Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Cambridgeshire hotel reviews
  4. Cambridge hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Felix

Reviews of Hotel Felix 4 stars

Whitehouse Lane, Huntingdon Road, Cambridge, CB3 0LF, United Kingdom

#14 of 33 hotels in Cambridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 981 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    7.1
    Nice rooms and not to far from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a total desaster. The staff was not really interested in the guests. It was difficult, to get coffee or tea and impossible to order a cooked breakfast. This was the worst breakfast we ever had on this beautiful island.

    Nice rooms and not to far from the city center. Good place if you bring your dog.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    9.2
    A nice quiet very comfortable luxury hotel in Cambridge l
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area and restaurant were a little bit tired in terms of decor. The bed was not terribly comfortable. Bit on the pricey side but good value for Cambridge.

    Very nice comfortable hotel on the edge of Cambridge. Staff extremely helpful, polite and friendly. Made to feel welcome. Dog friendly room with very nice bathroom. Bed was rather average but ok. Food was a very good standard and weather permitting you can have breakfast on a peaceful, sunny terrace. Cocktails and wines above average. It’s a little way out of the centre of Cambridge but just off the main Huntington Road. You can walk in to town, cycle or catch the bus. Nice quiet setting. We would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Cambridge.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2019

    7.1
    Cosy atmosphere and Nice personal Even if sometimes a bit...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Credit all my bookings on my credit card in advance and Not flexible to change it. i had a group Bathrroom could be renovated

    Cosy atmosphere and Nice personal Even if sometimes a bit confused Great restaurant

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2019

    10
    Loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one and only thing. It could have a better hairdryer.

    Everything was nice and clean. The room was very nice and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and with a smile! We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    5.0
    Great location, not greatest for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls, meaning conversations in next door room could be heard clearly, no ventilation or air conditioning and shower flooding up to ankles while showering. Reception were only worried about plumbing and no apologies or acknowledgement of other issues raised.

    Location was great. Outside of main area, but close enough for a 20min walk into town.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2019

    9.6
    Elegant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was mediocre. Served buffet style, and was lukewarm at best.

    Location. Parking on site, which is lovely in a town not known for their parking availability.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2019

    6.7
    Easy location dog friendly but could do with a little updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hinge broken on shower door. Bedroom carpet could do with a good clean. No draught beers working in the bar.

    Easy location and most of the staff very good. Good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    7.5
    Enjoyable but overall not good value for money. I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Twin Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant staff all seemed impersonal. It felt as if it was simply a job for them.

    Lovely setting. Reception staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    5.0
    Won’t be stay again disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above

    The room was very small didn’t get any sleep as you could hear the water pipes from everyone’s sink, toilet and shower. Not a cheap hotel either.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2019

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not worth the luxury price tag. There was no attention to detail with aesthetics of room or included items. Extremely basic facilities, with no fridge, only one bottle of water(two of us staying) and one small tube of shower gel. Main property has loads of potential however the extension where our room was not finished to a 4* hotel standard. Lovely staff but won’t stay again.

    Easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2019

    7.5
    Venue is nice and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was the only thing to complain about. The buffet was late and the bacon was not properly prepared. Coffee was also of poor quality.

    Venue is nice and quite.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    10
    A lovely stay highlighted by the first rate service and comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Twin Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of snacks as by the time I returned from working in Cambridge there was not a lot to consider

    My wife spent most of her stay in and around the hotel, our room and the surrounding grounds and facilities. She was met by friendly and helpful faces keen to help as and when needed. Our dog was also treated brilliantly

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    9.6
    Pleasant stay, welcome with warm and friendly manner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise barriers between floors and rooms could be better.

    Pleasant stay, welcome with warm and friendly manner. Looks great as a bit contemporary and trendy. Privacy is good.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2019

    7.5
    Comfortable big bed,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ridiculously bright lights in the bar in the evening Totally detracted from a relaxing atmosphere to chat and enjoy a drink The hot buffet breakfast was luke warm

    Comfortable big bed, Real Coffee (ie not instant ) in room and the offer of fresh tea and cafetière to the room at any time. Nice to have the grounds outside and breakfast on the patio

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    8.3
    A few tweaks needed but would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Twin Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed to be flustered and unsure what they were doing they were apologetic .i think a lot of them were new. We went out all day coming back at 4.15 to find they had only just arrived to service our room as they said they’d been busy.

    We were upgraded to a larger room which was very comfortable. The food was all delicious and location brilliant for access into Cambridge

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    5.0
    Did not enjoy out stay unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, lack of towels,lack of toiletries. Ala carte menu- over priced,lack of choice and tasteless. Wasn’t informed of a wedding taking place when we booked.Felt like we were in the way and intruding on someones big day!

    Bed was comfy.Bar staff ok .

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    10
    Hotel Felix is a gem of a find in Cambridge!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (Twin)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much, It was pretty perfect

    Lovely building, loads of free parking, fabulously large room and incredible bathroom facilities! Plus gorgeous breakfasts!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    8.8
    Lovely room, excellent restaurant, helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room, excellent restaurant, helpful and friendly staff and fast and reliable Wi-Fi. Well situated for the M11, access to Cambridge by bus or taxi and has a good car park. Altogether to be recommended and will certainly be staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2019

    7.1
    Good nights sleep but don't count on the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food was expensive & over priced, yet very average food and service. They would be better off concentrating on simpler, better quality produce as all we wanted was a good sandwich and coffee! Several of the pumps had run dry at the bar - which did not please the guests I was travelling with! The receptionists were both very nice but over-run as only one of them on reception at a time.

    The room was nice and large and they have a big car park. The room was good value for money and the location was quiet. The centre of Cambridge is only a 5 - 10 min cab ride away and park and ride is very close also.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    10
    A great stay in a beautiful hotel within easy reach of Cambridge town centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Superb hotel in an ideal location for a visit to Cambridge without staying in the centre of Cambridge itself. Room was lovely. Meal in the restaurant was superb and the breakfast varied and filling. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2019

    7.9
    It was an unusual And nice building with an interesting mix...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was A bit cold and the heating didn’t seem to work. The breakfast was average and okay, although nothing like the standard of the meal the night before. The staff were very polite but a little ‘rushed off their feet’ at breakfast, so a long wait for plates, tea, top ups of good etc.

    It was an unusual And nice building with an interesting mix of art on the walls ... some good, some not so good. Bedroom was a good size with a large bed. The dinner In The restaurant was expensive but excellent quality and very tasty and the staff were lovely. 😊

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2019

    9.2
    Would certainly recommend this hotel.
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather disorganised during evening meals at taking food orders and seating us at out table. Booking time for the meal was irrelevant as we went into the restaurant considerably later on each occasion and had to ask to have our order taken and to be seated.

    Comfortable environment, quiet location, friendly , helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    9.2
    A super weekend break in Cambridge where this hotel was a very good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Twin Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift to our room but some rooms were serviced by a lift so I would ask for one of these in the future

    First morning English breakfast ordered and served to us. The food quality was excellent for that meal

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    6.7
    Location was great and hotel had nice surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Twin Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In our room is was really noisy and you could hear all the neighbours etc. We wanted to get out of London to relax but it wasn't relaxing.

    Location was great and hotel had nice surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    6.3
    Close to Cambridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not allowed to use garden terrace due to a wedding so stuck in room as this is the only facility and on such a gorgeous weather day ... not happy Staff not that helpful

    Close to Cambridge

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    6.3
    My trip was okay but could have been better
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Twin Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast both days seemed poorly trained, the whole set up was awful and not ran properly.

    The bed was comfortable and the surroundings were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2019

    7.1
    Walking into Cambridge was easy and close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen / restaurant service were not on it. Water and wine was not served before the starter arrived. The time between starter and main was too short.

    Reception service was great

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    7.5
    Overall great stay, plenty to do, recommend punting and walking tours. Cote Brasserie has great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Graffiti restaurant within the hotel did not live up to expectations. Food was alright but could be better. Service at breakfast very slow so leave yourself plenty of time. Could do with more staff as they struggled to deal with the amount of people staying at the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants in Cambridge which I would recommend over the hotel restaurant.

    Hotel was lovely and within walking distance of Cambridge. Buses easily accessible from hotel. Rooms big and very clean. Nice setting, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2019

    6.3
    Nice hotel, shame about the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was terrible, we couldn't believe this could be the same restaurant that has been highly recommended. Cold venison and fish that smelt so bad all the way down the hall, it was inedible. Wait staff seemed to be clueless. Expensive wine by the glass. We ended up having to order a pizza. We had high expectations for the dining experience so it was a big let down.

    The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is dog friendly which was great for us.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2019

    7.1
    Close but no cigar
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast chaotic! Had to wait for glasses and bowls. Only 1 bath towel No lift to some rooms Water extra

    Very comfortable rooms Good OK Helpful reception staff

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2019

    8.8
    Beautiful room, great bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little soundproofing. We could hear plugs going in, bathroom lights going on as well as people talking.

    Beautiful room, great bathroom. Felt very luxurious.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2019

    10
    A very comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt slightly musty on arrival. Shower could have been more powerful.

    A very comfortable stay. All staff were friendly and accommodating. Large sized room with comfortable bed and good quality pillows!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2019

    7.5
    Great staff and location and all very willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room must have had a pipe in the wall that all the toilets on our floor went to because there were frequent noises through the night that kept us up

    Great staff and location and all very willing to help

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    7.9
    very nice hotel, little bit pricey for the location and standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was a little bit chaotic but possibly we just arrived at a bad time. I appreciate the kitchen needed to get ready for lunch but breakfast finishing at 10am on a Sunday particularly on the night of the daylight saving change was not great either.

    very comfortable large bed; good shower; spotlessly clean; nicely designed room; very good food in the restaurant if a bit pricey; waiting staff were lovely

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2019

    7.1
    came for golden wedding trip and everything met up to our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in Cambridge to celebrate our golden wedding and decided on the Felix as we had been pleased when we had stayed there twice before. The location is very good, with car parking and regular buses into town. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and enjoyed the food. The décor and art works were very interesting.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2019

    7.5
    A pleasant quiet environment on a major bus route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little hard and price a little high. Food was expensive and not well reviewed so we gave it a miss

    Room layout, warmth and pleasant decor. very good public transport

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2019

    7.1
    The bar was nice, bair maid was lovely and very accomodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't comfortable at all, toilet broke so we got 'upgraded' to premium, which was exactly the same as the other room

    The bar was nice, bair maid was lovely and very accomodating to me and partner

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2019

    9.2
    The bed was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the restaurant Saturday evening. The food quality was poor Our two meals were eatable but not great We did see two meals from different tables being sent back to the kitchen This is serposedley an award winning restaurant

    The bed was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2019

    10
    A return is on the cards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been better it was a crazy spray

    Lovely hotel, super comfy bed and pillows. The staff were attentive without being invasive and all helpful and friendly. We had dinner and breakfast both were fabulous. We would definitely recommend and return

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    8.3
    Nice hotel, food could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food disappointing, small portions for evening main course, much of breakfast appeared to be deep fried.

    Good comfortable room. Hotel in nice setting. Bus into Cambridge at end of drive. Park and ride not far away.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2019

    8.8
    Perfect for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast included was buffet style and could of been warmer, but still nice.

    Hotel was nicely decorated and clean. The fresh milk in the fridge was a nice touch and appreciated.b

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2019

    7.1
    Enjoyable and worth a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in our room was not working and some bathroom fittings were loose.

    The breakfast was great. It made a pleasant change to have a "cooked to order" breakfast in lieu of the normal buffet item.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2019

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nice to have a nice view but was t a massive deal

    The pillows were to die for and the room service was so tasty and not expensive at all! And the underfloor heating in the toilet was a massive bonus

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    5.4
    A little outdated , normal stay but overpriced for what it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated , normal stay but overpriced for what it offered. I expected a better looking room and the toiletries were limited. You can find nicer places or similar in Cambridge for a cheaper price.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2019

    7.5
    Comfortable stay thank you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a full English breakfast. My poached eggs were cooked well but needed to be hotter. The sausage was tough. Knives were also a little blunt to use Only small thing in the room the large mirror in front of the bathroom would have been great if it was surrounded by lights same as small shaving mirror

    Room was comfortable clean and warm. Staff were friendly. I had a good night sleep

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2019

    10
    Excellent stay in a great pet friendly comfy hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was grrat

    Hotel Felix is definitely dog friendly. From the dog treats in the room to bowls of water around the hotel. The staff also asked about them and how their stay went. Nice area around the hotel to walk them as well.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2018

    10
    Nice breakfast, lovely room and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    .limited vegan options in the breakfast and in the restaurant for example- I would have appreciated if the avocado was included in the breakfast price.

    Nice breakfast, lovely room and gardens. , We have really enjoyed the possibility of bringing our dog along and she even got a fancy treat! we'll definitely recommend

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, rooms are nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegan options at breakfast please.

    Great staff, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, rooms are nice and comfortable, and very clean. Beautiful building and garden.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were all that was required and more - underfloor heating especially. The breakfasts are recommended and our meal in the restaurant the first night was very much enjoyed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    9.2
    Well kept and clean, not too many affectations
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to / from the hotel requires a car, public transport links to Cambridge centre aren’t particularly good

    Well kept and clean, not too many affectations

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    7.5
    Great size rooms and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although our food was great in the restaurant I would have liked more options to have been available. Also at breakfast you can only have filter coffee which was disappointing as I love a latte to start my day. These minor points wouldn’t stop me returning though.

    Great size rooms and a great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.1
    Staff plesant some of the time, waiting staff looked stressed. rooms good, clean. breakfast a joke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor. the quality of the breakfast was way below the standard one would expect from a hotel of this price and rating. bacon was shockingly bad. thin insipid looking, cheap beans hard, weak coffee after twice asking for a strong pot. Gests were kept waiting to be seated for half an hour. the noise in the dinning room from the staff clearing tables was deafening, had to sit outside on the wet chairs to get some quite. Dining room is way too small for the number of guests.

    rooms were comfortable, clean,

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    8.3
    A convenient location for a quick visit to Cambridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service expensive but typical for hotels, which is ashame as it means you just go elsewhere for meals if you are looking for an evening meal. Breakfast room just about coped with capacity but when hotel is full I imagine people would be waiting. They do advise you the busy period for breakfast.

    Main building has character. Breakfast was buffet and well provisioned for guests

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    9.6
    Extra comfort and quality, exceeded expectations. Nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful large bedroom, felt like moving in! Amazing bathroom. Not so central, but I was going to Churchill College in Cambridge, just a short walk away. Still a nice walk/run to the city center. A great plus to have a large parking area, for free, so a good place to leave the car and explore the city center from. Great breakfast. Very comfortable and a different lay out of the hotel, very cosy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    8.8
    The over atmosphere was warm and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting staff just need a short CPD session on how to clear tables, clear from the left and do not lean over the lady, also clear the breakfast bowls when you serve the cooked breakfast

    The over atmosphere was warm and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and restful in very clean, well appointed comfortable rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not within easy walking distance of the city centre

    The hotel is quiet and set in it's own park-like grounds with a restaurant which is above the standard of most hotels and thus one does not feel the need to eat out which is convenient but also might detract from exploring the eateries of the city. The quality however does not make it a poorer choice at all, should one wish to stay in for comfort.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    A stylish, well run and friendly hotel - we have a lovely stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tend to get up later and so would suggest a slightly later breakfast finishing time of 10am (instead of 9.30), but we appreciate, this is a busy hotel with a tight routine.

    We would highly recommend this hotel. Everyone was friendly, helpful and efficient. It was in a beautiful quiet location with easy access to the centre of town. The room was spacious and comfortable with all the facilities you would need. We had a family birthday gathering and we were all delighted.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    8.3
    Friendly. Comfortable. Not worth the money though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £50 hold on arrival until the next day..regarding mini bar. But had no interest in the mini bar. Ordered poached eggs then went up to get remaining breakfast and they where taken away with my coffee so had to ask to replace them. Breakfast (cooked) wasnt very nice. So for the price i wasnt impressed really.

    Floor heating in bathroom. Bed was very very comfortable. Staff are very friendly and approachable. Very clean throughout.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    8.5
    would stay again as so convenient for access into the City - price we paid was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom mirror lights.. no non slip mat in bath... should be more freebie tea/coffee choices.. provide.water and glasses in the room.... armchair to heavy to move easily... restaurant could up its game for supper/dinner we were disappointed.. breakfast excellent.

    the upgrade we had..... very comfy bed.....smart bathroom.. excellent parking...quiet elegant surroundings .. easy to use A/C and room heating.. good blackout curtains.. plenty of guest lounge space....very pleasant staff mainly young people

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed cambridge,the dinner which was extra but not the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extras for a king premier room.no biscuits on hospitality tray.no mineral water included.no thermostatic shower it ran cold.most lower grade hotels offer these extras.The room had to have the blinds drawn as it overlooked a small road that was parked on.we expected more from what was supposed to be a premier room that we feel we paid a lot for.

    The restaurant was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.9
    The building is beautiful, decore is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the furniture in the room felt a little warn. The room was lovely but not as nice as i hoped. I looked at so many hotels before choosing this one as I wanted the wow factor....first time my husband and I have spent the night away from our children in 17 years. I would stay again but not for £170.

    The building is beautiful, decore is lovely. All the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, great choice, staff at were extremely attentive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.8
    Stylish hotel lovely staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing disliked only it’d have been perfect with a cosmic mirror in the bath room

    The Victoria villa has been given a modern touch in the decoration; spacious rooms, nice shower;plenty parking space on site and looks very popular particularly for weddings

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.0
    Ok, but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Double Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for newspaper and a couple of biscuits

    Restaurant manager at breakfast was surly and gave a bad atmosphere for the rest of the staff, front of house staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was great and the staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked in at 14.15 hrs and was given our room key - when we got to the room it had not been serviced. The following day we went out and arrived back to our room at 14.30 hrs and yet again the room had not been serviced. The hotel was great and the staff were lovely but this was a disappointing experience.

    the bed was extra comfy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable four day break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the neighbouring bedroom guests had two dogs, which we felt was inappropriate for a hotel of this standard.

    The choice from the menu in the restaurant was very comprehensive. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel just needs a bit more attention to detale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guessed next door were niosey And we're using bad language all night as the walls were so thin Hadd a lot off trouble with key for the room not working very well breakfast was cold

    Bed and room was comfortable Staff were helpful and polite In good location to city centre

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Love this place, third stay there now and it never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of building work going on this time but that wasn’t their fault and they were very apologetic

    Love this place, third stay there now and it never disappoints

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    Will definitely stay again next time in Cambridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv signal For one night Shower ran hot / cold at times

    Room was very spacious Choice of bath or shower Very comfy bed Good choice for breakfa

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    We ended our trip around England here which was wonderful!
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu was a little restricted as both cafe and restaurant served the same things. However, food was delicious!

    We ended our trip around England here which was wonderful! The staff were hospitable, the food and grounds were lovely and the room was large, well appointed and comfortable. Unlike most rooms we had booked, this had a bar fridge. A very comfortable and pleasant stay. Very good WiFi connections. Great to have towel warmer and underground heating on bathroom tiles. Well sign posted so easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to hunt for bar staff on a couple of occassions so they need to ensure that the bar is manned at all times. Also the hotel accepts dogs so we were woken a couple of times with dogs barking nearby.

    Premier room was excellent, spacious with a good sized en suite. Restaurant service and food also excellant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.3
    Not impressed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    building is tired, bathroom needs a refurb, grouting missing on tiles, tap hanging off the wall, black mould around seals. whilst sitting in bed a staff member walked in our bedroom. the room was very noisy. Our room was in between the lift which dings everytime somebody uses it and t oilets situated next door to our room 12, with hand dryers and people slamming doors. Believe we may have had this room due to the discounted price...? The hotel was not full, so why put us in a room that was completely not suitable or hireable unless you wish to be kept awake and given an early call at 0600 hrs due to the staff chattering away outside your bedroom and cleaning the toilets!!

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    2 night stay for business... minimal options left at time booked.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great deal of choice at breakfast. Variable quality - one day eggs were cold and hard. If you wanted poached eggs that was extra... Toast and coffee took ages to come.. WiFi required email submission and having to reconnect all the time. Too far to walk to town but pay for hire bikes (Ofo) and bus stop close by. Noisy water system... could hear bedroom above having a shower and flushing toilet... Bags of coffee in room.... why not just a caffetiere and fresh ground coffee? Minimal other food options nearby in walking distance.

    Hot and cold buffet at breakfast Clean rooms Fresh milk in room for tea and coffee

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Having parking is great as the bus stop to Cambridge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Having parking is great as the bus stop to Cambridge and back is at the end of the road. All the staff are excellent going out of their way to help with anything you ask for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely property with comfortable rooms. Convenient location to Cambridge via bus or on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little warm when we arrived, Comfortablebut we adjusted the thermostat and opened a window.

    Quiet, comfortable, spacious room. Delicious breakfast. Appreciated that we had free parking and that we could leave our car parked after checkout to explore central Cambridge for the day. The location was convenient to bus into central Cambridge. Or walk (about 30-40 minutes).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Pleasing and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It suited our purposes. Not to everyone's taste but for a quiet stay it was first rate.

    Good breakfast though the first day a little slow. Very clean and in an excellent location for access to Cambridge which was a short bus ride away. I liked the quiet location set in a nice garden which was well tended. The facilities were of the basic sort so appeals to an elderly couple or people not trying to please the kids with hotel facilities. I would return as the value was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: