Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Housel Bay Hotel 3 stars

Housel Cove, Lizard, TR12 7PG, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Lizard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 169 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    A very pleasant stay in a rather dated hotel that could be amazing if brought up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was tired and rather dated especially the bathroom, there was no shower. The TV was on the dressing table which made it unusable and the room was cluttered with unessesary equipment fixed to the wall i.e.: iron/ ironing board. We felt that the price paid was not reflected in the facilities given.

    The location of the hotel is stunnning, the scenery is beautiful. Our room was comfortable especially the bed. We had a junior suite with views over the sea. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. The hotel was quiet, perfect for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely relaxing break,nice quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee at breakfast was awful,one staff member didn’t speak very good English which made it hard to communicate. The flashing from the lighthouse through the window was annoying at night when trying to sleep but not the fault of the hotel and you do get used to it.

    Spectacular sea views,lovely hotel and garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable. Stunning location facing the sea. We love the Lizard anyway and will be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel a little dated however the hotel has just been sold so hopefully changes will be coming The breakfast menu did have any fish even though it was on the menu.

    Member of Staff - Rob. Excellent bloke. Went out of his way to help us and had a great sense of humour. Everyone else was very friendly and helpful. Stunning location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    I was disappointed with our room that we had paid extra for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with our room that we had paid extra for. It was small with only a tiny window overlooking the sea. We complained but nothing was done about it. We were told we were welcome to stay somewhere else. So we cut out stay from two nights to one. Very sad as we had so been looking forward to our stay. My parents were stationed here during the war. And I was hoping it would be a romantic break for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing find! Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a negative remark but if you’re a light sleeper you maybe woken by the lighthouse fog horn if weather isn’t too good.

    The attentive members of staff were second to none, we were shown around the hotel when we arrived, the hotel was just perfect, lovely facilities nice quiet room and bar, great food and breakfast, comfy very clean rooms comfy bed, great sea view, lovely gardens good parking, helpful friendly people. A really good hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    The pictures didn’t give a true reflection of the room damp...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures didn’t give a true reflection of the room damp issues in corners of the room shower ran of bath taps so poor shower despite giving a different impression from the pictures. Had an emergency which resulted in checking out a day early and despite exceptional circumstances no offer of paying for the 1 night rather than 2 and despite saying room not up to standards offered voucher for a return visit very poor overall inpression

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    The sea views were spectacular, the food was excellent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit weak and I think the bathroom could do with a refurb

    The sea views were spectacular, the food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and quiet. There was plenty of great walks directly out of the rear of the hotel, plus other beaches and coves within very close driving distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small

    Breathtaking views of the sea. Lovely little secluded Cove directly in front of the hotel. Amazing crystal clear waters to swim in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    The views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom very poor with squeaky - very noisy - floorboards. Furnishings old and tired. We expect to leave towels for reuse, but we do not expect housekeeping staff to just leave them untidy in the bathroom - every day for four days

    The views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was mediocre. Staff shortness. Staff new, was not able to give hints on surrounding. State of garden furniture could be improved.

    Superb location with stunning view. Wonderful garden. Excellent parking possibilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Amazing indoor and outdoor views of Landsend from their...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cancelled dinner on our second night to give their one chef a night off. There is not much else good to eat in the village nearbye , usual pub grub only, so that was a let down. Our room was very tight and the bathroom tighter. The smallest shower I have ever seen. The rooms let them down in an otherwise good place. Overpriced for the room we got but guess it was the season

    Amazing indoor and outdoor views of Landsend from their guest eating and dining and outdoor patio. Easy access to coastal walk path. Very good and good value dinner in a nice setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Lovely locations close to kynanace cove and great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't aware you had to leave keys with reception when ever you leave the property. We had to take all our valuables with us as I didn't want to risk someone picking up our key as it was left on the front desk. We also had to be back at the hotel by midnight as they lock all door at this point. We wouldn't return because of these reasons.

    Lovely locations close to kynanace cove and great experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    The owner was pleasant, but this hotel needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is very dated and badly in need of some restoration, the rooms are basic and beds uncomfortable. The electrical goods are old and everything just feels dated and in need of money spent to freshen up the feel of the hotel. The staff were sullen, food plonked down in front of you and would start clearing plates when others still eating, not trained in hospitality properly.

    The Location superb, the garden very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    The Barman Toby is just unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much fog, English weather, etc. But we traveled in April - maybe that was the mistake. We had some some sun - and the foggy weather, suits the location. The light-house "horn" is quite anyoing - when foggy.

    The Barman Toby is just unique. So is the landlord and the landlady. Go there, and feel the English/British yourself. The food was excellent (in the area) but also and in any case at the hotel. Do not miss, to try the fish for breakfast (2 types). Just marvellous - like the view and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location. Hotel could make some slight improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a vegetarian option (sausage) for breakfast. Did not have generous portions for breakfast though delicious. Recommend asking for more than 1 egg if that’s your breakfast. The shower pressure was exceptionally poor, was told it was maybe due the demand but the shower pressure was the same throughout our stay. Room kettle very dated, allow 10 minutes for it to arrive at temperature.

    Very nice location next to the coast. Excellent views from the room. Beware the lighthouse nearby, when visibility becomes poor the fog horn of the lighthouse sounds every 30 seconds until it clears which can be days or more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely view. Room was small but spotless. Welcome left a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome from the proprietor/manager left a lot to be desired. We asked to leave our bag before check in and were just told ‘put it the lounge. Check in is at 4.00pm - the latest check in at any hotel I have ever stayed in. And the bag was not taken to our room When I checked out he didn’t ask if I had enjoyed my stay - just told me about his internet problems. Restaurant staff were generally pleasant and helpful though and the view is spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful setting, wonderful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needed a topper on it. Was much more comfortable when I slept on the bed with blanket over me.

    The owners and staff are very welcoming. Nothing is a problem. Lovely and warm too. Just a beautiful experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Very nice views from a hotel, excellent dinner, rooms needs to be updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cold when we arrived (it was a very cold Easter), the furniture is very old and dated (not in a good vintage way), the bathroom is not nice at all.

    The views from the Hotel are stunning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Unbeatable position, excelent food, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room - for first night was cold and radiators tepid. Following a move to second room for rest of stay - very comfortable - no complaints

    Food and staff superb - very good value and staff very attentive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite bathroom was a little tight.

    We were fortunate enough to have the hotel to ourselves the night we stayed and the staff could not do enough for us! We even had the chef (Kevin) cook our very own menu! Fantastic service. Emma was lovely and took time to teach us all about the local gin 😀 very interesting! The view was A-Maze-zing!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Stunning views from a quintessential Cornish hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was pretty cramped with the usual joys of English plumbing but the service and the surroundings more than compensated!

    Iconic views from a pleasant room. Friendly and efficient staff plus a very good restaurant serving excellent quality meals. We would certainly return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    An ideal place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were embarrassed that booking.com had charged us a rate which the owners the owners said was 3 years out of date

    REstaurant the best for miles around. Bedding a bit hot but then we we're in the middle of a late hot spell

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Quick, confusing and a complete mix up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were small, very basic for the price as was quite expensive. The worst part is we had booked for 4 nights but they only had us booked in for two separate nights. We only stayed for one night and checked out. Would not go again

    sea view from window

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant visit to a beautiful part of the country we hadn't visited before, with plenty to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival they must have had a large party in for lunch & the cooking fumes lingered on until the evening. This had cleared by the second day but must be a problem when the weather does not favour ventilation.

    The view from the dining room was magnificent. We dined in all 3 nights & food was quite good & wine good value, also a decent local draft beer. The coastal path goes past the garden so we could walk wherever we wanted. The place is a bit old-fashioned but grew on us as we were there. I noted it is up for sale which usually suggests that the owners were perhaps a little less enthusiastic about ongoing care of clients. This was certainly not the case, we were well looked after. I wish them well in seeking a buyer & hope they maintain standards. It is such a lovely spot to stay in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location, pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little more choice at breakfast of cheeses, meats or pastries would be good. My room was a family room (there was only me booked) it was comfy and the bed was great. However if there were 4 people staying i think the bathroom space would be very tight, but was fine for me. Could also do with a little shelf inside the shower to put your toiletries. The only other addition i would have liked is a full length mirror but that's just being picky!

    A fantastic looking house and lovely gardens and lounge facing the sea. Location is amazing, right on the SW coast path. Quiet and comfy room. Staff were friendly and made sure you were ok. Had dinner one evening which was delicious. Breakfast was fairly simple but nicely presented and tasty. Overall i would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Tries to give the impression that it is a smart hotel, actually it is very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nobody offered to help with luggage or show us to our room on arrival. We were given a key and left to get on with it. The room was a bit small, decor a bit tired, the bed was standard double, not king size as advertised. Not much storage. We've had much better rooms in an average B&B. I doubt many guests will realise that the lighthouse nearby is one of the few left in the country that operates a siren in bad weather.

    The position of the hotel as far as scenery is concerned. Very handy for the SW Coast Path. Dining room a very pleasant place to eat. Our room had reasonable view over countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Stunning view from the room and amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When bad weather (fog) the lighthouse located near the hotel is signaling also at night (the hotel cannot do anything about it of course)

    Location of this hotel is unique with the ocean, reefs, beautiful walking pads around, stunning views. Very quiet locaiton but still small town at walking distance where you have few restaurants and pubs. We booked ocean view standard room but were lucky and got free upgrade to the ocean view suite. We had cosy spacy room with large bed and almost unreal stunny view from the window. We were so happy to get back to the hotel after our daily trips and enjoy this. Restaurant same as entire hotel has own style, which fits very well to the hotel surroundings, like you landed in some classic movie, really nice. Breakfast and service in the restaurant and at the reception were also good. We enjoyed out stay very much and will definitely come back when we have chance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Better room facilities required otherwise Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Inadequate bathroom facilities, with limited shelf space/hanging facilities for Towels, and inconvenience of emergency exit door within room. Need for grab handle within bath/shower area (my view). Bedroom ok but from our point of view found the bed excessively large for room. King size (my view) would be big enough & Countryside views? bit limited. Hence low score for "value for money"

    Situation directly on coast giving very good view of Lizard Lighthouse, Friendly Staff, Very Good Food, Ease of parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Top location in the South West!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fog horn in the middle of the night but realised how important it was and we got used to it!

    The sea view room and friendliness of the staff Accessibility to coastal walks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    A pleasant time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattresses are hard; sleeping pillows thin and older. Bathrooms need updating. Breakfast very basic.

    The view was spectacular. The hotel is quaint and gave us a very old English experience. Owners very helpful with information and staff in dining room ready to accommodate. Dinners were very nice though we felt on the expensive side.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.8
    Paying for the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard and the pillows like pieces of cardboard. The water pressure in the shower was extremely poor and the bathroom minute. The room itself could do with some updating.

    The location and the view were stunning. The evening meals were very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    A great place to stay in Lizard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very dusty. The breakfast staff didn't know what a poached egg was.

    The view is impeccable. Probably one of the best views in the South West of England. The hotel has a lot of character. The staff are friendly. The location is unique and quite magical.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Gorgeous location but mediocre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at this hotel several times. Although some limited improvements have been made to the hotel recently, the bathrooms are small and tired and the rooms not to the standard one might expect for the price. The menu has deteriorated slowly over the years to a point where we would not eat at the hotel if we were to stay again.

    The location is stunning and goes a long way to make up for the shortcomings of this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    4.2
    ~ we've been ~
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel carefully selected and from the website it looked perfect. On arrival at the front desk we were handed our room key for a first floor room, 'Conveniently'? located immediately to the top of the stairwell fire-door. Having booked a 'sea view' room 3 months prior I had 'higher' hopes. The room was a letdown. Expecting a touch of luxury to reflect the rates we entered the very small 'B&B' budget-sized room directly above the bar; despite seeing only one other couple staying at the Hotel. We had to take turns moving past each other or climb over the bed. Later we went to the conservatory for our dinner reservation. (We had been told that the adjoining, and most lovely, dining room was not being used; something about the season?) We chose a table along the window with a nice lighthouse view. This caused a wee bit of kerfuffle as unbeknownst to us they had already designated a table 'with a marker with our room number' it had poor overhead lighting and was nearest to the doorway. We politely requested to remain at the table 'two along' and it was met with a few looks; but a quick swap of the 'cafeteria style' table marker with the matching room number and all was well! Yet with only two rooms occupied we were sure to not get lost in the crowd. The Lighthouse Foghorn at 6am Saturday and also Saturday night! The window had been open for fresh air but closed for peace and quiet. ~Fawlty Towers ~

    The Lizard was a bucket list location. The hot water was temperature controlled for the shower. No adjusting. Some laughs in the bar~good fire~

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Housel Bay Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Everything, superb location with stunning views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was good location staff were nice and helpful nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was very slow less than 1meg but in valley so maybe that’s why?

    Hotel was good location staff were nice and helpful nice place to go.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a complete refurbishment. Only good thing was the amazing views.

    The view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Needs a complete renovation - apparently happening 2019
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were terrible and it has not had a renovation for about 30 years I think!

    The view, location and staff were fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel for relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast friendly staff Beautiful views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing trip away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views, beautiful beach, lovely staff, excellent service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a outdated and the food was overpriced

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The good quality

    Location. Staff. Feel. Very quirky

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Outstanding views of the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a remote location. Small room , despite a high rate.

    Outstanding views of the coast. Delicious breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    An absolutely beautiful view from the gardens
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floor in the small room. Staff not very friendly. Hotel in need of decorating

    An absolutely beautiful view from the gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Dinner was excellent quality but highly priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was excellent quality but highly priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    we had an exelent time and we done all we wanted too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    did not have an evening meal as nothing on menue that we would have gone for

    the view and the serondingsi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel owners very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately a fog horn kept us awake. Not the hotel’s fault! Just one of those things!

    Hotel owners very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous view of the coast at the Lizard; good breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    A true Cornish experience here and on the Lizard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are slightly tiered

    Loved the location and the friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    A great place to chill and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, excellent food, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    it was a great getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a great getaway. the gentleman that owns the hotel was a really great host. fantastic walks and really good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location, brilliant views and nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, brilliant views and nice area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location plenty of character great place to explore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location plenty of character great place to explore lizard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A great stay in a super place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful views, lovely comfortable hotel, excellent food , pleasant, attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wash cloths

    A great location to relax. The village of Lizard is only a 15 minute walk. Good pubs and shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    best place ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    my favourite place only reservation was last time the chef was amazing food this time diferent chef not so amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Cracking spot in a cracking location of cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needed tightening up so water didn’t go everywhere, the rusty kettle

    Cracking location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff,excellent food and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Very friendly staff,excellent food and a great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. The staff were friendly and proffesional. The food was exellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Food brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food brilliant. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, very clean and tidy felt at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much room around toilet

    Friendly staff, excellent quality food, very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    View, Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No renovation since many years. Not worth the high Price at all.

    View, Building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Great stay in nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room (with landscape view) needs renovation

    Nice staff - very friendly, great atmosphere, Hotel very close to coast, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    I can't wait to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the restaurant could have had more variety and choices on the menu.

    Was most enjoyable. Would go again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    great location but outdated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room outdated, especially bathroom. Bad bed. Little wall sockets.

    Stunning views. On coastal path.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.0
    Nice little break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and lack of food options after 9

    Location is picturess and owners very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and old fashioned and we didn't get to sit at a table with a view in the restaurant.

    The view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    Go for the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is starting to look run down.

    The view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly traditional hotel. Location could not be better. Freshly cooked breakfast and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard

    Up grade to a larger room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Restaurant food excellent and staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathroom

    Restaurant food excellent and staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and blackout blinds are needed as the lighthouse is flashing in all night.

    The food was exceptional,and hotel staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Great get away weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great all round place to stay. Very comfortable and perfect location to get away from it all. Magic fireworks for New Year!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    the best place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    the whole package was amazing plus the owner make as always a wonderful welcome the food was just divine

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Location location location lovely food friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and dated

    Location location location lovely food friendly and welcoming staff

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: