raining. I was travelling alone but felt very comfortable eating the in restaurant amongst other diners.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    10
    VERY HELPFUL POLITE STAFF - GOOD FOOD & DRINK,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    VERY HELPFUL POLITE STAFF - GOOD FOOD & DRINK, WONDERFULLY HISTORIC LOCATION, WITHIN SIGHT AND SOUND OF THE SEA, VERY RELAXING ROOM & LOUNGES...HOPE TO RETURN - TO HOPE!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    7.5
    Great for a couple of nights stay in this picturesque seaside location with scenic cliff walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found it rather noisy when trying to sleep with people talking outside late at night directly under our window. Also noise really carries from other rooms and people walking along the corridor.

    Bed very comfortable and room nicely furnished. Great shower. Excellent breakfast. Warm, cosy and comfortable bar/restaurant area with good ambience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.6
    It met all expectations and more was an amazing stay and have recommended to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very hot even after we tried to turn the heating down!!

    We went on a Friday and they have a special on fish and chips 2 for 1 amazing quality the best fish and chips I have had!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    7.5
    The evening food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was a band playing in the bar during the evening and our bedroom was directly above so couldn't sleep until the band finished. Also the floor boards on the room above us was very squeaky so we were woken up at 7.15 am when the guests above us started moving around.

    The evening food was very good. The view from the bedroom and the breakfast room was brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    A very pleasant break in our busy lives at a beautiful place and in very pleasant surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For us the portions of food were too large and therefore wasteful. Lovely favour..an option for smaller portions would be good. Prefer husband/wife in questionnaire to partner!

    Very friendly,helpful staff. Very close to beach, cliff walks, and breathtaking scenery. Lovely to have a shop so close and open at this time of year. Enjoyed staying at the Inn for every aspect.Hope we can come again sometime.We needed a restful break and that is what we had Thankyou to all who helped us to achieve that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    The stay provided us with everything we had wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite happy with everything

    The location next to the beach and in a quiet village was perfect. Plenty of hot water to enjoy a relaxing bath and the room had a bath. Many hotels only have showers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Lovely romantic little jewel !!! And you can take the dog too ... Brilliant !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, phone reception not too great but hay !!! your on a break ... switch em off ..

    Everything, fantastic spot . right next to the sea .... literally !! wonderful place , foods great and the breakfast is lovely too. Proper bacon and proper sausages ... loved the whole stay .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location. We’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food could be a little better - a little plain. Also - they need to advertise the Cottage better as it isn’t obvious it exists for rental!

    Excellent hotel and staff. We stayed in the Cottage that is an amazing property! Much improved overall after our last stay 2 years ago that was near poor after recent refurbishment at the time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    Atmospheric cove to stay, cosy pub with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only criticism, tea pots needed warming for breakfast, tea not hot enough.

    Very pleasant atmosphere in pub, cosy fires. Really friendly staff. Very comfy beds, good shower, good size TV, decor excellent, food very tasty, good value for money. Nice to lie in bed and hear the wind and crashing sea! (November) Lovely village of thatched cottages to walk around. Good access to coastal paths. Fabulous breakfasts, good choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hope and anchor is superb in every way . It's a warm friendly atmosphere. Very comfortable with delicious food. The staff are friendly and helpful without being pushy. The rooms are done to a high standard all with views of the beautiful cove . I went on my own and had a wonderful time .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.3
    We would return and would definitely go for the deluxe room again. However, we would eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in the pub was dreadful. We ate there three times and each time the food was well below par. Bit like a Wetherspoon’s pub!

    Location is very nice. The room was of a good size and the cleaning staff were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    A beautiful and relaxing location although with plenty of beach and walking opportunities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very busy but perhaps this was due to it being the half term break.

    The location was outstandingly beautiful and the sound of the waves crashing in lulled you to sleep. This was our first visit to this part of Devon and we will certainly return. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff attentive. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced, allow pets in restaurant, need a separate entrance for b&b customers.need to get to breakfast early, to get the Danish pastries

    Comfort of Bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay with friends. Service from the staff, who even sung Happy Birthday to me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather. The long walk up the stairs to the room.

    A very comfortable room apart from the eaves. Would have been better to have a room on the lower floor to avoid all the stairs. Cleanliness excellent. All staff very friendly and welcoming. Food choice excellent and well cooked and presented. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent; by the sea with good food & service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst it did not affect the enjoyment of our stay the bedroom decor is just a little tired, whilst very clean.

    Location excellent can hear the sea with bedroom window ajar, what more could you ask for. Well you can, as the service level and staff attitude is amoungst the best. Food and drinks priced fairly both choice and quality really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    7.9
    Room with great view, but a bit overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in...come on..you expect guest to leave at 10am and can't get rooms ready by 4 !!!! after a long walk we got the room keys after 3pm, but had to wait another hour...while gentlemen (member of staff ?) was relaxing on the chair in the half ready room, with hoover in hand, telling us to grab a pint.

    Comfy room with great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable and relaxing stay - having the lovely weather was a bonus !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking !!!

    The excellent friendly staff nothing too much trouble . Very comfy bed and bathroom excellent . I am gluten free and the staff were very helpful with alternatives on the menu and adjusted the food for me .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    Beautiful location for peaceful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautifully decorated, large, comfortable room with window seat overlooking the sea. Great place to relax , unwind, read, walk and explore, eat good food and drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    6.7
    No reservations taken for dinner, although guests are given...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reservations taken for dinner, although guests are given priority. Locally caught fish are the highlight on the menu. Great walks on the nearby coastal path.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    9.6
    Idyllic location. Excellent service all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roads/lanes very narrow around the area. I was thee for a beach event so the volume of traffic was obviously unusual. Stuck in lanes with the local tractors- very stressful!

    Housekeeping were exceptional- tidied up after us! Not your usual service! Above and beyond. Spacious room, lovely decor, beautiful views. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.2
    Beautifully situated pub/restaurant and with great weather, we had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms got very warm, but fan was available. Had to pay for parking, day and night, no hourly fee available on day of departure. Kids charged extra for breakfast even though all breakfasts were stated as included in price.

    Great location, can hear the waves at night! Rooms recently done up so clean and fresh, all mod cons available. Breakfast great. Views fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    Good food and a wide variety of beers in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware of the public parking space near the hotel! You pay only 1GBP for overnight parking till 9AM. And you can`t spend more in the evening if you want to stay longer in the morning. Because we were a little late (20 past 9) , we got a 100GBP parking charge notice (issued at 9:12) !!!

    Good food and a wide variety of beers in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, all was brilliant. staff very helpful as we needed to get a bus back to Teignmouth , .

    fabulous staff, wonderful spot in south Devon. lovely food. On the South West path route with great walks near by

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    8.8
    Picturesque place, very good pub restaurant/b&b but very remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hope Bay is very difficult to reach by car and traveling to Salcombe needs to be by taxi as parking is very difficult. Taxi's are expensive

    The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help us. They made our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Brilliant,a genuine 5 star experience,in a pub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing,you need to be prepared for a lot of chips with your food but they are some of the best we have ever tasted.

    This place was outstanding,despite being a busy pub it is so well run and the accommodation of such a high standard,that it is great value for money.The locaction is scenic the atmopshere relaxed but efficient and the staff really do engage with you and make for an enjoyable stay whoever you are.No one could fail to enjoy staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Warm and welcoming hotel in a stunning location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite hot in the room but a fan was provided and we were visiting during unexpectedly high temperatures so probably to be expected!

    Beautiful location. Kitchen was happy to accommodate our very last minute food order 10 mins before closing and when I tried to buy a bottle of water at the bar when checking out, staff gave it to us on the house due to the current heatwave! Little things added up to a big yes from us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.2
    bed was very comfortable, breakfast good, I liked the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot in room could benefit from some cooling a fan at least

    bed was very comfortable, breakfast good, I liked the separate entrance for B & B guests rather than going through the bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly staff. Great location overlooking the sea. We stopped here overnight after walking the coastal path. The room was clean and comfortable. We had our evening meal and breakfast here. No complaints whatsoever. Would definately recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    9.6
    the room had a fabulous view over Outer Hope Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes, as the weather was great and the staff and other guests very nice.

    the room had a fabulous view over Outer Hope Bay. It was a decent size and had a very clean modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely furnished. The pub/restaurant was roomy and the outside areas had good seating. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We did not eat dinner there as we were meeting family, but our daughter and family ate there after we left and said the seafood platter was lovely. The rate for the room was fair through the booking.com site and the actual Hope and Anchor was situated near some spectacular coastal walks and beaches. Also near was Inner Hope bay which was a beautiful place. If you go by car visit all the local places of interest. Old Norman churches, lovely hamlets and bays such as Thurlstone, and Bigbury on Sea, and Burgh Island.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach became smothered with sea weed great mounds of it as it is a small beach not good

    The customer service was brilliant lovley staff always smiling and eager to help the best I have ever had

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, lovely staff but at £140 a night (with a pet extra £10) it is not value for money
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the breakfast was not included in the price I would have been disappointed with its value. Also, as we picked this property not only for its location but also for being pet friendly, I was very disappointed to find out at check out that I had been charged an extra £10 for taking my little dog along! There was no mention of this at all in any of the information I read beforehand. It should have also been stated that this property is not the most straightforward to get to once you are near to its location.

    The location of this B&B is amazing being right overlooking and opposite to Hope Cove beach!! However, the last approx. 1.5 miles to the property is a single track lane with passing places that gets a bit interesting when the brewery truck is coming in the opposite direction!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    10
    Our stay at the Hope and Anchor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very dog friendly and I'm not a dog lover but fab place and location to take dogs

    The food was fab, staff very friendly and the property very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    7.9
    Make sure you don't get room 7
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like being sold a room situated above the rear service entrance so that from 6.45 am all we could hear was deliveries and staff banging around. It felt like the " Cheap seats " and spoilt our stay. When I mentioned it to the FOH breakfast chap he told me that it was also noisy in his part of the village. An apology would have been good but we couldn't fault his attention to breakfast.

    We liked the friendly staff and the open mic with local people playing and singing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only fault was bathroom heated rail would not turn down or off so room was too warm.

    Excellent accommodation. Beautiful area, peaceful & relaxing break

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    Stunning location, for walks or just to sit and people watch with a cold drink or coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would have preferred a few more options for the menu's but understand the choices as this is a very busy location, very well organised very fast and efficient.

    All the staff went above and beyond with any requests even popping to the local shop for some semi-skimmed milk!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    9.6
    A gem on the South Devon coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Delicious breakfast, great choice. Staff delightful very obliging,helpful and cheerful. A gem of a find on the south coast path so lovely walking to the east and west with fantastic views. Ate here each evening delicious meals with fresh fish dishes. Family and couple friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    9.6
    One of Britain's Best Secrets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Menu system was a little complicated until you got the hang of it!

    Food at the Hope & Anchor was amazing: excellent breakfast, varied lunch and dinner menu (best fish and chips we have ever tasted !) Room was quaint , clean and comfortable with great tea making facilities and toiletries .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    10
    Home sweet home.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think they should negotiate with the car parking facilities next door to reserve some spaces, so there is ease of parking.

    We have been coming to Hope Cove for the past 5 years, it's like coming home & we will definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location great sunset but an ordinary stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty dated and very ordinary linen. You could hear everything from the next rooms Breakfast was not served until 8.30am -fine if you are on holiday but too late for many.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower pressure in room number 5 very low, took over an hour to run a bath half filled.

    Lovely modern design, great breakfast selection, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    10
    Great venue we recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking, as very limited in tiny area next to hotel. Public car park right next to free area, however £4.00 charge whenever you arrive and expires 09.00 right in the middle of breakfast period (08.30 to 10.00) which means another minimum charge of £3.00 until checkout at 10am.

    Overall an excellent choice of accommodation that we can recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Engagement at Hope Cove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet paper could be better quality and softer .

    Bed was very comfy,lovely hot bath,great choice for breakfast.Great location,very friendly and helpful staff. Absolutely loved our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    7.1
    Looks lovely but need to improve on the substance of the place, get the basics right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insulation in the walls needed improving (could hear the couple next door!) and the water supply to the shower was very poor when someone else turned on the shower.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    10
    Hope and anchor a warm cosy place to spend a raining cold day ! with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pay and display car park , although it's cheep £1 over night , it's a pain having to go top the meter up if your parking at different times as night charge starts at 6pm so having to pay for 30 mins at 5:30 to have it expire at 6 was a pain an agreement for a period block parking charge would be good

    Lovely family run pub with accommodation lovely friendly staff and very warm and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    7.9
    Service could match location with a little more effort.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't have Guinness Didn't have Martell Brandy Didn't have sweet of choice Mistake on final bill On one overnight experience felt room for improvement.

    Location. Good Food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    10
    will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better soundproofing in rooms

    Beautiful location, sea view, comfy bed with everything I needed in the room. Food superb at dinner and breakfast and staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    9.2
    Location superb, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At this price nothing could be improved, wonderful value for money.

    Location superb, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent and food in the pub also very good. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or to return. Perfect for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    10
    Fab short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking. Only a few spaces which were free otherwise it was the pay and display car park.

    It was a fab couple of days. Staff, food and rooms were great... View from our bedroom was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect quiet coastal break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower head was quite low.

    Breakfast - good selection of continental, and hot breakfast made to order. Location- could see and hear the sea from the room. Nice location for coastal walks. Salcombe and Dartmoor National park close by too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell around pub Smelt strong disinfectant Dog was sick on floor at breakfast Not pleasant Dogs should not be there When people eating in restuarnt

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    7.5
    Adequate but disappointing for the cost. Dogs made welcome. Nice atmosphere in the bar.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was really too small for 2 adults with 2 small dogs. Room was too hot in the night. Room was too high up when we had to take dogs out for toileting early and late. We had to carry the dogs up two flights of stairs. Food was disappointing for cost. One dinner had to be returned to kitchen, after which we ate our main meal out of the pub. Breakfasts were also very disappointing. Poached egg on toast ordered came as hot bread and the poached egg served beside it was laid on a cold plate, so when toast was returned on that plate, the egg was stone cold when returned to us. Also, no-one wants green leaves with a cooked breakfast! Similarly, the continental breakfast had very limited choice of fresh fruit and prunes were not even offered. Choice of cereals and cold meats was very limited.

    Very comfy beds. Pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: