Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Vere Horwood Estate 4 stars

Mursley Rd, Little Horwood, Milton Keynes, MK17 0PH, United Kingdom

#18 of 21 hotels in Milton Keynes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1313 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    The bed sagged in the middle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sagged in the middle. I advised reception to buy some new mattresses. The room was very cold because the hotel would not turn the heating on, claiming it was not needed at the end of the summer season, despite it being mid Sept and only 8 Deg C outside at mid morning / checkout time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    The bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 20 quid cheaper on Groupon, and 30% off if I'd of booked direct. I tried to call booking.com for a reduction as a long standing customer I had no reply . The hotel suggested an upgrade but the the room received was a stardard room only.

    The bar. The pool table you had to pay for, was very tired looking , the cues were in poor condition I felt I was in an old run down pub ..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    2.9
    this hotel needed some severe maintenance , the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel needed some severe maintenance , the building from the out set looked very promising, and previously staying at The Devere Hotel in Scotland set the bar high. I found the experience very disappointing, from the initial checking in with a receptionist that made sefeellike an inconvenience. The room we were allocated was musty and the bathroom smelt repulsive, on phoning reception we were given another room. a marginal improvement on the first, but still a musty smell. It was a cold night and we needed heating, but the central heating was not functioning, the small oil heather was not effective at heating the room. oh and to add insult to injury the card holder the room was broken and therefore had to shower in the dark. We only had a brief overnight stay, we needed some where comfortable, convenient and value for money, I cannot say the hotel was any of our requirements.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all lovely. It was just a bit of a maze to find room.

    It was my his and a 50th birthday. They left a card, cider and chocolate in our room as a SUPRISE. Also sent room service desert with birthday wishes. Very lovely of the staff. Made my husband's day. Thankyou

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing, country retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As there were 2 wedding parties, we were not able to eat in the restaurant as we had not booked. If we had been tod this at reception, we would have booked. Only a small point but worth knowing to save unpleasant conversations with staff.

    Beautiful country house entry - made you feel really special arriving. Clearly a wedding and conference venue - great for both but also nice for a get away from it all weekend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.2
    The service was poor and the room was small, shame because such a beautiful building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff to be more welcoming and informative about the hotel's facilities, the only information I received at check in, was a direction map to the room, I would know if there was a gym, pool etc. At check out, I was not asked if everything was OK with my stay. TIP: Smile and engage with the customer.

    Waiting over an hour for a bar snack was unacceptable. The room was very small. Of the five staff I dealt with during my stay only one engaged with me and made me feel welcome, other just went through the motions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    Not the best.....
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite asking on at least 3 occasions the staff seemed unable to provide extra pillows. I ended up grabbing one and making him take me to the bedding store. Double rooms are ridiculously small - clearly originally intended as singles in the days when this was a training centre - all they have done is bung in a double bed. Interestingly the room we were in only seemed to be set up for a single person - only 2 pillows, 1 set of shower toiletries and coffee etc..... My daughter's room was filthy - had to ask to be moved.

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Stunning Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small which the picture did not show. As this was a celebration a room with a view would have been lovely. Food 3 Course meal was not as expected!

    Stunning Location lots history associated with the property and the gardens. Staff were excellent and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel stay ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over charged on Booking.com, compared to standard hotel rates. Very basic rooms. Dirty floor, parts of bathroom, dirt plates and dishes, warmed up hash browns at breakfast. Car park full and had difficulty finding anywhere to park. Never going there again.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was wonderful, the grounds are so beautiful.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at breakfast was very rude to me and my wife. Once offered a table, we both went up for food and he gave our table away, and basically said find another table, tutted when we asked for coffee.

    The hotel was wonderful, the grounds are so beautiful. They were hosting two weddings, and still managed to make us feel welcome. The dinner staff was amazing, one lady in particular was so nice to me and my wife, didn't catch her name unfortunately. The swimming pool and sauna were fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    The food was good, the room was good, the venue was good if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception person was not very good, didn't talk to us for long enough for it to be an embarrassment and wasn't very helpful. Leaving was a much better and more pleasant experience, even though it was sad to leave.

    The food was good, the room was good, the venue was good if a little difficult to find. Most of the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Hotel De Vere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too warm at night even with the window open however, it was 19 degrees but air con would have been great.

    Overall this hotel for the money is good value.Good breakfast to begin the day; use of gym and pool and well located for Bletchley Park ; Woburn etc. Main hotel very traditional styling. The room we stayed in was one of many extra rooms attached to but not part of the original building. The website is misleading if you don’t check out the reviews first but don’t be put off booking this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    would never go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    kept on asking if we were grupon I paid half board. cheese board consisted of cheddar. starters no mushrooms desert no cheese cake. menu consists of 4 items per course.

    the room was dirty yellow stains on the bathroom door. dusty and previous occupants items in the draws

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Avoid at the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small bed was saggy like a water bed, (it was sized somewhere between a single and a double), the room was small despite an upgrade, the breakfast was served in a corridor and was cold, the noise late at night was unacceptable. Drunken wedding guests rampaging through the corridors and one set a fire alarm off at 3am. This is not the place to go if you want a peaceful sleep on a weekend.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dinner was dreadful. for what we paid we expected much better room and likes of tea/coffee facillites. the hotel is lovely from the outside but is very tired and dated and in desperate need of a revamp.

    the bed was really uncomfortable. the room was tiny. the water in the sink and toilet didn't drain properly and the water took ages to heat up. the staff were overwhelmed with number of guests for dinner on the Friday night and sunday morning breakfast. they dealt with this really well but it was chaotic on the sunday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was far to small .The shower didn't work very well.The bed was not comfortable.The bathroom had mould on the wall.The hotel was not in keeping with the look of the hotel cheap looking furniture.The meal was rubbish a child could have made it better.Breakfast wasn't hot .I have never complained before about the hotels i have stayed in but this was the worst especially for a DE VERE HOTEL.

    are meal at night was not good valve for money.Not enough staff due to 2 weddings at the hotel .The bar for residents had very little choice of drinks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    small rooms with little or no sound proofing ,food over priced and rooms can be long walk with case
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not very well sound proofed could hear everyone walking up and down all night ,£48 for fish n chips, burger n chips +2 pints ,long walk from reception to rooms and car park to rooms,(small).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Just somewhere to sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well.... the walk to the room with all the stairs... when you have a suitcase and you are in your 60’s with no one to help you ....I’m sure they could run to paying a few guys to be bell boys. ..... just to help with the cases, also parking the cars.... The Sunday staff of breakfast could be managed a bit better as tables were not being layed and quite a few has missing knives and forks.. The staff just stood around and chatted... had to ask for the milk as there was none in the jug... But saying all that, come the Monday the staff were on their toes and working like little bees....

    Not much... Maybe just look of the old building..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Ok for what we needed. Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too small for a standard. Had to move be and upgrade to a superior then next day. Rooms are not aligned to the county house estate, so was disappointed. Looked like the hotel rooms where built on like an old peoples block.

    The staff were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Last minute break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to breakfast about 45 minutes before they finished serving and quite a few items had already run out. They did get replenished when requested but we felt that this was something that should have been done without request.

    This hotel was good value as a last minute booking. The breakfast was also good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Lovely location and grounds but very poorly managed, needs to up its game for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for a wedding the bar was no where near stocked properly, out of most regular tipples and even some soft drinks. The breakfast was a shambles, stood in the queue for 10 mins waiting for any food to be served and even then it was gone in the next 5 mins. Barely enough staff and had to wait 20 mins for a pot of tea.

    Very comfy bed and nice entrance/ manor house

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Avoid if you want a restful night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? We’ve noisy, walls in the barracks pet if the hotel are paper thin/ you can hear absolutely everything in every side- and since there are weddings at the same time, the corridors, rooms and outside of our window there were drunk people shouting, fishtig, shagging. No sleep ensued for us- beds much too soft, decor dated and shabby, and no aircon- so much, much too hot even if you open the windows ( and listen to drunks outside). No towels at the spa, apart from a huge pile of used ones, both days we were in. To start with our bookin was not even showing in their system so we almost ended with no room ( in the hindsight, that would be an improvement).

    Lovely swimming pool and polite staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Good staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress topper that was on the bed didn't seem to make it that comfortable.

    The staff were great, particularly in the restaurant / breakfast room, but also on reception. Breakfast was good. Location was lovely, nice gardens, countryside location. Nice to have the period part of the property. Less than half an hour to Silverstone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    Ruined by the uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were terrible. They need replaced immediately. The pillows too were useless. The uncomfortable beds ruined our stay. Some of the bar staff were a bit too over confident in their manner.

    The breakfast was fair. There was a very pleasant lady serving our meals, her name may have been Jessica. One of the waiters brought our drinks to the Manor Room which was kind of him.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Interesting hotel and location. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Breakfast issues need attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An incredibly busy few days at the hotel (atleast 2 wedding parties; bank holiday guests; Silverstone event etc.) Breakfast was rather disorganised and crowded. Poor waitresses overworked. Long queues for various aspects of the breakfast. Very slow replenishing of food. It just seemed that the staff could simply not cope with the numbers of guests. Many of us did not receive a full choice of breakfast.

    Quiet location. Impressive buildings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.3
    Utterly depressing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of the hotel we stayed in is a separate building from the one advertised on the website. The newer building has no charm whatsoever, and like a rabbit warren inside. Rooms are very basic, and the whole place has the feel of a care home.

    The main house which seems to house only the reception is very pretty externally. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room in need of redecoration. Very uncomfortable bed - new mattress required. Leisure club facilities awful - dreadful changing rooms. More a poor conference centre than a country house hotel.

    Restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Very picturesque setting , staff friendly , room very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 3 nights, not one good night sleep , wedding parties all 3 nights really noisy, even had people trying to get in our room early hours of the morning , bed also very uncomfortable

    Very picturesque setting , staff friendly , room very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed it but our expectations may have been too high as website implies more grandeur!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms OK and decent size but a bit tired, poor sound proofing to corridors. Hotel seems mainly geared to groups (weddings and conferences).

    Very good staff, and well presented food. Nice grounds but not highlighted in information.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Hotel has so much potential to be a lovely place. But I won't be staying there again unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More reception staff as both check in and check out, there were ques. Walls in rooms could be sound proofed as could hear everyone's conversations all day and all night. Carpet in room looks like it needs to be hoovered and maybe a shampoo. There was a toe nail left on the carpet. 3 mornings had breakfast at 3 different times yet there was shortages on foods. Had to wait for things to be filled up.

    Staff very pleasent. Beautiful surroundings. Lovely history to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.3
    Terrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy all throughout the night with wedding/functions. Many loud drunken people shouting at all hours of the night. Doors slamming continuously throughout the night. Awful hotel and probably the worst I’ve ever stayed at. Rooms extremely small, bed really uncomfortable.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Completely different to pictures, absolute waste of money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were completely misled. The room did not seem clean and was absolutely tiny. Not what we expected for our £198 two night stay. We ended up being refunded 50% which the receptionist staff did not quibble about at all. The restaurant is very overpriced. The front of the building looks spectacular, then you enter it and realise you've actually booked somewhere that had an extension many, many years ago and is in dire need of a refurbishment. Travelodge, Premier Inn, Best Western, the Hilton - all cheaper and much, much nicer. We would certainly not go here again. We were only in town for the Moto GP at Silverstone and due to booking a bit late this was one of four options for us. I thought we were in for a fab stay, oh how I was wrong. The room is tiny, you couldn't swing a cat in it, tgere were marks all over every wall like it was in need of a good paint, there was a spider's egg growing on our headboard which housekeeping hasn't bothered to clean before us using the room, there was mould all over the tiles in the shower, there was mould around the shower screen, the bath panel veneer was coming off, the extractor fan that didn't work was covered in cobwebs and had not been cleaned, the double glazing had failed and there was mist between the two panes of glass meaning we couldn't actually see out of the window and the shower pressure is terrible meaning it feels like you're standing under a trickle of water. To top it off we ordered a pizza from room service which cost £13 PLUS a £5 charge for bringing it to the room. I opened the box to find they hadn't even sliced it and had left no cutlery. The stay was just not enjoyable. As we were leaving there were many guests complaining!

    I liked the older part of the building. It was very grand and absolutely lovely. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Location for silverstone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly. Shower screen faulty so room flooded when showering. No hairdryer in room. Pillows uncomfortable. Walls so thin you could hear conversation in next room. Bar closed Sunday eve no warning given. Limited food available so had to leave hotel and find local pub. Fire alarm tested early on a bank holiday. Overall wouldn’t stay here again as didn’t feel like a de vere.

    Location for silverstone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Location, location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door slamming by guests, queuing to be recieved for supper / dinner at the resturant.

    The room was just perfect the, location was relaxing. Breakfast was just right.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice but a little tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not expect to see damp coming through on the bathroom ceiling and the rooms were a little dated

    The staff were really helpful and friendly, the gardens and house looked great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Overally good
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested to have all the rooms next to each other but given rooms in separate corridors. Being told when i booked i didnt specify and its clearly stated in my booking and this after i phoned the hotel to make sure

    The rooms were comfortable and clean. The grounds were very well kept and good as wedding venue for pictures as well. After the misunderstanding with adjacent rooms which we had requested and didnt get they finally moved us to appropriate rooms which were cheaper than what we paid for. We got breakfast free for their trouble of giving us the requested rooms coz when we booked we didnt specify we needed breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    What a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up with a tap dripping in bathroom but staff were right on it to put it right

    Breakfast was great. Swimming pool was good. Hote like a rabbit warren very easy to get lost but thats part of the beauty of this hotel. The gardens ar also worth a walk round if time permits. Overall great place to stay. This is our second stay here and we will deffinatly stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Entertainment included from wedding guests who are there in profusion- seeing another side of life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many weddings & over indulged guests giving the staff grief - we'll be looking for somewhere else for our next Silverstone visit

    Good food, lots of parking & nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room good breakfast and dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception person quite unpleasant when we checked in. Not a good start but everyone else very polite and friendly and helpful

    Restaurant staff really good and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    A beautiful building in a nice quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are in a more modern complex.. it’s huge, the signage to guide you to the rooms are awful, it’s more a place for a wedding or conference than somewhere for a nice get away. Room was very small, mattress was hopelessly uncomfortable. We took our young baby, getting around there was definitely not buggy friendly.

    A beautiful building in a nice quiet location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful surroundings but you need to be fit to get to your room
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to your rooms from the car park with no help to carry luggage and no offer for any trolleys to help. I felt there wasn't many staff to help around the hotel for such a big place , out of a lot of drinks also at the bar and ice. I would expect more from a place that looks so grande . The rooms are on the small side, travel lodge rooms better I also found a packet of opended crisps in 1 draw and two stiff odd sock under the bed which may of explained why my room was a bit smelly

    The niceness of some bar staff and waiters Charlotte was very friendly at the bar and there was a young man that served our wedding party and he was smiling all the time from mid afternoon to 12 a clock at night, they were the only two things that stood out as good . The old part of the hotel is beautiful , breakfast was good with a good selection. The grounds are lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    The staff were friendly and helpful if not a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food all fried - bfast and diner. Very disappointing. Rooms were in a courtyard with no nets at window just a blind. Not very private.

    The staff were friendly and helpful if not a little overstretched

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    expectation of photos on the site make you think you will be staying in an old country house hotel when in fact the bedrooms are in newly built boring facility no better than a Mercure or standard hotel. V dull rooms even though we upgraded to 'premier'

    the location and grounds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    Bad management staff need training in customer service employ more cleaners so rooms are ready
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready at check in time when we did finally have access the cleaner was still inside we had to call him back because the carpet was full of hair, large chip out of bath enamel missing I could go on the room needed redecoration, worst of all we missed the wedding that we had booked in for because we had no where to get ready. At the wedding reception staff came in at twelve midnight and acted like gestapo ordered everyone out.

    Large car park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A short stay during a trip to Silverstone fro WEC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, hardly any floor space to walk around and not much space in the wardrobe to hang things up (was taken up with an ironing board and kettle)

    A short stay during a trip to Silverstone fro WEC. Staff were very helpful and prepared a breakfast to go, as we had to be at the track before breakfast was served - which was great. Beautiful hotel and grounds, lovely hotel reception staff and delicious meal in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    A tale of opposites - great hospitality staff but everything else sadly sub par
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was horrible - girl spoke down to me and was quite abrupt - I had misunderstood what she had said and hadn’t responded appropriately which seemed to frustrate her - further while trying to get i my room cleaning staff were frustrated that I had to come back by them a second time as I couldn’t find my room easily

    Most hospitality staff are above and beyond - amazing !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    My daughter only saw the good, but looking a little deeper I wasn’t impressed at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far from reception. The corridors like a rabbit warren with no logical process to the numbering of rooms. You could hear everything from the rooms next to you in all directions, and in the room itself was a very dated poorly performing shower, the wallpaper was peeling from the walls and the doorstop was broken with loose screws on the floor. No idea what the green sign at the end of our corridor was about.

    The grounds and facilities were great, so for the ‘Facebook effect’ this is a fab place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Update standard room pics
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms definitely not like in the pictures. Also, future reference for convenience - upon arrival I paid £120 but at check out I was asked to pay 95p remaining balance... perhaps this should just have been included initial payment.

    Comfortable beds, room service was very prompt and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was soft to the point of being floppy. Knocking noise throughout the night.Wedding party decending on only bar open..kids ...noise..drunk loud men and women. Noise level to wake the dead. Queuing outside the restaurant for breakfast.

    Location. Clise to Bletchley Park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Apart from the bedroom it's was lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely the beds need to be secured together and the showers needs to be fixed and working

    Beautiful hotel, great breakfast everything you need, just the bedroom was very dirty plus the bed kept moving as not tied together which was a pain, don't think it's never been cleaned as found sweets, paper and a empty cigarette packet between the bed, plus the shower would only drip water out so no good if you like a shower in the mornings, apart from that yes every thing else was great. It was a shame about the room because it was me and my husband first night away from our two autistic sons for a very long time which was very much needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a very long way from reception, with stairs up and down. I was staying with my mum- aged 84 and we could only find 1 lift. Couldn’t get subtitles on TV No dry sherry or martini in the bar! Shower head spraying water upwards onto ceiling- we did report this at checkout.

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful property but book bigger room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TINY ROOM: The standard double is very small, I would say tiny. The bed was not comfortable. You cannot open the window fully as it is protected from opening and the curtain was broken. The cleanliness is not perfect. We have found a few dead insects in the room and some stains on the menu in the room and restaurant. There was very poor water pressure at the shower. UNORGANISED BREAKFAST: There process of sitting guests for the breakfast was very unorganised. There were free tables but people needed to queue outside the restaurant to get one. Many tables were left dirty for a long time. There were no enough glasses to get the juice.

    The property and surrounding is very beautiful. The food choice for the breakfast was amazing. The swimming pool was very nice. The staff is very friendly. I like that they provide umbrellas for guests. There is games room and nice lounge to rest. You can walk around the property and views are stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Some rooms are tired and hotel is not one of De Veres best but staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room allocated to us upon arrival was very tired with peeling mirror, noisy toilet cistern and located in the older part of the hotel. After complaining the staff did however move us to a much better room which was more satisfactory for the money paid

    Staff were quick to respond to our issue and very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel grounds were relaxing and the pool was ok too, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar seemed very expensive - £32 for two beers and 2 baileys and a tia maria?

    The hotel grounds were relaxing and the pool was ok too, it has a sauna. The rooms were better than the online reviews had led us to expect. We had room 429, and were happy that although there was a wedding on that night it was quiet and peaceful in our part of the hotel, this is one of the advantages of it being large and sprawling. The other couple we stayed with had a superior room - which was around £30 extra - but worth the extra as it was really lovely and modern in a thatched annex. Very special. The breakfast was great - fantastic pastries, good coffee, attentive staff - even tho it was very busy. Not so much for vegetarians - but then you can always eat extra pastries instead.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel reception grounds and garden are spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely noisy have actually never stayed in such a noisy hotel. Constant door slamming and noise of footsteps from upstairs corridor. Think I was in a room where everyone else was at a conference as continually in and out of each other’s rooms, Had asked for an upstairs room as would feel safer as a female travelling alone and was put in a downstairs room as far as possible away from reception. After my late check in and struggling down to the room with luggage just could not walk back to reception and start the check in all over again . Room was incredibly hot and did not feel safe to sleep with window open due to location and noise levels. A very disappointing visit to what is a truly gorgeous hotel with lovely facilities and location. Had hoped to return for a spa break but this has put me off

    The hotel reception grounds and garden are spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed. Receptionist in the evening was very blunt and unhelpful when I stated that I’d requested a late departure with confirmation email. Was told nothing was confirmed it depended on what was happening on the day.

    Lovely, clean room, fan was a welcome addition in the heat. Bathroom clean. Gardens were beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Did exactly what we wanted from the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Friday night the restaurant could have been better managed. Did not appear to have enough staff. Took 20 mins and 3 staff to get us the drinks we ordered when the main course was delivered. In total we had 6 different staff dealing with our table. The food however was wonderful

    Offered us exactly what we wanted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    A lovely gentleman sorted our problem as best he could we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I selected the larger room and the room was very small and very dusty. Also we didnt get informed that we had to book to get in the restaurant when we arrived so went to resturant at 9 to be told by Yvonne (with a finger wag) no room well have to eat in the bar off the bar menu. Not happy really at all

    A lovely gentleman sorted our problem as best he could we ate in the bar from the restaurant menu and got a complimentary drink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    De Vere Horwood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Booking.com reservation had not been entered onto the hotel database. Only discovered by a friend who tried to order a welcome bottle of wine for my room the day of my arrival! Bar food & drink bit pricey - but probably no more than most hotels. Personally, I love a welcoming Reception team, & most of them were....

    House and grounds were gorgeous. Most staff very cheerful and polite. Good location for visiting Waddesdon Manor & Aylesbury.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    2.9
    worst place ever - don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately I have to say that the stay at this hotel was perhaps the worst I have experienced in the UK. I booked via the internet and was looking forward to a relaxed weekend using your hotel as a base for our visit to Silverstone. I really regret not reading the reviews before booking as they all seem consistent with mine in that The website depicts a stately house style of accommodation but in fact it is very disrupted and looks like it is still accommodation GPO trainees rather than guests who pay £400 for two nights of annoying rooms. I stayed with my friend in 139 and the bed was tiny, we are both 6”0” and our legs hung over the end of the bed !! Plus, it was definitively uncomfortable anyway. We then showered sharing the 1 towel in the room and went off to the bar with my other guest. The bar was full of wedding guests as was the adjacent area and the gardens so we were made to feel like wedding crashers so again, unable to relax anywhere we left to find a local pub. My guest in 501 had already been to the reception to mention the hair in the bathroom, the bugs crawling around in the room (!! Seriously) and the general dirtiness of her room and was assured that this would rectified. Upon returning she discovered that rather than replace the damaged duvet cover on her bed, they simply took the bedding from the adjacent bed and put that on in place of the damaged duvet cover ?.. The hair was still there and so were the beetles. Both mornings were disastrous at breakfast, the weeding parties again dominated proceedings and after waiting 20 mins for a table we discovered the food had all been eaten, the buffet was a total mess and there was precious little food left so, my breakfast turned out to be 3 sausages and a piece of bread (worse than a prison).

    Awful place, they misrepresent the accommodation offered - don't stay here is a very sick joke

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Quiet room. No hairdryer. Easy to get lost in rambling corridors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two weddings made breakfast a noisy uncomfortable experience. Large queues for food. Staff very good and patient with noisy ill dressed guests.

    Nice area. Access good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff are so incapable of managing people and create a bad experience. i went for dinner at 9.15 and the kitchen closed at 9.30. there were circa 20 tables empty yet when i asked for a table of which i didn't reserve. i got told that they were fully booked. i then went to the bar seen one thing i liked and wanted to be told they didn't have any. so i drove about and ended up with a McDonalds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Not as nice as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly but the whole experience was very basic. We upgraded to a superior room which came with a bath..to find out on arrival that it’s actually only a half bath which was disappointing and a waste of money. The bed was small and the room was stuffy and dated. It’s as if they received a 3.5* rating check-list and just scrapped it by adding the absolute basic requirements. Breakfast was also disappointing, we had to queue for a table and half of the food containers were empty. The pool was ok, but no jacuzzi so the images need updating. We won’t be returning.

    Lovely location, friendly staff, fairly clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understaffed which is a shame , it's a lovely property . No water in the bedrooms and if I'd taken my cat I wouldn't of been able to swing it . There was a wedding on , I don't like they had catered for enough staff

    Lovely setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for an upgrade, disappointed with the size of the room. Not the hotels fault, but stayed at the hottest day of the year. No air conditioning.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Tea and coffee facilities were great and novel idea with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one glass was in bathroom and there was limited toilet roll to use. Would seem room had been set up for a single guest it a double. Spy hole in door did not have a cover over it.

    Tea and coffee facilities were great and novel idea with them being in wardrobe. Bed very comfortable and room was very cool during stay. Lovely grounds and walks nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice, quiet place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served in the restaurant was not up to the mark. It was just average.

    The breakfast was very good. The room was neat & tidy. Nice, quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location, beautiful old house, polite staff
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding was prioritised so other guests forgotten, food was A let down and a very long wait, no breakfast left in the morning and no where to sit ,Shame as the hotel its self is lovely but they need to remember if they have a wedding on not to forget other guests as we are the ones that will return or in our case probably not !

    Lovely location, beautiful old house, polite staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Not as good as it could or should be
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit run down for a premium hotel - cracked tiles, missing toilet roll holder in the toilet, my colleague had to change rooms twice due to cleanliness issues. Last orders at the bar were at 10:30!!!

    Nice location, garden area very nice..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Very relaxing it was very quite so near the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting staff on the first night we arrived in restaurant at same time as two other couples they were both enjoying there starters before we even had our drink order the staff were just chatting second night different staff and good service

    Very good value for money breakfast very fresh,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Would have expected better for price especially room condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Shower was pathetic 2) Room small 3) Major chip in bath enamel 4) Veneer missing from bath panel 5) Staff brushed table detritus onto chairs/floor rather than removing it!!!!

    STAFF WERE EXCELLENT

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Out of touch and out of date. More like a club 18-30 holiday than what your website states. Poor!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was slow. Your website does not equate to the Privacy and Electronic Communications Act 2003 which therefore makes it illegal and to be honest being woken up at ten o'clock at night to the sounds of another drunken couple having sex very loudly is not quiet what One had expected. The surroundings were nice. The service was slow and poor. Staff untrained obviously and slow. The food was poor which one sampled briefly and you charge way over the top for what you provide. Brexit does not mean you can break the Law which you have done.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Visually pleasing externally - nice large breakfast room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long walk up and down many staircases to get to the room - room was small. When checking in I asked them to confirm there was only one booking in my name as had a problem on the site used to book. Was told only one room, then charged for a second room the following day.

    Visually pleasing externally - nice large breakfast room and good selection of food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The benefits of a country hotel and estate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 143 had noisy plumbing early morning and late evening. After first night we complained and another room was found and it was good. We appreciated the quick positive response.

    The fantastic country retreat hotel / estate. Excellent breakfast and friendly staffand service. Wonderful grounds, secret garden with high class facilities, eg. summer house, quality garden furniture, beautiful trees, shrubs, flowers, ornamental small formal pond with fountain. Good bedrooms and tea/ coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but just need to sort out the breakfast restocking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible, not restocked- no fruit juice, glasses, cereal, milk, no bowls no eggs and more on a Saturday morning. It was awful and not what I would have expected from such a nice hotel.

    Staff very friendly and evening meal had been excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: