Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hunters Lodge Inn 3 stars

Leigh Common, Wincanton, BA9 8LD, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Wincanton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 756 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower didn't drain properly. Wrong food brought out although quick to rectify. Main course was disappointing, salad old, limp and uninspiring.

    Room was clean and bed comfy. out door seating areas pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soap or flannels in the shower room. No easy access to a mirror. The evening meal, although a lot of it piled onto the plate's, wasn't hot. Cups at breakfast needed destaining.

    The bed was very comfortable. Big spacious room. Easy access to the restaurant. The choice at breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff loudly talking to each other, using the F word.

    Very hospitable and accommodating staff. Good breakfast. Modern good size rooms with comfortable beds. Booked 3 rooms this visit and enjoyed a nice family meal. 90% clean, some dust and few cobwebs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the food was very good as usual, we felt it had the feeling of a little less home cooked and a little more mass produced than previously.

    We have stayed many times and as always the room was up to the usual standard although having the TV at right angles to the bed took a bit of getting used to

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The step up to the bedroom to room No.15 The noise from the main road less than 50 yards away.

    Comfy bed, en suite shower etc. tea making facilities, private entry without going thro' the bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location wasn't good for us - not easy to find from Gillingham direction - went round in circles!

    The bed was comfortable and the car park was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point that the bottom seal of shower unit door and frame is beginning to collect limescale stain. If attended to, bathroom will be presentable always.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Fantastic room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mobile phone signal in my room, nor Wi-Fi connection, but it wasn't too much of an issue as you could get both in the public areas of the hotel. I would have been annoyed if I'd been staying on business though.

    It was a hidden gem. The room and bathroom were much bigger and better than I expected, especially the four-poster bed, which was a lovely surprise! Breakfast was excellent and all in all a real find. I can't usually say that hotels are really good value for money, but this one most definitely was.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the WiFi in the room was poor to non-existent although was fine in the Bar, however there was an Ethernet Plug in with cable which I didn't find until the next morning (my fault). Had I know prior to arrival I would have brought my Ethernet adaptor for my laptop (my mistake). O2 signal is very intermittent in the room, but fine in the car park and bar area. Non of the above is the fault of the Inn I hasten to add.

    Comfortable room, excellent food and enjoyable experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the majority of the rooms for family visiting for our wedding. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help. The rooms were a really good size. Thankyou you were fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for our visit to both the Fleet Air Arm Museum and Longleat. Staff friendly and helpful. Good meal in restaurant and very good breakfast with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were very large with access to outside from room. Very comfortable bed very clean very nice breakfast! lovely bathroom excellent play area park for kids my daughter loved it! overall I can not fault it at all!! Would stay hear again without a doubt!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the menu could have been a little broader. Maybe include more vegetables please?

    The bedrooms were modern and had every comfort you could expect. Very well appointed. The main building was an old farmhouse/ cottage and was beautifully looked after. The staff were efficient and friendly, and the food was perfectly presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better signage to find reception or where you book in Little fridges in family rooms would be great for milk for babies bottles

    Food wasn’t as good as before but staff were great and sorted it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t a little hot in the room and found a dead fly in the bath, but it wasn’t much of a deal. Refund wasn’t refunded until 3 days after our stay

    The room was massive and lovely. It was a little hot but we sorted it with the fan that was provided and the windows being open. Over all a really good experience for a little holiday. When we first booked it we thought it was a little expensive but when we got to the room we knew we’d paid roughly the right amount.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing was spot on. Well done to the team. We have stayed there several times and now use the place as often as we are in the area. Restaurant quality food, a credit to the Chef.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work on this occasion. I was only there for a night arriving late and leaving early so I didn’t follow up why. It wasn’t a big deal for me.

    This is a very good stopover if heading heading up or down the A303. Easy to find, it is really quite impressive for the cost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    It was warm and welcoming, the food was amazing and the staff were friendly. As it was only one storey high it was nice not to have to go up lots of stairs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No network coverage (‘Three’) or WiFi in the room, as the signal was not strong enough. If you need WiFi, you can go to the pub.

    The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. The staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. There was a variety of cooked food for breakfast which I didn’t expect. Thank you for the pleasant stay and keep up the great work! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom although clean was a bit tatty, the floor is suffering from water damage

    The room was warm, food and staff great, good quality food and well presented on the plate

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't dirty, but the bathroom had a few stray 'hairs' dotted about... not a big issue but it would be nicer to have not seen it. The Wifi signal was too weak in my room to connect.

    Bed was very comfy, I often struggle to get to sleep in hotel rooms but I had no problems in this place. It was big and spacious and had everything I needed. I arrived quite late, the staff's instructions to get access to my room were spot on. They were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more bar stools at the bar! only 4 so anymore people had to sit in lowchairs a big bar in restaurant area with no stools just seating and I am disabled and have problems sittindg in low chairs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t amazing but it was Mother’s Day and they were prepping for 400 people for lunch.

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. I rang for a travel cot and they were so quick I thought the knock on the door couldn’t possibly be them already but it was! Food was nice, room was spacious and was very comfortable for a family with kids. We stayed prior to a trip to Longleat Safari Park as a short drive the next morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zilch.

    Large room and big comfy bed. Nice outlook over garden and fields. All staff members really friendly and helpful. All food very good, breakfast freshly made and evening meal was good quality carvery but other pub meal options available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at a very busy time, so check-in was mixed in with diners (Sunday lunchtime)

    Staff were bright and friendly. Breakfast was most enjoyable, with good coffee. Room was excellent, warm, clean...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wife is disabled and there is a step up to the toilet. I would not have booked if I had known. The breakfast room was short staffed on one morning.

    food was excellent value for money. Room was fine for normal able bodied people. clean and comfortable with tea making facilities etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely location. value for money. food was excellent, staff were very friendly atmosphere was good . room was very nice with added extras supplied on desk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff, welcoming and friendly, very clean room and bed/pillows extremely comfortable. Breakfast excellent with good quality, tasty produce and dinner choice great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly noisy in the room after 10pm, could hear other peoples television and children crying during the night. The free yifi was limited to the bar, could not get a strong enough signal in the room.

    the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The food was good especially the breakfast. will stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi availability/internet connection, phone signal hit and miss too & if i'm being picky not enough hollandaise sauce on the eggs Benedict and the muffin was defrosted in the microwave too long which made it hard.

    Bed extra comfy, quiet room separate to the pub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff are very friendly, especially the young lady who does breakfast, eggs benedict perfect, complements to the chef !! Second stay, just as good as first, loved the wet room in room 1 .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not as good as last time we were there. They now use a hot buffet, the food was not that hot but still tasty nonetheless.

    All the staff were very pleasant and efficient and the food in the evening was superb and great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn’t have been more helpful, turned up to check in and our youngest was asleep, we took 4 meals to our large family room. We were made to feel very welcome both evenings even though the pub was extremely busy. Lovely food, good range of meals and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't control the heating to well and breakfast starts quiet late. But did offer packed lunch option. And shower only no bath.

    It was spacious. Just off the 303 which was good for us going to the snowbound. Parking good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault the service or Inn

    Great friendly Inn, stay was very pleasant. Ate in the restaurant, food and local ale excellent and very reasonable. Was upgraded to the Dorset Suite which was huge! Great stay, will return

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big issues with Wifi. Had no signal in our room at all, even using own Mobile Data. Bathroom was absolutely boiling with the towel rail constantly on - dangerous for young children. It was too far out for us. We could have done with something closer to a town where we could have gone out for the evening.

    Room was nice & cosy. Bar/Restaurant was lovely and the food was good. Staff were helpful and let us have an ice bucket for the room as I had bubbly for my birthday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person in the room next to us was considerate and turned their tv off early, however you would definitely hear a noisy neighbour, so perhaps take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper (but no traffic noise at all). This was the only possible negative, everything else was excellent

    The inclusive breakfast was excellent value, the room was very clean and spacious. The rooms were well away from the bar area so I doubt you would here any noise from the pub itself, even on a busy night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be picky the mattress was on the soft side

    Staff friendly, rooms and facilities good, restaurant food excellent. Breakfast perfect, very good value all round

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m a diabetic so disappointing only sugar available, no sweeteners in room or at breakfast. Stayed in 4 poster room, bed a tad creaky was comfy though. Minor quibbles. We were down for Wincanton races, really need a car. Ample car parking space. Did not get the genius perk of a free drink on arrival.

    Food excellent, staff really really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi which was advertised as being available was dreadful and for business guests in particular this needs to be addressed. There was no phone signal in and around the hotel and as my husband was ill this was very disconcerting for me. He phoned the hotel on the land-line but was told that there was no guest access.

    The bed was really comfortable. The meal in the evening was very good and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were really friendly as were the local people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in my room could have been a little warmer

    This was my second stay here in recent months and will stay here the next time I visit wincanton as I find it a lovely place,clean comfy value for money and friendly staff,also do a really lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar area could be cleaned before serving breakfast,

    The room was great but the breakfast was good but the area was not clean chip peas other things on the floor the table could have done with a clean, but will stay again due to location, and the comfort of the room. many thanks to staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is very slow in an area of little phone signal. This might be ok if you want to get away from it all but if like us you needed to check on your children it was just about manageable.

    The staff were fantastic and made us feel welcome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaints being the strong smell of cigarettes when we entered the room which was soon resolved by keeping the window open for an hour or so and the bed was a bit to hard for my liking however my partner prefers harder mattresses due to a bad back.

    We stayed for one night after a day at Longleat Safari Park. The dinner we had was one of the best meal we have had for a long time and the breakfast the following morning was equally as good. The room was very spacious and warm. Would definitely return if we are travelling this way again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full length mirror would be nice ☺

    Room was very large with beautiful view over looking gardens. Was plenty of tea and coffee in the room, breakfast was excellent and staff were very efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower/toilet room design i could not quite figure why the toilet and shower were up a step that you have to step up to open/shut the door.

    Rooms were warm & comfortable with thermostat allowing me to control temperature. Food was good. Staff/service was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little dusty

    Staff were extremely friendly, food had massive portions for the price, with quality ingredients. The room was clean, comfy, peaceful and warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame the WiFi didn't work and bad area for mobile signal

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. The beds were really comfortable and the food was lovely. The kids loved the outdoor park and looking at the goats. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not applicable

    have been here 4 times now and always enjoy the food and the staff are always very polite and helpful the rooms are clean and tidy and a good size. always go back to celebrate our wedding anniversary and will continue to use this property we have nothing negative to say. Ray & Alison Cherry

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lack of ambiance in the bar and dining room and we felt that we were outsiders.

    The room was very comfortable, with lots of space, the shower was very powerful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took our two young grandaughters away - family room was very nice. However, as my husband and I ended up sleeping in the two single beds(!) we did find them so hard that they were quite uncomfortable. The double bed, for the short time we were in it, was very comfortable.

    Family room was spacious and clean. Food was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was almost non existent and the TV signal in the bedroom disappeared for no reason (told later to turn TV on/off to fix); otherwise really good.

    Good room, good food, friendly down to earth staff. Easy to get to from the A303.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not very good but to be expected in a rural setting.

    Buffet style breakfast so you can enjoy as much or as little as you like. Accommodation nice and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin. The first night was fine but the second night we had a family arrive next door late and they were extremely noisy, not the hotel's fault but it always amazes me how some people these days have no respect for others.The man had such an annoying cough I nearly took him some cough medicine at 3 o'clock!

    The room was basic but adequate.It was clean and comfortable.the food in the adjoining pub was lovely,we ate there both nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An overall good experience, staff efficient and friendly, thè inn was clean and quiet in the bedroom from outside traffic etc. The breakfast selection was very good ( fresh strawberries too )

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic size family room. Lovely beds for all (no pull outs). And the staff were extremely helpful with a complicated (and very small) food order. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get any breakfast. Went in at 7.25 am. Not acknowledged for 15 mins. Breakfast did not appear by 7.55am so had to leave for work. Really poor service. I will not be returning.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleaned the dining room floor between dinner on sunday night and breakfast on Monday morning. There was dropped food and used seviettes under our ble at breakfast.

    friendly helpful staff. large quiet clean room. comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would benefit from some updating. Lick of paint, change of carpet,new shower door etc. Not an issue at price we paid but if I'd paid higher room rate would have expected more.

    Chosen for it's ideal location as a stopover enroute from London to Cornwall but would happily have stayed more than one night as also well placed for visiting attractions in the area. Great value at price we paid. Large quiet room with all the essentials. Staff friendly and helpful. Had nice evening meal in the bar and the full English breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy access just off the main route (but close enough to get traffic noise). Loads of parking and a kids play area if you visit in good weather. Friendly staff, decent enough ale, hearty food and a comfortable room. Excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Large, clean rooms with good washing and shower facilities and comfortable clean beds. Coffee and tea and even hot chocolate making facilities. Excellent breakfast and very accommodating staff. Very enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited selection of yogurt for breakfast

    The property is alongside the A303 road but was shielded by trees from sight and noise. There is plenty of parking and the food and staff were excellent. Both food and accomodation were well priced and the carvery was very good value. There is a play area for children

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place needs an overhaul, it’s lookig tired and grubby. Awful creaky bed that kept us and our baby awake. some staff had an attitude problem. No air conditioning. Kettles were disgusting! Cleaning staff left the key in our door after they cleaned it while we were it all day, anyone could have gone in there and taken our things - iPad, car keys etc. this really made me angry, and they didn’t even seem to think it was a big deal.

    The location is good. Some rooms are quite spacious and some staff are helpful. Food is ok. We like the animals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and tidy, in a good location, road noise was minimal even though next to an A road, The staff were very helpful and accommodating, provided a meal after they had stopped serving food as I was late back from an event and no complaints even though I was 30 minutes late for check out, can not thank the staff enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if there were bar fridges in all the rooms so that you cab keep all the local produce you buy cold whilst staying here. Also you need to book for dinner as you might find that there isn't any free tables and as there isn't any where else nearby to go if they're full. It was touch and go on the evening we were there as to whether they could find us a table for dinner which caused me to have a minor meltdown; the last thing anyone needs to spoil an otherwise lovely stay.

    The rooms were great value, very clean and fresh with a good sized shower in the bathroom. The staff were very accommodating and the food is good value pub grub. There were good facilities for children in the garden behind the inn with goats, alpacas, sheep and ponies. Thanks to Leslie for her great service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room, only window had obscure glass in it, overlooking the main road, and the smoking area. The weather was good and i'd have liked to open the window, but the traffic noise was not good, and even if there had been a view to look at you couldn't see out of the window, and then the cigarette smoke and chatter filtered in too. Overall, whilst I was travelling solo, I felt like a second class citizen in the room.

    Bar food was great as was the breakfast. A warm welcome behind the bar too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As our room was on the ground floor and overlooked the veranda, we would have preferred more privacy with a simple net curtain.

    Friendly staff, bedroom clean and spacious with big comfy bed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 poster bed very good, room lovely but spoilt by the fact the beautiful furniture had not been dusted for months. Staff excellent and food super. Thank you, but get the feather duster out please.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We hadn't realised just how close to the A303 the hotel was. Our room had only one window (actually a French door) which opened directly on to the car-park.

    The hotel was perfectly acceptable, though we had expected something a little more upmarket from the description given.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could do with been served half hour earlier for those who are working in the area and have to be up and out on the road

    The rooms were really tidy, beds comfy and nice big shower, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and they had good ales on. I ate outside on the decking while sun was setting, just perfect. I noticed it has a big play area so I will certainly look at booking again when we visit Stonehenge with the children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything, everything was top class yet still homely and comfortable. The children's facilities, food and staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. One small thing, i would like a pot of coffee served to my table at breakfast instead of having to try and balance a cup of coffee which quickly went cold across the dining room myself.

    Rooms were quiet.food was good. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in room. Cobwebs and midges on coving.

    Comfy beds, nice and quiet, lovely food in restaurant in the evening and breakfast. Friendly staff. Picnic ordering service nice little extra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A previous occupant had smoked in the room (evidence of ash on outside windowsill), and as non-smokers the faint remnant of stale smoke made me cough. The staff were very apologetic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a guy in the bar Silat eating his meal with is feet on the seats He should have been told to sit down normally with his feet on the ground. He had dirty oil boots on and it was all over the seat. Not pleasant! He was eating like a pig. He was wearing ahead set and speaking someone on the phone. Everyone was made to hear the conversation. Why I have no idea.

    Great place and all round value for money. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hunters Lodge Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: