Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kensal Green Backpackers

639 Harrow Road, Kensington and Chelsea, London, NW10 5NU, United Kingdom

#963 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1129 hostel reviews

5.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.7

  • Comfort

    4.6

  • Location

    6

  • Facilities

    4.7

  • Staff

    6

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    An absolute horror. I would NEVER recommend this place to ANYONE! Apart from the fact that your visible staff smoke weed all day and mess about, your safety is appalling. During my first day at the hostel, there was an issue that occurred where a drunk man off the street was able to sleep in one of the guest's rooms without anybody noticing. He was only discovered the following day when the rooms guests returned and then kicked him out. Doors are never locked, and the food is, to put it mildly, undercooked and rotten. The bathrooms are quite literally on the other side of the building (This includes your showers and toilets). The wifi only works in small parts of the hostel and apart from that it barely ever works. Rooms are not maintained or cleaned at all. This was especially true from the fire hazard of plug points in my room that sparked when I plugged anything in, and if they were not doing that, then they were just not working. You are given zero amenities which is a shame because they charge more than most hostels. The location is pathetic, especially since the tube line closest to the hostel is not always active, especially at night. The highest upside I guess I got from this hostel was my view from my bed of the adjacent graveyard. There is absolutely no natural light throughout the entire building. I even go as far as saying this place is a complete health hazard to anyone staying there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff no Wi-Fi in rooms and was moved bed 3 times in half an hour because there was somebody else in every bed they put me in

    Staff are rude rooms smell and very dirty need a much work and you only have Wi-Fi in the bar nothing in your rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hostel was vile, the bed sheets were dirty, the showers and toilets stank, and twice during my stay the floors of the toilets were covered in feces. The property was noisy well past 3am and is located on a main road and next to a loud club with people shouting until the early hours of the morning.

    The front of house staff were welcoming and always happy to chat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very unfriendly, the rooms and toilets weren't clean, if you need a towel you need to pay 4£ to get one and they woke me up knocking at my door shouting my name and saying "it's security" at 9:15 am because I needed to check out at 10 am.

    I didn't like anything, was very bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets need updating the plumbing couldn’t cope with the amount of use.

    Great location with Kensal tube station across the road. Cheap and was ideal for what we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    toilet and rooms dirty. wifi barely worked. The pictures online of the rooms, coffee shop etc. were more bright than in reality. the place is run down but cheap.

    the staff was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen not open until 9am. All kitchen utensils were locked up. Wehad to request them if needed.

    Quite easy to find. Not noisy at night. 24 hr reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen and lounge areally closed over night. No access to water or breakfast for those leaving early. Door locks didn't work properly. Shower in the actual room. Not good. It was a tiny partition in corner

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean, wifi not working, staff were rude (almost like nightclub bouncers, except one girl she was nice), untidy, no place for storage, no security, anyone can go in.... in general the worst place I’ve stayed in

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have been debited twice the 55,76 euros (pound 47,88) on my visa credit. card. May be it was my fault, because 1 week before my stay I received a mail "would you still stay in kensal green?? I thouth I need to confrim again my stay, :this probably was considered a second booking. But when I arrived and I was alone why not ask me about this second booking, for the same dates? I would like to be refound

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked a private room there. One of the staff members tried to open the door without knocking just to tell that it was close to the time of check out. Even though my wife has told him to wait and not open the door because she was changing her clothes, he insisted trying to open it. I had to run in a rush and open a gap just to this guy tell me that the check out was in 30 min time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The web page says "free continental breakfast provided". Although I wasn't expecting that, which was not cobfirmed, because I had to pay, this false advert needs to be removed from the web page: https://g.co/kgs/9vprGB

    Beds are comfortable. Clean sheets. No bugs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic. Very bad coffee. Freezing room and noisy.

    It is close to my work place. The staff changed my room as the first one was very noisy. Friendly eenbironven.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No towels available on the first day (I couldn't take a shower!) Shower is inside the room separated only by a box (cannot take shower at night because everyone is already sleeping) No lockers

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets weren’t the cleanest and beds were noisy although beds were comfy.

    The bed was very noisy when moving around and there was lots of noise at 4am which we weren’t happy with. Room wasn’t dirty but could have been freshened up. Toilets weren’t very clean. Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude. Pretty sure they didn't wash any of the bed sheets before the next person uses them, and the bed was unmade next to the window which had a draft and heating was not working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was too small for 4 people and cold cos we could not close the window, not very clean. beds not comfortable, bedding looked like 100 times washed and used. very noisy at night.

    location is fine, just next to tube station and night bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t really a vegan option in the breakfast menu, but I just went and had breakfast elsewhere so it was no big issue

    Belting Bohemian Rhapsody at 7:30 am with a member of security

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    sheets were dirty of blood and somethingelse.. tried to aks to change it by myself, the one i got from the laundry were dirty too... toilet broken all the time, a really bad small all the time... luckily we had a 4 private beds room as I had 2 underage girls with me usually in hostel there are young people travelling around, but in thsi one the perception was more that homeless people just crash there when they cna pay a bed for one day,... i don't reccomend the accomodation at all...

    close to the tube, like just in front of the station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi access connections on 2nd floor working fine it would be really great if it would be working inside the rooms.

    Easy access to underground stn Bus 18 to Euston central near where I need to be

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI could be connected in room that would be great but not essential

    It’s near the underground station so easy access to central London and 18 bus stop as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The social atmosphere does not exist. The environment is awful. No Wi-Fi in the rooms and it does not work properly in the other places. There is no locker in the room. You need to pay to use the luggage room! There is no electrical outlet close to the beds neither lights in the bed. The shower is inside the room and it is just a square of 60cm x 60cm. The room gets very wet every day! Horrible! I do not recommend this place if you are interested in talk to people, make friends, share experiences and so on...

    The chocolate croissant is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old with a weird smell in the 4th floor, was super noisy, the walls were to thin, a bit dirty ( the sheets were dirty with white stains). I have been in so many hostels in London and never had any problem.

    The staff was really nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell and noise. Also shower in room but no towel or even paper towels to dry with so had to use pillow case as towel

    Smelt very sweaty as soon as I entered building! Very noisy people staying in next room talking very loudly until midnight when I had to knock on the very thin wall to remind them other people were trying to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff just open the rooms after 8 just to remind you of check out don’t knock . They rude & aggressive , no manners. Toilet not working 1st floor, no hot water this morning & noisy in the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad management. 1.) the first floor toilet is closed for repair. However, they always clean the second and third floor toilet at the same time. You have to go up and downstairs to look for toilet. 2) the heater is not really working in the room. Its so cold in the room. You can not sit on beds if you are assigned for lower desk. the upper dest is too low. 3) The wifi is too weak you cannot get connection in your room. 4) the automatic lights should be on when someone pass by, however, it usually on after you passed. No use for you. 5) the worest thing is the cleaner. They did not know what they were doing. They should make the bed of someone who check out, but they make the wrong bed and put the stuff on someone' bed. They never lock your room after they cleaned. This is the worst! I will never ever stay in this hostel again.

    Price is low. Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible facilities - the hostel charges a deposit for the use of any kitchen equipment, as well as anything else, including breakfast. Also terrible wifi, which doesn't work with more than a few people using it. The property isn't in great shape - deteriorating. Tiny cold kitchens on the end of each floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible connection to WiFi.Only possible in the coffee room and impossible when is busy. Staff never smile.Giving orders and negative answers all the time

    Guests

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only showers are in the room. So not much privacy whilst getting wash. It's literally a shower cubicle in the corner of the room. Did not like this!

    Nice, quick check in, the lad at reception was very helpful, room was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was literally dirt everywhere. Also very old furniture. You couldn’t close the door or the window properly. I would never go back there again! The Property needs a renovation!!!!!!!

    The Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is such a small unclean room with load of people. The room are messy, smelly and dirty. The is the worst hostel I have ever seen Terrible experiences

    Close to underground station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were filthy. Covered in either gravel or sand, with a huge dusty patch on one end. The duvet was far too thin for a room that doesn’t have heating control, next to a window that has no curtain to get rid of the cold off the glass. Which would bring me to my next point; yes, they have showers in the rooms. But it’s not ideal when the WINDOW HAS NO CURTAIN ONTO A MAIN ROAD. The room I stayed in (for one of my paid for three nights) was parallel to the top deck of a bus. Picking a matress was like picking the lesser of two evils. Which is gonna do me less harm? When I got to my all female dorm, there was a guy in there. Fair enough, mistakes happen, but I was fresh off over 24 hrs of transit and he then had to move his stuff out. Which is also fair! What concerns me about this is, he was the only other person in the room and he left his key behind. After majority was done and he told me he’d come back in the morning for the rest (pair of shoes, hoodie, basketball) I locked the door behind him and crashed. When I woke up at 4:30am, there was a noticeable change in the way things were left. So I don’t know if the staff had gotten in, or if the lock was dodgy. Either way. It’s not good.

    The staff were the only redeeming quality about this hostel. Friendly, bubbly, helpful where they could be.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door didn't lock properly, did not make you feel safe. Bed was stained which you could see through the sheets.

    Very cheap accomodation Close to tube and city links Suited us for one night, we were on a work visit which we had booked last minute and didn't want to pay through the nose for a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 23 nights

    It was pretty grim. The internet was bad and only worked on the ground floor. Most of the staff were really rude and unhelpful. The only nice and helpful person was the manager.

    it's close to the tube stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff gave two random people a key to our room, came back to find them sleeping in our beds. Floors and toilets were dirty, unpleasant staff, wifi did not work as advertised.

    Decent location for travel, right next to train station/underground and bus stop (around 20 mins on tube to get to city).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    been moved to a more crowded room

    alot of shady characters, rooms are cheap, facilities questionable, like no heat, staff constantly changing, meals in restaurant good , but under supplied kitchen, unreasonable relocating of guest in between stay period.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting there was very harsh with public transport because of the Bakerloo subway line being closed, so I had to take a very slow substitute bus under the rain. Then when I got there I slept very poorly because the room was dusty.

    The price is amazingly low, aside from that though there's not many positives. The staff was kind and professional once you could get to them, but check-in was very slow because of someone having a problem with his booking. Come here if you want to spend as little cash as possible, because I doubt you'll find a cheaper hostel in London, but you're quite literally paying for what you get.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in seemed a bit disjointed, place generally grubby (not below what you would you expect for the price though), radiator was on full blast all night with seemingly no way to turn it down - quite welcome at first but had to sleep without the duvet. Positioning of shower within the room was a bit awkward.

    Low price, fairly straightforward stay, room nice and warm, adjacent to Kensal Green station and bus stops right outside, pub next door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filfy, not has expected from the pictures. Poor service offered. Very noise throughout the night, it is impossible to get any sleep. Noise from other rooms, client in general and hostel staff. Staff doing to much noise cleaning toilets at 7am, more than acceptable (staff was banging every toilet seat while cleaning and doors with any consideration for the early hours. Staff was very rude at the check out, disclosing staff management issues and demanding us to wait for the money for the key very rudly "you wait, I don't have money" no explanation whatsoever... been traveling aournd using many different hostels around euurope. Never was treated like that by staff and spoken like that.

    The locations is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude and unhelpful. I booked for a friend and despite having paid on Booking.com by credit card he was forced to pay cash again on arrival - so we ended up paying twice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful we went in the room that we booked 3 beds in. There was only one bed, with ONE mattress on there. The staff couldn’t put all of us in the same room, so me and my friend shared a bunk bed and there was no offers of discount or refund.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, I approached the front desk when I found a man on the computer watching video. We waited at least 2 mins before he even acknowledged us. He greeted us with a blank stare, which made me question was he an actual staff member or just a member of the public. He then told me he does work there. I told him I had a reservations under my name, he then asked me for I'd. I had traveled down from Manchester that day and unfortunately I had forgotten my wallet, to which his response was "it looks like you will be sleeping on the street tonight then". I was beginning to get annoyed at his bad attitude and blasé approach to customer service. We then solved that issue without his help and went up to our rooms which is another issue. We got in to the rooms and they looked nothing like the advertisement on website, the shower was dirty, the bedsheets were dirty with stains and the rooms were just overall not very comfortable.

    The female receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming. Had a good sense of customer service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the perfect scene to make a movie about lost souls in the Purgatory, wandering on spooky corridors. Which may be the safest bet to make it till the morning, the billiard room of KGB or the dormitory? You've got to see it for yourself.

    On the doorstep of to tube.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a pleasant place to stay. Very loud from the streets. Not able to open the windows to get fresh air in with inhaling fumes and marihuana. No WiFi in the rooms, therefore vast majority of external and internal customers are seating on the stairs in order to get connection to internet, which is neither save or comfortable for those carrying any lagguage up or down the stairs. Unhelpful staff. As the purpose of my trip has extended, I would have stayed for another 10 days should the staff be more friendly. Any requests for more toilet paper and soap in public bathrooms were repeatedly ignored. Irregularly changed beddings. One has to request for things that should be done without asking, like to change beddings once the guests have departed, to regularly check the state of bathrooms and other communal areas and it looks like it's up to the staff whether they feel in mood to do so.

    Close to public transport. Hot water available from the cafe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst staff I’ve encountered at a hostel. Very rude- had a go at me for booking through booking dot com as they were apparently full... then tried to charge me again after I’d already paid. The room he gave me was full already and hadn’t been cleaned in weeks. There were long term stayers who had mouldy cutlery and plates on the window sills, dirty clothes everywhere and cigarette butts on the floor. After such a bad experience I left immediately and asked a friend to stay on their hotel floor as I couldn’t face going back! :( shame because all the other hostels I stayed in London were much better experiences

    Good location near the train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty hostel (room, toilets, staircase etc.), improper windows (the air was flowing inside the room, so it was cold, despite the working heaters), lack of safety for belongings, room different from the photos on booking.com (worse)

    Spacious room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the door to our private room three times not locked. Complaining did not work. If you like your valuebles, avoid this place. (Issue is known among the staff. When you listen to conversations, staff talks about doors being broken or computers stolen.) I think this is enough to make a decision, so I save myself the time and do not talk about cleanliness (bad).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is absolutely dirty,unkept.They don`t have computerised booking system, everything is in handwriting, so there were a lot of mix ups with the rooms. One night my luggage was moved to another room without my knowledge, another night my room was overbooked, so the receptionist guy came in at 11pm and asked someone to volunteerly leave the room. That place is a joke, stuck in the 80s. Also they have around 100 rooms or more,they take several thousand pounds a day and only accept CASH. Really? Tax and health authorities will be informed. People stay away from here!

    The check out was the best thing to happen here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a 1 bed in a 4 bed shared room They didn’t have keys for the room so I been moved for a 6 bed room totally different for the one in the web site... have see another guest having the same problem and waking away losing her deposit because she was pissed off...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They appeared to be running a scam here, very insecure. We had a hand written receipt despite booking online and we saw two sets of books. 24 hour security useless and someone was able to get a second key to our room just by asking reception. Doors showed signs of being forced open. Dead bolts not operable. Credit card machine "broken" even though they successfully charged my deposit just before arriving. They wanted me to use their ATM to get them cash instead, which showed signs of being hacked and wouldn't print receipts. I ended up walking over a mile to get cash out of a reputable ATM. Our room had a single light bulb so was very dark compared to the booking pictures and the beds were worse too. People were smoking pot under our window all night and the hall bathroom stank and didn't have soap or paper towels. Sheets were questionably clean and pillows so thin I used my airplane neck pillow instead. Location convenient to tube, but 30 minutes to Central London - very residential neighborhood so little a tourist would want to do is convenient. Loud inside and out most of the night. There had been a lift, but the lobby door had been blocked off and appeared to not have been used for years although other floors still had a doorway. Mixed crowd, but seemed to have a large number of migrants to the country. Age policy not enforced. Guests seemed to be over 90% male, with more people who appeared to be migrants and trying to live out of the hostel than actual backpackers, although we did see a few who fit the more normal hostel crowd. WiFi not usable. We moved to a hotel for our last night since this place was such a dump and too far from Central London. We only needed 2 beds at that point, but a room for two in an actual hotel with an en-suite bathroom, towels, clean sheets, quiet, and included luggage storage cost less than a night at Kensall Green Backpackers and paying to store our luggage at a more central location would have cost.

    NOTHING! It was so bad that we left a day early and went to another hotel despite not being able to get our money back. If I have to list something positive, we didn't see mold or bugs in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booking dot com should stop promoting such a very bad hostel

    The police were called when on my second night stay thtere, one of the 6 people in the room, from italy or spain, was arguing and near fighting with two chinese tourists because their shopping bags were making noise. then things escalated/ even i was assulted, i called the police because their new night managers and new security guards could not even speak much english.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly the security guard was grumpy and the beds were lumpy and the kitchen was a dump. The internet only worked in the common areas which would have been fine if there was more room for everyone. The cafe was really hot with no fresh air and no where to sit especially if you wanted to talk to someone or take a phone call.

    It was close the the train

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actual room looks very different from the pictures. Bunk beds doesn’t have stairs so my roommates had to use chairs to climb up to their beds. I dont think they also change the sheets quite often because, not to exaggerate, mine smelled like it has been used by different people already. I dont know what has to be fixed in the common toilet but i can smell it from the end of the hallway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi signal was very poor or unavailable in the room. The breakfast should have been suitable for vegans. There should have been clean drinking water facility.

    Bed and room were clean and comfortable. The staff members were cooperative but there is still room to improve their behaviour towards customers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi signal was very poor or unavailable in the room. The breakfast should have been suitable for vegans. There should have been clean drinking water facility.

    Bed and room were clean and comfortable. The staff members were cooperative but there is still room to improve their behaviour towards customers.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff was rude with me I have a problem in my knee, I asked for a room on the ground floor or first floor and the bed don't be on the top floor but they did not respond to my request. No nearby shops and restaurants are open late at night

    The room was big and clean, comfortable bed, it's near underground and bus station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The toilets were dirty, the staff were rude and dismissive and the so called "chef" had to be told how to poach an egg! If you can't poach eggs, don't have it on your menu.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a night club on the ground floor and the noise at night was horrible. The toilet was very dirty, the bed sheets and pillows looked like they were from another planet (they were dirty and stinky. Will not recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is dirty especially the common area .

    Easy to book and good commute transport to central London. That's a place to stay for 1day or max 1week if you don't have a place to stay in London.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything....Especially since it's the cheapest hostel in London, it attracts a terrible crowd. There are a lot of close to homeless people, or at least homeless like looking who actually seem to live in the hostel...They are scary and you will feel afraid once you arrive there if you are alone. The bathrooms always smell like pee and they do all sorts of terrible mix ups, where I even found myself one night without a bed to sleep in. I got to my room, without checking out and all the beds in my dorm were occupied. So, I had to wait around 45 minutes for a new room, this at about midnight. The french recceptionist was not helpful at all, she kept saying she couldn't help cause she was changing shifts. She wasn't even apologetic, cause apparently this is a situation that happens a lot, which is appalling, really.... Also, i met people who had things stolen from their rooms, like shoes for instance. It's a horrible place, never again.

    Nothing, this is the worst hostel ever.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bedsheets not changed...rooms too small. walls old and stuffy. bathroom horrible. then the hostel shares ground with a graveyard jx behind it. horrible

    the accessibility of the restaurant and bar with snooker and table tennis games

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is so run down. Mold all over the walls. Floors littered with rubbish. Place is a health and safety nightmare.

    Nothing the place was the worst place I have ever stayed. That's why I left after 6 nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for unfortunately. The staff are careless if not rude. The French girl receptionist was flirting with a guy while we were in process of booking my bed. I don't have high expectations when it comes to cheap stays but rude staff is unacceptable thing for me

    Location and good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff was extremely rude with everyone at the hostel. The location was ok, in front of a metro station but far away from the city center, at least 40 min. The breakfast was horrible and not included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was really thin. The booking system let people take our beds. The bathrooms were grotty even though they were cleaned there was ingrained dirt and mould. The bathrooms need a new refit. The beds were so creaky everytime someone turned over it woke me up. The rooms had showers in the corner. Needed separate showers as then more than one person can shower. Only 2 power sockets between 6 people.

    Across the road from the tube station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only has room to shower inside the room and my room was mixed, the hostel is very dirty in the places in common, and the receptionists are grumpy.

    The restaurant it was clean and delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the staff said there was wifi throughout the building, I did not have wifi in my room. Also, the shower was disgusting. It was dirty and really smelly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean common places, didn't feel safe with other visitors, dirty linen when arrived, no lockers in rooms, my ved was given to someone else during my first night and I was sent to another room. Very noisy neighbourhood.

    tube is across the road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows are single glazed; the smallest noise from the street is enough to wake you up. The rooms were tiny and unclean. There is no toilet in the room so you have to use common ones situated on each floor. Would have been ideal had that been mentioned on the website, which it hasn’t.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room .cleaness and the cafe.

    The hostel was much better than few years ago that I've stayed there much improvement but still some unpleasant and grumpy staff around. The WIFI was the most annoying thing and not working properly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The bed was lumpy and stained. The staff were rude at every opportunity. The bathroom was not clean and the toilets did not flush. The shower is located IN THE ROOM, so forget changing in privacy if your room overlord is there. The common room feels very unwelcoming and if you use a cushion a man will come over and tell you it is on the "wrong couch" and take it from you to put it on the "right couch" where nobody is sitting or wanting to use it. The wifi doesn't work unless you have the modem glues to your device and even then is terrible at best.

    Nothing to like. A very surly woman was in the room already, as she appeared to live there. The first thing she said to us was to reprimand us for not having the door locked (although we were inside the room and awake and had no reason to lock the door) and make us feel very uncomfortable as though she was doing us a favour by letting us sleep there (as opposed to us being paying customers, which we were).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It feels a bit grimy overall. We booked a double private room, which is a bunk bed room. The beds were much more comfortable than the ones we had in Costa Rica, but they were too short for me (6'4") - I was uncomfortable because I kept having to reposition my legs, feet, head, etc. throughout the night, which made sleep very fitful and unrestful. The bathrooms didn't have any soap in them - a very good way to spread sickness and germs, and it may have contributed to the number of people we saw with colds. Overall, the place was a little run down - things like dirt and grime along the baseboards, some stripped paint along the walls, marks and dings along the walls, the bed comforter was ripped, etc. The bar area and the TV room just felt dirty and over-crowded - they hadn't been built to purpose for these uses. The fridge in the TV room in particular had a horrible smell. As we just stored some canned drinks in a bag inside it, not a big deal, but I'd be remiss to store food there and have it soak up those smells.

    It's a basic hostel. It's a very good value if you need to save money. We enjoyed meeting people from all other parts of the world - Africa, Eastern Europe, Australia, Spain. The private room we booked had a hot water shower with adjustable sprayer hose head in it, which was great. I'm not sure where other showers were for those staying in the shared dorms - I didn't see any in the bathrooms. No bugs to deal with! Staff was nice. Many didn't speak much English, which made communication a little difficult, but ultimately everything was handled well. Some staff seemed to take great pride in their work, which was great to see - the janitor, the laundryman, etc. The bar girl was willing to try to make new drinks with the ingredients on hand, which was a nice touch too. Breakfast deals were awesomely cheap and filing! No money wasted on presentation, but an excellent value if traveling on a budget - kept us full for hours!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was not as per the description online. It was dirty, smelly. Rooms were smelly, bed sheets were dirty. And over not a good atmosphere.

    Didnot like anything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's so loud and noisy the entire day and night! Too much traffic. I stayed wide awake the entire night! The location is not preferable, not near to everywhere. The sheets are sour and smelly. The wifi is not working. Planned to stay for two nights, but it was so uncomfortable and I had to leave. The fee is not returnable.

    Offer free printing services. Near to a fantastic bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    very dirty. Especially toilets and bathrooms. shower in the middle of the room. No place inside the shower for your clothes. I guess you supposed to take off ALL your clothes infront of other roomates.... Area around doesn't look safe..

    tube station across the road and price under 10 pounds per room. It doesn't worth more than 10 pounds per night. nothing else...

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kensal Green Backpackers traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: