Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hunters Meet 3 stars

Chelmsford Road, Hatfield Heath, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7BQ, United Kingdom

#10 of 16 hotels in Bishops Stortford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 351 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.0
    Great staff;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff; thoughtful and attentive. Didn't try leisure centre, but I forgot about it since booking as business trip. Food was good and would recommend this as a stopover hotel if on business trip. Good price for all items.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable place to lay our heads after attending an event away from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The battery cover on remote Control for the TV was missing and it had no batteries. By the time we returned to the hotel from the wedding in the evening, reception was closed, so we couldn’t get more and so we couldn’t watch TV. The plug in the sink in the bathroom was a bit “hit and miss” Took a while to get it closed so that water stayed in the sink to wash and then when finished couldn’t get it open enough for the water to drain without physically holding it up. One of the lightbulbs in the ceiling light had blown and one of the bedside lamps wasn’t working. All quite small things but nevertheless, things that should have been checked by staff before the room was allocated!

    We were attending a wedding away from the hotel which started before the official check in time. The hotel ensured that at least one of our rooms was ready which allowed us to get ready to go to the wedding and store our luggage. Breakfast was excellent and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant overnight stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated, WiFi not great as kept cutting out. No fresh fruit at breakfast. Not much choice at breakfast other than a full English or tinned grapefruit or yoghurt. Great if that's what you want but a little more choice would have been nice. Situated on a very busy road

    Cost of accommodation was very reasonable. Comfortable bed. Good bar prices. Good position for where we needed to be.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    It was ok for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was cold in the morning when we had a shower and the bed was really uncomfortable, Breakfast was ok but they run out of everything so a lot of waiting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Not a great experience and I wouldn't stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a very creaky floor, no hot water in shower and the wifi would've connect. Supper options very limited.

    Staff very friendly, and a reasonably sized room, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Not what I expected.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy and hot in the room, couldn't open the window as it made the noise worse. Breakfast started at 8 with no flexibility and as I had to leave early to attend I couldn't have breakfast.

    Not much..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    A great chill out just what we needed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huntersmeet had a Fawlty Towers feel about it, the receptionists were friendly and approachable. The staff in the beauty treatment rooms were amazing professional but amazingly friendly and welcoming too. we will be coming back soon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    It was perfect for its proximity to the airport and the food was excellent but the room too basic t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed decorating and bathroom a bit of sprucing up.

    The bar and restaurant were excellent but the room was very basic however for what we paid it was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Good beds but horrid bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't find room 45 and the staff was not very helpfull in showing where to find it. The garden area was rather simple. There was a terribly lot of noise during the evening until half past one at night, because there was a party going on in the restaurant. Both rooms and bathrooms were old, rather weary and outdated. They were horrid and actually both unsuitable for couples. The beds in the small room 45 were at odds with each other. There was no lamp beside one of the beds. The toilet seat did not fit on the toilet. The internet did not work in the room. The manager told us it should be working, but it never did during our stay, so we had to sit at the reception for using the free wifi. The other twin room, nr 30, appeared to be a family room, and the twin beds were in the small side room. In this part there was no television, which meant that it was impossible to watch tv in bed.

    The beds were very good. The English breakfast was delicious. It was a bonus that there was a swimming pool. The staff who was serving breakfast was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Very lovely stay. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and valance sheet needed a good clean. Dressing table could of done with an extra wipe down. Kettle was full of limescale but after a good scrub around with my hand wasn’t so bad. Had to make sure you’d tighten cold tap otherwise it would still trickle. Breakfast wasn’t a vast amount on offer ( good selection of cereal. Sausage, bacon, fried egg, grilled tomato, mushrooms and beans. Yoghurt and some fruit.) but filled you up. I’m a coffee person and it was not good coffee :( very weak.

    The mattress and pillows were super comfy (twin room) bathroom was clean. Plenty of drawers and cupboard space. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful from reception to bar. We had booked for the dinner and entertainment night which was very good. Room was right next to main entrance and swimming pool (room 24) Swimming pool was clean and just big enough for a morning swim.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Hunters Meet is a very strange place of extremes
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole of the old building desperately needs a complete overhaul. The hall is so depressing, it reminded me of student accommodation. The bedrooms are better, but could still do with a refresh. The bathroom, although well equipped was badly laid out and whole room dated. Although the room was clean, cleaning staff did little each day. Leaving dirty cups, not refilling tea and coffee facilities, not refilling toilet paper. Also as mentioned in the positives, the shower was so powerful that it was impossible to have a comfortable, reasonable shower. Being on the ground floor, I couldnt leave my window open which was an issue during this heatwave. Wifi in the restaurant and bar were terrible. Do check your bill at the end as there had been a mistake on mine.

    Sitting within a lovely village. Elements that are looked at carefully. The pool, sauna, steam room, gym, bar and restaurant are all good areas. Although the menu isnt massive, the options are good. The cooked breakfast was worth the £8. Wednesday evening barbecue was good as well and broke up the week. Hangrohe bathroom equipment everywhere. The shower was so powerful, I could easily have stripped paint off the walls. Wifi in the room was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice place; what one can expect for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimmingpool is approx 10x4 (good) but only 90cm deep! Difficult to swim in. Waitress at breakfast a bit careless (taken the last of the orange-jus for herself and not refilling it), Room clean but small and no airco, these cheap mattresses (student quality) are out-of-date.

    Good breakfast, clean room. Receptionist and hotel caretaker very guest-friendly and helpful. lots of parking spaces.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    It was average.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't bother with breakfast as 9.00 finish is too early. Mess on hall carpet in anexe house, lock faulty, generally just ok.

    Most things were ok. Nice staff but not sharp enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were not on the ball. Had to ask for coffee 3 times and still didn't get it. Bit harsh when your hungover

    Room was good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Suited us for a night stay to break up our journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday evening dining in the hotel was not available and limited in the village. Had a pint in the local pub with colourful locals and a sandwich from the local co op. The hotel was a little tired but comfortable

    Well cooked, mammoth breakfast. Picturesque surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    The shower in our bathroom was cracked and the pressure was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our bathroom was cracked and the pressure was so high that when i switched it on it hit me straight in the face and hurt my eye. My husband asked for a cappucino and when his coffee was brought out he was told that the 'frother' wasnt working and he would only be charged for a 'normal coffee'. He really should have been given the choice of whether he wanted a 'normal' coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    In our assigned room was really hot and we've asked for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In our assigned room was really hot and we've asked for another one. The staff was so nice and they upgraded us to a suite. That made our stay great instead of good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were very varied. Our first breakfast was fantastic and the two after were very disappointing. Either the service lacked or the food quality dropped.

    The extra facilities, the pool and spa were a highlight for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location to get to Stansted airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room can be noisy from cars on main road if room is in front. And also- even if restaurant is closed there is a small terrace in front-which can be used by late travellers- and they can be loud - so no good restful sleep.

    Good location to get to Stansted airport. Good parking area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was quality! As we were arriving late, we called and explained the situation and the receptionist so kindly left our key for the room outside reception with a little map of where it was located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great location and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very pleasant and the bed comfortable. The staff were excellent and very obliging. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety and cooked to order.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    I didn't expect 4 star accommodation so was reasonably happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor, the shower, the bed, The wi-fi, and the reception.

    The atmosphere was very relaxed, therefore it felt slightly insecure and unattended. The food was fine. The shower in room 42 was much too strong, to the point that I was frightened to use it. The bathroom was soaked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location (close to airport and Epping underground...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small bathroom Bed was not stable Just English breakfast No dinner, just bbq

    Good location (close to airport and Epping underground station) Relatively clean Good value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Very good value as we had full use of the pool, gym, sauna and steam room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and kettle were a bit temperamental .

    The swimming pool was lovely as it was so hot outside and we were able to sun bathe in the pretty peaceful garden. Bliss....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel just the radiator experience was awful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one of the hottest days of the year the radiator in the bathroom was stuck on full heat making the room unbearable to sleep in I had to travel out and buy 2 fans but still found it difficult to get any sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the ground floor. The noise from above was soooo loud. There is no sound proof in the rooms so we could hear everything going on above us, particularly the toilet -EVERYTHING! Also the water pipes made an almighty clanging noise every time the other occupants flushed... Lastly, the radiator in the bathroom could not turn off, therefore the room was ridiculously hot. Wouldn't be a bad thing generally, however we're having a lovely hot summer.

    They allowed us to settle in our room 2 hours before check-in. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on a Sunday, by the time we arrived the pool etc had closed,1700, and as check out is fairly early it meant we couldn’t use thes facilities which was a shame.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    A weekend treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A true family business...a busy little hotel that manages to accommodate everyone's needs,,,from individuals to events...staff incredibly helpful and so friendly...Brendan the owner went above and beyond to ensure the stay was relaxing...didn't get to use the spa but will next time judging by the chilled faces coming out of it,..LOVELY garden with sun loungers and garden furniture...room was very clean and and mattress excellent...a shower that packs a great punch despite looking it wouldn't! This isn't a chain hotel...the service was far better. Individual. Restaurants and a pub within walking distance...and a large coop...a quiet setting despite being on a road...didn't get to use the restaurant but will be back to try it judging by the breakfast! Perfect for a relaxing get away...will be back for sure..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Parking was available in front of the building and the rooms...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room setup was cheap (we stayed in many cheaper rooms which were better staffed), the kettle wasn't working properly and the toilet wasn't fixed on the floor, so if you sat on it it moved. Also, the door to the toilet was so warped, it didn't close but stayed open, so going to the toilet by yourself wasn't possible. Furthermore, the wifi was so slow, it isn't even worth mentioning.

    Parking was available in front of the building and the rooms were spacious and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was freshly maked and tasted good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel and staff, just a few little things let it down.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower dripped constantly. Wardrobe could not be closed once clothes were hung up. The cleanliness could have done with a little more attention, empty sweet packets in both bedside cabinets, tiles around sink & toilet could do with a wash and the shower tray had quite a bit of mould at the bottom.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was huge and delicious and the bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, very quaint country inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good, lovely countryside. The room was very large, comfortable, and cl ean. Did not have the opportunity to use the pool. Would stay here again. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    lovely friendly place to stay. Fantastic room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    lovely place and as a lady traveller it was perfect and felt very safe. Room was amazing and away from noisy road. Will most certainly book here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.9
    Filthy dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy rooms. Filthy towels. Filthy bedsheets. Filthy kettle. Filthy carpet. Filthy furniture. Filthy shower. Noisy. Doors banging late at night. Paper thin walls. Generally an awful place to stay. Avoid.

    It was close to a premier Inn in Harlow that we went to after leaving the Hunters Meet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Fab food nice staff really pleasant stay overall would defiantly visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff small hotel lovely food we just had a wonderful weekend away staff working so hard would go back again staff food make up for hotel being a little old fashioned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely place but could be so much better for customer comfort. Nearly good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very hot. No aircon in rooms nor ceiling fan or any fan. Windows gave minimal cooling when opened. With windows opened very difficult to sleep with constant road noise.

    Rooms and facility lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Very good value for money with extremely friendly staff, who couldn't do enough for you.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the fact my room was right opposite the pool which I used each morning of my stay and the cooked breakfasts were amazing. I would recommend to others and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    stayed once before good, never again now
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room dirty, lots of grubby marks on walls, carpet between sitting room into bedroom all frayed could have tripped up if not careful bathroom not cleaned as little washing gel bottle left on floor of shower and not taken away,no glasses in bathroom for cleaning teeth, no glasses in tray if wanted to have a cold drink

    staff very good and restaurant good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.0
    Staff saved the day - pleasant lot!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar food was average - staff did,however, do their best to correct. Shower mixer broken......not possible to shower....scalding hot only! Been in a lot worse but a bit disappointed.

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Adequate but disappointed with breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was poor. Hot food and juices not refilled had to ask at reception for butter for toast. Toilets in reception had not been cleaned from night before and were disgusting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Unwelcoming, unhygienic, and unpleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was disgusting, with mould in the shower and a shower head from the before shot of a cillit bang advert. The hotel itself is a poorly converted house with thin doors and walls, the doors have gaps letting light in, and the all of the doors creak and slam shut. The house itself appears to be on the main dubstep highway in England, with loud cars with louder music screaming past at regular intervals. Breakfast was an unpleasant greasy affair with something that tastes nearly, but not quite entirely, unlike coffee. The staff were grumpy and couldn't do little enough for you, whilst surrounded by laminated signs such as "If someone isn't smiling, share one of yours with them", which I can only assume were aimed at the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good priced accommodation for my purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room not working at time of our stay Apart from that everything else was good

    Perfect place to stay if traveling via stanstead airport Only a short drive 20 minutes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.0
    Updating needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite was not a suite , a lot of modernisation needed , no atmosphere.

    Breakfast was great fill you for the day , swimming pool etc was grand for the size of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Recommend to anyone, great facilities and excellent friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Such a lovely peaceful place to stumble upon. We’d had a disastrous day with cancelled flights and were very warmed by the welcome we received at Hunters. Recommend to anyone, great facilities and excellent friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location for our purpose (close to Stansted), exceptional customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not very good.

    Staff super friendly and amenable (we were late for breakfast but were still accommodated when none else there and full English cooksd just for us).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.3
    Horrid. Upsetting. Didn’t get my restful weekend. I 😔 😂😟
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Had 4 hour journey. Was kept waiting over 10 mins at reception. Was party night. No where to eat we were famished. Kids 9&11 not impressed. Room was absolutely filthy. And light in bathroom hanging. Complained next morning, moved us into another room. Was just as dirty. And again lights hanging off ceiling. My son and his partner came over. They just moved into new apartment 10 mins away. Reason for weekend away my birthday and mother’s day. That said mum your not staying here. They went to complain. Owner embarrassed Cost £190...gave me back. £95

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    The staff were really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was awful the shower leaked and it was really small the shower door didn't open fully and there was masking tape on the shower hose

    The staff were really friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent comfortable stay in this venue that is looking a little tired but fine for an overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with an update and is too dark - extra/better light needed. The bedroom furniture is a little dated which is a shame as it spoils the look of the room.

    Beds really comfy - had an excellent nights sleep. Lots of hangers in the wardrobe! Dinner and breakfast excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, but definitely a three star establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall appearance of the corridors, rooms and facilities was tired and scruffy.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The English breakfast was wholesome and hearty and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    An OK overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying on arrival seems rather untrusting of guests, breakfast late and of poor quality, details of our booking were wrong (breakfast not reserved and double rather than twin room)

    Room was comfortable and staff friendly. They quickly sorted out problem with room reservation being wrong.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    It was good for the price
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More shampoos for a double room and more water should be available

    The staff were friendly and helpful especially one girl in particular called Katie who helped with a few issues we had

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Just brilliant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just brilliant! My room was comfortable and very clean, and modern with tv & wifi in the room, the staff are fantastic and so was the food in the restaurant! And the lesiure facilities are excellent!!! Fantastic value for money I will definitely be returning!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location, modern and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nosiy extractor in the bathroom, was woken up several times in the night by next room going into their bathroom. Could also hear next door snoring. Otherwise all good!

    Good location, modern and clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Christmas Eve Eve Party
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't much we didn't like. Maybe a little dated in places. But very happy with the price and overall stay

    The staff were all very lovely and couldn't do enough for you.......They worked their socks off, providing and excellence service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    Ok ish.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were rubbish. The shower was scalding hot and couldn’t be turned down. The room was freezing when I arrived as the heating was turned off and the windows were open. It took me an hour under the covers with the heating on to warm up. I rang reception to say the lamp was not working and they said they’d send someone to fix it but nobody came.

    The room was large and had a sofa as well as a bed and a desk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and shabby entrance to room but for the money it was perfect for us.

    Booked for one night but left our car in the car park for 3 weeks. There was a wedding on when we arrived so the staff were run off their feet. Still had time to advise on where to get some food and were still able to serve bar drinks too. What a fab hotel. Lovely people too. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Good party, mediocre food made I'll from good consumption there with protein & blood in my urine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pain au chocolates or croissants. Upset stomach Friday morning plus again most of Saturday night. Some of the food did not agree with me but the manager helped me to try & contact a Dr. Just the stupid UK system for emergency Dr, the local Dr's surgery's refused for me to see anyone, no walk in centre, had to dial 111 & give full details, no privacy as I needed the WiFi system at the Dr's. Stupid suggestion from receptionist that I ring my French Dr in France for them to Fax s prescription to a chemist in the UK. The emergency Dr I saw, 13 miles away, saw me & when informed about the complete lack of care & indifference apologised as it was her practice. She was very thorough checking me out & prescribed badly needed antibiotics for a 5 day course 5 times per day, for which I thanked her for her service. Crazy system with too much power given to unqualified receptionists.

    The party atmosphere on Friday night, swimming pool helpful staff. The excellent back & neck massage was just what I needed to relax after too much driving & too many visits in just 2 weeks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy plumbing. You could hear everything! Until 1am other guests, and maybe visitors, were in and out of the accommodation block. Very loud and inconsiderate of others. Impossible to sleep.

    Friendly staff. Bed was reasonably comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Xmas partying good, Music too loud had to take hearing aids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Care in preparing the food.

    Xmas partying good, Music too loud had to take hearing aids out still too loud but good music. Extremely ill during the night after eating the food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    This was very good value for money and the staff were very helpful and the room was very clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things are decor tired , dirt marks on bed cushions , road is very busy past hotel and noise from this is intrusive. It might be hotel would Beniefit from better glazing or some sound proofing , and the addition of an armchair would have been useful.

    Rooms very clean ,basic and comfortable . The ramp to ground floor rooms good for wheelchairs. Beds soft bathrooms are bath over shower , shower was lovely power shower. Food absolutely fabulous with huge portions . It was curry night and all you can eat for £10 , which was excellent value and beautifully cooked, Full English again large , wide choice of Cereals and toast tea etc on tap so value exceptionally good as well. Staff polite and very helpful. I would be happy to stay again .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The property is stuck in the 1980’s, the room carpet was old and dirty, the furniture tired and the decor throughout the whole building extremely dated. Would only use again if it was refurbished.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Value for money and has a feeling of a family run business putting the customer first
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the pool needs to be quite a bit warmer. The sauna wasn't working on either of the nights that we stayed before and after our holiday. The first night the room was great (21) the second night we had room (25) next to the entrance door and you were disturbed regularly by the noise of ppl passing through.

    Staff really friendly and accommodating as we arrived at 1am on our return from holiday. Was able to stay the first night and leave the car there all week. We stayed the night we came back from holiday too. The breakfast is really good! Actually the restaurant is really good as we had an evening meal the first night we stayed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.2
    Wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and floor was covered in glass, obviously hadn't been cleaned or sheets cleaned! Invited us for dinner then told us there wasn't any space for us as they had a party going on, had to walk down a dirt track in the pitch black to an Indian restaurant instead. Put in a room with a conservatory and the rain sounded like rocks on the roof and kept us awake all night. The breakfast room is very dated and reminds me of a working mans club.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    We had an excellent stay & can not really fault it. Wonderful little place to stay and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little dated in terms of decor however they are currently undertaking a refurbishment & you can see already it’s going to look amazing. Floor boards are creaky & doors slam a lot so ear plugs may come in handy.

    The staff could not be anymore accommodating & friendly, fantastic!! Food was delicious, hot, portion sizes huge & excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    Would not go back to this hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a double room was given a twin. Very old tired room with cheap fittings. Noisy near the front door which banged every time guests went in & out. Was informed that double rooms of a better standard had been available after spending an uncomfortable night. Why not automatically allocate better rooms to guests when the hotel is not fully fully booked.

    Reception staff. Very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay because of the staff and friends that were there with us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been bigger. The TV could have been fitted better as we had to try to sort the Ariel out at the wall as it struggled to keep a picture as it didn't quite meet. The shower wouldn't turn off properly. There were stains on the walls and sheets.

    The staff were really friendly. The room was comfortable. The food was lovely. The price was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Location for work between London and Home Counties while...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be patchy and did have to restart a few times. Breakfast priced quite high so didn't use. Room in a separate building from main house and front door not locked.

    Location for work between London and Home Counties while driving through fairly scenic areas. Free parking on site. Accommodation comfortable, quiet and clean. Free wifi and use of gym, pool and sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable affordable and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bid shabby. Could do with a spruce up. More tea bags coffee and milk in rooms. Hair dryer didn't work ( I did bring my own)

    Cheap, clean, friendly, comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice staff but far from Stansted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The most obvious issue is the distance from Stansted if you're booking it as an overnight stay between connecting flights. We paid £26 for a taxi booked in the Stansted office and £15 for an Uber coming back. It also takes about 20 minutes to drive from Stansted to the hotel and waiting for a taxi to get to you is probably another 20 minutes so factor that into your plans. - The place itself felt quite dated. Nothing wrong with it, just felt very old - the rooms could really use a do over.

    - We arrived after the check-in time and the staff were really nice and left the key for us, along with a nice message telling us where to find our room. - Although located next to a road, the property was extremely quiet at night. The noise did pick up a bit in the early hours of the morning but overall it was one of the quietest places we slept in. - The surrounding area is pretty nice - we went for a quick stroll while waiting for our taxi to arrive from Stansted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Great for a low key family friendly get away at a reasonable price.. get the massage! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think we just caught it on a couple of off days.. but the food was.. um well.. the chef was kind, helpful and friendly.. and I don't want to offend.. but.. I hope next time I will enjoy it more.

    The staff were wonderful! the pool was perfect for my 5 year old to really get some swim fun and the sauna was a super hit with Mum. Also received two fabulous treatments from Bridgette in the Spa. Definitely worth a return visit, so easy from London! Thank you everyone at Hunter's Meet for out little 'reset' holiday, we look forward to next time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money! Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They let us have a late check out on both nights that we stayed which really made a big difference to our travel plans. It was MUCH more pleasant to spend the day at the spa and relaxing in the hotel gardens before our flight than if we'd had to hang around Stansted for hours. The hotel isn't anything fancy but it was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for a nights stay before and after flying. The first night we ate at the hotel and had a steak which was lovely. Our second night we tried the local Indian restaurant, Anwars which is 5 mins walk away- excellent food! Hotel breakfast was also very nice and good value for money. MUCH better service and food than say Premiere Inn. We will be coming back! Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    Great place poor BBQ lunch menu very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BBQ night was appalling nothing to eat no salads or bread asked to wait even though we had meat which was also very poor would not have this again

    Very friendly stagf

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Don't try to stay here on a Sunday night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner doesn't normally accept guests on a Sunday evening and closes off his bookings on the computer for a Sunday. However Booking.Com accepted our reservation, sending us a confirmation email. When we arrived, the place was all closed up, with a telephone number to ring on a note on the door. We had chosen this hotel to stop off on our journey home especially because the restaurant had some good reviews and we knew it would save searching for a place to eat. We were eventually able to contact the proprietor and he welcomed us in, however no meal available and we had to go searching in an area where they tend to stop serving around 7pm. I don't know the details of why this cock up happened and don't really care, but we were not happy bunnies.

    Friendly hosts, substantial breakfast, good lighting in the bedroom. Comfortable beds, bright clean decor in bedroom with white furniture which added to the overall impression of a bright clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park! It was difficult to find a parking space. Actually we decided not to stay the night even though we'd paid as we were not impressed with the room especially after staying at a posher place for the two previous nights. However you get what you pay for, and as I said before, the price is good

    The location was convenient for a nearby wedding reception The price was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Long Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult when we returned from an evening out as there was a function at the hotel which meant there was also noise until midnight but it was a warm evening so guests were outside

    Really good sized rooms - good spa facilities - the staff were excellent, very accommodating. Ate light lunch in restaurant which was very good. Nice grounds and good location opposite green and in centre of village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A smashing hotel hidden treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions of accommodation, hallway and room doors need a lick of paint. Looks like doors are not finished? But Rooms, bed and bathroom all clean and tidy. Rest of hotel brilliant!

    Accommodation a little dated, bedroom, bathroom, and hotel amenities clean and tidy. staff and manager very helpful, and accommodating. Evening meals were brilliant. My Son said it was the best steak he has ever eaten! Pool and gym a brilliant bonus, will definatly be coming back.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: