Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hornsbury Mill 4 stars

Eleighwater, Chard, TA20 3AQ, United Kingdom

#8 of 11 hotels in Chard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    It really met out needs with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really helpful and friendly staff - daughter was getting married nearby and we had a friends and family meal there the night before and daughter left from hotel for wedding - really lovely supportive staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    A warm and welcoming venue, lovely to feel you were 'sharing the local lifestyle'!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Fabulous setting and ambience. Great service, great food, very friendly, family atmosphere. Enjoyed seeing peacocks and ducks at close quarters in the beautiful grounds. Whilst we were there the venue was being prepared for a wedding - looked like it would be an outstanding setting for a special experience! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay in delightful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything. The food was always freshly prepared so took a while. This wasn’t a problem for us but may be for others.

    We, along with family and friends were very well looked after. Location is lovely. Food was tasty and well presented. Staff were always friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok but glad it was only for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had a beam running down the middle not good if you are over 5ft 6 in. The bed was like sleeping on a trampoline. Very small shower.

    The hotel its self good location. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing but not disasterous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the members of staff didn’t really seem to know what she was doing and was very loud, she forgot to bring our wine until reminded. When he bought it to the table she didn’t aak if we wanted to try it and didn’t offer to pour it. The pork was tough and the food was more like pub grub than al carte. Portions didn’t need to be as big . The potatoes were dry. The the room was big but the tv was tiny. I would have expected better quality for the type of establishment. The restaurant toilets had a tiled floor which made it look cheaper than it is and needed some finishing touches like a nice wicker basket to dispose of towels rather than a grubby plastic bin. For the quality of the facility, I would have expected to pay like £75-£80 a night.

    The location was good and is in a nice setting. The Pinot noir was excellent. The reception staff were good and the lady with dark hair serving the food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Lovely, spacious, clean family room, gorgeous setting with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure there was anything I didn’t like.

    Nothing was too much trouble. As a family of four with two very young children we originally booked two double rooms and they called on the way to ask if we wanted a family room instead which was perfect for us. It was also situated on the ground floor which made it easier for us to come back and forth. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very attentive. Definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay & will certainly be using the hotel again when I am down on business in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor niggle was the beds in room 6 need a new bedframe as the two singles in there rock a little more than you would expect when you move but they are comfy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Like stepping back in time to how a hotel should be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like

    I liked the ambience of the hotel, it really was a delight to stay there, the staff were friendly and the gardens were beautifully kept. We also had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Best I have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    From the moment I stepped in through the door, everything was perfect, staff were friendly and very informative, nothing was too much trouble, upgraded to a suite, meals brilliant and so was the service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous place, a real find.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place to stay. The location was great with superb grounds and the accommodation was very good. Large, clean room with a comfortable bed and more than ample supplies of tea/coffee and bottled water provided. The staff were brilliant, so friendly that they made the place feel like a home from home. Beware of the low beams in the corridor/room, but that just added to the charm of the place. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    The weakest part of the stay was the restuarant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weakest part of the stay was the restuarant. Examples: Pan fried sea bass served with savoy & bacon sauté potatoes & green beans. I should have read the menu closer but bacon spoiled the dish. It was wrong with such a delicate fish. The sirloin steak was tough. Somerset Smokey, cheese & biscuits, duck were very good. We had a full English breakfast but it was too much, the bacon was very salty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff, comfy bed, nice restaurant and bar. Perfect for the short time I was there!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely feature beams in upstairs room. Most would love it, but me at 6 foot 5 could have done with a crash helmet!! Splitting hairs though. A lovely place all in all.

    Lovely staff, comfy bed, nice restaurant and bar. Perfect for the short time I was there!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    A nice apartment and facility let down by worn out furniture and some unsafe features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was "tired" and we tended to roll towards the middle. Couches in the sitting area were many years past their use-by date. Lumpy, sagged and uncomfortable. Door closer lever on bedroom door was almost eye height for my husband. Very dangerous for tall people - as were the remainder of the apartments ceiling beams. The ceiling height is probably a given for the age and former use of the building but there was no warning about the low overhead beams etc when we checked in. (Eg: Mind your head.)

    Bathroom was nice and roomy as was the whole apartment. Water pressure was good. All clean and tidy. Restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.2
    overnite stay on route, would not stay again they were more interested wedding side of things
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet had 2 burnt iron imprints on it. the tv did not function properly there was a cracked pain of glass in the window, the tea/coffee tray was in an awkward place.

    Breakfast was good staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Outstanding room, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, awesome breakfast, and marvellous grounds..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming atmosphere as soon as I walked through the door with live music on offer in the lounge/bar. This great impression continued throughout my stay and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    A lovely hotel that we will be returning to one day.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The setting was beautiful, with the hotel located close to a small lake and its various wildlife (ducks and peacocks). A bonus was just before our departure we managed to to see the water mill in operation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    A Fantastic Place for a Meal in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very tired and desperately needs some TLC. Various things were not working e.g the bathroom lights. The bed was lumpy and had a cheap mattress and duvet. The bar maid had never heard of Tio Pepe and they had no dry sherry of any kind in the bar.

    The hotel was in a beautiful setting and a lovely old building. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The best thing of all was the food. They have the most amazing chef both dinner and breakfast were excellent. The blueberry pancakes and the egg Florentine at breakfast were superb. And equally excellent value for the reasonably priced menu. Do go and eat there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced, run down and not what we expected at all. Staff were very friendly however
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived to find booking.com had mucked up our reservation and we had to pay an extra £25 for my girlfriend to stay. The hotel felt run down and was definitely not a four star as described. The bathroom looked like something in a hospital and the worst part was the bed which made so much noise that if you even slightly moved it would wake you up. Overall definitely not worth £110 for a night and needs to improve dramatically

    The grounds are beautiful and for weddings the setting is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Hornsbury Mill was a peaceful and interesting haven, very convenient for countryside & coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service at meals was slow. We liked the old beams but had to be very careful indeed not to bang heads on the one in our room.

    Lovely grounds, character of property with a watermill. Caring staff and everything provided in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Great Relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in a very rural setting, Hornsbury Mill is very quaint & idyllic. The staff were very friendly and dinner & breakfast were good too. I would definitely stay again if I were in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much locally. Low wooden beam in our room was an absolute pain.Can appreciate it was an old building,but every time you walked about in the room,you had to keep ducking!!!!!!

    The grounds it was set in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    Lovely outlook but breakfast needs improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not a proper buffet, coffee dreadful, no continental breads and smoked salmon ran out.

    Lovely location; a very positive welcome. Bathroom was splendid and bedroom was a good size on the ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant, nice relaxed stay, beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred hash browns to the fried bread

    The setting was beautiful, we stayed the night before our sons wedding and the hotel added to make it a perfect weekend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Could be great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our view was that this hotel is geared up for the local wedding market and mid-week guests are a bit of a side show. As a wedding venue it ticks a lot of boxes and I`m sure it does that very well. In the end it just a bit ordinary which is a shame as some attention to detail would make it worth the money.

    Location good for one or two overnights. Not far from Chard, Ilminster, Yeovil. Interesting place to stay with historic 17th century watermill largely intact. Staff were friendly and welcoming although it felt a bit understaffed to us in terms of numbers and expertise given that the room was £110.00 for one night. Breakfast was all OK but just a bit lacklustre. The evening dinner menu was again just about on the money but there was nothing there that a competent cook could not cope with. There were no Dishes of the Day other than some left overs from the lunchtime menu so if we stayed again we would push off to Chard or Ilminster for better value. The room was a good size and the en-suite was fine with a decent shower. The king-sized bed was comfortable let down by the mattress being far too bouncy and the duvet was winter grade which made it unsuitable for hot summer nights. Even Premier Inns manage to do this so with 10 rooms I don`t see this as much of a challenge to get right. The gardens and outside areas are lovely and worth a walk round.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dissappointed with meal in restaurant. Could do with improving. Plastic flowers, paper napkins, dirty cutlery

    Room number 1 very spacious on Ground Floor. Huge bathroom. Nice grounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    We were attending a friends wedding in the area . This was a lovely comfortable hotel .
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location . Really pretty gardens . Staff really friendly . Would stay again and definitely recommend to friends and family. Really nice part of the country

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Californians enjoying the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head located directly above your head with little room to maneuver and I am not a big guy. Need adjustable shower head. Bathroom storage or shelving very limited.

    Ashley, Jane and the peacocks and ducks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Very Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mobile phone reception in the area is very poor. There is a limited range of food at breakfast. For instance, there was only one flavour of yoghurt and there were no bananas in the fruit bowl.

    The hotel grounds are very pleasant. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Very nice room with large ensuite bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. Very reasonably priced accommodation. Full English breakfast is cooked to order and is of a high standard. Decent car parking arrangements. Overall, I was very satisfied and would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed out stay even the peacocks morning alarm call!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast - I would have like to see some prepared fresh fruit or grapefruit or prunes not whole fruit in a bowl (how does one eat an apple or a kiwi with a dinner knife?) and variety of bread (only sliced in its packet to toast yourself ) no croissants or Danish pastries etc.

    Nice large room, lovely grounds, friendly staff, big fluffy towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant but disappointing value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed by location so close to a main road, the photo was more picturesque than the real thing. It was a pity not to see the water wheel in action. There was a notice saying it wasn't working because it was being cleaned but it was still dirty and not working. I was thinking I was going up market but it didn't compare with the B&B I had stayed at which was cheaper.

    The breakfast was good with an option of vegetarian full English, ( vegetarian sausages which I kept to have cold with my lunch)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    The location was pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets, the smell, small cramped rooms with low beams I hit my head on a number of times, very poor ventilation, very limited menu. So bad I could go on forever. Very expensive for such poor quality.

    The location was pretty. Fish and chips were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    rooms were clean, breakfast and dinner freshly prepared.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no network found on the mobile and the wifi wasn't working, the only downfall

    rooms were clean, breakfast and dinner freshly prepared. very pleasant stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    OK for a one night stopover
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure in shower was very poor. Disappointed due to bathroom obviously being refurbished recently. TV very small. Could hear neighbours very easily. Food was average pub grub.

    History of the working mill. Nice grounds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Generally OK but expected better for a 4 Star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the second morning a different waitress was on duty and 3 times we had to call her as there was no milk or butter on the breakfast table and the brown bread on the buffet had run out. The replacement for the later item was a loaf presented in its wrapper. There were no rolls or croissants any morning.

    The retention of the water wheels and the general ambiance of the hotel and its grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    The outside look of the property and the grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior i.e. corridors, Reception, lounge, dining and bar area very tired looking and furnishings and fittings worn. Small shower in en suite.

    The outside look of the property and the grounds. Bedroom good decor and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Superb overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little firm for our taste but that's just being picky.

    Lovely location, staff were superb, really enjoyed our one night stay en route to Devon. Refreshing drink in the bar on arrival, comfortable sofas to relax on before delicious, huge evening meal. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful location and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicle could have been slightly bigger.

    The lovely tranquil location, friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent - I would personally recommend the chocolate bomb with salted caramel - lush.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.6
    We arrived quite late so did not see any of the surrounding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had twin beds, one of which sloped downhill noticibly and rocked backward and forwards when turning over The windows were taped up with gaffer tape which had been there so long it was peeling off. The curtains didn't fit the window properly. The old tv didn't work. The pillows were very hard In the shower room the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall There was insufficient shelving for toilet bags etc. and there was mould in the shower cubicle. Although when we arrived we were told they would drop the price from £110 to £85 because the tv didn't work, the next morning when a different member of staff was on duty she had a note to charge us £95. The breakfast was quite nice, but I don't believe the room was worth £95 let alone £110

    We arrived quite late so did not see any of the surrounding area. however, we did see the river when we left next morning and the area seemed very peaceful and tranquil.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Relaxed & friendly stay in Somerset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much I can say here, maybe the beam on the ceiling in our room was a bit low but not anything that can be done about this! Just watch your head in some rooms!

    Very friendly staff, always helpful too - had a lovely chat to Bev, one of the bar staff and Rachel who seemed to always be there was so helpful. Breakfast was lovely, good quality sausages & bacon etc. The meal choice we had as part of a wedding reception was a roast beef, the beef had been slow cooked and was amazing - melt in the mouth tender! Desserts were also incredible. Yummy, would definitely want to stay here again. The grounds are very pretty. Plenty of parking available. Good choice of ciders/other drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Relaxing, fun and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything we didn't like

    The whole experience of our stay at hornsbury mill was fantastic. The staff were friendly and all with a good sense of humour:) our room was lovely and kept clean daily. Breakfast and evening meals were really tasty. This break for us was just what we needed. Thankyou hornsbury mill xxx

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    The meal.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all amazing.

    The meal. the room. the staff and the waitress was really accommodating when changing a vegetarian option for my partner. Overall I would recommend this to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a little dated for my liking, rooms need updating but is a beautiful old building in beautiful surroundings.

    Lovely comfy bed, lovely breakfast. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.1
    "Short and Sweet"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i think visiting, when weather was kind would have made a big difference as it was awful, not the hotels fault lol, a small point but to us no Marmalade at Breakfast, only other condiments, perhaps they had run out ??, i checked at every table for some,

    the grounds were superb and i would imagine stunning in summer,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.3
    Good place for a celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old building and the bedroom floor and therefore the bed were not level.

    More of an excellent restaurant with rooms than a hotel with a restaurant! Beautiful grounds, interesting waterwheel, very good party facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    ideal stopover at fantastic value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV a little small in the room and the only other downside is you could hear guests in other rooms quite clearly. I stopped in room 8. Easy access from main road which can be very busy at peak times.

    Very good value for money, bed was really comfy and the room had everything you would need. The food was delicious evening meal and breakfast. The staff very welcoming and could not do enough for you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.7
    Location was lovely and ideal for my customer visit in Chard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was grubby and run down. Room was dark and dingy. Toilet seat badly stained. Shower didnt work. Furinture, carpets, doors and windows need replacing.

    Location was lovely and ideal for my customer visit in Chard. Food was really nice and freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    Glad we went. Company, accommodation and food. What more do you need?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived no one at the desk to meet and greet. Waited and rung bell? Disappointing!!

    Just what we needed. Food was really good. Manager was so nice though, nothing was too much.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.8
    Quiet peaceful but don't order a starter.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was terrible. Including breakfast. Prawn starter was a complete rip off. The breakfast was griddled which meant it tasted of burnt charcoal bits. Tomatoes were hard even went sent back to be softened.

    Tea coffee in the room. The large rooms. Easy parking. Good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    lovely location perfect peace
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower was so small in room 10 the low beams were lovely to see but a little impractical the room was quite cold and I did wake in the night cold could ofind done with big blanket found the breakfast to be on the limited side

    we loved the location we loved the food we enjoyed the experience

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.9
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toast for breakfast needs to be better than sliced in plastic bags. Don't have a room with just a shower, I could not turn round in mine. Vegetarian dinner option very strange, felafels with a baked Camembert? Any vegetarian will tell you this is wrong on so many levels

    Vegetarian breakfast excellent. Restaurant very good location, good atmosphere. Staff very helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Menu - Good range of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lighting in lounge area could have been dimmed more. Difficult to read in rooms as low energy bulbs did not give out enough light

    Menu - Good range of choice. Food all cooked to order and of very good quality. Staff - very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Restaurant - tables were nicely laid with candles etc. Lovely ambiance. Rooms very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing welcoming and classy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was a little small good job we weren't larger in stature!

    Staff were lovely very very pleasant setting lovely decor so comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice enough ideal for a break, good gardens. Nice food. And reasonable prices . Avoid Chard itself though! A lack of good pubs/ restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice old mill with excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    standard rooms are just standard and not especially fancy.

    Nice old building in very nice garden. Quiet. Excellent is the restaurant! The quality of the food was the best we had during 10 days GB!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Really lovely relaxing environment and a good Base for day trips to the coast. Beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No local ales on tap.

    Beautiful building and grounds. Very friendly and helpful Staff. Excellent food and good value for money too. We had a lovely time and would have liked to stay longer!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Tranquil Location with Wildlife .................
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were extremely hot, although we asked and got a fan.

    Great Location. Tranquil with Lovely Gardens and Wildlife. Helpful and Friendly Staff. Good Food. Excellent Service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    7.9
    Generally a good stay, room very good so was the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process was very poor. Nobody on desk, we rang the bell three times, eventuality a chef appears and went off to find clerk. She arrived 10mins later.

    Quiet location in beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    brilliant place, food and location exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location great, food excellent and good value .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room needs updating.

    Room 7 is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great hospitality, accommodation with character in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality, accommodation with character in a picturesque rural location. Good meal and choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    The excellent staff and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very hard pillows and bed.

    The excellent staff and quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable & pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have very small tv

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Great friendly staff at a laid back hotel within 30mis of Lyme Regis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Service with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    The atmosphere was friendly. We felt comfortable there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excellent and friendly hotel with good value meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure everyone at a family party had a wonderful time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable as spent with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers tepid at best. Decor a little dated in bar area, food choices a little limited.

    Breakfast and comfort of bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet was a bit small but it meant we had to snuggle up!

    Comfortable lots of little extra touches

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Beds were a little hard
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations in terms of quality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not walk into Chard due to the lack of a footpath

    Nice relaxed atmosphere, quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed my overnight and would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Bed was comfy, food good quality, ALL staff were friendly. No complaints

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Very nice place and people. It was surprising good price for such nice and big room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Size of a room ans staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    very enjoyable, staff were very friendly, will visit again in the spring, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast, the sausage was tough skinned, thats all the rest was ok,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.0
    Food in restaurant poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant poor. Bed very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable,attractive and comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more staff.But no real problem when things were slack

    Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hornsbury Mill traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: