Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howfield Manor Hotel 3 stars

Howfield Lane, Canterbury, CT4 7HQ, United Kingdom

#9 of 16 hotels in Canterbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1209 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my partner loved this hotel and had a very enjoyable anniversary because the atmosphere of this place was peaceful and all the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the manager was very rude and un helpful, told my partner that if she didn't like it she can else where. not very profesional for a Manager. people skills are very important thing when dealing with customer complaints and this man had none fo them.

    the brekfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault, but we wanted another nights accommodation and couldn’t as they were fully booked for a weekend wedding.

    Lovely sized room and good value for money. Very quiet at night, had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good as well. Would recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find a fault. The only negative thing was the shower, which delivered water at a trickle.

    The location was great. Large room and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    instead of a shower curtain, anything with glass or so would have been better.

    We had a lovely breakfast, had the best service from a nice girl from Romania and a good talk with the Russian receptionist. Dinner was great, super combinations, subtle flavours. Again, great service. Bedroom big enough, only downside was a shower curtain which kept sticking when in the shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not very good, small niggle and didn’t detract from our stay. The only other issue I have is the service was not spot on in the bar and restaurant areas.

    Location great and the food was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to grumble about. We absolutley got its money worth.

    The manor is set in a green area outside the city hubaloo. The room was clean and amenities satisfactory. We ate dinner twice and it was delicious. The staff were excellent especially Mrs Eva. She is so nice and kind. Thumbs up for this location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed needed replacing because you could feel the springs through it and the bed creaked every time you moved. When the hotel is fully booked more than 1 waiting staff is needed at breakfast.

    the reception staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in our room creaked and the matress is ready for a change. The gardener woke us at 7.30am with the chain saw, then followed up with the drive on mower.

    The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Ideal location for getting to the Eurotunnel. The hotel is a little bit tired but overall this was a good value hotel which we would use again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Following other directions we travelled by back lanes from the motorway along a single track lane, avoiding going into Canterbury. When we arrived we found that the hotel brochure recommended travelling into Canterbury and out again which was a much easier route, despite the traffic.

    Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Food was good and well-presented. At first we thought the menu was rather basic but there was also a special daily menu which provided more interesting options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable, bathroom was dirty, mold around bath tub, cloth shower curtain was old, mold at bottom seam, carpet is old, pink and very dirty! Stairs going up towards our room were also very dirty. I thought it could of been because of a busy day of guests but when we left in morning they were still not vacuumed. Home sits on corner lot near main road into town, very noisy.

    Breakfast was great and Eva our waitress was the best. Staff was very friendly as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 2 and unfortunately the water pressure in the shower left much to be desired

    Beautiful property a short drive from Canterbury. Friendly and helpful staff and lovely grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel has changed hands since our last visit, despite the food being expensive it was nowhere near as good as it used to be

    Lovely room, nice grounds and quite peaceful. It's an interesting old building. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building set in lovely grounds. We felt warm and safe. Friendly, welcoming staff with excellent customer service skills. Perfect for exploring Canterbury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed! But we will come again anyway (and hope for another room).

    Very friendly and helpful owner and personnel. Excellent meals and good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent stay. We chose this hotel as a late stay and were delighted by it. It was situated not far from Canterbury, was comfortable and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was good with the staff going out of their way to deal with a gluten free option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Casual welcome at the reception desk. Door lock of room was faulty, problems with kettle and bath plug! We felt a lack of good management of the young staff.

    The bath was great! Comfortable room. Some of the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I reported the only issue I had was that the mattress in our Room 12 needs replacing. It is lumpy.

    The Staff were so friendly and helpful and our group of six absolutely enjoyed their two night stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers had hot water and everything was clean and tidy. It was great to have a bottle of water in the room. The staff were really friendly and helpful on the reception and the omelette was fantastic for breakfast - highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could of tried the restaurant as looked really nice!

    Eva was so friendly helpful and welcoming really made our stay, even a note in the morning to wish my partner happy birthday made our stay very special will definitely come back!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A slight damp smell to the room, bed was ok but hard. unfortunatly the duvet cover had a rip in it so I could see the the duvet was very yellow !!

    Staff were very friendly, the room was a good size , good sized towells. Nice breakfast very good toast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one member of staff at breakfast who made us feel a little like we were unwelcome and everything was a little too much trouble..

    The character of the building and most of the staff, we got married here year's ago and the location and grounds are beautiful..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame the double bed was two twins pushed together as you were in danger of ending up in the crack between the two. The shower was really tricky to get the right temperature so that was annoying. Also there was only freeview tv - would have been nice to have sky/netflix or some other so we could watch a decent film. We made a reservation in the restaurant but despite being in the old chapel it lacked any atmosphere and two of the meals on the limited menu were off that night. The didn't really deal with gluten allergy as the only option I had was the risotto. From the photos it looked like there were extensive grounds but in fact there was a fence that stopped you exploring very far.

    Room was a nice size and had a double aspect looking out on to the grounds. So light and airy feel to it. It was interesting to see the old historic bit of the building and read about its historty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather feeble shower. Poor wifi.

    This hotel has a quiet location in attractive countryside a couple of miles out of Canterbury. There's plenty of parking space and a nice garden. Our spacious room (number 1) has historical features and a big, very comfortable bed. They have a pleasant, warm residents' lounge with adjacent library! The food and service was very good at dinner and breakfast (waiter served). Overall very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel. Old house on a countryside. Big room, with an amazing and fully loaded room (cattle, iron, etc.) I wish there are more such hotels. Worth visiting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low hot water pressure in bath but a minor problem.

    We liked the relaxed atmosphere, helpful staff and variety of spaces, from the garden to the library. We loved cycling along the bike paths into Canterbury. It was a lovely family adventure and we appreciate the staff getting the bikes ready for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    The food was excellent worth eating in the restaurant good value,plus no other options near by.breakfast excellent lots of choices plus vegetarian options all fresh local produce. Room was very clean everything you needed. All in all good value set in nice grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the building was attractive due to its age and history it did make it a noisy place to stay. You can hear the other guests in your room and in our case the staff as the kitchen was directly below us. It was hot, noisy, lots of doors banging and we could hear the staff throwing glass bottles into the recycling below our window. Our daughter was in the oldest side of the hotel and couldn't rest early due to the restaurant being below her and noisy guests. Noise just carried.

    It was attractive from the outside and had period features inside, also the grounds were pretty with a nice garden. We didn't take a good look due to bad weather, good old English rain!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much as I love salad to have the same salad with most of the starters and then the same salad again to accompany the main courses was a little to much. Vegetables would have been preferable. My husband’s poached eggs were not soft and his kippers overdone.

    Excellent scallops. Food well presented and hot. Waiting staff all very pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv choice of channels limited, but didn’t bother us as not in hotel much.

    Lovely location. Very picturesque and close to the city centre just £10 in a taxi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable and the pillows extremely firm.

    Staff where brilliant incredibly helpful. Beautiful setting for a hotel and so peacefully quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one and only thing I'd say is "negative" is that the rooms' walls ar quite thin so you can listen to the other guests talking, coughing or even walking. We didnt bother this that much, to be honest but it's something you may want to take into consideration.

    The staff was incredibly nice and helpful; not only the receptionists but also the waiters/waitresses. The room was very cosy, bed very comfortable and the heating was excellent as well. Breakfast was beyond great and the facilities in general are very beautiful. The reastaurant and bar are very cosy and the garden very well maintained. I strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought breakfast could've started at 7am for travellers. Waiter polite but not friendly. Pillows on bed very hard.

    Nice cooked breakfast, served promptly and was hot. Room clean and comfy. Shower good when worked it out! TV fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, Cara on reception was fantastic, very welcoming and always happy to help especially when it came to dinner. Food was excellent - great quality and portion sizes were good. Room was a great size, plenty of tea and coffee in room, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced, very poor shower, bath not the cleanest, 'double' bed was very small. (The rooms clearly differ a lot in size and quality) A bit dated and creaky (but then again, it is a 12th century manor!)

    Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Good selection for breakfast. Excellent full English breakfast. Service very good. Beds comfortable , nice view from the room. Staff very helpful and efficient. Good location -only 10mins from the Canterbury- the hotel grounds are superb- calm and relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above

    The only problem that I had was the bath with shower w as very high & as I am not very tall had problem getting in and out. The hot water in shower took a while to heat up. Staff were very polite and presented well. breakfast delicious and well presented. Proper bread instead normal cut packet bread

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    A simply gorgeous manor just out of Canterbury, that had everything you could possibly desire! The staff were exceptional! The room was lovely with a superb view! Breakfast had everything you could want! Just marvellous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the restaurant, whilst wasn't rude, wasn't particularly friendly.

    Check out at 11am was a bonus (a lot of hotels want you gone by 10am which seems a bit too early).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a small thing. Lighting very dim and poor in the bedroom. How about some decent LED bulbs - both bright and economical.

    The location was delightful, the gardens a joy, and the helpfulness of the staff outstanding. Wonderful and plentiful breakfast, comfortable and warm room. What more could I want? Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much we didn't like It was all fine just rather tired looking. The duvets were the flat and solid variety. No roaring log fire but did have a gas effect one! Lots of rather strange artefacts that made the place look even more dated. The staff were fine but also looked a bit tired looking! Despite lots of thank you's it was hard to warm them up!

    It is gorgeous from the outside. Has lots of potential . Bathrooms had a total makeover. Just rest very dated Someone pressed the pause button in about 1980! The new wedding facilities with the oak barn looked really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had navigational problems finding the hotel, but that's between me and my sat-nav!

    The room was a very generous size, and I found the bed very comfortable. The rate I paid included breakfast, and the breakfast options included a range of hot dishes as well as cereal, tea / coffee. Reception staff were very helpful too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing old building and grounds with lots of history. Able to relax, big bedroom with dual view. Staff super friendly and helpful. Was a delight to stay and will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Quiet surroundings. Well maintained gardens and hotel building. Characterful restaurant. The beds were comfortable. Safe car parking available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downsides we found were A) Overall hotel decor tired, but believe they are in the process of redecorating? and B) Didn't see any female workers, all male, which may make some female guests staying a little uncomfortable. Quite possible though ladies do work at the hotel and that we just didn't see any during our stay.

    Location great for a ferry crossing the following morning. Staff very friendly, welcoming and attentive, despite having problems with the severe snow and weather conditions early March 2018 with a major boiler problem, but they did their utmost to not let it affect guests staying as much as possible. Particular member of staff who was lovely:- Andrei. Evening meal and breakfast was very good. Room was comfortable, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress and pillows could have been better for comfort

    A friendly hotel with staff that made time to chat and give you local knowledge. Their restaurant is fantastic and would highly recommend eating there. The rooms were what to expect with good facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't work properly for me, no phone in room to call down to reception to express this problem.

    Clean, comfortable & friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is generally a bit tired. The pillows were hard, and the rubber bathroom mat was unpleasantly stained with a serious lack of water pressure in the shower - literally a dribble! This place has huge potential to be a small luxury hotel, but needs quite a bit of spending to bring it up to standard. But then they could easily charge a lot more!

    Lovely old original building in a beautiful location. Very nice, friendly and professional reception staff. Plenty of parking space. Preferred taxi rates into central Canterbury. Decent cooked breakfast with nice granary toast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both found the bed uncortable, waking up with backache Mattress too firm for our spines. Need time we stay I'll bring my travel tempur mattress and pillow because I definitely want to go back again!Relaxin

    Staff's helpfulness. Breakfasts and dinners.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water generator was very noisy when you ran a bath and there was a washing machine in the room next to ours which was noisy at times.

    Friendly staff and nice location. Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 1 WiFi was abysmal Shower was very slow water trickled out shower was very rusty too and mould evident Bar area comfortable but took ages to get drink Had read staff were happy two were however the gentleman working during our stay a chap called traian was the most miserable bloke I have ever seen work in a hotel Had scallops for starters £7 and was served with 3 micro scallops a total rip off

    Good value hotel with a great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a shame the curtains in bathroom were filthy, and bedroom curtains old and ripped. If these were upgraded it would have been excellent.

    Lovely old building, with lots of original features in a nice setting. Staff very helpful and hardworking, nothing was too much trouble for them. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good.

    Excellent hotel. For the price I paid I couldn’t be more satisfied. It was very clean and high on comfort. The breakfast was amazing and the staff friendly. Car park with plenty of space and nice garden to walk in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overhead lighting would have been nice in our bedroom.

    We felt very welcome, the staff were very nice. We loved the property, although we would have liked an overhead light in our bedroom. It was very olde worlde, which we liked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a little up dating. Bathroom in particular was dated.

    Lovely old property, full of history close to the road - but very quiet - with easy access to central Canterbury with riverside walks close by. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decoration was a bit dated. The only downside for me was the in-room cleaning was hit and miss. The bath mat was yuk and I had a scatter cushion with snot on it when I arrived, which I kept putting it snot side up on the floor, but each time I came back, it was snot side down back on the bed! I didn't like that.

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order from a good range and was presented well. Nice quiet area close to a road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very low on pressure, toilet took a long time to fill causing noise at night. The sheet on top of the bed was very dusty

    Staff were very good. Breakfast was really nice. Hot free upgrade to 4 poster bed room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one thing that did not warrant marking down or mentioning to staff Room 3 centre light in bathroom not working

    Full English breakfast was excellant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally, I really like the place. It is a dated and rooms are sound proof but that is to be expected with an old building so it didn't bother me.

    Comfy bed, lovely grounds and attentive staff. Canterbury City is easily accessible yet the hotel is out of town so its lovely and quiet with no traffic. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 3 coat hangers - no problem for overnight though. Although internet connected very, very slow - so not able to use.

    Very good value, easy to park, very pleasant staff. Delicious freshly cooked breakfast. Good sized room and comfortable beds. Will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were able to connect to WiFi the internet did not work. The toilet did not flush well and the shower was poor so the plumbing seemed rather inadequate. Unfortunately, because the Manor is situated opposite a motor home sales yard, we initially thought we were turning into an industrial estate but the grounds around the Manor House looked lovely. Just a shame the weather didn’t allow us to explore!

    We found the Howfield Manor homely, cosy and quaint. The bed was extremely comfortable and our room was sizeable and warm. Great breakfast too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs redecorating. Very tired looking. I was above the kitchen and could hear water running into a tank. Also I could hear an extractor fan on all night from the kitchen which kept me awake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At some point investment will be needed into bathrooms which are a little dated.

    A very friendly hotel. Lovely room. Sitting in one of the lounges was like being in an old country cottage. A very special, peaceful feel to the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warm welcome from the gentleman at reception who helped to carry our luggage to the room. Our room was very spacious and had been aired with open windows prior to our arrival. The building is old and the room decor suited the building. The room was not ultra modern but had everything you could want for a stress free stay including Wi-fi! We had a very good night’s sleep in the four poster bed after a delicious dinner in the restaurant. The lady serving us in the restaurant was very pleasant. Breakfast was freshly prepared and with very generous portions. We only stayed one night but throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome. A very relaxing evening and we would certainly return if we needed to stay in the area. Incidentally, Whitstable is worth a visit !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It must cost a fortune running this lovely listed building, In our room there was parts of the ceiling wallpaper that was needing attention. That said we still had a wonderful stay thank you

    This is a beautiful quaint hotel in lovely grounds, love that the staff are passionate about this building..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were quite narrow ans the quilt small. There is limited storage due to one of the cupboards housing a fridge. Be careful on approach to Howfield Road as it is easy to miss especially in the dark

    The breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of choice all freshly cooked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. We did not eat at the hotel's restaurant but returned to the hotel after our evening out for a drink. The staff got a fire going for us in the sitting area which was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely country house hotel - not too large and better than many 4 star hotels in terms of facilities and quality. Staff service is perfection across the team - all adding to a good stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast a bit slow and chef cant do poached eggs they were overcooked and not nice tasted of vinegar , not necessary, other than that all super

    Most things good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have an interesting read about the history of the manor worth a read.

    Exceptional setting not far from city centre. Amazing staff really good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and entertaining! Comfortable bed. Shower mat in bath looked a bit old but we were told the bathrooms are all being updated one by one. Very good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were thin (heard next door coughing but didn't hear too much of the party) - water pump extremely loud - taps hit the tiles when turned - restaurant closed due to Christmas party

    Location was nice - building lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service is exceptional, fantastic room for the price, lovely location easy to find and just 10 minutes drive from Canterbury centre. They had a private party booked the night I stayed and I was emailed about it within half an hour of booking to say the restaurant would be closed and music would stop at midnight. When I checked in the staff checked I was aware of the party and when the music would stop. I could barley hear the music from my room (I’ve had neighbouring rooms tv’s be louder) and it stopped bang on midnight. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs on walls in room. The breakfast didn’t have much choice. Was suprised by the lack of original fixtures & fittings.

    Bed was comfy, lovely views from room. Generally quiet hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked English breakfast was average, room front door loose handle nearly coming off and should have been fixed before reletting out. Was clean inside though

    Location, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good selection at breakfast, clean

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Howfield Manor Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: